AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Betty Jo Tucker, iFrances Seymour, iBob Meade, iBonnie Milani, iRegina Pounds, iDr. Michael De Vito, iChynna Laird, i
 
Home > Nancy S. Mure
 

Recent Reviews for Nancy S. Mure


Papa in the Sky (Book) - 7/20/2006 10:29:55 PM
The book sounds intriguing..Children need to know about death. Its part of life...........M

Irregular Joe (Short Story) - 5/22/2011 4:36:35 PM
a hoot. a big smile. thank you for sharing-i am still smiling jch

The Caterpillar That Wouldn't Change (Short Story) - 5/14/2011 2:57:38 AM
Nicely done, Nancy! When will there be more to the story? I'm anxious to hear whether Nelle decided to change, too! Hugs, CJ

The Pink Lizard (Short Story) - 5/11/2011 3:26:14 PM
yes, i must agree a sad but charming story. i always love a twist. thank you for sharing. jch

Un-Identical Twins (Short Story) - 11/9/2010 11:56:15 AM
Funny!! but so real. I have twin sons who are fraternal in personality only. They look just a like and are the same height and size. You have them down to a science in you story. Keep up the great work twins need an outlet to laugh at themselves also. We have over 5 sets of living twins in the family and so far all are following your story line in real life pretty well.

Un-Identical Twins (Short Story) - 9/10/2010 8:16:53 PM
This is hilarious! I went to school with a set of identical twins and they milked all they could out of it. They continuusly played pranks on their teachers and friends. To make it worse, they were in the same, classes, members of Choralalairs, etc. They're very different now, but they both had their first child on the same day! Twin cousins?

The Really Jealous Jimmy Crab (Short Story) - 5/13/2010 5:43:27 PM


Massimo's Meatballs (Short Story) - 12/16/2009 5:31:50 PM
This IS cute!

The Pizza Man and The Parrots (Short Story) - 6/15/2009 6:37:50 PM
Cool write! With a last name of Domino, I had to read your story about the Parrots & The Pizzaman. Well done! John Michael Domino

The Caterpillar That Wouldn't Change (Short Story) - 6/19/2008 9:53:20 PM
very beautiful and sweet story

Un-Identical Twins (Short Story) - 5/21/2008 11:25:15 AM
I like your style of writing. I assume this is an excerpt from a longer story?

Un-Identical Twins (Short Story) - 10/26/2007 11:08:15 PM
This is a neat story. I have twin girls too, and they sound the same. One of mine is a genetic engineer while the other is a fashion designer. I think they did it on purpose. I like your ending, but Iím a Saki fan.

The Pink Lizard (Short Story) - 12/28/2005 8:09:22 PM
A sad but charming story... Nice humorous read! Keep writing. Roger and Birgit

The Pizza Man and The Parrots (Short Story) - 8/10/2005 8:46:11 AM
cute write; well done! :)

Irregular Joe (Short Story) - 8/8/2005 5:57:41 PM
Very cute story with a good message. I'm an "Average Joe!" Hey, there should've been a piano playing "Billy JOEL" in your story! Okay, that was pretty dumb! :-) I recently joined this site, so, if you have time, please stop by my site, and leave a review or two. Do you do anything special to get the word out about your books? I've done some booksignings, but I'm always trying to get advice. I'm on to review another of your stories. --Thanks, Joseph "Joe" Fleckenstein :-) (PS: I'm also Josecito in Spanish -- which means "Joey.")

Massimo's Meatballs (Short Story) - 10/12/2004 11:52:15 PM
I like what you've got here. You have tallent and it shows. The humor is well developed, the style's engaging. The writer's voice put me deep into the character's POV, all good things, but I din't feel as if the story was quite done. There seemed to be an element missing in the wrap-up. There was a good build-up with the mess in the kitchen--but no reaction from Mom. Massimo destroyed the kitchen, and got his meatballs, his pay-off. The humor died at that point. Maybe, you should have him volunteer to cook dinner for Mom, to reward her for a hard day grocery shopping. Mom could take one look at the kitchen and tell him he's done quite enough--but suggwest that that he could always do the dishes. Massimo then could impose on Carmine to handle that chore. Massimo could tell his friend, "Hey, I fixed the meatballs you were wolfing down. You should do something to help me out." This type ending would play off the fact that Carmine was instrumental in the project that Massimo takes credit for. Just a thought. Best of luck with this.

Massimo's Meatballs (Short Story) - 3/29/2004 6:38:36 AM
How you doin'? Great story, thanks for the hunger pains!

Massimo's Meatballs (Short Story) - 3/27/2004 11:18:42 AM
delightful story! enjoyed~ (((HUGS))) and love, your tx. friend, karen lynn. :D

Papa in the Sky (Short Story) - 2/24/2004 4:05:05 PM
precious, heartwarming story, nancy; so enjoyed this! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D

Papa in the Sky (Short Story) - 2/22/2004 11:29:23 PM
Nancy, An excellent story, it brought back memories of my own grandfather, who died when I was eight and my grandmother who died this past Novemember... God Bless ~Michelle~

Un-Identical Twins (Short Story) - 2/22/2004 11:20:09 PM
Excellent story... God Bless ~Michelle~

Un-Identical Twins (Short Story) - 2/22/2004 3:32:23 PM
(((nancy))) as a un-identical twin, i had to read this...and am i glad i did i always wished we dressed alike more, i'm taller and heavier than my twin, rather close in appearance otherwise, and i always got (still do, in fact), "your daughter looks just like you" GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR karen (my twin) thinks it's hysterical i am older than her--by ELEVEN FREAKIN MINUTES LOL do i look THAT much older???? *thanks a lot* thanks for the memory jogs in this wonderfully written story i, for one (except for the above) enjoy being a twin--my twin is my biggest supporter and best friend...although there ARE times...LOL (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Un-Identical Twins (Short Story) - 2/22/2004 1:22:10 PM
as a twin (fraternal, but we look enough alike!) in real life, i can relate to this; there are times where karla and i wanna' KILL each other! (NOT really; karla and i ARE very close; but we do have our moments!) Good story; enjoyed! (((HUGS))) and much love, your tx. friend, karen lynn. :D

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 7/30/2013 6:48:42 PM
Wow, Nancy, a very sad poem. Addiction is a real disease in itself. I hope you feel better now!

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 5/17/2012 11:29:43 PM
Well written Nancy. On a lighter note (pun intended), when I used to see the warnings on cigarette packets that stated 'Don't smoke if you are breast feeding', I always wanted to complete the sentence with 'or you'll get ash on your baby's head'! Seriously though, I think that individual liberty and choice are more important than the length of one's life. I used to smoke heavily, and gave it up as i approached 50, as I could feel the harmful effects catching up with me. Both smoking and not smoking were my personal choices. I would never, ever blame anyone but myself had smoking made me ill and I would not give up one single cigarette I enjoyed - and I enjoyed many over 35 years! So whilst applauding your poem and empathizing over your loss, I still think that liberty and individual choice must be the paramount values upheld in civilization. Some of our choices kill us, but they are our choices to make.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 2/4/2011 7:12:06 AM
I smoked all my life until I finally decided I had to quit before I would get some kind of cancer or emphysema. I quit smoking cold turkey close to two years ago and I am so glad that I did. I read this and noted how well crafted this write is and it makes a great piece to get some peoples attention. Well done although you have had to go through a great loss in your father. Amor

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 11/10/2010 10:37:34 PM
What a touching story of a smoke filled life.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 8/25/2010 12:31:20 PM
what an incredible piece of writing...on a lighter note im just about to go order some of your wonderful books ...eliza keating

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 11/9/2009 2:49:01 AM
Well written, Nancy

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 10/14/2009 10:16:21 PM
Oh my goodness! Every smoker needs to read this! Great description of life in the environment of nicotine. Blessings...Frances

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 6/7/2009 2:40:06 AM
This insidious pestilence can only be eradicated by starting at the source. Go to any suburban mall; you will find children, twelve years and older, smoking. All have deluded themselves into thinking it makes them look older. They don't wish to "be like Mike", they wish to be like their parents. Regards ... Reginald V. Johnson

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 5/29/2009 5:20:53 AM
Oh what a tragic story. You have captured so many emotions in this one. Indeed, smoking is a terrible addiction, and unfortunately some don't quit until its too late. Great job Nancy! Anna

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 5/8/2009 6:10:20 AM
I'm so glad I ran across this poem this morning. My wife and I both stopped smoking nearly thirty years ago. Our son was seven at the time. We had taken him to an allergist, and the doctor said, "This little guy doesn't feel well; you both really need to stop smoking." I'm so glad we listened to his physician. In 2005, my brother died from lung cancer. He was a smoker but had quit several years prior to his death. Still, smoking eventually had its way with him, and he died a most horrible death. It was heartbreaking to watch as the nurses suctioned him twice the night he died. I was sixty-one at the time, but still I sobbed silently and held his hand throughout this heartbreaking scene. It was the most difficult thing I ever had to do. But God saw me through it, and I'm glad I was able to be there for him. Thank you for this wonderful write. May it continue to be a blessing to others, just as it already has. Sincerely, David Lee Thompson

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 11/16/2008 9:36:21 AM
If kicking addictions were easy...no one would have them. This message is loud and I for one got the message. Thanks, CarolHawks

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 10/31/2008 9:22:14 AM
As so many have said... this is just powerful! I hope that there are many who will be touched by the message and change their lives because of it. Thankfully, I have never smoked, nor has my husband, nor our parents or theirs before them...I am SO grateful for that!!! What a horrid addiction it is... Cryssa

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 8/16/2008 12:48:00 PM
You have God given talent and a heart of GOLD. my first wife died of cancer at 37. It took 20 yrs. to write her story that I have on my website. Success Always, John Michael

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 6/18/2008 3:36:45 PM
My husband Tom, another smoking casualty says right on his death certificate, death due to smoking. He was a schizophrenic person and could not kick the habit, smoked over 3 packs of cigarettes a day, developed emphysema, lung disease heart disease, COPD IT IS CALLED, DIED AT AGE 58 SO YOUNG AND IN HIS PRIME OF LIFE. i AM SO MAD AT HIM, He actually killed himself per se. It was a horrible time his last 6 months, could not breathe well and pains in his legs. But he did not complain one bit. He took it well and died peacefully too. Now he is at rest and no more cigarettes needed.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 5/12/2008 11:43:05 AM
E x c e l l e n t. But for the grace, there went I !! So many of my generation lost the battle. Smoking was considered glamorous! All the Stars smoked, and many athletes. Nearly killed me to quit, but I would not be sitting here writing this if I hadn't licked the habit. Same goes for my husband. I feel a lot of guilt re second-hand smoke [an unheard concept until relatively recently], but there's nothing to be done about that. Thank you for writing this. You have done a wonderful job. Maybe it will convince someone to stop smoking before it is too late. I am so sorry that your loved one didn't make it. Bless you!! <3 Phyllis <3

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 1/27/2008 9:50:30 PM
I love this poem, Nancy. People with families talk of love and yet miss the chances of love because of addictions and their reluctance to change. Thanks for writing out your sorrow over this missed part of life. C.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 12/28/2007 5:38:19 AM
Great poem-I lost both of my parents to smoking-Mother to Cancer in'96 and my Father in June/07 of Prostate Cancer-No I don't smoke and I am Cancer free

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 7/24/2007 9:15:40 AM
Heart wrenching poem. You spelled it out correctly. Such a loss. great write. Liz

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 7/20/2007 7:53:47 AM
So often people don't realize what they, in harming themselves, are doing to those who love them. Thank you for this expression of the loss.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 6/26/2007 1:26:20 PM
Thanks for sharing this, it should be posted on billboards everywhere. God Bless You and Your Loved Ones Officer Bill Heffner xxxooo

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 3/9/2007 2:42:38 PM
Hi! Nancy, A very beautiful poem. Very heartfelt and poignant. Best of luck with your writing! Please feel free to visit my site at www.freewebs.com/kendoo or here in the 'den'.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 2/26/2007 3:50:37 PM
Addiction touches so many more people than the addict realizes......I thank God I was given a 2nd chance. Thanks for sharing Nancy...... Bill

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 10/21/2006 3:21:16 PM
How sad, but it happens to so many. I've never smoked but see the effect is has on people. That power; or addiction that takes over them to such a degree. A powerful well written poem. Keep writing. *hugs* Holly

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 12/31/2005 9:56:42 PM
Powerful - powerful - powerful! Did I mention ---this was powerful? Wow!!

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 10/14/2005 12:47:48 PM
Strong statement with sadness overwhelming what is so true. As a smoker for 35 years and a non smoker for the past four years I know it is not easy but can be done. Felix

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 8/8/2005 5:59:22 PM
Wow, the last line really got to me. That was some great work. --Joe

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 7/12/2005 3:46:18 AM
My eyes misted reading this poem. It is very powerful

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 4/25/2005 11:44:34 AM
What a poem, what a hug, what a smoke. You have stayed away from poetry. What is the matter? Emeka

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 4/25/2005 3:20:46 AM
"I hugged you and you didn't smell like smoke anymore."These words watered my eyes! After all I am also a papa! I read the poem many times as if my daughter is before me! Thank you my child!

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 2/10/2005 10:08:46 AM
My father, who smoked, had triple bypass surgery at the age of 42. He quit smoking and lived into his seventies. This poignant poem may save lives. Thank you, Nancy

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 12/7/2004 6:05:33 AM
a powerful write about all too common problems in this day and age. Both my wife and I smoke, but have committed outselves to beginning the new year, smoke free. We still have many moments of love to share and I still have many poems to write. We refuse to allow ourselves to be cut short. Thanks for this post. I look forward to more of your work.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 9/27/2004 9:28:30 AM
How sad but true. A most moving voice of a child to a parent. Yet why he smoked was his decision and his generation are at a loss to see the drugs and guns killing a younger generation. Your message is clear. Love eachother first. Well done Best wishes Miller

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 7/21/2004 3:06:15 PM
My dad died from lung embolism in 1992, at age 59, on his birthday. I repeatedly prodded him to quit smoking and drinking (Vodka was his favorite). On June 5, 2002, I also had to turn off the respirator that was breathing for my mom, because she had smoked since she was 13; I also repeatedly prodded her to quit. I left home at age 17, and joined the Marine Corps, partly to get away from the smoke. Thank you for sharing this story. -- Jeff

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 6/10/2004 8:11:24 AM
Oh, my God! This poem hit home like you would never believe! I am a smoker and have been for years.. I am 43 now and my children have been telling me for years to quit. I have cut down a lot, but this really did it for me.. I have a new baby granddaughter, who I want to see grow up. I am going to print this out and read it every day until I finally reach my goal of never lighting up again. Thank you so much. You can never know how much this helped.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 5/22/2004 9:42:21 AM
Such a sad story, and unfortunately, all too common. I have lost so many friends to cigarettes. It is a terrible thing. I wish the cigarette companies and the Republican politicians who work for them could suffer as people like your father and you suffered.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 5/1/2004 4:29:32 AM
Very nice! I had an acquaintance who regularly went downstairs, while in the VA hospital, to smoke cigarettes, all the while dying of emphysema. He had one last cigarette on the day his heart gave out. It can be more addictive than most of us know. Hanley

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 3/29/2004 5:01:10 AM
Welcome, Nancy!! What a poem with which to enter! Excellent, and sad.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 3/2/2004 9:41:35 AM
Powerful write about an very nasty addictive substance. This is much like the theme of my latest post at the Den. Thank you for sharing this, Nancy. There is so much truth and valid emotion in this poem. Love and peace. Regis

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 2/27/2004 1:09:03 AM
This is stark, powerful and has left me feeling really disturbed. It has all the makings of a good poem (ability to move reader, etc) and all the makings of a sad loss. I don't know you but almost feel like I do now.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 2/22/2004 11:31:12 PM
Wow, this is a heartbreaking write, keep up the great work... God Bless ~Michelle~

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 2/22/2004 6:06:12 PM
i had to get my kleenex out and wipe my tears. This is very touching and a profound statement to quit smoking. Thank you for sharing it.

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 2/22/2004 4:47:21 PM
Excellent write Nancy. I'm so sorry for your loss. I finally quit smoking after having my kids beg me to stop. Very strong verses and imagery. Welcome to the den. IT's a great place to call your second home. Karen

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 2/22/2004 2:26:00 PM
heartbreaking write, nancy! thanks for sharing! welcome to the den; we are so glad you are here! (((HUGS))) and much love, a new tx. friend, karen lynn. :D (live just south of fort worth, on the johnson county line, in burleson.)

The Hugs I Missed (Poetry) - 2/22/2004 11:21:15 AM
Oh my! This is heartwrenching! A superbly crafted write! Welcome to the Den, Nancy;-)Eileen

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.