AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Stacey Chillemi, iSandi Schraut, iTygo Lee, iDanae Wilkin, iEdie Batstone, iStephen Cafaro, iRussell Williams, i
 
Home > Roger Ladd Memmott
 

Recent Reviews for Roger Ladd Memmott


Riding the Absolute (Book) - 3/7/2002 3:04:06 PM
To speak of poetry is perhaps the most subjective literary critiques possible - but I will dare. I speak, then, on instinct. Memmott's poetry snaps my instincts to alert. It has that clean sense of rhythm that my pulse responds to in like; it has that turn of phrase that gives a sense of firecracker burst; it has that satisfying sit in the gut of a full meal, satiation, nourishment. This is poetry.

Gardening Without Gloves (Book) - 11/29/2001 2:59:23 PM
I have read this book once... I will read it again. And, I'm sure, again. Roger Ladd Memmott is a master of words... he understands the art in writing. He understands how many levels of impact every word, every turn of a phrase can provide when the stroke is as masterly as his. Again and again, I caught my breath with wonder. If there was any slight inclusion anywhere in this gem, it was perhaps an occasional overuse of a strong word/image, eg "switchfrogs." A word with that kind of uniqueness is not so quickly forgotten; a writer should be careful not to use it too often and thus lose that impact. But that's nitpicking. Memmott deserves a standing ovation, and receives from this writer - a nod of highest respect. He is not only a writer, he is, in the truest sense of the word, an artist.

The Gypsy Lover (Book) - 11/5/2001 5:58:14 PM
A Very seductive read by this very talented writer! Can't wait to read the entire story. Victoria Taylor Murray 'Thief Of Hearts' 'Forbidden'

The Gypsy Lover (Book) - 5/8/2001 11:13:46 AM
powerful writing, excellent blurb page look forward to reading more of your work mj hollingshead (review for BoodDragon, ScribesWorld, TerryFic others)

Pittons - (Short Story) (Short Story) - 5/31/2002 11:29:55 AM
This one is powerful. I am wondering where the hell can I get one of your books. This one reminds me some of Ray Bradbury. A lot of power behind your words -- and I will be keeping an eye on your work. Nickolaus A. Pacione "Room For One More" "Among Shadows" "Vien Puppetry" "The Seasons of Black September"

Pittons - (Short Story) (Short Story) - 11/5/2001 5:56:00 PM
Very thought provoking. Uniquely written. I enjoyed your story very much Roger. Victoria Taylor Murray 'Thief Of Hearts' 'Forbidden'

Pittons - (Short Story) (Short Story) - 10/24/2001 6:41:20 PM
"...how ordinary, thoughtless sunlight could be split by a prism to show the whole rainbow..." You, Roger, are that prism.

Pittons - (Short Story) (Short Story) - 6/24/2001 3:05:01 AM
Pittons story describes the vibrations of life that a small child can experience-he see and feels things that his mother can'nt understand.Interesting!

Pittons - (Short Story) (Short Story) - 5/8/2001 11:11:43 AM
..... shiver! powerful writing look forward to reading more of your work mj hollingshead (review for BoodDragon, ScribesWorld, TerryFic others)

This Kind of Hunger - (Poem) (Poetry) - 12/29/2001 5:33:23 PM
This brings back vivid memories. I truly can place myself within your poem... wrap myself around it and embrace it. Such is always a sign of greatness. You are an amazing writer.

This Kind of Hunger - (Poem) (Poetry) - 12/18/2001 7:30:39 AM
Exquisite.

This Kind of Hunger - (Poem) (Poetry) - 12/13/2001 4:14:39 PM
Hi Roger, Love poems not withstanding this is an excellent one. I particularly love "undo the dark red of it" very nice wording. You are guilty of commiting love! As charged! good stuff. Gregg

Points of View - (Poem) (Poetry) - 12/12/2001 10:05:18 AM
Hearts always find a way to communicate. You just make it beautiful.

When I Dream - (Poem) (Poetry) - 12/12/2001 9:57:54 AM
I'm in love.

Ground Zero - (Poem) (Poetry) - 11/13/2001 8:24:52 PM
stark!

Ground Zero - (Poem) (Poetry) - 11/13/2001 8:24:02 PM
stark!

Ground Zero - (Poem) (Poetry) - 11/12/2001 7:34:19 PM
It upset me, so you did a good job writing it.

The Universe - (Poem) (Poetry) - 11/7/2001 12:17:25 PM
Applause, Roger. Life is very much as you've described here. In our youth we grow and continue to gain strength, believing that it must always be so until, upon reaching our zenith, we, like the sun, begin to pale.

When I Dream - (Poem) (Poetry) - 11/5/2001 5:53:09 PM
Umm, such a wonderful poem. I enjoyed it very much. Victoria

Ground Zero - (Poem) (Poetry) - 11/5/2001 5:51:54 PM
Very nicely written. Victoria

The Universe - (Poem) (Poetry) - 10/17/2001 8:52:10 PM
In each poem that I read here... there is that one breath-taking turn of phrase... that unexpected slap... that sudden light... and it is just exactly that moment I anticipate when I take up a poem for a meal. Yes.

When I Dream - (Poem) (Poetry) - 10/17/2001 8:48:55 PM
Oh, you! I am won! Again!

Points of View - (Poem) (Poetry) - 10/17/2001 8:46:52 PM
But it's your language. Its humming, its electric skittering, shaking itself loose and getting into this reader. I am won.

When I Dream - (Poem) (Poetry) - 6/14/2001 3:53:39 PM
That was sexy and well written!

Points of View - (Poem) (Poetry) - 5/31/2001 11:49:47 PM
This is so strange, I had a dream very much like this, in which the alphabet actually was tossed into the sea and the havoc that it caused on the spoken and written word. Very nice. JC

Ground Zero - (Poem) (Poetry) - 5/31/2001 11:46:57 PM
Wonderful Imagery. JC

When I Dream - (Poem) (Poetry) - 5/23/2001 8:52:30 PM
Wow!

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.