AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: William Lowenkamp, iDiana Perkins, iJoyce Scarbrough, ijude forese, iDenise Nowakowski, iEdward Patterson, iDr. Ronald Bissell, i
 
Home > Philip Shapiro
 

Recent Reviews for Philip Shapiro


Healing Power: Ten Steps to Pain Management and Spiritual Evolution (Book) - 1/5/2010 6:39:15 AM
I just ordered this book, and I genuinely look forward. I explore the difficulties of finding diagnoses for mental anguish in my own work--it's a recurring theme--and it's lovely to find a book that will concentrate on the solutions, spiritually, without shoving dogma down my throat. I can't wait...

Healing Power: Ten Steps to Pain Management and Spiritual Evolution (Book) - 8/28/2005 1:36:42 PM
This book offers a profound understanding of ways to deal with the brutal reality of life, from a practicing psychiatrist and a devotee of raja yoga. There are many blessings in the book, for those who just need a little help to those caught up in the hellish chaos of deep grief, loss, overwhelming rumination, anxiety, and anger. Bill

How to Eliminate Bad Habits (Article) - 6/24/2008 4:00:00 PM
A great sales pitch for the guilliule. Bravo. Have good sales. The thought manifests as word; -- only partially correct The word manifests as deed; -- in your dream The deed develops into habit; -- 99 per cent a lie And habit hardens into character. -- partially correct So watch the thought and its ways with care, -- how would i do it PRACTICALLY?! -- only you and G-d know how to do it And let it spring from love Born out of concern for all beings." -- nonsense. Stalin had concern for ALL people on earth (his words). it is so easy to have concern for all instead of giving YOUR money to the needy. sorry, 15 years live in the country, still cannot get accustom to the american 'culture' to make money even at cost of science. your eternal admirer. one of russian idiots, an accomplished one, a clinical case.

How to Eliminate Bad Habits (Article) - 4/28/2007 6:47:56 PM
Certainly food for thought. I've read it all and I intend to read it again. We all can use more disipline in our lives. I have an addictive personality and I attend a 12 step program, but it's an uphill battle. I fight my compulsion every day. Thanks again. Carolyn

Forgiveness (Article) - 11/16/2006 12:15:30 PM
i am struggling with this myself-your article was well written

How to Eliminate Bad Habits (Article) - 12/31/2005 9:58:23 PM
Good stuff doc! Thanks!

Mindfulness (Article) - 10/25/2005 3:35:16 AM
enjoyed the read

Mindfulness (Article) - 10/21/2005 8:35:39 AM
What a great article. Thank you.

Mindfulness (Article) - 10/20/2005 10:13:44 PM
This was a hugely informative piece. Hinduism too gives almost the same tenets of living. It si difficult but not impossible to follow such in today's mad rush for instant gratification. If only we could learn something from our ancient wisdom.

Forgiveness (Article) - 9/26/2005 2:51:05 PM
WOWWW... Great talent you share..

Forgiveness (Article) - 9/24/2005 8:57:31 AM
Very good thoughts here. Another way that I have found to eliminate pain of the soul is to realize when other people's insecurities are speaking to us. These we can see as the fears and uncertainties of those around us rather than allowing them to become our own.

Forgiveness (Article) - 9/24/2005 1:18:13 AM
Thanks for such an informative article. I'm saving it to review again.There are many schools of thought on this subject. Love Betty

Forgiveness (Article) - 9/23/2005 9:12:18 PM
Wonderful, comprehensively written article. There is one school of thought that states that one should forgive but never forget. That may be relevant in situations where one has to deal with the wrongdoer on a continous basis. Sometimes verbal conversations make things go out of control. So it is best if negative emotions/factors are expressed in writing. This is so because though forgiveness is important, it is equally important that the wrong doer does not repeat his actions. Only a sage or a saint can cope with continous wrongdoing. Mahatma Gandhi had said, " An eye for an eye shall only make the whole world blind." Here are some quotes on Revenge Revenge of a hundred years still hath its sucking teeth. Forgiveness is the noblest revenge. Every dog has his day. He who seeks revenge must remember to dig two graves. Neglect will kill an injury sooner than revenge. Forgiveness is a good thing but one should not make a virtue out of it. It should be applied practically to make it a practical long term solution.

How to Eliminate Bad Habits (Article) - 9/7/2005 1:22:09 AM
This is a very nice article. Let me add something more about Habits:- Men do more things through habit than through reason. Habit makes or mar one’s fortune. Habit is second nature. Man is a slave of habits. A habit cannot be forced out of the window, it can be coaxed out one step at a time. Habit knows no cure. Custom in infancy becomes nature in old age. Habbit in sinning takes away the sense of sin. Very nice terminologies have been used-pain manager, breathwork, self-nurturance, spiritual bodyguard etc. I should also mention here that Vipasana meditation can aid in all this. It is a free 10day residential meditation course. It is a special technique introduced by Gautam Buddha 2500 years ago in which the person has to observe sensations throuout the day to become immune to them. This way craving does not develop. This has to be done for 14-15hours everyday. It cured my 15 year old problem of insomnia and is particularly useful for deep rooted addictive ailments. It also involves breathwork apart from sensation watching.

Courage, The Bridge Between Fear and Peace (Article) - 9/2/2005 2:42:50 AM
Overall the article is very nice- References made to concentration and being focussed and mindfullness as a means of combating fear is partcularly interesting. Concentration is the means to success in anything according to Ralph Waldo Emerson.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.