AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Andrew Updegrove, ialex canton-dutari, iJ.S. Bradford, iPeter Oszmann, iAaron Cole, iDonna Lynch, iRichard Hardie, i
 
Home > David Arthur Walters
 

Recent Reviews for David Arthur Walters


I Was A Frustrated Newspaper Columnist (Short Story) - 1/13/2015 8:39:32 AM
From what I've read of you, the Miami Herald seems to have missed a great opportunity. On the other hand, you could've started, or maybe have started, a blog. Blogs seem to have taken over editorial opinion and the sidewalk newspapers printing tons of paper a day seem to be going the way of the buggy whip unless they have a viable online presence. I tried your approach several times. It didn't work for me either. I'm not much on following up with multiple requests for these big moves, only little ones. I do recall the entreaty I made to the Provost with a very well prepared PowerPoint presentation showing how I'd revolutionize his operation. He dismissed the presentation and decided to "chat" with me. After several niceties where he promised to do this and that, others were waiting, so I left. He never did this or that and completely forgot me. But he was fired last year, and that pleased me immensely. On the other hand, I wrote 60 hand typed letters to graduate schools in my senior year in college. Only two schools responded favorably. Stanford gave me a fellowship! Sometimes it pays to think big. That couldn't happen today. Ron

I Was A Crack Adding Machine Operator (Short Story) - 1/10/2015 10:35:39 AM
This piece strongly parallels the last one I read from you, with a few new wrinkles, like dealing with gangsters and more details on your life as a Crack Adding Machine Operator. For the life of me, I don't know why I kept thinking, Crack Addict Machine Operator. ;-) I learned to type with all my fingers, but when I lost the use of my fingers at 20 years of age, I continued to type with one finger or thumb with the assistance of my hand split. I really like the 10 key part of the computer keyboard for numbers because it allowed me to enter numbers faster, but I never used an adding machine. We had an administrative assistant who was very good with an adding machine. I marveled at how her fingers would fly as she looked directly at the numbers she was recording. As far as I know, she never made a mistake… and often corrected mine. Cost accounting was my absolute worst college course. Still I spent most of my career doing just that, admired by auditors for my organization and use of the computer to improve, speed and display numbers. You and I both are on the right track. Numbers do get dollars, but literary achievement is much more satisfying. Ron

Whom God Hears (Short Story) - 1/8/2015 9:04:26 AM
I see, from your date of writing, that you are still hoveling along. What a fascinating life you have led, and a fascinating way of telling it. An artist who is good at numbers is a rare commodity. I have always been good at numbers, and spent my last 20 years working basically as a bookkeeper, rather than the engineer that I trained for. It afforded me the retirement that allows me to write without worry of making an income from my writing. Thank goodness! Once again, your writing skill indicates that you have very broad literary knowledge that I don't possess. You read Moby Dick at eight, while I put it down as nearly unreadable after the first chapter at twenty. It's time for you to get a Pulitzer Prize, if not for your writing, for your life experience behind the books. Ron

On The Immortal Story (Short Story) - 1/6/2015 8:00:59 AM
The Immortal Story, in addition to being repeated, must be read again and again to appreciate all of the nuances. I wonder if I'll have time. Thanks for reviving your piece and adding yet another cryptic entry to my list of wonders yet unraveled.

My Career as a Manhattan Liquor Inspector (Short Story) - 12/23/2014 9:39:45 AM
Oh, funny, Inspector Walters!!

The First Time I Ran Away From Home (Short Story) - 12/23/2014 9:37:49 AM
My childhood was pretty boring in comparison, though I never felt wanted either. I just kept being the good little girl, hoping it would work! Merry Christmas David!

The Honor System for Parolees (Short Story) - 12/23/2014 9:12:51 AM
It hasn't gotten any better here in Texas since 2004. I know a couple of personal cases. If you are poor, and have a minor offense and don't get an attorney, you're screwed. If you get angry over your frustration, that's their ticket to make it worse. The private prison system benefits greatly from all these people they get paid highly to take care of. Worse, once you get out, most employers screen for convictions, and job prospects drop off immensely unless you get a break from a private business with some empathy. Corporations could care less… Its policy. People that have done their time should not be considered criminal anymore, but they are. It's a sad state of affairs. Those misguided people that think offenders should be locked up and the key thrown away, or think that those that come out of prison should man up and fly straight don't have a clue and are contributing to the tremendous loss of human productivity this revolving door of prison, parole, repeat offense, prison, etc. is costing society. Ron

The Honor System for Parolees (Short Story) - 12/23/2014 6:56:20 AM
Too sad. Making a buck off the government/tax payer used to go on under the table/as graft, but this 'for-profit' criminal system really sucks.

Doctor Sagwell (Short Story) - 12/22/2014 9:04:26 AM
Very interesting. You throw a lot of things into this story to consider. I'm afraid I would have to read it again to figure out what is really going on behind the scenes… A sign of a well-written piece. I did find a couple of typos. At one point there was too many "he"s, making it a bit difficult to figure out who the subject was, Paul or Bob. Ron

My Career as a Manhattan Liquor Inspector (Short Story) - 12/22/2014 3:37:28 AM
enjoyed the read

My Career as a Manhattan Liquor Inspector (Short Story) - 12/17/2014 6:35:16 AM
That was cool. It is certainly interesting that bar owners would bribe the inspector like they cater to policemen. It has long been practiced, but recently frowned upon as we get more "politically correct." I believe that film critics still get to preview movies, free. I've had that happen too, but they only mistook me for my dumb ass twin brother. ;-) His career consisted of industrial consulting and he received a lot of perks, free drinks and steak dinners as a result. Ron

My Career as a Manhattan Liquor Inspector (Short Story) - 12/17/2014 4:21:11 AM
How funny! Nice little story about the doppelganger effect. I have one, too!

The Underbed (Short Story) - 12/13/2014 9:08:59 AM
Quite a romp through psychological predilections with a little Greek mythology thrown in. I'm more familiar with the underpad, but that's another story. I am more sanguine about the under bed. As a child it was the place to hide, and often very tight and dusty with the mattress sagging down on one's back. Today I know the under bed to be a place of many spiders, certainly dust bunnies, crawling with dust mites, and occasionally a returning bedbug. "Now I lay me down to sleep…" Has much more meaning now that the scourge of bedbugs has returned. Ron

The First Time I Ran Away From Home (Short Story) - 12/12/2014 8:57:55 AM
What a young life you had! I hope you wrote the whole story somewhere. I think that all your experience has made you the great writer you are. I certainly enjoyed reading this. My young father, a trucker, and mother moved us to a small industrial city, Wausau, Wisconsin, when my twin brother and I were in the second grade, at seven. The changing neighborhood we lived in was filled with both good kids and delinquents. While I tended to dabble in risk-taking (my brother, my collaborator, didn't) we were mostly on the good side, especially, when it came to violence. However, while smoking cigarettes with neighborhood kids at seven, we caught a building on fire (only smoldering) that had to be put out by the fire department. A week later we were picked up and lectured, and I gave up cigarettes for good. As a result of other risk-taking into my teenage years, my father, often while quite drunk, would lecture me on how to behave and live quite often. I took his advice quite well, by moving in the opposite direction. ;-) Still, we got along, and I heard that he always bragged about me and my accomplishments around town. Probably more so when drunk. Ron

The First Time I Ran Away From Home (Short Story) - 12/11/2014 8:12:04 AM
Great story! Even the best kids of that era must have similar stories - the zip gun, runaway jobs and cops seem strikingly familiar to me. But I fear that nowadays, even Caucasian boys would likely be shot (no questions asked) by aggressive law enforcement, especially if they suspected a 'gang affiliation' ... thanks for the memories.

Kimberly Reagan Sanchez Immigrates (Short Story) - 12/9/2014 8:51:02 AM
Wow! A meeting with a little intrigue. I once shared a umbrella (hers) with a beautiful young English professor, who, when I tried to pursue her, seemed to be hanging out with a motorcycle gang member. Dammit! Reminds me of Maria del Carmen (common first and middle name) a rich girl from Ecuador who served as my first attendant to "get experience" while trying to qualify for family practice medicine here in the United States. She was leaving Ecuador to avoid the political situation there. in hard times, she sold Avon products in flea markets on weekends. She is now a dermatologist. During the last election she declared herself as quite conservative, right wing. Ron

Short Brains (Short Story) - 12/5/2014 8:57:14 AM
A good topical story in your usual, well-written fashion. I have noticed that a lot of what I would call "pea brains" occupy the Internet. They bought a computer because everyone else had one. They got an Internet connection because everyone else had one. And they got an email address because everyone else had one. And that is about the extent of their knowledge of computing and Internet. They began surfing… Going from website to website and making comments on things they see, whether they can write or even know what the topic they are writing about is. Strangely, I am in the midst of a story that is getting way too long. I'm beginning to think it's a novella that certainly could be expanded into a novel--drat! Ron Just saw Jan's comment. Yes, in 2000 we had forums. Now we have blogs, news feeds, twitter, ad nausea.

Short Brains (Short Story) - 12/5/2014 5:09:26 AM
Honolulu, 2000!!? - it took me just 14 years to read this amusing piece, David, and to find it still as valid as when you wrote it - Thanks, and I'm welcome.

Paul Is No Critic (Short Story) - 10/20/2014 4:32:35 PM
What a gamut of emotions! Aren't we all the best writer the world will ever/never know? And the ending philosophy is marvelous. Keep writing, intrepid soul!

Anonymous Annie (Short Story) - 10/14/2014 2:41:32 AM
Reading Annie's story doesn't at all take me by surprise, given the state of affairs of the current day artists coupled with mass apathy to anything that is sensual and creative. The immediacy with which the society demands allegiance and conformance to preserve the status-quo is the source from where all the suffering stems for the creative souls. Creativity is not a disease or a disaster to rehabilitate. It's a gift of nature to be celebrated and nurtured. God, save my men...!

Paul Is No Critic (Short Story) - 10/7/2014 6:15:18 AM
I know next to nothing about ballet, but find this very well written piece quite amusing to read. And here are the funnies I found: "she gorged herself on passé's [passés] too long. [Can a passé "own anything."] Was his coffee "mugged" just before he tried to drink it? ;-) I hope you take the good humor in which these two notes were taken. I do like your writing although it doesn't look like a novel that I would normally read. Ron

Paul Goes Postal (Short Story) - 9/26/2014 11:42:38 AM
It is indeed hard to find a universal truth in a world of deceit and misdirection. Leading the party on a merry chase is about as good as it gets. M.True

Paul Goes Postal (Short Story) - 9/16/2014 6:02:10 AM
The title is a nice play on the story. I sense some personal experience here. And some bar psychology that I have personally experienced. Drinking seems to bring out the best and worst in people when it comes to conversation. No wonder Cheers was such a big hit so long. I gather that the point you are making is that a writer must appeal to an audience if he expects any success. Writing to his or her own ego goes nowhere. I tend to agree with that and with a story that has a point to make. Good job! Ron PS. The whole time I was reading I kept thinking of Senior and Junior of Orange County Choppers (New York) and their constant feuding on reality TV.

Paul's Droppings From Heaven (Short Story) - 9/13/2014 5:35:55 PM
interesting read

Paul's Droppings From Heaven (Short Story) - 9/8/2014 12:17:56 PM
How easily the fear of poverty guides us to the next and the next two-bit job, stealing time and ambition like a common thief. M.True

A Dark View in General (Article) - 7/31/2015 7:49:31 AM
I do my best to keep my head in the sand.

A Dark View in General (Article) - 7/28/2015 2:06:38 PM
Headline news has the ability to create a dark view and dismal outlook if you don't pull yourself out of the quagmire. We take many chances everyday. Personally, I'd rather take mine crossing the street than going into a movie theater.

A Dark View in General (Article) - 7/18/2015 7:46:35 AM
That was 1999. You could pick almost any year in the 20th century and come up with the same. Did you know that riding on running boards and in rumble seats was a killer? You're damn right it was. Did you know that you could get radiation poisoning from all those radon gadgets like watches we had? Shoot, yes. This should be required reading for all those paranoid people who take every news item and turn it into the end of the world. I'm in a wheelchair, and sometimes even cross the street when it says, "Don't Walk." Haven't been run over by a car yet. As I read, I couldn't help thinking of a hilarious short movie at Saturday theater shows when I was in elementary school. The whole movie was people jaywalking. it may have been some kind of a documentary to get people to stop doing it, but we kids howled with glee watching those people almost get run over. A YouTube like that today would go viral. Ron

OMG-d I Might Be Moses (Article) - 7/16/2015 9:06:35 AM
OMG! This is a gem! Filled with irony and humor to spare in spite of the tragedy of the old man who valued his sailboat over his life. I guess I have followed a similar path to yours, that's why I like your writing about your life so much. Ron PS. Some of my family has the surname, Moses. I guess that makes me related to him as well. Damn! I didn't know I was Jewish!

OMG-d I Might Be Moses (Article) - 7/16/2015 6:52:20 AM
Your truth rings loud and clear like the bell on a yacht--everyone must have something to live for besides life itself. Contentment without climbing the proverbial ladder of success is a soulful attainment. On the score of writing, I'm in the same boat you are. I doubt I'll ever make a living from it, but I can live with that.

Vituperative Recriminations (Article) - 2/23/2015 7:35:59 AM
Speak of the Devil....

Vituperative Recriminations (Article) - 2/22/2015 5:02:17 PM
2-22-2015: It Does Not Take Any War$ To Destroy Any Country-USA-IT Is Simply Destroyed From Within By Its (Your) Own GREED Mongering $ Kind! You To Can Be Called Subversive... TRASK...

A Meaningful Life (Article) - 12/31/2014 5:40:00 PM
12-31-2014: Don't Tempt Hands Of (Your Own) Fate! TRASK...

A Meaningful Life (Article) - 12/31/2014 11:43:20 AM
Another wonderful romp through the workings of our minds. I have always sought out a meaningful life by adventuring into the unknown and by being curious about almost everything. As result I have not even contemplated whether what I've done is meaningful or not. That will be for others to decide. As for "success," that I am happy with the life I live now and what I have done in my life, is success enough. I often wonder about people who have large families and spend their lives involved in their families, considering their offspring, their meaning in life. I also wonder about those who think that the Middle Ages were a wonderful time to be alive. Like someone who thinks it's great to spend a couple of hours in a wheelchair, I'd like to put them there until they scream that they want to return to the 21st century or be cured of their malady that put them in that wheelchair prison. Ron

Fear and Love and Doom (Article) - 12/29/2014 8:30:20 AM
I found this piece rather dense and difficult to read at times. But I did find it to become cogent at this point: "What other signs do we have of the coming cataclysm besides raving prophets, lying leaders, high school shootings, obscure wars, and mounting prison populations? When shall we be sure that the end time is near, that the final period is upon us?" Near the end, I thought of the primary means of communication in ancient Greece, the Tragedy. In these plays, the Greeks acted out the coming doom of a society, unbridled. They were right, the Romans soon enslaved them. FDR is often quoted these days. From your discussion of Japanese culture and the British experience, murder (accident) by gun in those societies is much less prevalent. After the Civil War in the United States, the country was more armed than ever before. In those countries, after the terrible devastation of war, arming the populace seemed untenable… And it has worked. The reason we don't have true nuclear disarmament is because we haven't experienced the horror of nuclear war on our soil. That is our weakness. All in all, an article that raises a lot of thought and every American should engage in, before they just knee-jerk do what their families, friends and acquaintances do. Ron

Introduction To The Word God (Article) - 12/23/2014 10:49:53 AM
Since this was written in 1999, I assume you have found "It" yet. While I find your writing still quite erudite, my feeble mind does not grasp all the searching for rather simple concepts--unless you throw religion, psychology or philosophy in. I think I'll just go on living and dealing with it until I'm dead, and not spend a lot of time searching for "the answer." For already, I know that I would not find anything in the mountains of words that would be used to try to explain my thought processes. Ron

Boredom Can Kill (Article) - 12/22/2014 3:35:00 AM
thought provoking read

Harpies and Magpies on the Internet (Article) - 12/21/2014 9:04:45 AM
No worry's David, 'Theme Stream', apparently, has taken its final dump. Like an impacted turd that dislodged violently and filled the toilet bowl with the vitriol and rancor of too many half-wit wannabes; the site has closed. (-: Good article. Enjoyed the read. Happy Holidays.

Boredom Can Kill (Article) - 12/20/2014 10:54:29 AM
I love the satire… Even though it was written in 1999… Was that when that unpronounceable character named Prince said he was going to "… party until…" We certainly are excited about war. We send young men (and now young women) off to fight virtual wars for us. They are mostly bored to tears and homesick until the sudden realization that their life is in danger and it all blows up in their faces… Not at all what the recruiter told him it would be like. Some that survive come back and glorify the violence, creating books and movies so that we can vicariously be excited by their gory glory. By the way, did you write War Brakes Boredom, to mean, "Put a stop to it?" Ron

Universal Reasoning (Article) - 12/18/2014 11:49:44 AM
Very interesting to read. However, I came away with nothing new after all the discussion. Until God arrives (probably as some extraterrestrial arrival… Perhaps even without a ship) the controversy shall remain. I know what side I'm on. Ron

Tolerance (Article) - 12/11/2014 5:48:16 AM
Religion is simply one of the weapons we humans use in our never ending wars. It is a bedrock and stabilizing side of the 4 posted pyramid base upon which we are crushed to dust generation after generation. That we can be tricked into worshiping our oppressors is one of the 'mysteries' of any civilization. We simply shrug and say, "That's the way its always been ... hey, have you seen the latest version of Cinderella?" Well done, David.

Tolerance (Article) - 12/10/2014 11:42:32 AM
We have come a long bloody way to this point. And you have elucidated it quite well. We still have a "Defense Department" changed from a "War Department" but still engaged in preemptive killing of people, from threats seen and unseen. Changing the name does not change the intention. As for tolerance, that word could be used to describe all of the sheeple that go along with whatever the government is doing without question. In this case, people "tolerate" intolerable situations in order to keep the peace. A lot to think about in your article… and very good! Ron

The Poetic Genius of William Blake (Article) - 12/9/2014 10:34:22 AM
I have not read Blake, but I have read you, and to paraphrase Richard below, you write very well. And you write well of Blake and of the enthusiastic approach to writing about gods or god. I find it entirely too much is written about god and not enough about the human experience since, in spite of many personal disclosures, god does not influence anyone's lives except to take up an enormous amount of otherwise creative time and effort. Ron

The Poetic Genius of William Blake (Article) - 12/9/2014 9:47:56 AM
Can't agree, or find any harmony, with Blake's belief-system, David, but I sure enjoyed your telling of it. You write good. I'm glad I stumbled on this. As far as the 'virtues of poetry' are concerned: I think the art form has become far too (I) oriented, diluted, deluded, jaded, and relegated to an individuals daily journalism, and of little use to anyone except, perhaps, other poets competing with one another for reviewers. If you celebrate... Happy Holidays

Harpies and Magpies on the Internet (Article) - 12/5/2014 10:01:32 AM
Love the humor and the analogies. I've known a few harpies and magpies. In fact, I may be one. Ron

Hawaii Suffers the Mainland (Article) - 11/2/2014 5:36:30 AM
well said

Hawaii Suffers the Mainland (Article) - 11/1/2014 11:00:06 AM
A fabulous rant as cogent today as it was in 1997. I see the mainland following suit and being overrun by "private" interests in perpetual pursuit of profit. Kudos on this one! Ron

A Scintillating Article (Article) - 10/22/2014 11:17:35 AM
A fascinating article on the subject that deserves more enlightenment like this. While the Bible Belters spout scripture and force their will on anyone who will listen, it is cogent analysis like this that needs to be "out there" for everyone to read and understand. Kudos on your brilliance in this one! Ron

God Playing Solitaire (Article) - 9/4/2014 4:51:45 AM
No big bang, but rather a big shuffle? Is that what created this forever imperfect existence? Before that, nothing ... Perfection. We've been dealt another losing hand by the 'house' and the odds are 100-to-one against us. Existentialism forever!

God Playing Solitaire (Article) - 9/3/2014 8:49:45 PM
I enjoy the implied up-side to your down-sided visions of philosophic possibilities. I, myself think that god is simply entertaining the thought that sentient beings might make for good pets. M.True

St. Louis Arch (Poetry) - 11/18/2013 4:57:05 PM
Wow!

Mother Charlotte Watches Over Us Still (Poetry) - 5/13/2013 10:03:10 AM
Really moving David, a beautiful tribute to your mother. How tragic that a respirator was not given to her. What a beautiful photo of your mother as a child! I love reading your father's poems—extraordinary. And I believe what you believe about the spiritual aspect of the deceased. I've been blessed with a number of visits. How amazing that Theresa was able to find your mother's grave! Just last year, I had my brother's grave marked—what a feeling!

Mother Charlotte Watches Over Us Still (Poetry) - 5/10/2013 4:41:35 PM
I really enjoyed this thanks for sharing!!! I remember you too You're an amazing man :)

Mother Charlotte Watches Over Us Still (Poetry) - 5/10/2013 4:34:24 PM
This is so very dear to my heart David many hugs <3

Mother Charlotte Watches Over Us Still (Poetry) - 5/9/2013 10:36:17 AM
That is quite a story. So much tragedy in your family. But it could've been my mother with two young children. My twin brother was once rushed to be placed in a iron lung, but it turned out to be an infection and not polio, treated by an antibiotic. I have been paralyzed for 50 years and suffered from something very similar to post polio syndrome, declining as I age. I'm so glad you found out information and have the poems to live by. And I do hope that you will be able to publish your father's poems. They are bittersweet. Ron

Follow Your Heart (Poetry) - 3/3/2013 4:00:06 AM
We are the keepers of the fire We share this togather(-A. Whiterock paiute Sister) peace, and best regards Fakhre Hyder

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 11/18/2012 7:12:07 AM
Glad I found this David--I am impressed you still have that old flair. I thought this was very profound, Gerry,

St. Louis Arch (Poetry) - 2/16/2012 12:48:00 PM
I enjoyed your poem about the catenary arch. I wonder if this has anything to do with the arch between this world and what? a world where we will survive after the foundation of our arches (life) disappears?

Certainly Heroes Must Exist (Poetry) - 2/16/2012 12:29:16 PM
I must clutch at this straw because of the prejudicial predilection that I entertain: that I must have some magnificent purpose here given the stupendous odds against my ever being here in the first place. I guess we have a purpose!

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 9/2/2011 6:10:42 PM
Very well written, reasoned and observed. This is a wonderful depiction of the unregenerate man. He tries to change, but the new man is little better than the old man. Because he looks back? Maybe. When he does, he only sees how little the new man has changed from the old one and the new one turns to salt. That's because man cannot change himself - not much anyway. Sometimes life's changes play a more natural role in changing him somewhat. But inside where change is most desired, he keeps looking back to those things that, by his very nature, he seems to miss. But once a change has been made in him from a source outside of himself, from the Holy Spirit, he finds - he suddenly discovers - a change has been made in him. A change he didn't perform for himself but one that was placed there and engineered by God. Then the man becomes a new creature. One so very different from the old creature. He receives a new nature. One so very different from the old nature. It is then real and permanent. Then he can look back without turning to salt. He can look back with gladness that the old man has finally been made new.

My Good Book (Poetry) - 7/26/2011 8:58:08 PM
what nameth this, thy perfect book?

Follow Your Heart (Poetry) - 7/26/2011 8:57:13 PM
Yes! I agree! Follow your heart whilst there is still time. regis schilken

It Was Not Time Yet (Poetry) - 7/26/2011 8:54:46 PM
No, It is never time. God bless you and your poignant pocems. rege schilken

What Hath God Wrought? (Poetry) - 1/31/2011 5:15:10 PM
Nice poem! Nice Statue! Nice ass! rege

Sisyphus (Poetry) - 6/2/2010 3:53:27 AM
This was interesting DAVE! I enjoyed the long read! Thank you for sharing, Your have a creative mind! I read somewhere in your comment to someone else on a poem, YOUR LOVE LASTED and NOT your Marriage? How is that? With LOVE the Marriage would right, because LOVE OUTLASTED IT...YOUR Heart was touched by another's poem and what you said, touched my heart... I wish you well! To the person you said, you will send it to your 1st love... Blessing, Peace and Love, Warrior SHEE

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 2/13/2010 12:22:14 PM
I love it! True depiction of the fact the we must keep moving forward and don't look back. Blessings...Frances

Derridada (Poetry) - 12/2/2009 7:52:14 PM
wow! I was looking for aristoteles and thought I came upn the longest secret password ever. But of course- dazzling in blue. and maybe not.

Sisyphus (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 10:11:28 PM
ONE COULD EASILY COMPARE SISYPHUS, A 'MYTHICAL GOD', TO THE 'REALITY' OF OUR CREATOR, ALMIGHTY GOD...IF ONE DID NOT KNOW THAT...IN THE BEGINNING WAS THE WORD...AND THAT WORD WAS GOD. THERE WAS AND IS ONLY 'ONE'...AND HE IS 'A JEALOUS GOD' WHO WILL HAVE NO OTHER GOD'S BEFORE HIM. INTERESTING THOUGH...AND DONE WELL. THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Sisyphus (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 8:22:33 PM
amazing

Sisyphus (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 2:28:30 PM
What talent! Companion to the Greek thinkers. I like your take on Sysyphus, and look forward to future installments. -gene.

Sisyphus (Poetry) - 8/27/2009 12:42:08 PM
A lot of thought and conviction here David. A mythical work rich and hyperbolized with magnificent imagery and the smell of aether. From what i've read of you, this may well be your masterwork. Blessings ...

Certainly Heroes Must Exist (Poetry) - 6/3/2009 3:24:42 AM
David, This was a wonderful reading for me, I can see this as a screen play on a stage with the main characture in old aged cloak hailing his emotions to these words....or even futuristic... Peace, Love & Inspirations Vickie

What Hath God Wrought? (Poetry) - 3/11/2009 3:02:09 PM
Thanks for the comment and rewrite, Erin. I would pass it on to my dad (R.B.C. Walters), but he passed away last year. He polished his little poems for years and years. I told him the story about Jennifer way back. I just discovered that she did very well in California, and is happily married into one of the most prominent industrial families in the country! David

What Hath God Wrought? (Poetry) - 3/11/2009 12:37:55 AM
As an older poem, I have to think, David, it was/is passionate. Kinda like: so divine viewing it can endure in the city to and fro knows his ride see the As recollect it alas California Or, in a different format: "Jennifer's ass, a mortal man might feel living for he always knows for he takes over or steals the Ass. From the New Collection, of having to live it. And, like an old ass, re-science recurves. Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 3/10/2009 3:06:16 AM
A well written poem,take care Edwin

What Hath God Wrought? (Poetry) - 3/10/2009 3:05:08 AM
I really enjoy reading this poem,this is excellent,take care Edwin

Antonia (Poetry) - 1/3/2009 4:14:06 AM
Beautiful David. You have a subtle way with your words that resonate and touches one as you read along.

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 9/8/2008 8:09:06 AM
A mysteriously wise tale and, I feel, an invitation to live and move on. Axilea

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 9/8/2008 5:59:52 AM
Good Morning David I Really Enjoyed Reading This Poem On Your Bio Page This Is A Masterful Message of Wisdoms Embraced ~ Embrassé Vickie

St. Louis Arch (Poetry) - 8/1/2008 8:02:17 AM
Good Morning David, I Haven't Seen The Arch since 1975, I used to see it once a year when I visited My Aunt Elaine & Uncle Joe Every Year. Its Magnificent! I Enjoyed Your Poetic Literature of "St. Louis Arch" Much Love & Happiness To You Embraced ~ Embrassé Vikcie

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 6/8/2008 2:27:12 PM
read several of your poems and a story or two. Your an interesting writer but I'm sure you already know that. Mike

My Cold Dutch Wife (Poetry) - 3/28/2008 3:48:18 PM
It is sometimes in our dreams when our feelings ring most true. Thanks for sharing this, David. Leann

Follow Your Heart (Poetry) - 3/6/2008 2:05:59 PM
Good inspiration reading for a depresses and grieving person like me. Time will heal i know but like to read these poems and about god and death etc and eternal life. Keep up writing inspiration.

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 2/20/2008 8:23:02 AM
An outstanding poem for all ages. Thanks you so much for sharing here, David. Beautiful words and beautiful read. Micke

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 1/3/2008 7:32:36 AM
a deep and meaningful write-well done

St. Louis Arch (Poetry) - 12/10/2007 5:10:29 PM
I been to that arch and it is a site to behold and thanks for this wonderful pome you were able to put in so much of the arch into it that I can say that you done it will. Richard Swartz

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 12/10/2007 4:44:54 PM
David Wow...what a pome I really like it a lot you paint a picture that leaves a thought that dose not seem to go away I sure would love to have a copy of this pome and yet may love to have a copy of your book with this one it....Grate Write!!!!!

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 11/28/2007 8:46:03 PM
This is a nice piece of work

My Cold Dutch Wife (Poetry) - 10/19/2007 3:50:59 PM
Very interesting work, David. Wonderful metaphor or tragic reality.. either way, it's well written and thought-provoking.

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 9/5/2007 12:55:20 PM
Profound stuff, David. Good job.

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 4/28/2007 11:17:30 PM
Well now I know where you get your eloquence from. This is a gem and what a keeper for you. Elizabeth

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 3/28/2007 5:07:35 AM
This gem is priceless! Into my library it goes. Give your father, my thanks ... and I give my thanks to you for posting it!

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 3/13/2007 4:51:48 AM
This is wonderful, David. I'm enlightened and gratified that I understood its "message" intuitively. (That is, before I looked it up, meaning of the word, Shekhinah.) I was fortunate to stumble on the poem, since you didn't direct me to it. Shame on you! :) Helga

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 2/15/2007 10:07:57 AM
A powerful and compelling poem. Thank you for sharing it, David. Love and peace to you, Regis

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 2/2/2007 11:50:28 PM
I love your father's soul..incredible man..ish more men would have his depth.. You are very fortunate to have him as your Dad.. Blessings.. Vesna.)

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 1/31/2007 2:35:47 PM
Such depth and beauty, your father has quite the way with words as does his son. Lovely writing~`*

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 1/28/2007 9:31:34 AM
wow.......powerful nice

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 1/27/2007 9:03:59 AM
This one hits between the eyes: P O W E R F U L. Thank you, David, for sharing this graceful, wise work by your Daddy. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 1/27/2007 8:36:26 AM
A humbling honor to read this thunderbolt of eloquence, grace, and revelation. Much respect to R.B.C. Walters for shining the beautiful light of his years through the golden lines of SHEKHINAH. Aberjhani

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 1/27/2007 5:39:32 AM
I have enjoyed the reading of "Shekhinah". Long healthy blissful to the Author of "Shekhinah". Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Shekhinah (Poetry) - 1/26/2007 7:39:52 PM
"and only she was in it" says a lot/ hadn't they been together many years? the reader cannot know for sure

My Cold Dutch Wife (Poetry) - 1/10/2007 12:37:42 AM
interesting read i think. i have found you via the roundtable...thanks for sharing this one.

My Good Book (Poetry) - 12/31/2006 9:30:15 AM
as the author of a memoir--your words had a familiar ring-i enjoyed reading.

Derridada (Poetry) - 12/6/2006 10:10:21 AM
Exceptional as always David~`*

Derridada (Poetry) - 10/23/2006 10:33:51 PM
Brilliant!! vesna:)

My Cold Dutch Wife (Poetry) - 10/13/2006 9:50:02 AM
I find this poem, emotionally intriguing! It's very good taken literally, and yet, I sense a deeper metaphor, one which I don't quite grasp. Ah, but I like it still.

St. Louis Arch (Poetry) - 10/13/2006 9:42:34 AM
Very informative and well stated poem! Thank you!

Derridada (Poetry) - 10/10/2006 8:16:14 AM
An interesting overview of someone who appeared to be a modern type of renaissance man given to self expression and a singularity of focus. The choice of the word "neoteric" to describe his contemporary origin was refreshing. A word seldom used. Thankyou for this informative prose describing a fascinating character. Richard Lloyd Cederberg

Derridada (Poetry) - 10/6/2006 12:26:18 PM
Read this but didn't capture but a few words....

Derridada (Poetry) - 10/6/2006 12:00:14 PM
<No Subject>

Derridada

Jacques Derrida was the Representative or Great Man of Philosophy ala Victor Cousin, the French eclectic who stole Hegel’s soup: He was post-Modern philosophy’s rock star; postmodern in this sense, that he was a classical philosopher in neoteric garb, a dandy who dazzled and corrupted the youth with skepticism for the authority we necessarily receive at birth whether we like it or not, doubting dogmatic authors who thought they knew everything in truth, but in truth knew absolutely nothing at all, least of all themselves and their gods; wherefore he continued the Socratic project of putting absolute authority to death, picking its metaphysical corpus apart and laying its authors to rest while mourning their passing into the Impossible – Comte’s Great Being, if you prefer – for the disciples of genuine masters must cut the cord and do their own thing, put their own twists and turns and spins on the same old thing; yea, the disciple devours his yogi and sits on his mat, and for Jacques Derrida that was not a hateful project but a painstaking, loving endeavor that would in time reconcile its unwholesomeness with its holy end, the death that seems impossible after waking up time and time again, hence Jackie had the dreams of a boy, of “dreaming of making love, or being a resistance fighter in the last war blowing up bridges or trains,” until Jacques, in his maturity, wanted “one thing only, and that is to lose myself in the orchestra I would form with my sons, heal, bless and seduce the whole world by playing divinely with my sons, produce with them the world’s ecstasy, their creation – I shall accept dying if dying is to sink slowly, yes, into this beloved music.”



St. Louis Arch (Poetry) - 10/6/2006 10:40:10 AM
i live here so i seldom really see the arch even though it is in front of me every day. great poem...are you from st louis...guess i should go read your profile, shouldn't I?

My Good Book (Poetry) - 10/6/2006 9:34:46 AM
Books are so neat smelly fresh and good looking when we first purchase them but after a while it has it's wear and tear right. I liked this one too.

Follow Your Heart (Poetry) - 10/6/2006 9:33:37 AM
This is well written and I completly follow you here as I am now starting to follow my heart.

Derridada (Poetry) - 10/6/2006 9:32:34 AM
We all have our own way of style.

It Was Not Time Yet (Poetry) - 9/26/2006 5:37:11 PM
Very effective use of rhyme, David. The simplicity of the scheme you chose gave the piece more impact. ~~Nordette

It Was Not Time Yet (Poetry) - 8/22/2006 8:01:23 AM
very sad story' but well worth the read 'thank u for sharing anne

Follow Your Heart (Poetry) - 8/13/2006 12:20:15 PM
Follow your Heart. Not quite yet..but soon very soon I WILL! Love it! This is going into my library Thanks David! Vesna:)

My Cold Dutch Wife (Poetry) - 8/13/2006 12:18:02 PM
join the club! I hear ya..sigh.. exceptional piece ..says it all.. Vesna

Follow Your Heart (Poetry) - 7/30/2006 10:40:29 AM
How did I miss this, for this is wonderful dear David~`*

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 6/24/2006 5:01:42 PM
Very good write, David! Yeah, one needn't look back to move forward. Love this write! Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 6/9/2006 7:21:46 PM
Enjoyed this write, David. Well-crafted. I have a poem called "Lot's Wife," btw. :-)

It Was Not Time Yet (Poetry) - 5/23/2006 3:04:24 AM
"It Was Not Time Yet" says it all in one single page. I hope that we can get wise and act before the "BLOOD-STORM FALLS". Thank you for sharing your jewels. L. T. Goslee

St. Louis Arch (Poetry) - 5/23/2006 2:35:10 AM
An outstanding page of history mingling art, hope, positive actions, and materialized dreams, in this poetic Flower scented with essence of wisdom. A true platinum closing lines in "St. Louis Arch": "They say there is no Promised Land. We say Westward Ho!" Gratefully, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

My Cold Dutch Wife (Poetry) - 5/23/2006 2:17:07 AM
An artistic banquet is served in "My Cold Dutch Wife"... This is a true poetic grand. In gratitude, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Antonia (Poetry) - 5/23/2006 2:09:30 AM
It is always a learning feeding time when I come to Your Holy Den... Nourishment for the mind always abounds. I have enjoyed the reading of "Antonia". In gratitude, Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Follow Your Heart (Poetry) - 5/22/2006 12:16:54 PM
"Follow Your Heart" flows under the rhythm of awarenes and wise motion to the lake of harmony. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

My Good Book (Poetry) - 5/22/2006 12:10:51 PM
"My Good Book" took me on an ontological and teleological trip within the cosmos of my soul... "My Good Book" glows like a Sirius. Thank You for posting this treasure, Poet! Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 5/22/2006 12:02:23 PM
Outstanding composition. "Pillar of Salt" is a masterpiece by any standard. I enjoyed this poetic-philosophic accomplishment. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

It Was Not Time Yet (Poetry) - 5/16/2006 10:06:34 AM
This is a true depicting of today's leaders and their actions. This composition gives us the mirror of our society. It is a voice singing to the bells of Justice. I have enjoyed the reading of "It Was Not Time Yet". I salute You, Poet. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

St. Louis Arch (Poetry) - 3/11/2006 11:35:18 AM
Thanks for this insighftul look and sharing on St. Louis. Love and peace to you, Regis

St. Louis Arch (Poetry) - 2/21/2006 5:51:27 PM
Superb writing dear friend!

St. Louis Arch (Poetry) - 2/16/2006 11:21:23 AM
Deep, thoughtful, great work. Rhonda

St. Louis Arch (Poetry) - 1/14/2006 1:54:57 PM
Great offering!! Thanks for sharing!! Tinka

Follow Your Heart (Poetry) - 1/9/2006 8:10:57 AM
Very inspirational...

Follow Your Heart (Poetry) - 1/7/2006 12:12:28 PM
A truly inspiring piece! And no wiser advice could be given. Love & Light, Joseph

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 1/7/2006 11:27:16 AM
There is a wise message here, David. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace, Regis

Follow Your Heart (Poetry) - 1/7/2006 11:25:56 AM
Thank you for sharing the wisdom echoing within your verses, David. Love and peace, Regis

Follow Your Heart (Poetry) - 1/7/2006 9:44:21 AM
One must always follow their heart this poem is so inspiring.

My Cold Dutch Wife (Poetry) - 1/1/2006 12:50:54 PM
Strongly emotive and meaningful, David. Happy New Year to you with love and peace, Regis

My Cold Dutch Wife (Poetry) - 12/19/2005 9:34:16 AM
Thought provoking, excellent deeply moving poem, David! Merry Christmas to you!;-) Eileen

My Cold Dutch Wife (Poetry) - 12/19/2005 8:46:21 AM
MY COLD DUTCH WIFE evokes powerful emotion and spiritual reflection. Despite the nearly overwhelming pain of these lines, more than enough love comes through to communicate the life-saving warmth of grace and hope. Truly Beautiful.

Antonia (Poetry) - 10/20/2005 12:24:55 PM
I remember reading "Monk" a long time ago. Will have to reread, now. And enjoyable poem.

Antonia (Poetry) - 9/10/2005 9:57:41 AM
Thank you for sharing this educational poetic account, David. Love and peace to you. Regis

Antonia (Poetry) - 8/12/2005 9:50:50 AM
My goodness this was powerful dear David Just superb~`*

Antonia (Poetry) - 7/25/2005 9:14:18 PM
A fine work, David, gloomy with monkish ghoulism, while All-Fate's bones smilelessly hovering above the human agony of catastrophe, uncontrolability and loss. Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 7/7/2005 1:51:45 PM
David, WOW. Don't look back, then--ever onward! Don't let the mistakes of the past keep you down; reflect on them, briefly; learn from them; and then move forward. An excellent, excellent piece you've penned--thank you, Sir! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

My Good Book (Poetry) - 7/7/2005 1:50:13 PM
David, Your soul is an interesting read--enjoyed this one! VERY much. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

My Good Book (Poetry) - 7/1/2005 5:00:08 PM
a most profound glimpse into your soul's inspired book ...

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 6/29/2005 12:35:36 PM
My goodness but you do astound me with your writing~`* I relate to these words

My Good Book (Poetry) - 6/29/2005 12:32:00 PM
I absolutely love this piece dear friend your heart and mind show for all to see their brilliance!!! Exquisite~`*

My Good Book (Poetry) - 6/25/2005 8:51:24 AM
Your wondrous mind works in witty ways to delight the thoughts of those who read you... Eileen

My Good Book (Poetry) - 6/25/2005 8:50:13 AM
No literature quite so profound as the book of one's own life and those pages that keep the soul's company throughout that life. Enjoyed this great poem very much.

Pillar of Salt (Poetry) - 6/21/2005 7:35:01 AM
Profound poem David! Looking back is a two-edged sword isn't it?Nice to read you;-) Eileen

It Was Not Time Yet (Poetry) - 6/16/2005 5:15:40 PM
David, A powerful, thought provoking write; there is never a good time. I wish the powers that be were fighting this war and our troops could come home--enough is enough. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. If no one has welcomed you to AD, let me be among the first. You're among friends here.

It Was Not Time Yet (Poetry) - 6/8/2005 7:15:23 PM
Powerful and so very heart~felt`*

It Was Not Time Yet (Poetry) - 6/4/2005 10:48:26 AM
A powerful statement made with your question posed, David. Thank you. Love and peace to you. Regis

It Was Not Time Yet (Poetry) - 5/26/2005 4:59:10 PM
Whew! I think I was holding my breath all the way through this, David. Such a poignant poem, and much truth to it! We must back our service personal, tho - even if we have nothing good to say (and I don't) about the Dubya. I detest this war. Micke

It Was Not Time Yet (Poetry) - 5/24/2005 3:49:57 PM
Will it ever be the right time?? It never seems to be. It is too late for so many and they have yet to even know. This was a sad write, a truth told, an honest question to ask.... well done!!!

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.