AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: T.W. Fendley, iDerek Flower, iDelma Luben, iPhilip Hughes-Luing, iCarol Tetlow, iEdward Patterson, iKathy Jones, i
 
Home > April L. Smith
 

Recent Reviews for April L. Smith


A New Beginning (Short Story) - 10/7/2009 1:37:38 AM
Hi April. I just happened to be clicking around this site and came across this story you wrote back in 2004. Sounds a lot like real life...hmmm? Anyway, your writing is lovely, are you still writing? I know the baby must be a handful, but don't forget your talent. Love Debbie.

A Day at the Lake (Short Story) - 8/18/2008 11:27:09 AM
Nice work, April. I absolutely love spending time at the lake, and you've captured the feeling so beautifully. Love the imagery. Just one thing... the split pea soup. Not sure that's exactly right. It gave me a ghastly image of the girl sticking her feet in thick, slimy water. LOL. Just my take. Everything else was grand!

A Day at the Lake (Short Story) - 8/17/2008 8:13:14 PM
Good to see you posting again and love this short feel good story that captures one of those rare moments that comes along now and then. Well done. hugs Fee

Our First Date (Short Story) - 6/11/2008 4:36:03 PM
Oh, April!! You have captured that special feeling, that first moment of love, so beautifully. This story just plain made me happy :) As always, I love your gorgeous word choices and descriptions. Hope things are all falling into place for that wedding of yours. You will be such a lovely bride. Love your new AD photo :) Keep the stories coming! Jean

Flying my Kite (Short Story) - 5/7/2008 5:45:56 PM
It's good to see you posting again, April. I LOVED this story. As always, it tugged at the heart strings. Welcome back. I've missed you :-)

Flying my Kite (Short Story) - 5/7/2008 8:03:07 AM
What a lovely story April it brought me back in time to when my daughter was young and her and I would try to fly those kites, never got them more than ten feet off the ground but sure had fun. Hugs Fee

A Child's Dream (Short Story) - 2/20/2008 6:15:59 PM
Hi April, I really enjoyed this story. Your writing is very descriptive I love your style. I loved that this story was about a dream. I have several dreams that I have never forgotten, and I believe that dreams sometimes make the best stories! I also viewed some of your other works and I really enjoy your style!

Father's Day (Short Story) - 10/10/2007 12:00:39 AM
This made me misty eyed. It was beautifully written, and you describe things beautifully. My favorie line was....."her eyes bright like lucky pennies, seem to catch and refract the golden sunshine." Enjoyed it.

And He Cried (Short Story) - 8/6/2007 5:00:20 PM
This captures well that feeling of sadness that sometimes becomes a by-product of relationships. I felt caught up in the lives of these two people and found myself wanting, hoping, that everything would work out for them. That said, I did like the mysterious feeling that the end had. I can paint my own pictures to carry your story forward. As for advice, I would recommend that you watch your adverb use carefully. In a piece this short, too many adverbs (particularly of the "ly" variety) really stand out and can detract from the power of the story. It's beautiful. Thanks for sharing it. AJ

Father's Day (Short Story) - 8/4/2007 5:32:59 PM
April, this story broke my heart. I'm sure it was both difficult and rewarding for you to write. It is surely a treasure. The writing is absolutely gorgeous, as always: The sunshine...like reassuring hands soothing away a quiet ache. Excellent. Jean

Father's Day (Short Story) - 8/3/2007 7:18:58 PM
A daughters love for a father is special and a son in law if he is smart learns this from the very start. My heart goes out to you April as a father I can picture my own daughter and her husband going through a similiar ritual if somthing happens to me. That kind of love never dies but remains eternal. Fee

Flashback - Chapters 1-3 (Short Story) - 7/12/2007 9:42:59 AM
April, this is awesome! I am completely drawn into the story now, completely hooked and filled with questions, just as a reader should be. As always, your characters spring from the page, completely alive, and what interesting story problems are already developing! Anxiously waiting for more, Jean

Letter to Dad (Short Story) - 7/7/2007 5:33:46 PM
Very sad and personal. Lovely writing. I hope this gentle and tender reminder will inspire people to show their love daily to those that matter in their lives.

His Chicky Babe (Short Story) - 7/3/2007 3:20:08 PM
A beautiful memory, beautifully preserved. I love the small details, your mother's cigarette smoke, the scratchy sequins of your dress. This is a story so many can relate to. It made me think of my parents, and how they came to all of my chorus concerts and parades. Just full of beautiful imagery and warm, wonderful feelings. You captured the moment so well, April!

His Long Goodnight (Short Story) - 6/15/2007 6:56:01 PM
Excellent story, April, and very much enjoyed. I agree completely with S Cardin. The imagery here is superb. Once again you have chosen the small everyday details of life to breathe it into your characters and setting. Love the element of surprise. In my opinion the last three paragraphs, with the boys finding Wilson's body and the sandal, are unneccesary and almost dilute the story. I believe it is powerful enough to stand on its own, no final explanation necessary. Just my thoughts, for what they're worth. Jean

And He Cried (Short Story) - 6/7/2007 6:16:12 PM
Another wonderful story. Very richly written: His sigh was explosive, like cannon fire across a quiet field. Once again I am struck by how well you reveal your characters' inner selves with just a few telling details. I will return often!

A Child's Dream (Short Story) - 6/5/2007 3:32:28 PM
Scary and sad, and your take on this dream is most insightful. Again, wonderful (chilling) descriptions. I'm not sure I would sleep with the lights off ever again.

Autumn's Heartache (Short Story) - 6/5/2007 3:27:33 PM
I'm really liking this, April. You have a definite flair for describing your characters, not just physically, but showing what they are made of inside with just a few telling details. The story line has been done and done, but somehow you have made it fresh and new. Looking forward to reading more of it.

Blood Red Autumn (Short Story) - 12/31/2006 7:23:25 AM
my goodness that was scary though i loved it. keep this up and by the way if you send in a bunch of short stories to www.publishamerica.com you might get published i did. who knows if youll become famous or not. but with stories like that wow. i dont know if you want a book made though with your short stories but still telling you. keep up the good work

A Child's Dream (Short Story) - 12/31/2006 6:29:36 AM
woah strange dream iv never had dreams like that. my sisters and i are very close always have been. i just cant imagine how terrifying that would be. and to think its still in your head today. wow i liked the story though.

Seasons of Change (Short Story) - 6/27/2006 8:57:28 AM
April, Great story; very well done! BRAVA! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :)

Seasons of Change (Short Story) - 6/26/2006 3:00:36 PM
April My Mum's pet name for me was Peter Pumpkins, so I have got a stake and interest in this exciting and well crafted story...;) Loved it !! Peter

Haunted House (Short Story) - 6/20/2006 7:36:46 PM
Very nice story. Chilled from start to finish. I agree with all, you should submit this. Charles.

I Like You. (Short Story) - 6/19/2006 2:21:00 PM
Perhaps we should wait until we can truly talk to each other before we truly touch each other... Pleasure anticipated is pleasure prolonged. All the sweeter when the moment arrives.

Haunted House (Short Story) - 6/14/2006 6:54:07 AM
I do agree with both Lee and Robert here, you got a hell of a horror story here and this has to be one of your best ones yet. You need to send some of your work around to a few magazines including horrormasters.com. This one could be the one for the free preview and come up with four more that you can let people read over there. It is a hell of a write and a damn good one.

Six Months (Article) - 6/14/2006 6:52:55 AM
A heartfelt write, April. I understand your grief. Rest assured it gets easier with time, but you will never forget, nor should you wish to. J.

Letter to Dad (Article) - 12/30/2005 2:19:21 PM
A wonderful tribute to a father. We hope the pain has eased, and the loving memeories are always with you... Roger and Birgit

Six Months (Article) - 10/20/2004 2:25:08 PM
Wow, don't know what to say. My father-in-law was in the hospital and at least a dozen people kept trickling in and out for their final good-byes. When it was over, we knew he wasn't alone. It hurt a lot! But it was also peaceful! The man we loved had his family present! One final thought, personally, I don't care for the word "death." Its so final. I always say, "He left this world." I know we'll meet again. Very well written, felt like I was there!

Letter to Dad (Article) - 6/29/2004 6:47:27 PM
Honest and forthright. True feelings exposed for all to see. Wonderful writing, April. Debbie

Six Months (Article) - 6/29/2004 6:43:36 PM
April, your pain is still so raw that it hurts to read this. Though I was there at your home, when Richie passed on, I feel as though I wasn't. I felt like an intruder, embarrassed to be witnessing your families sorrow and pain during that time. But, the love, support and strength of everyone was a testament to how much Richie meant to you all. You were lucky to have a father such as this, April. There are those of us who weren't as fortunate, treasure these memories. He'll always live on, in Sean and in you. You especially, with your words. Take care, April. Debbie

Six Months (Article) - 6/29/2004 11:23:39 AM
April sweety, i think every one who read this will be able to feel you. You expressed your inner feelings so vividly..I'm sorry for your loss...Margaret La Forte

Letter to Dad (Article) - 6/29/2004 10:35:45 AM
Ah, this was such a hard letter to read. I am sure your father was so very proud of you... and still is, watching you from heaven. This is beautiful April... amazing. Love, Tamara

Six Months (Article) - 6/29/2004 10:31:43 AM
April, this is such a tear jerker. I can feel every inch of your pain, as I went through the same thing with two family members last year who passed away from cancer. Bless you heart... you truly are a strong woman with strong compassion. Thank you for sharing this piece with us. I hope that others can find comfort in knowing that there is someone who has been through the same emotional roller coaster as we have. God bless you and never change your beauitful heart. Love, Tamara

Where has it gone? (Poetry) - 6/14/2008 1:04:14 PM
I know these feelings well, April. Your poem is very effective. Thank you for sharing it. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Eternal Kiss (Poetry) - 9/19/2007 5:06:09 AM
Wao! you make me want that eternal kiss....

My Dream Child (Poetry) - 9/19/2007 5:03:18 AM
Awwwww! you know I love this one, girl!

Songbird (Haiku) (Poetry) - 9/19/2007 4:58:02 AM
Sweet. I have a poem with that same title in my upcoming book. The songbird is truly versatile. Great Write!

Where has it gone? (Poetry) - 6/6/2007 10:47:51 AM
Sometimes it does seem as we get wrapped up into a world of so much to do that we forget what we need to do...live and love. Fee

Where has it gone? (Poetry) - 6/4/2007 11:04:04 PM
Interesting piece, something we can all relate to from time to time, enjoyed..... Be safe, Karen

A Mother's Gift (Poetry) - 5/31/2007 6:54:17 AM
A precious gift from God indeed. Babies never cease to amaze me. So tiny...yet so perfect...innocent, adorable, lovable, and cuddly too. Pity they don't remain so right into adulthood! :) Much love Lena

A Mother's Gift (Poetry) - 5/17/2007 7:27:59 AM
Just beautiful..Hugsssssss

A Mother's Gift (Poetry) - 5/16/2007 11:24:38 PM
And a beautiful picture to compliment your words.....A gift of life from God, very powerful.......... Be safe, Karen

A Mother's Gift (Poetry) - 5/16/2007 7:57:01 PM
Ahhh April the gift not only to the mother but to the world is each new baby born. Fee

A Mother's Gift (Poetry) - 5/16/2007 4:11:41 PM
Oh, this is so precious!! Adorable bundle of joy too! Hugs, Laura

A Mother's Gift (Poetry) - 5/16/2007 1:50:44 PM
Beautiful write, April; very well penned! And what a cute baby; awwww! Adorable! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D Karla and I are Junebugs, too, born the 26th of June. (We were due in September, around the 11th. Mama couldn't wait; we came early! LOL)

A Mother's Gift (Poetry) - 5/16/2007 12:36:38 PM
Beautiful tribute, April; well done! And a beautiful June bug. :) (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Nurturing my Soul (Poetry) - 9/3/2006 9:01:15 PM
i like this-beautiful

Songbird (Haiku) (Poetry) - 8/26/2006 12:03:57 PM
Sweet haiku. Well done, April. Love and peace, Regis

Summer's Flower (Poetry) - 8/26/2006 12:03:21 PM
Such a love-filled write, April; and the photo very effectively complements your verses. Thanks for sharing. Love and peace, Regis

Songbird (Haiku) (Poetry) - 8/8/2006 6:06:58 PM
Ah ha, April, it is beautiful to shed tears for the love of beauty...if I may quote from myself..."Tears that are shed for the love of beauty should not be wiped away, they must be kissed away by someone who loves you."

Nurturing my Soul (Poetry) - 7/29/2006 3:30:08 PM
Walking along the water's edge, totally lost to sounds of waves lapping against the shore, and gulls squawking overhead, can be rewarding on many levels. Enjoyed the poem...Thanks for sharing! Lena

Cancer (Poetry) - 7/22/2006 5:13:27 PM
April, A friend of mine died last November from this very thing. It came as a shock. One day she woke up and couldn't walk. They diagnozed cancer in several parts of her body including her spine. She was given four months to live...she hung on for six. I still haven't gotten over losing her...neither has her husband. Thanks for this post. God Bless Lena

The Swan (Haiku) (Poetry) - 7/18/2006 11:18:41 AM
No better way to say it!

Songbird (Haiku) (Poetry) - 7/18/2006 11:18:15 AM
Haiku rocks! And this one is rich with emtion. I love it!

I am a Leaf (Poetry) - 7/13/2006 7:57:53 AM
I LOVE this one....Terrific perspective!

The Swan (Haiku) (Poetry) - 7/8/2006 5:05:14 PM
April, I like this one! Elegant and serene is that swan. Nice work! Lena

Summer's Flower (Poetry) - 7/6/2006 8:28:17 PM
Beautiful...the pic is perfect too. Elizabeth

Summer's Flower (Poetry) - 7/5/2006 5:22:37 PM
this is absolutely, without a doubt, beautiful! Susan

Summer's Flower (Poetry) - 7/5/2006 3:44:45 PM
Just what is the real deal about women and their nape...Just never seems to fail. Or are they faking?

Summer's Flower (Poetry) - 7/5/2006 3:40:02 PM
What a gorgeous poem! Very beautifully written and felt!

Summer's Flower (Poetry) - 7/5/2006 3:01:53 PM
April Straight from the heart...very romantic and endearing Peter

Summer's Flower (Poetry) - 7/5/2006 2:50:04 PM
Now that is love. Beautiful!

The Swan (Haiku) (Poetry) - 7/4/2006 11:07:55 PM
Glorious ku April!! Beautiful imagery! Love, Suzie :-D

Emotions at Bay (Poetry) - 7/4/2006 11:06:20 PM
Dear April So glad you found your Daisy!! She was out on a little romp!! I grew up with an Old English Sheep dog named 'Daisy' ... So, we are blessed by loving our Daisy's! Love to you and Daisy too!! (Do you call her Daisy May ... and sing that old 'Daisy' song....? ~~ "I'm half crazy oh for the love of you") Enjoy her!! Love, Suzie :-D

Emotions at Bay (Poetry) - 6/30/2006 7:42:32 AM
I'm glad you found her. It's a good poem, because you wrote it in a way that works on many levels. I had a puppy take off on me once. No way could I catch him, so I called his name as loud as I could, and he turned around and came. I gave him a lot of praise and he always came when called after that.

Nurturing my Soul (Poetry) - 6/29/2006 4:34:47 PM
Good poem. I enjoyed it.

Emotions at Bay (Poetry) - 6/29/2006 3:38:36 PM
Buona cane' Daisy!! I'm happy she's back ! Dogs are people too and trust no-one who doesn't trust yours. Nice heartfelt write. EDL

Emotions at Bay (Poetry) - 6/29/2006 3:14:54 PM
April Could feel your palpable stress and rising tension in this emotional rollercoaster..:) All's well that ends well... Thank God your Daisy was found safe and well.. Love Peter

Songbird (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/21/2006 7:50:34 PM
Absolutely breathtaking Joy

Songbird (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/21/2006 5:54:21 PM
Pretty and gentle April! Beauty sometimes so close to tears! Love, Suzie :-) xox

Songbird (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/21/2006 3:09:40 PM
Oh April, I can almost hear the sweet trill of the songbirds in the trees. Sometimes they can imitate one's feelings. Great Ku sweetie. Fee

Songbird (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/21/2006 12:23:19 PM
April A very touching and sensitive haiku.. Sometimes the mininum of words can bring out the best in a concept.. This is one of them... Peter

Songbird (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/21/2006 12:20:54 PM
Good depth of serene imagery

Songbird (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/21/2006 11:56:26 AM
Nice Ku...

Nurturing my Soul (Poetry) - 6/21/2006 8:32:59 AM
conveys me to a peacful, nurturing place Id almost forgotten. The beach has a way of propelling us into forgotten thoughts.. Beautiful piece.. Vesna:)

Nurturing my Soul (Poetry) - 6/21/2006 5:12:59 AM
A truly lovely piece, April.

Nurturing my Soul (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 9:35:36 PM
Relaxing, almost hypnotic....

Nurturing my Soul (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 9:33:25 PM
Evocative and transporting. Very nice.

Nurturing my Soul (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 3:59:08 PM
The seashore is a sensual place, full of sight and sound and the feel of a moving shore under your feet. Ron

Nurturing my Soul (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 3:58:10 PM
I know this feeling well April the sea has always been my place to recoup, if down it brings me up, if angry it soothes and if passionate it sets the perfect stage. You did a beautiful job of this write April I love it. Fee

The Swan (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 3:46:06 PM
She must be Lohengrin's escort from that description

Nurturing my Soul (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 3:45:16 PM
Reminds me of when I used to go to the Jersey coast. I like it

Nurturing my Soul (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 2:58:27 PM
April The sea and the ocean is to the fore today in the Den ! I posted a sea and shore orientated poem today.... Yours is delightful... Peter

The Swan (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 12:09:08 PM
lovely Haiku , April. Mary

The Swan (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 10:42:55 AM
Beautiful Imagery! This was very pleasing and created so much in 11 words. Richard

The Swan (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 9:50:22 AM
April A glorious haiku Can visualize the magnificent grandeur and grace of the elegant swan ! Peter

The Swan (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 9:09:09 AM
Oh lovely April, as an old sailor I can see those waves and the mirror image of a boats hull cutting through the foam. Excellant capture. Feelix

The Swan (Haiku) (Poetry) - 6/19/2006 8:39:10 AM
love it!

Joey (Poetry) - 4/11/2006 11:56:03 AM
Yes, this is beautiful. I like the peace you made with God

Joey (Poetry) - 4/11/2006 10:18:59 AM
this is such a heart warming/breaking tribute. When the time comes, your friend will cherish this, and the memory of her son. Beautifully done

Joey (Poetry) - 4/10/2006 2:58:43 PM
this will be such a beautiful gift for his mother, as your friendship must be. Susan

Joey (Poetry) - 4/10/2006 2:30:59 PM
Wonderful tribute to the child and yes I am sure his mother will eventually be able to read and treasure this as your gift to her. Felix

Sean (Poetry) - 12/8/2005 4:49:07 PM
This is sad. Just keep in mind that family is the most important thing there is and keep trying. Nice write. Dan

Sean (Poetry) - 12/8/2005 3:30:25 PM
It happens. Sometimes it's hard to figure out why. Keep trying

Sean (Poetry) - 12/8/2005 2:27:51 PM
This is so sad and I hope you give a copy of this to him, I know what it is like to not be speaking to a sibling my brother and I never spoke for almost 4 years and I regretted each and every one of them. Hope you can find your way back as we did, I called him at christmas to wish him the best of the holidays and we became friends again, maybe it will work for you to April. Felix

Sean (Poetry) - 12/8/2005 2:23:29 PM
I see this so much, fortunately in other families. I know I'm so lucky to be close to those left in my family, but we appreciate the effort made by all of us to never let time fill big gaps in our togetherness. I'll see everybody at Christmas, but I also saw them yesterday. John

If just for a moment... (Poetry) - 12/6/2005 4:03:28 PM
Sometimes the answers to our reality can only be found after many nights of staring at ceilings, silent tears, and aching hearts. I hope this is true of yours. Nice to see you posting again April. Felix

If just for a moment... (Poetry) - 12/6/2005 2:47:08 PM
You caught the frustration of sleeplessness and the pain of crying at the Unknown. Good job.

If just for a moment... (Poetry) - 12/6/2005 2:39:14 PM
Most married women see only the ceiling.

I am a Leaf (Poetry) - 11/28/2005 10:12:56 AM
This is delightful. You made me smile today. Thank you for that.

I am a Leaf (Poetry) - 10/1/2005 2:32:33 PM
What a delightful and fun (you said that it was and it is) poem about the changing of the seasons and not one darn too soon for this Louisiana boy.

I am a Leaf (Poetry) - 9/20/2005 12:58:17 PM
LOVE THIS- should be a kid's book.

Eternal Kiss (Poetry) - 9/19/2005 2:01:58 PM
Incredible juxtapositional on the edge creative piece, April. I know that of which you write. Take care. Stay you. Love and peace. Regis

The Night (Poetry) - 9/19/2005 2:00:08 PM
I shall simply echo my friend Chanti's words since they are most appropriate and propos, April. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and peace to you. Regis

I am a Leaf (Poetry) - 9/18/2005 5:20:31 AM
your poem is as colorful as autumn itself ...

I am a Leaf (Poetry) - 9/17/2005 11:14:49 AM
Autumn is my favorite season, April. I find your verses quite delightful. Thank you for sharing your gift. Love and peace to you. Regis

I am a Leaf (Poetry) - 9/15/2005 3:42:38 PM
This is so light hearted it brought a smile to my face which I truly needed today. Thanks April Felix

A Loveless Garden (Poetry) - 9/1/2005 11:03:00 PM
I used to throw my poems away back in high school; my girlfriend at the time told me to quit doing that. 'Feelings are purer in adolescence' she said. I understand what she meant now, and wish I would've listened. There's nothing wrong with youth's drama. Besides, I wasn't as articulate back then as you are here.

A Loveless Garden (Poetry) - 7/22/2005 8:59:49 PM
Wow even then you knew You are a poetess An excellent enjoyable write William .....Peace & LOve

A Loveless Garden (Poetry) - 7/19/2005 2:43:42 PM
Yeah. Brings back that "unknowing bliss" feeling. Nicely done, April. Thank you. Love and peace to you. Regis

My Dream Child (Poetry) - 7/11/2005 3:16:42 AM
April, this is beautiful. Such desperate longing. One day you will have your dream child, of that I'm sure, and it will be even more than you have imagined. It will happen when the time is right! Rose:)

A Loveless Garden (Poetry) - 7/11/2005 3:13:46 AM
Innocence and first love shine through, and we can all relate. I agree with Susan and Felix on this. Keep on writing Rose:)

A Loveless Garden (Poetry) - 6/25/2005 8:59:35 PM
Even then your gift was flowering :)

A Loveless Garden (Poetry) - 6/25/2005 6:34:55 PM
this is wonderful, pure and innocent in the feelings of the heart that sometimes get jaded with age. In youth our passions are the strongest intainted by the realities of time. Well done April Felix

Self Loathing (Poetry) - 6/23/2005 7:27:27 AM
A great example of Love shall set you free but remember we need to free ourselves regardless of love

Self Loathing (Poetry) - 6/22/2005 12:56:05 PM
April, Oh My goodness you have captured this feeling all too well. I hope this is not written from your personal experiences but it must have been noone that's never been there could ever know these feelings and the power they have. The "solution" is exactly as you say, only not to be idle words. Idle words keep on going down never freeing them. I hope that you will send this to the crises centers and schools, drs, even the AMA, etc.. This would really help those affected by this or someone they know affected to get out of that deep darkness. Bravo on this poem!! May you always have that peace light and love in your life. Excellent!!! Masterfully written!!! Tracey

Self Loathing (Poetry) - 6/18/2005 4:07:02 PM
Inspiring verses, April. Thank you. Love, peace, and strength to you. Regis

Self Loathing (Poetry) - 6/17/2005 3:04:46 AM
Superb. The ending is profound..

Color of Obscurity (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 7:33:40 PM
I am glad that you summoned the courage to share your process and its fruits, because you really have a gift. Love and peace, Seth.

Self Loathing (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 7:32:08 PM
This gives believable voice to the demon and the angel. Sounds like you've had a chance to become acquainted with them both. Thanks for lighting a candle in a dark place.

Self Loathing (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 6:29:44 PM
To Break Free,i.e. If You Fall Down Get Back Up You Will Make It-Overcome! TRASK

Self Loathing (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 3:42:57 PM
Nice write April and nice to see you back on line again, hope to see more of your work. Felix

Her Pain (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 2:00:35 PM
April, (((HUGS))) I'm sorry for your loss. A shattering write of what unending grief does to someone--vividly described--and felt! Well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Self Loathing (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 1:59:07 PM
April, Many will identify with the depths of self loathing in this powerfully emotive write--but THANK GOD there was hope at the end. Empowering and thought provoking, an excellent piece. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :(

Color of Obscurity (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 1:10:53 PM
I agree with Chanti. Your talent shines through in your verses, April. Thank you. Love and peace. Regis

Her Pain (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 1:09:39 PM
Intense and powerfully emotive and meaningful. Thank you for sharing this offering, April. Love and peace to you. Regis

Her Pain (Poetry) - 6/10/2005 3:25:02 PM
April, I'm so sorry for your loss. I hope your mom has learnt to cope and you are keeping the faith strong! God bless, Sandie.

Her Pain (Poetry) - 6/7/2005 7:34:59 PM
The price of love. But what a divine gift you are to your mother, by putting her first. Hope all is on the up now...

Her Pain (Poetry) - 2/27/2005 10:17:02 AM
A great write; very tightly focused and strong imagery. A cry from a wounded heart. Thanks for sharing.

Her Pain (Poetry) - 12/15/2004 1:19:56 PM
Such a powerful write. :)

Her Pain (Poetry) - 12/2/2004 4:58:37 PM
Amazingly power packed with descriptive words so true and unique. God Bless you and your family. Tracey

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 11/11/2004 9:51:32 AM
Ahh! this a fun read and a fine tribute to your grandfather & the glory of the fish! Well done!

Her Pain (Poetry) - 10/20/2004 2:08:13 PM
Powerful! Everyone grieves differently, just as long as we grieve, we will survive!

Her Pain (Poetry) - 10/19/2004 9:12:59 AM
April...this is soooo amazing...i love poems that say so much with so little words... ~shezz

Eternal Kiss (Poetry) - 10/14/2004 3:35:57 PM
April I sense I've met a kindred spirit this is the first time I've read your work but I'll be watching and reading from the shadows. Scarily erotic......Felix

Her Pain (Poetry) - 9/30/2004 3:39:55 PM
Wow, April.... I am just in the same place - my Dad died a few months ago, but my Mum is coping with it like a trooper. She is doing so well and the whole process has been more like a very emotional celebration... (Not that he's gone!!!) but over who he was to us and to so many others. The grief is certainly intense, but I like to think that actually he has just gone on an extended holiday and I'll see him again some day.... In effect, we grieve together and it has bought us much closer.

My Dream Child (Poetry) - 8/5/2004 1:52:02 PM
April, I feel your pain--trite as that might sound--i have written similarly in my poems Tick Tock, Propagating I Lie, and Bittersweet Dreaming. Nothing makes it easier to bear, the relentless wanting...longing, you convey all of that so well. Keep up the good work.

Her Pain (Poetry) - 8/5/2004 1:48:58 PM
Wow...talk about intense. And how true...it is impossible to deal with your own grief effectively when you must be strong...or are just overwhelmed...when faced with someone else's. You have portrayed that so well in these few lines. Well done!

Her Pain (Poetry) - 7/29/2004 8:46:17 PM
powerful!

Her Pain (Poetry) - 7/27/2004 9:32:43 AM
Terrific write, April! Well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your Tx. friend, Karen Lynn. :(

Her Pain (Poetry) - 7/27/2004 6:52:09 AM
Powerful and emotive! Great!

Her Pain (Poetry) - 7/27/2004 6:43:51 AM
a wonderful write april

The Night (Poetry) - 7/21/2004 2:26:16 PM
Wow April, you can write! This is another stunning example of your talent. I will be reading more. Chanti

Color of Obscurity (Poetry) - 7/21/2004 2:15:11 PM
April, this was beautifully written. You ARE such a talented poet. Thank you for reviewing my work. It led me here to read this. With warm appreciation... Chanti

The Night (Poetry) - 7/10/2004 1:57:05 PM
Your images flowed and blended brilliantly with your chilling theme. I'll be back for more! Thanks, Ron

The Night (Poetry) - 7/7/2004 10:52:24 AM
A well developed and atmospheric personification. Good job.

The Night (Poetry) - 7/2/2004 8:19:36 AM
best time to fly really enjoyed you here

The Night (Poetry) - 7/1/2004 8:01:09 AM
nice images ... enjoyed reading ...

The Night (Poetry) - 6/30/2004 9:50:06 PM
Interesting imagery. Nicely crafted verse.

Eternal Kiss (Poetry) - 6/30/2004 2:31:31 PM
Vampires have always been a fierce creature. Now that you've taken me on the ride of becoming one, I may go out looking for one. Very well done.

Color of Obscurity (Poetry) - 6/30/2004 7:31:12 AM
When we are grieving over our fathers who have died, (I lost mine not long ago) we think no one can know the hideous pain. But you do and your words expressed it so well.

A Proper Grieving (Poetry) - 6/30/2004 7:25:46 AM
This is a wonderful expression of the depths of grieving. Such a good write. You have captured the silent screams we have to endure in the world.

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/30/2004 7:20:58 AM
This is just great, April! I love the rhythm. This poem is fun and intense at the same time. No place is safe. I love the ending.

My Dream Child (Poetry) - 6/29/2004 6:52:26 PM
When your time to be a mom happens, April, I'm sure s/he'll be the most delightfully spoiled child in the world, besides mine of course. Debbie

Eternal Kiss (Poetry) - 6/29/2004 6:49:21 PM
The myth and legend are powerful and draws you in. Debbie

Eternal Kiss (Poetry) - 6/29/2004 3:54:43 PM
I agree...very seductive. Great write! M.Rose

My Dream Child (Poetry) - 6/29/2004 10:37:52 AM
This is such a sweet write... I am sure you will be a wonderful mother someday. I prayed for my daughter and dreamt of her... She was born 7 years ago and is such a joy. It happens all if God's time. I am sure it will be worth the wait... I wish you the best of love & luck. Love, Tamara

Cancer (Poetry) - 6/28/2004 2:27:32 PM
I know this all too well. I lost two family members to cancer last year. It is a painful thing to go through. I could truly relate to this piece.

Eternal Kiss (Poetry) - 6/28/2004 2:26:24 PM
Wow! I love this... It is very sexy indeed!

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/27/2004 9:23:26 PM
Very creative! I agree - it's a very nice tribute to your grandfather. My husband would enjoy this too as he's into fishing!

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/26/2004 10:01:29 AM
Well done all around, April. Thank you for sharing this offering. Love and peace to you. Regis

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/25/2004 2:28:07 PM
Poet Funny Poetry Write! TRASK

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/25/2004 2:04:31 PM
well done. i'm digging all these tributes i've been reading.

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/25/2004 12:24:46 AM
Wonderful tribute to your Grandfather, enjoyed...best wishes Andrea

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/22/2004 2:16:18 PM
(((april))) this is some fish story--a classic, and it's going into my net (LIBRARY!) LOL love it--amazing write! (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/22/2004 11:40:30 AM
My second love, next to writing, is fishing, April and you have penned a beauty of a write in this work. The fish is an amazing specimen and as someone who has fished in both fresh and saltwater, I can say that the species, their habitats and surroundings are very different. I am a "catch and release" person, though. I figure I should let someone else have the joy I had in catching the fish. Amazing write and one much enjoyed. Thanks and take care...... Jill, a.k.a. "the shark's worst enemy" ;)

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/22/2004 10:41:27 AM
terrific tribute; ain't nuthin' (ahem!) "fishy" about this write! LOL well done; enjoyed much! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/22/2004 6:12:30 AM
Great tribute to a great grandfather.

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/22/2004 5:48:34 AM
April, there is something 'fishy' about this poem (just teasing you), but not to the tribute for your Grandfather, Mr. Harold Smith! Yes dear, keep them all safe in that fish bowl, and they will remind you of your Grandfater whenever you tkae care of them. Bill Murray

Ode to a Fish (Poetry) - 6/22/2004 5:41:08 AM
Delightful Ode to a Fish, and a wonderful tribute to your grandfather. Enjoyed much!

Cancer (Poetry) - 6/21/2004 12:58:38 PM
(((april))) *tears* cancer knows know bounds, no limitations. rich or poor, young or old, black or white...we are all vunerable to its sneaky attack. powerfully written, heartbreaking to read...i'm sorry for your loss. (((((HUGS))))) and love, karla. :(

Cancer (Poetry) - 6/21/2004 10:17:24 AM
I wrote a story today about this very thing. Check it out! Cancer does NOT discriminate; it affects any living thing when one least expects it, and when it does, it changes the lives of loved ones forever. I have had cancer attack several of my own family members, and it was so hard, especially when the cancer turned terminal, as in the case of one of my aunts, whom I adored! Powerful, hardbreaking write; well done, April! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :( >tears < ~In loving memory of my aunt, Bernice (Bernie) Vidra (my daddy's late brother's late wife), who died of brain cancer over 20 years ago. God rest her soul! (She was only in her 60's when she died.)

Cancer (Poetry) - 6/21/2004 8:53:15 AM
well done.

Color of Obscurity (Poetry) - 6/20/2004 12:37:48 PM
I am very sorry for the death of your dad. I too lost mine and I know this feeling - the grief and the anger and wanting to get through it to the light - very well. Your words describe the emotions very eloquently. Thank you for sharing this - it brought me comfort to feel that I am not alone in these feelings that I still have after almost 9 years.

Stolen (Poetry) - 6/18/2004 9:33:39 PM
haunting, gripping. a good horror poem.

My Dream Child (Poetry) - 6/17/2004 7:54:04 PM
April, when our imagination turns to happiness for a forthcoming event it becomes magnification of what is to be. All the facets of dreaming are examined in a million ways; until the actual birth is hungered for with all the heart. Very good poem. Bill Murray

My Dream Child (Poetry) - 6/17/2004 7:53:57 PM
Surely God grants wishes like these...wonderful write!

Embrace (Poetry) - 6/17/2004 1:37:35 PM
Romantic You.! TRASK

Embrace (Poetry) - 6/17/2004 10:04:03 AM
so lovely!

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.