AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Patricia Hilliard, iRegis Schilken, iKen Brosky, iAudrey Coatesworth, iLannah Sawers-Diggins, iDr. Ronald Bissell, iCarl David, i
 
Home > Hilding Lindquist
 

Recent Reviews for Hilding Lindquist


A playground story (Short Story) - 8/6/2006 10:49:28 AM
Hilding, Great idea! I don't know how to get the book there but it's so nice to see you on the board! Cynthia

Choices (Short Story) - 12/31/2005 10:15:21 PM
I love anything related to Choices. Good write Hilding.

Hunting the Road Kill Moose (Short Story) - 12/22/2005 6:59:24 PM
well done

Choices (Short Story) - 2/10/2005 3:23:38 PM
well done

In the face of fear, have we lost our reason? (Article) - 11/19/2006 2:18:47 PM
Hi Gus, The theme of "reason" vs "fear" in America is also theme in a chapter the recent book "Soelve" (Gyldendal 2006) by the author Suzanne Broegger Zeruneith. I think her opinion is in good agreement with yours, at least it give a Scandinavian perspective. Here it is in my translation, which is probably far from perfect: -o- In Kalundborg the five towered church built by Esbern Snare in the 12th century can be found. It is one of the oldest churches in Denmark. And in the house right next to it, the nobel prize winner Sigrid Undset was born in 1882. When you come from the jungle, you invariably find a provincial town as Kalundborg to be adorable. But almost no one who grew up in such a town, can stomach their origin. Sigrid Undset referred to her town of birth as «the hole of Kalundborg» and moved to Norway becoming one of the most secretive writers in the Nordic countries. She refused to give interviews and shunned all opportunities of public appearances. Whenever the world press would come to Scandinavia, Karen Blixen was more than eager to greet them, but it was impossible to get the Norwegian daughter of Kalundborg to speak. She has no sense of humor, the former said of the latter. But she had as least as much courage. Undset was scarred for life in her own manner. In May 1940 she writes of the son she lost to the Norwegian resistance against the German occupation. She writes that in Norway they are, despite everything, happy that they did not have to surrender without a fight, as the Danes had to. She here thinks of her cousin, a danish officer, who was just as proud and eager to fight as her son Anders, who, in her opinion, had the best lot since he was given the opportunity to do so. There is a picture of her, standing as a farmers wife with a scarf on her head overlooking the mountain pasture. There she sees the clouds and the shadows of all of those who gave their lives for the country. And she writes that the blue shadows under the clouds will always be there and move across the plains. However dismissive Sigrid Undset was towards the public, she, as so many other Scandinavians behaved completely different when she came abroad. After the participation of her son in the resistance force, and due to her own staunch opposition towards nazism since the early 1930s, the house of Undset was confiscated by the Germans and she had to leave Norway. Sigrid Undset writes home from New York, and here is a letter she sent from New York written at the time of the American election in 2004: -o- I have experienced the day on which the foundations of the world were changed. For many months the hope has still been alive. People had traveled, in particularly to Ohio, in order to ring door-bells, and they had sent their savings to the Kerry-campaign, simply to avoid the worst case scenario: Re-election of Bush in 2004. As if the first period, the coup, had not been misery enough. While the American soap-opera-culture has spread all across the world, the world does not know America! It is a tell-tale sign for USA that the voting is done in churches. In other countries, voting is mostly done in schools, which signals that both the electoral process and the democracy are based on reason, knowledge, and argumentation. Here in USA democracy, apparently, is a matter of faith, carried by emotion, passion, fear, revenge, and hope. If Bush were to be re-elected, we would definitively have left the society of science and ventured into the society of faith. From America, the guardian of democracy, they can go to the moon and invent the internet. However, they find it difficult to vote, both practically and logistically. In New York, where I lived – Kerryland – the line only reached a few blocks down the street, and people exchanged friendly newyorkian small talk or were reading – exactly «The New Yorker». Both the intelligence and the level of education in N. Y. are extreme. But, many other places in the country people had to stand in line for six to eight hours, and it is unlike Americans to have patience for that. Despite this, the election participation this time was higher than ever. There was a sense – from all sides, but in very different ways – that here something fundamental was at stake. The world, as we have known it. The right wing voted in fear of homosexual marriage, free abortion and (other forms of) terrorism – high above the economic realities. My liberal friends voted in fear of losing the world they had known. They did not want to let go of the progresses of Franklin Roosevelt, the civil rights and social justice. They did not want to give up the hope that America could play a constructive role in the world. The election night of my friends reminded me of a Woody Allen-party, as on the silver screen, with authors, artists, media celebrities, buddhists and philosophers, and, with an excessive – simple – food, delivered at the door. It started in a light mood – as a charm – while the CNN-flicker persisted with its bad numbers, which at the party continuously were dismissed only being for the states already known to be red. But, as the evening commenced, people sneaked home in the hope that the numbers, magically, would change over night, while they slept, in a re-count. Many had their radio and TV-sets running all night; Rockefeller Plaza was like a morgue. We awoke to a changed world in which thinking, analysis and arguments were swapped with the faith in the strong man – who to the thoughtful appeared to be so weak. A puppet, who was only strong to the moral majority because he moved in such a well choreographed manner across the screen, as the sheriff in a western, and who claimed to be directly connected to god. Or rather God. He had run on the theme «moral values», as if it was moral to lie (Iraq) and steal (oil) and see your enemy in your neighbor (the axis of evil). This moral empowerment, mimed by Bush, was the expression of an undeniable decadence with respect to the thoughtful, philosophical considerations that originated in the United States of the age of enlightenment with the declaration of independence: "I left my book by an open door". Now this book was as closed and sealed as the testament of Christ. The next morning the score was clear. Early in the morning Kerry went bust, phoned Bush and congratulated. Kerry's address of loss was weak, pure sentimentality, not worthy of a statesman. It was clear that he was not, and never had a political alternative to Bush, that he from the very beginning had clung so closely to his rival that there was no real hope for changing USA, and thereby changing the relationship between America and the rest of the world. An atmosphere of mental civil war arose. Between, on one side the «blue» stripes by the coasts and the gigantic foreign «red» country in the middle. Kalundborg magnum. The people in the «blue» started saying: «One thing is that Bush won. That is bad enough. But to live in a country with people who voted for him.» Some had sworn that they would emigrate. And the frightening clear-sightedness arose that you were living in a country with people that you had nothing in common with. But a political campaign that actually reflected this abysmal difference had not been followed through. Now the people in the blue land started fretting that the terrorism in the world would grow further, and that that would be the excuse to suspend habeas corpus and institute martial law. Not only in Iraq, but also in America. The patriot act would be expanded and undermine the common civil rights. You would be forced to have ID-badges with finger prints, both the senate and the congress would recognize this development, and in case of doubt, a newly appointed supreme court would decide matters. Goodbye to womens rights and self-influence with respect to reproduction – a parenthesis in history. Those who are old enough to remember Roosevelt and the social progress from then can only watch, shake their heads, and see all of that disappear in one night. That morning Don De Lillo called Philip Roth and said: «This is the conspiracy against America» – the title of the latest book of Roth, in which Charles Lindbergh is elected president, and, in which nazism takes charge together with the prosecutions of the jews. But it was not only a conspiracy against America, it is something America has done to itself. And it did not happen over night. It has happened gradually and suddenly, as Hemingway puts it. Some say that a movement to the right has taken place for the last 30 years, ever since the height of the anti-war movement. Under the surface the insurrection was lurking, the hidden racism. The unwillingness to paying tax for poor immigrants, the anger towards crime, drugs, porn, gay marriage, free abortion, and feminism – in brief: All the things that would not be tolerated in an islamic state. It was Nixon's silent majority, which now, at last, had a voice. Those, whom for decades have had to endure seeing how the flag was desecrated and burned repeatedly. Those, who for years had suffered in silence under the affections of the cultural elite. This cultural battle is a re-formulation of the confrontation between the social classes. And, it is the path of populism to speak for the common American without dragging these «values» in doubt, and indeed, keep the people common and starve them culturally. The new century was a reaction towards the unintended side-effects of modernity from the unproblematic secularization. The twentieth century saw the victory of the cities, while the proletariate in the country-side lived in the shadows. The twentieth century did not only see two world-wars, but also the emancipation of all, which before had been suppressed, denied and forbidden. The ghetto-jews went via the gas chambers straight into their own new state, where they became a new master race; women, who before had been in the shadow of the man, now demanded to perform topless whenever they pleased, and, at the same time to have the right to become bank managers; and, the homosexuals were not content with minding their own business, they should be at center stage with «gay pride» – and the blessing of the church in addition. They did not want to be outsiders, but mainstream. And while the storm was moving badges, the muslims in the western world had taken over the enemy position left open when the jews had moved on. They were now in the shadows. During those circumstances it felt a little absurd, on the following evening, to go to a Proust-evening in New York Public Library. However, it came to show, remarkably, that an evening with Proust, purely mentally, was exactly the cure against the puppet in Texas and his «moral values». In the news-addicted society of today, in which the individual is an endangered species, Proust is about being an outsider. «In search of lost time» is about the historical remembrance – which in the society of today has been assigned to the realm of shadows. -o- It is a somewhat surrealistic and anachronistic twist that Mrs. Broegger Zeruneith recites this letter from Sigrid Undset, since it of course is very unlikely that a 122 year old Undset was in New York in November 2004, however, it is written in a nice sharp and clear tongue and it does invoke a certain sense of synchronicity. The final emphasis on «historical remembrance» in the letter above is the main theme in the «bog» (the danish word for book) of Broegger, which is a memoir of the last 8000 years of danish history. She sees this historical, or cultural, remembrance is a good antidote against the sectarian clustering and streamlining of opinions that is an unfortunate side-effect of academia.

Some thoughts on old age and dying ... (Article) - 7/4/2006 4:16:43 AM
Good thoughts Hilding. I too grew up in an evangelical family and spent much of my life shaking off the fear and self-hatred. I wrote a novel that is partly about a child's view of all of this as he grows up. Your "retirement plan" traveling in Alaska and elsewhere sounds great. I will be retiring next summer. Malcolm Watts

Am I a Christian Existentialist? (Article) - 10/29/2005 10:15:19 AM
Hmm - deep. It is not necessary to believe in God to be a Christian of course - and anyone who disagrees with me on that may have looked at the Bible but they have not READ it. Jesus was not a Jew but an Essene and what we know of them suggests that they were a Brahnamistic sect rather that Hermetic Jews. In this case then, the God of Jesus is the purely meditative, abstract god of Buddah and Gandhi, and not the physical presence riding round the sky in a chariot of fire as described by Ezekiel. The Ancient learned men of British, Irish and Norse culture also held Brahmanistic beliefs, they belived in The One, the universality of which we are all a manifestation. So mythologically and historically you are on solid ground here. Ian

Harriet Miers? Why Harriet Miers? (Article) - 10/18/2005 3:28:51 AM
interesting read ... agree with one light 'If a business person were to hire someone with no experience for a top position (like Bush has done more than once now), that person would be seen as incompetent and incapable of being in a position of such authority. '

Harriet Miers? Why Harriet Miers? (Article) - 10/16/2005 1:57:11 AM
Bush is an idiot. Instead of "praying for" he "preys on" and every word out of his mouth is pure sanctimonious BS. Sad thing is, last election it really wasn't much of a choice among any of the candidates. All we do not need in this country is another one of his bible thumping friends screwing the public under the guise of Christian Fellowship. God is having a heart attack.

Harriet Miers? Why Harriet Miers? (Article) - 10/15/2005 6:33:36 PM
Makes sense, but I think you've been far too generous with Karl Rove, who was also an unqualified cronie.

All that is left is for the last soldier to die. (Article) - 10/15/2005 8:24:26 AM
Your poem reveals the startling truth. If we were truly concerned about "terrorism", we would have taken a much different approach. Now, the US is seen by many people all around the world as being the "terrorist". Who can blame them for the negative perceptions they now have of Americans? It's an imperialist, nationalist picture which we've allowed to be painted of ourselves. Thanks for unveiling this ugly portrait, Joseph

In the face of fear, have we lost our reason? (Article) - 10/15/2005 8:12:17 AM
The United States no longer has a government "of the people, by the people and for the people" because the American public has relinquished their rights and responsibilities either by not voting or by voting in a way that simply advances and promotes their own special interests, regardless of the long-term consequences upon society as a whole. Thanks for the wake-up call which I hope many will heed, Joseph

Harriet Miers? Why Harriet Miers? (Article) - 10/15/2005 8:02:06 AM
If a business person were to hire someone with no experience for a top position (like Bush has done more than once now), that person would be seen as incompetent and incapable of being in a position of such authority. Thanks for being a voice for the people, Joseph

I am an existentialist (Article) - 9/26/2005 2:16:50 PM
wonderful talent you have...

I am an existentialist (Article) - 9/26/2005 1:52:37 AM
Interesting article. My personal opinion is that "You have a choice" is a generalization. It varies from issue to issue and many times you don't really have a chance. Existentialism is an interesting theory. However unless it allieviates human suffering and helps solving personal problems, some of the features of such theories are intellectual gymnastics. Philosophers also need to be practical.

Am I a Christian Existentialist? (Article) - 9/18/2005 3:07:17 PM
This is a very informative article. Existentialism is a subject that we should not be afraid to study. However, I prefer to just say I am a Christain who have different choices and I must take responsibility for my behavior and feelings. Thanks, Betty

Am I a Christian Existentialist? (Article) - 9/17/2005 8:44:29 PM
Extremely interesting article, Hilding. So much to think about in here. I love the final paragraph, as it explains my beliefs. I fear the idea that everyone is trying to become the God who wants others to bow at his feet in adoration while he strikes out entire civilizations of people as a lesson.

Nick's Deli is closed (Article) - 9/14/2005 9:38:01 PM
What? No Pickle! Thanks for a move-forward and start the day ahead kick. I needed that today. Cynthia

Old, poor, and chronically ill in New Jersey (Article) - 9/14/2005 3:43:42 PM
my word

Nick's Deli is closed (Article) - 9/14/2005 3:36:59 PM
well done

Old, poor, and chronically ill in New Jersey (Article) - 9/2/2005 8:50:10 AM
rant on, hilding; i hear you, loud and clear. you are in my prayers! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :( >tears < i am middle aged, but i am poor and i have a chronic illness myself, but God gets me through my days, bad AND good.

Old, poor, and chronically ill in New Jersey (Article) - 9/2/2005 12:39:43 AM
Never, NEVER do the 'responsible thing' once you go on dialysis... it screws everybody up! :) I've been on dialysis for the past 13 years and have seen my share of medical and insurance idiocy-- it makes you wonder if they hope you'll quit treatment because of all the b.s. they throw in your path.

Old, poor, and chronically ill in New Jersey (Article) - 9/1/2005 10:36:58 PM
Hilding, Ain't it the pits? The health care system in this country needs a major overhaul. Smile, at least you can still vent! Cynthia

I am poor (Article) - 8/21/2005 6:08:35 PM
Hilding, Isn't it great to be the poor-man-rich-man! Less stress, more experiences, tremendous appreciation of life. Cynthia

I am poor (Article) - 8/20/2005 8:39:21 AM
i am poor too, but God gets me through my struggles. Ecxellent write, Hilding! (((HUGS))) ane love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

I am poor (Article) - 8/19/2005 4:04:47 PM
~I owe more than I own~ By this definition, most American's are very poor. Of course, most don't recognize it in themselves, because they think what they've charged is theirs and look down at the 'poor' people who only have what they've paid for - strange people we are. ~my placement on the poor to rich spectrum of ownership (or any other positioning relative to others) does not affect the intrinsic value of my individual human life~ - this is my philosophy, also. I'm much 'richer' than most people who own more than I do, because I'm happy with or without things. Nice article. Well written and meaningful.

I am poor (Article) - 8/19/2005 3:05:23 PM
"The Elephant in the Dark Room"--you've been reading Rumi, I'd guess. :-) Being poor is certainly nothing to be ashamed of. Being rich on the other hand--while the very poor are starving--is certainly something to be ashamed of. New Mercedes--or stop 1,000 children from starving.

I am poor (Article) - 8/19/2005 12:18:14 PM
DEEP thought! I love the write. You're richer than you can ever imagine. But, you know that already.

Some thoughts on old age and dying ... (Article) - 8/11/2005 3:46:51 AM
interesting article

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 4/22/2007 8:04:47 PM
my friend...it seems we have never learned...you hit that correctly in this. Splendid work here.

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 1/18/2007 6:24:40 PM
i like the lines...we go about our lives..... so much of the time i think we do this--good reminder

A question from when I was young (Poetry) - 1/18/2007 6:22:37 PM
i agree-thought provoking...well done

A thought on the spiraling violence of my world (Poetry) - 1/18/2007 6:20:02 PM
i enjoyed reading your profile page--your work seems powerful

A thought on the spiraling violence of my world (Poetry) - 10/26/2006 10:03:35 PM
We are, after all in the middle of our own evolution,if we are indeed in the image of ,well, you know...it would be ignorant to think we're the "finished" product.So, don't despair my fellow poet-we are a humanity-not yet achieved.

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 10/26/2006 9:54:20 PM
There you are...I think I was looking for you!...,Sylvia

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/23/2006 5:48:29 PM
This is insightful and very true never no undoing it....

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 6/2/2006 11:50:05 AM
The history of mankind is strewn with the jetsom and flotsam of bad choices. Based on the past, as a logical deduction, we have nothing but more of the same in the future. Here's to hoping that logical deductions have flaws! Richard

A thought on the spiraling violence of my world (Poetry) - 3/29/2006 9:00:11 PM
Fear is useless - Love is needed

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 3/29/2006 8:57:46 PM
War accomplishes nothing - It is evil against good - Satan is the leader against the people of God - The people must pray and work together to break the bond being used to destroy the world in which we live.

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 3/29/2006 8:49:02 PM
True, there is no undoing it but the question is, Where is it taking us and when and how will the end come?

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 1/31/2006 8:55:59 PM
I believe that anyone who terrorises peopledoes not come from God, because God is Love. So I believe any evil of this magnitude is driven by evil himself. Good question sir! I'm not the president, but sometimes I wish that I were, but yet God is the one who appoints the leaders, and I'm sure he's the only one who really understands why! Leslie

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 11/19/2005 5:03:31 AM
You see what you want to see, not reality.

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/31/2005 10:29:17 AM
It has been done. It is being done. It will be done. There is no undoing of it. Ever. Brilliant!!! Vesna:)

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/29/2005 10:04:12 AM
A wise and perceptive piece. I can't agree with the coments that say "yeah, but...yeah, but..." a wrong never puts right a wrong. And anyway, as I have known for two and a half years and everybody in America is now becoming aware, the case for going to war was a total fabrication. The reason Saddam was not overthrown earlier was that European intelligence warned that if he was removed what followed him would be far worse. Same with Russia, when the US, backed by Britain engineered the downfall of Gorbachev we unleashed chaos in the former Soviet Union. Russia was not ready for democracy. Now I'll have to find out are you a Christian existentialist. love Ian

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 10/18/2005 4:50:27 PM
Who, indeed?! Like a lot of others, I am becoming increasingly terrified of losing the freedoms I was taught m e a n the United States of America. Define it and set it apart. One of the things we learned in school way back in the 40's was that in our country, police do not come crashing into your house." "Books are not censored." "Three separate but equal branches of government." "Separation of church and state." Not a day passes that a new scary law is proposed or put into effect. H E L P!!! Thanks for this very effective reminder that the time to stand up and speak out is NOW. Phyllis

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/11/2005 5:16:16 PM
T o o good. T r u e. You have done an outstanding job of pinpointing the heart of the matter. The facts are chilling. The artistry with which you write about them is inspiring. Thank you. 'Pea' <3

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 10:48:47 PM
Though I abhor war, I wonder why no one ever denounced Saddam Husein when he was killing hundreds of thousands of his own people with chemicals and other tortures, thousands of them babies. Far more thousands than has been killed in the war in Iraq. Also, no one ever says anything about the terrorists and what they are causing all over the world. Why is there so much bias against our country when we were the ones attacked! I'd love to hear your complaints against the osama's of the world too. Thank you! Eileen

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 10:36:43 PM
war is abhorrent no matter who is doing it ... on the evolutionary scale, perhaps war is necessary so we can witness it's futility and collectively overcome it ..

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 7:11:50 PM
thought provoking read

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 6:54:09 PM
It is being done and more will be done if we don't stop it the ashes will sweep Syria and Iran it's time to say NO to war thanks for sharing

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 4:30:04 PM
Yep,There Is No Undoing It -- Now You Can Go To Sleep... TRASK

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 12:22:10 PM
Yes, this reminded me of all those poor dead Iraqis in mass graves- maybe they would have lived if years ago we went there- as a former member of Amnesty International back in 86-88, the people were being tortured by Saddam then- too bad no one was listening, just like with the jews in WW11.

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 10:14:08 AM
A sad truth indeed, Hilding. Man has not seemed to learn anything from the past. War is ever present. This is a time when we ought to be working as a brotherhood to heal the Earth that we have greatly harmed. Thank you for sharing your views; timely and à propos. Love and peace. Regis

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 6:02:04 AM
It seems like that, isn't it? Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o(

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 5:53:01 AM
The comparison of the Germans in the days of the holocousts and to that of us today is totaly reprehensible.

There is no undoing of it (Poetry) - 10/8/2005 5:24:14 AM
A political masterpiece. "There is no undoing of it" says it wise and courageously. This is a fulfilment of Poetry's tasks. I salute You, Poet! Healthy Long Creative Life. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Raking leaves ... (Poetry) - 9/27/2005 10:03:23 AM
Thank you for your reflections. We have much in common besides having lived in Alaska.

Raking leaves ... (Poetry) - 9/19/2005 8:01:39 AM
Delightful offering to a ritual of fall (my favorite season). Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and peace. Regis

A thought on the spiraling violence of my world (Poetry) - 9/19/2005 8:00:15 AM
Compelling thoughts, and point well-made. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and peace. Regis

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 9/19/2005 7:58:38 AM
Pointed questions that elicit thought, Gus. Timely and provocative. Thank you. Love and peace. Regis

A question from when I was young (Poetry) - 9/19/2005 7:56:27 AM
Thought-provoking write on a universal theme (even though this is introspective). Thank you, Gus. Love and peace to you. Regis

A question from when I was young (Poetry) - 9/18/2005 9:42:22 PM
Nice start for writing poetry. I too have one I held on to, called "Being Sixteen." I appreciate your review, and wanted to share in your works of art. Thanks for sharing.

Written on the way home from the Village salon (Poetry) - 9/17/2005 9:23:07 AM
Thought-provokingly philosophical, Hilding. Thank you. Love and peace to you. Regis

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 9/14/2005 3:45:28 PM
good questions

Written on the way home from the Village salon (Poetry) - 9/5/2005 7:18:26 PM
A philosophical poetic excellence through the lines of "Written on the way home from the Village salon". I salute You, Poet! Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Raking leaves ... (Poetry) - 9/2/2005 12:45:21 AM
Yes, there is beauty in a pile of leaves... but beware the hornets who often hide within! :)

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 8/24/2005 1:17:39 PM
A very provoking question God bless you

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 8/20/2005 10:31:30 AM
Good write.Frankly I think that the Americans are to be blame for all the terrorism that's going on today, mainly by ther egotistcal attitude towards the world in general. They feel, in my opinion, that they OWN the world and by using the big stick bullying methods they can control it...a big mistake! Bullying can only be tolerated for so long and like the proverbial worm will turn and defend Its self. Their ARROGANCE is their biggest enemy and NOT the Terrorists.

Written on the way home from the Village salon (Poetry) - 8/15/2005 6:25:22 PM
sometimes thoughts are better left to themselves ... short yet to the point ...

Written on the way home from the Village salon (Poetry) - 8/11/2005 2:02:04 PM
why does it always seem to be that way? You have stated truth in this one! Love,~Leah

Written on the way home from the Village salon (Poetry) - 8/10/2005 6:38:15 PM
takes preparation to be a leader. well done!

Written on the way home from the Village salon (Poetry) - 8/10/2005 12:20:04 PM
Simple and down to earth. Solitude is a thing that helps a poet write effectively. Far from the maddening crowd produces a masterpiece. Aptly captured! Emeka

A question from when I was young (Poetry) - 8/4/2005 3:11:08 PM
Whole Idea Is To Write It Not Dwell On It But To Learn From It.... TRASK

A question from when I was young (Poetry) - 8/4/2005 10:04:17 AM
Very deep write!

A question from when I was young (Poetry) - 8/4/2005 9:19:16 AM
very introspective, well written piece

A question from when I was young (Poetry) - 8/4/2005 7:36:07 AM
Whenever a question of this magnitude strikes the mind, the inner mind already has the answer. "A question from when I was young" flows on to ontologic and teleological seas on waves of the Ocean of mankind. Healthy Long Creative Life, Poet! Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Raking leaves ... (Poetry) - 7/18/2005 8:44:04 PM
A feeling of Nature's mysteries in "Raking leaves..." brings harmony to the inner soul. An enjoyable reading from an inspiring poem. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

A thought on the spiraling violence of my world (Poetry) - 7/18/2005 8:29:00 PM
"A thought on the spiraling violence of my world" inspires deep thoughts and prods the wings of Justice. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 7/12/2005 2:39:07 PM
I agree with Carolyn - more people should be asking these questions, and maybe we should ALL send them to the white house (although no one in this administration would bother trying to answer).

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 7/12/2005 4:24:49 AM
all very good questions, Hilding, but i don't think the prez has any answers for you... more people should be asking these questions. hope you send this write on to the white house. well done.

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 7/11/2005 3:50:45 PM
Impressive composition. It is a poem that prods imagination, and strikes social responsibility. "Who are the terrorists, Mr. President?"... A true poetical grand. Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Who are the terrorists, Mr. President? (Poetry) - 7/11/2005 3:33:56 PM
Thought provoking, excellent write--very well expressed questions. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :(

A thought on the spiraling violence of my world (Poetry) - 7/9/2005 10:02:25 PM
relays the idea effectively ...

A thought on the spiraling violence of my world (Poetry) - 7/9/2005 1:08:47 PM
Yes, hatred is a leech which attaches itself to the soul and sucks out the light of the spirit. Blessings, Joseph

Raking leaves ... (Poetry) - 7/8/2005 2:14:12 PM
like letting the child within playing. and why not with leaves? Good and enjoyable. Rich Criso Suarez

Raking leaves ... (Poetry) - 2/10/2005 3:27:39 PM
enjoyed the read

Raking leaves ... (Poetry) - 1/8/2005 12:17:06 AM
i hope you then jumped into them ;)

Raking leaves ... (Poetry) - 1/7/2005 3:18:11 PM
My father loved to rake the leaves in autumn. Great description of the fun it can be. R

Raking leaves ... (Poetry) - 1/7/2005 12:19:04 PM
My dog barks his head off whenever we mow the lawn or weed eat. I have no idea why he gets so mad.

Raking leaves ... (Poetry) - 1/7/2005 11:37:45 AM
Hee! Sounds like fun! Any way to make work all the more fun! Great write! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx, Karen Lynn. :D

Raking leaves ... (Poetry) - 1/7/2005 11:28:27 AM
And then, no doubt, you dove into the piles. That is what I used to do. Of course, I had to rake them back up, but it was worth it. I'm looking forward to reading more of your memories.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.