AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Deborah Frontiera, iDominic Caruso, iLakshmi Sharma, iSusan Rempel, iOralya Ueberroth, iKen Coleman, iDenise Nowakowski, i
 
Home > Norm Harris
 

Recent Reviews for Norm Harris


Fruit of a Poisonous Tree will soon be available printed in the Japanese language. Also look for Fruit of a Poisonous Tree on the big screen in the near future. (Book) - 10/12/2001 3:15:28 PM
Looks like a must read! Congrats to you Norm. Erika Michelle...Heaven's Fury On Hell's Cafe

Fruit of a Poisonous Tree will soon be available printed in the Japanese language. Also look for Fruit of a Poisonous Tree on the big screen in the near future. (Book) - 9/25/2001 5:13:15 PM
A MUST READ! Talk about your Military intrigue! This author captures his readers right from the beginning! That's exactly what they should do! ... Love the style--love the mysterious characters--love the book! TWO THUMBS UP! Victoria

Fruit of a Poisonous Tree will soon be available printed in the Japanese language. Also look for Fruit of a Poisonous Tree on the big screen in the near future. (Book) - 9/10/2001 11:52:47 PM
The review below was written by Rebecca Brown, a top Amazon.com book reviewer and editor of Rebeccasreads.com book reviews.

Fruit of a Poisonous Tree will soon be available printed in the Japanese language. Also look for Fruit of a Poisonous Tree on the big screen in the near future. (Book) - 9/10/2001 11:46:26 PM
In a dark Seattle alley, a silent murder is committed. Its repercussions echo across the Puget Sound to the naval base there, to the corridors of Congress & to the shores of the Korean peninsula. Introducing us to Faydra Green, erstwhile First Daughter & intrepid JAG lawyer, Norm Harris weaves a wicked plot with credible people, fascinating naval insights & glimpses into the multi–layered world of Black Ops. It sure helps that I’m a great fan of JAG, the Belisarius television series & could “see” the story play out as a two parter. When Seattle Police Detective Farmer arrests Marine Sergeant Simon Linn for the murder of another military man in an alley in his precinct, he doesn’t know he’s got a hero in his jail nor what stone he has turned over. When Commander Green is ordered to bail out one of their own from a Seattle jail, she hasn’t a clue as to why. Hot on the trail, conferring with legendary Black Ops commanders & sifting through the paper trail along with her resourceful team, she begins to see a bigger picture. Enter Ford Clay, Esq., to represent the accused man. Sometime lover & longtime friend of Fay’s, Ford walks a quiet & uncorrupted path through Washington politics on behalf of his heritage, the American Indian People. The trail branches out, undercover naval intelligence segues into an international two–step as Washington, the US Navy & North & South Korea jockey for recovery of a crashed spy plane & an intentionally scuttled Navy frigate in the Yellow Sea. An absorbing read with a local flavor. Norm Harris’ characters ride ferries just like us & they know Bremerton & its environs, including Seattle, as well as we do. Some naval jargon, which is easily understood, a few gaps which I hope Norm Harris fills in in his next book & we’re off to a running start on a rollicking good read!

Fruit of a Poisonous Tree will soon be available printed in the Japanese language. Also look for Fruit of a Poisonous Tree on the big screen in the near future. (Book) - 9/2/2001 10:07:58 AM
Reviewer: A reader from Thiruvananthapuram, India. Another author to watch out for in the future is Norm Harris, author of Fruit of a Poisonous Tree. A great read with a stunning finish, the story is about a JAG lawyer defending her first homicide case. A sort of a 'Tom Clancy' touch in narration and style gives added authenticity and weight to the story and the author is really effective while describing legal and military procedure. A good and recommended read. (Note: this review was taken, in part, from an article published in Picturing Justice, a web journal on Law and Popular Culture, published by the Faculty of Law, University of San Francisco (www.usfca.edu/pj/fiction-narayan.htm) in March 2001.) I am a lawyer practicing in Thiruvananthapuram,India and a great lover of legal-fiction. Narayan The numero-uno legal thriller lover.

Fruit of a Poisonous Tree will soon be available printed in the Japanese language. Also look for Fruit of a Poisonous Tree on the big screen in the near future. (Book) - 7/22/2001 11:22:51 AM
A must read, plain and simple. The book is well written, the plots are well designed and the characters are mysterious. Well done sir; may I have another?

Fruit of a Poisonous Tree will soon be available printed in the Japanese language. Also look for Fruit of a Poisonous Tree on the big screen in the near future. (Book) - 5/11/2001 7:49:17 PM
OK Norm, I'm gonna cheat here a little... As you know, I'm the author of Paperchase, which is also featured on AuthorsDen. What you probably don't know is that I haven't yet read Fruit of a Poisonous Tree. However, my wife who's a doctor and lives in Bruxelles HAS, and she's bringing it down with her next weekend so I can get my hands on it (we're too mean to buy a copy each!). She's just written a review on Barnes & Noble but she's away on a conference for a few days now, so she won't get access to Internet. Consequently, she asked me to put her review here for her. So here we go - a review from Marie-Danielle Bernard, a French doctor living in Bruxelles... Filled with suspense, intrigue, and memorable descriptions of the sea's beauty, and her treachery, Norm Harris's 'Fruit of a Poisonous Tree' launches US Navy surface Captain Egan Fletcher and JAG lawyer Commander Faydra Green on their individual star-crossed careers in an outstanding nautical yarn. This is a book with a great premise and a book with all the tension of a really good suspense novel. It's one of those on-the-run stories that features both appealing officers and lower-echelon military personnel for whom God, duty, honour, and country are not just words but credos. The plot is complex but tightly knit and well controlled, with devastating subplots erupting in, of all places, a quaint (?) little third world nation know as Chosun (actually North Korea -today's powder keg). Naturally, the book bristles like a raging sea battle with intricate military hardware, from ghost ships to top-secret spy planes - like the Aurora, which the US Air Force still denies exists. Trailing in the wake is a whole bundle of intrigue and even a touch of romance that floats just below the surface, like a submarine waiting to rise when the moment is right. And when it did finally break out it happened with such suddenness and with such tenderness that I found myself reaching for a tissue (metaphorically, of course! I'm a doctor - I'm used to these things!) Don't go away with the impression that this is a Clancy look-alike (though it's difficult to avoid the similarities in a novel of such depth and accuracy). In 'Fruit of a Poisonous Tree' author Harris sets his own course and spins his own tale of piracy, deception, high treason, and murder - though maybe Clancy will be forced to step aside soon and make way for some younger blood. A great story with a great plot. You shouldn't miss it.

Fruit of a Poisonous Tree will soon be available printed in the Japanese language. Also look for Fruit of a Poisonous Tree on the big screen in the near future. (Book) - 5/11/2001 7:00:20 PM
WOW!! What a terrific read. Norm Harris's working knowledge of the military makes this book stand out from the pack the way Clancy's do. There's a great plot (which AuthorsDen has shown above these reviews) and some fabulous characterizations. There's missing bodies, 'lost' records, cover-ups, death, exotic countries - hey, it's a real rollercoaster book - and one you'll not put down (so start reading it at breakfast). Norm Harris has a winner here - you see.

Fruit of a Poisonous Tree will soon be available printed in the Japanese language. Also look for Fruit of a Poisonous Tree on the big screen in the near future. (Book) - 3/24/2001 10:42:58 AM
Norm Harris's exciting suspense 'Fruit of a Poisonous Tree' is defiantly a must read book. The wide range of experience the author has through his own life experience, greatly enhances the viability of this riveting military saga of intrigue. Harris has captured his audience with his descriptive details of his own surroundings embedded in this entertaining publication. After a long week at work step into the world of the Fruit of a Poisonous Tree. Ms. Susan E. Harrison Author of 'INNOCENT INSIGHTS'

USS Zumwalt (Article) - 7/30/2003 7:50:18 AM
i was on a tin can from 63-67 this ship is amazing it is the sleekest and uncluttered suip that i have ever seen if some one dident know better they would swear that it was a toy model

USS Zumwalt (Article) - 2/8/2002 12:16:37 PM
I served in the US Navy during Admiral Zumwalts tour as the CNO and believe he was one of a kind. He definately was a peoples person and an admired man throughout the navy ranks. I just had a presentation of this new class of ship and totally impressed.

USS Zumwalt (Article) - 11/5/2001 6:30:15 PM
great

Aurora spy plane (Article) - 7/15/2001 3:09:48 PM
Its amazing how denials sometimes turn into fact somewhere down the road.

Aurora spy plane (Article) - 4/15/2001 5:18:15 PM
The author, Norm Harris, is quite impressive with his extensive military knowledge and obviously...photography skills. His investigative work into the top secret must also be quite an attribute. By the way Norm, you must have some great connections to take such a wonderfully secret spy plane so high in the air. lol. Great Photo and quite an interesting addition to your super publication Fruit of the Poisonous Tree!

A tribute to the crew of the USS Cole (Article) - 3/24/2001 1:15:05 AM
Norm Harris's exciting suspense 'Fruit of a Poisonous Tree' is defiantly a must read book. The wide range of experience the author has through his own life experience, greatly enhances the viability of this riveting military saga of intrigue. Harris has captured his audience with his descriptive details of his own surroundings embedded in this entertaining publication. After a long week at work step into the world of the Fruit of a Poisonous Tree.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.