AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Jeanne Miller, iCheri Dohnal, iJoyce Scarbrough, iKathleen Morris, iRoland Allnach, iEdie Batstone, iClaire Power Murphy, HonDL, i
 
Home > Marian Douglas-Ungaro
 

Recent Reviews for Marian Douglas-Ungaro


Western Hemisphere faces 'the problem of the color line' (Article) - 8/6/2008 4:52:19 PM
I read your article and thought of all those who are slaves today in the Middle East, North Africa and in some Asian counties. I have visited a Website that deals with the topic of slavery today and read that there are more slaves in the world today than from the past. In South America slaves work coffee and coco plantations. There are sex slaves in Thailand and other Asian countries. There are even sex slaves in the United States--young girls and boys swept off the streets and force to provide a degrading service. Slavery has been around for thousands of years. All the major ancient civilizations had slaves of all colors through the centuries. Chinese came to America during the 19th century. They built the railroads in the west and were paid little to nothing--they were not allowed to become citizens, own land or bring their families here at that time. These Chinese men came here chasing a dream only to find that the dream belonged to a limited number of citizens--even American women at that time were considered chattel or the property of their father or husband. The British Empire was the first country that I know of that abolished slavery and America fought a horrible war between the states to do away with that evil. During the Civil War more Americans of all colors (white, black and American Indians among others fought and died--one side defending slavery and the other against slavery wanting all men to be free.) The struggle will not be over until we have freed all people on the earth from being owned and exploited by others. Thank you for not letting us forget that we must stand united against this and do all that we can to free all of the world’s people that live in slavery of any kind.

Review of NO! A film on rape in the African American Community (Article) - 2/28/2008 9:42:31 AM
Thank you for sharing this was very touched by it ...

Oman's Air Route to East Africa: The Slave Empire Strikes Again? (Article) - 2/28/2008 9:33:34 AM
This is very storng article. I also agree that the air agreement is just beggining of a fruitful relationship. Nothing more.. Im not sure if you have ever visited Oman, we are very mixed nation. Im among those Zanzibari my mum was born in Pemba and her dad is Omani and my father is comorian and had lived in Zanzibar. We are still have family who are mixed race and you will see a lot of this mixture here in Oman. Many of Omanis still have family in Zanziber and we still some of us go back to visit Zanziber.. its part of our history.. We were very happy that finally there is stright flight from Oman to Zanziber and Kenya as earlier we had to spend hours in other country just to go to Zanziber. When my Dad died in Zanziber I could not reach in time cause there was no stright flight to Zanziber I had to wait two days to get a flight and so many Omanis like me still have family over there. Im totally against slavery and are men going there for sex tourism.. I never heard of that before..

Oman's Air Route to East Africa: The Slave Empire Strikes Again? (Article) - 9/4/2007 10:30:20 PM
I found a good website online called http://www.iabolish.org/ You have a great write on the plight of Africa.

Ending Conflict in Macedonia, 21 March 2001, International Herald Tribune (Article) - 1/24/2006 5:15:47 PM
well done

The Human Trade in Kosovo, 6 June 2000, International Herald Tribune (Article) - 1/24/2006 5:15:14 PM
thought provoking article

Western Hemisphere faces 'the problem of the color line' (Article) - 12/12/2005 5:19:02 AM
Hello Marian, I am glad to visit with you. You have a beautful gift to express yourself. i enjoyed your article. Keep writing. Thank you Betty Torain

Oman's Air Route to East Africa: The Slave Empire Strikes Again? (Article) - 5/6/2003 5:50:47 AM
Bismillahi Rahmani Rahim Dear Brothers.Peace be upon you. Thanks for your views on Oman returns to East Africa. Though your views seem to be unintended and truthful insome respects. I would say that this Air Agreemnet may well be the beggining of a fruitful relationship if we do not eye one another suspiciously. That is for the elder generations not those whom wish to restore our historical Cultural economic links in the future. Our people still live amongst you as do you live with us in Oman and other countries of the world. Our families still live and visit beautiful Zanzibar and respect our brothers and sisters whom we had no part in what occurred before 1964. I was so pleased to visit Zanzibar in 1995, your people welcomed me as if they knew me so well. Ive never experienced this kind of homecoming to a country I had never visited before.We look pray andforward to more improved relations in all areas to acheive a cohesive confidence and move forward together for the sake of our childrens ultimately or we may just forget our past like it never happened. Thanks for hearing my view. Long Live Oman and Tanzania (Zanzibar)Hamoud

Our Mixed Race American Family Histories: Supporting Teira Covington's Family Research  (Article) - 6/6/2002 5:49:42 PM
i am in salt lake city, a city with a suttle racism. At one time mormons called the white race the "delightsome" while caliming that blacks were punished with dark skin because they were indecisive in heaven. just the other day in slc a young white girl who has a black mom was told to remove her dreadlocks from her hair. she was told by the white taecher to "stop trying to act black"

Ending Conflict in Macedonia, 21 March 2001, International Herald Tribune (Article) - 5/31/2001 5:18:29 PM
The article is well written and on a broad level, correct. There are forces in this region besides those working for equal treatment, freedom and family. Having spent several years living with the Albanian people, I know the true face of the enemy. The enemy that seeks nothing more than to extend chaos. The enemy who says rights are being violated treats its own people with brutality and sells its young as sex slaves. They raise arms and enlist young men in the name of Kosova but they shoot the same in the back during battle because of political motive & greed. I love the true Albanian people. My wife is Albanian. I have adopted family in Peje who I first met during the worst of the crisis. They are the people who are being harmed by the escalation of tensions. The enemy I know & despise, the common people I respect.

Chimbote (Poetry) - 8/16/2008 10:23:47 AM
Well penned poetess. Bravo, great piece. Rodney

Chimbote (Poetry) - 8/6/2008 4:39:59 PM
Lovely snapshot that has a touch of tragedy about it because of the beautiful woman begging for food that vanishes. The opening sentence grabbed my attention and I wanted to know more. It's sad that she was gone before we met her.

Chimbote (Poetry) - 4/15/2008 8:05:31 PM
In recognition of all who have suffered long and yet through spiritual strength endured, well said.... Be always safe, Karen

Chimbote (Poetry) - 4/15/2008 11:39:05 AM
A very quick piece which matches the haste of the women who was standing in need and then gone in a flash. This piece is interesting! I'm still playing with the whole idea of there being nothing given and nothing taken which might be parallel to the black women being seen as nothing in this country. This would explain her not being seen at the end of the poem. I think this poem is powerful in its simplicity. Well Done & Write on Sista!

Chimbote (Poetry) - 4/15/2008 9:17:43 AM
Welcome to Author's Den, Marian; a powerful debut. An angel? Perhaps: she opened your eyes, to see. Excellent. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.