AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Regina Pounds, iKeith Wright, iDiana Estill, iSteve Coltman, iDavid Hearne, iLaurie Conrad, iM.D. Wiselka, i
 
Home > Dana Reed
 

Recent Reviews for Dana Reed


Sister Satan (Book) - 9/23/2014 12:07:55 PM
This was a great book, one of my all time favorites even though the last time I read it was when I was in my late teens. I can't find a copy of it anywhere, hard to believe that such a good author can't be found anywhere I've looked so far.

The Gatekeeper-Now Available in Paperback (Book) - 6/29/2010 6:51:38 AM
My advice for this book -- find yourself a guy who can do the custom cover to make it match the horror you're trying to deliver with the novel. The default covers for horror titles can be misleading on lulu.com. I am speaking from someone who who did the customs out of the box when I joined the site in 2004.

Beyond Writer's Block-Now Available in Paperback (Book) - 10/22/2009 8:51:23 AM
This looks to be a very interesting book... I will definately add this to my "Got To Have" book list. Great job and well done.

Grave Results Two-Blood Rites (Book) - 11/28/2004 12:12:41 AM
This sounds like something I would be interested in Congratulations... God Bless Michelle~

Grave Results (Book) - 8/5/2004 12:10:34 PM
This is, by far, one of the best horror novels I’ve read in the past few years. No one does horror like Dana Reed. Grave Results pulled me in and keep me riveted until the last page. Read it with the lights on. You won’t believe how it ends. Just thinking about it leaves me with chills.

Unholy Alliance (Book) - 8/5/2004 11:45:38 AM
This is definitely one of the best thrillers I've ever read! With chilling suspense throughout, Dana Reed’s Unholy Alliance will keep you on the edge-of-your-seat. You’ll want to read it with the lights on, from beginning to end, in one sitting.

A Thing of Dread (Short Story) - 1/1/2011 6:02:39 AM
interesting read

A Thing of Dread (Short Story) - 1/10/2009 5:46:22 AM
If this is only the first chapter, I can`t wait for the rest. Well done. Regards Johan

Vengeance--New excerpt 06/26/05 (Short Story) - 11/2/2008 7:57:01 PM
A tantalizing excerpt. It definitely leaves me wanting more. Thanks for sharing. :)

A Thing of Dread (Short Story) - 4/13/2008 7:59:26 AM
Suspenseful and chilling. Great imagination. Strong hold on the reader. Well done! Sheila

A Thing of Dread (Short Story) - 11/1/2007 10:02:06 AM
Spellbinding story, Dana; very well penned! BRAVA! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

A Thing of Dread (Short Story) - 11/1/2007 6:33:48 AM
That's going to be another good one. Love, Bette

Untitled--Horror Novel--Update (Short Story) - 1/30/2007 11:15:39 AM
Hey, missed this one. Sounds good! Elizabeth

Untitled--Horror Novel--Update (Short Story) - 12/21/2006 9:32:22 AM
WOW YA GOTTA WAY OF KEEPIN INTREST, that's for sure-- can't wait for the rest Mery CHRISTmas Rock

Untitled--Horror Novel--Update (Short Story) - 12/13/2005 4:06:08 PM
Very tight voice with this one. I am waiting to see what unfolds with this one, powerful stuff. Keep them coming here, this is the first time I found some of your short stories on here -- you got a hell of a voice.

Untitled--Horror Novel--Update (Short Story) - 10/11/2005 4:48:39 PM
I am intrigued! Well-written & up-to-the-minute. . .be checking back. Count on it. Meantime have a blast on Halloween. The Wicked Witch o'the Carolina Piedmont {heh-heh-heh}

The Fifth Deadly Sin--New Excerpt (Short Story) - 9/16/2005 7:48:22 AM
Ms. Reed is a wiz-bang author! Her gripping style of writing makes for hot chocolate, roaring fire and a rainy night read. Her setups pull me in. Keep up the prolific and powerful writes, good lady. Venera Di Bella Barles

Untitled--Horror Novel--Update (Short Story) - 7/1/2005 12:08:43 PM
excellent! :)

Running Out of Yets by Serena Foster-new excerpt (Short Story) - 6/10/2005 3:57:47 PM
I really like it. I would read more. :)

Running Out of Yets by Serena Foster-new excerpt (Short Story) - 4/12/2005 4:33:42 PM
interesting read

Vengeance--New excerpt 06/26/05 (Short Story) - 3/19/2005 5:15:46 AM
interesting read

Vengeance--New excerpt 06/26/05 (Short Story) - 3/16/2005 10:21:27 PM
This sounds great God Bless Michelle!

The Soldier Appears Before God (Article) - 8/25/2012 6:29:01 AM
God will say "Well done good and faithful soldier; now enter in and claim your reward" 'lil flower of Jesus

I Was Shocked By The Violence (Article) - 8/16/2012 6:00:06 PM
There is much cruelty in the Animal Kingdom, which includes humans The only diffeence is the soul. We must constantly be on guard from Satan who is always at work. He never sleeps and is relentless in his efforts to cause discard between people. It's a never ending thing. Turn to God. Keep the peace.

Kindle Books (Article) - 6/7/2011 8:38:59 AM
I never liked Kindle because it was Amazon. iPad has changed all that. Ron

Yellow Journalism (Article) - 6/7/2011 8:35:16 AM
I took note of your latest book and find you a very productive author. You are right about the news. My sister sent me an article "recently released from the government" about Roswell listed in a conservative blog. As I scrolled down through the headlines to find that I was too late to catch the "real truth" about what happened in 1947, I learned that most of the articles were not news, but contrived stories foisted as such. I fail to understand why people believe such crap. Ron

Writing Period Pieces (Article) - 11/3/2010 11:52:35 AM
Basic, yet exceptional writer advice. Never thought of 18th century burials before.

A Christmas Poem Written by A Marine-Update (Article) - 12/15/2009 8:17:29 AM
Merry Christmas, please give credit to the author of this poem, Lance Corporal James M. Schmidt. Here is the story behind it and the original work: ABOUT "MERRY CHRISTMAS, MY FRIEND" Thanks to Brett Kramer, who wrote us yesterday with the correct information, we have learned that the beautiful poem sent to us some years ago by one of our "web friends" is a modified copy of the original circulated on the internet for some years. The original poem's true author, James M. Schmidt, was a Lance Corporal stationed in Washington, D.C., when he wrote the poem back in 1986. The true story of the poem, as told by Lance Corporal Schmidt: "While a Lance Corporal serving as Battalion Counter Sniper at the Marine Barracks 8th & I, Washington, DC, under Commandant P.X. Kelly and Battalion Commander D.J. Myers [in 1986], I wrote this poem to hang on the door of the Gym in the BEQ. When Colonel Myers came upon it, he read it and immediately had copies sent to each department at the Barracks and promptly dismissed the entire Battalion early for Christmas leave. The poem was placed that day in the Marine Corps Gazette, distributed worldwide and later submitted to Leatherneck Magazine." Schmidt's original version, entitled "Merry Christmas, My Friend," was published in Leatherneck (Magazine of the Marines) in December 1991, a full two years before it was supposedly "written" by someone else on Christmas Eve 1993 (and had appeared in the Barracks publication Pass in Review four years before it was printed in Leatherneck). As Leatherneck wrote of the poem's author in 2003: "Merry Christmas, My Friend" has been a holiday favorite among "leatherneckphiles" for nearly the time it takes to complete a Marine Corps career. Few, however, know who wrote it and when. Former Corporal James M. Schmidt, stationed at Marine Barracks, Washington, D.C., pounded it out 17 years ago on a typewriter while awaiting the commanding officer's Christmas holiday decorations inspection . . . while other leathernecks strung lights for the Barracks' annual Christmas decoration contest, Schmidt contributed his poem to his section." Over the years the text of "Merry Christmas, My Friend" has been altered to change the Marine-specific wording into Army references (including the title: U.S. Marines do not refer to themselves as "soldiers") and to incorporate line-ending rhyme changes necessitated by those alterations. We reproduce below Corporal Schmidt's version as printed in Leatherneck back in 1991: Merry Christmas, My Friend By James M. Schmidt, a Marine Lance Corporal stationed in Washington, D.C., in 1986 Twas the night before Christmas, he lived all alone, In a one bedroom house made of plaster & stone. I had come down the chimney, with presents to give and to see just who in this home did live As I looked all about, a strange sight I did see, no tinsel, no presents, not even a tree. No stocking by the fire, just boots filled with sand. On the wall hung pictures of a far distant land. With medals and badges, awards of all kind, a sobering thought soon came to my mind. For this house was different, unlike any I'd seen. This was the home of a U.S. Marine. I'd heard stories about them, I had to see more, so I walked down the hall and pushed open the door. And there he lay sleeping, silent, alone, Curled up on the floor in his one-bedroom home. He seemed so gentle, his face so serene, Not how I pictured a U.S. Marine. Was this the hero, of whom I’d just read? Curled up in his poncho, a floor for his bed? His head was clean-shaven, his weathered face tan. I soon understood, this was more than a man. For I realized the families that I saw that night, owed their lives to these men, who were willing to fight. Soon around the Nation, the children would play, And grown-ups would celebrate on a bright Christmas day. They all enjoyed freedom, each month and all year, because of Marines like this one lying here. I couldn’t help wonder how many lay alone, on a cold Christmas Eve, in a land far from home. Just the very thought brought a tear to my eye. I dropped to my knees and I started to cry. He must have awoken, for I heard a rough voice, "Santa, don't cry, this life is my choice I fight for freedom, I don't ask for more. My life is my God, my country, my Corps." With that he rolled over, drifted off into sleep, I couldn't control it, I continued to weep. I watched him for hours, so silent and still. I noticed he shivered from the cold night's chill. So I took off my jacket, the one made of red, and covered this Marine from his toes to his head. Then I put on his T-shirt of scarlet and gold, with an eagle, globe and anchor emblazoned so bold. And although it barely fit me, I began to swell with pride, and for one shining moment, I was Marine Corps deep inside. I didn't want to leave him so quiet in the night, this guardian of honor so willing to fight. But half asleep he rolled over, and in a voice clean and pure, said "Carry on, Santa, it's Christmas Day, all secure." One look at my watch and I knew he was right, Merry Christmas my friend, Semper Fi and goodnight. Reports are that after leaving the Corps, Corporal Schmidt earned a law degree and now serves as an attorney in Los Angeles and is director of operations for a security consulting firm.

Pocket Taser Gun (Article) - 12/4/2009 8:04:47 AM
Laughing too hard to comment, except to say, this is a keeper - LOL LOL LOL! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

A Christmas Poem Written by A Marine-Update (Article) - 12/4/2009 8:02:09 AM
Thank God for the Marines and all who serve(d)! Beautiful, Dana. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

In Tribute to My Son, John (Article) - 12/4/2009 8:00:29 AM
(((HUGS))) love and prayer, Dana - please accept my deepest condolences. Karla.

The Soldier Appears Before God (Article) - 12/4/2009 7:58:52 AM
Beautiful, Dana - as the daughter, sister, niece, cousin of Veterans, a USAF Veteran, myself - this speaks so much to me. Thank you for sharing this. Don't know how I missed it. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. Merry Christmas!

The Soldier Appears Before God (Article) - 11/13/2009 6:14:48 AM
Well said, Dana. Thank you.

The Soldier Appears Before God (Article) - 11/13/2009 3:31:08 AM
Well done, well said, Dana. *An' Tommy ain't a bloomin' fool -- you bet that Tommy sees!” *-Rudyard Kipling's poem: Tommy

The Soldier Appears Before God (Article) - 11/12/2009 8:09:49 PM
And that's the way it was, November 11th 2009. Love, Walt

Don't Try to Be a Star (Article) - 10/22/2009 8:49:07 AM
I really enjoyed reading this. I think that it helps those new to the writing world, like myself, and it also adds on to those who are used to the writing world. Kudos to you. Thanks for such an interesting entree.

Kindle Books (Article) - 10/7/2009 9:58:05 AM
Also, Sony came out with a compeating book reader that may have been the reason for the Kindle cut. Mark

Urgent News For Authors (Article) - 11/18/2008 5:41:08 AM
I saw my book listed on this site and I tried to open it and was unable to access but one page. How safe am I and should I still report this to the advocacy group you listed? Thanks so much and I appreciate your alert to this very, very serious matter. Keep me "posted."

Urgent News For Authors (Article) - 11/18/2008 5:01:49 AM
Wow! is this all really true? thanks for sharing.

Take The Leap; I Am (Article) - 8/2/2008 11:25:17 AM
Stay in orbit! Don't go independent. That's hell too believe me (I am so in both music and writing) Get a new small publisher if you must but don't go it alone. Of course if I had a warchest of money I could get my JzCDz.com (I do books too) off the ground... but I don't. And unfortunately I do my own covers (just enough graphics training to get away with it) but then they come out being "different" then mainstream covers (as everything I do) PS: I have to write a "thriller" (world destruction type thing) ending to my half done Fantasy/ancient history novel "The Golden Flute" (ending takes place in near future) Which of your Den novels would best demonstrate the tight, increasing-tension-to-end style of that prose? I see your prices in Den are cheap enough, I might be able to afford one (I'm a broke but very talented musician) Thanks, michael guy

Don't Try to Be a Star (Article) - 8/2/2008 11:14:30 AM
Having hung around your pages quietly this morning, I will say I'm impressed. I admire your acheivment YET, I do not read mysteries, horror or likewise genre's (although I supposed nautical fiction IS a genre in a way (outmoded) - I must say I think today the situation is a bit the opposite than you write in this article. Though there always are the stuck up, there just may be authentic writers of prose who don't fit in and it looks more and more on the racks that genre writers are the elite. Though I don't think I'm a great prose writer, I may be in that pitiful position of coming up with unusual ideas and narrative voices that don't seem to fit it. For the sake of my pocket, I wish I could write genre fiction... Luckily I'm still hoping to make it in music (I'm a 30 year still broke pianist) Glad I read this, something to think about... PS: your very prolific! sincerely, michael guy

Don't Try to Be a Star (Article) - 7/27/2008 1:07:12 PM
Love your down-to-earth, direct style; thanks for the good advice!

Pocket Taser Gun (Article) - 7/3/2008 8:39:06 PM
Ouch!

Pocket Taser Gun (Article) - 7/3/2008 5:58:00 PM
I love it. Where can I get one? Love, Bette

Hanoi Jane is fighting the big fight again. (Article) - 11/24/2007 11:39:11 PM
Her reputation is safe with me, and it ain't never going to change. I haven't seen her imagine since she did her Yea! they're killing American pilots news clips in the sixties. The second I get an instinct her crusty face is going to appear, I kill the tube. If she is in a movie, I don't go. If that movie makes TV, I don't watch it, I just take note of the sponcers and switch to their competitors brand. As far as I'm concerned, she is just a non person dead traitor and always will be. As far as Barbra is concerned...Barbara Who?

In Tribute to My Son, John (Article) - 11/11/2007 10:59:15 AM
Blessings to you.

In Tribute to My Son, John (Article) - 11/11/2007 3:32:35 AM
Nobody should have to outlive their child! Sad write; God be with you as you remember your son! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :( >tears! <

George Said (Poetry) - 2/14/2011 9:09:59 AM
Long live George Bush--after he's dead! rege

Barack Obammy (Poetry) - 2/14/2011 9:07:30 AM
Very interesting comments. Isn't it amazing how difficult it has been for Obama to get things done. I like the man, but he is just beginning to become a Washington politician. I guess even great men must learn to feather enough beds to get his own agenda across. Rege

The Sky is Blue (Poetry) - 1/28/2011 11:47:40 PM
It's awesome like your profile pic.... ^_^

Barack Obammy (Poetry) - 3/14/2010 5:03:25 AM
There are 3 "things" I despise in this world Politicians, Lawyers and Car salesmen, not necessarily in that order Peace be with you

Barack Obammy (Poetry) - 1/22/2009 4:40:49 AM
I did not vote for Mr. Obama. Still, he is our new president and I will pray for him to unite this country as "One nation under God." I know it's hard for some to face because so many politicians are outright liars. We have been burnt before, Still, I am an eternal optimist and I will give him a fair chance. I hope you can see this point of view. Blessings, John Michael

O'bama focuses on younger crowd (Poetry) - 10/6/2008 3:43:50 PM
Well Said,,, Best Wishes,,, Sam

The Sky is Blue (Poetry) - 7/8/2008 10:06:04 AM
I like it! You are funny! You have a GREAT sence of humor. Signed, alias - Mickey Mouse

The Sky is Blue (Poetry) - 4/13/2008 8:30:09 AM
lol-fun read Dana!! Embraced ~ Embrassé Vickie

O'bama focuses on younger crowd (Poetry) - 1/17/2008 4:04:11 PM
Obama, Obama, Obama...sing on your beautiful song...angels are listening, hearts that believe in equality of mankind are listening...you are a gift to the world...sing Obama, sing until the deaf hear your voice.

O'bama focuses on younger crowd (Poetry) - 1/13/2008 1:50:12 PM
Cute....

Barack Obammy (Poetry) - 11/29/2007 7:12:05 AM
If not Obama who else? He has courage and guts, thats all that matter. If Bush can be President Obamma can also, they are both human with same blood running in their veins. Search deep in your heart you will see why you dont like Obama...

Barack Obammy (Poetry) - 11/25/2007 7:40:41 PM
I keep tellin yous guys to vote libertarian... How many times do I have to tell you? Walt

Barack Obammy (Poetry) - 11/25/2007 10:31:47 AM
God help us all--not a one I trust. :( (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Barack Obammy (Poetry) - 11/25/2007 9:25:05 AM
Any man who won't salute the flag when the National Anthem is being played (saw the pic), I have no respect for. He does NOT deserve to be President! And neither does Hillary! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

Barack Obammy (Poetry) - 11/25/2007 9:17:28 AM
I think Colon Powell would have made a good president. He was railroaded by Dumbfuck and cronies, used as a scapegoat. What is interesting about many the candidates is they actually think they have a chance. Some of these campaigns are a waste of good money.

George Said (Poetry) - 11/12/2007 8:52:52 AM
Dana, yes, especially the last line! Bless you! Jasmin Horst

George Said (Poetry) - 11/12/2007 7:14:13 AM
George said he'd help the veterans in all ways; if so, then why are veteran's benefits always getting cut and why is he doing all he can to help the lawbreakers by allowing them to serve our armed forces?? It doesn't make sense: when Karla was in, you HAD to be a citizen before you could serve; now it is no more! Sad! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

George Said (Poetry) - 11/12/2007 7:04:41 AM
Dana, I agree in some aspects, but not in one: it's not George's fault that the ACLU and atheists/agnostics have removed Christ out of Christmas, out of schools and homes. The minority rule....that's how I feel, anyway. In my home, Christ rules. :) (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Baby Boomers Taking Us Broke? (Poetry) - 10/31/2007 1:42:25 PM
We don't want to hear this but it is very real.

Britney's Mom's Publishing A Book (Poetry) - 10/31/2007 12:04:17 PM
Isn't that special Walt

Baby Boomers Taking Us Broke? (Poetry) - 10/31/2007 6:39:18 AM
By the time I get to retirement age, first of all, I'll be 90 the way it keeps going up, and then they'll be no money to retire with (that's if I haven't died first). Scary to contemplate. Excellent write, Dana. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Baby Boomers Taking Us Broke? (Poetry) - 10/31/2007 6:29:22 AM
Have thought about this also, excellent write.

Georgie Bush Sat On A Wall (Poetry) - 10/30/2007 10:43:09 AM
Oh, this is priceless! And how true, true, true! Great little ditty.

Georgie Bush Sat On A Wall (Poetry) - 10/30/2007 8:13:01 AM
Defamation of character? Doesn't one have to first have a character to defame? Ain't it funny how he got to be Prez, anyway? Came down to a few "Hanging Chads." In a very narrow corridor. Of brother Zeb's state of Florida. Walt

Georgie Bush Sat On A Wall (Poetry) - 10/30/2007 7:19:00 AM
Dana, Bush doing the best he can with what he's got. Ain't much, since the Repubs are all abandoning him...no wonder he's teetering on a wall of discontent. Excellent pen. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Georgie Bush Sat On A Wall (Poetry) - 10/30/2007 7:17:58 AM
Good write, Dana, in the long run, GWB, has created his own legacy, only in his mind. And now, there is no putting those pieces back together again. Peace, Dan

Georgie Bush Sat On A Wall (Poetry) - 10/30/2007 7:02:13 AM
Good write Dana. I happen to agree

Georgie Bush Sat On A Wall (Poetry) - 10/30/2007 6:34:24 AM
But here's to the soldiers who are still drilling wells and stringing up electricity, rebuilding schools and getting blown apart for it. God bless them all!! --Charlie

Britney's Mom's Publishing A Book (Poetry) - 10/30/2007 6:19:07 AM
Dana, I won't be reading it; don't care for Brittney, children reflect their parents a lot of the time. Lynn must be so proud. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Britney's Mom's Publishing A Book (Poetry) - 10/30/2007 6:11:25 AM
Sorry, I'm so far out of the loop I had to think for a bit about who Lynn Spears was, until I connected it to Brittany. It might make fun reading at a rehab center, who knows? Funny write, Thanks, Dan

A Dark and Stormy Night (Poetry) - 10/24/2007 9:00:58 AM
Poetry doesn't always have to rhyme to get the message across. And Dana, Nobody does it better. Walt

An Ode To Our Prez (Poetry) - 10/22/2007 9:18:14 AM
The message is right, but what would motivate Georgie Porgie to stop the gravy train? Those billions of dollars that "disappeared" went into the pockets of cronies and his business friends are making out like bandits in Iraqi contract graft. What's a little ineffectual howling by a few Democrats compared to the value of the loot being garnered every day that the war can be kept going! A cynical view? No, just closer to the truth than many will admit. The sooner the last idealog becomes disillusioned with this abomination the better. Leland

An Ode To Our Prez (Poetry) - 10/21/2007 8:27:42 PM


An Ode To Our Prez (Poetry) - 10/21/2007 8:13:12 PM
very good. To he point and with taste. Larry

Football. LOL (Poetry) - 10/21/2007 3:14:47 PM
Yes, indeed, you are getting better. This is funny. Cheers

An Ode To Our Prez (Poetry) - 10/21/2007 11:57:40 AM
Great job here Dana...Poetry with a message...gotta love it!! Walt

An Ode To Our Prez (Poetry) - 10/21/2007 11:37:39 AM
Ha! You've got the rhyming time bug. Good one.

Football. LOL (Poetry) - 10/21/2007 11:27:02 AM
Are you ready for some football?? You bet!! I am a football fan, and you've scored a touchdown with this one! BRAVA! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Football. LOL (Poetry) - 10/21/2007 10:58:27 AM
Of course you are getting better Dana, BUT, don't quit your "Blog Job" just yet!! Of course you know I'm Pokin at you....... Walt

Football. LOL (Poetry) - 10/21/2007 9:37:41 AM
Hahahaha....cute one.

The Sky is Blue (Poetry) - 10/19/2007 1:29:55 AM
"But I would not feel so all alone, Everybody must get stoned."......Bob Dylan Walt

The Sky is Blue (Poetry) - 10/18/2007 10:35:59 AM
...And it got better as it went. Keep it up.

The Sky is Blue (Poetry) - 10/17/2007 7:02:47 PM
Awwww! This is just terribly sweet. How could anyone even think of stoning you.... Be safe, Karen

The Sky is Blue (Poetry) - 10/17/2007 5:44:00 PM
It is cute. and sweet.

The Sky is Blue (Poetry) - 10/17/2007 2:20:32 PM
ROFL...how do you think the rest of us started? Cute one.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.