AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Francis Eaden, iKarin Fleischhaker-Griffin, iRaymond Sturgis, iEdward Patterson, iBlak Rayne, iWayne Anderson, iPhilip Hughes-Luing, i
 
Home > R. Burrow
 

Recent Reviews for R. Burrow


THE JERK (Short Story) - 11/25/2013 9:27:51 AM
Thanks for your comments, Ronald. Personally, I don't need or particularly want my father's affection. But yes, I do get jealous, or indignant, when I am treated as someone of little importance. Furthermore, I will add that I'm aware that it's the way it is with parenting - the kids get all the attention. That's always been hard for me. It's been a tradition for Don to bring over food. He is a cheap man, but you're right, I should be more appreciative, though one comes to expect their parents doting, which is probably immature. But it's been said numerous times that my father TRIES TO BUY my affection. It appears he's NOW trying to buy the affections of my SON by giving him money and gifts. It's just not the right way to get your children (and grandchildren) to love you. The man thinks that relationships revolve around money. And Don was ABSOLUTELY NOT teasing me by feeding the dog. It was a blatant disregard for my rules - if he even paid any attention at all. I don't place value on material things, I wanted the loganberry to drink it. Ted's loganberry is not "classy." As for the $20, perhaps that is again, feeling slighted. I wanted the $20 also because I live below the poverty level, but that's not here nor there. You don't have to like my story, but please keep in mind that it was intended to be amusing as well as vindictive. The bottom of a bottle of diet loganberry was meant to be somewhat funny, as well as symbolic. Shortly after this little party, Ron sent my son a check for $20. No card, no note, just a $20 check made out to my son. Go figure. Anyway, thanks again for your comments. P.S. I think the point of the story didn't come through for you because I didn't relate ALL THE TONS AND TONS OF SHIT I've endured from that man over years and years of my life. I come from a highly dysfunctional family, which might be something foreign to you. There was never any "loving Dad." Don is not a normal person. He really is a jerk, and I have to keep my expectations of him low, which is difficult for me. Most people who know him know that he's deficient in many ways. Sorry if I've offended you.

THE JERK (Short Story) - 11/25/2013 7:39:43 AM
I can understand your being upset for your father's (refer to him as Don, more impersonal than loving, like Dad) ignoring your request that he not feed your dog from the table. I get the impression that he knew what he was doing and he was teasing you like he always has… Just trying to get your goat… And did. You seem to place a lot of value on material things like classy Ted's Logan Berry instead of graciously accepting your father's offer of food. You also seem very jealous whenever your father treats his grandson differently from you, his daughter. You seem deprived of affection and try to get it through material things like a gift of $20. I guess you can tell that I didn't like your story for your vindictiveness. Ron

THE JERK (Short Story) - 11/25/2013 3:38:57 AM
a well written story budd

FOR CPS (Short Story) - 11/6/2013 4:13:09 PM
lol

Two dog death stories... (Short Story) - 10/28/2013 5:38:07 AM
too very sad budd

My Escape from the Psychiatric Unit (Short Story) - 10/15/2013 9:04:36 AM
i enjoyed this one budd

My Escape from the Psychiatric Unit (Short Story) - 10/14/2013 7:22:36 AM
Very interesting reading. Your writing is so straightforward, it makes me wonder why you would have to be in a psychiatric ward. I had a roommate once who said he was suffering from “hypertension,” but seemed to be suffering from much more. He had a PhD in chemistry and had worked on the Manhattan Project, perhaps the cause of his distress. Anyway, he disappeared from my house in January and no one could locate him. Finally, I got a call from his friend, a business faculty member who told me that the missing was in the psychiatric ward at the Mayo hospital in Rochester, Minnesota––had checked himself in. Anyway, Calloway wanted his shaving kit. That evening, I drove the 60 miles to Rochester in the dead of winter to deliver the brown leather kit containing Calloway's shaving kit. I couldn't get in the ward to see him, and when I delivered the kit to the window. The guy there open the kit and removed all the razor blades as a way of preventing suicide attempts. Calloway returned a couple of weeks later. He never said anything about his stay in the psychiatric ward except that he committed himself there for treatment. Ron

In Memory of Sweetpea (Short Story) - 8/26/2013 9:25:14 AM
such a loss is devistating to any of us. budd

god? (Short Story) - 12/16/2012 9:52:43 AM
a very interesting thought prvoking story budd

Julie's Madness (Short Story) - 6/6/2011 9:01:14 AM
Could Julie be trapped within her madness? Yes, this is truly a story filled with madness. How incredibly sad and heart-wrenching. Donna

Honeymoon with Joe (Short Story) - 4/4/2009 1:06:13 PM
You get across very well the eerie cut off from reality necessary for any addicted gambler to slash their own throat. That this harrowing human failing destroys a woman's most sensitive dream, her honeymoom, only adds poignancy to our dread of that mystifying ability in so may of us to utterly degrade ourselves for no good reason. Your story's moving and good luck with your next. Bennett Kremen author of Savage Days Haunted Nights, a novel availabe at Amazon.com

PHOENIX? LOUDOUN? GERMANY? RUSSIA? USSR? AFRICA? CONGO? ISRAEL? WHERE YOU B (Short Story) - 4/3/2007 4:16:05 AM
I know what you mean. The qoute sounds like it is from the great Canadian philosopher Red Green. When viewing the modern world he also advises.."Keep your stick on the ice." Much wisdom in that man's words.

Violence & The Mentally Ill (Article) - 11/25/2010 5:28:05 PM
Tragedy-Read A D Reviews... Credit Illuminating Write... TRASK

Grapevines (Haiku) (Poetry) - 12/24/2013 11:18:29 AM
they are wonderfully visual and tasteful in many ways to many differently budd

Selena the cat (Poetry) - 11/30/2013 10:26:58 AM
They're just like people sometimes, they get moody but you forgive them for their actions. :-) Nice poem.

Selena the cat (Poetry) - 11/26/2013 10:00:42 PM
Well versed cat poem. My cat bites me every now and then. I call them love bites. Amen!

Selena the cat (Poetry) - 11/26/2013 10:29:43 AM
If I was the cat, I would say, "You rubbed me the wrong way." Ron

Selena the cat (Poetry) - 11/26/2013 7:22:17 AM
you have to love them as they are, i agree budd

A series of poems; nostalgic (Poetry) - 10/28/2013 5:15:43 AM
sad memories revealed very well here budd

A series of poems; nostalgic (Poetry) - 10/27/2013 10:36:54 AM
Some gripping words. The one titled 'Mom' really bothers me. Ron

Truthlike (Poetry) - 10/26/2013 8:19:38 AM
I sincerely believe that we each have a guardian angel who walks with us and talks with us. We are not abandoned.

When I'm very old........ (Poetry) - 10/26/2013 8:15:19 AM
You seem to be at peace with yourself and your circumstances now. A nursing home might well be your best option. As for me, no way. I will simply ride off into the sunset and continue to follow whatever remains of my dreams. There are no perfect answers to such imperfect questions. Do your best with what you have is all any of us can do.

When I'm very old........ (Poetry) - 7/17/2013 3:48:18 AM
Yes, I think a nursing home is most likely where I'll find myself in the end. I'm already forgetful, and a close relative thinks I have early Alzheimer's. I'll become a body without a mind, and I have no choice - it's the lesser of two evils. I'm already familiar with life in institutions such as nursing homes. It wouldn't be right for my son to give up his life to care for an aging mom. Anyway, as you said, George, too much could happen between then and now to know what will happen. Our destiny is our own creation, but there's that variable of randomness, or the unexpected, that enters in and changes things - sometimes for the better.

When I'm very old........ (Poetry) - 7/7/2013 7:37:23 AM
Interesting questions raised. I would say to do everything you can to keep your mind sharp and to know when your own death is imminent enough to tell others, “goodbye.” Nursing homes are passé. My mother, still sharp for her age, with no funds of her own, is getting all the help she needs at home. The next step would be assisted living where she would have independence. The final step would be hospice with caring people all around. For the past twenty years, I've had three helpers in my home that get me out of bed, and then take care of all my basic needs, allowing me to be free to write, and pretty much, do what I want. Sure, it costs money, but I saved for thirty years because I knew it was coming and I didn't want to burden my family or go into a nursing home. When that time comes, I will probably be here in my home saying goodbye to my employees and partner. Ron

When I'm very old........ (Poetry) - 7/7/2013 4:51:50 AM
R. Burrow, John and George are right. Some fortunate people do and can live at home. I used to be a CNA. I worked for my landlord taking care of his parents. A nursing home was not an option for them. My landlord wanted them at HOME. I took care of them until their death. They both passed away peacefully at home. Many blessings, +Linda

When I'm very old........ (Poetry) - 7/6/2013 4:37:10 PM
Don't you believe it. My next door neighbor is 94 and lived at home all of his life. I have interviewed many people in their 80's and 90's and most don't want to go to a nursing home. They exercise and eat right so they don't go there! So don't believe it and don't believe everyone who is old has to live in pain. The food we eat do make a huge difference. Amen! Peace, love and blessings be with you, JMD

When I'm very old........ (Poetry) - 7/6/2013 4:33:40 PM
Too much can happen between then and now to bring it all to a happy ending.

Truthlike (Poetry) - 2/27/2013 5:59:56 AM
Is this really you, or just the dark poem? Ron

Truthlike (Poetry) - 2/26/2013 3:35:19 PM
Not a pleasant thought or wish to have but makes for good poetry. George

Addicted (Poetry) - 1/4/2013 8:37:40 AM
Unpardon me but I relent it boldly; For it is far ahead, if I can be sure of it, And far it is, that my hallucination be valid, And hallucination it is, as it should be, And however, unlike itself, mysterious, unknown, and untested, So it be foreseen in my tireless search.

To Cipher (Poetry) - 1/20/2012 12:40:09 PM
Dark and gloomy, but a refuge for your mind. Ron

the goddess in the landfill (Poetry) - 7/18/2011 8:20:04 PM
pensive, plosive, poignancy rivets this prose poem together with a rare and raw emotion that is equally trenchant and robust... nicely done. Roger

No More Sorry Cats (Poetry) - 6/20/2011 7:34:33 PM
Very sweet and touching piece.. Be always safe, Karen

Addicted (Poetry) - 6/12/2011 7:16:25 PM
Actually the addiction is to the nanny state. If we didn't have the government safety net to rescue us from our abuses, we might take a little more responsibility in protecting our bodies from self-harm. Still a great poem. ~ Sara

IRIS: drug abuse program (Poetry) - 9/2/2008 5:12:04 AM
It's all there in black and white.

IRIS: drug abuse program (Poetry) - 8/28/2008 7:15:50 PM
Your powerful words ring true to me, drug abuse and desperately trying to become clean is a dangerous battle for many. People are people regardless of the circumstances they find themselves in. Thank you for highlighting the plight of many, with your sincere and caring write.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.