AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Doug Boren, iMichele Poague, iScott Boyd, iJohn Herlihy, iBurton Wolfe, iW. Craig Reed, iRie Sheridan Rose, i
 
Home > Becky Lower
 

Recent Reviews for Becky Lower


The Duplicitous Debutante (Book) - 8/11/2014 6:51:08 AM
Duplicitously Delightful As a former fencing student, I love how Becky Lower uses fencing as a metaphor for romance in The Duplicitous Debutante. The feinte, the riposte, the touche all mirror the dance between Rosemary Fitzpatrick and Henry Cooper as she tries to conceal a secret that could end her writing career—a very unusual career for a young lady of a prominent family in the 1850s. Until she knows Henry Cooper’s attitude about women’s rights, Rosemary must hide the fact that she is Cooper & Son Publishing’s most successful author. The pas de deux they perform requires finesse, and author Becky Lower does not disappoint. Her attention to detail and authenticity of the time period is impeccable, her characters are well-drawn, and the romantic tension between Rosemary and Henry, delightful. I am a fan of Ms. Lower, and every one of her books has been a joy to read. A must-read for historical romance fans. I was given an ARC in exchange for an honest review. And honestly, I loved it!

The Duplicitous Debutante (Book) - 8/10/2014 11:22:26 AM
19 year old Rosemary Fitzpatrick has been writing and having her dime novels published under the guise of F.P. Elliott, presumably thought to be a male by Cooper Publishing. Everything has gone smoothly until the head of the publishing company decides to send his son, Henry Cooper, to meet with each of the authors personally. When Rosemary receives a letter confirming this, she works herself into a tizzy and meets with the handsome gentleman, introducing herself as F.P. Elliott's secretary. Although Henry Cooper is entranced with her beauty and extremely tiny waist, he still insists on meeting with the author of the Harry Hawk dime novels or else he will drop F.P. Elliott as one of the top authors of the publishing house. Rosemary attempts to convince her brother Halwyn to be F.P. Elliott, but circumstances occur that he cannot do this. So, her father, George, accepts the challenge. However, the day of the meeting, he is taken ill so once again Rosemary attends the meeting with Henry without F.P. Elliott at her side. Since he is new to the city, Henry is invited to the Cotillion Ball as a guest of friends of the Fitzpatrick family. He is introduced to Rosemary who he only knows as Mr. Elliott's secretary, not a debutante in the upper class society. As I read this book, I laughed, cried, held my breath and felt for both the heroine and the hero. Can Henry deal with the fact that Rosemary is not who she said she was, and is truly a writer? Can Rosemary love a man whose father is unwilling to accept a working woman as a future wife for his son? I didn't want this book to end. Although I consider each book in the series after I've read them to be my favorite, this one is superior because I fell in love with the plot, with the heroine, with the hero, and with Harry Hawk of the dime novels Rosemary is writing. Please, I beg of you, Ms. Lower, to do a series using Harry Hawk as your hero. I have read every book of Ms. Lower's be it historical romance or contemporary, and find her to be an author who should be on the best selling lists. Keep writing, Ms. Lower, and thank you for giving me so many hours of pleasurable reading. Sharon Lee Fernberg

The Tempestuous Debutante (Book) - 9/10/2013 8:18:52 AM
ADVANCE COPY PROVIDED BY AUTHOR I don’t like Jasmine Fitzpatrick. I didn’t like her when I first met her in "The Reluctant Debutante" and I didn’t like her when I began reading "The Tempestuous Debutante," Author Becky Lower’s newest installment of her Cotillion Ball series. I’m familiar with the Fitzpatrick clan and their battles for survival in the 1800s. And I’ve been waiting since last year to see how Jasmine would overcome her broken ankle and her resentment of her siblings, who have found love and happiness with wonderful spouses. Her sole goal in life is to one-up them. Yes, Jasmine is that shallow. So it is a tribute to Ms. Lower’s storytelling capabilities that I kept reading late into the night to find out if Jasmine could redeem herself. She is surrounded by a cast of characters who can help her do that, if she lets them. I quietly cheered when dad said no new dresses for the debutante season and Jasmine faced wearing last year’s wardrobe. I felt as smug as the “poor unfortunates” whom Jasmine looked down her nose at – the still-single women from last year. But in the face of adversity, Jasmine shines. It is apparent when she tackles last year’s fashions, elevating them to this year’s haute couture. It shows when she outwits a competitor by establishing her own successful business, and it is evident when she risks her life to save the man she loves, propriety be damned. Ms. Lower uses several story twists to demonstrate that beneath Jasmine’s shallow exterior is a smart businesswoman and a good person. I still don’t like Jasmine. But I’m glad that she is happy with a man who shatters her triviality and I loved this book. Bravo, Ms. Lower!

The Tempestuous Debutante (Book) - 9/9/2013 3:05:17 AM
This being the 4th book in the Cotillion Ball Series that I have read, I couldn't wait to see how the author would present a side to Jasmine Fitzgerald that I would even like. In "The Abolitionist's Secret", I cheered for her twin sister Heather. I could wait for her to stand up against Jasmine and when she did, I felt that Becky Lower knew how I felt being an identical twin and having gone through similar growing-up situations. Jasmine is as spoiled as she is beautiful and clever. When her parents inform her there will be no new gowns for the season due to changing conditions in the States, it is then he tells of a prospective business partner, Alistair Wickersham, Viscount, who has arrived from England. Immediately, Jasmine and her mother concoct a scheme for Jasmine to win this older man over and become engaged to him so she will have a title, a guaranteed place in society, and not be on of the "poor unfortunates" attending the ball. But, a young stable boy by the name of Parr O'Shauhgnessy has come with the Viscount and slowly enters Jasmine's dreams. Will Jasmine continue to listen to her mother so her daughter will have a title, or will Jasmine realize attaining certain goals are not all they're cracked up to be? Through trials and tribulations, Jasmine becomes a strong heroine who this reader grows to adore - not only because of her determination to make a career in fashion since she has altered her last season's gowns, but because we see her develop into a mature, caring person who learns the meaning of true love. Kudos to Ms. Lower for bringing us another wonderful novel in the Cotillion Series. I smiled, I gulped, I laughed and cried with this book and recommend it highly. Even though it is #4 in the series, it also is a stand-alone book. I look forward to reading the rest of the series, and all of Becky Lower's future novels, whether historical or contemporary romance. Sharon Lee Fernberg

Banking On Temperace (Book) - 4/2/2013 5:02:37 AM
Author Becky Lower hits her stride in the pages of “Banking on Temperance,” the third installment of her wonderful Cotillion Ball series. Ms. Lower whets our appetite on page one when she gives us Basil Fitzpatrick, the brother and playboy of the Fitzpatrick household whom we met in Ms. Lower’s first and second books, “The Reluctant Debutante” and “The Abolitionist’s Secret.” At last, we will get to know this scoundrel better. The year is 1856 and yet, the minute we meet Temperance Jones, we realize she could easily step into the 21st century as a role model for women who work hard to achieve their goals. After her father dies, she shoulders the burden of her family’s survival, determined to fulfill a deathbed promise to move them West, despite any and all obstacles standing in her way. Much to his dismay, Basil finds himself involved in her struggle, a role that threatens his bachelorhood and his own determination to avoid commitment. The reader mentally rubs her hands together as the pages turn. Basil has surely met his match. Ms. Lower sweetens the experience by bringing back Ginger and Joseph Lafontaine, that long-haired Indian who makes our stomachs flutter. Ginger is a champion of women’s rights and when she and Temperance become friends, they make a formidable pair. We’re invested in Temperance and her challenges, the weariness of her toil seeping into our own bones, and irritated at Basil for denying his true emotions. Men can be pretty stupid in the face of true love and Basil, who worries about heartburn, is no exception. Our emotions ride the same roller coaster as Temperance and Basil, anxious to read the outcome. If you are a fan of historical romances, or a Becky Lower fan, you want to be sure to add “Banking on Temperance” to your bookshelf. I could not put this book down.

The Abolitionist's Secret (Book) - 12/3/2012 6:27:20 AM
For those of you who loved feisty Ginger Fitzpatrick’s story, your wait is over...Becky Lower brings us book two in her Fitzpatrick family saga, focusing on Heather, younger sister of Ginger and twin sister of Jasmine. Even if you haven’t read the first book, you can easily begin with this one. Lower again combines a sweeping story set in an America on the cusp of being divided into North and South, and again brings us complex and emotional family dynamics that ring true to real life. Heather and her boisterous, trouble-making twin Jasmine are just beginning their coming-out Season, but Jasmine gets sidelined by an injury and is forced to stay on the sidelines...for once. Heather, who has tended to live in Jasmine’s shadow, suddenly discovers what life is like on her own. She finds herself aiding an escaped slave and her child, and falling in love with a dashing Southern army lieutenant...who happens to be tracking the very slaves Heather has aided...for they have escaped from his own plantation. Despite their differences, Heather and David fall in love...but how can an abolitionist ever marry a slave owner? When Heather journeys to David’s plantation, she begins teaching slaves to read and finds her calling as a teacher. But David’s mother is an ominous adversary, determined not to allow a Northerner to change the traditional way of life she has so carefully planned to preserve for her son. She seizes an opportunity provided by an impulsive act of jealousy by Heather’s twin to attempt to destroy Heather and David’s love. You will greatly enjoy this story of self-discovery as Heather learns who she is as a person apart from her twin, and wonder if love can be strong enough to alter beliefs that have driven families and cultures for centuries. You will be sad when it ends...but don’t be too sad, because Heather and Ginger have a rakish brother, Basil, whose story is up next from this talented author.

The Abolitionist's Secret (Book) - 11/17/2012 6:27:13 AM
Crimson Romance Author Becky Lower introduced us to the Fitzpatrick sisters in July and we liked that Ginger and Joseph Lafontaine got together. We love that younger sister Heather meets and falls in love with David Whitman, a Southern plantation owner and Army lieutenant tracking a runaway slave in the second of her Cotillion series, “The Abolitionist’s Secret.” If you liked the first installment, you’ll find the second one warmer, more romantic and a tad nail biting. Ms. Lower escorts us to our second Cotillion Ball in New York where the two meet and the romance begins. How we wish we could dance in that magnificent ballroom. As is her way, Ms. Lower not only subtlety educates us about slavery and plops us into the abolitionist movement, she introduces us to another strong heroine with brains and backbone – traits she’ll use wisely in Lt. Whitman’s Georgia home. Heather objects to slavery and strives to educate her fiancé against the practice as well as educate the slaves – a crime punishable by death. Readers root for Heather to best her future mother-in-law, a woman many of us may, ahem, recognize. The fine blend of history, heartache and happy-ever-after once again exemplifies why Becky Lower is one of our favorite authors.

The Abolitionist's Secret (Book) - 11/12/2012 3:27:22 AM
In her second book of the Cotillion Ball series, author Becky Lower has continued to captivate this reader with her interest in history that is woven during the time before the Civil War and "the winds of change" regarding the issue of slavery. The heroine, Heather Fitzpatrick, is an abolitionist. The hero, Lt. David Whitman ia an army officer whose father owns a plantation in the south. After becoming betrothed, the two of them travel to Georgia to see David's father who is dying and also to meet his mean-spirited mother, a woman who has other plans for her son to marry a southern neighbor. What intrigues this reader is what Heather does to help the slaves and how his mother becomes so cruel to the depths of maintaining her home and southern dignity. I could not put this book down. The author made me feel as if I was the heroine and had traveled into the past. I recommend this book highly. Becky Lower's interest in true American history research regarding the topic in each of her books makes this reader anxious to read all the books in the Cotillion Ball series, and any other books she has written.

The Abolitionist's Secret (Book) - 11/4/2012 11:48:33 AM
This romantic tale unfolds against the backdrop of increasing tensions between the slave-holding and free states in pre-Civil War America. Heather is a New York debutante beginning her first season alongside her identical but somewhat shallow twin sister Jasmine. The more socially responsible twin falls in love with a dashing young army officer. But Heather is involved with the abolitionist movement and finds her love tested when she learns that David is heir to a Georgia plantation. After she and her chaperone travel south to meet her betrothed's drying father and domineering mother, Heather's beliefs and lifestyle put her in a dangerous situation. Can these star-crossed lovers prevail? I spent a few late nights glued to my computer to find out for myself. This is the second book of the new Cotillion Ball series by Becky Lower but it stands alone as a compelling historical romance.

The Reluctant Debutante (Book) - 6/12/2012 2:53:31 PM
Becky Lower’s The Reluctant Debutante is a well-researched, richly drawn portrait of 1855 America that intertwines a number of historical events and persons with a very romantic and sensual tale. Vastly entertaining, with a fabulous tie-in to the famous Gasconade Bridge train disaster, Lower skillfully constructs a story full of challenges, betrayals, love and enduring friendships that has a way of pulling you into her character’s lives and wanting more. All in all, The Reluctant Debutante is a portal to another time that held my attention from beginning to end!

The Reluctant Debutante (Book) - 6/11/2012 12:24:59 PM
Becky Lower has brought Ginger Fitzpatrick to life in the historical romance of "The Reluctant Debutante". This book is riveting and I found it hard to put down. Ginger is not at all impressed with the Cotillion Ball, even thought her younger sisters are all atwitter about it. Ginger would rather be doing what society would not approve of, from suffragette movements to relocating to the frontier from her prim and proper home in NYC. This is truly a story that uses actual historical facts to build on. Becky Lower has done an impressive job of portraying a loving family who only wants what is best for their daughter. I can't wait to read the sequels.

The Reluctant Debutante (Book) - 6/8/2012 8:58:10 PM
Becky Lower’s The Reluctant Debutante is a well-researched, richly drawn portrait of 1855 America that intertwines a number of historical events and persons with a very romantic and sensual tale. Vastly entertaining, with a fabulous tie-in to the famous Gasconade Bridge train disaster, Lower skillfully constructs a story full of challenges, betrayals, love and enduring friendships that has a way of pulling you into her character’s lives and wanting more. All in all, The Reluctant Debutante is a portal to another time that held my attention from beginning to end!

The Reluctant Debutante (Book) - 6/5/2012 10:47:35 AM
Talented and gifted author Becky Lower has taken a love of history and words and woven them into a beautiful tale of family, love, suspense and true historical events taking place from NYC to St. Louis, Missouri. At a time when most women want to attend a Cotillion Ball to meet that special someone, the heroine, Ginger, has to relent to her parents' wishes if she wants her own way. "The Reluctant Debutante" captivated this reader from the very beginning until the last page, and knowing that this is the first novel in The Cotillion Series, I look forward to reading each and every one to come. Ms. Lower is sure to become a best selling author when it comes to historical romance, and any other genre that she puts her words to.

The Reluctant Debutante (Book) - 6/4/2012 7:36:35 PM
I stayed up until 2 a.m. reading "The Reluctant Debutante" in one sitting. Ginger thought she wanted to be a woman's activist and an employee in a man's world but because of the rules of society at that time, her parents made her promise to attend the Debutante's Cotillion to introduce her to the right men of society. Becky Lower did a superb job keeping this reader in suspense as to who would be the proper man for Ginger. Even though society wouldn't approve, her parents love and understanding of their daughter played an integral part in this book! I can't wait to read the sequels!

Pennies From Heaven (Short Story) - 3/22/2013 9:21:02 AM
What a wonderful tale of a very creative father. I could visualize life on the farm and how much work there was to do, but also the fun and excitement of discovering buried treasure as a child. My father would have enjoyed reading this, too.

Pennies From Heaven (Short Story) - 3/22/2013 3:51:10 AM
what a great memory of a smart dad budd

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.