AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Armineh Ohanian, iRichard Mason, iMaryAngela Nangini, iJohn McCoy, iOdin Roark, iByron Edgington, iBrad Bathgate, i
 
Home > E.L. Burton
 

Recent Reviews for E.L. Burton


$oft Money: The true power in our nations capital (Book) - 7/6/2002 6:19:02 PM
I've heard it said that as long as the public has "theirs" - meaning the good life - they don't care how down, dirty, and lethal politics is played in our nation's capitol. In this fictional account of how money rules our government, the public doesn't get enough truthful information out of D.C. to make that decision either way. In $oft Money, power begats power, money begats more money, and only a privileged few rake in the bounty. And the American taxpayers, who closed their eyes while career politicians took over, are reaping the bitter harvest. E.L. Burton has created a fast-paced thriller that entertains and intrigues. I couldn't put it down. It's packed from start to end with avaricious power hungry villains, the hapless folks they victimize, and idealistic men who take an honest stand. His characters are well-developed and defined. Clay Danvers is the smooth talking, good looking spin doctor who serves a popular President. Clay considers himself to be a skilled, well-paid assassin. No, he doesn't actually KILL people, but he brings about their downfall until they might as well be dead. Whatever scruples Clay once had are long since buried by his crimes. Preston Wesley is the people-friendly, charismatic President of the United States. A covert group of wealthy, powerful, and ruthless men stay busy day and night maintaining Pres. Wesley's front and ensuring all skeletons of the past stay hidden. The undisputed leader of the covert group is Mike Baker, President and CEO of Bytes Technology. Mike is a billionaire many times over from his computer software business, but even billions are not enough to sooth his greed for more money and increasing power. Mike is vicious, a puppet master with a passion to control the President and all he stands for. Lawrence Brazelton is one of the unfortunates the group has sacrificed in protection of the President. He's lost everything dear to him, but isn't quite the broken man he seems. He has the hope of loving for a second time and finding life outside the Beltway, if he can just live long enough to make it happen. Lawrence has a covert op of his own underway, and neither the President nor his cohorts will like it much. Paybacks will be hell if Lawrence Brazelton has his way. I couldn't wait to see the bad guys taken down in this one, and held my breath in hopes that at least one good guy survived to make it happen. Mr. Burton does a fine job of holding the reader's interest, and introduces subjects that will keep you pondering after the book ends. For certain, I will never use a cell phone, telephone, or connect to the internet again without thinking of this author and $oft Money.

$oft Money: The true power in our nations capital (Book) - 10/12/2001 3:10:49 PM
Wow! Looks like a great book. Congrats to you! Erika

$oft Money: The true power in our nations capital (Book) - 9/29/2001 2:55:28 PM
Good plot, characters, and a must read! Victoria

$oft Money: The true power in our nations capital (Book) - 5/28/2001 6:01:20 PM
Excellent first novel by E.L.Burton! Plot, dialog and charaters are beyond believable, they are plucked from daily headlines, which E.L. wrote long before they hit mainstream.I would suspect there would be a few nervious people in Washington wondering about his next book, and how much E.L.Burton really knows about the inner circle. His narrative, moving us between scenes, is smoothly done, void of that dizziness one feels with flash-back and scene changes. I understand he is working on his second novel, which should be even more exciting, since his "maiden voyage" was a winner.Write-On E.L.Burton. I for one of many, await your next book with anticipation.Your $oft Money was money well spent at twice the price.

$oft Money: The true power in our nations capital (Book) - 5/14/2001 4:23:05 PM
Words as sharp and accurate as a rapier, a storyline as intriguing as a spider’s web. E.L.Burton’s $oft Money is a dazzling study of the abuse of power that has blighted America since Watergate and before. In it, he relates one man’s struggle against his conscience when a former associate is elected President. More than just a florid use of words and a sharp sense of timing, Burton brings us a sense of realism that can best be described as on-the-spot. In dialogues, his choice of phrase says as much about his ability as a writer as his knowledge of political America. He doesn’t seem to feel the need for ‘he opinioned’, ‘she screamed’, or ‘he blustered’; the discourse does it for him. The sure sign of someone who knows how to wield a pen. In his biography, the author claims to have worked in ‘Corporate America’. Methinks he stretcheth the truth a little. Only an insider could have written with Burton’s amazing breadth of knowledge. He is surely the Tom Clancy of political novelists and I look forward to his next book with eager anticipation.

$oft Money: The true power in our nations capital (Book) - 5/11/2001 7:16:02 PM
WARNING, WARNING, WARNING !! Beware - when you read this book, you'll think your reading a non-fiction documentary (and maybe you are). Eric Burton steals the show with this political thriller. What a beautifully written book. There's a strong plot, powerful dialog and sweeping emotions. If you thought politicians were corrupt, you were, according to Eric Burton, dead right. Don't go to bed reading $oft Money - you'll be turning the light back on to get another chapter in (and then, like me, finding that it's time to get to work!)

$oft Money: The true power in our nations capital (Book) - 5/11/2001 6:48:04 PM
I Just finished writing a review for this book on Amazon, then someone told me about AuthorsDen and here it is again! I wish I'd saved my Amazon review, it would have saved me writing it twice! Eric Burton has written a cracker of a book - a real little beauty and this one's a keeper. If you plan buying just one book this month, buy $OFT MONEY. Full of political intrigue, back-stabbing, money-laundering and more. The characters are wholly believable (probably due to a fine balance between good dialog and well-crafted narrative), the plot is credible (too credible I suspect). The result is a book you'll not want to put down - I promise.

$oft Money: The true power in our nations capital (Book) - 3/28/2001 9:51:51 PM
No need to repeat the glowing review give by Barbara Buhrer (see above). I will add that E. L. Burton has a gift. A gift for not only writing but for timing as well. Soft money if all over the news these days. Rush Limbaugh was talking about it all morning this a.m. You like Rush, E. L.? Good plot, good characterization, good dialogue. I liked it. Go buy it!

Publishing vs. Publishing - Pick Your Poison (Article) - 12/12/2002 4:51:03 PM
I found the infomation presented in the article to be of tremendous help. Thanks, the infomation was very useful.

Publishing vs. Publishing - Pick Your Poison (Article) - 3/2/2002 6:34:51 AM
I read this with great interest and it made me think. I would think that marketing a book that you are proud and excited about would be fun. Also any publishing is better than no publishing. Every writer has their reasons for the type of publishing they want. This article will give them some answers. I found the history of those three books very interesting. Thanks.

Publishing vs. Publishing - Pick Your Poison (Article) - 6/19/2001 1:10:17 PM
Great article! Very informative. Don't forget that self-promotion is just as much on the shoulders of traditionally published authors as it is authors published by other venues. Traditional publishers don't set aside the big bucks, or even little bucks in some cases, for promotion unless you're a superstar (which means you have worked your butt off at an earlier point in your career doing self-promotion at your own expense.)

Publishing vs. Publishing - Pick Your Poison (Article) - 6/2/2001 8:04:45 AM
I found this article to be both helpful and informative. I would like to add that even traditionally published authors have to engage in self-promotion.

The mist of the veil (Poetry) - 8/30/2006 5:10:55 PM
I am new to this; my twin friends keep talking about this place. I thought I'd look & see.... snoopy like a cat. Very Good. Brought memories of a friend of mine

The mist of the veil (Poetry) - 8/27/2003 11:20:08 AM
Well spoken, Eric. From the heart.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.