AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: J. Allen Wilson, iLloydene Hill, iShirley Woods, iDavid Schwinghammer, iAlan Cook, iJoAnna Drelleshak, iBrainard Braimah, i
 
Home > Steven M Ulmen
 

Recent Reviews for Steven M Ulmen


Faces On The Clock (Book) - 8/1/2010 4:42:22 AM
interesting excerpt, why don't you post your cover, it will attract even more reader interest.

Hawkins County (Book) - 4/20/2006 1:12:26 PM
for endorsements for this book goto:http://www.eagleentertainmentusa.com/slow/hce.html

Hawkins County (Book) - 3/27/2006 8:39:28 PM
I read your chapter previews and you have done a terrific job with your detailed narrative, which really captures the small town atmosphere. Your dialogue works well and the feel of the story reminds me of S.E. Hinton

Toby Ryker (Book) - 2/27/2006 1:31:14 PM
The title character in this powerfully woven western novel rides into Laramie, Wyoming, looking for a friendly scuffle. An aging mountain man, built like the mountains he rode out of, Toby Ryker still has enough fight and spit left in him to wrestle with the best of them and an overwhelming urge to satisfy his lust for brawling. He finds just what he’s looking for at Kelly’s Saloon—a room full of cowboys he can easily aggravate. The fighting ensues, tables and chairs are broken. He pays the bartender for the damages, impresses everyone as the friendly but cantankerous fellow he is, and leaves Kelly’s a happy man. Then drops from a heart attack right outside of the saloon. After regaining his strength and begrudgingly accepting a bottle of nitroglycerin tablets from a frustrated Doc Swensen, Toby sets out to complete the mission that brought him to this area in the first place—to look up an old Cavalry buddy, David Stewart, who has a ranch a few miles outside of Laramie. After arriving at the Stewart ranch and spending some time with David, his wife and children, Toby suggests to David that they go off on a high country hunt in the Medicine Bow Mountains, just the two of them, like old times. David readily agrees, but what he isn’t aware of is that a bounty hunter named John McQuiston is tracking Toby for the murder of a banker in Deadwood. McQuiston is a nasty, soulless character, intent on collecting the reward money. Whether he brings Toby back to Deadwood dead or alive is of no consequence to him. Toby and David set out for the mountains on their much anticipated hunt, John McQuiston sets out after Toby, and the sheriff of Laramie, upon learning that McQuiston, himself, is responsible for a murder in Laramie, sets out after McQuiston. They all come together high in the mountains in an explosive ending that will leave you anxiously awaiting the sequel. Written with marvelous detail and rich characterization, Steven Ulmen has done a wonderful job capturing the texture and quality of the Wyoming Territory of the late 1800’s. Toby Ryker is an endearing bear of a man whom you’ll come to love. I laughed heartily throughout the book at the witty and humorous dialogue, especially the exchanges between Toby and his friend, David Stewart. I highly recommend this novel to anyone looking to satisfy their hunger for tales of the old west. From quirky cowboys to brave and compassionate heroes to saloon girls and sinister bounty hunters, this novel has become one of my favorites. Reviewed by: B.R. Jones www.brjones.org

Toby Ryker (Book) - 2/26/2006 1:05:07 PM
This looks like a great Western. Natural language. Well done.

Toby Ryker (Book) - 2/14/2006 1:40:11 PM
"Toby Ryker" was originally written as a screenplay and still exists in that medium. The story is a character-driven western like those made popular on TV shows like "Gunsmoke" back in the 50's and 60's. Ol' Ryker has been bunking with me for nigh onto 25 years now in one form or another so I'm glad to see he's finally in book form and out on his own. He's a colorful old fart, and I hope you enjoy reading about his adventures as much as I enjoyed writing about them. ******* Steven M. Ulmen, author of "Toby Ryker"

The Legend of Mount Arnockers State Park (Short Story) - 3/11/2008 6:30:51 AM
I didn't see that coming!!! Excellent.

The Cannon River Odyssey (Short Story) - 3/9/2006 8:49:14 PM
A very interesting web site (Eagle Entertainment USA)! Enjoyed our visit, Birgit and Roger

The Legend of Mount Arnockers State Park (Short Story) - 3/8/2006 7:33:01 PM
an entertaining read. loved the twist!

The Legend of Mount Arnockers State Park (Short Story) - 3/6/2006 6:18:35 AM
A great story with an unexpected ending! Birgit and Roger

The Making of Western Folklore (Article) - 3/10/2014 4:20:39 PM
well said

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.