AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Francis Eaden, iSteven Ulmen, iRichard Harris, iMichele Poague, iJ. Joy Matthews Alford - Sistah Joy, iRobin Ouzman Hislop, iIolanthe Woulff, i
 
Home > Wendy Laing
 

Recent Reviews for Wendy Laing


Under the Coolabah Tree (Book) - 5/5/2010 6:30:04 AM
Good to see some Aussie flavour on Authorsden, Wendy !

Mirror, Mirror... E-book download / print book (Book) - 1/27/2007 7:16:09 AM
Very interesting and catchy cover too. Best wishes to you and much success.

Captain Angus, the Lighthouse Ghost - E-book audio & print book (Book) - 12/11/2005 11:07:50 AM
Hello in the land of OZ! This sounds like a very good children's book.

Under the Coolabah Tree - second edition (Book) - 6/1/2004 5:33:43 PM
gosh, now i need to review the second edition!

Cock of the Walk - Ebook, print & audio download (Book) - 7/27/2003 10:04:58 AM
Cock of the Walk..... Molly's Reviews Interesting read Recommended 4.5 stars Author Laing has crafted an entertaining work filled to abundance with engaging, at times downright quirky characters set against a rich framework filled with potent emotions, treachery, breach of faith and plain old greed. Reviewed by: molly martin http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin http://www.AuthorsDen.com/mjhollingshead

Mirror, Mirror... E-book download / print book (Book) - 10/10/2002 6:29:04 AM
I think the story is going to be a big hit. I like mystery.

Captain Angus, the Lighthouse Ghost - e-book & audio download (Book) - 8/12/2002 5:32:48 AM
Captain Angus, the Lighthouse Ghost is an inviting venture for children sure to keep youngsters entertained as they travel through the interactive links allowing them to make a voyage through the internet. Writer Laining really understands how to make history come alive for young readers. Children will make stops at sites where they can tour old ships, discover lighthouses and learn a little about them in the process. Reviewed by: molly martin http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin Twenty + year classroom teacher

Mind's Eye - the imagery of remembered scenes E-Book (Book) - 8/11/2002 7:46:11 PM
The Review: This is a delightful little work of twenty-two stimulating odes written for and about everything from the writers pets to what might have been ‘IF.’ Reviewed by: molly martin http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin

Captain Angus, the Lighthouse Ghost - E-book audio & print book (Book) - 2/2/2002 11:24:16 PM
Delightful Book!

Ponytails (Short Story) - 9/26/2009 6:12:24 PM
I truly enjoyed your story. What good writer you are Wendy, with practice I hope to become a great one too! Blessings to you!

Fireflies (Short Story) - 1/14/2009 4:19:24 AM
God's creatures! Love them! JMD

Reunion (Short Story) - 7/25/2008 8:48:19 AM
I wish I had my doll my aunt Bess gave me when I visited her. I was about 13, named the doll PhobeDEan, was going to name my first child that, instead I named her Karen. That doll had a beautiful lavendar dress on it. My Mother put it on closet shelf and I could not play with it only when I was sick for a while could I hold it. Don't ever know what Mother did with that doll when I married my first husband. I guess she sold it with Dad's antiques after he died. I can always remember the day I was given that beautiful doll.

Reunion (Short Story) - 6/18/2008 10:43:34 AM
Wonderful story! This has really caught my eye!

Ponytails (Short Story) - 8/24/2007 12:40:57 PM
Wow. Powerful and scary. The killers methods and motivation seem quite realistic. Disturbing yet vital to the story is his self-talk to the ponytails he plans to collect. Don has some great insights. In a longer story or perhaps a graphic novel, a scene in the trophy room displaying the ponytails would be powerful. I am surprised that (as Don says) that the killer appears to have no scars from his attacks.

The Lowlander (Short Story) - 5/14/2006 7:44:13 AM
I think the boy should do very well from there on. Thanks for another good story.

The Ticket (Short Story) - 5/14/2006 7:34:19 AM
I like the way you actually understood this man and made the tale become real for me. You are a writer after my own heart.

Ponytails (Short Story) - 2/24/2006 12:39:58 PM
I can only hope my daughter had a better sense of self defense to to only bite a stranger in her bedroom. Points that worked for me: A) Men can be stupidly obsessive B) Murders can become professional in their ways. C) Some famous serial murder's have weird issues with their mothers. D) The maners that men use to make women feel safe could have a darker use. Tacticle points that strike me as needing help A) I found the murder barely sensible. Is this just a femanine fear piece, a statistical profile of feminist rheteric? B) Is the murderer obsessed with pony tails and kills on the side? C) Or, Is the murder a killer with a hobby interest in pony tails? D) This murder seems waistful, choking the poor lady to unconciousness was sufficient to meet his aim. It is dark, the unfortunate girl could not identify him. E) Where is his tropy room? Hunters hang taxidermy copies of killed animals, why is this guy not hanging pony tails on the wall or something? F) This fellow obvously does not get on with girl's well, what is his substitute, his self contradiction? G) No one learns excellence without mistakes during the learning curve, this guy does not seem to have a single scar from being bit, hit or shot at by women who like their pony tails. Except perhaps, Mom.

Washed Up! (Short Story) - 6/13/2005 8:46:50 PM
This was cute and I can relate to that loose coins - it brought back memories. Thanks! LOL

Washed Up! (Short Story) - 3/7/2005 8:01:02 AM
Very funny! Amazing how much you can write about laundry. This story gave me a few giggles. Really enjoyed it!

Washed Up! (Short Story) - 2/9/2005 2:06:41 PM
I really got a kick out of this one.

Washed Up! (Short Story) - 2/9/2005 11:10:52 AM
sounds almost like my character, louisiana sandusky, who has a army of kids she and her hubby have adopted..they probably have dirty laundry piled up to the ceiling! LOL cute write; thanks for sharing! well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D

Washed Up! (Short Story) - 2/9/2005 5:58:44 AM
chuckle

Washed Up! (Short Story) - 2/9/2005 4:06:55 AM
Very interesting take on such a never-ending chore. With four kids and a husband, I feel your pain and I agree that all unclaimed moneys go to the washer lady's purse. It's only fair, otherwise, I'd have to bill them. M.Rose

The Ticket (Short Story) - 2/8/2005 9:29:33 PM
poignant read

The Lowlander (Short Story) - 2/8/2005 9:28:21 PM
poignant read

River Gum (Short Story) - 2/8/2005 9:25:36 PM
good one

Reunion (Short Story) - 2/8/2005 9:21:58 PM
lovely

Barbie Doll (Short Story) - 2/8/2005 9:20:27 PM
enjoyed the read

Fireflies (Short Story) - 2/8/2005 9:19:51 PM
good read

Encounter (Short Story) - 2/8/2005 9:15:54 PM
well done

Spiritual Rites (Short Story) - 2/8/2005 9:14:38 PM
well done

The Black Box (Short Story) - 2/8/2005 9:14:13 PM
whew!!

Hettie, the Hearse (Short Story) - 2/8/2005 9:13:11 PM
good one

Ponytails (Short Story) - 7/6/2003 2:26:42 AM
enjoyed the read

Writing memorable characters! (Article) - 1/26/2004 7:08:30 AM
Hey girl...I enjoyed this a lot...especially as it reflects the very points I use when teaching writing to our group. I am a firm believer in knowing characters as well as one knows themself..maybe even better at times. Thanks so much for writing to me, and I wish you tons of success on all your books! Looking forward to more of your poetry on AD!

Writing memorable characters! (Article) - 7/6/2003 2:28:15 AM
enjoyed the read

Writing memorable characters! (Article) - 7/2/2003 9:43:00 AM
Excellent exercise; however, people function in one of three modes thus not all are visual. This plan works very well for a visual but might leave an audio and/or kinetic precariously hanging. Seems to me the best plan would be to teach how to think/recall and write in all three modes: considering only 10% of the world functions in all three--world's greatest salemen.

Writing memorable characters! (Article) - 6/18/2003 12:54:15 PM
Simple but effective. Handy for sideline characters. Thanks.

Writing memorable characters! (Article) - 4/7/2003 5:13:32 PM
This is a terrific exercise in getting 'into the skin' of a character.

Writing memorable characters! (Article) - 11/7/2002 5:28:00 PM
nice informative article

Father Mine (Poetry) - 5/27/2009 8:34:06 AM
Wow! You really should write more poetry Wendy. This one is wonderful. Anna

Father Mine (Poetry) - 6/18/2008 10:42:54 AM
This poem is beautiful, and I will be tracking your work. Such a heart warming poem. Stop by my den sometime when you have a chance

Father Mine (Poetry) - 4/28/2008 9:07:01 PM
honest beautiful and cruel truths here John

Father Mine (Poetry) - 6/27/2007 7:06:12 PM
Full of warmth, frustrations, and unending love, this is a really good poem. Having elderly parents of my own, I can relate to it all very well. Thanks. Lin

Father Mine (Poetry) - 1/19/2007 5:02:46 PM
with my own father approaching the time your words speak of, your poem rang all too true-thanks for writing

Father Mine (Poetry) - 12/16/2005 12:24:00 PM
The art of expression in this is all you and it is your words and no one elses and that is what makes this so unique and different. You express the way you feel and allow the pen to spill it out.

Father Mine (Poetry) - 11/4/2005 7:20:06 AM
nice

Father Mine (Poetry) - 2/9/2005 6:00:19 AM
lovely

Father Mine (Poetry) - 2/11/2004 10:29:45 AM
Wow....amazing write...I loved it.

Father Mine (Poetry) - 12/6/2003 4:06:25 PM
What a touching write, Wendy! Say, girl, how are you doing these days? Since I left CDP...I lost touch with a lot of its past authors. Being a teacher,you might want to take a peek at my Greek Mythology piece.

Father Mine (Poetry) - 8/21/2003 1:52:19 AM
What a nice convey of the father and the son. You did excellent work here! There is such a need for ALL sides to be known!

Father Mine (Poetry) - 7/2/2003 9:34:35 AM
Excellent, excellent in conveying both sides of the coin: the elder and the younger, the parent and child. As an elder, yet once the child, I fully identify with both roles. Continue the good work, Wendy. And, if you have time, you might want to check out an article: "Writers' Seven Deadly Sins" reveals why big publishing houses are prolific with rejection slips and rare to contract. A copy is over at my A/D webpages.

Father Mine (Poetry) - 6/22/2003 9:21:10 PM
This touched my heart. So sweet, so heartfelt. Very good writing. When we feel something, it is like wriing magic.

Father Mine (Poetry) - 4/29/2003 8:01:57 PM
Heartbreaking and brave.

Father Mine (Poetry) - 4/13/2003 10:19:59 AM
Father' Time well dipicted in this warm poem...

Father Mine (Poetry) - 3/11/2003 8:03:55 AM
What a nice memorial. ~Joseph

Father Mine (Poetry) - 2/15/2003 10:41:34 PM
Well pictured and well realised, Wendy. Sad, but what a valiant character. Sally Odgers (fellow Aussie denner)

Father Mine (Poetry) - 11/7/2002 5:29:52 PM
poignant

Father Mine (Poetry) - 10/5/2002 11:27:41 AM
Sad, of course, but well written. ~E

Father Mine (Poetry) - 12/12/2001 3:36:34 AM
that poem on your dad was very touching, wendy, it brought tears to my eyes!

Father Mine (Poetry) - 9/4/2001 9:58:46 AM


You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.