AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Sky Purington, iMaryAngela Nangini, iS Zachary, iAntoine Raphael, iDeanna Jewel, iSusan Lindsley, iHarry and Elizabeth Lawrence, i
 
Home > Kathleen A Keena
 

Recent Reviews for Kathleen A Keena


Living Well with Multiple Sclerosis #1 (Book) - 11/23/2005 8:49:41 PM
viscerally breath-taking. intense, energetic, clear as a whistle, overpoweringly real, strong strong voice, amazing objective/subjective stance. eye opening. powerful poetry although the terrorist one doesn't seem to fit. powerful line "MS. I'm not going away." Informative, want to be reassured sooner as to how or that the MS is also a teacher, ie very strong hook re the right brain compensating. i'd work that up, or you probably do in the next part. bravo. interesting that the writing is intact. wonder how that works. sounds like the change in life is ripe with new ways of experiencing life, rich and spiritual and colorful. look forward to more magic in the unfolding story. makes me miss you.

Living Well with M.S. #2 (Book) - 11/20/2004 2:58:45 PM
Thanks for sharing this, Kathy - you helped me to remember that we should all "live well" with whatever we have. Love you.

Living Well with Multiple Sclerosis #1 (Book) - 11/19/2004 8:07:48 AM
Just a few immediate reactions after reading part one: It is interesting to me that this narrative about her experience with MS reveals a defining characteristic of Kathy which I am not sure she is aware that she shares with her mother. Namely, Kathy has spent her life serving others. How? Kathy has certainly done so as a counselor, opening rooms of pain with her clients and methodically showing them the light. She has also served in the theater where, she has helped actors and audiences to understand, to glance in to, to peel back the veils of psyche just a bit. This explains the sometimes painful subjects she has chosen to present. Kathy has done so with the feminist groups she has founded or supported, with the teaching she has done and even as a manager where her style was to admire and respect the talents of her team. Kathy is instantly trusting, accepting and supportive and attentive. This is what makes her a great counselor. Her desire to share her experiences and her skill as a writer combine with these traits to make this an intimate and truthful narrative. And once again, I believe it will help to serve others who take the time to read it. Congratulations, Kathy.

The Walk (Article) - 11/20/2004 3:06:24 PM
Well, Yes, I did inherit the duck walk. My shoes even wear out on the outside edges first. Quack.

The History Channel (Article) - 11/18/2004 4:11:14 PM
Yeah, That was Dad in the twilight. I thought it was like a black and white flickering purgatory where he was forced to re live the war in endless loops. The again, he never did come back from the war completely. Great sketch, Kathy. You definetly wrote a true sentence here.

The History Channel (Article) - 10/9/2004 11:49:03 AM
Thanks, I love the history channel. Cynthia

You Know Who I Am (Poetry) - 2/24/2015 6:19:28 AM
You are the Muse in the mind of the creative kind. Lovely… Ron

You Know Who I Am (Poetry) - 2/23/2015 6:36:32 PM
Cool write. I am the dream you may not keep. I loved that line. Michael D.

Terrorized (Poetry) - 2/22/2015 8:21:37 AM
He may know that something is wrong. I believe I've read that dogs can smell cancer. It makes me wonder if wild dogs experience cancer as much… But then, the lead very short-lived compared to our dogs as pets. Cancer may be a result of our chemical environment, or it may be the result of living in a long time, for a dog. In any event, it's us as the human in the picture that feels the sorrow of knowing the inevitable. It is interesting that we put dogs asleep before they start feeling severe pain from cancers and keep humans alive as they suffer through harsh chemical treatments and radiation, only to die anyway. Ron

Terrorized (Poetry) - 2/22/2015 5:39:15 AM
Sad. When it happens. Don't wait. Get another dog.

Water, Sand and Fragility (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 6:44:25 AM
I agree with Jerry, you leave water behind very quickly. Perhaps even a better title would be, "Fragile." Considering where we came from, and where we are today, I think we are very strong to have conquered the earth and now have lifespans approaching 100 years. Your thoughts about fragility may have to do with all the fears generated in our minds by the media focusing on the extreme rather than normal life. All in all, life today is much better than it's ever been for everyone. Ron

Water, Sand and Fragility (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 6:22:12 AM
It is an uncertain path, and you have captured it well.

Water, Sand and Fragility (Poetry) - 2/19/2015 1:11:59 PM
Te title is Water, but after reading the poem I think a better title would be "Sand." Enjoyed the read.

A Day at the Office (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 8:55:42 AM
Great write Kathleen, was your desire to retire or find other employment the motivation for this powerful write? I ask because I experienced similar angst before I took early retirement to pursue a writing career.Hope things are better now. Continued success- Barbara J Henry

Broken Man Loved (Poetry) - 8/17/2014 11:46:40 AM
A knockout punch, deaf to some, a call to others.

Broken Man Loved (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 11:12:03 AM
powerful message

Broken Man Loved (Poetry) - 7/18/2014 9:02:38 AM
There are many that would love to have a broken man. Ron

Broken Man Loved (Poetry) - 7/18/2014 8:36:54 AM
kathleen, i love the lullaby tone of this thought-filled and beautifully put together piece...perfect ending words...pmedlin

Broken Man Loved (Poetry) - 7/18/2014 5:51:37 AM
Thank you. This was reality personified and told so very, very well.

Steely Knives (Poetry) - 7/24/2013 6:37:03 AM
I love you and I know you miss him. Remember knives create wounds and wounds always become scars. You always wear yours well and they are your testament to those who loved you. You are my hero and I admire your ability to love so deeply. I love you, my best friend

Steely Knives (Poetry) - 7/21/2013 5:42:13 AM
heart heavy revealing write here, Kathleen...write it out...amazing how healing it is isn't it

The Business of Death (Poetry) - 7/20/2013 7:08:31 PM
Funny how sometimes large people, even in death appear small amidst the tall machines, the errata of death. We are usually so connected to the dying that are minds discount these medical monsters because part of our life goes with the dying into the next world. I could visualize the whole scene well with this Kath. Bob

Moonbeam (Poetry) - 7/20/2013 7:03:36 PM
Silly moon, you sing to me, but silhouetted in silence the song is just a prelude. What we make of it is up to fate and the wild desires of the heart. I liked your song to a midnight lover. Ethereal and delicate Kath. Bob

Steely Knives (Poetry) - 7/20/2013 11:11:30 AM
The whole lot of psychological release in your poem. Ron

Protect Me (Poetry) - 7/20/2013 4:32:11 AM
Sound like Jesus... May peace be with you, love surround you and blessings abound you, JMD

The Great Empty Knot (Poetry) - 7/20/2013 3:58:26 AM
WELL PENED SHORT PIECE ENJOYED READING PEACE BE WITH YOU WILLIAM

Everything Says Good Bye (Poetry) - 7/13/2012 2:53:21 PM
Very moving work, and so very true: Nothing lasts forever! Thanks for sharing Kathleen,and continued success` Barbara J Henry

No One Driving (Poetry) - 2/3/2012 10:26:25 PM
Love this piece, Kathleen! Vibrant and growing, to my mind.

Struggle To Be Still (Poetry) - 4/30/2011 12:04:58 PM
A memorable poem and a fitting tribute to your father--thank you for sharing it. Connie

The First To Leave (Poetry) - 4/30/2011 12:01:52 PM
Here is a great compliment for you, though you would not realize that if I had not told you. I am going to send this to my daughter Carol, who is in tune with dog's emotions and is a poet besides. I 'm sure she will enjoy it as much as I have. Wonderful writing. Connie

Whimsical Mother (Poetry) - 4/30/2011 11:57:19 AM
Precious--I love it! I never had the little house, but my Mom must have been related to yours for the play areas she fixed for us. Happy 90th birthday to your Apple Blossom--and many more!

Whimsical Mother (Poetry) - 4/30/2011 7:54:47 AM
wonderful..beautiful..immensely enjoyable... Thanks for sharing.neerja

Night Dive (Poetry) - 1/28/2011 12:30:10 AM
can feel the ride, kathleen. be well, carolyn

Night Dive (Poetry) - 1/25/2011 2:14:33 PM
Incredible flow and excellent unexpected ending! Blessings, Christine

Night Dive (Poetry) - 1/23/2011 9:29:27 PM
Brought a smile to my face at the end, Kathleen. Lovely. The interaction of placing the first verse into the second flows as smoothly as its ending. Plunging through darkness, This rare dive predawn, a moment's glide seamlessly I float... Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

Night Dive (Poetry) - 1/20/2011 9:55:35 PM
Your spirituality shines bright in the blessed piece... Be always safe, Karen

As the Wind (Poetry) - 12/6/2010 12:30:54 PM
. . ."until the Light Saves this night" Are the words I long to send To the end of "As the Wind"

Ghosts (Poetry) - 12/6/2010 7:38:47 AM
Embrace Thy Ghosts, Woman! Dance to the music---always... Nicely scribed. Cheers, Carolyn

As the Wind (Poetry) - 12/6/2010 7:35:02 AM
Exquisitely expressed, Kathleen. Luv the reference to "the eldest in the nursing home" as my own sweet Mother is fast approaching that dubious honor. Peace & Blessings, Carolyn

As the Wind (Poetry) - 12/6/2010 3:33:28 AM
Some one is missing daylight savings time....

The River You Love (Poetry) - 11/1/2010 8:23:26 AM
Beautiful work, Kathleen. Surely there is so much more to this than what lies within these few great lines.

Charles Bukowski (Poetry) - 10/8/2010 10:23:14 PM
I detect a novel..looming...interesting write.

I Don't Believe (Poetry) - 10/8/2010 6:28:48 PM
I dont believe in Zimmerman. I just believe in me.....Yoko and me. Wait, I mean i just believe in John. And Yoko. Wait, I dont really believe in Yoko.

Someone Calling (Poetry) - 10/8/2010 10:53:43 AM
This is quite powerful in meaning and tempo. Best Wishes, Christine

Dari-Delite (Poetry) - 6/13/2010 7:32:24 AM
I scream, you scream, Edvard Munch screams forever

Oil (Poetry) - 5/31/2010 8:33:26 AM
Hard to scream in a dream. The young lady is your doppelganger.

The First To Leave (Poetry) - 5/10/2010 6:33:15 AM
Well written and structured, Kathleen

The First To Leave (Poetry) - 5/6/2010 6:10:19 PM
THIS IS ABSOLUTELY PRECIOUS...SO UNIQUE AND TOUCHING. ONE SELDOM THINKS IN TERMS OF A PUPPY'S 'TRAUMA' OF BEING SEPARATED FROM HIS OWN. WELL DONE AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS, LOVE, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Struggle To Be Still (Poetry) - 11/29/2009 5:45:16 AM
I am sorry for your loss. I thought this was an excellent piece in honor of your Father. GOD BLESS Tony Nerone

Ghosts (Poetry) - 8/4/2009 11:27:45 AM
EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE...THEY WILL REAPPEAR...KIND OF REMINDING US OF HOW FAR WE'VE COME FROM. GOOD WRITE WITH GREAT IMAGERY. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Oil (Poetry) - 7/19/2009 8:13:13 PM
Beautiful, emotive, and surreal - I like this.

Oil (Poetry) - 7/19/2009 1:11:58 PM
AND HOW LONG AGO DID YOU HAVE THIS NIGHTMARE? HOPE THEY ARE NOT RECURRING. THIS IS WRITTEN WELL WITH GREAT IMAGERY. THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Strange Summer (Poetry) - 7/15/2009 9:44:02 PM
You should travel here into Texas, hit 103 today as we took turns standing in a tub full of cold water and that is with central air, go figure... Be always safe, Karen

Strange Summer (Poetry) - 7/15/2009 6:40:53 PM
WHAT CAN ONE SAY...? WE ARE LIVING A TIME OF MANY CHANGES...IN OUR EARTH OUR ATMOSPHERE...AND BEHOLD HE COMES QUICKLY. GOOD WRITE THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

The Day Before My Birthday (Poetry) - 2/24/2009 3:46:22 AM
This is an emotional poem that was beautifully written.Happy Birthday and Johnny will always be here with you in mind,body and spirit.Celebrate your birthday in your honor and his honor,take care of yourself Edwin

The Day Before My Birthday (Poetry) - 2/21/2009 8:06:32 PM
I understand this loss of a best friend/kindred spirit beautiful Kathleen! Thank you for sharing. Love and hugs, Suzie :-D

On the Anniversary of the Second Year of Your Death (Poetry) - 2/21/2009 7:58:55 PM
Shje is with you always in spirit though. And do some remembrances each year that she liked to do and make it easier on yourself when her birthday rolls around. Anything to make it easier on yourself. Love and best wishes to you.

The Day Before My Birthday (Poetry) - 2/21/2009 7:57:42 PM
Kathleen, You tell of your pain of losing a beloved friend so well. The pain never goes away. Mary

The Day Before My Birthday (Poetry) - 2/21/2009 7:57:30 PM
Happy Birthday to you. I know Johnny would not want you toforget to celebrate yours now. Have a very special day and do something in remembrance of Johnny tha he would of liked.

The Day Before My Birthday (Poetry) - 2/21/2009 6:19:32 PM
Sometimes we just have to be blue. It seems our memories are all we have. Be Well Kathleen and remember the Joys of all your Birthdays that bring the sweet memories and have a Happy Birthday for Johnny. Warmth and Love to you, Carin' Spirit ~

This Sacred Space (Poetry) - 12/23/2008 5:32:30 PM
Beautiful!

On the Anniversary of the Second Year of Your Death (Poetry) - 12/10/2008 6:21:59 AM
This one squeezes the heart ... well done, Kathleen. I'm sorry for your loss. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :(

Slice of Orange (Poetry) - 12/6/2008 9:40:04 AM
I enjoy reading this poem,take care Edwin

Director's Dream (Poetry) - 12/3/2008 9:25:00 PM
Absolutely beautiful.Your words flow and purr as you recite your tribute to wonderful entity that is the spirit of a cat. I also love the transformation of music to color you undertook in this work. Great work. Keith

Slice of Orange (Poetry) - 12/3/2008 8:25:35 PM
A true light for us to follow, the moon and this verse of writing. It is so cold in December and getting colder but your words warm up my heart. Good write.

Slice of Orange (Poetry) - 12/3/2008 7:48:26 PM
Hello Kathleen, So you are also one of those fascinated by the moon! I really enjoyed this piece, as sometimes the moon looks orange and huge from the night sky. Vivid and nice. Cynthia

Working with You (Poetry) - 10/19/2008 7:22:18 PM
so get to work.... I like this!! really get to work! Warmth and Love to you. Carin' Spirit

And So the Blue (Poetry) - 8/9/2008 6:41:53 AM
Don't let the blue be anymore than a sky to reach for, lest it drag you down. Stay strong! ~ Sara

And So the Blue (Poetry) - 8/5/2008 9:39:36 PM
Wonderful writing in this tale of one who is strong of nature... Be always safe, Karen

And So the Blue (Poetry) - 8/5/2008 3:43:41 PM
Kathy, each word and phrase here counts, the spareness of the telling making the greater impact, a finer picture. John

Behind Certain Doors (Poetry) - 8/1/2008 5:29:18 PM
All the wonder and images that cross through one's mind in such a gentle, yet clear manner.... Be always safe, Karen

Behind Certain Doors (Poetry) - 7/31/2008 5:59:15 PM
Kathy, the choice of images and the control and precision in the phrasing are admirable. This is very fine. John

Runway of Commerce (Poetry) - 6/3/2008 7:45:32 PM
Loved my Barbie doll and all on her wonderful wish list, very creative write... Be always safe, Karen

Runway of Commerce (Poetry) - 6/3/2008 11:07:44 AM
Other Barbies could use the clothes? Pretty original poem and with a clever use of words.

Runway of Commerce (Poetry) - 6/3/2008 9:44:24 AM
And it's still a best seller.

This Is The Dog (Poetry) - 5/23/2008 12:26:48 AM
Yes, Bobby would certainly make a great "Toto"! I think it's fabulous! And so is your poem.

Dari-Delite (Poetry) - 5/23/2008 12:24:41 AM
When I spoke of the ice cream stand I had NO idea that you had written a poem around it. We are definitely in tune with each other! I feel your poetry ... it creates a vision that is nearly tangible. Thank you, Kathy!

Apple Blossom Time (Poetry) - 4/10/2008 12:52:44 PM
What a lovely, endearing tribute to one you care deeply for, well done.... Be always safe, Karen

Coming Home (Poetry) - 3/14/2008 1:39:04 PM
This is perfect. i love it.

Coming Home (Poetry) - 3/11/2008 6:23:50 PM
Poetic excellence.... Be always safe, Karen

Coming Home (Poetry) - 3/11/2008 2:31:22 PM
Smooth as a kiss in Spring.

Coming Home (Poetry) - 3/11/2008 1:55:48 PM
Great write. Love the easy casual style that added to the theme of the poem. Liz

Her Majesty (Poetry) - 2/3/2008 10:59:44 AM
Is that what one would call -a heavy plant crossing- it is a tree in desguise, and you can vouch for to my car insurance company. Treas can be leaf-full...lethal... sorry

John Lennon (Poetry) - 1/23/2008 1:06:47 PM
What a great tribute..... John would have been proud

John Lennon (Poetry) - 1/23/2008 1:06:43 PM
i felt this way when jerry garcia died, although it was much more his own fault than John's death, which he could never have seen coming. nice tribute

Summer Forest (Poetry) - 1/23/2008 11:48:22 AM
I am taken to a wonderful fishing trip back to nature.enjoyed

Draft (Poetry) - 1/17/2008 8:45:08 PM
Straight forward from within your heart so well expressed... Be safe, Karen

Just That (Poetry) - 1/14/2008 7:38:14 PM
Inspirationally written of the journey love sometimes takes us on... Be safe, Karen

Suddenly the Frost (Poetry) - 11/9/2007 9:07:21 PM
Interesting write, here in Texas the weather goes from hot to warm to hot, then we get about a week or two of snow and ice storms and back to warm. Guess it depends upon where you live..... Be safe, Karen

Suddenly the Frost (Poetry) - 11/8/2007 3:51:33 PM
Indeed, and last Xmas in NY it was in the high 60's, I wanted to see snow, it just did not feel like Christmas....

Grief is Now My Sister (Poetry) - 11/8/2007 12:55:32 PM
this is fantastic, so well written, the words flow like the emotions

Negative OOOOMMMMM (Poetry) - 7/2/2007 5:33:00 PM
Hey, this is good! :)

Negative OOOOMMMMM (Poetry) - 7/1/2007 6:22:32 PM
What's wrong with the old London.. He may find her there...

Kissing (Poetry) - 5/3/2007 9:02:36 AM
Wonderful look back; This poem is universal. Pretty much everyone can identify with it.

Kissing (Poetry) - 5/2/2007 7:47:10 PM
ah, the travails of growing up into a woman ...

Kissing (Poetry) - 5/2/2007 2:47:23 PM
Great one

Kissing (Poetry) - 5/2/2007 10:08:36 AM
HAHA, my first TMI was in Wales with a farmers girl...

Kissing (Poetry) - 5/2/2007 9:52:55 AM
Love the originality of this one!

Your Funeral (Poetry) - 4/23/2007 6:12:32 PM
your sorrow so deep, the tragedy so personalized, no one else dare share in it ... you must have been extremely close to have felt this way ...

Your Funeral (Poetry) - 4/20/2007 11:12:47 PM
A very sad time we must all confront. A time of many emotions, once lay dormant seem to surface without much notice. Interesting write. Be safe, Karen

Your Funeral (Poetry) - 4/20/2007 8:24:43 AM
You capture a lot of emotion in poignant verse: sadness; anger; defensive; even a spot of bitter humor: the grieving process explained. Well done, Kathy, this is powerfully penned. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Becoming (Poetry) - 3/11/2007 6:51:30 PM
truly inspiring. Others who, living through tragedy, become it. To learn the language slipping on the air of the woods at nightfall, to follow the language of the wind.

A Day at the Office (Poetry) - 3/11/2007 6:46:27 PM
makes me very hungry for more; ie what's going on in this poem?

Empty Retaurant (Poetry) - 3/11/2007 6:40:09 PM
Strong and raw. Hits me so squarely, I'm THERE.

Wind Chimes (Poetry) - 2/16/2007 7:33:25 PM
They do tend to make the world stop and have us listen to their song of melody... nice work.....Art Sun...

Wind Chimes (Poetry) - 2/16/2007 6:41:48 PM
I can hear them as I read this tranquil poem..

Navigator (Poetry) - 1/12/2007 6:16:09 AM
hahaha nice share!!!

The Girls (Poetry) - 11/13/2006 5:32:30 PM
The inbetweenies...

Before (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 9:44:15 AM
Sad ending, glad to see the back of the eight track. Nothing stays the same..

Raw Air (Poetry) - 10/25/2006 3:58:03 PM
I have my uncles funeral next week..I relate to this..

Raw Air (Poetry) - 10/25/2006 2:34:12 PM
Very well written.

Hollywood to Pasedena (Poetry) - 10/19/2006 3:29:48 PM
Wonderful imagery you've created with this one. Enjoyed reading. Elizabeth

Hollywood to Pasedena (Poetry) - 10/19/2006 12:05:16 PM
OUCH, my mate of 44 just died, no reason yet, leaves 7 kids.. This touched me..

October Sun (Poetry) - 10/11/2006 1:26:29 AM
Perfect...a beautiful work. Elizabeth

Venice in June (Apologies to Ginsberg) (Poetry) - 10/10/2006 5:05:55 AM
Kathleen ~~enjoyed morning coffee and your wonderful poetry..this poem is very cool~~ martin

October Sun (Poetry) - 10/10/2006 5:00:11 AM
Kathleen ~~beautiful poem~~ martin

October Sun (Poetry) - 10/9/2006 5:30:11 PM
Very beautiful poetry and depth....

October Sun (Poetry) - 10/9/2006 4:59:09 PM
Simply beautiful! Ron

Jane's Front Yard (Poetry) - 9/28/2006 9:39:43 AM
A treat and a delight to read. One can almost hear you saying this..

Jane's Front Yard (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 10:40:42 AM
Like the repeat.

Jane's Front Yard (Poetry) - 9/27/2006 10:04:02 AM
a simple, well-written poem, ty

A Day at the Office (Poetry) - 9/20/2006 12:02:16 PM
This is mysterious............ I can feel the emotion...... frustration........ and authenticity well done pax A

A Day at the Office (Poetry) - 9/15/2006 9:54:14 AM
You create a powerful emotionally charged atmosphere with your verses, Kathy. It reminds me a little of a short story of mine that I posted here at the Den entitled, "Dead Man Dancing." Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

A Day at the Office (Poetry) - 9/15/2006 8:22:16 AM
Excellent write, Kathy; well done!

A Day at the Office (Poetry) - 9/15/2006 8:19:06 AM
W O W! Stunning imagery and powerful emotions in this excellent write; well done, Kathy! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Standing Dead  (Poetry) - 9/9/2006 5:51:45 PM
The mood you intend is effectively created via your verses, Kathleen. Thank you for sharing your talent. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Backyard (Poetry) - 9/4/2006 12:08:09 PM
This says a great deal about what adults refer to as "that awkward time." Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Junior High (Poetry) - 9/4/2006 12:06:41 PM
Sometimes it is the simplest of things that become the most significant. Thank you, Kathleen. Love and peace, Regis

Study Hall (Poetry) - 9/4/2006 12:05:32 PM
You have most effectively captured and conveyed the situation, Kathleen. Thank you for sharing this offering. Love and peace to you, Regis

Flutter of Peace (Poetry) - 9/4/2006 12:03:53 PM
My favorite times are when I can feel like a child again; nicely done, Kathleen. Thanks for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Backyard (Poetry) - 9/3/2006 4:24:00 PM
So KATHY YOU DON'T GO TO MASS ANYMORE <------------------

The Backyard (Poetry) - 9/3/2006 9:18:25 AM
oh, I remember playing Barbies and my brother playing GI Joe on the front porch...we had a deal, if anyone passed by, I would act as though I had nothing to do with the Barbie camper, it would all fall on him (he is four years younger than me). This is a fantastic poem about the pre-teen world. Susan

The Culture of the Bonnet Dryer (Poetry) - 7/22/2006 6:24:06 PM
LOVE IT

The Day of the Wall (Poetry) - 7/22/2006 6:23:15 PM
like it a lot. very immediate sense of being there. but i don't understand the wall part.

Cadillac (Poetry) - 7/22/2006 6:21:47 PM
i really like it. not sure about last line, though.

Memorial Day 2006 (Poetry) - 7/22/2006 6:21:02 PM
well, what did they say??

The Standing Dead  (Poetry) - 7/22/2006 6:20:32 PM
tactile and poignant.

Up and Down (Poetry) - 7/22/2006 6:19:56 PM
like the last line. bruises part is a little vague to me.

Venice in June (Apologies to Ginsberg) (Poetry) - 7/22/2006 6:18:45 PM
like it! It could continue. Makes me wanna write one like it, a sure sign of a good write.

The Standing Dead  (Poetry) - 7/2/2006 9:08:28 AM
Deep and foreboding.

Memorial Day 2006 (Poetry) - 6/3/2006 9:13:02 PM
A wonderful tribute to those who have sacrificed. Thank you for sharing! Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

The Day of the Wall (Poetry) - 6/3/2006 7:06:24 PM
I have not yet found the courage to go and visit "The Wall." I fear that my heart will break into thousands of tiny shards and never again will I be able to make it whole. I lost friends, not the same as you losing your brother and I would not pretend it to be so. I also had a family member who was a POW and that also was difficult to get through. I am so sorry for your loss, but I am so glad that it is tempered with fond memories of the time you were grated with your brother. Take care, Sherry

Memorial Day 2006 (Poetry) - 6/3/2006 7:00:34 PM
A beautiful tribute to those who gave their all that we may know and live in liberty. Thank you for sharing your heart. Take care, Sherry

Mid Life (Poetry) - 6/3/2006 4:26:12 PM
This is very effective, Kathy. Well done. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Culture of the Bonnet Dryer (Poetry) - 6/3/2006 4:24:43 PM
Well done, Kathy. As you can tell from my photo, hair's not much of a problem for me. Thank you for sharing your humor. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Day of the Wall (Poetry) - 6/3/2006 4:23:02 PM
You have effectively created the mood and drawn me right in via your verses, Kathy. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and peace, Regis

Cadillac (Poetry) - 6/3/2006 4:21:21 PM
Eerie and thus, effective. Thank you for sharing this offering, Kathy. Love and peace to you, Regis

Memorial Day 2006 (Poetry) - 6/3/2006 4:20:11 PM
A soulful tribute, Kathy. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you, Regis

Cadillac (Poetry) - 5/14/2006 4:41:15 AM
enjoyed the read

The Culture of the Bonnet Dryer (Poetry) - 5/3/2006 8:30:47 PM
LOL What great imagery here. I loved this charming poem. Thanks for sharing. Chanti

Lucid Dreaming (Poetry) - 4/13/2006 7:28:51 AM
absolutely wonderful and saved to my library!

That Something (Poetry) - 3/22/2006 2:53:58 PM
Potent

I Was Once Such a Woman (Poetry) - 3/22/2006 1:42:06 PM
kathy...are you reading my mind...this is great and i feel exactly like this lately.

Becoming Clear Here (Poetry) - 3/22/2006 12:55:00 PM
EXCELLENT... Awesome write... love joanne

Yesterday Ended. Stars. (Poetry) - 3/22/2006 12:19:58 PM
tell me that you're published. it would be most unjust to learn that you are not. each one of your poems is something extraordinary. particularly love the way this piece concludes (or doesn't, as the case may be). ty

Onion (Poetry) - 3/22/2006 12:14:00 PM
yours is the kind of style i adore - this poem is no exception

Right Brain Engaged, Left Brain Divorced (Poetry) - 3/22/2006 12:12:07 PM
fabulous title! equally splendid poem, ty (i hear my grandmother speaking to my children through my own voice sometimes)

Becoming Clear Here (Poetry) - 3/22/2006 12:09:12 PM
simple - as all great truths usually are. profound in ways i love, ty

Becoming Clear Here (Poetry) - 3/22/2006 11:52:00 AM
Hi Kathy, I like this poem. And, it comes at a time when I am reflecting on our mortality, as I posted in an article here this morning.

Tent Dress (Poetry) - 1/13/2006 10:51:33 AM
Aw..but now they do. Cute little poem. I remember having a yellow checked dress with a ruffle when I was a kid. I loved that dress. It was for a skinnyette, however. My mother was in despair trying to find something for a skinny with extremely long legs. Elizabeth

I Want to be Christiane Amanpour (Poetry) - 1/13/2006 8:09:26 AM
a worthy goal

Onion (Poetry) - 12/19/2005 7:01:17 PM
Sorry think I may have just cooked you, in with my minced lamb and rice...

Onion (Poetry) - 12/19/2005 7:20:46 AM
as this poem unfolds beautifully, kathy

River Cats (Poetry) - 12/17/2005 9:39:58 PM
Though cats would or should not be feral, I feed them in the winter as best I can, as they live in the woods and only come out at night...they seem to even eat dog food, though Rufuz is a bit jealous...;) Ed

River Cats (Poetry) - 12/17/2005 2:17:00 PM
true! Good write. Bonnie

M.S. Don't Forget (Poetry) - 12/5/2005 9:08:23 AM
Excellent stuff, Kathy; very well done! (((HUGS))) and love, your Tx. friend, Karen Lynn. :D

Mausoleum (Poetry) - 12/4/2005 12:20:33 PM
Insightful and deep touching. Great write.

Flowers Along Route Five (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 8:54:38 AM
So touching. Flowers attached to a roadside sign are sad reminders.

Flowers Along Route Five (Poetry) - 10/7/2005 6:48:06 PM
Your poem is touching. The flowers I see along the roadside always tug at me. You've captured that feeling beautifully.

Flowers Along Route Five (Poetry) - 10/7/2005 2:36:52 PM
lovely talent..thanks

Teeth (Poetry) - 10/1/2005 7:27:46 PM
like the last line.

Teeth (Poetry) - 9/27/2005 4:40:55 PM
Drink warm water with real honey and cider vinegar. It sure looks after them ole toothy pegs..

Big Kids (Poetry) - 9/13/2005 11:06:05 AM
goose bumps. love this. so vital and alive and personal and real. like a good novel.

The Living and the Dead (Poetry) - 9/13/2005 11:04:49 AM
wow. powerful imagery and great last stanza

Explain (Poetry) - 9/13/2005 11:03:42 AM
liked the last line.

The Living and the Dead (Poetry) - 9/8/2005 5:05:27 PM
Haunting description Well done, Kathy

The Living and the Dead (Poetry) - 9/8/2005 6:46:57 AM
Excellent descriptions!

Instantly, Imperfections are Renounced (Poetry) - 9/6/2005 4:36:40 PM
kathy, yes, yes yes!!! Tell it like it is! Beautiful and peace to you'',..Rich Criso

Each September (Poetry) - 8/26/2005 3:29:08 PM
Kathy, A vivid rememberance...and that is why we should never forget. Thank you for remembering in such a powerful way. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :(

Each September (Poetry) - 7/29/2005 11:00:56 AM
This is very touching.

Seashell Eyes (Poetry) - 7/19/2005 10:27:11 AM
beautiful write, kathy! well done! :)

Yesterday Ended. Stars. (Poetry) - 7/12/2005 6:06:38 PM
very effective poem ... (what's with the backward slash?)

River Pins (Poetry) - 7/8/2005 8:08:36 PM
I like the view this opens to my eyes, and my view follows the river's flow... until it dissolves.

Growing Old by the River (Poetry) - 7/4/2005 7:34:19 PM
Nice imagery. Sandie Angel a.k.a. Sandie May Angel :o)

Thirty Five  (Poetry) - 6/25/2005 8:59:25 AM
A beautifully thought-out, heartfelt tribute. Thank you for sharing it, Kathy. Love and peace to you. Regis

Don't Rent Me a T.V. (Poetry) - 6/11/2005 12:07:33 PM
Kathy, Boy, can I relate to this one. I spent months in the hospital, and watched TV...nothing good was on. It was out of boredom that I watched...better than sleeping 24/7 (but not much). LOL Excellent write--well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

Walks Inside (Poetry) - 6/9/2005 4:27:54 AM
I think you have conveyed what it is like in a way even those that do not suffer from it can feel what it may be like Blessing to you and hope for better days

Walks Inside (Poetry) - 6/2/2005 4:43:16 PM
kathy, you are in my prayers. m.s. can be a b**** to live with; i know people who have it, and some of them really struggle! i have a chronic illness myself (o.a.), and like you, i have my bad days, but it is nothing compared to the beast called m.s.! excellent poem! well done!

Walks Inside (Poetry) - 6/2/2005 3:52:27 PM
Ahh yes my dear old friend is back, perpetual pain. I wondered where he went, but now I see he was off pestering you. Great poem from a great spirit

Walks Inside (Poetry) - 6/2/2005 3:17:17 PM
Excellent write... into a world few know about... about seven years ago, my first battle with MS, brought pains and fears I never knew existed... many "minor" battles have since occurred... hopefully, these will stay that way... in my thoughts and prayers

Walks Inside (Poetry) - 6/2/2005 2:59:22 PM
this is wonderful...i can't claim to know how you feel but you express it well enough that i get a clear picture

Walks Inside (Poetry) - 6/2/2005 1:57:58 PM
Kathy, What a vivid portraiture of living with the beast...profoundly moving! You are far stronger than you admit--it shows in your words. Well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :( I suffer from fibro, arthritis and degenerative arthritis...also very much unwanted

Theater Piece for Three  (Poetry) - 4/27/2005 3:25:31 PM
This could be a commentary on today's psycho-dramas, everyone searching for something that's right inside.

Theater Piece for Three  (Poetry) - 4/27/2005 8:54:44 AM
bravo...this is excellent

Debutantes (Poetry) - 4/21/2005 8:15:41 PM
wonderful spring imagery ...

Debutantes (Poetry) - 4/21/2005 10:55:08 AM
wonderful write about spring; it read like an extended haiku. respect, -A.

Tsunami, Day Four, 140,000 dead (Poetry) - 4/16/2005 1:22:29 PM
you choke the beach. a hankercheif and a plan to keep breathing. paper umbrellas for drinks. really evocative and economical like all your writing lately. stunning.

Anyway (Poetry) - 4/16/2005 1:17:49 PM
love the title and last line. hate rod for his rod like showyness. found the girl very very evocative. found the whole piece somehow imbued with life force.

Yoga (Poetry) - 4/15/2005 7:27:14 PM
Native American spiritual centerness "A busy mind is a sick mind, a slow mind is a divine mind, a still mind is a healthy mind." Excellent and true write

Anyway (Poetry) - 4/15/2005 7:25:29 PM
I wonder if maybe we look at the young with a little envy... "gotta go, get there yesterday"... age makes us (hopefully) wiser and more spiritual... but we might lose a little bit of ourselves along the way... great write

Anyway (Poetry) - 4/15/2005 6:40:13 PM
When you're young and naive, everyone who is a famous person looks immpressive to be a friend. Sad, but true. Well-done! Sandie Angel a.k.a. Sandie May Angel :o)

Swimming (Poetry) - 4/15/2005 10:52:32 AM
really potent. very evocative.

Swimming (Poetry) - 4/12/2005 4:32:02 PM
you've managed to describe pain through some very powerful images ...

Yoga (Poetry) - 4/11/2005 11:53:10 PM
wow Kath. resonant , precise, insightful, true to my own experience of yoga. uncluttered and a pleasure to read.

The Canal Path (Poetry) - 4/11/2005 11:50:49 PM
crisp, energetic, original. i like it.

Swimming (Poetry) - 4/7/2005 7:05:13 PM
Great write kathy! Love, Bonnie

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.