AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: M. R. Mathias, iRussell Williams, iJames Becher, iCheryl Sellers, iJeff Alt, iLily of Lough Neagh C. Dennis-Woosley, iNina Anderson, i
 
Home > Dorien Grey
 

Recent Reviews for Dorien Grey


The Paper Mirror (Book) - 6/11/2006 6:30:53 PM
I always enjoy your writing

The Role Players (Book) - 6/15/2004 3:44:16 PM
I had only read a few lines of "The Role Players" when I knew this book was going to be a smash. I actually began to smile on the first page as Dorien's gentle humor drew me in, even though this is first and foremost a murder mystery. It's not that his subjects are funny; the way he writes with subtle yet broad, meaningful master strokes. The leading actor in an off-Broadway play has been murdered. Our hero, Dick Hardesty and his young lover, Jonathan, fly to New York to see the play staying with Dick's former lover, Chris, who is the set designer. Chris' current lover, Max, is the stage manager. Dick becomes involved in the murder investigation, not because he's looking for work while on vacation. He doesn't want to, but is talked into it by Tait Duncan,who runs the theater group. Tait only wants to know whether someone in the Whitman Theater Group committed the murder. As always, Grey has penned a fast reading, fun mystery. This time, in addition to the mystery, we get to go along vicariously on this trip all around New York and see it through Jonathan's eyes. I loved that--it was just like being there with dear friends without contending with all the traffic. "The Role Players" is another great read by Dorien Grey. I recommend it highly to anyone who loves a good, solid mystery. Beth Anderson,www.bethanderson-hotclue.com

Calico (Print Version) (Book) - 6/13/2004 8:18:52 PM
oh good! look forward to doing the review

The 9th Man (Book) - 5/2/2004 1:24:21 PM
Dorien Grey has a masterful command of the English language, a rarity these days, it seems. Other writers master plot, technique, character and action, but not all writers have Dorien's 'gift of gab.' Grey's "9th Man" IS a book that does 'grab you from the first line,' as another reviewer commented. Grey is contemporary and classic, like reading Chandler and Hammett set in the 21st Century. Frankly, I want to see more of his books.

The Hired Man (Book) - 10/5/2002 5:02:57 PM
In The Hired Man Dorien Grey has done it again! Writer Grey continues to grow as an author. The Hired Man has all the memorable well defined characters, plot and sub plots, twists and turns we have come to expect from this writer.

The Bar Watcher (Book) - 8/7/2002 4:43:55 AM
The Bar Watcher is the third in this exciting series of thrillers featuring the amiable Dick Hardesty. Watch those red herrings. Writer Grey has moved beyond crafty and is getting down right sneaky in his presentation of those little roadblocks! Happy to know Dorien is already working on the next in the series. Keep 'em coming! Excellent read, highly recommended. Reviewed by molly martin http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin/

The 9th Man (Book) - 8/6/2002 7:26:17 PM
This ‘grab you from the first line’ account when unlikable Rohlfing swishes into Hardesty’s office is an entertaining read filled with characters who are as human as those presented by Erle Stanley Gardner. The mystery slowly unravels to reveal an understandable assassin who has sound reasons for the murders he has committed.

The Butcher's Son (Book) - 6/3/2001 9:06:34 AM
Release Date: 2001 Hardesty soon discovers he is learning more about the narrow-minded, harsh Chief of Police than he ever hoped to know when the ‘worst fire in city history’ guts another gay bar in the Bacchus Lair vicinity. In this inferno are lost friends of Hardesty. He is propelled into trying to find who is effecting the horror only to discover not everything in the Rourke household is as it once seemed. With the arsonist brought to the light of day, Hardesty is able to persuade Chief Terrence Rouke to take back his name from the governor’s race. Excellent book filled with a marvelous array of characters. From the delightful drag queen Tondelay O’Tool/Teddy, the mysterious Judy Garland, and right down to the bigot Rourke these are people who catch and hold your attention. The mystery surrounding Patrick Rouke’s supposed death, his brother Kevin and Dick Hardesty himself are all credible characters behaving in plausible manner. The twists of plot coupled with Hardesty’s personal life situation provide the backdrop for his leaving the Public Relations firm and hanging out his shingle as a Private Detective. Evocative of Christine Spindler’s ‘Faces of Fear’ and filled with the spine tingling chill of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle the narrative is a grab the reader from the opening page and keep them interested right down to the last. The anguish of the gay community is compelling. Hardesty’s desperation driven behavior as he strives to discover what is bringing about this terror keeps the reader on the edge of the seat. The interwoven personal issues Hardesty and his friends engage in are grist for the story. THE BUTCHER’S SON extends to the reader a glimpse inside the mind of a hagridden, obsessed individual who begins to act upon his delusion in the most fear-inspiring manner. In a short time the reader observes how quickly controlled behavior turns to irrational, overpowering hostility and even murderous intent. THE BUTCHER’S SON is Dorien Grey’s second mystery thriller and is the prequel to his highly acclaimed ‘The Ninth Man.’ We who enjoy thrillers are delighted to know Dorien is hard at work on the next and many more novels in this series are soon to be forthcoming. THE BUTHCHER’S SON is a tale that will clinch you tight from the first line and will hold you fast right on down to the last page. Perceptive book and highly recommended. Reviewed by m j hollingshead http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin The Cat’s Paw: Blue Death review written for ScribesWorld, BookDragon, TerryFic, others

The 9th Man (Book) - 5/3/2001 3:21:48 PM
Likeable characters, good story, well written book! Highly recommended. Would like to see a chapter available for reading here on the site. m j hollingshead (review for Scribesworld, BookDragon, TerryFic.)

It (Short Story) - 4/23/2006 2:55:13 AM
Geez, this was creeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeepy! Very well done! :)

It (Short Story) - 5/2/2004 6:57:27 PM
Good story. "It" haunted me all afternoon, ending in the thick of the night, where all scary stuff happens. I await more by Dorien Grey.

It (Short Story) - 5/1/2004 7:22:37 PM
brrrrr scary

Of Time and Cookies (Poetry) - 11/23/2008 8:48:34 PM
Oh how sad life can be at times, being torn between what once was and what it has now become... Be always safe, Karen

Sides (Poetry) - 11/23/2008 6:26:04 PM
Dorien, this is as stirring and as heartbreaking as the time and cookies poem. I'm glad to know your poetry is posted here. I will return often...

On Reality (Poetry) - 7/19/2007 5:00:26 PM
well done!!

On Reality (Poetry) - 7/18/2007 7:40:09 PM
good on you!

On Reality (Poetry) - 7/18/2007 7:19:13 PM
or can you? playing with madness. .. . twisted little verse .ness.

On Reality (Poetry) - 7/18/2007 6:34:56 PM
LOLKu - enjoyed, Nicky x

Haiku: Wax Dolls (Poetry) - 11/19/2006 4:54:38 PM
what new form will we take on? clever ku ...

Haiku: Wax Dolls (Poetry) - 11/18/2006 11:25:50 AM
great imagery and so true

Haiku: Wax Dolls (Poetry) - 11/15/2006 5:47:18 PM
So true, and you said it so well. Elizabeth

Haiku: Wax Dolls (Poetry) - 11/15/2006 5:02:45 PM
Excellent form and verses.

Haiku: Wax Dolls (Poetry) - 11/15/2006 2:29:51 PM
"Haiku: Wax Dolls" Thank you for sharing this work. A geniunely unique haiku! Sincerely, From the Heart of an Artist Quiet Storm

Requiem (Poetry) - 8/8/2006 4:50:16 AM
poignant read

Requiem (Poetry) - 8/5/2006 9:44:10 AM
Intensely moving. Enjoyed the read. Aberjhani

Infinity Interrupted (Poetry) - 6/11/2006 6:12:10 PM
well done

Agarn (Poetry) - 6/2/2006 3:08:19 PM
Nicely done....

Agarn (Poetry) - 5/27/2006 11:38:53 AM
i like this

A Poem, They Say (Poetry) - 5/24/2006 8:06:04 PM
excellent ... this reminds me of Bukowski's "why are there so many poets and so little poetry?"

A Poem, They Say (Poetry) - 5/21/2006 4:42:30 PM
Spice may help to make things right/write With the proper measure of sweets While looks maybe deceiving The proof's behind the teeth! ty for the inspiration and laugh!!! pax A

A Poem, They Say (Poetry) - 5/21/2006 4:07:36 PM
Hahahaha!!!!! Jeez! Someone that speaks da truth. Gotta love it!

A Poem, They Say (Poetry) - 5/21/2006 12:39:25 PM
lol, good question, dessert is sooo much better and more decadent.

A Poem, They Say (Poetry) - 5/21/2006 12:35:34 PM
I LIKE THIS

Sides (Poetry) - 5/18/2006 5:52:31 PM
when it comes down to it, we need only be true to ourselves ...

Sides (Poetry) - 5/15/2006 1:10:18 PM
I can relate to this, no one ever wanted me, the fat kid, either, but I learned really quick that it is better to be disliked for who you are than to be liked for who you are not, and it is much better to be a leader than a follower. This is a deep poem that so many could relate to in different ways, and that is a gift to someone else out there struggling with sexual orientation, being overweight, racism, etc. and who reads this and knows they are not alone. I think you are better than the real Dorian, after all, he was a fake, and this writing is real, more like Oscar.

Sides (Poetry) - 5/15/2006 3:09:11 AM
poignant read. 'Until now, once again, I find I am not wanted in the game. ' sad to say, gay, straight or spotted leopard, i think this is pretty much the way of life as we become older.

Sides (Poetry) - 5/14/2006 9:11:09 PM
emotional write...be aware of your thoughts...they become your life

Tell Me, Friend (Poetry) - 5/5/2006 10:19:12 AM
Well said! eT

Tell Me, Friend (Poetry) - 5/5/2006 8:54:46 AM
well said

Tell Me, Friend (Poetry) - 5/5/2006 7:15:40 AM
Spot on. You are so right. And indeed it costs NOTHING to be kind and you never know for your free kindness what TREASURES you may find. Kudos, SFX

Black Clouds (Poetry) - 5/3/2006 8:56:57 PM
Great imagery! Chanti

Black Clouds (Poetry) - 5/3/2006 4:39:30 AM


Black Clouds (Poetry) - 5/2/2006 4:41:33 PM
i like this

Black Clouds (Poetry) - 5/2/2006 4:08:22 PM
Have you been in Texas lately?? Storms on the move! (Hope they don't nasty here!)

Black Clouds (Poetry) - 5/2/2006 3:24:15 PM
Fantastic imagery; some of those black clouds are to our west, heading this way...I hope they don't boom too loud! Well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Fortress (Poetry) - 5/2/2006 3:01:18 PM
Very nice! I like the way you think/explain. And it rhymes - oh my! :-) SFx

Black Clouds (Poetry) - 5/2/2006 2:58:34 PM
Neat! Very neat - in both senses of the word :-) SFx

Infinity Interrupted (Poetry) - 5/1/2006 1:30:47 PM
wow, how true, that image freaked me out and made me feel great at the same time, cool :)

Infinity Interrupted (Poetry) - 5/1/2006 10:41:01 AM
yes

Fortress (Poetry) - 8/11/2004 8:58:34 AM
this is outstanding poetry love the rhythm!!!

Fortress (Poetry) - 8/7/2004 11:51:01 AM
If you left the door open and tossed away the key, maybe you'd be surprised by your destiny. We surround our seles with covers that never are complete. Did somene find you lacking and chase you beneath the sheets? "Will The Circle Be Unbroken?" Are you hiding your mistakes? Maybe all your concepts of love and life are really fakes. Bill

Playmates (Poetry) - 8/3/2004 8:19:07 PM
lovely sentimental testimonial ...i really like how the last verse develops ...

Playmates (Poetry) - 8/1/2004 4:43:32 AM
lovely tribute well done

The Broken Child (Poetry) - 6/24/2004 7:58:11 PM
we must work our way out from the dense foliage of life's estranged experiences to see the clearing ahead ... excellent work!

The Broken Child (Poetry) - 6/20/2004 8:09:59 PM
This last stanza really captures the way it feels to be broken by circumstances beyond your control and the struggle to keep going. Well-written piece.

The Broken Child (Poetry) - 6/20/2004 5:19:06 PM
Hi Dorien: This is heartfelt write indeed!!!!! Yes, I agree, some children are stronger than others, for they learn the technique to be emotionally strong and survive through the darkest place without love. In my eyes, these children are special children, and their strength for survival are specially-gifted by God. These children are to be admired for they grow wings and learn to fly themselves. ~ Sandie May Angel :o) ~

The Broken Child (Poetry) - 6/20/2004 3:20:13 PM
Children always pay the highest price.. Excellent poem.

The Broken Child (Poetry) - 6/20/2004 2:07:07 PM
poignant read, well done

Narcissus' Moon (Poetry) - 6/1/2004 5:20:26 PM
i like this

Questions of Valor (Poetry) - 6/1/2004 9:33:11 AM
a great and powerful poem

Questions of Valor (Poetry) - 5/29/2004 9:22:12 AM
Wonderful write. Great theme and rhyme. Enjoyed.

Questions of Valor (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 8:33:13 PM
powerful read

Reality & I (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 4:09:28 AM
So very unique and thought provoking. That ending cinches it.

Reality & I (Poetry) - 5/26/2004 1:01:14 PM
Loved this- the ending is my favorite part.

The Spider in the Tub (Poetry) - 5/22/2004 9:29:39 AM
I am not a big fan of spiders, but I did write a poem about one, which I can't post here as I entered it in a contest. I don't bother spiders unless they bother me, but I don't like them much. The only ones I don't really mind are Daddy Long Legs, which are funny to watch.

Narcissus' Moon (Poetry) - 5/13/2004 5:14:30 PM
interesting conceptual image ...

Narcissus' Moon (Poetry) - 5/13/2004 8:26:08 AM
very insightful loved the title and the Haiku is wondeful

Narcissus' Moon (Poetry) - 5/11/2004 3:22:41 PM
Other night a blood red moon hit the sky..hmm peole attacted my haiku so I just changed it's name to britiku:)) concur with Michelle

Narcissus' Moon (Poetry) - 5/11/2004 10:01:33 AM
I think it's more than nice- nice is flowers you give to your grandmother- these images are better than nice, more in depth than that. It makes you think, haiku or not, and that is better than a poem with a thousand words that says nothing.

Narcissus' Moon (Poetry) - 5/11/2004 9:15:51 AM
Wonderful image.

Narcissus' Moon (Poetry) - 5/11/2004 8:51:01 AM
Lovely! Liked this very much, Reindeer

Narcissus' Moon (Poetry) - 5/11/2004 8:35:57 AM
nice. read "how to haiku" by Bruce Ross

Sea Thoughts (Poetry) - 4/27/2004 5:07:20 PM
lovely

Sea Thoughts (Poetry) - 4/27/2004 4:10:15 AM
Is this the box where I get to breath again? Dorien, this was perfect poetry. I know you must have whispered these words, for I heard them on the morning horizon. Excellent work. Lisa

Sea Thoughts (Poetry) - 4/27/2004 1:11:59 AM
Yup sea wash's away anything in the sand, fragile like life..

Sea Thoughts (Poetry) - 4/27/2004 12:14:36 AM
Wow..I loved this, powerful and excellent, Reindeer

Sea Thoughts (Poetry) - 4/26/2004 11:35:25 PM
"writing sea thoughts" - much appreciated these thoughts.

Sea Thoughts (Poetry) - 4/26/2004 7:38:25 PM
Powerful. Interesting choice for a pen name. Could it be the artistic reflection of Dorian Gray, or Oscar Wilde-or maybe both, if there is even a difference.

Sea Thoughts (Poetry) - 4/26/2004 7:29:50 PM
Superb poem, vibrant images too good to let wash away;-) We never know how wonderful memories are until we don't have them.

The Spider in the Tub (Poetry) - 4/24/2004 3:46:16 PM
I would have screamed out loud and then flush it down the drain. They multiply very quickly. Scary write! ~ Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu ~

The Spider in the Tub (Poetry) - 4/23/2004 9:12:03 PM
Mountain Poet, LOL But it is a thought-provoking piece.

The Spider in the Tub (Poetry) - 4/23/2004 8:51:42 PM
Yeah, but now the fly is in big trouble.

The Spider in the Tub (Poetry) - 4/23/2004 4:57:43 PM
i like this, you know me and critters

The Spider in the Tub (Poetry) - 4/23/2004 2:09:18 PM
I'll remember this lesson next time I reach for my shoe. Maybe I'll send a copy of this to Woody Allen (Remember the spider bash with tennis racquets in ANNIE HALL?)

The Spider in the Tub (Poetry) - 4/23/2004 1:46:56 PM
:) or sir, kind one ........well done

Shadows (Poetry) - 4/21/2004 9:04:48 AM
yes...wonderful!!!!

Shadows (Poetry) - 4/20/2004 11:37:00 PM
wonderful concept ...

Shadows (Poetry) - 4/20/2004 9:33:56 PM
AHA! Found you again! How did I do that, anyway? And how do you paint these wonderful poems?

Shadows (Poetry) - 4/20/2004 6:06:19 PM
i like this

Shadows (Poetry) - 4/20/2004 11:55:45 AM
neat

Hope (Poetry) - 4/19/2004 7:44:14 PM
so true and quite good. ~ sara

Hope (Poetry) - 4/19/2004 5:11:48 PM
bravo!

Hope (Poetry) - 4/19/2004 4:19:57 PM
nice one

Hope (Poetry) - 4/19/2004 4:11:50 PM
Bloody brilliant, they surely can...

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.