AuthorsDen.com  Join | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: D.L. Carroll, iMs Beeds, iSophie Davis, iChynna Laird, iDavid Gelber, iMaryanne Raphael, iDave Brooks, i
 
Home > Irene Watson
 

Recent Reviews for Irene Watson


The Sitting Swing: Finding Wisdom to Know the Difference (Book) - 1/17/2009 9:02:18 AM
Hello Irene; Your book, The Sitting Swing, looks quite interesting. I think I'll order it. I also enjoyed reading your interview of John Shor (Beneath a Marble Sky). He's one of my favorite authors. Best, Waheed (Wally) Rabbani Ontario, Canada The Azadi Trilogy, Book I: Doctor Margaret's Sea Chest http://home.cogeco.ca/~wrabbani

Burned: A Tragic Mystery by J. A. Nevling: Book Review (Article) - 9/9/2012 10:58:41 AM
J.A. Nevling brings the reader the story of a horrible accident involving young Anna, a baby that is seriously burned by her father’s negligence. Jim, the baby’s father, is so engrossed in his own activities that he unintentionally sets the house on fire, resulting in the baby being almost fatally damaged. While he also sustains injuries, his wife Sharon, who was out shopping, cannot forgive him and ultimately leaves him. Sharon takes a position at an accounting firm and soon finds herself not only involved with her boss, but embroiled in what seems to be a conspiracy. Suddenly Sharon does not know who to trust in her life. There are a few suspicious characters involved in her life that has the reader wondering what their agenda is, and if they are possibly part of the business scheme. As a reader, I do not like to give bad reviews but I found that the story fell a bit flat for me. While waiting to see what the big plot was, I found myself disappointed that the characters were cartoonish and the entire story seemed to move around haphazardly without a proper rationalization of each other’s motives. The characters seemed underdeveloped and I feel that the story of Sharon being so in love with her husband but not forgiving him for what was a horrible accident was not well written. As a reader, I would have like to see more of why Sharon was so unwilling to forgive Jim. I agree that it was a horrible accident; however Sharon seemed to be a bit of a selfish wimp who would not even give her husband, who was also wounded, one iota of a chance to work the situation out. The entire book was a bit uneven and the finale anti-climatic. As I read the book, I thought, “There has to be more” but was dissatisfied. While I do commend the author on putting the story together in an easy reading fashion, the premise of someone trying to harm Sharon never got off the ground. If you are looking for a great mystery, I am sorry to say that Burned is not that book.

Handwriting for Heroes, by K. E. Yancosek & K. Gulick: Book Review (Article) - 6/21/2012 7:24:04 AM
Handwriting for Heros Kathleen E. Yancosek ? ? I have always wanted to learn to write with my left hand, I was surprised when I came across this workbook. I was expecting nothing more then alot of reading, as most books are that way. I was surprised to see that, there was much hands on expereince then reading. This workbook is for anyone no matter their age, that wants to learn how to read with their left hand. If you have ever had an injury which hurt your right hand then, you know how hard it is to write with your non-dominate hand. Each chapter is filled with exercises that increases the positive writing skills. The six chapters has tips which includes exercises and information about proper posture and lighting. It even goes as far as to provide homework asignment that can be done while you are relaxing. Learning to write with your non-dominate hand can make it easier for alot of things and it is a rewarding accomplishment along life. The authors done a wonderful job with this workbook, and I recommend this book to any and all people out there.

Multiply and Divide with Sticks and Steps® by Maureen Stearns: Book Review (Article) - 6/1/2012 12:09:40 PM
Learning math is often a sore point with young school age kids and their parents, as most people are not mathematically inclined. While there are a great many books out there on the market that profess to teaching the easy methods to understanding and performing math functions many of them somehow fall short or present a series of confusing methods that can frustrate both students and parents alike Maureen Stearns B.A. ,M.S. who is a parent, educator and author has found the perfect method to easily teaching multiplication and division to students which is published in a book titled Multiply and Divide with Sticks and Steps. As a parent of six children myself I understand the trials and tribulations of teaching young children anything especially multiplication and division. This book is a simplified guide to multiplication and division and it works very well. I know this system works because I tested the methods out on my own children and the results were great. Written in easy to understand language with the steps adeptly completely illustrated this book can work wonders for all students, this book even includes multiplying and dividing large numbers, common multiples and square roots for the more advanced learners. Also this book includes illustrations that map the steps out which is both a great help and a plus. I highly recommend this book as an at home teaching tool for all students and it should be included in the curriculum for math teachers dealing with students struggling with math.

The Evolutionary Glitch by Dr. Albert Garoli: Book Review (Article) - 4/5/2012 9:14:50 AM
“The Evoluntary Glitch: Rise Above the Root of Your Problems” by Dr. Albert Garoli is a self-help book to help you learn how to stop the negative patterns and how to find the real you. Dr. Garoli has an extensive background including practicing and teaching of Traditional Chinese and Oriental Medicines, Ayurvedic medicine, Acupuncture, Biophysics and more. From his extensive research in biological learning models, Dr. Garoli believes that many of our behavioral issues can be traced back to an evolutionary glitch that allows traumas in our lives to manifest in a Persona that actually is harmful. According to Dr. Garoli, “rejection causes compromise, which leads to the development of a Persona.” His book, “The Evolutionary Glitch,” helps the reader to identify their particular Persona and gives them exercises that will help purge the Persona and allow the person to live a fuller and happier life. Through Dr. Garoli’s writings, it is clear that he definitely knows what he is talking about. Some of the areas he covers are: It All Stems from Your Attitude How We Become What We Are Not The Brain Trap Coping Strategies Mind-Opening Exercises This is not a book that is meant to be read front to back in one sitting. I tried that when I first started reading and it soon became overwhelming. Taking it a chapter at a time really helped. I definitely found Dr. Garoli’s research interesting and I liked how he presented his information, starting with the first chapter where he describes your “stance,” which is basically figuring out where you are in life regarding your where you live, what activities you participate in, your family and friend relationships, your employment, and your home and community. I don’t know if this book was what I was hoping it would be. It did seem overwhelming at times and does require a leap of faith. I have no doubt that those who follow this will end up feeling different about themselves, most likely feeling better. Perhaps I will go back to it in the future and give it another go.

Got An Angry Kid? by Andrew D. Gibson, PhD: Book Review (Article) - 3/14/2012 10:17:02 AM
“Got An Angry Kid? We have a solution. Parenting Spike: A Seriously Difficult Child” by Andrew D. Gibson, Ph.D., is a book that outlines P.A.C.T. – The Parenting Angry Children and Teens Training Program. This book is for parents of a child who is in a constant state of anger and the parents feel like they are fighting a losing battle and losing control of their child. Dr. Gibson came up with P.A.C.T. when he was dealing with a son who had anger issues. He can definitely relate to how parents are feeling with an out-of-control child. Dr. Gibson illustrates what he means by an angry child by telling us the story of “Spike” throughout the book and then talking about what parents can do based on these situations. He offers 28 steps that the parent will need to implement to bring about some peace in the household. As he states, “Your task is not merely changing your interaction with Spike. You must change your interactions everywhere so that you don’t run the danger of bringing them back to Spike.” It isn’t about just changing the behavior of the child, but the parent has to change his/her behavior also. Only by the parent willing to change will the child be able to change. Dr. Gibson uses real life stories to demonstrate the bad behavior and then how to use P.A.C.T. to implement changes. He holds your hand throughout the process and gives encouragement along the way. By using this training program, I can definitely see how it would positively affect the lives of angry children and their family. By incorporating the 28 steps into your daily life will give you the skills to deal with some of the challenges that you encounter with other people. It definitely takes a commitment to follow P.A.C.T., but Dr. Gibson shows that if you are committed, then things can and will change for the better. It won’t happen overnight, but it will happen if you have patience.

Recovering The Self, Vol II, No 1, edited by Ernest Dempsey: Book Review (Article) - 2/28/2012 2:22:12 PM
Recovering The Self: A Journal of Hope and Healing (Vol. II, No.1) (Paperback) Recovering the Self, a Journal of Hope and Healing, Vol. 11, No. 1 is an awesome quarterly literary journal from Ernest Dempsey for people who are struggling w/some life problem and looking for like-minded individuals and others who understand. Contributors come from around the world and from all kinds of specialities like psychologists and life coaches as well as nurses, poets, essayists and and people like you and me who have lived and learned. Each article is short but full of valuable insight. The art and the poetry add more than I can say. More people should know about this journal. It can help them be more comfortable in the knowledge that they aren't alone, and others share tough, scary challenges. I don't know if this approach exists anywhere else than in this quarterly journal. That's invaluable knowledge, and it can help change peoples' lives.

More Than a Memory: Reflections of Viet Nam, V.R. Volkman, Ed.: Book Review (Article) - 8/22/2011 1:54:57 PM
More than A memory: Reflections of Vietnam Victor R. Volkman ? ? Victor Volkman has taken different energy and emotions that people have about the Vietnam War and placed them inside this book. He even presents the memories that the Veterans have with the insightful spiritual being from them. This book is not a typical book on veterans, but a view of the ideaology of different groups that oppsed the war. All Veterans wants everyone to stand up and take notice, and to me that is what they have fought so hard for. It even shows that everyone suffers through the war in some way, even if it is not a war that is in their country. This book is sad and dramatic, but the greatest in the world. It has a dramatic atmosphere and gives readers the feeling of actually being in the war, and shows that it affects everyones daily lifes. It is not a easy book to read as your feelings can be hurt, but I loved it and I am grateful I have found this book. I am grateful that Victor R Volkman took the time to write it, as it hit my heart just the right way. I have given my copy to my uncle who is a veteran himself. I recommend this book to everyone, but especially to veterans and their families.

Interview with Arthur M. Mills, Jr., author of The Empty Lot Next Door (Article) - 10/30/2010 2:47:27 AM
A fascinating interview that made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up! The large figure clambering out of the hole is unforgettable - maybe more so in the context of a non-fiction interview. Good work here Irene.

The True Nature of Tarot by Diane Wing, MA: Book Review (Article) - 10/30/2010 2:37:30 AM
Great to see someone on AD is reviewing books so succinctly and well. I too have had interesting experiences with the Tarot over the years - I may well go seek out the book!

Explore the Book of Revelation by Julius M. Scott:: Book Review (Article) - 6/17/2010 9:57:44 AM
Obviously, Mr Scott is super smart, and extremely passionate about the Bible. You cannot read a single page without realizing this. He believes wholeheartedly in the subject he's teaching, and his passion is contagious! <blockquote class="left">But when we place our lives in Christ's hands, He restores us now and resurrects us later to an eternal, peaceful relationship with him. (p 24) </blockquote> This isn't a cheat sheet of Revelation. It is an in-depth study about last book in the Bible. The author takes the chapters in Revelation and breaks them down into more manageable chunks. He supports his statements using other verses in the Bible, and explains every verse in an easy-to-read manner. While the book isn't readable in just a few short settings, it is a very good book to reference as you're reading through Revelation in your bible study journey. The author has a really good, really concise summary of the book at the very end. This could actually be a starting point for a quick reference – and then go back to the individual chapter for additional information. <blockquote class="right">The Bible starts with the creating of the universe and ends with the creation of a New Heaven and New Earth. (p 156) </blockquote> This is a keeper Bible reference book for your bookshelf.

The Secret of the Sacred Scarab by Fiona Ingram: Book Review (Article) - 3/13/2010 6:33:12 AM
We find upon opening this book that young Adam and his cousin Justin Sinclair have been invited to go on a tour of Egypt by their Aunt Isabel, an investigative journalist, and will be accompanied by their grandmother as well. Their excitement is palpable as they begin a journey of adventure, danger and even deception before finally making the discovery of which dreams are made. Joining their tour group in Cairo, Adam is given three small scarabs by a peddler who disappears when the police arrive. Suddenly their average run of the mill tour is replaced by mystery and intrigue, some which place the boys in danger and some which give them insight into not only the three scarabs but another unique scarab they discover has been slipped unknown into a pocket of Adams’ pants. When they discover that the famous archeologist James Kinnard is missing, the boys are more than ever drawn to finding out what is so special about the scarabs they now have in their possession. They have a feeling that Kinnard’s disappearance is somehow mixed in with the mysterious peddler and the searching of their room. But it isn’t until their Aunt’s camera is stolen and they are suddenly given a much more expensive version by a highly placed Egyptian man, who just happens to be around when the thief is caught, that they are drawn even deeper into the mystery and become more involved as the days pass watching and waiting for the next turn in their adventure. Even meeting Dr. Faisal Khalid, the head of the Egyptian museum somehow makes them uncomfortable and when they follow some men into a hidden room, they boys know they are in for trouble if they do not discover, before someone else does, the real importance of the scarab they hide so carefully. Add to this a trip down the Nile, a face in their window, the story of the Scarab King, ruins galore and the appearance of many sinister characters and you have the makings of a book any young reader will find not only riveting but fun to read as well. I highly recommend this for the young adventurer in your life. Through it’s twists and turns the author leads the reader to an end and puts two young boys and assorted characters through many exciting and mesmerizing times. It is a book that young readers will cling to for it’s excitement and suspense and a book that older readers will enjoy for the pure joy of reading a book filled with possibilities of treasure in Egypt. I know, I enjoyed this book as much, as my young son will and I intend to obtain every copy I possibly can, of books, author Fiona Ingram has written. For in this day and age of real life horrific tales, this is one that safely takes the reader into a land of mystery and intrigue yet delivers them in the end safely back at home, ready for the next adventure of Adam and Justin. And that in my opinion, is what makes a successful writer for young readers, that safe ending that is premised by excitement, promise of treasure, adventure intertwined with twists and turns galore!

Interview with Donald Bodey, author of F.N.G. (Revised Edition) (Article) - 2/17/2010 7:30:49 AM
F.N.G. - Everybody's "Gunning" for the New Guy Review by Beverly Pechin for Reader Views F.N.G. is one of those books that you're expecting one thing and are handed an entirely different, more intriguing, more intense experience. I've always been intrigued with the Vietnam War itself and sort of have a standard of expectation when it comes to books regarding the experience. Most are raw and somewhat intense in the sense that they bring an inner, personal experience to the surface; allowing the author to break free of the many reigns they've held for so many years. F.N.G. is raw, real and amazing but it's simply put, not typical of those autobiographies you seem to find regarding the war or the bland "news" viewpoints that many put out there. The author, Donald Bodey, is a Vietnam Vet himself but his writings aren't typically "autobiographic", yet completely experience based & real. Bodey has a way of taking an experience that many of us today are clueless about and bringing it full face into a realistic view. Using a metaphoric writing style, he brings the reality of war & the experiences between men into today's world with comparisons of "real world" and "real people" circumstances. Bodey grabs his audience immediately with an encounter between a man and his grandson that makes you wonder how or what this man is doing. Having experienced war himself, Grandfather & Vietnam Vet, Gabriel sees his grandson being pulled into the same direction as he's signed to go into the armed forces to serve in Iraq. As he takes his grandson out for a "hunting trip" he has a brief talk with God before he shoots his grandson, Seth, making readers wonder what this man is thinking. As the story unfolds and Gabriel's experiences in life and war unfold, you begin to realize and even sympathize with the man's reasoning. While I had a hard time thinking in terms of "why you would shoot someone you love", as I began to read the life and times of Gabriel himself I began to understand the entire idea of wanting to be sure someone you love with all your heart doesn't have to experience the same horrors and life changing experiences you, yourself, have experienced & may go to any lengths to keep them from having to do so. Intense & hearty, the storyline is beefed up with the deep camaraderie and experiences Bodey portrays in his novel. Bringing war to the real world isn't as easy as it may seem and making one's heart ache with the characters is a talent that some simply do not have;Bodey not only has this talent but shares it well in his novel, F.N.G., with his readers. If you're looking for a book filled with an intense accounting of the Vietnam War and those involved, this book is one that should top your list of "must reads".

Burned: A Tragic Mystery by J. A. Nevling: Book Review (Article) - 7/18/2009 2:21:46 PM
In Burned: A Tragic Mystery, first time author J.A. Nevling weaves an exciting tale of intrigue and suspense that kept me turning the pages long past the time when I should have been sound asleep. Sharon and Jim Nagol are first time parents living in San Diego with their 9 month old daughter, Anna. While Sharon is out for the day with a friend, Jim is left to tend the baby and enjoy the football game on the big screen TV. Unfortunately, his first time alone with his daughter ends in tragedy when a fire breaks out and both are seriously hurt and possibly dying. As events continue to unfold in the aftermath of the accident, the author takes us a few months forward where we find Sharon living in an apartment, alone, in Los Angeles. She has a new job as an accountant at Prescott Incorporated, where she gets hit on by her boss and stumbles across some shady bookkeeping that may or may not, land her in a heap of trouble. After she is nearly killed in an accident that really isn’t an accident, the wild ride really begins and t he reader is left guessing until the very end. The author writes the story in an alternating present/past format that adds to the mystery and tends to leave the reader on the edge of a cliff for a chapter or two. I think this was the best move for this story as it wouldn’t have been interesting or exciting if written in chronological format. I also liked the fact that the author didn’t go on and on with flowery character descriptions and rarely used simile or metaphor to make his point. Sometimes all that needs to be said is “she has a perfect smile” instead of going on for a paragraph or two about how her smile is like a summer day. The simple writing style moved the story along and was refreshing after reading so many of the unnecessarily wordy stories that are out there today. All in all, I would recommend this book to those who like a story that is well written, has interesting characters, and isn’t afraid to get to the point with as few words as possible. I applaud J.A. Nevling for producing such an appealing and dramatic story that kept me, the person who always figures things out before the conclusion, in suspense until the very end.

Interview with Terra Ziporyn, author of “Do Not Go Gentle” (Article) - 3/22/2007 2:27:32 PM
Very good interview. Elizabeth

Beneath the Marble Sky" author John Shors: BOOK REVIEW (Article) - 2/10/2007 5:06:55 PM
Dear John, I was so impressed by what you had done to market your book. I recently heard your story on the Early Show about how you sold many copies to private book clubs. (I actually got a transcript of that broadcast so that I could contact you!) I've tried doing the exact same thing, but I've had difficulty in locating private bookclubs and when I do, they don't seem quick to get back with me. Do you have any kind of list for these clubs to whom you've sold books? Also, how do you go about contacting them so that they will respond to you? Your help would be so greatly appreciated, as I have not had that much luck yet in marketing my novel. My telephone number is (410) 685-7298 and my email address is bethannepublishers.comcast.net. I'll be looking forward to hearing from you. Elizabeth Robertson

Recapture Your Health" by Walt Stoll and Jan DeCourtney: Book Review (Article) - 11/11/2006 11:31:55 PM
I don't know if I can recapture my health? I have no idea what is going on with me. I am eating everything in sight, and in desperate need to lose weight...HELP!! How can I get a handle of this crazy binging habit I have started to consume, it's driving me nuts.

Interview for "American Meth" author Sterling R. Braswell (Article) - 9/26/2006 10:47:49 AM
Sorry you feel that way Dennis. I spent several years researching the book, and if you'd actually taken the time to read it, you would know i'm not a fraud or a delusional born-again type. Since you posted on the same night at my website you admitted to only reading part of the prologue, a friendly suggestion I would make for you is to read something before you comment on it with literally no knowledge of what is written. It greatly detracts from the open dialogue provided on this forum and others.

Interview for "American Meth" author Sterling R. Braswell (Article) - 8/13/2006 2:10:51 AM
american meth is another "hate drugs" rant by some delusional born-again type who channeled his hate for a woman who used meth into a book that is basically a "you-should-hate-meth" book. it is an old rant, with the names changes. the book spotlights isolatd incidents in the common sensational way, which may be fun to read, but it is far from an accurate understanding of this particular drug. if you hate meth or are mad at someone who uses meth, then this book might provide you with confirmation that some people have had a bad relationship with meth. but if you want to read a balanced analysis of meth, this book isnt for you. in fact, the author, Sterling Braswell hasnt a clue of analysis, but offers what only quick research can do: list misnomers, third-party hearsay anecdotes, and unverified personal stories. whenever you hear a person warn you of: "Damage to dopamine receptors in the brain," you can be sure s/he has no complete understanding of what they said. as for braswells interview, he presented an example of an author who is motivated by producing the book rather than a person who is affected by the content. for some stories, that may not be a necessary concern, like self-help books, or guides, but steve is shilling a "cause of humanity" and he may be a fraud for acting so.

Reader Views talks to Dr. Diana, author of "Opening Love's Door" (Article) - 1/9/2006 6:36:42 PM
A very good in depth interview, Irene. Best, Elizabeth

Irene Watson, Author of "The Sitting Swing" Is Interviewed (Article) - 11/23/2005 9:32:32 PM
A very good interview, Irene. Elizabeth

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.