AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Shelley Costello, iGreg Pendleton, iGeorge Wallach, iFrancis Eaden, iCheri Dohnal, iRoger Vizi, iDave Brooks, i
 
Home > Jake George
 

Recent Reviews for Jake George


Grandfather's Song (Book) - 2/19/2011 11:23:29 AM
"The balance of nature has turned and the animals turned to Xinkwelenowak to protect them...“From this day forever, you will not kill another of my brothers or sisters. We will leave you to your death.” Then, Xinkwelenowak yelled at the retreating hump of meat running away, “You have no souls. You are not human beings!” Such powerful writing; I have added this book to my "eventual shopping list" - I only wish there was one protecting today's animals, especially the Bison and Wolves. The "Clovis White-trash people gone killing without use or discrimination, but there is one who will eventual protect His creation, the Great Spirit made all. When the dust and smoke clears from the comet or asteroid strike, I believe the Native American will be the only one capable of living again in harmony with the Earth mother. White man's days are numbered. I know I'm white this time around but at the risk of you thinking I'm crazy I know I've lived in many past incarnations as Native American. They had the only sane religion: "Live in Harmony with the Earth; take only what you need, give back much." But I rant on...as Chief Joseph said: "It does not take many words to speak the Truth." I don't know too much about the Lenape Indian tribe, I enjoyed the culture and music of many others, Shawnee, Navajo, Sioux. Where can I learn more? Best in writing, Michael Guy pianist/composer

A New Dawn (Book) - 4/24/2007 2:26:24 AM
Jake George has written a phenomenal account of a Native American adventure. 'A New Dawn' is rich in spiritual energy 'A New Dawn' - Jake George defines what Native American culture is. It is not the same today as it was a thousand years ago - even a hundred years ago - where in Native American life, justice is served for an evil. The saga continues from Jake George's book, 'Grandfather's Song'. Using authentic Native words, 'A New Dawn', Jake George forges a successful alliance between the Above World and the Old World. Jake gives his Native voice to his People. Character development is very strong. The relationship between Running Woman and Crying Woman holds a very special place in my own heart. Custom is true to the instructions given; how to survive in harsh climates, a sense of community, herbal medicine and doctoring and authentic Native tools of survival. Jake incorporates a spellbinding transformation, a guise of human to animal and back to human shapeshifting through the characters Elder Fawn and Elk Caller. Jake George has written a phenomenal account of a Native American adventure. 'A New Dawn' is rich in spiritual energy which reflects old-world Native values and survival ties with the land to restore peace to a troubled world. 'A New Dawn' makes its way into modern-day Indian communities to emerge a new generation to sustain cultural identity and respect for being Native American. The name on this book, 'A New Dawn' in the absolute highest spiritual sense, is an educational gift on behalf of all Native American tribes. ~Sage Sweetwater, firebrand lesbian novelist, author of Blue Corn Woman, edited by Jake George

A New Dawn (Book) - 11/15/2006 4:01:29 AM
I had the great pleasure of reading this book and it's a fantastic novel! Chrissy K. McVay

Grandfather's Song (Book) - 6/21/2006 1:22:19 PM
Jake George is a true Native American storyteller. Traditionally, storytelling is one of the most cherished means of instruction for Native Americans throughout this continent, past and present. 'Grandfather's Song' is versed in ancient knowledge and Jake George has given us a gift on behalf of all Native Americans. He does his Lenape heritage proud and it speaks on the pages of 'Grandfather's Song.' My question, after reading 'Grandfather's Song' is "how can we give back to Mother Earth to repay the damages done her?" (There has come a time when ancient Native ideas are ready to be acted upon...now is that time...Sage Sweetwater) 'Grandfather's Song' is the beginning of a journey of recovery and a powerful voice from Jake George from the native homeland. Well done, Jake! It is an honor to be in your company. I wish you much success and the passing on of your natural storytelling to future generations for the winds of renewal. ~Sage Sweetwater, firebrand lesbian novelist, author of The Buckskin Skirt Oar Traveler and From The Convent To The Rawhide: The Saga of Sadie Cade And Vi Montana~

Graves' Disease In Our Own Words (Book) - 4/20/2006 6:33:40 AM


Grandfather's Song (Book) - 12/21/2005 1:04:54 PM
This is a wonderful story that brings a Lenape Legend to the surface and warns humanity that if they don't heed nature's warning, they may 'reep what they sow'. This is a tale with great vision! Chrissy K. McVay

Graves' Disease In Our Own Words (Book) - 2/16/2005 6:33:09 PM
This is interesting and now that I found it I will read more.

The Drum (Short Story) - 6/9/2011 6:55:02 PM
we must not be the sleep walking thru our lives- but awaken and.. be the I AM. thank you and thanks for sharing. well written- jch

Native American Negotiations (Short Story) - 3/27/2010 10:47:58 PM
thought provoking read

Where are they? (Short Story) - 5/8/2007 9:11:21 PM
Jake, Funny, my youngest son and I were living the past tonight. Our DNA was active and alive. Maybe it's something in the weather. Sweet dreams. Cynthia

My Father's Coat (Short Story) - 3/10/2007 8:34:31 PM
Jake, I just read "My Father's Coat" It was extremely well written and brought back many fond memories of fishing with Bob. I can't help but wonder if one of those treasures could have been a container of egg sacks.

We held our Native Thanksgiving today (Short Story) - 1/27/2007 9:21:37 AM
Jake, MUCH more in tune with what Thanksgiving should be about. Instead of pigging out and watching the idiot box, spending time with friends and neighbors, elders and Nature. A blessing, indeed; thank you! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

We held our Native Thanksgiving today (Short Story) - 12/3/2006 3:26:12 PM
Thank you for sharing this with all of us. Sounds like a great time. Chrissy

Freedom At All Cost (Short Story) - 12/1/2006 1:07:36 PM
Amen! You speak with wisdom and there are so many that need to hear... too bad they are deaf when the truth is spoken. God bless those who love life and are anxious to learn what is good at every opportUNITY... be at peace with one another, share with each other and respect all.

My Father's Coat (Short Story) - 12/1/2006 12:46:20 PM
Well said, indeed! Your story about your Dad's coat touched my heart and my past. We have a few things in commom... love of family, a desire to preserve what is good in life, love of our faithful canines and a profound desire to carry and pass on what was taught to us by the most prevalent people in our lives. I too, have felt the sting of the freezing winds off Lake Ontario and I too, moved to a better climate, to the Land of the Cherokee. It is much better here in North Carolina and the trout fishing is great! I fought along side some very brave Native American warriors... they have earned a place of respect and honor in my heart. I thank you for sharing... and I thank you for passing on your heritage. Sincerely, Grif.

My Father's Coat (Short Story) - 3/25/2006 12:03:44 AM
Uncle Jake you for got say "the gosh darn zipper" thats the only way it would zip

My Father's Coat (Short Story) - 3/2/2006 10:02:10 AM
What a beautiful story. Very well written.

My Father's Coat (Short Story) - 2/24/2006 7:44:03 PM
This is wonderful. We can savor our memories through the sights, smells and feelings of warmth loved ones leave behind...

My Father's Coat (Short Story) - 2/23/2006 4:07:21 PM
Jake, Excellent story, very well done! BRAVO! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :)

Freedom At All Cost (Short Story) - 2/22/2006 5:06:53 PM
Very well said. When you think of all the people killed in the names of different religions, it's easy to understand why a separation of church and state was created in the first place. I'm just now reading about all the poor souls burned as 'heretics' or 'witches', etc. When will we ever learn is right...and never say it can't happen again.

Freedom At All Cost (Short Story) - 2/21/2006 6:20:40 PM
Jake, Intensely moving and heartfelt write; very well done! BRAVO! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

Freedom At All Cost (Short Story) - 2/21/2006 5:23:59 PM
Jake, A deeply moving, thought provoking write; every word is very well written. Freedom isn't free...it comes with a price that's sometimes too great to pay. Well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Native American Negotiations (Short Story) - 2/11/2006 2:51:18 PM
Jake, Fascinating story you have penned here; very well done! BRAVO!! (((HUGS))) and love, your Texas friend, Karen Lynn. :D

Native American Negotiations (Short Story) - 2/11/2006 1:56:01 PM
A shining commentary on the how the old ways are best. Honor means something to Native Americans. Very well written, I thank you. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Native American Negotiations (Short Story) - 2/10/2006 7:12:43 PM
Just another example of how wonderful and logical the Native American customs are.

The Drum (Short Story) - 11/24/2005 7:39:38 PM
Very good story. I've ordered a copy of 'Grandfather's Song'. I'll give you a review on Amazon and here when I'm finished. Good luck with your novel and other writing... Chrissy K. McVay

The Drum (Short Story) - 9/21/2005 12:19:43 PM
good,really good

The Drum (Short Story) - 9/12/2005 4:23:17 PM
good story.wish i could write like that

The Drum (Short Story) - 2/20/2005 7:00:43 AM
good tale

The Drum (Short Story) - 2/6/2005 3:35:35 PM
intereseting story, jake! thanks for sharing! well done! (((HUGS))) and love, your tx. friend, karen lynn. :D

The Drum (Short Story) - 2/6/2005 3:06:10 PM
This is really a wonderful story told of the afterlife. Unique story here and I am glad for the post.

Marketing tips for your books or manuscripts (Article) - 10/27/2009 5:40:34 PM
Good article, Jake...you've outlined some informative points. Self-promotion and marketing is the key to success. Another good marketing strategy, like you do, is for authors to edit books! I am very pleased with your Sage Words Services and the professional copy editing you did on my books Blue Corn Woman and Dominga Rio of Cuero by Sage Sweetwater and Blue Sleighty. Be well, Jake. Love, Sage

Killer submission letters to agents and publishers (Article) - 7/25/2009 8:32:13 PM
I cannot agree with you more. I too receive and review book proposals for cheriton house publsihing pty ltd. People repeatedly send in emailed submissions even though I don't accept electronic submissions. They also do not send what is asked for, set it out badly (as you say) or send in badly written rubbish that I can't even read. I received a submission last week of 2 FULL manuscripts from the same would-be author. Both manuscripts were formatted badly, extremely badly written, the paper was crumpled and the first page of the first chapter of one of them had a food stain on it (looked like a finger print in baked bean juice). I threw the whole lot in the bin and then went and washed my hands. Sadly, the great submissions are few and far between. But all publishing companies put up submission guidelines on their web sites which must be followed because if they don't, the author's work will be instantly rejected. Why? Because busy publishers and editors don't have time to waste and so will reject something rather than struggle with it. So when sending in query letters and manuscripts, it's so vitally important to read and follow the submission guidelines to ensure that you give your work the best chance of being published and that your work at least gets read and not tossed straight in the bin.

Killer submission letters to agents and publishers (Article) - 3/26/2008 1:40:00 PM
Wow! Great advice, Jake. Now, if I know I've got the format right, the spelling and grammar are perfect, and the editor sends me a hand-written note saying "more rising action," should I take that as a gold star, meaning "one more try"?

Florida politics in the news again (Article) - 3/13/2008 4:54:17 PM
Long As Greed Mongering $ Corporate America Rules (Politicians) Country,i.e. THERE ARE NO RULES... Less Your Vote Doesn't Mean Thing... TRASK

Navarette's rant about giving illigals rights (Article) - 11/27/2007 11:29:24 AM
Great and timely article! It's just common sense really...don't break our laws. Otherwise, we welcome you with open arms and hearts! Chrissy

Navarette's rant about giving illigals rights (Article) - 11/20/2007 9:50:07 AM
AMEN!!!!!!!! Thank you, Jake, for speaking what's on the minds of many. ENOUGH'S ENOUGH. My twin can't get disability: not disabled enough. A law breaker can get it. I served my country, and can't get decent medical care. A lawbreaker can get it. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. And then we cater to them in their own language: press 'one' for English, 'two' por espanol. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!

Navarette's rant about giving illigals rights (Article) - 11/20/2007 9:45:11 AM
*APPLAUSE*

Pardon me (Article) - 6/9/2007 6:54:23 PM
So very to the point. I had a friend once tell me that she didn't vote because "it doesn't do any good because they just cheat anyway." I told her that was a poor excuse because: 1. It's the only voice we've got, and 2. It only took five minutes for me to cast my vote last election. I'm sure she's 'wasted' more time in line at the grocery store, why not give the vote a chance? Great article! Chrissy

The Killers amongst us (Article) - 4/10/2007 2:17:17 PM
Good article. Elizabeth

The Killers amongst us (Article) - 3/18/2007 7:38:06 AM
Very powerful, though provoking article. Chrissy

The Killers amongst us (Article) - 3/15/2007 9:45:46 AM
interesting and thought provoking read, jake; very well done as always! they were trained to kill; no two ways about it! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :(

Terrorism and religion (Article) - 3/13/2007 12:26:46 AM
Jake, this is a wonderful article on the subject. I really appreciate your understanding that it is power that uses religion as a tool. I believe that power players in the world really know this but to the public they always put religion on the forefront. Kindly quote this article at many places as you could.

Terrorism and religion (Article) - 10/5/2006 1:41:51 PM
Finally some one who has the words for what has been running through my mind. In small words, Thank you.

Terrorism and religion (Article) - 9/3/2006 11:56:12 PM
An excellent article. Most don't have the balls to criticize the corruption of religions. The superstition that "God will get you if you do," weighs heavily on the superstitious and the needy. I don't think God is amused. Elizabeth

Terrorism and religion (Article) - 9/2/2006 4:32:33 AM
Yes, very timely. And a very good article.

Flesh Eating Bacteria (Article) - 7/22/2006 8:34:51 AM
I also got this, I recently donated my kidney to my brother, I got very bad pain and a high fever 2 days after, If it wasnt for my brothers doctor insisting on a xray I would of been dead, They needed to take alot of my skin away and I got a graft. Is the hospital responsible? Do I have a law suit? I thought this was caused by not sanitary conditions.

American's fund terrorists every day (Article) - 6/24/2006 11:21:41 AM
Did not realize this! I'll drive on by and give them the 'ole rasberries...

American's fund terrorists every day (Article) - 6/23/2006 8:29:36 AM
An eye opening and needed write; nice to see you again, Jake! You have been missed! Very well done; bravo! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

American's fund terrorists every day (Article) - 6/21/2006 6:08:43 PM
So What Else Is New-Huh... Great Eye Opener... TRASK

Bigotry in the adoption process (Article) - 4/28/2006 5:23:00 PM
Like so many religions, they pick and choose which passages they want to obey or disobey and how they choose to interpet them. A couple of 18 year old girls who'd been in the foster care system their entire lives stated that 'they would've rather had any parents, even gay parents, just to have someone there for them.' Once they were out of foster care they had no one. No family and no support system. I don't think any God would agree with such cruelty, this is man's hatred and fear of diversity...

Flesh Eating Bacteria (Article) - 2/23/2006 2:48:29 PM
informative article, glad you are recovering well

Flesh Eating Bacteria (Article) - 2/19/2006 6:26:39 PM
(((Jake))) MY GOD, that you survived such a horrible illness makes you a walking Miracle, especially since it affected your head and neck! YIKES! A powerful surivor's story in the true sense of the word; you may have saved some lives today! God be with you, and may you help others through your terrifying experience! BRAVO!! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :0 (Stunned at the stark, yet true, reality of what you went through; who ever thought that a simple spider bite could turn into something so lethal?? WOWW!!)

Flesh Eating Bacteria (Article) - 2/19/2006 6:17:17 PM
Jake, A powerful testimony and warning to not let unusual symptoms go by without medical attention; one's life could be at stake. Well researched, from experience and through NFF's detailed website. You, my friend, are indeed blessed to be alive. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Flesh Eating Bacteria (Article) - 2/19/2006 6:06:29 PM
Good heavens! What a terrible ordeal to go through. I printed this out and will read it again, and pay close attention to these types of symptoms.

Crime and Punishment (Article) - 2/1/2006 10:33:26 PM
Very well written. I agree with this in principle, but have mixed feelings in practice. I have often defended the role of the police officer in debates and individual officers through protest. However, I've personally experienced a couple of situations where the police officer absolutely did not offer what we have a right to expect. I think until we find a system for weeding out bad cops, lying attornies, and corrupt systems (and that seems impossible to do in any profession), we must keep an open mind. Especially when capital punishment or life and death situations are involved.

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 10/27/2011 6:31:56 PM
Wow -- I think we've been granted with the gift of your wisdom and a lesson in humanity, just as comment below says.

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 2/26/2011 3:54:44 PM
Very consoling words for those of us who are older. rege

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/26/2011 3:53:45 PM
Nice! I hope my drum keeps right on sounding! rege

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/19/2011 11:36:05 AM
Simple and powerful! Great writing. I was listening to R. Carlos Nakai's powerful flute music the other day and suddenly the drums started. I think it was recorded outdoors in a Canyon. It was so timeless and wonderful that for a moment I forgot what century I was living in. That was refreshing and healing! The Original Music: drums, the wooden flutes, and the chanting of the human voice alone in nature - untutored soul!

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 2/19/2011 11:31:23 AM
"Terror in our home land" - the terror is the insane value that puts money before life... And as the Buffalo die once again at the hands of mostly vicious white hunters (as they did once before) - I ask: when will this stop? Probably only when man realizes he is killing himself as well. Great voice here. Yes, "If Buffalo could read" they would cry but sadly they and our ancient friends the wolves are too busy dying. Sad but true.

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 9/4/2010 10:33:36 AM
Thank you for a lesson in humility. Patrick

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 9/4/2010 10:26:28 AM
No tears here, just warmth. Patrick

Big foot Haiku (Poetry) - 1/17/2009 1:20:27 PM
I want to know and see more! Your writing style unique, don't STOP writing Jake! I am tracking/following your warm heart and soul! WRITE ON! May your 2009 be EnJOYED! Warmest of Blessings, Love and Light, Warrior Purple Passion Lady SHEExooo STay Positive! Through the warmth of inner serenity!

Big foot Haiku (Poetry) - 10/13/2008 9:47:50 AM
A lot said in a few words. I am 1/4 Cherokee Indian. Welcome to AD. Sandy

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 9/1/2008 3:40:22 AM
I believe that you are a great warrior also. The Great Spirit is wisdom, compassion and love. Thank you for this beautiful telling of what a warrior is. Peace, love, and light, Amber "V"

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 8/15/2008 9:18:00 AM
The rhythm in this poem speaks as clearly as do the words. The desire to comfort and be comforted is as universal as the certainty of physical death. We long to hear our loved ones after they depart this life and your poem does that.

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 5/22/2008 7:14:04 AM
What a great outlook you have on life and the afterlife. Sounds as if you are truly a man of God. Take care and stay well.

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 5/4/2008 11:36:32 PM
Osio Perfectly expressed, Jake. We are not what we fight. We are the way we walk, being the bridge, not the abyss, being the hope, not the pride. Those who know - will understand. Ted

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 5/3/2008 6:10:26 AM
What a beautiful tribute to your father. Yes the Great Spirit will embrace him and he is learning all that we seek now here on Earth. Rise to Sister Moon and Father Sky, Mother Earth and Brother Wind, for they embrace his spirit and transcended his journey with loving energy. Much peace, love, and light, Amber "V" Moonstone

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 10/13/2007 7:51:18 PM
Meaning and purpose are often forgotten in a hectic, modern, schizophrenic lifestyle. Your poem shows us that within a different belief and culture, everything can be interpreted and lived in a different way. Well done, Axilea

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 7/31/2007 5:01:37 AM
Loved this, brought tears to my eyes

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 7/31/2007 4:59:47 AM
well written, well done...

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 7/5/2007 10:13:00 AM
So true, as I have been gifted with a disease I did learn I was a warrior. It did a lot of positive things for me in my life. Made me a better person and I feel a warrior.

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 7/1/2007 9:14:52 AM
YOU Spoke/wrote a WArrior with great depth. WArrior, NOT only a Word is for certain! YOU must have it in your soul and endure much *( as you stated) The torture I went through, makes the Warrior I am today~ A Warrior is a Survivor with a BiG Heart for ALL~ YOU! are ONE by what you have endured! When it doesn't break you ~ it makes you stronger and Wiser! This is gem I will cherish, a treasure I will keep! Thank you for sharing your heart and Soul! so Openly! WArmly, Warrior "Spirit" Lady Sheeeoox STay POsitive! STay SAFE! God Bless! Amen! To read my Warrior's LifeStory, *(when time allows) READ about #55 or so down, "MY Mom's Husband" and about #40 or so "The Name DAD Should be Love" I honor your heart Warrior Jake~!

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 6/7/2007 4:47:06 AM
So beautifully worded and expressed! It was a truly awesome reading experience and I gleaned a blessing from it. SC

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 5/21/2007 11:21:10 PM
To walk the warrior path one must face darkness as well as light. The warriors path is full of compassion for humanity. Thanks for sharing your pathway to the Great Spirit. I too walk the warrior path and I honor you as a fellow writer and warrior

Big foot Haiku (Poetry) - 4/25/2007 4:24:03 PM
I see him!

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 4/23/2007 9:49:07 PM
Brilliant, with a capital B Gerald J Tate

night time healing Haiku (Poetry) - 4/10/2007 2:18:02 PM
And it does heal, doesn't it. Enjoyed. Elizabeth

Big foot Haiku (Poetry) - 4/10/2007 2:16:09 PM
Enjoyed.

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 4/7/2007 7:05:07 PM
Thank you for sharing these soul stirring sentiments. Love and peace, Regis

Big foot Haiku (Poetry) - 4/7/2007 7:03:42 PM
Sasquatch in the woods Elusive and shadowy You keep us guessing Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this magical creature. Love and peace, Regis

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 2/20/2007 8:43:03 PM
This made me cry. I thought of my father. I wished his words were as true as your father's. These words are beautiful. They are the sky, the rain, the morning dew. They are you.

Big foot Haiku (Poetry) - 1/27/2007 9:19:16 AM
And he watches.......us. :) Captivating, Jake! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 1/18/2007 5:03:38 PM
What a WArm Feeling here! I liked this Alot! Thank you for sharing your Soul Jake~ Never read you before- I will again... Come to my corner of the den, when you can! Have an Enjoyable New Year! WArmest Blessings and HuGs,WArrior Sheee (To read "My MOm's Husband" and "The Name DAD Should be Love"- would explain Warrior title for me)~

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 1/4/2007 8:47:43 PM
Sometimes in life we get things that we dont want to accept at first, but if we decide to act smart on that we realize that thanks to what has happend to us has made us the way we are and we are lucky to have this because not everyone has the opportunity to fight against it, which ends up making us stronger inside.

Big foot Haiku (Poetry) - 12/22/2006 2:32:21 PM
I love tales of this illusive creature. Good Haiku. Chrissy

Big foot Haiku (Poetry) - 12/15/2006 8:55:54 PM
Haiku at its best! Big Foot is just hiding out until we can learn to respect such diversity~ :)Smiles to you! Love and Peace~ Kimmy~

Big foot Haiku (Poetry) - 12/5/2006 6:18:01 AM
Very nice

Big foot Haiku (Poetry) - 12/4/2006 8:33:02 PM
Voyeuristic ku, Jake, the nature of the beast and the shoe is on the other big foot...watching is how we learn about Yeti and tribal curiosities, I see your headdress feathers from my peeking...the video you emailed me is Awesome...I passed it on to a few...thanks for all you do for me, Jake...Blessed Be. Sage

Big foot Haiku (Poetry) - 12/4/2006 1:10:25 PM
Very nice, Jake -- you captured the theme perfectly! Warmest regards, CJ

night time healing Haiku (Poetry) - 11/20/2006 9:17:43 PM
Superb! I love great short poems. I venture to hope that we all heal during sleep. Thank you, DL Mullan

night time healing Haiku (Poetry) - 11/16/2006 4:38:05 PM
Wonderful Haiku Chrissy

night time healing Haiku (Poetry) - 11/15/2006 12:16:09 AM
Like the title of your newly-released book says, Jake, A New Dawn. Mother Nature scabs over during those early morning hours. Native salves, ointments, and herbal balms, sweetgrass and sage escort us into a new day...always a pleasure to read your work, Jake...again, thanks for linking me to your 'Grandfather's Song' page. I have referred many to your page. I listen to the Thunderbird Sisters music you sent me Sweet Jesus and it lifts my spirit. Hache Hi Naad...Blessed Be my dear friend from the Lenape Tribe Turtle Clan... Love and Ancestor Light, Sage

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 6/14/2006 8:54:35 AM
WOW THIS IS DEEP AND WELL WRITTEN MY FELLOW POET KUDOS TO YA!

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 4/1/2006 11:08:18 AM
Your verses share the energy within you most effectively, Jake. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/21/2006 5:32:33 PM
I can hear the drums and feel them as well. Well done.

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/19/2006 5:18:13 AM
A singular, powerful write, Jake George. Bravo. Peace.

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/19/2006 3:22:48 AM
The sound of the drum is a wonderful thing; as are POW WOWs.

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 9:25:46 PM
i enjoyed this poem and felt its spirit,thank you for sharing! Eileen

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 8:33:55 PM
Thank you for this heart touching reminder. I have lost family to cancer too and it helps to know they are in a better place :-) Cheers!

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 8:31:51 PM
Insightful write!

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 8:29:44 PM
The joy of sharing such a gift is indeed a blessing isn't it? In this past year I recieved new eyesight! I share all I know with anyone interested and like you have been given many gifts in my lifetime to share. I salute the warrior within you! Thank you for this uplifting reminder :-)

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 8:24:06 PM
I have felt the pow wow but have never been to one. I intend to have this experience. Thank you for this sharing.

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 7:44:12 PM
Jake, I don't know if I'd want Buffalo to read. If he could, he'd see the mess white men have made of his land, his kind...let him live as he always has, in peace, at one with Nature and the Great Spirit. A thought provoking, well written poem. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. If I may, I'd like to track you--is that all right with you?

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 7:41:46 PM
Jake, A shining tribute to your father. Very well penned...you honor him with your words. Bless you, my friend, and thank you. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 4:57:05 PM
Jake, Having attended a pow-wow, and participating in the "friendship dance," I can attest to how the drums move the soul. Beautifully penned tribute to Native American culture. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 4:44:50 PM
Pow Wows are always inspiring! Wonderful.

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 4:40:15 PM
Jake, I would love to attend a Native American pow-wow; I think that would be too cool! :) Wonderful write; very well done! I am saving this one to read again and again! (((HUGS))) and love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 4:22:33 PM
Hache Hi Naad, (Wolf song in Arapahoe) I sent some sage smoke up for you Jake. Pounding my hand drum with a coyote bone. Trickster coyote is playing tag out in my meadow. It's as if she can hear your drum beat all the way from Florida. I am into your ebook and then I received your hardback 'Grandfather's Song' in the mail today! It will make reading easier when I am away from my computer. Thanks Jake George. Blessed Be. Sage

The Drum Beat of life (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 4:09:23 PM
Yes, I can tell by you words in this souldful poem that you were still running on high after the Pow Wow. Good.

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 2/11/2006 1:59:00 PM
You, Sir, are a Warrior of the highest grade. You refused to give into the disease and wallow in self pity. Very meaningful, uplifting poetry; bless you! I am saving this to refer to again and again. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 1/27/2006 9:08:37 PM
Good thing buffalo can't read Jake! Might be they read about the Great Buffalo Jump that slung them off the cliffs to their death. Pretty much the way modern-day society runs our military men and women into the trenches of war, killing them off. Good poem! Sage

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 12/17/2005 12:10:38 PM
When it comes to making sense, the 'human' animal is clueless...

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 12/13/2005 12:47:55 PM
I agree with your idea of what a warrior truly is. I'm enjoying reading your book 'Grandfather's Song'. The lady at the Blue Moon bookstore here in N.C. said she also ordered two for the shelf! Best of luck and I pray you are able to write many, many more books and short stories.

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 8/6/2005 8:20:48 AM
Thank you for this uplifting and awesome write of how Great Creator Spirit is, and how well those who know him can give inspiration to others, as you have done with this splendid poem! Yes you are a true warrior and one we all can learn from! Eileen

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 8/6/2005 5:05:28 AM
You are definitely one of life's valiant warriors, Jake, and this is a marvelous poem.

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 8/5/2005 8:39:53 PM
i think they are blessed for they can't read.. they do not have to worry about the nation's crisis.. ypu did a great job sewing the lines of your poem and trying to expand it... nice poem..

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 8/5/2005 8:36:20 PM
this was tremendously insightful, and expertly told. i'm often amazed how often people instantly equate "warrior" with "war". the true warrior commits to actions fearlessly, and with honorable passion; this includes acts of kindness and mercy, not just violence. this can be seen over and over agian in the warriors of all world cultures: the natives of america, the masai of africa, the samurai, the teutonic knights of europe, the maori of new zealand; the list is endless. all had the same aspects of warriordom in common: honesty, virtue, courage (not blind bravery), and compassion. it's a shame the term "warrior" is so misunderstood. from a modern day follower of bushido. with respects, alex

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 8/5/2005 8:32:44 PM
what is a warrior??... he is someone that can understand others.. despite physical features.. he is someone who is compassionate.. someone that do not think how to be one..

What is a warrior (Poetry) - 8/5/2005 6:31:27 PM
you are an excellent warrior with an outstanding compassionate poem of wisdom...

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 6/4/2005 6:24:09 AM
I do like this..indeed I do! Well written.. Vesna*

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 3/12/2005 2:00:49 PM
I totally agree that man was a fool, to make marks on paper... a valuable "tool" was lost - family pride in telling their stories...

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 2/22/2005 7:35:03 AM
Very excellent poetry about your father! Leslie

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 2/7/2005 9:25:16 PM
i like this

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 2/7/2005 9:24:31 PM
i like this

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 1/19/2005 5:16:13 PM
I think they may say."ear oye I ain't a buffalo, I'm a bison"

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 1/19/2005 11:07:11 AM
they suffered enough without having to read man's justification for his actions

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 1/19/2005 6:16:14 AM
Sometimes I truly believe animals are blessed - since they can't read.

If Buffalo could read (Poetry) - 1/18/2005 7:21:34 PM
This is very poignant and spoken like a true brother in the Indian nation.

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 1/17/2005 10:47:37 AM
outstanding job on this, jake! wonderful tribute to your daddy; his spirit will live on! (((HUGS))) and love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :( >tears <

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 1/4/2005 6:03:17 PM
beautiful

Do Not Cry (Poetry) - 12/30/2004 9:27:09 PM
This is very beautifully crafted, and I love the mystical sentiments that flow through this wonderful tribute to your father! I'm sure he would be proud of what you have written!

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.