AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Kim Glassman, iAlbert Russo, iRalph Cates, iBeverly Scott, i Aberjhani, iandrea coltman, iScott Boyd, i
 
Home > Gail A Evans
 

Recent Reviews for Gail A Evans


Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 11/21/2002 8:14:21 AM
What a beautiful book! Wonderfully written and filled with the wonder of Spirit, and it’s divine connection to The continent of Africa; (As Gail Evans says) “the motherland, where the rocks that lie beneath your feet are the firstborn of her womb, and her palpitating rivers and pounding waterfalls are her first rush of life.” We are not only taken on a journey through Southern Africa, where we share the places most dear to the author, but we also have a rare insight into seeing the land through the eyes of the inner spirit. Each chapter brings with it the alignment of the geographical placement of the meditation venue, into the inner alignment with our chakras. And on a more practical level, at the end of the book we find out how to get to each meditation place, places to stay and a list of web addresses to explore. Leave your worries behind and travel with Gail Evans into your inner-self, by exploring some of the beautiful energies of her homeland. Review by MaYanya 'Stepping Stones In Light' Magazine Australia www.steppingstonesinlight.com

The Firstborn of God. Resolving the Contradictions in the Bible. by Gail Evans. (Book) - 10/9/2002 1:10:10 PM
An thought-provoking book, exploring the many contradictions in the Bible, beginning with Genesis and the two conflicting records of Creation. The author's portrayal of Paul is interesting. I agree with her premise and conclusions and admire the effort and labour she put into this work and strongly recommend it.

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 9/18/2002 7:29:02 AM
A purposeful, completely magic, substance-over-style enchantment. the boox review

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 8/31/2002 2:59:23 AM
"... Warning: Do not read Gail Evans' Meditations in my Favorite Places in Southern Africa while watching television, listening to the radio or cooking a five-course meal. Your orange chakras will turn out pink and your meditations will devolve into damage-control sessions..... Even if you're the type who devours a book in one sitting, that's not the approach to take with this work. Evans' meditations are best doled out in chunks, sweet pieces of pineapple to savor and yet not let an OD spike the blood sugar. Turn off the TV, the radio, the oven and take a few minutes to cleanse the soul. Then get back to cleaning the dishes...." for "Curled Up With a Good Book."

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 8/24/2002 7:56:38 AM
Evans explains what various journeys require and suggests how to derive the greatest personal development while embarked on them. ... for many who roam the aisles in book stores or who note the extensive cross references which Amazon.com provides, this book may not attract their attention. (I learned of it only by chance.) My hope is that this.. " review ".. will encourage them to purchase the book and thus allow Evans to help them to discover their own favorite places, wherever they may prove to be. Top Amazon Reviewer.

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 8/20/2002 2:09:00 AM
Gail Evans reminds us of our soul connection with earth mother and the creatures we share this planet with in a most beautiful way. Meditations In My Favorite Places in Southern Africa helps us to slow down and transcend the daily rabble to reconnect with creation! “ -Debora Myers author, editor & cofounder Ladyfire.com

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 8/16/2002 8:52:57 AM
No matter how voluminous her knowledge of the precepts of meditation and the philosophy of Self, this book could never have succeed as well as it does were Evans not also a gifted writer.

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 8/9/2002 6:47:27 AM
"... Read Gail’s book. You’ll love it, but you’ll find yourself returning again and again to that brilliant and haunting preface..."

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 8/5/2002 6:14:32 AM
"I really found something valuable in "Meditations in my Favorite Places in Southern Africa" and it will be on my bookshelf next to the other art and creativity books."

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 7/30/2002 1:37:48 AM
Incredible little book.

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 7/20/2002 8:04:59 AM
"... In our hectic, fast paced world, it is sometimes easy to lose sight of the important things in life. Gail Evan's book is written as a serendipity guide, that uses visual images of nature found in Southern Africa, to help you relax and gain a better perspective of the world around you. The author takes you on an engaging tour of the region, offering her inner perspective on living the contented life as well, that is an inspiration to read....."

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 7/14/2002 7:18:59 AM
This is an exquisite little book, one that you will want to keep, also one that you will want to buy for that someone special as a present. Beautifully written, unique in style and concept, the author takes you on some magnificent journeys through parts of Southern Africa. Her descriptions are so deftly written that you can literally smell the smells, imagine the sights and feel the hot African sun on your face and her beat beneath your feet. As an armchair traveler, you will go to the Okovango Delta in Botswana and fly over the tree tops where elephant, rhino and giraffe graze beneath your wings; watch lions prowl through the bush at the Kruger National Park which is the size of Holland; bicycle through the Karoo to see the daisies spring up wildly throughout this semi-desert terrain; walk through the forests of Hogsback and see vervit monkeys at play; swim in the ocean with Dolphins, visit the Sterkfontein caves and Little Foot who is over three million years old, and lastly, climb the Drakesburg where you are higher than the eagles who live and breed in these mountains. Coupled with your travels the author gives you a meditation at the end of each journey that is aligned with one of the seven chakras, relating each place to a different chakra. She also explains healthy and unhealthy chakras. Through this unique and superb combination of travel and meditation, Gail Evans renews and rejuvenates the reader externally through the five senses and internally through the spirit. Almost as though two hands are folded in prayer, the physical and spiritual life comes together. If you have never been to Africa, this delightful book will give you more than a glimpse of what that continent has to offer and will wet your appetite to travel through this vast expanse with its diverse wild life and abundance of flora and fauna. At the end of the book, she has included a number of web sites that cater to travel through Southern Africa. If you have been to Africa, the author's words will bring back memories of more than the smell of the African bush and you will literally feel those African drums beating in rhythm to your heart.

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 7/1/2002 11:17:10 AM
Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa is a vivid, colorful look at some exotic locations in Southern Africa. Gail Evans portrays the images she sees in great detail. The meditations that she provides in the book might serve as the basis for someone wanting to renew themselves in both the physical and spiritual sense.

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 7/1/2002 2:08:47 AM
"Gail Evans' writing is ebullient and endearing, technical errors notwithstanding. I, for one, am so glad I have read her MEDITATIONS IN MY FAVOURITE PLACES because now, when I travel, I have a deeper experience of what my eyes see. As I live with the stresses of ordinary life, my heart has been engaged, and I now have lessons on how to maintain the health of my soul..."

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 6/30/2002 4:08:37 PM
I particularly enjoyed reading the portion regarding the Sentinel area where writer Evans turns our attention to the flight of eagles, the beauty of a gossamer web and the puzzlement of Mushroom rock. Evans’ meditation for this segment guides our understanding to a deeper realization for what mountains have meant to the history of the people who live in our world. The color of this chakra is purple.

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 6/24/2002 4:01:37 AM
In 'Meditations' Gail Evans has writen a beautiful little book. A master of descriptive language she paints word pictures of some of southern Africa's most popular sites; word pictures that come alive on the pages. She devotes a chapter to each site and follows it with a meditaion. Combining the two provides the reader with a unique spiritual experience. Thank you, Gail....

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 6/19/2002 10:18:56 AM
Lovely

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 6/18/2002 5:43:38 AM
In this evolutionary book Gail Evans has presented the most powerful combination of Nature's captivating beauty with inner, spiritual awakening. The reader is absorbed by scenes of Southern Africa's grandeur, while at the same time a spontaneous internalization awakens the inner spirit lying dormant within us. Her meditation of the seven chakras is effortlessly stimulated by the presentation of Southern Africa's world renowned scenery. Gail Evans has achieved a unique and superb combination, renewing and rejuvenating the reader externally and internally. This book will help you to relax, enjoy and become one with Nature as well as your Inner-self. Highly recommended.

Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Book) - 6/12/2002 7:53:06 AM
Gail has achieved a powerful and wonderful combination in each and every chapter between the major tourist sites in Southern Africa coupled with delightful and insightful meditations of the seven chakras at the end of each of the seven chapters. They are all unique and quite exquisite!

Time Trials (Book) - 8/30/2001 7:16:44 AM
It's difficult to know where to start with a book like Time Trials, particularly since I seemed to get from it something which other reviewers clearly did not. First of all lets get the one small negative out of the way... the book is a little too short in my opinion. It could have benefitted from more depth of scene. Okay, that over with, let's move on to the bright points, and there were many of them. First of all, as I say, I think I gained something different out of Time Trials. Not for me the 'love-vibrant-spirit-quest-eternal' message (though good luck to those who saw it this way). For me, it was a confirmation of all that is wrong with conventional religious preaching - the lack of tolerance - the hypocrisy - the whole 'beggerment' factor (Gail Evans uses a different word!). And I think that the author may well share some of these views with me. Though she lifts her heroine above this conformist mess, her book is filled with tiny snippets that would indicate her awareness of all that is wrong with conventional belief. I get the impression that she would fit well in a family of modern Quakers - hard-working, tolerant, generous, warm and sensual. For me, Time Trials would have been perfect if Miriam had discovered and embraced the fact that she was spiritually alone - that there was no all-seeing, all-knowing greater power. But then, this was Gail Evans' book, not mine, and she sums up perfectly why it is that people are more and more shunning the churches and more and more despising the duplicitous rhetoric of politics. The great strength of Time Trials is that it offers a message of hope. Clearly, different readers get that message from different viewpoints. Maybe that was the way the author intended it. Maybe Gail Evans has the tolerence to leave her book sufficiently ambiguous that the reader can interpret as he or she will. Either way, Time Trials is an excellent narrative of one person's search for truth in a world full of extremes.

The Firstborn of God. Resolving the Contradictions in the Bible. by Gail Evans. (Book) - 8/2/2001 8:30:31 AM
I salute this epic piece of work whole heartedly. I can not say that I ever recognized the autocracy/democracy relationship of Genesis, but it rings very true. I am a strong Christian who believes that doubt can be a tool to strengthen my faith God and therefore serve God in better ways. I do think that the work brings more questions into the fray, but any philosophical work MUST do that. Hard biblical standard carriers might need a softer glove to accept this, but I fear that may also be a critical denomination created by the book- right and left. Thank you for the work.

Time Trials (Book) - 6/5/2001 2:45:44 AM
A book I'm proud to keep alongside my Tom Robbins collection, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Universe and Like Water for Chocolate books. This wonderfully whacky and yet thought provoking gem of writing about Mirium's life journey kept me chuckling at newspaper headlines for days after reading it - and when I joined the "oh so serious" human race again, I went back to Time Trials and re-read it. Highly recommended and I can hardly wait for another book from this remarkable author.

Time Trials (Book) - 6/5/2001 2:39:42 AM
And now for something completely different. Reviewer: Melanie Wicks from Durban, Kwa-Zulu Natal South Africa. I remember when Monty Python movies came out.They were something completely different with a certain brand of humour underlying some very serious questions about life, the universe and everything. They were also not everyone's cup of tea. "Time Trials is of this nature. Either you will love it, or you will it. But you certainly will not feel ambivalent about it. The author takes us on a journey through Miriam's eyes as she travels through South Africa in the months leading up to that country's realization of a fully fledged democracy. The book functions on many levels. Firstly through our own evolution from hunter-gatherers, to herders, an agrarian society to an industrial society and finally reaching the space age. What is of importance here, is that these societies still all exist simultaneously in real life within the country itself and these groups are working towards a harmonious existence without negating each others right to exist. Secondly, the book explores the political scene where the underlying message is that South Africa, and the world at large has, is and will continue to move away from tribal and nationalistic s based on race, place and religion towards more diverse societies. The aauthor goes so far as to quote Oliver Tambo's famous statement that we should work towards unity in diversity. But in order to get to this point, South Africans have gone through an incredible amount of . There are many who might find the authors blunt descriptions quite shocking in places. Lastly, "Time Trials" explores our evolution towards what is commonly known as New Age philosophies. Synchronicity, intuition, telepathic communication and the ability to use the sixth sense, or rather, go beyond the five senses of the body. The author also makes Biblical analogies, which might be offensive to some. "Time Trials" is quick, concise and prosaic in many places and ..........something completely different.

Excerpt from the Intro. to: The Firstborn of God. (Article) - 12/2/2003 7:38:44 PM
Most women sense, deep down, that the Bible was written by men to remove the vestiges of pagan philosophy that held women in high esteem, and to give the world to men! Of course, your viewpoint is more likely to sell. This is a very good idea, I hope it catches on!

Excerpt from the Intro. to: Time Trials. (Article) - 7/11/2003 4:23:01 PM
Interesting, Gail. I've never contemplated writing about time travel, but the topic intrigues. The third philosophy appeals to me as it seems to reflect the way nature on earth plays out. Thanks for posting this and much success with your books. Gina

Excerpt From the Prologue to: Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Article) - 5/19/2003 4:49:02 PM
I like this very much, Gail. I, too, have passion for place and poetry, and you have combined both here in this prose poem that sings of a place that exists, I'm sure, both in and outside of us.

Excerpt From the Prologue to: Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Article) - 11/8/2002 5:05:12 PM
I enjoy your work

Excerpt From the Prologue to: Meditations In My Favourite Places In Southern Africa. (Article) - 9/19/2002 8:30:48 PM
well done

Excerpt from the Intro. to: The Firstborn of God. (Article) - 9/19/2002 8:30:02 PM
glad to see you are posting these gail!

Excerpt from the Intro. to: Time Trials. (Article) - 9/19/2002 8:29:11 PM
enjoyed the read

Excerpt from the Intro. to: The Firstborn of God. (Article) - 9/3/2001 7:29:16 PM
Well argued. I agree with you.

Excerpt from the Intro. to: The Firstborn of God. (Article) - 9/3/2001 7:32:22 AM
To Gail Evans: As artist/writer extraordinaire, you provoke the tapestry and mystery that is religion. Thank-you! Loit

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.