AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Allen Smith, iTonya Kinzer, iLaurie Conrad, iG. Rynk, iB. B. Riefner, iGerald Grantham, iPatrick Granfors, i
 
Home > Carolyn HowardJohnson
 

Recent Reviews for Carolyn HowardJohnson


Sublime Planet, A Chapbook Celebrating the Planet and Universe (Book) - 1/30/2015 1:08:28 PM
Enjoyed the book. Awaiting the next. Jamal Abukou

A New Possibility for This is the Place and Harkening (Book) - 11/19/2012 8:37:00 PM
Seem like a very interesting book to read I will check it out. This sounds like a really good book. Women everywhere should read this book. Great Job on This

Calliope's Mousepad: Women Writers Online (Book) - 3/10/2010 4:38:31 PM
Carolyn, spelling error first sentence. lol. My whole back is out. Working on trying to not have an operation. Haven't wrote to you lately. Sorry, I haven't been reading or writing, pain pills keep me from concentrating. My new poetry book galley will be out soon. I'll send you a copy as soon as I can. Hope you're doing good. Reading above...Joyce

Imagining the Future: Ruminations on Fathers and Other Apparitions (Book) - 3/1/2010 1:57:52 AM
Loved this Carolyn. Would very much like to read your new book. Let me know when it is out. Sorry, I haven't written you lately. I've had a lot of Sciatica pain. So happy tomorrow is first day of spring. Luv Joyce

The Frugal Editor: Put Your Best Book Forward--Winner 3 Awards (Book) - 12/29/2008 6:48:35 PM
Carolyn Howard-Johnson's book, The Frugal Editor, reminds me of the old saying, "It takes a village to raise a child." It also takes a village to make us writers look good. A book is not written. It is rewritten, sometimes even with the help of proofreaders and editors like Carolyn. Carolyn is a must-read villager who has devoted many years of her own marketing experience to help writers hone our craft. Do not misread her title. Being frugal isn't the same as being stingy. Carolyn is very generous with her time and talents. Let's face it; Carolyn makes grammar and editing fun. She makes using Microsoft Find & Replace fun. Good editing makes the difference between being published and not being published. What writer doesn't want to be published? Before we can be published, we have to learn to record sentences already shaped in our heads. To do this we have to have good vocabularies. Having a good vocabulary doesn't mean knowing lots of words. It means being able to choose the right word from the wrong word, which can ultimately humiliate us. Carolyn is a dear friend to all of us who have grammar problems like dangling participles and conflicting noun and verbs. She is also computer-savvy for a novelist, a poet and an editor. Best of all she is approachable, loyal and generous with her HowToDoItFrugally Series of Books for writers. Also, look for her Classified Ads for writers and my book, Sculpting the Heart in her www.HowToDoItFrugally website. In my book, Sculpting the Heart and website www.sculptingtheheart, you will find inspirational poetry, blogging, photography, music and humor. If you are happy, you will enjoy both; if you are not happy, you definitely need them both. Her review of Sculpting the Heart can be found after January 1st, 2009 at www.MyShelf.com. Look us both up! All of us writers can absent mindedly make grammar mistakes like, why shouldn't we be more or less specific? Why should no-one never generalize or use no-double negatives? And why is it when I wind up my watch it starts but when I wind up this review it ends? Here's hoping we all have a prosperous New Year while sculpting our hearts for others! Sincerely yours, Joyce White

The Frugal Book Promoter: Second Edition (Book) - 8/11/2008 8:12:24 AM
Hello Carolyn, I read this excerpt from the book," THe Frugal Book Promoter:How to Do What Your Publisher Won't" I believe it is a must read especially for self published authors such as I. Well done. Please feel free to visit my site here in the AuthorsDen.

The Frugal Book Promoter: Second Edition (Book) - 2/18/2008 7:38:12 PM
Carolyn, I bought your book to get some advice on promoting my time travel fantasy--and have found it to be filled with practical information that is actually useful--things I can really do. I find myself referring to different sections of it often, and plan to use your suggestions for putting a "kit" together next month when I go to my first book signing at Borders. There is so much information out there that it's overwhelming sometimes for someone like me who is learning the ropes. That's why I like your book--it's a good reference book that I can understand. Thanks! Leann Marshall

Calliope's Mousepad: Women Writers Online (Book) - 1/11/2008 5:15:18 PM
Saw your picture (good one!) and the blurb for Calliope's Mousepad (wonderful title!) You made a sale! Eileen

Support Our Troops (Book) - 9/16/2007 10:21:58 AM
Yes, definately "Support Our Troops" there are many ways and it is fantastic to see others who care enough to do just that. treatsfortroops.com is also fantastic if you don't mind me saying. Thank you Carolyn for thinking of the troops and supporting, we know they need all the support they can get. ~Gwendolyn Thomas USMC Vet

The Frugal Book Promoter: Second Edition (Book) - 9/16/2007 10:19:04 AM
This book sounds like an extremely useful tool and has the highest ratings I have ever seen, a must have.

The Frugal Editor: Put Your Best Book Forward--Winner 3 Awards (Book) - 9/16/2007 10:12:48 AM
Congrats to you on your new book Carolyn. Continued blessings, ~Gwendolyn

The Frugal Editor: Put Your Best Book Forward--Winner 3 Awards (Book) - 6/5/2007 12:25:15 PM
The Frugal Editor, Put your best book forward to avoid humiliation and ensure success. by Carolyn Howard-Johnson ISBN 978-0-97851-7-4 Red Engine Press In this day an age, when according to some studies, over 81 percent of Americans feel they should write a book and more than six million of them actually have at least written the manuscripts. What are your chances of getting published when that is just over two percent of the population? Most of these manuscripts however, are doomed to failure because they don’t understand the intricacies of polishing (read that as editing) their manuscripts before sending them out, and/or hiring an editor to give it the final tweak before they send them off. According to a recent article by Robert McCrum in The Observer and I quote, “according to the New York Times, there's a new book published in the United States every half an hour, and - wait for it - that's just fiction. RR Bowker, the company that compiles the Books in Print database in the USA, has calculated that no fewer than 175,000 new titles were published in 2003. That's one book roughly every 20 seconds.” And as you can imagine that trend has only increased since then. As McCrum says, the new books have the shelf life of yogurt, but that quality will always stand above the rest and will persevere. So how do you bring that quality to your own work? The Frugal Editor by Carolyn Howard-Johnson is like having an editor in a box, or more correctly, between two covers of a book. Concise down-to-earth advice about how to edit your manuscript before you even begin to think about sending it out into the red pencil world of publishers, where their editors get the first chance to evaluate your hard work. Frugal Editor is a veritable thesaurus of how to spot the gremlins that can mess up your prose. If edits and editors paralyze you with fear, take heart. Carolyn Howard-Johnson makes the whole process palatable. She intersperses her directives with light hearted humor making the whole process nearly enjoyable. If there is an error your manuscript could contain, you’ll find the method for search and eradication in this delightful book. You’ll want to read it cover to cover, but then you will keep it by your side as you write, rewrite and edit so you can be frugal when you do decided to hire that editor to give it one last polish before you submit it anywhere. As Howard-Johnson says; “The lesson here for all of us is that attention to detail and craft counts, and that even experienced writers can flub an opportunity if they don’t pay attention to the last great step toward publishing, a good edit.” Howard-Johnson explains the difference between and editor and a typo hunter. She also cautions that “…no matter how skilled an editor is, the author needs to know a lot about the process too. The cleaner the copy you hand over to your editor, the more accurate she can be and her edit may cost you less in time and money.” When Howard-Johnson says frugal in her book titles she means it and she goes to great lengths to insure the reader gets her/his money worth by providing resources with links, examples of the often scary Query letter construction, and more. She doesn’t leave the reader high and dry at any point. Further advice or learning is a matter of using the comprehensive index to find the detail you need and then following the advice, link or resource mentioned to guide you in your search for excellence. The twenty plus pages of appendices is not mere fluff or padding of book length or word count, it is more than a bibliography of recommended reading (though it also contains that). You will find samples and links such as the query letters mentioned above, helpful groups to investigate, grammar helps and books. It’s hard to believe more could be contained in any book on your shelf. Spare no gremlin—search and destroy, polish and perfect before you send out your hard work. This book is the tool to help you do that. I highly recommend this power house of methods and means that will not only enhance your chances of publication, it will help you make any publishing house sit up and take notice – perhaps even pushing your book to the coveted best-seller lists faster than you ever imagined.

The Frugal Editor: Put Your Best Book Forward--Winner 3 Awards (Book) - 5/8/2007 9:04:39 AM
I think "The Frugal Editor: Put Your Best Book Forward" should be a school text book. A necessity for English grammar lessons! (BTW, my correct link is: http://www.franceslynn.org/) Cheers! Frances

The Frugal Book Promoter: Second Edition (Book) - 2/21/2007 9:05:49 AM
The Author’s promotional bible. Always keep it close it times of need. What can I say about this book that hundreds of other authors haven’t? As a writer and self-publisher, the onus has always been on me to promote my own books; a task I’ve always found extremely difficult and laborious. I’m a writer and photographer, not a sales and marketing expert. I hate feeling like I’m talking to someone just to sell them something, or boast about my fantastic book. I always imagine them thinking, “Of course you would say it’s good, you wrote it!” And like most writers, I want to write, not be a salesman. But Carolyn Howard Johnson has shown me a whole new way to not only promote, but make it fun and tie it in with the thing you are passionate about: writing! The Frugal Book Promoter shows us how you need to brand yourself as an author, and publicise yourself as much as your work. You don’t have to boast about your work, just simply let people know it’s there. If your book is good, others will boast about it for you. Exposure is the word Carolyn uses often. She teaches us that the trick is to simply brand yourself as an author and let people know who you are, and what you write. Carolyn shows us a prolific amount of ways to do this, from writing articles for free to blogging, joining discussions groups, writing book reviews and so much more. It’s so simple, and in most cases completely free. I often hated the thought of writing articles for free, but the book emphasises that although you may write for free, the tagline at the end could well result in book sales, so effectively you are likely to get paid indirectly. Think about it, these publications wouldn’t have paid you anyway, and you would have to pay for advertising, so effectively you are working for your advertising. And of course you are writing, which is what a writer wants to be doing. This is just one example of the priceless advice offered in the Frugal Book Promoter. This book is an absolute treasure chest of useful information, and not only inspires you to get up off your backside and start promoting, but is also packed full of useful websites for you to get started. I’ve committed the ultimate sin with this book by folding over numerous page corners (something I never do with a book) to bookmark all the useful reference points. The websites listed here, often lead on to other useful sites. I’d always dreamed of the day when I would snag a major publisher so they could do all the promotion for me, but the Frugal Book Promoter has taught me that even with a major publisher, the onus will still be on me to promote my books; after all, ultimately the author cares more about the book than the publisher. So now I plan to forget about that and march best foot forward into a new world of endless promotional opportunities that this book brings. If you are an author then this is one book you cannot afford to be without. Written with Carolyn’s free-flowing and easy prose, the Frugal Book Promoter stands out head first above the rest and is the sort of book that you will always want to refer back to. I don’t know how I ever survived without it. Reviewed by Ian Middleton: Travel Writer & Photographer Ian is the author and photographer of four books, his latest being a travel guide to Ireland’s ancient myths and legends, Mysterious World: Ireland.

Cherished Pulse--Give It to Someone You Love (Book) - 1/6/2007 6:59:25 AM
On the pages of ‘Cherished Pulse’ poets Magdalena Ball and Carolyn Howard-Johnson move the reader along an voyage of poignant remembrance and encouraged expectations through the panorama of emotive setting. On the pages of Cherished Pulse Lyrists Ball and HowardJohnson have shaped a enticing publication of some of their most excellent compositions. Verses entice the reader with a multiplicity of intensely felt verses penned about human emotion. Fervor for life surges from the page as these rhymes are enjoyed. Verses filled with tenderness, perceptiveness and consideration are included. Readers, those who are admirers of poetry and those who are not, are certain to find much to enjoy Cherished Pulse. Everyday issues of life tuned into an appealing work is not an easy task. Bards Ball and HowardJohnson have succeeded admirably. Cherished Pulse is meant to be read and then re read as longing and inclination strikes. Each rhyme only gets better. The work lends itself well to the gift book tuck in market. To read full review check AD mj hollingshead article: Cherished Pulse

The Frugal Book Promoter: Second Edition (Book) - 4/25/2006 5:39:38 PM
This book is wonderful. It's already given me more ideas than I could have ever discovered on my own. Thank you Carolyn for these wonderful tips on promoting!

Tracings (Book) - 6/30/2005 8:51:09 PM
Wow neat image ancient with no teeth!

Support Our Troops (Book) - 6/13/2005 8:02:29 AM
Good cause, Carolyn

Cooking by the Book (Book) - 3/12/2005 9:51:06 AM
Hi Carolyn. Not much of a jam eater, never have been, but it was fun to drop in to THE PLACE and see Gram harry and Stella and Garnet and those guys again!! Connie

Effort and Surrender (Book) - 3/10/2005 7:34:58 AM
Lookin' likea good start!

The Frugal Book Promoter: Second Edition (Book) - 11/1/2004 8:41:01 PM
I have started using Carolyn's suggestions to promote my second e-novel "Snap Me a Future." I've gotten some good response when I designed announcements according to her suggestions

This Is The Place, By Award-Winning Author Carolyn Howard-Johnson (Book) - 5/13/2003 5:39:36 PM
A timely and much-needed message. Am anxious to read the story. Best success, Carolyn. Marcyle Taliaferro http://mtaliaferro.com

Harkening: A Collection of Stories Remembered (Book) - 3/25/2003 2:31:41 PM
When I was six years old, my family moved from Maine’s heavily Protestant coast to one of its just as heavily Roman Catholic mill towns. What strikes me most powerfully about Carolyn Howard-Johnson’s "collection of gentle sequels to THIS IS THE PLACE" (her novel of life in 1950s Utah) is how curiously familiar it feels to me — a woman whose entire experience with Utah consists of sitting on the runway for an hour in Salt Lake City, waiting for a transcontinental flight to continue, many years ago. For HARKENING’s tales have two common themes running through them, and binding them together: "the child as outsider," and "the family as it really exists vs. the family as it imagines itself to be." In "Child’s Play," a little girl relaxes, chatters freely, forgets to be guarded with her playmate — and soon gives inadvertent offense. And so the author writes: "His face changed and I knew I had blundered." That feeling visits the child over and over, throughout the collection’s stories told from her viewpoint. Her religious beliefs differ from those of the highly cohesive majority surrounding her, and she must always remember that she is an outsider. Whenever she forgets, she blunders; and then she must pay her nonconformity’s price. Over and over. "House of Neglect" made me smile in recognition, because although her name was not Nina — I nevertheless had an "Aunt Nina" of my very own. And an "Uncle Theodore," who loved her through half a century and more of unconventional matrimony; buried her with that love still evident; and passed away not long afterward, leaving a house filled with relics for the childless couple’s nieces and nephews to distribute among them. Relics, and the memories that go with them. Memories which, in "Legacy," are "filtered through glasses of one color or another" until neither the author nor her mother (the story’s source) can be sure of their accuracy. Which does not rob those memories of their importance, or of their own kind of truth. Family stories take on their own lives, with time and repetition; and this particular truth Howard-Johnson understands very well. I’ll be loaning this book to my own mother next, because she is sure to recognize the situation described in its prologue. An adult daughter at the wheel of a car that she’s driving through a city she knew well many years earlier. Her aging mother in the "navigator’s seat"; and in the back seat, her aging aunt. Giving conflicting directions! Although firmly grounded in Howard-Johnson’s Utah, I’m sure HARKENING will strike familiar and resonant chords for other readers just as it did for me. Highly recommended! - Reviewed by Nina M. Osier, author of "Love, Jimmy: A Maine Veteran's Longest Battle"

Harkening: A Collection of Stories Remembered (Book) - 1/7/2003 12:10:55 AM
I want to obtain acollection of short story

Harkening: A Collection of Stories Remembered (Book) - 10/31/2002 5:10:56 AM
Every family has stories to tell. We hear them most from those older and wiser than us. Stories of the past, of their lives and the lives of loved ones before them. Often we hear these stories so many times we fail to pay attention after a while. We roll our eyes thinking, not this again or how many times have I heard this story but we must stop and wonder have we ever really listened to the truth inside the story? Carolyn Howard-Johnson’s second novel, “Harkening: A Collection of Stories Remembered,” will make you ask yourself that very question. “Harkening” is not your average book of short stories. Designed to be read at leisure, each story with the ability to stand on its own, it has been carefully arranged to take you through a time line of life. Mrs. Johnson shares with us from her own memory stories told to her by members of her family about her family spanning over many generations. In a distinct writing style that only Carolyn Howard-Johnson possesses, the characters of “Harkening” are skillfully described in such a way that you can almost hear them telling the story in their own voice rather than reading it second hand. Each story is a beautifully crafted piece of “creative nonfiction,” as termed by Mrs. Johnson, leaving you with an overwhelming sense of truth and the realization that maybe you should pay closer attention to those stories you’ve heard so many times in the past by your own family. Reviewed by Tonya Ramagos A.K.A. Calley Moore, author of THE DIVINE BABYSITTER coming in November, 2002 from http://www.wings-press.com Visit Tonya’s website at http://www.geocities.com/tomrbooks for more information.

Milk Glass, An Excerpt from  (Short Story) - 8/23/2007 9:37:24 PM
Hi Carolyn, Loved this. Enjoyed. It's truly literary. Mary

Milk Glass, An Excerpt from  (Short Story) - 6/28/2007 2:58:00 PM
I enjoyed it, immensely!

Milk Glass, An Excerpt from  (Short Story) - 2/28/2006 3:42:40 PM
My, this brought back memories. At Christmas I purchased some pretty ribbon candy. I hate the stuff, but it looks so pretty on the Tiffin cakeplate from the turn of the century. Carolyn, every line brought back a memory. Elizabeth

Milk Glass, An Excerpt from  (Short Story) - 3/5/2003 7:19:15 PM
well done

15 Commandment for Getting FREE Publicity (Article) - 10/5/2011 2:38:41 AM
This is a great article for writers. I thought that just having the internet (something that wasn't available in my younger years) would be just the key to selling my books, but it has been a hard long road because of my lack of publicity knowledge. I had my son-in-law build a website for me showcasing my books and even a few music albums I have released over the years, but it only gets hits, no sales. My books are on amazon.com, createspace.com, smashwords.com and in the itunes store as well as easily found through the EDC, but I am still lucky to make a grand total of 20.00 over the course of 6 months and I can't tell you how depressing that is for me. This was a major turning point for me (following my dream of writing books) and to feel as though my books are just falling through the cracks is so heartbreaking. I put my heart and soul into everything I write. I was told that I would never get anywhere without an actual publisher, and that self publishing is the kiss of death for any writer, but at the same time was told that publishers often dissect your books and before it's released, it's barely recognizable as your own work, and I wasn't fond of that idea, let alone the months or years of waiting for one to decide they want to publish it. At 52 years old, I wanted to get what I always dreamed out there for my family to read in the future. My grandchildren and great grandchildren. I wanted them to know who I was by reading my books; a woman that had a less than perfect life, but still had her dreams to follow and never gave up. I was so hoping not to be another Edgar Allen Poe (not that my work is anywhere near the fascinating quality of his) but to only become noticed after I am long gone. I just wanted a chance to help my family financially and to finally follow my lifelong dream of becoming a writer. There is nothing worse than not following something that is a driving force in your life.

15 Commandment for Getting FREE Publicity (Article) - 9/12/2009 2:55:31 PM
Thank you for this information. I won't say that it is going to be easy but I really want to get my two published books out there. Honestly, I wish I had the money to pay someone to do this:-). I just want to write, but I know better than that right now. In God's own timing things will come together. I believe that.

15 Commandment for Getting FREE Publicity (Article) - 4/19/2009 6:13:11 PM
Carolyn, Your "15 Commandments for Getting FREE Publicity" is extremely helpful. I have used some of the methods you listed,but you gave me a completely new perspective on the many other ways I can get the attention of the media. You are a profoundly prolific and accomplished author,and I thank you for your generous offerings. I have no doubt about your continued success. Barbara Henry

Life Begins at 60 (Article) - 5/3/2008 10:34:25 PM
You are an inspiration!

Taking A Dose of What's Good For You (Article) - 6/30/2007 6:12:38 AM
Carolyn, I clicked over from your e-mail about your latest newsletter and was so glad to find this one! It is wonderful, poignant and heartfelt. I'll browse a bit and then get on to work. All the best to you. Pat

Life Begins at 60 (Article) - 1/22/2007 2:49:31 PM
Dear Carolyn Your writing is always wonderful. I trust all you write - yup I've got your Frugal bible. But the only problem I have, is simply this: 60+ No way!!! Not yesterday, last week or today. 'Cos if I am right, In this Scottish cold night It can be you on your site! Best wishes Miller

15 Commandment for Getting FREE Publicity (Article) - 1/11/2007 3:22:47 AM
All useful and handy information to assimilate. Thanks.

15 Commandment for Getting FREE Publicity (Article) - 1/10/2007 8:52:36 PM
All good advice. It is walking that extra mile that gets you to the home stretch. Elizabeth

Fighting Illiteracy with the Spoken Word (Article) - 1/3/2007 10:03:40 AM
I discovered your article, "Fighting Illiteracy with the Spoken Word", just recently, Ms. Johnson. However, it is still timely and exceptionally well done. Warmest regards, Reginald V. Johnson

Hate to Love Amazon (Article) - 11/29/2006 6:38:56 AM
I love Amazon and shop there alot, books, C.D. ( music ) D.V.D.s and Clothes, tools, Cooking utensils,etc... You can find almost anything, but this Info..REAlly! Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge! I just printed it, I'm feeling so Ache and yucky today and still heading back to work (School Bus driver) and I am grabbing this to take back with me to read! What I read I enjoyed and KNOW I need this! This is my Goal/Mission just a few months away! Thank you Carolyn! For your giving /sharing Spirit! WARmest Blessings! Of PEACE, Love and Joy! May it follow you from this day ON! P.s. Printing a few others of your articles and making a folder! I do appreciate your sharing what you know and found out~ WArm HuGs,Sheeexoox

Life Begins at 60:Beating Time at Its Own Game (Article) - 10/26/2006 10:36:24 PM
I enjoyed reading your article. I have often said that womens liberation liberated men rather than women, since today if a woman is with a man it is usually because she wants to be there. In the past this was not necessary the case. Having read your atrticle I am thinking that perhaps it liberated everyone.

16 Ways to Get Free Publicity (Article) - 7/18/2005 11:51:10 AM
Thank you so much for sharing this and other articles.

16 Ways to Get Free Publicity (Article) - 6/23/2005 9:29:45 AM
Thank you for sharing your ideas with us. It has already been printed and put into my marketing binder for future reference.

Could Elizabeth Smart Help the World be More Tolerant? (Article) - 6/11/2005 8:32:12 PM
iarussi is right, authorsden erased all of iarussi's writing , they lied to him, this is a censorship site

16 Ways to Get Free Publicity (Article) - 2/21/2005 4:26:38 PM
An interesting read indeed and one to save to my library.

Life Begins at 60:Beating Time at Its Own Game (Article) - 2/20/2005 4:14:02 AM
Dear Carolyn, thanks for allowing me to share excerpts from your essay. I am a retired counselor who have always wanted to share what was in my heart, and, your essay have given me the courage to go forward. Thanks.

Life Begins at 60:Beating Time at Its Own Game (Article) - 7/15/2004 10:23:12 AM
enjoyed the read

Could Elizabeth Smart Help the World be More Tolerant? (Article) - 6/30/2004 7:18:44 PM
If the Mormon Church is the radical fringe then I agree. The truth about Elizabeth Smart is not out there. I will soon tell my story and it will tell the truth about the Mormon cult and the coverup. We will know who "pixie dust is" and who the young girl who dressed in leather and hung out on main street with friends was. What happen to Ricci in Prison, why is Utah and the Church not annxious to have an open trial? polygamy and sexual abuse is a sport in Utah. The truth has been covered up with the same old dirt of Mountain Meadows massacre, Americas first 9-11 and the salamander paapers. ELizabeth was not supposed to be found

Life Begins at 60:Beating Time at Its Own Game (Article) - 10/7/2003 1:08:27 PM
Enjoyable read. When you stop dreaming, you are truly finished.The best to you on your writing.

Life Begins at 60:Beating Time at Its Own Game (Article) - 10/5/2003 12:33:45 PM
Being of the male gender, I did have a choice in my career, and I chose serving my country. Because I had a wife and children to support, choosing a writing career would have not been an option. I didn't start my writing career until just a few years ago. Today I am 70 and in poor health. A late bloomer, perhaps. But, like you, finally able fulfill a writing career. As you have proved, Carolyn, egardless of age and/or health, it is never too late to start fulfilling your dreams. Bobby Ruble is the author of "Have No Mercy", and co-author of "Black Rosebud: Have No Mercy II".

A Rant and 10 Practical Ways to Talk to Authors (Article) - 10/5/2003 12:14:11 PM
Very well said, Carolyn. As an author, I certainly agree with you. Bobby Ruble is the author of "Have No Mercy", and the co-author of "Black Rosebud: Have No Mercy II".

Life Begins at 60:Beating Time at Its Own Game (Article) - 10/5/2003 10:26:06 AM
Life begins at 60...is a true to life account of one woman's life and struggle to be heard, to be counted as a valid "person." Back "in the day," it was so much more difficult for a woman to assume a career or a place. This strong woman persevered and went on to take her place among the " heard." It may have taken more time than she had anticipated, but she finally honed her skills,went down the road of life, and on to her own self-deserved glory. Good for her! Today women have it much easier. We have a golden opportunity that the women who came before us would have loved to have. Even so, there are those among us who continue to wait for the "right time" or when the kids leave home to seek our true selves and our fortunes. I am one of those. Although, I ,too, shall perservere and go on to take my rightful place among the writers and readers of our times. Carolyn has done a wonderful! A great article! Let's all feep pounding those keys and finding our place to be heard.

A Rant and 10 Practical Ways to Talk to Authors (Article) - 10/2/2003 7:08:51 PM
Excellent article, Carolyn. I've found small, independent bookstores to be much more author friendly. Librarys too.

Hate to Love Amazon (Article) - 8/19/2003 9:44:39 AM
Very useful and insightful article, not just about Amazon, but about the difficulty of marketing books in this era.

Carolyn's Noble Prize for Literature (Article) - 8/19/2003 9:15:46 AM
You have enriched us with great food for thought, Carolyn. An excellent article.

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 3/11/2014 5:15:01 AM
LOL...oh thank you so much for my morning chuckle. since i am a certified herbalist (not the only thing i am certifiable for, i assure you) however...horny goatweed may be a simpler alternative...or perhaps...just sayin'.....CHOCOLATE??? but then...where is the adventure in that? thanks again, Carolyn. many blessings krissy

Mazatlan Shrimp a la Maria (Poetry) - 12/2/2011 2:45:24 PM
Thank you for sharing this special treat, Carolyn. Love and best wishes, Regis

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 1/12/2011 1:57:10 PM
Funny! The setting reminds me of a vacation near the south Mexican sea. Oh how nice and warm the ocean was there, and how gracefully quiet were those grande tortugas who walked the beach with me. Anyway, this was an interesting remedy.

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 3/9/2010 2:13:37 AM
Excellent piece !

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 3/7/2010 6:34:21 AM
Perfect.

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 1/24/2010 4:51:31 AM
FUN!

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 12/16/2009 2:53:12 AM
Very well written, Carolyn

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 10/25/2009 7:07:55 PM
The simple prune can begin a day and bring a quick end to a good morning very pleasant i enjoyed your moment in thought

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 5/26/2009 3:47:10 AM
Very well penned Carolyn. Maybe yours would make a more sensible Viagra ad than the ones we see on television. Giggle..... Anna

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 3/8/2009 8:47:36 AM
though my humor bone is broken at the moment, your whimsical prose momentarily solidified my funny bone with a temporary cast wrapped with creative effort ...

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 3/7/2009 9:39:36 PM
I am so fed-to-the-teeth with those commericals. I rate them right up there with commercials that talk about that, "Not so fresh feeling." It seems there could be much better use of funds than finding a cure for sexual dysfunction. I don't know...like cancer, down-syndrome, spinal injuries, etc... I enjoyed the fact that you made light of it, having a little jest. Mark

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 2/26/2009 1:43:41 AM
The imagery in this is stunning.

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 9/25/2008 3:16:01 PM
Hello Carolyn. I read your poem,"Woman's Day" I found it quite charming. The imagery made me see a baby. The words described the innosence. Good work. Please feel free to visit my site here in the "Den"

Mazatlan Shrimp a la Maria (Poetry) - 6/19/2008 9:17:07 AM
I love the format of this poem, as it looks like cups or bowls. How clever! This is a great poem, and the words flow so nicely. It is true, most people in Mexico who share their recipes are named Maria. Even in Italy. Great poem! Stop into my den sometime! I am new to this site and have just started to post my short stories and a couple of poems. Would love to have you read a few and let me know your opinion!

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 6/6/2008 10:41:31 AM
Hi Carolyn, I read your poem, "Carolyn's Answer to the inadequacy of Viagra" Humorous and insightful, well done. Please feel free to visit my site here in the "Den"

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 4/8/2008 10:41:39 PM
Fun to read and very creative! Nicely done. Love and Hugs, Sheila

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 4/1/2008 9:23:07 PM
Your picture caught my eye. It's like your personality and warmth explode into sounds in this silent room. Beautiful poem of life's simpliest pleasures. Thanks! Deborah

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 3/27/2008 12:45:25 PM
wonderful!

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 3/27/2008 12:44:04 PM
really well expressed! Enjoyed!

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 3/27/2008 9:12:25 AM
It is romantic and with taste … under more such "recipes" …

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 3/27/2008 8:51:20 AM
Interestingly, poetic "information" decorates attractive metaphors …

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 3/27/2008 8:42:27 AM
Beautifully … bow …

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 3/25/2008 12:46:23 PM
Excellent

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 3/25/2008 12:44:50 PM
Sweet, sweet, sweet!

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 3/5/2008 7:39:44 PM
A delightful dance of sights, tastes,and touch! Things created by The loving God. Your artistry a reflection of the Master Artist of all things good and pure. Lively and fine. -Z.B.McClure

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 12/9/2007 10:23:24 AM
It really rocks! & I thik Bob Doyle should read this on the next Viagara commercial.

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 5/20/2007 11:34:45 AM
THANKS FOR THE INFO. I AM SO GLAD THAT MY MATE AND I ARE ON FIRE AT ALL TIMES. THAT IS REFRESHING.

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 4/19/2007 2:18:40 PM
I love those... (quick spikes of choice) This is an excellent write. Hugs, Pier

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 3/18/2007 2:08:25 AM
I really love this one, Carolyn, but I think it is moreso the men who need to read and feel and understand it. Beautifully expressed! Ted

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 2/11/2007 9:08:07 AM
love theis work and the visual images it brings forth-i enjoyed your bio as well--will have to check into your book promotion book as i am busting my chops working on getting my own book oout there

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 1/20/2007 9:08:55 PM
I think I will stick to a shot or two, LOL. Great write!

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 1/12/2007 11:26:34 AM
Thank you for sharing the humor, Carolyn. Delightful. Love and peace, Regis

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 1/12/2007 10:25:37 AM
Your words make a beautiful quilted image of your roots and acceptance in family relationships. I love the phrase, "No matter. No matter, that I qualified. Great, great, great, my genes informed as surely as if they had been stamped with Good Houskeeping’s Seal. Approval." It speaks volumes to me of where your heart lies. Thank you for sharing.

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 1/10/2007 9:12:13 AM
I love your 28 flavors of Ice cream!

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 11/29/2006 10:03:14 AM
I echo Sheee, just how much was in that drink, and how much peyote did you say you had? Giggle. I couldn't stop smiling either, because if someone needs viagra to...well you know, but anyways in what you say here Viagra is definitely not needed. Giggle. Thank you Carolyn for sharing this humorously light piece. May the Lord Jesus bless you, and those whom you love, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, joy to the world, peace on earth, & ((((((((((MANY WONDERFUL SISTERLY HUGGGGSSSS)))))))))), your little den sister, Barbie "If I have to be this girl in me, Then I have the right to be."

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 11/26/2006 1:27:03 AM
This was good! I couldn't stop smiling! How much did you say you had lol Thanks for sharing this with us Carolyn! Warmest Blessings of PEACE and JOy! WArm HuGs,Sheee

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 11/25/2006 12:22:47 PM
LOL This makes my day

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 11/24/2006 9:25:10 PM
And have you been in the tequila? Si? Have a ball...it sounds wonderful... Elizabeth

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 11/24/2006 3:21:38 PM
Oh my God, I died laughing at this one!

Poetry: Carolyn's Answer to the Inadequacy of Viagara (Poetry) - 11/24/2006 2:56:43 PM
Your humor is...elevating. lol Rusty

Mazatlan Shrimp a la Maria (Poetry) - 11/23/2006 3:23:55 PM
Hi! Friend, Carolyn, What a COOL poem. Even the way it is formatted. Wow! Like cups or measuring utensils. Makes me want to learn Spanish. Please feel free to visit my site here in the den and or the one I have at freewebs.com/kendoo/

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 10/16/2006 7:21:11 PM
Fantastic poem, God Bless!

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 9/9/2006 6:22:50 PM
"Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook" A splendid write Carolyn! This poem has a voice, additionally the imagery is fantastic. Take care, G. Thomas

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 8/9/2006 10:51:34 AM
Love it!

Mazatlan Shrimp a la Maria (Poetry) - 7/2/2006 5:53:21 PM
A delightful read. Homeschool

Mazatlan Shrimp a la Maria (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 11:25:06 AM
VERY NICE GREAT WORD FLOW

Mazatlan Shrimp a la Maria (Poetry) - 6/8/2006 6:32:25 AM
Thank you, Carolyn. This is very good, and I enjoyed reading it. May the Lord Jesus bless you, and those whom you love, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, joy to the world, peace on earth, & ((((((((((MANY WONDERFUL SISTERLY HUGGGGSSSS)))))))))), your little sister, Barbie "If I have to be this girl in me, Then I have the right to be."

Mazatlan Shrimp a la Maria (Poetry) - 5/31/2006 3:47:47 PM
Carolyn, Your words feel fluid, salient, and scintilating. Good job. F.W. Brown

Mazatlan Shrimp a la Maria (Poetry) - 5/31/2006 2:54:54 PM
I just LOVE poetry about cooking! This is fantastic, Carolyn. Wonderful poem, well written, and a great recipe at that!

Mazatlan Shrimp a la Maria (Poetry) - 5/31/2006 2:16:23 PM
This is cute, Carolyn. I can remember when I used to go to Baja, and camp on the beach, the shrimpers (ok, I will call them Manuel) would come in and sell H-U-G-E shrimp for 5 dollars U.S. a kilo (2.2 lbs for those who are metric challenged). I would clean them and marinate them in chile, garlic, salt and lime then grill them or cook them quickly in a hot skillet. They were delicious...thanks for the memory tap. Take care, Sherry

Mazatlan Shrimp a la Maria (Poetry) - 5/31/2006 1:14:40 PM
Clever, Carolyn. Maria, Manuel, and Jesus in Mexico. Ali and Mohammed in the Middle East. Chiquita banana's all... Best, Elizabeth

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 4/5/2006 10:02:35 AM
Yes Carolyn, Congrats on your chapbook, and on this poem. This poem speaks of worlds that people see everyday, and yet pay no attention. Thanx for sharing this with us, Carolyn, this is a very good write. May the Lord Jesus bless you, and those whom you love, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, Joy to the world, peace on earth, & ((((((((((MANY WONDERFUL SISTERLY HUGGGGSSSS)))))))))), your little sister in Jesus, Barbie "If I have to be tis girl in me, Then I have the right to be."

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 2/28/2006 3:39:43 PM
Yummmm...I like the way you did this. Elizabeth

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 1/20/2006 1:34:07 PM
what a clevely worded and refreshing poem - i think its fabulous (and not just because i'm a woman!)

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 1/19/2006 10:55:44 AM
Love this poem and the book congrats to you.

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 1/18/2006 9:15:19 PM
Congrats on the book! Exceptional gem of a poem! eileen

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 1/18/2006 6:53:29 PM
Well expressed and this was well written also. I admired your style very much as it was artistic in every way. God bless you in all you do.

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 1/18/2006 4:44:06 PM
You have such a beautiful way of linking a chain of words that conjures up the most visible visions! Thanks for sharing, Carolyn..loved it! Love & Light, Dallas http://www.giftsofdivinity.com

Poem from Tracings, an Award-winning Chapbook (Poetry) - 1/18/2006 4:33:07 PM
Wonderful poem, Carolyn! Congrats too on the new book. Sell many, many, many... Elizabeth

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 6/26/2005 9:58:25 AM
what happiness this has just caused me! I'm SMILING from ear to ear and will now all day; So, I feel I should say; Thank your blessed heart and your wonderous mind, from where the great contents of this joyous piece...I'm sure it was there you find. be blessed with joy,life and inspiraation . Rich Criso Suarez

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 3/29/2005 5:21:22 AM
Carolyn, I was there when it was called Leningrad, but this name suits me better... and your poem brings back the tastes of Eastern Europe...

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 3/29/2005 5:18:20 AM
Ah, Carolyn, the joy of the femme with wings open...

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 3/27/2005 10:40:20 AM
Thank you for this slice of culture, Carolyn. Love and peace. Regis

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 3/27/2005 10:38:59 AM
This is some sweet write, Carolyn. Thank you for sharing this offering. Love and peace to you. Regis

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 3/26/2005 7:54:01 AM
I read this before Carolyn, but it seems I didn't leave a review. Oh for shame on me (giggles). This is a very fine poem of a recipe for love. May the Lord Jesus bless you, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, joy to the world, peace on earth, (((HUGS))), and a very Happy Easter, cause He is risen, Barbie "If I have to...Then I may as well be."

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 3/15/2005 1:30:20 AM
So very vivid Carolyn and so very touching. May the Lord be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love, peace, & (((HUGS))), Barbie "If I have to...Then I may as well be."

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 3/12/2005 9:30:46 AM
I am glad you liked St. Petersburg. I only had a few days there and thoroughly enjoyed it. I didn't see the Hermitage, but really enjoyed Peterhof. Thank you for sharing. Pat.

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 9/17/2004 2:08:48 AM
Wonderful poem, so full of life. William

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 3/9/2004 6:05:11 AM
This was so lovely! very nice to read this morning! Reindeer

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 2/28/2004 1:23:37 AM
like cotton candy sweet and tart, your poem reads pure, true work of art. blessin's, c.

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 12/20/2003 7:12:47 AM
Quite nice indeed. Greetings. Goreja.com

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 11/20/2003 8:09:25 AM
Beautiful! Rodd

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 10/23/2003 1:03:32 PM
Beautiful imagery! Lovely! Jules :)

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 10/17/2003 10:26:52 PM
Excellent imagery evoking thought of so much pleasure in little things that mean more than finite minds often comprehend or fail to notice. Well written, Carolyn! Perhaps, when you have time, you will visit my A/D pages: poetry, essays, books, articles, etc. Love in Christ~~ Bonnie Q Unicorn Haven

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 9/11/2003 12:13:31 PM
Well done, Carolyn.

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 8/29/2003 3:08:49 AM
What a wonderful poem, Carolyn. Annette.

Woman's Day (Poetry) - 8/28/2003 10:48:39 AM
Carolyn, "To see a sunrise of pink-spun sugar" This is just one example of the excellent imagery in this piece. I loved this! Great job! - J -

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 8/8/2003 3:53:49 AM
What a gift. Thanks for sharing Officer William Heffner

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 8/3/2003 1:35:52 PM
Sounds like a tasty dish I enjoyed reading Mister

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 7/9/2003 11:15:12 PM
Hi Carolyn! I loved your poem, and can visualize and really feel your joy in it! But I shouldn't have read it when I was hungry...Thanks for sharing with us!

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 5/13/2003 7:31:22 PM
Nice food details! Personally I don't care for the ( ) 's. . . poem could work without them. So impressed by your accomplishments; I started late too; my first book is out now.

St. Petersburg Delicacy: Russia's Secret for a Regular Traveler (Poetry) - 4/28/2003 12:38:44 PM
sounds heavenly! *~:))~~~~Love, Dallas http://SellWritingOnline.com

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.