AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Gwendolyn Moore, iMike Monahan, iMarty Young, iKalikiano Kalei, iWilliam Guy, iKathryn Perry, iRoland Allnach, i
 
Home > Charles B. Neff
 

Recent Reviews for Charles B. Neff


Hidden Impact (Book) - 12/7/2014 4:08:32 PM
I appreciated reading this well written political whodunit, characters are often multidimensional, well developed and convincing. The bad guys are filled with intrigue, slyness and not much to commend them, sundry of the characters fall into a cold-blooded, bad guy crowd. I expressly relish a well-crafted narrative chockablock with turns and twists. I enjoyed meeting each of the numerous characters through the eyes of Norberg as he gauges those he had known before along with those who are new to his experience on this expedition. Populated with CIA operatives, dedicated American colleagues, Nicaraguan and activists, devious millionaires, and their insensitive associates; the cast of players is believable, plausible and acceptable. Surroundings are adeptly fashioned, mugginess, sticky redolence and all, established against a milieu of trickery, cunning and maneuvering forward plot twists as they fuse into one another effortlessly. Narrative provides a glimpse into various settings from the minor village of Norberg’s Peace Corps days, as well as the jungle forest and elsewhere; the account continues at rapid speed. Managua and its populace, a high-priced country club, and even the U.S. Embassy all figure in the work. Writer Neff has constructed a well-paced, page turner certain to keep the reader engaged from the opening paragraph as Norberg debarks from his plane moves full tilt to the concluding paragraphs as he plans ending his affairs in the United States before returning to Nicaragua where he hopes to inaugurate a new, dynamic life filled with optimism, friends and perhaps even a companion with whom he can share his life. I was sent a paperback ARC for review full review can be found on mj Hollingshead site AuthorsDen

Fractured Legacy (Book) - 8/5/2014 2:10:11 PM
I found characters to be well fleshed, credible, some are not completely likeable, on the other hand. that is what we find in life in general. Situations and locales are chock-full with dynamism, discourse is realistic, convincing and set down in satisfactory manner. Movement of the narrative grips the reader at the inception, clenches reader attentiveness with a powerful grasp from opening lines to the last paragraphs and leaves the reader with a sentiment of a saga jam-packed with twists and turns, major themes and minor is one well done. Fractured Legacy is writer Neff’s 6th in a succession of works set in the Cascades; a milieu he knows well. Full review posted as article on mj Hollingshead den page http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewarticle.asp?id=72111

Hidden Impact (Book) - 12/18/2006 4:21:11 AM
The book sounds intriguing. I hope it does well......M,

Patriot Schemes (Book) - 11/2/2006 8:11:18 PM
PATRIOT SCHEMES TAKES THE READER BACK INTO THE POLITICAL INTRIGUE AND SUSPENSE THAT KEPT US TURNING THE PAGES IN NEFF'S FIRST BOOK, HIDDEN IMPACT. THIS TIME THE SETTING SOAKS UP THE SINISTER ELITISM OF OLD STYLE WASHINGTON POLITICIANS, AND TIES IT INTO TODAY'S ALL TOO TRUE REALITIES. FROM THE FIRST PAGE TO THE LAST, THE STORY MOVES QUICKLY, AS EACH CHARACTER WEAVES IN THEIR PIECES OF THE PUZZLE - BUT WHICH CHATACTER, AND WHICH PIECES CAN BE TRUSTED? I LOVED IT, AND AM LOOKING FORWARD TO NEFF'S NEXT WORK.

Reimagining The New Year (Poetry) - 1/27/2015 5:02:55 AM
i agree with Belle, it is a wonderful tradition..and poem..but i see as well here a comment on the confusion time can be and how often it is irrelevant..because it really doesn't exist..but that's just me. Best wishes, Charlie john

Reimagining The New Year (Poetry) - 1/12/2015 5:02:19 AM
I think this is a wonderful tradition...and poem

Reimagining The New Year (Poetry) - 1/4/2015 6:21:00 PM
Glad all is well for you Charles! Blessings Happy New Year, Christine

Reimagining The New Year (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 10:26:51 PM
Christmas to NY's, a time of visiting for me, a time of joyousness, and a time to reflect on the next year and the happenings to come ...I like this write, it says lots.

Reimagining The New Year (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 2:15:38 PM
i like your truth...holidays are for happiness.

Reimagining The New Year (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 10:06:20 AM
Christmas starts way to early, and lasts way to long. I can't wait till it's over, and there's no more Christmas songs. Michael D.

Reimagining The New Year (Poetry) - 12/24/2014 7:21:43 AM
Interesting thought. I've always just combined the whole thing as an extended time off to get together with distant relatives and friends, eating and drinking too much, with dead time to spare while thinking of how to deal with taxes coming up very soon. Enjoyed and good to see you back posting. Ron

Intelligent Life (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 7:24:57 PM
A fine work, Charlie, truly fine. Kudos! john

Procrastination (Poetry) - 10/30/2014 7:22:47 PM
The fourth line is great and the whole poem a huge success, Charlie. You brightened up my morning here in Singapore - thank you. Sorry for being out of touch for so long. Always john

Procrastination (Poetry) - 10/29/2014 1:37:31 PM
Indeed. So very true. Less can equate to more. Just go for it without care just abandon and throw caution to the penn.

Procrastination (Poetry) - 10/2/2014 6:13:53 PM
I know all about procrastination..

Procrastination (Poetry) - 9/28/2014 9:32:27 PM
A good poetic write about a common problem with most writers. Writing at least one page a day. That keeps the procrastination blues away. Amen!

Procrastination (Poetry) - 9/27/2014 9:03:58 AM
Your words ring true. I've been putting off a short story trying to think of what I'll write. And a novel I started two years ago is still sitting there, waiting time and imagination. Ron

Balancing Act (Poetry) - 9/20/2014 8:31:39 AM
You the right idea, Charles, about "need to find common ground again." We have lost so much over the decades leading up to where we are today. I fear we can never reclaim those days. They are gone forever I believe. A worldwide catastrophe may be the instrument to getting us back together and working for the common good again. When all is lost and we have to depend on each other to get by, a sense of comradely will resume.

Intelligent Life (Poetry) - 8/25/2014 7:59:14 PM
Lots of poetic food for thought. With man things are impossible but with God all things are possible. However, even in the books of the Bible man has always been at war. Will man ever learn? I doubt it...

Intelligent Life (Poetry) - 8/22/2014 8:06:05 AM
Disregarding the fact that, on several meaningful parameters and not the sensational news stories, that the year 2013 was the best year ever for citizens of the world, your poem certainly brings attention to all of the maladies humankind needs to address… and soon. The challenge is to bring all of these "intelligent" minds together on a single purpose and may be one of the life-threatening possible disasters awaiting in the wings will bring us to our senses to fight the good fight instead of each other. There may be something brewing in Iceland right now that will get the world's attention in a big way. Ron

Clan Reunion (Poetry) - 7/29/2014 5:19:08 PM
Expression of a high order, Charlie, that first stanza is very fine indeed as is the whole work. What a great tradition, one that needs to be kept by many more families, if they can. My best to oyu john

Clan Reunion (Poetry) - 7/5/2014 11:31:16 AM
A noble cause for keeping the family together. Our family only seems to get together for anniversaries, weddings, and funerals. There doesn't seem to be any effort on the part of my cousins to communicate at all. My mother was a great communicator until recently when she has basically lost her computer and some ability to write letters. I've tried to keep up communication, but it's difficult as the family grows and diverges more. A wonderful sentiment, expressed in a poem. Ron

Clan Reunion (Poetry) - 7/4/2014 11:18:31 AM
enjoyed the read, what a lovely tradition!! by the by, I received your book in the mail, I have a teacher seminar this coming week, but will read and review as quickly as I can when the seminar is done on Friday m

Your Words Reach Me (Poetry) - 6/14/2014 5:48:25 AM
this is beautiful poetry, mr. neff!

Your Words Reach Me (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 2:01:42 PM
nice one

Your Words Reach Me (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 12:59:01 PM
Fantastic poetry Charles! You got it now!

Your Words Reach Me (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 11:15:51 AM
Sounds very mindful that a future truth will be revealed in you life someday! A lovely job, Charles! blessings!

Your Words Reach Me (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 11:00:46 AM
We try to be expressive as we write. Sandie

Your Words Reach Me (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 10:11:28 AM
Charles Simic said "Poetry is an orphan of silence. The words never quite equal the experience behind them" You have such mindfulness and balance! and each of us is an original, yours being exquisite :) Blessings, Chris

Your Words Reach Me (Poetry) - 6/13/2014 6:42:32 AM
Contrary to what you might think, these words have profound meaning and show a very strong sense of self. Intimate writing will follow if only you let it. Ron

Paradise Improved (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 5:06:28 PM
I would if I could just buy an island and put a log cabin on it with just enough room for one or two people...e

Moving On (Poetry) - 6/11/2014 5:03:16 PM
Actually to me, after being a New Jerseyite all my life, like a great way to live...I'd like to at least, prior to my demise, see Alaska first, then Hawaii...but unfortunately I doubt it...after half of a year in the hospital then rehab and I still don't feel to up to my normal self, so I don't think I will be seeing much of the world other than the immediate area...sounds though that you would have many stories to tell & I'd like to read of them...ed

Moving On (Poetry) - 6/8/2014 12:36:31 PM
A wandering soul, but not all who wander are lost :) You, Sir, clearly have a beacon! Blessings, Chris

Moving On (Poetry) - 6/6/2014 10:07:47 PM
Loved the poem Charles! Yes, having traveled the world is one thing. However, having LIVED all over the world is another. Yes, we tend to leave a piece of ourselves along the way. Most of the time it's good. I have no regrets for being a military traveler for almost 30 years. "Home is where I hang my hat, I make the best of where I am at" is the best advice I have received about moving along. Now, that we are somewhat settled and semi-retired we want to RV all over the world. So traveling is in our blood. Still, it takes time to experience a culture so we must stop for a while, enjoy the people we meet, things we see and breathe the new air. Amen...

Moving On (Poetry) - 6/6/2014 3:11:54 PM
Sadness is our link to that old place i love that line. true in every way.

Moving On (Poetry) - 6/6/2014 11:58:01 AM
I know your feelings because I have moved even more than you have. But today with the use of the Internet, old friends can be found (or found to be gone). I recently found a teacher from 1951. How great is that?! Yes, life is a journey, and some of us need new locations and new friends to complement (and compliment!) our lives. Well done, Charles.

Moving On (Poetry) - 6/6/2014 10:48:44 AM
That's a lot of moves, and, a lot of experiences that are priceless, especially for an author. I moved a great deal in my younger years, staying on a job only 2 to 3 years at a time. As result, I have many memories from those times. But when I settled where I am now, each year seems to become a repeat of the last, and the joy of all those new places is gone and hard to re-create. Ron

Moving On (Poetry) - 6/6/2014 9:39:37 AM
The more times you move, the more places you will go, and together with it the more life experience you will have. Great poem! Sandie

Moving On (Poetry) - 6/6/2014 6:41:13 AM
good one

Paradise Improved (Poetry) - 5/30/2014 11:04:46 PM
beautiful poetry.. there is a thin line between preserving and improving nature.

Wait a Sec! (Poetry) - 5/30/2014 11:10:36 AM
enjoyed the read!!

Write of Ownership (Poetry) - 5/30/2014 11:07:15 AM
well said

Paradise Improved (Poetry) - 5/30/2014 11:06:14 AM
nice one

Paradise Improved (Poetry) - 5/30/2014 10:19:21 AM
An architect that I admired who lived in an underground home on the top of Bear Mountain with a spectacular view of Atlanta, told me that, "nature is the best landscaper." Atlantans seem determined to eliminate every tall, beautiful loblolly pine in sight because they didn't like the pine needles or the pollen, I'm not sure exactly what. At least you weren't invaded by the native creatures. My new home in the woods with no lawn had a nice little population of scorpions just after I moved in. Ron

Cute! (Poetry) - 5/24/2014 11:40:11 AM
chuckle, enjoyed the read!!

Cute! (Poetry) - 5/24/2014 9:11:49 AM
I'm a man, so I don't know what the hell you're talking about. Last time I told her she was "cute," she nearly killed me. I'm still trying to figure out what it was that I said. Ron

Cute! (Poetry) - 5/23/2014 9:42:25 PM
Cute!

Cute! (Poetry) - 5/23/2014 10:21:31 AM
"I’ll bet the farm that you’re a man!" Yes. As a matter of fact I am. Seems that makes me inferior in your way of thinking. Maybe I am. So what? Some, like yourself, rise to the top like cream. Eh, a fact of life. We all really wasn't created equal. Cute poem.

A Random Thought (Poetry) - 5/22/2014 5:52:25 AM
well said

A Random Thought (Poetry) - 5/19/2014 6:11:51 AM
Your pet ideas have to be fed and pampered. Ron

A Random Thought (Poetry) - 5/19/2014 4:40:33 AM
Fine point of view, Charlie, and well delivered. Thank you for visiting the site, always appreciated deeply. john

A Random Thought (Poetry) - 5/18/2014 2:09:38 PM
You found the words and spelled them out to perfection. Wonderful! Kathy

Insistent Images (Poetry) - 2/2/2014 5:05:02 AM
a beautifully conceived and well written work, Charles, and it's perfectly clear 'What in them keeps me keeping them' because they are substantial, because they define and yes, because they will last i love this work john

Insistent Images (Poetry) - 2/1/2014 12:20:53 PM
A really nice trilogy. I felt that I could see all three images from your description. Ron

Insistent Images (Poetry) - 2/1/2014 12:09:25 PM
interesting pictures and thoughts to be sure bud

Downsize Upgrade (Poetry) - 1/10/2014 4:52:50 PM
Great advice and a wonderful way to start a new year. Continued success/ Barbara J Henry

Downsize Upgrade (Poetry) - 1/2/2014 1:47:26 PM
I never make New Year's resolutions, but these are good as gold. Ron

Downsize Upgrade (Poetry) - 1/2/2014 6:47:07 AM
Yes, well said and this deserves to be read and heeded by many. Well done! May peace, love, happiness and blessings follow you throughout the New Year! John Michael Domino

Downsize Upgrade (Poetry) - 12/31/2013 8:10:32 AM
much enjoyed budd

Music and the Years (Poetry) - 11/21/2013 10:31:04 AM
Could this group be Pete Seeger and the Weavers?

Music and the Years (Poetry) - 11/21/2013 10:17:14 AM
You left me wondering just who this group was and how they lasted so long. Ron

Second Home (Poetry) - 11/7/2013 8:47:24 PM
What a lovely poem written about a place that you feel like is home to you, it must be filled with so many good memories and the people who owns the bookstore must be really nice. Your poem is commemorative of the good times and them also they should be proud of it. It does feel good to be able to relfect back on good times, places and people. especially during the times we are living in now.

Second Home (Poetry) - 11/2/2013 8:20:23 AM
Wonderful poem and great tribute. Many years ago, I tried to set up a relationship with a local, family-owned bookstore. I didn't make much effort being so busy and limited in transportation. Now I wish I had made that connection. So many bookstores are disappearing across the landscape because books are not selling in paper form like they used to. Such is the way of progress. In time, I believe that these bookstores that do remain will become more profitable because paper books will become antiques for the value of their presence rather than their content. Content will be so readily available on the Internet--it almost is already--that paper books will take on another aspect as artifacts. Ron

Light or Dark? (Poetry) - 9/24/2013 9:16:55 AM
There are seasons in the sun, but you are the one, who have brought the seasons to bear. But once confined in our cocoons, we know not the phase of the moon's, and end up in our own little nowhere. A sad commentary on our times when the seasons are not a need for celebration, but a minor inconvenience. Ron

Light or Dark? (Poetry) - 9/23/2013 2:38:07 AM
we are all what we are budd

Summer Dawn (Poetry) - 6/10/2013 4:31:22 PM
Charles, A beautiful morning painted by your talented pen. Many blessings, +Linda

Summer Dawn (Poetry) - 6/9/2013 7:27:30 AM
It must be wonderful to wake up to a landscape like that. I must contend with less than half of a suburban backyard. Fortunately, I can still see ducks, geese, hawks and vultures along with numerous other critters that come and go. Sometimes in the evening, a pink sunset thrills me. Ron

Summer Dawn (Poetry) - 6/9/2013 4:16:29 AM
such a dawn gives us total reviving spirit budd

Summer Dawn (Poetry) - 6/8/2013 3:46:22 PM
I like the style you use in this piece, and I love the lines: To the mountain, Snow-tipped like an arrow Great visual effect. David Lee Thompson

Passing Marks (Poetry) - 1/11/2013 3:17:36 PM
yes the tide makes everything pristene on the beach every day budd

Passing Marks (Poetry) - 1/11/2013 12:22:58 PM
Reads like a very good time. The reference to the tides as being like a Zamboni is wonderful. It looks like no one can mess up that beach very long. Ron

Wait a Sec! (Poetry) - 1/7/2013 5:02:24 PM
Happy Birthday Charles, and many happy returns!

Electiongate (Poetry) - 11/18/2012 9:36:46 AM
You speak it so eloquently, every word engaging ~ Blessings, Christine

Electiongate (Poetry) - 11/12/2012 11:19:06 AM
The grinding slowness ofGovernment by the people keeps us from having coup d'états and out right Civil War every time we disagree. One of the greatest things we have is term limitations for the presidency. We should have it for all offices including the Supreme Court. Ron

Boss's Day(Z) (Poetry) - 10/13/2012 5:04:54 PM
Ha! Charming insight into this with a high spirited touch. I've been watching the Hallmark channel every once in a while and good grief there are nothing but weddings, weddings and more weddings! Hallmark does take us all as fools for love :) Blessings, Christine

Boss's Day(Z) (Poetry) - 10/13/2012 12:28:36 PM
After Mother's Day, I think there are way too many days celebrating individuals at the office. My view of bosses has always been one of them being kind, considerate, and a mentor so that I could someday assume a leadership role, too. Unfortunately, political favors have led me to bosses without these traits and leadership skills. My last boss, could not sit still and contemplate anything. He spent his time hopping around trying to catch people taking a break and insulting their good work with snide comments. It makes one feel good when they lose a boss like that. Never one to celebrate those kind of people, even when they paid for their own party just to get people to come there. Ron

Turnabout Fair Play (Poetry) - 9/8/2012 12:47:14 PM
Yes, this is resonant and I can feel just this happening right now. I enjoy this unexpected, richly perceptive leap! Christine

Turnabout Fair Play (Poetry) - 9/4/2012 7:13:18 AM
Why do parents have such expectations and force them on their children? I think it's because of their own inadequacies. I don't have children, but if I did, I would let them play vigorously and learn what they are good at and want to do, and then encourage them in every way to do it. If they needed help, like math to get where they wanted to be, I wouldn't force them to take courses they hated or hire tutors for them. I'd tutor them myself, but not do everything for them like some parents are prone to do. Unfortunately, our intelligence plays a part in what we are able to do with our lives. We can't expect all of our children to be intelligent, only good at what they want to do and can do. Ron

Mystic Circles (Poetry) - 8/21/2012 11:39:53 AM
Beautiful! I like the way this poem starts with an everday feel to it and then widens to the infinite.

Mystic Circles (Poetry) - 8/20/2012 2:36:33 PM
Cool!

Mystic Circles (Poetry) - 8/20/2012 9:56:09 AM
Enchanting to read. All mother nature creates the images using trees that we imitate with our monuments thousands of years old to plot the sun and the moon and keep track of the seasons of plenty and loss. The Druids are often on my mind, too. Ron

Collateral Damage (Poetry) - 7/14/2012 10:23:04 AM
Given the season, A courageous and mighty conclusion. I have tried to educate my sister with the facts, but she throws back her ability to choose where she gets her facts. I decided just to let it be and let history prove her wrong. Ron

Collateral Damage (Poetry) - 7/14/2012 7:28:30 AM
the Age we live in is definitely bleeding on itself, leaving most of us spiritually, economically, and socially anemic ... thought-provoking ...

Collateral Damage (Poetry) - 7/14/2012 6:43:41 AM
The Age of Revenge - how much strife and how many bloodbaths has every Age of Revenge had? Are we reduced to this again? Penetrating thinking, Charlie john

Collateral Damage (Poetry) - 7/13/2012 3:47:05 PM
Strong lines and intense delivery of your message....well done indeed. fee

The Colors of My World (Poetry) - 5/21/2012 5:51:07 AM
Lovely penning!

The Colors of My World (Poetry) - 5/13/2012 2:31:55 PM
What a beautiful celebration of color, and of love! I see your inspiration is everywhere. And you show us in such a gentle way to also open our own eyes. Christine

The Colors of My World (Poetry) - 5/12/2012 12:49:53 PM
A cheerful personification. Enjoyed. Ron

The Colors of My World (Poetry) - 5/11/2012 5:55:24 AM
A beautiful way to say 'I love you' to that special someone in your life. Donna

The Colors of My World (Poetry) - 5/11/2012 3:44:14 AM
those last three lines, Charlie, are marvelous - positive and uplifting as indeed is the whole poem; i'm glad to hear your sight is brighter - well done! stay strong and healthy john

The Colors of My World (Poetry) - 5/11/2012 2:28:17 AM
Your words also flow with the colour of contentment....well done. fee

High Above It All (Poetry) - 4/24/2012 8:11:22 AM
Reads like the average American's lifestyle. Thanks for your insight. Ron

High Above It All (Poetry) - 4/24/2012 1:10:35 AM
like this lots, Charlie, its humour of course but its wisdom and pathos, too john

Suddenly It's Quiet (Poetry) - 4/23/2012 7:18:51 AM
i relate to this so well....'somewhere between the fear of sloth and the call of duty there must be a place'.... where quiet is more than just the absence of time. these are core words to me and you've expressed this dilema in a most poetic way. my family will love and appreciate this piece. the day will come when my body betrays me and i'll welcome 'serenity breathing its gentle breath on me' and i'll relish 'inhaling that peace'....BUT its not now... maybe after the last oiling of the deck, taking that last sail, planting the last herb garden, doing the last pottery design and mucking out that last stall on and on... they forget that i'm promised beauty peace and serenity for eternity AFTER

Love's Full Circle (Poetry) - 4/23/2012 4:33:56 AM
this is a strong beautiful well-cadenced reminder for many. Nice nice work charles...pmedlin

High Above It All (Poetry) - 4/22/2012 7:08:05 AM
this is so much more than a little ditty charles....some touch all their 'bases' and to what end?...not always happiness...bet this jolly older man has some wonderful memories to keep him warm and jolly...which can be a nice attractive thing...great 'ditty'!...pmedlin

Touching Love (Poetry) - 4/16/2012 12:22:10 PM
Awesome! Great write Charles! Thanks for sharing it! Blessings to you! :) Debbie

Touching Love (Poetry) - 4/3/2012 8:34:16 AM
Perfection!! Diana...

Touching Love (Poetry) - 4/2/2012 4:52:21 PM
Beautifully said, Charles, and no need to say more, it's all here. Yes! john

Touching Love (Poetry) - 4/2/2012 12:40:18 PM
a blessing. thanks for sharing asa

Touching Love (Poetry) - 4/2/2012 11:43:13 AM
Beautiful!!!...funny I was thinking thoughts on this line before I opened this poem and on my way out to walk my Dog to enjoy the breeze and sunshine~

World That Could Be (Poetry) - 2/13/2012 8:35:05 AM
When we save for one, we save for all. Wise words well spoken. Ron

World That Could Be (Poetry) - 2/12/2012 3:59:20 PM
I'll hug a tree for you.

Resolution (Poetry) - 1/14/2012 9:01:15 AM
I AM GLAD YOU ENJOYED YOUR NEW YEAR'S EVE IN SPITE OF THE DISAPPOINTMENT OF NOT SEEING THE TURTLES. SOMETIMES IT TAKES SOMETHING LIKE THAT TO HAPPEN TO REMIND US TO LOOK AT THE BIGGER PICTURE...AND ALL ITS BLESSINGS. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS AND FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Resolution (Poetry) - 1/5/2012 7:23:36 PM
A unique and inspiring reflection!

Resolution (Poetry) - 1/5/2012 2:41:11 PM
Well said Charlie.

Celebrating a Teacher (Poetry) - 12/15/2011 9:53:18 AM
Charles, A wonderful tribute to Ms. Pedroza. Teachers are not nearly recognized enough for the work they do. I guess I'm slightly prejudiced, my husband is a teacher. Mary

Celebrating a Teacher (Poetry) - 12/15/2011 5:07:42 AM
lovely read

Celebrating a Teacher (Poetry) - 12/14/2011 6:44:33 PM
Such a moving and affectionate tribute, warms me up on this cold evening!

Celebrating a Teacher (Poetry) - 12/14/2011 11:46:04 AM
Excellent tribute to an obviously excellent teacher.

Life in the Balance (Poetry) - 11/7/2011 4:34:00 PM
That's right! Traveling life takes more than a "One-track mind", Charles.

Love's Full Circle (Poetry) - 10/7/2011 10:14:44 AM
Charles, what a wonderful testament to the power of creativity and its many ways of expressing the beauty,the power, of love! Continued success~ Barbara J. Henry

To My Several Selves (Poetry) - 10/2/2011 3:40:25 PM
GEE WHIZ...AND I THOUGHT I WAS THE ONLY ONE!!(SMILE) THANKS FOR SHARING THE PRACTICAL ADVICE...IT SEEMS WORTH FOLLOWING. LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

To My Several Selves (Poetry) - 10/2/2011 1:01:48 PM
Charles,you have given wonderful advice, written in a beautiful rare form. Continued success~ Barbara J. Henry

Oliver, a Pug (Poetry) - 9/5/2011 9:16:08 PM
What a lovely poem for your dear friend-animals are the best of friends, and losing them is like losing a member of the family. This was really touching to me as an animal-lover. I'm sorry for your loss, xx Michelle

What Really Counts (Poetry) - 8/17/2011 11:12:07 AM
There are times when we must be grateful for the positive and push the negative away, nice writing... Be always safe, Karen

What Really Counts (Poetry) - 8/16/2011 9:21:59 AM
I agree, Charles. So much so that I'm discarding my cane. -gene.

Write of Ownership (Poetry) - 8/13/2011 12:35:02 PM
Thanks for sharing this, Charles. If you write it, you own it. If there's a problem, I hope it works out to your satisfaction. -gene.

Write of Ownership (Poetry) - 7/7/2011 5:04:57 PM
Amazing thought process as you walk the reader through a mountain of decisions. Bottom line, never give away that which is yours.... Be always safe, Karen

Write of Ownership (Poetry) - 7/7/2011 11:00:53 AM
THERE IS A SONG ENTITLED, 'DON'T MAKE ME OVER'. THUS, I SAY, BE CAREFUL OF THE POWER YOU GIVE TO OTHERS. DO NOT 'SIGN' THE 'OWNERSHIP' OF YOURSELF, WHICH IS YOUR IDEAS OR YOUR POSSESSIONS...AWAY. EVER! DONE WELL AND ENJOYED. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS & FAITH...JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Fools' Gold (Poetry) - 2/4/2011 9:23:10 AM
Charles, I'm happy to see that you are a man of many well-spoken words. -gene.

That First Minute (Poetry) - 1/28/2011 9:19:29 PM
Interesting poem, Charles. How I wish I had made a good impression on impressionable people over the years! rege

Love's Full Circle (Poetry) - 12/6/2010 6:13:25 PM
excellent poetry, message of depth and weight!

The Desk and I (Poetry) - 11/4/2010 7:28:49 PM
Quite a personalization here! "What seems like clutter becomes layers of thought, What appears random hides hidden order" This is something that I can easily relate to. Axilea

Be Strong (Poetry) - 10/27/2010 12:06:45 PM
To be so strong! Great poem, Charles. Love this line: "Your clock the setting and the rising sun." .gene.

Be Strong (Poetry) - 10/23/2010 9:44:18 AM
You properly square your shoulders. You stumble on a poem and you write it. I concur, Charles. I do know that I "stumble" upon the poems that are given to me; all I have to do is "write" them down. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Be Strong (Poetry) - 10/14/2010 11:36:51 AM
Charlie, I liked the poem. Good thoughts well expressed. Maybe, when we don't think we have it, we really do, we reach for it within and find it is there, then we make the exchange. As a scripture says, "let the weak say,I am strong!" Keep writing! Thurman

We're All Swimmers (Poetry) - 10/11/2010 11:55:11 AM
Nice thoughts, so true.

The Tribe Arrived (Poetry) - 7/31/2010 6:04:41 PM
enjoyed the read

Gene Williamson, For You (Poetry) - 7/21/2010 1:16:59 PM
Hello Charles You have embraced our dear den brother With such respect & admiration He is a very wonderful man And I too am glad he is back sharing With us...his den family Love & Continued Inspiration Vickie

Gene Williamson, For You (Poetry) - 7/21/2010 10:38:55 AM
Charles, I'm stunned. Speechless (almost) by your kind words. Thank you, so much, my faraway but not distant friend. I shall remember your moving and most generous poem. More than moving, it is motivating. And I hope that my work from now on will be worthy of it--and your friendship. -gene.

That First Minute (Poetry) - 7/13/2010 2:54:28 AM
Very well penned, Charles

That First Minute (Poetry) - 7/12/2010 9:31:13 AM
Well written! That's the best description I've read of senses working together to bring powerful memories back.

That First Minute (Poetry) - 7/11/2010 1:09:23 PM
AND THANK GOD FOR THEM...FOR THE FLOOD OUR MINDS JUST WHEN WE SO DEARLY NEED THEM! WELL DONE, CHARLES AND THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING. LOVE AND BLESSINGS, JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Intersections (Poetry) - 6/21/2010 5:07:21 AM
You are quite an astute philosopher and the poem is thought provoking. Yes I believe it is the intersections that make us.

Intersections (Poetry) - 6/19/2010 10:49:51 AM
I like this a lot. Life is certainly a journey and your observation of its intersections provides a perspective I hadn't considered. Here's to our new patch of common ground. Patrick

Intersections (Poetry) - 6/18/2010 11:13:57 PM
well done,

Intersections (Poetry) - 6/18/2010 12:16:10 PM
wow charles...what a wonderful way of wordicating the different fabrics of our beings...nice!...patmedlin

Suddenly It's Quiet (Poetry) - 3/25/2010 7:36:29 PM
I'm lost, how and why would anyone want to sit still? When it gets quiet around here something is very wrong, love your prospective... Be always safe, Karen

Suddenly It's Quiet (Poetry) - 3/25/2010 2:16:52 PM
well said

Suddenly It's Quiet (Poetry) - 3/25/2010 8:53:51 AM
This sounds familiar to me, it's the perfect description of someone very close to me. He has the hardest time sitting still and doing nothing. Bigtime hardcore workoholic, that's what he is. Well written.

Avoid What? (Poetry) - 1/7/2010 6:04:10 PM
Interesting story and yet life does go on as it has before... Be always safe, Karen

Avoid What? (Poetry) - 1/7/2010 9:07:07 AM
Sandcastles are lost to the first wave that reaches it and dissolves back to where it originated. George

She's Gone, Still Here (Poetry) - 11/21/2008 6:02:34 AM
I'm sorry for your loss, Charles. :( A loving, beautiful tribute to her in verse. Well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

She's Gone, Still Here (Poetry) - 11/21/2008 4:52:49 AM
A beautiful and heartfelt tribute,take care Edwin

She's Gone, Still Here (Poetry) - 11/20/2008 8:15:05 PM
A beautiful tribute to your pet. She'll always be in your heart. I lost my beloved cat, but he's still with me. Mary

Leading Las Vegas (Poetry) - 11/17/2008 6:15:21 AM
Charles, Interesting viewpoint on the election results. I think we are moving in a positive direction - united and looking to remedy what can be. Thought-provoking write. Thank you, ~Donna.

Solace (Poetry) - 7/18/2008 3:51:33 PM
The challenge to create and express very well presented, thoughts and feelings true. John

Solace (Poetry) - 7/18/2008 8:53:08 AM
Charles, you can be proud of this great collection that speaks to you (and us) so eloquently. -gene,

Solace (Poetry) - 7/18/2008 8:38:08 AM
A beautiful, reflective melody of having battled - and won. Well done, Charles. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

There Are Times (Poetry) - 7/14/2008 9:20:59 AM
You are better off going through those trials in life. They make you stronger, more appreciative, more truthful, more to look forward to in the future.

Palm Pilot (Poetry) - 7/14/2008 9:19:20 AM
Rich in advice, rich in knowledge rich in truth, and finally rich in longing and hope.

Half-Alive (Poetry) - 7/14/2008 9:17:46 AM
Emotionally written by you, emotionally taken by me.

Spring Morning (Poetry) - 7/14/2008 9:16:45 AM
Gjood eyesight you do have and good insight too.

Spring Morning (Poetry) - 7/11/2008 9:34:11 PM
The ability to see what many do not, a piece filled with wonderment.... Be always safe, Karen

Spring Morning (Poetry) - 7/11/2008 5:59:02 PM
This is a sharp focused picture with real perspective, and the control in the writing is admirable. John

Spring Morning (Poetry) - 7/11/2008 10:40:18 AM
Charles, this is a great addition to your Lifecycle series. -gene.

Spring Morning (Poetry) - 7/11/2008 9:06:51 AM
A very beautiful poem.I like reading it very much.take care Edwin

Spring Morning (Poetry) - 7/11/2008 9:03:17 AM
Charles, the light is beginning to shine through to bring a renewal to your spirit. I loved this!

Spring Morning (Poetry) - 7/11/2008 8:18:59 AM
Serenity and acceptance in your beautifully imaged lines, Charles, well done. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Palm Pilot (Poetry) - 7/8/2008 10:48:53 AM
Charles, sometimes we use our work as a crutch to get us through a day. Working ourselves into a dither in hopes of recognition. Never taking anytime for ourselves but always giving of ourselves and to our job & others for that feeling of satisfaction & recognition. A great write here Charles.

Palm Pilot (Poetry) - 7/4/2008 4:25:21 PM
Beautiful reflections here, real and meaningful. I like this very much. John

Palm Pilot (Poetry) - 7/4/2008 12:22:27 PM
Ah, the beauty of talking to your self in poetry. And good poetry. I'm betting that your old self will definitely get you through it. -gene.

Dreamspeak (Poetry) - 6/27/2008 10:04:22 PM
Priorities are a constant change, well said... Be always safe, Karen

Dreamspeak (Poetry) - 6/27/2008 7:54:43 PM
Life, in itself, is a game without the rule book to refer to - well done, Charles. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Dreamspeak (Poetry) - 6/27/2008 6:33:30 PM
This is very good indeed. John

Dreamspeak (Poetry) - 6/27/2008 2:23:29 PM
Charles, life cannot be followed by a rules book...we have to suffer through trial and errors before we can learn to accept what we are given in life. "No one's" life runs smoothe, we have to take chances and work things out a little at a time or sometimes the roof will cave in on us. I enjoyed this a lot.

Dreamspeak (Poetry) - 6/27/2008 11:14:01 AM
Excellent, rules do sometimes get in the way. I like the way you wrote this, Charles. -gene.

Dreamspeak (Poetry) - 6/27/2008 10:36:18 AM
well said

Ocean Sound (Poetry) - 6/23/2008 7:14:57 AM
Beautiful connected.ness between poet and Nature - Charles, this is sublime! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

There Are Times (Poetry) - 6/20/2008 11:45:29 AM
We call it perserverence to endeavor in whatever we wish too. Trials and tribulations are just side roads that we all must learn to deal with, well said.... Be always safe, Karen

There Are Times (Poetry) - 6/20/2008 7:55:22 AM
Wisely stated. It's so important to be yourself instead of what other's want you to be. Honest and well written.

There Are Times (Poetry) - 6/20/2008 7:33:14 AM
I like this series, Charles. There are times, but in the long run, how much of the good and bad do we really remember? In the end, it's enough to get through, I suppose.

There Are Times (Poetry) - 6/20/2008 7:21:46 AM
Thought provoking excellence, Charles, very well penned - through trial and tribulation, I would hope I come out better after having learned through the worst - (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Home (Poetry) - 6/16/2008 12:38:50 PM
Storms show us what we can take and not take. Some are afraid of them, I am not. They bring refreshing renewal to me. I can hear the whisperings in my heart when I stop to enjoy a storm too. Glad you could take time out to just think like this while the storm was approaching. You are very much aware of nature and its tellings.

Home (Poetry) - 6/16/2008 7:35:03 AM
Excellent, Charles. The road to a whispering heart is through the storm. - gene.

First Guest (Poetry) - 6/13/2008 5:42:37 PM
You make the point well and with admirable control. John

Half-Alive (Poetry) - 6/12/2008 6:52:21 PM
What an intriguing stanza. I'd love to see you add on to it!

Second Skin (Poetry) - 6/7/2008 2:10:48 PM
Charles, in this life, it takes time to find the real "you" but it appears from this fine writing that you are finding yourself. When we are young we don't know exactly what we are looking for, we make errors that is sometimes hard to correct. A very nice writing.

Second Skin (Poetry) - 6/7/2008 10:43:34 AM
It's been said many times, Charles...to thine own self be true.. and none said any better than your fine poem's concluding stanza. - Gene.

Half-Alive (Poetry) - 6/1/2008 6:58:24 PM
Charles, A promising beginning, with an instant hook - title and verse - excellent! I, too, look forward to the next installment - (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Half-Alive (Poetry) - 6/1/2008 12:47:43 PM
well said

Half-Alive (Poetry) - 6/1/2008 11:52:52 AM
Charles, many times in our lives we long for an even keel and oft times we never find it. It sounds as though you've found the peace you've longed for. I'm looking forward to your other writes.

Thanks, Co-author (Poetry) - 5/6/2008 12:41:57 PM
A vast collection of beauty placed into one inspirational basket, well done... Be always safe, Karen

Thanks, Co-author (Poetry) - 5/6/2008 9:58:27 AM
Oh, I love this one - connected at the word! Well done, Charles. Look forward to more from you - (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Ocean Sound (Poetry) - 2/29/2008 4:06:19 PM
This is the first of your pieces I have had the opportunity to read. I am very much impressed. It reminds me of my love of the ocean, and when my wife and I are on the beach together, how she pauses to examine all the small details while I am in a rush to see what lies ahead. There's no place quite like the ocean. It's amazing how something so powerful can offer such tranquility. Thanks for the reminder. David

Saving (Poetry) - 2/26/2008 6:53:48 AM
Charlie, this is lovely. It sums up how the simplest things in our lives can come to mean so much and can be reincarnated time after time as our needs change. Sue P.

Ocean Sound (Poetry) - 2/6/2008 7:41:53 PM
Wow! I am utterly enchanted by your rhythm and flow in this well-crafted piece. The imagery is potent and vivid, grabbing the reader's consciousness from the very first line. I could practically feel the ocean spray on my face as you developed each line of the poem. Nicely done.

Learning (Poetry) - 2/5/2008 2:18:16 PM
I like this, it grabs the imagination.

Ocean Sound (Poetry) - 1/9/2008 11:41:06 AM
Wonderful writing~`*

Ocean Sound (Poetry) - 5/1/2007 7:49:29 PM
The metaphors in this piece really painted a very beautiful picture for me. Thanks for sharing.

Sheltered Bay (Poetry) - 3/6/2007 7:34:54 PM
Another good poem! Children Are the innocents in life. Its grand you could enjoy the beauty of nature with them.....M

Clearing (Poetry) - 3/6/2007 7:32:18 PM
I can see all of this ! Great images.. I guess no one can stop progress!..........M

Everywhere (Poetry) - 3/6/2007 7:28:24 PM
Some times I think we try too hard to write something special.. Sometimes if its put away for a while, the ideas will come easier. Yes, writing is a partner ship with ones self. .......M

Do Again (Poetry) - 1/28/2007 10:09:52 PM
dunno...nice but.n

Fortress Wall (Poetry) - 1/28/2007 10:04:48 PM
knowledgeable piece...good . n

Mi (Poetry) - 1/28/2007 10:01:11 PM
hope,the greatest weapon..........tool.......can break all,conquer all ,we too....great work....n

Losing (Poetry) - 1/28/2007 9:58:29 PM
awe......ok....just ok. n

Concert Hall (Poetry) - 1/28/2007 9:54:58 PM
all smiles...beautiful..neerja

La (Poetry) - 1/28/2007 9:49:49 PM
aaahhhhhh...straight from the heart.......love.......neerja

Saving (Poetry) - 1/28/2007 9:23:59 PM
truely said..objects do have a great meaning in our life,rather they are the strength,coz it is on these objects where your near-n-dear ones sat...once..well...Loved it a lot.Reminds me of my dearest chair where my pal used to be soooooooo paly-paly.....wow....neerja

Peninsula Beach (Poetry) - 1/28/2007 9:16:22 PM
Aah,again a great piece.Those who cannot walk much or talk much or can visit places....this piece a real visual imagine.WOW,loved it. I really like to read short straight poems. kudos!!! . neerja.

Ti (Poetry) - 1/28/2007 9:11:39 PM
goood heavens, a great piece again...wonder how well you write..and one thing v.attractive is your poems are all very short,simple down to earth,weighy and gets deep down.you write too well and very true too. kudos !!! neerja

Ocean Sound (Poetry) - 1/28/2007 9:06:51 PM
ooooouugh....great charming,thrilling, again a real reality in poetic fashion.Makes me smile and makes a goooooood start. Kudos!!! neerja.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.