AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: A.J. Mahari, iBilly Allmon, iPinckney Rivers, iLloydene Hill, iSara Coslett, iRosemarie Skaine, iRichard Harris, i
 
Home > Graham Donnachaidh
 

Recent Reviews for Graham Donnachaidh


betrayal (Poetry) - 8/16/2008 9:01:40 AM
Bravo.

her cricking toe (Poetry) - 12/24/2006 12:27:37 PM
Bittersweet with twinges of nostalgia. Chrissy

will you wait for me, (Poetry) - 12/21/2006 2:23:39 PM
Hauntingly lovely. Thanks for sharing it with us.

will you wait for me, (Poetry) - 12/20/2006 6:41:15 PM
Sorry Dan.... thanks for your input.. I fouled it up and erased your comment.. but....one day..I'll appear in Appalachia..look you up for that drink and we can journey the rainbow together that liks AngusShire wi' Appalachia.... G Thank you Richard.. G

will you wait for me, (Poetry) - 12/18/2006 6:28:39 PM
An honest question, and a fine poem. Light and Wisdom ... Richard Lloyd Cederberg

A small happiness (Poetry) - 12/14/2006 3:40:50 PM
A beautiful, sensitive poem. Congratulations! Rebecca

betrayal (Poetry) - 12/12/2006 3:39:25 PM
Hmmm, wonder who that's about. Haven't heard from you in a while, Graham. Nice to "see" you.

Appalachia (Poetry) - 12/1/2006 9:22:44 AM
A painting of my home set in verse.

Appalachia (Poetry) - 4/1/2006 10:49:34 AM
But, you do have imagination and perception, allowing you to describe our region very well. It is much as you say; beautiful for miles upon miles of undulating green mountains, and even in the Fall, there are enough pine and evergreens to make it tri-colored, at least. Thank you for your kind words about our mountainland, I've been in the hills of Georgia for seven years, now. A native and resident of Atlanta, feels much as you do about Appalachia, but it is nearby for them. In Georgia, and much of the South, there is a saying that all connections are made through Atlanta, so if this happens (perhaps, on your way to Heaven), tell them you want a temporary detour. - Bill

Appalachia (Poetry) - 3/29/2006 7:26:27 AM
Are you sure you haven't been here? Well, if you ever do, look me up. We'll go out and grab a bite.

Appalachia (Poetry) - 3/27/2006 2:33:14 PM
lovely just lovely you've never been? oh yes you have.....your heart knows.......... yes, its been there pax A

Appalachia (Poetry) - 3/27/2006 8:14:23 AM
You're kidding. It's beautiful... Want to see some live web cam pictures of different areas of the Blue Ridge Mountains? Go to my friends Little Switzerland Cafe site at: www.switzerlandcafe.com Right now it's winter, but tune in for the spring, summer and fall scenes...

silver shot (Poetry) - 2/1/2006 3:22:00 PM
Could fit any time or place or war... Enjoyed...well done.

silent night (Poetry) - 2/1/2006 8:40:10 AM
Very sad and touching.

silver shot (Poetry) - 2/1/2006 8:39:05 AM
Wonderful visuals through words.

silver shot (Poetry) - 2/1/2006 5:06:31 AM
Thought-provoking... Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Rent Boy (Poetry) - 1/31/2006 11:46:44 PM
Sorry you went thru what you did, if this is a self portrait, but trust me you are not the only one, not that that helps much I realize...not sure being "rented" was worse or better than being forced...ah well, we grow, we learn, we pass on, such is life & death...Ed & Rufuz (w00f)

December 29th (Poetry) - 1/4/2006 1:38:52 AM
Gave me goosebumps. Disconcerting but so well delivered. Great work! Chanti

December 29th (Poetry) - 12/30/2005 8:14:15 PM
This is peaceful a beautiful poem.

panic (Poetry) - 5/21/2005 4:49:54 PM
glad you made it ... would nice to see the expression on the bear's face ...

panic (Poetry) - 5/18/2005 12:47:01 PM
Amen.

panic (Poetry) - 5/18/2005 10:15:05 AM
i would have peed too...bears are so much scarier in the wild than in the zoo

panic (Poetry) - 5/18/2005 7:33:48 AM
great description of a moment in time I'll certain you will never forget. we won't tell. Dawn

panic (Poetry) - 5/18/2005 5:18:49 AM
Thank god for qucik dry pants excellent write Graham. Paul;-)

Rent Boy (Poetry) - 5/8/2005 9:14:13 AM
This is totally bizarre. I just happen upon this poem as my music player is playing bagpipes. Great job here, Graham. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you. Regis

The Land of the Standing Stones (Poetry) - 4/22/2005 10:06:04 AM
I just started reading a book, called the Sky Stone, about the romans in Britian, and two men who were supposed to be the great grandfathers of King Author. This poem of yours reminds me of so many references I have come across in the book. You told this so well.......ty pax A

First Warning (Poetry) - 4/18/2005 9:39:05 AM
Hmm - think I've been there actually. Fascinating little poem, I hope it was not prophetic. best Ian

First Warning (Poetry) - 3/15/2005 7:40:51 PM
wow, very powerful piece here revealing indeed

First Warning (Poetry) - 3/12/2005 5:58:49 PM
I liked this, nice use of visuals and language. It could be ice, it could be an illness, it could just be a false step, I like how you let the reader decide. Well done! Best, Jim

First Warning (Poetry) - 3/11/2005 11:40:45 PM
First warnings are exactly that...and needs your attention...everything has a reason and I hope you find its cause..fine write Allen

First Warning (Poetry) - 3/11/2005 11:40:26 PM
a very revealing position ...

Dead Fish (Poetry) - 2/24/2005 10:27:07 PM
Superb!!!!

Dead Fish (Poetry) - 2/13/2005 12:24:51 PM
Oooh yes it is wicked but it sure lights the sky.

Rent Boy (Poetry) - 2/13/2005 2:12:37 AM
Omg You are so talented. I am American and initially I was afraid I would have to read this a few times to get the "wording" :) But not at all!!! So clear!!! and its 5:17am here,I woke up early, and figured I would read and tire my eyes, and drop back to limbo for an hr or 2. But this poem, with its fantstic rhyme, and story, has me altert, and I just had to comment, and let you know I am totally floored by this! Whats Scottish for BRAVO.....Bravo??? lol ty for this.........pax A

Dead Fish (Poetry) - 2/12/2005 8:49:29 PM
That is one wicked valentine,beautifully written;-) etw

when he died (Poetry) - 2/9/2005 5:42:19 PM
An interesting write - leaves the reader with more questions.. And room to come to their own conclusions. To me - I would read this as being someone thats suffered a long debilitating illness.. That in many ways has already been dead for a long time. Perhaps the mourning has all been done long before the person took his last breath. But then again... I've been known to be wrong. LOL In any case - excellent write. Melanie

when he died (Poetry) - 2/8/2005 8:09:09 PM
The grief is in there somewhere. Truly an intriguing write that asks more question than it answers.

when he died (Poetry) - 2/8/2005 1:58:24 PM
Reminds me a little of the relationship between my grandfather and great-grandfather. Haven't heard from you in a while, Graham. Where you been?

when he died (Poetry) - 2/6/2005 9:29:07 PM
Huh, now this I can relate to, in anticipation!! Sounds mean I know, but I seek freedom from tryanny, and if thats what it takes... Good to read you again Graham

when he died (Poetry) - 2/6/2005 11:37:16 AM
This soundslike a person that I know who underwent a great deal of torture from his father.

when he died (Poetry) - 2/6/2005 4:10:49 AM
Whoa Guess he reaped what he sowed....... but then again, maybe he never knew...... some people go thru life that way......no consequence that touches them..... its sad healing for you dear poet........ pax A

when he died (Poetry) - 2/5/2005 8:32:19 PM
I really do not know how to respond. This is very well written and the content excellent...yet to not weep? That I myself question, but I know not the whole story here... To me this is a really good write. Allen

manhood (Poetry) - 10/1/2004 8:59:25 AM
I could never make debauchery as sexy as you do. You know we all have our poisons... I need pain to write. I need misery to write. You need lust among other things. I must say I envy you. April

i once ran naked (Poetry) - 10/1/2004 8:52:33 AM
You're a genius, though I'm not too sure you know it. Your writing reminds me somewhat of mine, maybe better. Neither of us color in the lines or write the kind of poetry you'd walk into an upscale bookstore and find showcased on cardboard shelves painted to look fancy. It's a frustrating box to fit into. You get very little appreciation and the thanks is even rarer. Maybe this is what makes you so genius. Either way, it's a comfort to know that I'm not alone. I'm not the only one who writes this way. And, now, maybe I can stop feeling like such a freak. ::wink:: April

blues 'n' rock 'n' roll  (Poetry) - 10/1/2004 8:13:04 AM
You know all the while I was reading this, I could hardly pay attention to the words because all I could think was of how badly I wanted to hear the music that must surely go along with this.

blues 'n' rock 'n' roll  (Poetry) - 6/1/2004 9:37:06 AM
great stuff!! come read my poem "air guitar"

blues 'n' rock 'n' roll  (Poetry) - 5/31/2004 11:45:28 PM
Well done Grahamn..... i like this one...

blues 'n' rock 'n' roll  (Poetry) - 5/29/2004 5:17:23 PM
keep pickin n grinnin, GD......watch the g-string, though.always gives me a rash ;-) keep on keepin on.it's all we've got... at the end of the day. music! hugs t'ya lad! an old irish picker!

blues 'n' rock 'n' roll  (Poetry) - 5/29/2004 7:19:19 AM
Doesnt matter the age or the gut or anything, as long as you can rock with a blues riff, you are okay in my book... Peace, Ed & Rufuz

blues 'n' rock 'n' roll  (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 11:00:33 PM
Rock on... nicely done.

i once ran naked (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 8:42:01 PM
i like this

blues 'n' rock 'n' roll  (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 8:40:33 PM
enjoyed the read

blues 'n' rock 'n' roll  (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 8:20:21 PM
Oh sorry...I shoulda said, "You go boy! Rock 'N Roll!"

blues 'n' rock 'n' roll  (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 8:14:10 PM
You go girl! Rock 'N Roll! ~ Sandie Angel ~

hypocrisy (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 12:13:08 AM
How wide is this net you cast Graham? And who does it catch? Bill

Smoke (Poetry) - 5/16/2004 5:26:32 PM
Michelle is correct a MOST well written write and enjoyable indeed! ~Nikki~

she kissed me on the lips (Poetry) - 5/15/2004 8:33:59 PM
You been watching Titanic! And it was Rose that drowned. :) Ch'erie

G Wanker B (Poetry) - 5/15/2004 8:30:26 PM
Refreshing to see that someone has a handle on things :) Ch'erie

Smoke (Poetry) - 5/14/2004 8:23:11 PM
I liked this one, it shows a view that almost sounds like someone who actually has had experiencing with being a soldier. I am a fan of the World War One Poets like Wilfred Owen, Sassoon and Brooke, and there was nothing quite like their first hand accounts, especially Owen, my favorite. This was well-written.

carrots (Poetry) - 5/11/2004 6:05:16 AM
Sweet, lovely, nostalgic ... So tender and memorable a write.

carrots (Poetry) - 5/10/2004 10:52:41 PM
Graham, I loved this vivid poem! It is so very strong! Bill Murray

G Wanker B (Poetry) - 5/10/2004 4:19:18 PM
Oh, Graham, if we could only "catch" him at it... pants down, 'holding his own'.. this is a title that's pretty hard to ignore! hehe.. katy xox.

she kissed me on the lips (Poetry) - 5/10/2004 4:15:57 PM
One of those human truths we avoid thinking of but recognize so well when told by another.. the extremes of love. With such brevity, Graham, you crack the heights of where that kiss took you, to that unmistakable place of abandonment, when we scratch our heads and wonder if it happened at all. You are unique, to be sure. katy xox.

half drunk (Poetry) - 5/10/2004 4:11:33 PM
Poem 2 for me, Graham.. your phrasing has a wonderful crispness.. you have a grasp of how an economy of words can still paint a broad, yet instrospective picture. Great piece. katy xox.

carrots (Poetry) - 5/10/2004 4:07:20 PM
Graham, Mountain Poet suggested I read you... I will be thanking him hugely! You capture a moment in time, and the telling of it is what will linger. At once, playful.. but entirely a poignant vision, as well. Bittersweet then, perhaps.. magical, as you write it, now. katy xox.

half drunk (Poetry) - 5/9/2004 9:05:26 AM
Now I'm wondering what the other half was.

carrots (Poetry) - 5/9/2004 9:04:20 AM
Ah, Graham m'lad. This brings back memories when I was a young'un running through the pumpkin patch towards a cute freckled girl. And then she gave her pumpkin to some other guy. I was so mad. Dammit, why couldn't I have her pumpkin?

carrots (Poetry) - 5/8/2004 8:34:03 PM
The images are very strong in this, and I like how the ending makes you think. I am impressed how you make the people so alive in such a short space.

she kissed me on the lips (Poetry) - 5/6/2004 7:29:27 AM
I always love the depth and expression of your words and poetry!

she kissed me on the lips (Poetry) - 5/5/2004 10:24:26 PM
God, your descriptions are very original. i don;t know if you write stories, but I imagine they would be wonderful as well with the attention you pay to detail in the small space of a poem.

G Wanker B (Poetry) - 5/3/2004 10:52:15 PM
Since the beginning of time, everyone has been easily led. We are still fighting over the same things, one wanker is like all the rest through history, they just wear different clothes.

G Wanker B (Poetry) - 5/3/2004 5:15:04 AM
sad and funny, at the very same time, well penned.

G Wanker B (Poetry) - 5/3/2004 12:45:35 AM
LOL Ted....

G Wanker B (Poetry) - 5/2/2004 11:25:19 PM
I was relieved to see that you live in Canada, talk about Wankers, Paul Martin fits the bill.

OUAT (Poetry) - 5/2/2004 2:28:19 PM
So very nice I can only hope for transport back to that tyme, so longe ago.

i once ran naked (Poetry) - 5/2/2004 1:32:55 PM
Just the bare facts, please. :)

OUAT (Poetry) - 5/2/2004 1:31:48 PM
Sounds like a different Universe, and probably a lot more interesting one.

OUAT (Poetry) - 5/2/2004 12:07:25 PM
Hope you can still find that place again. Interesting write indeed! ~ Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu ~

dark star (Poetry) - 5/2/2004 10:15:32 AM
And now I realise why I always read you......your work has a most amazing edge. Ty, Dani

ten minutes late (Poetry) - 5/2/2004 10:13:32 AM
Graham.....This bites..and bites hard.......Fantastic searing poetry. Sucked from the seed of your soul....This is what poetry is. ty, Dani

ten minutes late (Poetry) - 4/29/2004 6:21:08 PM
WOW!!!!!! This is so meaningful, love your poetry- have to share this with a friend who I know will also appreciate it-:)

ten minutes late (Poetry) - 4/28/2004 8:46:58 PM
Unfortunate, but life is sometimes like that. Best to make your peace with it and move on.

ten minutes late (Poetry) - 4/27/2004 4:34:44 PM
Very hard pill to swallow. However I think you should swallow it and be done with it, since you can't change it. I hope you'll go easy on yourself, life happens as it does, and most times we have no control over it. The lesson is hard learned!

ten minutes late (Poetry) - 4/27/2004 3:45:35 AM
Graham, this is deeply painful to read. One can sense the grief and angst in your words as they read them to full depth. If we could only turn back the hands of time...ten minutes doesn't sound like a long time, until it means eternity. I grieve now with you. Excellently written. Lisa

dark star (Poetry) - 4/26/2004 7:49:22 PM
Such sad emotion's Graham.... Vividly expressed... Excellent... *Linda*

dark star (Poetry) - 4/26/2004 7:27:36 PM
This is precious, albeit sad!I too hope he is.

i once ran naked (Poetry) - 4/26/2004 5:29:04 PM
Hey, cool poem, I understand it even, hard to believe, LOL! I understand it better than I understand the "Prodicus" review, but it is meant for you, so as long as you do...Peace thru the Write, Ed & Rufuz (w00f)

i once ran naked (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 11:27:50 AM
Um.....dangerously naked dark skinned sea love the vision thank you

i once ran naked (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 7:12:12 AM
You only lived once. ~ Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu ~

i once ran naked (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 7:11:31 AM
A well done poem.

i once ran naked (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 12:29:26 AM
Wow, awesome poem. Thanks for sharing. :)

fifes and drums (Poetry) - 4/24/2004 8:13:30 PM
Play on, my friend. Play on. The drum is passed to you.

fifes and drums (Poetry) - 4/24/2004 6:26:16 PM
I like the beat of this poem, and if our leaders lied, our troops died....for oil and for revenge of an attack made on the father.

boy soldier (Poetry) - 4/17/2004 9:29:44 PM
thanks.

acid (Poetry) - 4/17/2004 8:42:42 PM
I think it's time for a drinking song.

boy soldier (Poetry) - 4/17/2004 8:40:56 PM
Graham, all soldiers are saved...one way or another...

boy soldier (Poetry) - 4/16/2004 9:42:41 PM
heartfelt thoughts. -- Jeff

acid (Poetry) - 4/15/2004 7:27:03 AM
Tut tut now Graham, hell hath no fury..... Still I wouldnt be bothered, your wanted or your not, its that simple innit. Ch'erie

acid (Poetry) - 4/15/2004 6:54:37 AM
This one is sore and well done. powerful in shortness......

acid (Poetry) - 4/14/2004 10:19:20 PM
ouch ... i had time for one poem before bed. this was more like a knife blade. very incisive write. always enjoy your work. -anne

john..john.. (Poetry) - 4/14/2004 7:22:51 AM
Yeah I agree, it is reminiscent of Tom tom the pipers son, stole a pig and away he run...and so on... :) Ch'erie

john..john.. (Poetry) - 4/13/2004 10:16:02 PM
What a last stanza Graham... Well written poem.

john..john.. (Poetry) - 4/13/2004 7:34:51 PM
HA! First comment! Graham..Graham...a lot of your poems could be drinking songs for the soul. Until next time, I'll raise a pint for you.

hurrying (Poetry) - 4/13/2004 7:27:05 PM
Graham, it does not matter what April thinks of your work. First transcend yourself. Then everyone else will follow.

hurrying (Poetry) - 4/13/2004 7:19:12 PM
April ...... my friend in cyberspace......paganistic wannabe....I'm all the things you obviously despise....but i've lived more years than you...by your "pic"....truth is...you knocked it on the head...i am somewhat illeterate...but i'm on the learning ladder.... thankyou.. Graham

hurrying (Poetry) - 4/13/2004 6:52:36 PM
I find this sweet.....a beautiful word picture......and i don't know what April's problem is......... go figure........pax A

hurrying (Poetry) - 4/13/2004 6:31:40 PM
Typing straight out of an aol chatroom. How adolescent. I'm sure you're trying to be transcendent but the effect is... how should I say... moronic. E.E. Cummings was transcendent. Unfortunately, you just sound illiterate. Lovingly, April Pittman

luna (Poetry) - 4/13/2004 5:34:34 PM
Very well written, i like the repetition of the word at the beginning of each stanza. very nice. xx

luna (Poetry) - 4/13/2004 5:24:22 PM
thats really incredible!

a foolish poem (Poetry) - 4/12/2004 4:47:38 PM
That's what happens when you forget the wine and cheese, boyo.

as i came down the mount' (Poetry) - 4/12/2004 4:46:19 PM
Now why can't finding a single girl ever be that easy for me?

as i came down the mount' (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 11:00:47 PM
A fun read. Great job.

as i came down the mount' (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 10:15:02 PM
yes, this poem is magically delightful ...

a foolish poem (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 7:22:19 PM
humorously whimsical poem ... enjoyed reading ...

A Soldiers Resting Place (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 6:40:05 PM
There is so much life in your words......that's a great thing.....ty, Dani

The Scots Greys (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 6:37:41 PM
The title got me with this......and the poem was as good as I thought it'd be......you have a way with verse....are you published? ty, Dani

The Tounie and the Tinker (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 6:35:02 PM
Wonderful, wonderful worh Graham.....you do realise though I will now picture this all day.....lol my dribblin’ droopin’ winkie, <-- You are a fine poet......it's in your blood fer shur. ty, Dani

a foolish poem (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 6:29:11 PM
lol *big grin* you naughty boy......I loved this......humour and poetry are a needful blend......ty and Happy Easter....Dani

a foolish poem (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 6:09:36 PM
Good for a laugh! Enjoyed.

a foolish poem (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 6:00:04 PM
a common tale - well told john+

The Tounie and the Tinker (Poetry) - 4/11/2004 12:30:37 PM
Wonderful tale wonderfully told. Thank you for this offering, Graham. Love and peace. Regis

The Tounie and the Tinker (Poetry) - 4/10/2004 1:54:57 PM
Graham ... looks like you put a lot of time and effort into this poetry. It shows with good results. But really putsw it to my attention span; which is too short. Happy Easter. Bill Murray

The Tounie and the Tinker (Poetry) - 4/10/2004 1:47:23 PM
Graham, this is by far the longest poem I have ever read on the den. It is also the most fun I have ever had fun reading one. A touchin' tale o'young luve, it is. I, for one, would like to see this written in your Northeast dialect. I'd be curious to see how different it'd be from this version. Just reading it aloud to myself hearkens to my ancestral Scottish-Irish blood.

chiricahua (Poetry) - 4/10/2004 9:47:15 AM
This one has so many visuals a great tale you captured well Grahm! Happy Easter Blessings lady2 Peg

chiricahua (Poetry) - 4/9/2004 6:58:07 AM
Well done, Graham, I felt this keenly, the punctuated style and word choice actually gave me goosebumps on my arms. I live near Clifton, by where the San Franciso and Gila Rivers meet in Arizona, Geronimo once hid in the area with his little band when he was running from troops.

chiricahua (Poetry) - 4/9/2004 3:55:15 AM
The apaches and their scalping pretty nasty stuff that. LW

chiricahua (Poetry) - 4/8/2004 10:06:14 PM
Gory Graham, right? Gory in the morning and gory in the evening. All tales of strive seem to end this way. Christ is risen! Happy Easter! Bill

cowardice (Poetry) - 4/8/2004 9:24:26 PM
"cowardice" of the past makes us not what we are today ... being human does ...

cowardice (Poetry) - 4/8/2004 8:25:10 PM
sounds human to me, that underlying and hard to deny yellow streak that we have. it gets the best of us sometimes.

holes (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 9:13:21 PM
Sometimes our memories are the best things we have...Fine write!

holes (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 9:02:40 PM
there's this weird thing about holes and vacant spots. in an afghan for instance, of the crocheted variety, I've heard it told that the holes and vacants spots between the stitches actually trap the warmth, and that a blanket made in this way is actually warmer than one in a tighter stitch formation. same with those socks passed on down from your brother, they were a hole-y hell and yet, look what you built out of it. :)-anniepants (with holes in her dungarees, all pairs handed down by brothers three)

holes (Poetry) - 4/7/2004 8:04:55 PM
Graham, you've taken another pearl from the oyster. Darn those socks! Gosh darn them all to heck!

Jack Tar (Poetry) - 4/5/2004 9:26:34 PM
Graham, this one is epic in quality as well as length. Very much enjoyed this poem. Felt like I was right in the thick of it.

Jack Tar (Poetry) - 4/5/2004 12:08:19 AM
Very nice!

Jack Tar (Poetry) - 4/5/2004 12:03:01 AM
Magnificent! I'm saving this one!..Thanks! Vesna :)

A Soldiers Resting Place (Poetry) - 4/4/2004 7:54:21 PM
This is great- I love your poetry. Makes me feel like I am reading some of the best war poets, like my fave, Wilfred Owen. Excellent work and such a breath of fresh air, not enough poetry like this around.

A Soldiers Resting Place (Poetry) - 4/3/2004 10:59:18 PM
Im not an olde soldier so I wont be going where your first line suggests ;) A warrior though, at heart, so who knows. ATB Ch'erie

Jigs an' Reels (Poetry) - 4/3/2004 10:34:59 AM
Younger days are always the best, aren't they? I may not have had the whirling days you have, but I wouldn't trade my childhood for anything. Our childhoods are always filled with treasures many don't recognize until adulthood.

The Bothy (Poetry) - 4/3/2004 10:29:00 AM
Ach! What doo ye mean tha bar es shutt? Ah'll gi ye sam laldy, michty me! Whoops! Sorry, Graham. Me blood wis up in ire fer a moment. This poem has to be my favorite so far. It's full of longing for warm & happy times. It's full of memories that seep into your pores. This is so much like what I try to accomplish in some of my poems. Such a joy to read this.

lost and found (Poetry) - 4/3/2004 10:09:11 AM
Got 'im good, didja Graham? I'm a fan of short poems. The challenge of saying so much in so few words. You certainly caught me in the crosshairs.

drummer boy (Poetry) - 4/3/2004 10:06:14 AM
Graham, your poetry has a nostalgic intensity I have not found elsewhere often. Maybe it's not always pretty, but it draws me back for more.

My Bess (Poetry) - 4/3/2004 9:59:17 AM
Darn if I don't learn something new every day. I like the little history lessons your poems have become.

A Soldiers Resting Place (Poetry) - 4/3/2004 9:55:45 AM
The first verse sounds like a fun place to be. Who wouldn't want grog and whores aplenty?

Before our Guns (Poetry) - 4/3/2004 12:54:34 AM
I really like these when i am not writing i love to watch old movies tales of pirates and soilders this is well written. Ladye Peg

A Soldiers Resting Place (Poetry) - 4/3/2004 12:53:41 AM
Graham, Another well crafted one in the sagas. " Where am I..? lyfes mortal sins medal wins glory reigns for a short tale-tell forever claimed in a soldiers hell... " Ladye Peg

The Scots Greys (Poetry) - 4/2/2004 6:50:03 PM
enjoyed the read

The Scots Greys (Poetry) - 4/1/2004 9:55:35 AM
No one could tell this better than you, my friend. Thank you for your warm review. Slainte.

The Scots Greys (Poetry) - 4/1/2004 7:35:01 AM
a fine write about a fierce old regiment well done! john+

The Scots Greys (Poetry) - 4/1/2004 5:47:50 AM
cool.

awful attempt at morbid (Poetry) - 3/31/2004 10:24:37 PM
Graham, This one is solomon it is dark and deep. Can feel the dispair... Ladye Peg.....

awful attempt at morbid (Poetry) - 3/31/2004 8:48:15 PM
don't delete. i agree with eileen, you hit the despondency nail right on the head, so change this to ... "successful morbid attempt!"

awful attempt at morbid (Poetry) - 3/30/2004 12:18:53 PM
This is NOT as trashy as you think it is, graham...the writing and meter are impeccable, and i think you did a very good job with this! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D

awful attempt at morbid (Poetry) - 3/30/2004 8:37:31 AM
I have written many things I thought were trash. Only to look at them years later and realize they were quite interesting. As my frame of mind has changed, so has my perception of past works. You may think this poem is trash now. But look at it later and see if you can realize a particular flow you were not capable of before. Despite the despondent tone of this, it flows beautifully.

awful attempt at morbid (Poetry) - 3/30/2004 6:23:35 AM
I like morbid.....lol Well I don't like it, I think It makes for some great poetry......I enjoyed this Graham. ty, Dani

awful attempt at morbid (Poetry) - 3/30/2004 12:09:01 AM
Yes, and usually ended up deleting it, but thats just me. As for this write, hmmmm, no, i dont believe you. Your not a morbid person, you must of just forgotten the happy pills for the day. :) Not convinced hehe. Ch'erie

awful attempt at morbid (Poetry) - 3/29/2004 10:16:23 PM
I found it quite despondent, which is what you intended, so I guess it's a successful morbid write;-)

awful attempt at morbid (Poetry) - 3/29/2004 10:10:02 PM
lol- I think this is an interesting attempt at morbid:)

The Kynge's Shilling (Poetry) - 3/26/2004 9:52:51 PM
Well-penned poetically historical tale, Graham. Thank you. Love and peace. Regis

The Kynge's Shilling (Poetry) - 3/26/2004 9:11:00 PM
This is excellent! Gets such a good tale across in good form, pace and rhyme:)

My Bess (Poetry) - 3/24/2004 3:57:39 PM
I love this one I thought a she but new better ;) Excellent Graham

Willing Lass (Poetry) - 3/24/2004 9:02:20 AM
If you twist my arm I'll believe ya! *wink* You're a treasure.....Another gem.... I'll be back.......ty, Dani

Beguiled (Poetry) - 3/24/2004 8:58:00 AM
I had to read this......the title is such a great word.......the poem is so wonderful......you are a talented and most soulful man Graham. ty, Dani

My Bess (Poetry) - 3/24/2004 8:55:57 AM
Love and have missed reading you.......I'll catch up when I can..... LYFE <----God I adore that..... ty, Dani

My Bess (Poetry) - 3/24/2004 5:05:25 AM
G. Smoothbore, .75 caliber, possibly named for the brown stock or the browning effect of the rusting process then used to finish metal parts (I think). It was the Brown Bess which gave rise to the Second Amendment of the Constitution: "...the right to keep and arm bears shall not be infringed." Dan S.

My Bess (Poetry) - 3/24/2004 1:52:58 AM
Well yes you have to keep em well oiled or they will blow yer head off, bit like a woman eh. :) Ch'erie Thats rather an artifact you have there ole son!

My Bess (Poetry) - 3/23/2004 11:37:13 PM
hmmm...just for a moment there I thought you were talking about your love of a WOMAN....hmmmm..but men will be men... Well written.. Vesna :)

Hussar (Poetry) - 3/23/2004 2:49:32 PM
wonderful write, graham! love it! (((HUGS)))

Hussar (Poetry) - 3/23/2004 12:09:51 PM
Wonderful tale!!!!!

The Young Hussar (Poetry) - 3/22/2004 7:36:36 PM
I enjoyed this tale and the era.............

The Young Hussar (Poetry) - 3/22/2004 6:27:09 PM
ah yes, 'my era' as well...fine way to rekindle your interest. Gina

The Young Hussar (Poetry) - 3/22/2004 6:06:59 PM
Free verse...works for me. Enjoyed. Elizabeth

drummer boy (Poetry) - 3/18/2004 3:11:59 AM
You bring the horror home like a vagrant, mannerless, unapologetic guest who spares one nothing of his grotesqueness as he eats at ones lovingly set literary table - then he wipes his mouth on the back of his experienced hand, fully at home, comfortable, confident despite the stunned silence and when it is over, one applaudes his honesty as he leaves and as the scent of his brilliance settles as a reeking trail behind him, one steps carefully over it and wonders whether one should bolt the door! LOL - Graham - what can I say? Another brilliantly graphic write!

drummer boy (Poetry) - 3/17/2004 3:25:07 PM
Sounds like the men were wearing the red badge of courage. I guess you looked back into the past to pull this one out. Bill Murray.

drummer boy (Poetry) - 3/17/2004 9:42:32 AM
graham: i love this tale; very well done! enjoyed~! (((HUGS))) and love, your friend in america, karen lynn. :D

drummer boy (Poetry) - 3/17/2004 4:28:26 AM
G; Worthy of Wilfred Owen and Siegfried Sassoon. A picture perfect (if anything about war can be called perfect) portrait of war in any era. Dan S.

Defeat (Poetry) - 3/16/2004 8:57:56 PM
powerful poem and depth Grahmn "in horror of our own defeat... laughing now at comrades crossfired dead crying now since I’m still alive... singing the blues marine style I’ll not wear again the uniform of shame... " Ladye Peg A treat two in one night.

The Bothy (Poetry) - 3/16/2004 8:05:29 PM
Yae and what memories Graham I have to admit that I love your tales of old country... Scott Imnot but Iish and French I have and listn toi you memories Ido gleem too of Me grandfather and his Iish tale and his laughter once more. What a joy to lonesome heart... Love it Ladye peg

Flodden (Poetry) - 3/14/2004 7:56:01 AM
Excellent write...love n luck...BHUWAN

Willing Lass (Poetry) - 3/11/2004 4:03:50 PM
Hi Graham If I could say the lassies make Delectable their Dundee cake And walk them by the river Tay They would say surely hae their way. Och yer a fine fella. Lang may yer lum reek. Slainte. Hesione.

Flodden (Poetry) - 3/7/2004 6:11:08 PM
Graham! This is brilliant! Absolutely brilliant! I have just watched Mel Gibson's 'Braveheart' (again) - The story of Sir William Wallace and Robert the Bruce etc, it is one of my favourites... The battle, so bloody and so unapologetic... but your poetry doesn't only bring the horrible sights but the smell!!! The foulness... This was incredibly vivid... I'm stunned. (Was fun reading it out loud too!)

Flodden (Poetry) - 3/7/2004 6:04:08 PM
Wonderfully epic in your sad but honest descriptions of the end of an era...of the savagery we reap upon one another, all of the patriotic thoughts aside. Beautifully done!!!! I loved this work. May you know only good times, sir, within this light.

Flodden (Poetry) - 3/7/2004 6:01:48 PM
Graham, In your homelands tongue this is beautiful. masterful tale of the battle at Flodden. Rich imagery and verses. Ladye Peg

Willing Lass (Poetry) - 3/5/2004 6:35:32 AM
SMILES, Graham, and I don't believe it either!} Love the poem ... Ladye Peg

Willing Lass (Poetry) - 3/5/2004 1:39:08 AM
Naughty Boy :) And I dont believe yah :) Ch'erie

Careful now (Poetry) - 3/2/2004 10:58:37 PM
You paint the picture perfectly. Very nice.

Come back to me (Poetry) - 3/2/2004 7:26:39 PM
Graham, This was a moving and sad poem. Yet, I like that you leave the doorway of possibility open at the end. We just never know what life has in store for us. Great! ~Rose~

Finished (Poetry) - 2/27/2004 4:49:30 AM
Loved it, love the accent good one Graham. I've got a really neat web site, called Windaz too thoosand, its hilarious, if you want a sneaky at it, I'll type it the link. Friend of mine in Wales gave it too me. Ch'erie

Colours (Poetry) - 2/27/2004 1:30:02 AM
At a last a person who can spell colour correctly. The rest is understood also, particularly like the last four lines.

Finished (Poetry) - 2/26/2004 10:40:50 PM
interesting style and dialect ...

Finished (Poetry) - 2/26/2004 9:57:26 PM
Very unique style!

blindmanpath (Poetry) - 2/26/2004 7:53:00 PM
BRILLIANT work, the imagery is excellent..hallmark of a poet!

blindmanpath (Poetry) - 2/26/2004 7:46:35 PM
Very deep and great write!

The Latest News (Poetry) - 2/24/2004 9:28:34 PM
Hello all.. welcome comments from you... it was a tongue in cheek 'Tom Doolie'ish" sort of write... loved the "borderers" comment...spot on... thank you all Graham

The Latest News (Poetry) - 2/23/2004 3:26:39 AM
An luve lies in death’s dark shade 'til prides' ever deadly dues Be cumpletely fooly payed An' luve 'gen, it so fickle, woos :-) Ach Greyum, this wa greyt!!! A brilliant, fun, if not completely tragic, write! Thank you....

The Latest News (Poetry) - 2/23/2004 3:25:50 AM
One of the borderers, cut loose wi tha noose. Tell the procurator Fiscal. :) Ch'erie

The Latest News (Poetry) - 2/23/2004 1:06:47 AM
G; Really interesting with the brogue (dialect?) giving an added flavor to the work. A "Tom Dooley" of the Highlands, so to speak. Dan S.

Alone (Poetry) - 2/21/2004 7:37:32 AM
Powerful!!! No, you aren't alone I loved this glimpse into your world *Linda*

Liberation 2003 (Poetry) - 2/21/2004 7:35:12 AM
Love your style and power... Amazing write. I'll be reading more of you *Linda*

Liberation 2003 (Poetry) - 2/14/2004 7:07:04 PM
Grahmn, I am always fascianted with your unique style and Homeland Grace.... Excellent... Ladye, Peg

Liberation 2003 (Poetry) - 2/14/2004 3:20:24 AM
Hae Graham, Och man, ye are fine poet, like Rabbie himsel ye hae great wisdom tae yer words. If they could theirsel but only see, as we wid see them, Why, would they wish to grind the bones, o’others freedom. Hesione Rhadamanthus

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.