AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Douglas Skopp, iEileen Granfors, iJoe tofuri@swbell.net, ial squitieri,sr, iShirley Houston, iNeil Levin, iJoAnna Drelleshak, i
 
Home > Christopher Matthew Collins
 

Recent Reviews for Christopher Matthew Collins


Treatise of the Sexes, circa 2003 (Article) - 1/13/2004 8:09:51 AM
Many of the social problems and difficulties noted in this article are peculiar to American society. The history of cultural programming and its effects on social relations should be explored. A biochemical perspective uncovers more information. For example, a powerful drug is released when two strangers "hit it off". A strong bond filled with passions will last about 6 years, then it wears off and can never be repeated. Most people confuse this chemical attraction with love. When it wears off they believe there is no more love and they move on in search of it elsewhere. This "seven year itch" is best explained in terms of drug dependency. There is a bond of a chemical nature that can be sustained by two people through physical relations, but it is not as potent. Most Americans are oblivious to the biochemics of lust. (www.chronicletelegram.com , 31 Oct 99) Societies that discourage physical contact between sexes prior to marriage, see more intimacy between family members and less divorce. America, though dominated by a secular society that is culturally programmed and regressing into Greco-Roman paganism, continues to have religious and ethnic subcultures that practice traditional values such as Puritans, Mennonite and Amish communities, Jehovah's Witnesses, Latinos, and Indians. Indians, whether they are Sikh, Muslim or Hindu, are struggling however to maintain their family structures while they are under attack by Bollywood. Bollywood, like our Hollywood, is their Trojan Horse.

Pain of Reality (Poetry) - 5/8/2011 5:11:02 AM
Indeed I know all about PAIN sweet man..enjoyed....Hugss

Adolescence (Poetry) - 8/28/2009 6:18:48 AM
THE BEST WAY TO UNDERSTAND 'ADOLESCENCE' IS TO REMEMBER...'ADOLESCENCE' WELL WRITTEN AND ENJOYED. BLESSING. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Adolescence (Poetry) - 8/24/2009 9:04:31 PM
:) Love that ending, made me smile, how true is that- I loved how you opened this with those words made famous by children the world over.

The Search (Poetry) - 1/14/2004 11:55:13 PM
Excellent expression of love's commitments. Dan S.

Sarcaphogi (Poetry) - 1/14/2004 7:10:15 AM
Well done.

The Struggle of Life (Poetry) - 1/13/2004 9:47:20 AM
Chris; Please understand these reviews of mine are not picking on you. I just happened to stumble upon one of your works and liked some of what I saw. These are merely analyses of words you have placed here for public consumption and comment. I invite you to look at some of mine and be as critical as you please. Critical dialogue is necessary to the writing process. The last six lines are a self contained poem that tells me everything I need to know of you as a writer. The rest is poetic hyperbole. For instance, "Life begins with love," is a lovely thought, but not necessarily true. If life, as implied, begins at the moment of conception, many lives have begun with mere lust, not love. "True love is the most treasured prize in the multiverse"? Tell that to the ghost of Hermann Goering who looted most of Europe to gain the art he so loved. Tell that to the corporate executives of Enron, all married to women they presumably love deeply. Think through what you write before posting it on AD. Tell me in clear, precise verse or prose exactly who you are and what your place is in this universe. Finally, I do love your word "multiverse." I have never seen it before and may, in fact, steal it some day...but only with your permission. Dan S.

Analytical Emotion (Poetry) - 1/13/2004 9:32:14 AM
Chris; If we have lost "the capability for love" how are the last stanza and last line justified? The "we" is either inclusive or editorial. Which is not made clear. If inclusive, then you as the writer have also lost the capability and are unable to love as described. If editorial, the last stanza and line are meaningless within the context of the poem. If you'll take out everything after stanza four you will have a poem that is complete and an entity onto itself. Dan S.

War (Poetry) - 1/13/2004 9:19:17 AM
Chris; There are many Lords of War, all itching to have the young pull a trigger or release a bomb to make the world safe for the old. Who pays the price? Yes, We do. But ultimately All do. I admire this message written from the heart, but universal themes, which "War" certainly is, need universal phrases to deliver the message to both heart and mind of the reader. A good effort and I look forward to reading your other works. Dan S.

Corporate Dragoon (Poetry) - 1/12/2004 10:07:18 PM
They are momsters and growing bigger all the time Excellent message.

Corporate Dragoon (Poetry) - 1/12/2004 6:57:18 PM
I'm afraid you're right, and corporations are pushing for even less regulation, or they want to regulate themselves. Thanks, Christopher.

Corporate Dragoon (Poetry) - 1/12/2004 6:41:08 PM
TRUTH SPEAKS HERE....good write...floria

Darkest Shadow (Poetry) - 1/11/2004 9:00:57 AM
Powerful write. Well done!

Darkest Shadow (Poetry) - 1/11/2004 7:02:54 AM
vlad will be glad um...i really like this write it's sensual, dank, little dark and kept my attention thanks, d.

Seasonal Haze (Poetry) - 9/28/2003 10:46:16 PM
nice!

Seasonal Haze (Poetry) - 9/28/2003 9:54:33 AM
Love the ending.

Seasonal Haze (Poetry) - 9/28/2003 5:34:33 AM
I will ponder these seasons... excellent write!!

Sarcaphogi (Poetry) - 9/27/2003 5:06:11 AM
Clever.

Storm (Poetry) - 9/26/2003 6:25:56 PM
Excellent "Spirituality evolves Into a myriad of emotion. Colorful arches Thus the cycle of life Continues..." I really like poems on spirtituality and growth. Taylor

Storm (Poetry) - 9/26/2003 1:17:18 PM
good write! :D (((HUGS))) and love, your texas friend, karen lynn.

Road to Oblivion (Poetry) - 9/25/2003 12:49:23 PM
Exquisite piece. Holds onto you and punches you at the end.

Companion (Poetry) - 9/25/2003 6:09:25 AM
a beautiful write

Companion (Poetry) - 9/25/2003 1:02:46 AM
may i make a suggestion... post one poem per day...

The Struggle of Life (Poetry) - 9/25/2003 12:28:04 AM
Profoundly written....excellent!

The Scent of Life (Poetry) - 9/24/2003 10:45:26 AM
Wow, I like this! So short, but yet such a timeless message! - J -

Philosophy of Death (Poetry) - 9/24/2003 9:15:43 AM
we wonder...

Serenity (Poetry) - 9/24/2003 9:09:48 AM
what wonderful prose, so very deep in content.. good write

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.