AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Doug Boren, iMark Seltman, iKalikiano Kalei, iAlan Brenham, iDietmar Rothe, iMary Ann Barrucco, iMartyn Kinsella-Jones, i
 
Home > Rita P Hestand
 

Recent Reviews for Rita P Hestand


Nick's Baby (Book) - 8/18/2012 5:02:12 PM
Sounds interesting. I'm clicking the book into my library so I cab check it out later.

Beyond the Dream Catcher Book One of the Dream Catcher series (Book) - 3/20/2010 7:47:49 AM
Hi Rita! I see you have another GREAT read for us fan! Best Jan

Strictly Business (Book) - 9/16/2005 5:48:42 PM
Sounds to me this is a good story. Keep up the great work! Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Nick's Baby (Book) - 5/1/2004 3:30:17 PM
I'm anxious to read this book.

The Far Side of Lonesome (Short Story) - 7/31/2013 3:57:52 AM
sounds like a wondeful write budd

Fast Forwarding Love (Short Story) - 5/18/2011 5:20:31 PM
real love happens everyday. real life seldom... well done, thanks- jch

Dealing With Writer's Block (Article) - 5/2/2007 1:19:36 PM
Some very good point here. And I'm glad I'm not the only one who talks to her characters;-) Thanks for sharing. Jessica.

Helpful Tips for Parents (Article) - 8/15/2003 10:20:10 PM
Wonderful article, Rita. You touched on the most important things in an easy to understand way. Gina

Helpful Tips for Parents (Article) - 6/10/2003 11:28:00 AM
Very good common sense tips Rita. Parenting is a rewarding but sometimes difficult job, we can all use a refresher course at times. Thank you Z

Helpful Tips for Parents (Article) - 6/8/2003 8:22:17 PM
Excellent tips, Rita! With a bit of polish, this would make a great article for a parenting magazine. (Note: When children become teenagers, the best tip I can offer is: Use duct tape to your advantage. Works for me.) LOL!

Dealing With Writer's Block (Article) - 6/8/2003 7:31:21 PM
Very good advice. I will take it to heart! :)

7 Points of Writing (Article) - 6/8/2003 11:24:48 AM
Good article, Rita. Simplified beautifully.

Make Up A Character (Article) - 3/5/2003 7:15:58 PM
well done

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 6/4/2011 9:55:23 AM
Rita, This poem is beautifully expressed. Thanks for sharing! Blessings...Frances

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 9/17/2009 3:24:58 AM
You nailed it! No matter why we "think" the person committed suicide, there is never an answer! How could there be nothing in life worth living for? Depression is one of the demons at the root of many suicides. Good job, Rita. Anna

Rationalizing War (Poetry) - 9/17/2009 3:22:35 AM
You are absolutely right! NO ONE wins a war! There is only loss of life and ruin! I agree there must be another way! Good job on this poem. Anna

Why Texas (Poetry) - 9/17/2009 3:20:28 AM
I feel the pride you have for your State. Nicely done Rita. Anna

Beyond (Poetry) - 9/17/2009 3:19:17 AM
Awesome write, Rita!! Loved the lyrical flow of your truths! Anna

This Christmas Thing (Poetry) - 5/27/2009 11:41:21 PM
Yes, nice write. Christmas is my favorite time. We are reminded of our Lord during Christmas. Yes, Jesus is always with us but He lives in our hearts and minds if we let him all year long! Blessings, JMD

For the Love of Chocolate (Poetry) - 5/26/2009 8:34:27 AM
Yes, I admit it....I LOVE chocolate! Nice job on this one Rita. Anna

For the Love of Chocolate (Poetry) - 3/15/2009 6:44:45 AM
Ahh an ode to one of my favorite things chocolate. Thank you. Anna

For the Love of Chocolate (Poetry) - 3/15/2009 4:10:01 AM
I'm indeed a chocoholic lol.After reading your poem,I feel like eating something chocolate right about now.I enjoy reading this poem,take care Edwin

For the Love of Chocolate (Poetry) - 3/14/2009 8:51:15 PM
Rita, I am so sorry I read this. I'm a chocaholic on a diet! I sure did enjoy it though. But some semi-sweet right now....yum! Mary

For the Love of Chocolate (Poetry) - 3/14/2009 7:51:13 PM
Wonderful and original. Nice job!

Why Texas (Poetry) - 12/18/2008 2:37:59 AM
enjoyed very much

Why Texas (Poetry) - 10/25/2008 8:11:48 PM
A good poem,I like it,take care Edwin

Why Texas (Poetry) - 10/25/2008 7:49:04 PM
Joined the Air Force to travel, put Alaska on my dream sheet. Six weeks basic, six weeks AIT, I'd be on my way there, or so I thought: nope. Came to Texas, never left. 25 years later, still here ... sigh. Never say never (during the massive heat wave y'all had in 1980, I was living in Utah. Every day on the news, they'd update the number of people who died because of the extreme temps: looked at my brother, said, "I will NEVER. Live in Texas." Famous last words!!) You're right about the weather and the pride of these fine people: well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. Still wouldn't mind Alaska. =]

Why Texas (Poetry) - 10/25/2008 5:42:24 PM
I often ask myself that very question. I moved here from Ohio, and I am not really fond of Texas! LOL Good write, though!

This Christmas Thing (Poetry) - 9/15/2008 3:53:26 PM
A piece of wonderment and awe at that one time of year peace reigns.... Be always safe, Karen

Beyond (Poetry) - 5/8/2008 9:26:03 AM
We will find the answers through storms thick and thin. Nature can tell us a lot just by observing it. Ever notice the strongest sparrow drinks from the puddle first. Others must wait. Answers will come to us if we wait and patiently wait long enough. Good write.

The Wisdoms (Poetry) - 5/8/2008 9:24:37 AM
We are always learning wisdom and can find teachers to tell us many things. Good write, and we all have come far in this world and your poetry tell us we will see the light, keep trying and go on writing.

Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay(Enter in poetry contest, please) (Poetry) - 4/12/2007 8:31:40 PM
When I was a boy the battle of the Alamo was the source of my first childhood heroes,it helped that "Davy Crockett" was a big hit for Disney in the 50's in song and on screen. I used to love just to pronounce the names...Davy Crockett, Jim Bowie, William Travis, etc. As I grew up I realized I was a Mexican and Texas belonged first to the the Apaches and Comanches then to Spain then to Mexico, hence the Texan revolt for 'independence' from Mexico, the Texans (American settlers) having already attacked and routed the Mexicans in 1835 during the Texas Revolution. Anyway I don't consider General Santa Ana or his forces my heroes, being of the opinion that all territorial wars of agression (militant colonization) is wrong from a Christian viewpoint. (I'm Jehovah's Witness). Actually, being an American by birth and a Mexican by descent is no longer an issue with me; I love all races equally as being descendants of Adam and then through Noah's three sons. In closing, being a poet myself, from a poetic standpoint I really enjoyed your poem and I think the guts and glory of that bloody day might be found on both sides of the battle. At any rate from being a Mexican chapel (built in 1744) to a converted military fortress by the Texans, I think we should all remember the Alamo of 1836 for what it's worth, if only that it rallied the Americans to slaughter the Mexicans six weeks later at San Jacinto (General Santa Ana survived), and finally annex Texas to the Union in 1845 (which precipitated the Mexican War), yes, by the blood of the so-called defenders and martyrs of the Alamo. On a final note (as you already may know), "alamo" is the Spanish word for cottonwood. Thank you for your poem and your time. --Mike Cruz, Santa Ana, CA

I Remember Grandma(revised to print copy) (Poetry) - 3/1/2007 8:27:40 AM
Howdy Neighbor! Made me think of MY Grandma! If you get a chance, read my "Grandma's Kitchen" in my poetry section. I am betting you have similar remembrances of your Grandmother.

Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay(Enter in poetry contest, please) (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 11:28:18 AM
VERY NICE GOOD WORD FLOW

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 10/27/2005 12:40:19 AM
Very well stated. Why will always fill our minds. Best wishes Miller

Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay(Enter in poetry contest, please) (Poetry) - 6/19/2005 11:34:32 AM
Beautiful, Rita!

Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay(Enter in poetry contest, please) (Poetry) - 3/12/2005 7:19:58 AM
Splendid write....very well written...love n luck...BHUWAN!!!

I Remember Grandma(revised to print copy) (Poetry) - 9/12/2004 5:49:46 AM
Amen! I just love this one

Ode to a Mockingbird (Poetry) - 9/12/2004 5:48:59 AM
Lyrical and true! I'm in Houston, and the mockingbirds are such personable creatures.

Visiting Grandma (Poetry) - 3/31/2004 1:54:02 PM
Read my poem "yester-tomorrow". We must have kindred voices.

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 3/31/2004 1:46:05 PM
We wonder: still, for what's done is done. Let's be a friend to those who still have none. (clr '04) Powerful sentiments Sis. Rita cynth'ya lewis reed

Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay(Enter in poetry contest, please) (Poetry) - 2/13/2004 10:14:21 AM
"Remembering The Alamo" here!!! Great poem. You don't have to be a Texan to be proud of the boys at the Alamo.

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 1/2/2004 6:19:35 AM
The problem is that life lasts longer in childhood. Children (including adolescents) think bad times will never end. I certainly thought the hell would go on forever. Sometimes life seems so horrific that you can actually contemplate suicide as the easier way out, and for children it can take on a fatal charm. Here is the first part of one of my poems: Like despair that burns within the young -- Who wish to leap from ground to height, Not climb a ladder, rung by rung. The anguish that can tear your heart Seems endless to a desperate child. It's a selection from a poem I did on love, but I think it is fairly accurate.

Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay(Enter in poetry contest, please) (Poetry) - 11/29/2003 1:13:10 PM
Well done Rita!..I must say though..that it's NOT just your view of it..I have the same sense of it..ty... Excellent write! ty Vesna .)

Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay(Enter in poetry contest, please) (Poetry) - 9/17/2003 2:58:19 AM
Yes, it is the poets duty to pay testament in regard to great acts, recognised and less than. You have a good ode here, I enjoyed the read. Tyler Joseph Wiseman

I Remember Grandma(revised to print copy) (Poetry) - 9/1/2003 7:08:40 AM
Beautiful, loving write!

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 8/27/2003 8:45:28 AM
Excellent!

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 8/6/2003 5:05:41 PM
The "why?" of suicide is the most painful part for the survivors. Excellent expression, Rita.

Naughty Sally (Poetry) - 6/29/2003 4:16:09 AM
I like the humour in this poem! Well written! Catherine

Naughty Sally (Poetry) - 6/14/2003 11:15:19 PM
I use to know a Sally...er...um...anyway... Excellent work here..humorous but with a subtle edge.

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 6/9/2003 6:10:56 PM
Rita this is a extremely touching and compassionate write! ~Nikki~

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 6/9/2003 4:55:58 PM
Thoughtful...who really knows why ?

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 6/9/2003 2:32:11 PM
What a thoughtful write. I agree that we are left to guess. -Michelle

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 6/9/2003 9:21:14 AM
vey caring and thoughtful write; well done, rita! :) (((HUGS))) and love, your texas friend, karen lynn.

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 6/9/2003 9:13:27 AM
Rita you addressed this sad dilemma with much compassion. This is a much needed write! Thank you Z

In Answer to a Suicide (Poetry) - 6/9/2003 7:53:39 AM
Extremely caring write!! tony

Naughty Sally (Poetry) - 6/9/2003 7:23:29 AM
Rita, very good write. Love the ending. Even Sally comes with conditions.

Ode to a Mockingbird (Poetry) - 6/9/2003 1:06:34 AM
A most lovely write Rita! ~Nikki~

Looking From Within (Poetry) - 6/8/2003 8:10:43 PM
It is within each man to find the divine, for we are all drops in the ocean of the universal sea of consciousness. Good poem.

Ode to a Mockingbird (Poetry) - 6/8/2003 7:52:17 PM
This is so good! And brings back memories of one that on summer nights would sing all night. There was a popular song that had a chorus line that went, "Listen to the mockingbird, listen to the mockingbird." Write on! Leland

Ode to a Mockingbird (Poetry) - 6/8/2003 4:31:21 PM
Beautifully done, Rita. You are a fine poet. I miss those mockingbirds. They used to imitate my kitty's complaints.

Ode to a Mockingbird (Poetry) - 6/8/2003 2:56:30 PM
living in texas, i have come to love and appreciate the mockingbird; love to hear them sing and watch them fly! (((HUGS))) and love, your friend, karen lynn. a wonderful write! :)

I Remember Grandma(revised to print copy) (Poetry) - 6/8/2003 2:06:31 PM
The title made me look! I enjoyed the reading. If you find a spare moment, read my "Visiting Grandma" also on the AD site. Thanks for the pleasure. Andrew Ceroni

What the Seasons Mean to Me (Poetry) - 6/8/2003 11:25:28 AM
Very Nice!

Looking From Within (Poetry) - 6/8/2003 9:57:50 AM
Amen Rita!

Visiting Grandma (Poetry) - 6/8/2003 9:55:12 AM
This is a beautiful tribute to Grandma...I got warm and fuzzy than I began to cry. Reliving memories...Thank you Rita!

Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay(Enter in poetry contest, please) (Poetry) - 5/11/2003 9:53:46 AM
Filling her tasks as a poet - she brings history to culture and emotion poemized on the page of knowledge. "Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay" in the "Alamo" inspired the Author. I Salute you Poet Rita Hestand with the accolades of my heart. My gratitude and respect. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay(Enter in poetry contest, please) (Poetry) - 2/14/2003 10:27:41 AM
Very touching, Rita. I have been a longtime Alamo historian and very much enjoyed your effort (I also lived in Corpus seven years as a Navy flight instructor). Enjoy the Texas Riviera.

Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay(Enter in poetry contest, please) (Poetry) - 2/9/2003 10:48:22 PM
Enjoyed it Rita, and how I miss Texas. Take a spin around the River Walk for me. ~Elizabeth

Where Our Heroes Ashes Lay(Enter in poetry contest, please) (Poetry) - 10/13/2002 2:51:11 AM
I have visited the Alamo and marveled at it's tinyness in size and its hugeness in history... this story is marvelous and the words ring with true heroism Sandi

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.