AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Robin Leigh Miller, iKevin Weeks, iCraig Hartpence, iTygo Lee, iKarin Fleischhaker-Griffin, iMark Seltman, iMargaret Hardisty, i
 
Home > Laurie Anthony
 

Recent Reviews for Laurie Anthony


Real Stories, Untold Truths (Book) - 1/5/2004 1:17:22 PM
Every serious approach to investigate human existence represents an act of tremendous courage and strength. Any experience, good or bad, is a crystallisation of truth. Your empathy completes the picture.

Have a Great One! A Homeless Man's Story (Book) - 3/31/2002 7:12:03 PM
An impelling excerpt.

Rudy (Short Story) - 2/1/2004 10:06:43 AM
Lovely story - innocence is bliss! *I'm suffering from 'Peter Pan Syndrome' - does that count?

Rudy (Short Story) - 11/30/2003 8:05:28 PM
Awww....so sweet, Laurie! The innocent love of children can move mountains. :) Jules :)

Rudy (Short Story) - 11/30/2003 1:41:07 PM
beautiful story; thanks for sharing! (((HUGS))) and much love, your texas friend, karen lynn. read my latest story, "the day santa claus cried.."; think you may enjoy it! :D

Saturday's Cups (Short Story) - 8/4/2003 2:27:48 PM
wonderful write, enjoyed! :) (((HUGS))) and love, a new friend in texas, karen lynn.

Why I Write (Article) - 11/21/2003 4:31:53 PM
Makes sense to me! Cynthia

Why I Write (Article) - 11/21/2003 9:00:54 AM
I certainly can relate Laurie. blessin's, cynth'ya lewis reed

Why I Write (Article) - 11/19/2003 1:21:40 AM
Excellent piece, I find myself stocking up on Notebooks when they are on sell too, but for some reason I find myself drawn to the bigger notebooks and Composition books, I also find myself writing about things that matter to me, like my grandmothers recent passing... God Bless ~Michelle~

Is Author's Den For You? (Article) - 11/16/2003 12:09:51 AM
Laurie, The lack of constructive criticism is a constant test upon several authors patience. Interesting how Julie remarks upon the comments of unmitigated egotism in regard to giving critiques, since I have been unabashed in mine and recieved from that selfsame person innumerable jabs about being egotistical. I suppose she speaks from personal motivation. Whatever the case, I find it unfortunate that you've not experienced any of my reviews, since to be recipient would mean there is at least one contructive voice amidst the folds of self assuered gratification. I'll have a look at some of your poetry posthaste. While I can agree with the majority of this article, the summation in the end I cannot completely condone. Good reviews are, in a mass community standard, completely devalued by the lack of constructive criticism. Frankly, one cannot tell the forest from the trees, in being inundated with a group of lackluster positivity without and correlative statements. I did enjoy this, it was a fine presentation work.

When You Have a Passion .. A Reason to Self-Publish (Article) - 11/15/2003 7:49:48 PM
Dear Laurie, I have just set up a publishing company, the initial purpose of which was to self-published my first novel, The Banana Leaf Men. Thanks you for your kind advice above. The support in terms of your words are encouraging. Aneeta

Is Author's Den For You? (Article) - 11/15/2003 7:46:52 PM
Dear Laurie, You have answered my questions and doubts! Thank you very much! Aneeta

Is Author's Den For You? (Article) - 11/13/2003 7:55:18 PM
Laurie, Thank you for bringing up issues. For me, I don't see AuthorsDen as a place for critique. I'm looking to read and enjoy polished work, professional quality writing. There are wonderful opportunities on the web for learning the tools of the trade. Writers Village University for one. Most importantly, I enjoy the fellowship of my peers and would like, as you, to see more interaction and support. I suggest you start visiting other writers' postings and leave comments. I know they'd appreciate the time. To plant a garden you need to begin with a seed. One by one, you'll discover a bouquet of writers in the den but a garden does require tending - a daily sprinkling of kindness and encouragement. Start today. Visit one of my postings. I'd love to have you stop by! Cynthia

Is Author's Den For You? (Article) - 11/13/2003 7:25:50 PM
Hi Laurie, Just could not let your article slide on by, without a response ..... :)) With the advent of online communications, writers have been presented with a whole new set of parameters to work within, today. Slowly, the old regime of hard-print publishing is being broken down ..... writers now have direct access to their readers ..... ..... and, they are saying that, it is the story evolving from the words that is important, as a whole, not the nit-picking trivialities that sub-editors and reviewers have survived on, in the past. This is especially evident, in online forums, where those writers of non-English speaking backgrounds can tell THEIR story, with a high degree of anonimity and without fear of being pounced upon for simple mistakes in spelling or grammar. Many readers on AD understand this notion and prefer to offer encouragement, rather than critcical reviews. Too many good stories have been lost in the culling process of traditional hard- copy publishers and their sub-editors. Online, there seems to have been a huge change in attitude towards writers, with much greater empathy towards those that would NEVER cut it by traditional publishing standards. ----- For the purists in the writing and publishing game, the attitudes posted above are frowned upon ..... but believe it, this phenomena has only just begun !~! Fortunately, there will always be a place (and demand) for proper English, with its complex structure, spelling and grammar ... but, probably not on many of the online forums ... :)) have a great weekend all yogi

Is Author's Den For You? (Article) - 11/13/2003 11:42:48 AM
Wow, lots of good points here, Laurie. I joined AD to help market my book and post articles I had been working on, hoping for comment and/or critique. Like you, I was disappointed that no one posted a comment at first. I figured this was because A.) there is a preponderance of poets compared to story/article/book writers, and B.) poems are easier to read because they're not as long as articles. So, like the old saying goes, "If ya can't beat 'em, JOIN 'em!". I started writing poetry, reviewing others, and voila - people started tracking me. Now, no matter what I post, I can count on a handful of kind people to leave comments. As for constructive reviews, you are right. Being an English minor in college, I tend to point out the misspellings and grammaticals only to those whom I know will accept my opinion in the spirit it is given. Otherwise, I'd probably get the s**t kicked outta me! LOL! AD members are like family - they don't like it when one of their own gets "picked on". Egos are very fragile here. To leave even the tiniest subtle critique opens one's self up to ridicule and accusations of egotism and an "Oh, so you think you're a better writer than me, hmm?" attitude. *insert eyeroll here* I am a member of five other writers sites. Three of them offer constructive critique, but are done in professional manner so as not to sound insulting. Still, hearts get broken, egos get crushed, and tempers flare. I am a professional book reviewer, and have done some AD authors books. I try to maintain balance, but no matter how gentle I am, some people just can't accept a minor criticism. I have learned to warn my authors that I will be gentle, but will not always fill a review with unadulterated praise. If I find the work to be a total piece of crap, I still find something good to say about it. After all, this person has worked hard, but may just need to brush up on some finer points of syntax or whatever. I've learned the best way to get an unbiased comment on your own works is to contact someone whose work you admire, and ask them to review your work the way you'd like it to be critiqued...then be prepared to accept whatever they offer. If that person is me, I charge $50 per review...LOL! (kidding!). Jules :)

Is Author's Den For You? (Article) - 11/13/2003 9:21:12 AM
You bring up some interesting points and questions. In some other writing sites I have seen the angst and acrimony fly when someone makes constructive comments that are not glowing.

When You Have a Passion .. A Reason to Self-Publish (Article) - 11/13/2003 8:58:30 AM
Thank you. This is helpful and informative.

Is Author's Den For You? (Article) - 11/12/2003 7:47:28 PM
True, Laurie, some reviews are sugar-coated on this site but then again many offer words of desperately needed encouragement. There have also been articles which have noted misspellings and errors in grammar, however, as well. Besides, those who think that writing is simply picking up a pen and "going for it" soon find they could stand to take at least one writing course - usually after dealing with an editor. Oh, by the way - great article [minus the Sweet N Low.]

When You Have a Passion .. A Reason to Self-Publish (Article) - 11/3/2003 7:37:13 PM
This is really a good article. Well done.

When You Have a Passion .. A Reason to Self-Publish (Article) - 10/31/2003 5:46:44 PM
Informative and well written, Laurie. :)

When You Have a Passion .. A Reason to Self-Publish (Article) - 10/31/2003 10:08:18 AM
Laurie, Excellent article with terrific advice. Cynthia

When You Have a Passion .. A Reason to Self-Publish (Article) - 10/31/2003 9:10:27 AM
First of all, may God bless you, Mrs. Anthony, in your efforts with the homeless. [I lived in my Malibu station wagon in Orlando once for two weeks and - believe me - it is an experience I have never forgotten.] As for self-publishing, I did it because I felt it showed I was serious about my book. I had sent mine to two publishers [who I seriously doubt even read the first sentence from the looks of it] before I decided I could at least find what some professional reviewers thought about it if I went the POD route. I have jotted down your remarks by the way. [I guess along with 'Write! Write! Write!', authors should also be advised to 'Promote! Promote! Promote!'.] Thanks for your observations.

Homeless, New York City (Article) - 10/31/2003 3:33:16 AM
This is wonderful. I would love to read your book.

What is Goodness? (Article) - 10/23/2003 1:10:42 PM
Good start, Laurie. Makes me want to read more. Very insightful. Jules :)

Homeless, New York City (Article) - 7/11/2003 6:11:14 AM
Laurie, i enjoyed this article. when my son was a student at nyu in the mid 90s, he befriended a homeless man that actually slept not far from the dorm in a cardboard box. my son would bring him food from the cafeteria and gave him some clothing. when i was visiting with him at one time, i had the opportunity to meet this man. he was very articulate, but i sensed he had some mental problems. i wonder what ever happened to him.

Thoughts on Homelessness (Article) - 7/4/2003 8:44:27 AM
A country which likes to present itself as the greatest in the world but allows its citizens to become homeless ought to 'hang its head in shame.' Thanks for posting this. Gina

Thoughts on Homelessness (Article) - 7/2/2003 5:46:09 PM
Thank you! I was speaking to a homeless couple last Sunday, and they complained about the insulting attitude displayed by passersby and others, particularly Japanese tourists. They were evicted from their apartment after three and one-half years because they were short $186 in rent. They got 5 days notice. There was no lease, and they were treated as transients under the hotel law - the lived in an apartment hotel. What happened was that he had become critically ill. His wife was told he might be terminal. He underwent radical surgery. He has recovered. But his employer of seven years had terminated him. So the couple now lives in the park, where they "hustle" a living everyday trading and selling things that people give them or things they find. They will not go to the shelter because it is dangerous. They made the same allegations that other homeless people have made to me, that management of the shelter is stealing money, taking the good food and leaving slop for the homeless, driving fancy cars and otherwise living high off the hog on the donations of various institutions.

Thoughts on Homelessness (Article) - 7/2/2003 5:34:08 PM
Excellent little article. Even little things and acts can make a big difference.

Peace and Spirit (Poetry) - 3/10/2006 5:37:40 PM
Dear Laurie This poem is truly beautiful! I love: "...Peace enters our beings in many forms The smile of an old man, the laughter of children The soothing notes of an old hymn, The consoling hug of a friend..." And this is supremely powerful: "...The picture is larger than us. We have to stop focusing so much on ourselves Do the work, be healed, And then move on. The world needs our help!.." Yes, yes it's so true!! So very well said dear Laurie!! Keep writing these gems! Love & friendship Suzie xox :-D

Dance of the Young (Poetry) - 2/5/2006 3:29:35 PM
Very well written!

Dance of the Young (Poetry) - 10/23/2004 10:10:12 PM
Melancholy and wise...nostalgia and and a touch of hope...that 'you' brings forth sorrow. Well expressed loss of innocence, Laurie Gina

Peace and Spirit (Poetry) - 3/2/2004 5:41:10 AM
In the simplest things and in the quietest places and in the deepest stillness we find peace.

Dance of the Young (Poetry) - 2/27/2004 2:43:08 PM
Imagery and sentiments complement each other to achieve your desired effects. Love and peace to you, Laurie. Regis

Dance of the Young (Poetry) - 2/13/2004 1:53:12 AM
This touched me.. Very beautifully written from the heart. ~Chrissie

Dance of the Young (Poetry) - 2/12/2004 2:08:37 PM
Lovely Laurie and touching. Do your dance regardless, this gives us an option even as things pass on. Keep your joy. cheers G

Dance of the Young (Poetry) - 2/11/2004 7:28:07 PM
This is lovely. a trace of sadness overcome with hope.Very good message in this poem!

Peace and Spirit (Poetry) - 2/9/2004 7:27:05 PM
beautiful, uplifting poem ...

Wallow (Poetry) - 1/18/2004 4:06:28 PM
Four more years of Bush and we may all be homeless, or ashes where the bomb went off. I have known a number of homeless people over the years. Most were homeless because they gave up. They quit fighting. It's a tough old world, and nobody ever promised us a rose garden. I grew up poor, and I am still fighting to survive after all these years. Nothing comes easy for me for some reason. I can't even afford to have my book reprinted. Anyway, I'm glad you have a positive outlook on things.

Wallow (Poetry) - 1/16/2004 12:19:28 PM
yes what a wonderful reminder..Thanks

Wallow (Poetry) - 1/7/2004 10:52:26 PM
Excellent writing, true...and thanks for the reminder that peace and purpose can be ours - eventually. May 2004 bring you much joy! Gina

Tears (Poetry) - 12/6/2003 8:26:06 AM
Laurie - Hi! Very thought-provoking! Perhaps the answer lies in the fact that -some of us "wear our hearts on our sleeves" while others are just callous, cold, and self-serving? OH - last line - you need to change the "q" to a "g." Plague not plaque!

Tears (Poetry) - 11/22/2003 10:00:16 AM
Laurie, excellent observation. I can relate. There's no answer, of course. Those tears are our natural defense against all we cannot tolerate. hugs Gina

Wallow (Poetry) - 11/18/2003 8:42:35 PM
There is a lot of wisdom expressed here. Optimistic in hope. Thank you. Regis

Wallow (Poetry) - 11/18/2003 5:38:13 PM
good advise! We let it drip and drip into our space Until the last drop has joined the place

Wallow (Poetry) - 11/13/2003 1:12:24 PM
It's a good point... Thanks for sharing... "Our spirit takes over bringing us peace and purpose. And our hearts begin to move forward."

Wallow (Poetry) - 11/13/2003 10:32:13 AM
Well said. :0) Evelyn.

Wallow (Poetry) - 11/12/2003 7:19:36 PM
Well said Laurie. Liked your poem anyone with a heart as big as yours has there reward in heaven George

Tears (Poetry) - 11/12/2003 11:13:55 AM
I can relate to this poem. I am now in a place of tears, without me recognizing that each time I am in those tears it is bringing forth a change in me. Something great is coming forth. Thank you for sharing and for your kind words. God Bless. Yvonne Williams......... : - )

Wallow (Poetry) - 11/11/2003 3:35:03 AM
Wonderful poem, and wonderful is what you're doing to help the homeless, Laurie. Kudos to you!

Tears (Poetry) - 11/8/2003 5:15:15 PM
Excellent, Laurie. Why some cry, why some coast: one lacks faith, the other relies on faith: "Life is an illusion. Love is the only reality."~~ Bonita M Quesinberry, R.C. I coast: because I understand how temporary is this life and I understand that this flesh is not who I am; therefore, I seek the greater, permanent life. Visit me sometime. Although, I can be moved by those who suffer, whether it be human or animal: for them, I feel a real pain in my heart. Love in Christ~~ Bonnie Q Unicorn Haven

Wallow (Poetry) - 11/8/2003 3:41:58 PM
Beautifully written. Yes, we have a very big homeless problem in New York City. Some homeless because they lost their jobs and homes. And our hearts begin to move forward. Excellent words. I hope that through your books and words that people will open up their hearts to those less foruntate then themselves. Awesome write. Karen

So Hard (Poetry) - 10/20/2003 12:21:35 PM
Aww, so hauntingly sad but beautiful at the same time. Nice work, Laurie! Jules :)

Tears (Poetry) - 10/19/2003 8:01:16 PM
Great write Laurie. Jack

As a Child (Poetry) - 10/19/2003 2:37:12 AM
I'm sure there's a purpose of some sort to existence in general, and surely some point to it, even if it does seem elusive and nebulous. Good luck with your search.

As a Child (Poetry) - 10/18/2003 11:28:36 PM
Beautiful little piece on a vestige of hope...fantastic... Allen

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.