AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Iolanthe Woulff, iDenise Nowakowski, iBrian Hill, iDR FRED BELL, iJackie Miller, iKendra Berni, iTonya Kinzer, i
 
Home > Doug Holder
 

Recent Reviews for Doug Holder


Slow As A Poem (Book) - 12/9/2002 7:32:36 PM
Wrong category. Should be poetry. Author should be me.....

THE MEMORY FACTORY (Article) - 4/24/2013 1:44:41 AM
The moments most interesting to me is how outsider/rebel/social critics become insiders like Sheeler. She is like those anti-establishment rock stars who become pets of people like Donald Trump. The work is brilliant in bits, but not consistently. Probably, Sheeler is a rebel with a cause, and its possible the cause is the New Yorker, my home town, too.

Aspect Magazine" and the Small Press Scene (Article) - 3/19/2012 4:15:52 AM
Zephyr Press has placed its archives, including the archives of Aspect magazine, in the Keene State College (NH) library. Scholars, poets, and other interested parties are welcome to visit the special collections room and browse this material. It hasn't been fully cataloged yet, but is available here, only 90 miles from Boston.

Breaking Bagels With the Bards (Article) - 10/27/2006 2:37:23 AM
interesting article

Breaking Bagels With the Bards (Article) - 10/26/2006 6:53:26 AM
Well, I am only one of your garden snails, as I'm certain it would take me two days to get there, and then I would fear being stepped upon by a Professor of Something or Other.

Review of Big Men Speaking to Little Men by Philip Fried (Article) - 7/14/2006 4:50:14 PM
You Lost Both Of Us In There Somewhere! TRASK

God is Dead . (again) Kirby Congdon (Article) - 4/24/2006 9:42:28 AM
Yes, it was my history professor who first told me that God was dead, but I didn't believe it of course, until after the fact had actually occurred. God was murdered by abortion doctors. Everyone should realize that fact.

So Much is Burning William Taylor, Jr. (Article) - 4/24/2006 9:36:35 AM
This book title is amusing to me, as my son's "couldn't care less" father, William, lost his first wife when she escaped with their two daughters in an attempt to "taylor" them in such a way that they would not get burned in the too "hot" Texas fashions. He gave me his sob story and made her sound real bad, then dumped me pregnant right after our honeymoon. What a total rapist! Now I'm forced by my rapist captor to raise my own daughters of my subsequent real marriage in the too "hot" Texas fashion environment, and the burnt to a crisp neighbors are getting worse all the time while I finally get wise as the mother of daughters, though I'm unable to escape to West Virginia and prevent William from Tayloring Junior ... Oh Kay, that was a lengthy joke.

Interview with Don Holder: Lighter of the Lion King (Article) - 8/5/2005 9:01:04 PM
Hello, was impressed by your article. Would you be interested in booking your brother for tv program Celebrity Showcase. If so visit www.authorsden.com/darlenelewis to click on info for program...

Do You Have to be Crazy To Write Poetry (Article) - 6/19/2005 10:25:53 PM
Hello Doug, Having lived with a Paranoid Schizophrenic, I can attest to the fact that although he may have had moments of "genius" during his madness, his intelligent and creative mind only truly shined when he was lucid. Thank you for bringing this topic to the forefront. I so appreciate your doing so, and I wish you well with your work. Tami

Interview with Rose Gardina: The Boston Girl Guide ( with Doug Holder) (Article) - 6/22/2004 9:28:23 AM
Doug, Impressive article and woman! Thanks for sharing. Cynthia

Arts/Etcetera (Article) - 10/10/2003 3:49:19 AM
hahahaha, this was wonderful, Bravo

Arts/Etcetera (Article) - 10/8/2003 10:52:18 PM
hahaha.... love it!!

A Poet Takes Driving Lessons (Article) - 9/6/2003 4:11:32 PM
Hi Doug, As a person who had a short hiatus from driving, a year off. I was in a bad car accident and it scared the very dickens out of me although I escaped with a scratch. Then my wife got sick and it was necessary for me to start driving again. I started small. I'd go to the local store for bread and milk, about a mile from home. Gradually, I took on longer jaunts. However, I did develop a bit of a coping strategy. I now drive in our suburb, but when I want to go into downtown Vancouver, I take the car to the local park and ride and hop on the bus. There are more ways than one to skin a cat, I guess. At any rate your comments hit home with me. By the way, I have the one piece of my poetry that has ever seen the light of day, a sonnet entitled Smooth Talker. Keep writing. Larry

LIFE SENTENCES (Article) - 12/25/2002 7:04:22 PM
I read it. I loved it. Very sensual. Very funny. Want to read more

A.D. Winans: The Holy Grail: Charles Bukowski and the Second Coming Revolution (Article) - 8/24/2002 11:14:10 AM
Excellent. I learned some things I didn't know about BUK.

A.D. Winans: The Holy Grail: Charles Bukowski and the Second Coming Revolution (Article) - 8/23/2002 8:35:47 AM
Nice interview.

A.D. Winans: The Holy Grail: Charles Bukowski and the Second Coming Revolution (Article) - 8/22/2002 9:17:49 PM


A.D. Winans: The Holy Grail: Charles Bukowski and the Second Coming Revolution (Article) - 8/1/2002 9:40:49 AM
Nice work Doug!

Review- Ladies' Night at the Blue Hill Spa-Lisa Beatman (Article) - 7/17/2002 2:40:22 PM
rave reviews for this brilliant writer

Review- Ladies' Night at the Blue Hill Spa-Lisa Beatman (Article) - 7/11/2002 5:55:39 AM
It's a pleasure to read poetry without trying to think 'what the heck is this person trying to tell me?' Lisa Beatman is approachable but still deep enough to make one ponder. Her characters are real people.

Review- Ladies' Night at the Blue Hill Spa-Lisa Beatman (Article) - 7/11/2002 5:31:24 AM


Robert Smyth and the Yellow Moon Press (Article) - 6/28/2002 11:56:59 AM
Great interview Doug!! Interesting take on the biz of pressing small press poetry

Robert Smyth and the Yellow Moon Press (Article) - 6/18/2002 4:16:03 AM
Enjoyed learning more about Yellow Moon Press. Thanks!

An Interview with Somerville Novelist, Pagan Kennedy. (Article) - 6/3/2002 8:08:14 AM
pagan's latest book sounds terrifically interesting. thanks to doug holder for letting me learn about it.

THE MEMORY FACTORY (Article) - 4/9/2002 12:03:46 AM
Oh, she sounds real cool – I mean, HOT – must get more of her – will check out her site

That tree has a piece of me. (Poetry) - 6/13/2008 1:41:15 PM
Hello Doug, I Bet The Tree Is Now Majestic In It's Maturity of 40 some years too. I enjoyed reading your poetic memory. And smiling too :) Embraced ~ Embrassé Vickie

Spring: This Ain't A Love Poem (Poetry) - 6/13/2008 1:34:13 PM
Hello Doug, Oh Goodness...this is definetly not a love poem that's for sure :) Winter is napping & will return soon however.... Embraced ~ Embrassé Vickie

Halloween Night (Poetry) - 11/2/2007 4:31:56 PM
hahahaha glad i didn't miss this this is a cool write and speaks of the times loudly enjoyed!!

Bottle Lady: School St. Somerville, Mass. (Poetry) - 9/6/2007 10:56:07 AM
This was excellent, Keep poetry alive!

That tree has a piece of me. (Poetry) - 8/11/2007 12:51:46 AM
Cute, an experience you obviously have not forgotten. You mean they still have trees in Rockville Center?? Thought it was just a hospital surrounded by buildings, surrounded by buildings....... Be safe, Karen

That tree has a piece of me. (Poetry) - 8/10/2007 6:54:46 AM
Doug, I love the mix of humor and sincerity here: "brittle egg head" and "numb skull" had me laughing. Then, the second-to-last stanza gave me pause. And the last stanza ties it all together: Yes, I am sure that tree has a piece of me. I'm sure you're dad could same the same of you. Very well done. Leo

That tree has a piece of me. (Poetry) - 8/9/2007 5:58:49 PM
Now like my father a man with a purple heart and a little metal in his skull this idea here is BRILLIANT! when i first read purple heart i thought he was dead. i dont know why. but then i followed the thought process through before i even read it and decided if you were talking about a war medal then i was gonna worship you XD that was really well done. and you prolly deserve a purple heart for taking that tree on so valiantly lol. its funny when we pause to look at something from our past... now that we are grown up and moved on. i saw an army truck the other day and my heart got a little stuck in my throat for a split second... when i was little my dad told me that the army was put on earth to shoot you when you get too old and that they decided how old too old was... he doesnt even remember saying it but for years anything to do with the army would land me in hysterics. i hadnt seen an army truck in the longest time and when i saw it on tuesday i was transported back to those memories... its a silly thing but tied up in my mind forever... and yes. im sure that tree has a piece of you. makes me think of "you wanna piece of me, punk!?"

That tree has a piece of me. (Poetry) - 8/9/2007 5:50:19 PM
This was a nice work! Keep poetry alive!!!

An email from the daughter of a Nigerian treasury minister (Poetry) - 7/31/2007 8:35:55 AM
LOLOL!!!!!!!!!! Gad I hate spam mail (and Spam!). Here I am, needing help meself, and they want to cadge every last penny out of me pocket: nope. Don't know the addy, I delete, delete, delete!! LOL Well done, Doug. Or else "they" say I won the lottery. That would be nice, if I played....LOL (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

A Smile (Poetry) - 7/30/2007 8:36:42 PM
quite true- very nice. Thank you-Truth be True-Lyndsey

An email from the daughter of a Nigerian treasury minister (Poetry) - 7/30/2007 4:07:02 PM
Now that's funny. Leo

An email from the daughter of a Nigerian treasury minister (Poetry) - 7/30/2007 2:00:29 PM
Thanks, I've been wondering where my letter went.... thanks, Dan

An email from the daughter of a Nigerian treasury minister (Poetry) - 7/30/2007 1:32:53 PM
Oh yes, plenty of them. And in Australia many were caught in such deceits. Victor

The freedom of a balloon on a string (Poetry) - 5/17/2007 7:43:00 PM
Interesting pen

The freedom of a balloon on a string (Poetry) - 5/14/2007 7:35:58 PM
Visual and expressive in so few words. A great write! Brings to mind the emotions and tone of the classic award-winning 1956 French short-film entitled "Le Ballon rouge" (The Red Balloon") I grew up in the sixties and I think every kid must have seen the film in school. It holds its own today. Anyway, Thanks for the write. Enjoyed. Edwin

In My Spare Time, I Waste Time (Poetry) - 5/7/2007 9:25:03 PM
Doug, Very nice. I found myself comfortable in your daydream. Cynthia

In My Spare Time, I Waste Time (Poetry) - 5/7/2007 8:34:13 PM
Wonderful flow here.

In My Spare Time, I Waste Time (Poetry) - 5/7/2007 8:33:25 PM
There is nothing wrong with daydreaming, do it all the time. Such a delightful read. Enjoyed. Be safe, Karen

In My Spare Time, I Waste Time (Poetry) - 5/7/2007 5:04:59 PM
Great insight into the way we tick;-)Love this one Doug! Eileen

Be My Mashed Potatoes (Poetry) - 4/19/2007 4:37:49 PM
Well, now...delicious!!!! Well done, Doug. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Book Seducer (Poetry) - 3/5/2007 7:29:59 PM
Ironical but true! Loved it. Its always refreshing to read your style of poetry Rgds, Shreya

Heaven (Poetry) - 2/26/2007 7:47:26 PM
great thoughts and it seems to be the theme around here...this stands up and out on its own nice mixing of facts and what ifs enjoyed this much!!!

Heaven (Poetry) - 2/23/2007 8:52:12 PM
A day I am so looking forward to it will be a great reunion in heaven. peace thank you for this refreshing piece. Joselyn

The Man In The Booth In The Midtown Tunnel (Poetry) - 1/13/2007 9:40:24 AM
Great write, a bit sad, also gives one a mystical feeling about the tunnel with no light...enjoyed. Blessings, Joyce Bowling

The Man In The Booth In The Midtown Tunnel (Poetry) - 1/12/2007 5:45:01 PM
kinda sad this is different enjoyed this....

The Man In The Booth In The Midtown Tunnel (Poetry) - 1/11/2007 8:39:28 PM
Doug, you really put a face on the man with this fantastic write. Your very perceptive and this poem shows it.

The Man In The Booth In The Midtown Tunnel (Poetry) - 1/11/2007 7:03:04 PM
All the time LOL

I Will Never Read God's Lips (Poetry) - 1/8/2007 11:44:08 AM
Enjoyed

I Will Never Read God's Lips (Poetry) - 1/8/2007 10:53:21 AM
Doug, this resonates from the first line until it's ending!

Jack's Joke Shop (Poetry) - 12/31/2006 4:15:16 PM
Interesting

A Blank Page. A Blank Sheet. A Blank Slate. (Poetry) - 12/27/2006 6:47:32 AM
Very well done

A Blank Page. A Blank Sheet. A Blank Slate. (Poetry) - 12/26/2006 2:12:28 PM
Funny how one struggles so hard sometimes to get started, and then at other times it just flows like a river. It is always exhilarating when the momentum begins and the quill drips honey. An excellent write! Light and Wisdom ... Richard Lloyd Cederberg

If we froze with a fork in our hand... (Poetry) - 11/17/2006 9:05:36 PM
Enjoyed

If we froze with a fork in our hand... (Poetry) - 11/17/2006 5:32:41 PM
Enjoyed this...If I froze with a fork in my hand...hmm, maybe we would be more thankful for our food, think of others who are less fortunate than we, maybe we wouldn't overeat, or maybe we would slow down and enjoy the taste of our food instead of engulfing it...don't know but your write has given me much to think about. Great job! Blessings, Joyce Bowling

A Child Running (Poetry) - 11/12/2006 6:19:05 PM
great write, much said with few words. Blessings, JOyce Bowling

Furnished Room-Newbury St- Boston: 1978 (Poetry) - 11/6/2006 7:29:28 AM
Enjoyed

Furnished Room-Newbury St- Boston: 1978 (Poetry) - 11/5/2006 8:38:19 AM
Fond memories of ones youth.The place we lived is quite important to how we percieve things. Bom Bhole! Roshan

Two Poems for My Late Father... (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 7:07:40 PM
Thanks for sharing the memories of your father. Death brings memories we might never think of otherwise. The memories help the heart heal. Cherish them. Marjorie

Two Poems for My Late Father... (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 6:44:40 PM
Just wonderful

Two Poems for My Late Father... (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 4:35:03 PM
Doug, I lost my father last year. It still shocks me to say those words...I guess little girls never grow up when it comes to their daddies and always think they'll live forever. It's not so. I was cleaning out a drawer this evening and ran across a little note he'd sent me that had one of his silly cartoon drawings on it...and of course I bawled like a baby. Good dads are precious and worth their weight in gold. Your poems are such wonderful, well expressed tributes to your love for your dad. Bless you, and thank you for blessing me. Michelle

Two Poems for My Late Father... (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 4:23:52 PM
Doug, Both are so well expressed a wonderful tribute to your Dad........ Losing a parent makes the world a bit lonlier, thank you for sharing and sorry for the loss. Light & peace, Joselyn

Anorexia (Poetry) - 10/29/2006 3:28:08 PM
An expressive piece that captures this unhappy woman vividly

The Crack In The Back (Poetry) - 10/25/2006 4:51:36 PM
This is when you want to say, SAY NO TO CRACK!!!!!!!!! This bugs me no end..............pun intended. Well done, Doug, excellent observation! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Anorexia (Poetry) - 10/25/2006 4:50:38 PM
Sad, what people will do to fit society's image of perfection. A shame, this devastating disease...thanks for the powerful reminder, heartbreaking write, Doug. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Crack In The Back (Poetry) - 10/18/2006 10:02:06 PM
ROFL...........

The Crack In The Back (Poetry) - 10/18/2006 5:34:02 PM
haha this one cracked me up. (excuse the pun) Thanks for the laugh. Chanti

The Crack In The Back (Poetry) - 10/18/2006 5:04:21 PM
velly, velly clever. Rusty

The Undertaker Takes Lunch (Poetry) - 10/7/2006 5:59:37 PM
interesting descriptive poem ...

The Family Picture (Poetry) - 10/4/2006 7:06:34 PM
A great write indeed, I often find myself browsing through old photographs and wondering, especially the photos that were taken when my mom was young, I wonder what the people were thinking, what was going on at the time the picture was taken...a single picture says a million or more things to those who view it, if they view it carefully. Blessings, Joyce Bowling

The Undertaker Takes Lunch (Poetry) - 10/4/2006 7:03:28 PM
Enjoyed this very much...there's something about an undertaker that is very mysterious, yet a bit disturbing. Wonderful write. Joyce Bowling

The Undertaker Takes Lunch (Poetry) - 10/3/2006 6:09:17 PM
Be a bit of a shock for him if he read his own name..

The Family Picture (Poetry) - 9/26/2006 6:37:32 AM
Amazing write, Doug. I love looking at the old photos and wondering what life must have been like back then. After the stillness of the photo life went on as usual. Life was much harder back then. Thanks for sharing this excellent poetry with us. ~Linda

The Family Picture (Poetry) - 9/25/2006 2:53:12 AM
very nice!

The Family Picture (Poetry) - 9/22/2006 11:07:15 PM
Well done!

The Family Picture (Poetry) - 9/22/2006 9:35:45 AM
Wonderful use of language/word choice for this piece. Excellent work, Doug Jim

Glaucoma (Poetry) - 9/9/2006 7:34:26 PM
A very scary thing, Doug. Of all the senses, I somehow think that loss of sight would be the most difficult, though those suffering from other losses might disagree with me on that. I have heard that there is now treatment for Glaucoma, though I have yet to hear of a cure, so I hope yours goes into remission very quickly so that your loss will be of minimal proportions. Take care, Sherry

The Cemetery (Poetry) - 7/6/2006 1:10:10 AM
Sometimes being scattered to the wind is the way to travel. This is a thoughtful work, Doug. Enjoyed reading. Elizabeth

The Cemetery (Poetry) - 7/5/2006 5:50:35 PM
I Lived By 2 Rows Cemetery' About 3 Years-Even Played Football In Open Parts Grass Was Green-Getten Tackled No Bumps Bruises-Grass Stains--Never Saw Any Ghosts At Night Just Weird Smells All Those Dead Bodies Rotten Away-Sure As Hell Quiet At Nite! Unique Different Good Write On... TRASK

The Perfect Lawn (Poetry) - 6/21/2006 7:11:24 PM
there was a guy out west that killed a young man because he stepped on his lawn ... sounds like keeping one is a serious endeavor ...

The Perfect Lawn (Poetry) - 6/18/2006 3:37:14 PM
sounds like you mean business~ S.

My Method of Illumination (Poetry) - 6/13/2006 2:49:30 PM
Very well described! I enjoyed!

My Method of Illumination (Poetry) - 6/9/2006 6:18:22 PM
The life seen looking back from another pair of eyes....well you captured it. Susan

Private Dining Under A Blouse (Poetry) - 5/21/2006 4:39:11 PM
LOL! That poor straw!

Private Dining Under A Blouse (Poetry) - 5/21/2006 2:10:36 PM
The new addition to our family dines al dente too. A tender verse. Susan

You Will Be A Collyer Brothers Hermit! (Poetry) - 5/17/2006 6:51:01 PM
I've been a newspaper woman, a free lance writer and an artist and all of my creativity started when I climbed the fig tree next to the house and read...read...read until my fingers were stained from newspaper ink. I know the appetite well and I appreciate this poem. Susan

All This Rain. (Poetry) - 5/15/2006 11:43:38 AM
I like how this started out with the common feelings of rain and then turned into the otherwordly, great idea.

A Sherman Cafe Oatmeal Scone: A Poem (Poetry) - 5/10/2006 8:38:32 PM
enjoyed the read

A Sherman Cafe Oatmeal Scone: A Poem (Poetry) - 5/7/2006 2:32:43 PM
Lol, this was fun, really enjoyed it, and that is what we all need some days, a smile of enjoyment, like when eating a scone, for instance :)

A Sherman Cafe Oatmeal Scone: A Poem (Poetry) - 5/7/2006 10:48:16 AM
Now you're makin' me hungry...ed

A Sherman Cafe Oatmeal Scone: A Poem (Poetry) - 5/7/2006 10:03:55 AM
Delightful poem! I loved my mothers scones, thanks for making me recall the memory! eT

Master Lock (Poetry) - 5/3/2006 9:07:57 PM
A brilliant play on words and one that I can relate to. Thanks for sharing. Chanti

Wild Boars at Savenor's (Poetry) - 4/27/2006 6:39:31 PM
I'm ready for a change in diet and your poem awakens my thirst. Susan

From Desperation to Resignation (Poetry) - 4/12/2006 6:32:50 AM
so well said!!! Susan

Ripeness Is All (Poetry) - 3/22/2006 12:56:42 PM
Wonderful lines here... love joanne

Mother Leading her boy into the Ladies' Room (Poetry) - 3/12/2006 5:33:25 PM
Yay for us! Thanks for the recognition

Mother Leading her boy into the Ladies' Room (Poetry) - 3/10/2006 8:02:48 PM
This are timeless lessons in life. Enjoyed. Susan

They will make diamonds from my dust (Poetry) - 2/26/2006 3:58:35 PM
"I will be all what I wasn't" ~ makes me laugh at the thought. Very cute.

Letter from an Old Jewish Poet (Poetry) - 2/10/2006 11:34:03 AM
Hilarious...though he should have been on the stage. Nice tribute...you are a good friend. BTW, should that be "butch slapped"? ROFL

The Poet's House Was Broken In To. (Poetry) - 2/2/2006 4:41:25 PM
So sorry to hear that, but a wondreful way of expressing it!!!!!!

Sherman Cafe--Union Square, Somerville, Mass. (Poetry) - 1/12/2006 5:40:16 PM
ROFL...

Sherman Cafe--Union Square, Somerville, Mass. (Poetry) - 1/12/2006 10:20:06 AM
Lol ... I do this with people - sit and wonder about their lives and backgrounds. Great write, Doug! God bless, Sandie.

Sherman Cafe--Union Square, Somerville, Mass. (Poetry) - 1/12/2006 9:51:52 AM
i love it

Sherman Cafe--Union Square, Somerville, Mass. (Poetry) - 1/12/2006 9:00:09 AM
Nice atmosphere I have been in places and wondered the name of the person used to establish a cafe. This is a real slice ty for sharing.

For Her... (Poetry) - 12/28/2005 10:14:45 PM
I must openly and honestly say that i always admire and appreciate it when a man can express himself in words and voice. i liked your art of expression of the hair and her.

I Saw Myself on the Dudley BusThat Day. (Poetry) - 12/28/2005 10:11:48 PM
i liked and admired your brie to the point expression about the bus and what you thought you saw. it sounded as if you were thinking to yourself for that is what we writers do quite often my friend and the best to you in all the good that i see you doing in jesus name and Happy new year, Aleja Bennett.

Talk and Cover Your Nakedness (Poetry) - 12/15/2005 10:27:00 PM
I love this. So much said with so few words.. but then, that's the message, huh? Nice job.

Yet Another Cafe (Poetry) - 12/12/2005 9:55:08 AM
Precisely my feelings on the subject. Cafes are my favorite places to write and observe. Nothing like watching the world happen for inspiration.

Mice (Poetry) - 12/8/2005 1:19:34 PM
Wow...a blast from the past. Sounds like a typical New York City apartment. Beautifully penned. Karen

Mice (Poetry) - 11/26/2005 6:45:44 AM
Of mice and men, it was all a game of chance-- And most powerfully penned, Doug.

I am not afraid of bones (Poetry) - 10/29/2005 10:08:23 PM
after all, bones are our ancestors ...

I am not afraid of bones (Poetry) - 10/26/2005 11:02:22 AM
Bones. He was in the American Star Trek yonks ago?

I am not afraid of bones (Poetry) - 10/26/2005 7:09:07 AM
interesting concept

My Life: In Contrasts With Others. (Poetry) - 10/18/2005 9:28:54 PM
Interesting, clever and simply written to get the message across. Nicely done! Best, Jim

My Life: In Contrasts With Others. (Poetry) - 10/16/2005 5:22:20 PM
Great!

My Life: In Contrasts With Others. (Poetry) - 10/16/2005 12:28:16 PM
You'll never know when the time comes... Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

My Life: In Contrasts With Others. (Poetry) - 10/16/2005 8:04:35 AM
This is good, minimalist and potent. I am little concerned about that strophe break after see--. Also, even if your motivation is such that you need a new stanza after that you can perfectly enforce enjambment, so no need to put capital T (in The). Calvin

The Big Bang (Poetry) - 9/19/2005 4:09:48 PM
Wonderful imageries. Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

The Big Bang (Poetry) - 9/19/2005 4:00:27 PM
you managed to cover the two possible senses of the title witty and intellegent images-- good write! john+

Virile to the end in the driver's seat (Poetry) - 9/17/2005 11:37:54 AM
Astounding in creative form dear Sir- Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh- Warmly,Sheee

A Pregnant Silence (Poetry) - 9/17/2005 11:35:43 AM
Whtever workssssss Doug- Your choice of words are really amazingggg-- WArmly,Sheee

And Once It Was So Remote... (Poetry) - 9/17/2005 11:34:20 AM
The imagery here is so clear as your poem of what is to be- This Poem took on many forms-Thanks Doug 4 sharing this- Warmly and Sweetly,Sheee

First Night on the Job at the Psychiatric Ward (Poetry) - 9/17/2005 11:31:22 AM
Wow- this is an interesting write! I felt your feelings that night- GREAT POem Doug- WArmly and Sweetly,Sheee

First Night on the Job at the Psychiatric Ward (Poetry) - 9/10/2005 10:52:41 PM
a very interesting capture ...

First Night on the Job at the Psychiatric Ward (Poetry) - 9/7/2005 8:47:57 PM
Doug, you worked there? Or were you an impatient patient like me...? ;) Ed

First Night on the Job at the Psychiatric Ward (Poetry) - 9/7/2005 12:09:37 PM
Oh my, powerful and excellent! This was so very good! Reindeer

For Her... (Poetry) - 8/28/2005 6:48:13 PM
Wow---Deep Doug............ I could feel your intense feelings here in your unique writing,......... I like what you stand fo!!!r...WArmly and Sweetly,Sheee My eyezzz are on you....... I am watching.. I am tracking you.........

For Her... (Poetry) - 8/28/2005 9:53:56 AM
Love the flow and descriptions of this write.

And Once It Was So Remote... (Poetry) - 8/17/2005 5:06:38 PM
Nice meaning in this poem! Thanks for this beautiful piece of work!

Killing Time at the 99 (Poetry) - 7/23/2005 5:23:25 AM
A truly vivid description of many a bar, in many a town, Doug.

A Pregnant Silence (Poetry) - 7/13/2005 8:26:39 PM
Nice work, Doug! An interesting, yet deep bit of writing with all of the right words in all of the right places! Well Done! Jim

A Pregnant Silence (Poetry) - 7/6/2005 3:13:03 PM
i love it! well done! :)

Virile to the end in the driver's seat (Poetry) - 7/6/2005 12:18:53 PM
hee hee, perfection!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

A Pregnant Silence (Poetry) - 7/6/2005 12:18:15 PM
And I like the rhythm you use. Well done, Poet! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :)

A Pregnant Silence (Poetry) - 7/6/2005 11:07:06 AM
Well said. Thanks for the smile. Tami

Virile to the end in the driver's seat (Poetry) - 6/9/2005 4:43:53 PM
nice sexual innuendo ...

Virile to the end in the driver's seat (Poetry) - 6/6/2005 7:55:54 PM
Excellent Doug, perfect in delivery and in decription. You might want to check line 12 for spelling :-). Nice work! Jim

Touch me, and remind me who I was" (Poetry) - 5/20/2005 10:28:34 AM
Lovely.

Touch me, and remind me who I was" (Poetry) - 5/19/2005 6:42:35 PM
Doug, Very touching. You spoke volumes with so little. Cynthia

Touch me, and remind me who I was" (Poetry) - 5/19/2005 6:05:16 PM
Good poem. Brings me a big smile, because that's where I'm at these days. Thanks, Henry

An Old Bag (Poetry) - 4/6/2005 1:45:50 PM
A tortured bouquet of threads? What a great visual! I love how you can write about the everyday and make it so interesting. Michelle

Ladies and Gentlemen Take My Advice: Pull Down Yor Pants And Slide On The Ice. (Poetry) - 4/6/2005 1:41:56 PM
Oh my, I felt this one deeply. A lovely, reminiscent read. Michelle

A Sweet Bitch Slap Into Consciousness (Poetry) - 4/6/2005 1:40:22 PM
Well you had me going Doug. Terrific imagery, and the ending was a mighty jolt. Great job. Michelle

Yiddish With Dick and Jane (Poetry) - 4/6/2005 1:38:32 PM
clever clever clever!!!! I used to work with a whole office of ladies who spoke Yiddish regularly. One of the most descriptive languages around...Great job! Michelle

To Make Poetry Popular (Poetry) - 4/6/2005 1:36:23 PM
Right on! I love it! Use a little bit of reverse psychology on the masses! Blessings, Michelle

To Make Poetry Popular (Poetry) - 3/28/2005 4:57:13 PM
Lead on, Soldier! What a creative clarion call to action--ONWARD! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. *STANDING OVATION*

To Make Poetry Popular (Poetry) - 3/28/2005 12:14:54 PM
Worth a try. One approach you could start with right away is to write poetry with a warning, "This poetry should be banned." That would get the idea started. Henry

To Make Poetry Popular (Poetry) - 3/28/2005 8:59:00 AM
I couldn't agree more...top write Paul;-]

To Make Poetry Popular (Poetry) - 3/27/2005 10:33:26 PM
a poet should never refrain from expressing esactly how he/she feels, no matter how of if it is accepted by the norm ...

To Make Poetry Popular (Poetry) - 3/27/2005 4:15:28 PM
right on! an good write john+

They Only See The Flaws. (Poetry) - 3/15/2005 7:35:31 PM
hahaha yeah well.....that's for sure i will remember more enjoyed this, "sound about right" piece

They Only See The Flaws. (Poetry) - 3/11/2005 9:29:07 PM
we always live on the edge of a flaw so we can maintain our balance ... well penned ...

They Only See The Flaws. (Poetry) - 3/11/2005 3:42:12 PM
Perhaps it is because they try to explain their own flaws by looking at ours eh?

A Weed In The Concrete (Poetry) - 3/5/2005 8:54:43 AM
ha!!! heard this before....(not the poem) just a like saying powerpacked!!

A Weed In The Concrete (Poetry) - 3/3/2005 10:27:27 AM
nicely written, we see what you mean for us to see in very few, but well written words

A Weed In The Concrete (Poetry) - 3/3/2005 7:14:01 AM
Nice and visual and sparse, just like a weed in concrete. Nice write.

A Weed In The Concrete (Poetry) - 3/2/2005 9:01:53 PM
Someone told me a few days ago that I was like the persistent flower that kept sprouting from the concrete, and then I can in here and found this. Almost heard the Twilight Zone music (does this make me old). Now I have to go back and read this again, and figure out if she was calling me a jovial burp. ;-) Nice poem, Doug.

Flux (Poetry) - 2/3/2005 3:43:46 PM
sad~~~~but that is how it be sometimes like the others the title brought me here and i enjoyed the stay take care

A Sweet Bitch Slap Into Consciousness (Poetry) - 2/1/2005 12:35:08 PM
"you sang my name through an open window" I love this line, it's like climbing on the roof to declare to the world, I love you. "...to awake in a long-lost dream." This line is a great twist... to awaken to a dream. The whole piece talked to me and of course, another unique title that grabbed my eye.

Flux (Poetry) - 2/1/2005 12:29:39 PM
The title grabbed me. I'm glad it did. Not sure if it will allow me to walk away, though. Excellent piece of writing here. The words flow rapidly like a wild river, moving over anything that gets in the way. I'll read more of your work. :)

Flux (Poetry) - 2/1/2005 8:41:06 AM
Doug, let me just say this. Your work is excellent and a breath of fresh air, not to sound too cliche. I read a few of your other pieces as well and all finely written. I'm not surprised they didn't receive any comments, but then again I only need to look around here for the answer. It's great to see another New England poet! Best, Jim

Flux (Poetry) - 1/31/2005 2:22:31 PM
Loved the title---and certainly a change is coming.

Flux (Poetry) - 1/31/2005 2:20:42 PM
A very poignant plea in this one.

Man With Guitar (Poetry) - 1/20/2005 6:20:23 PM
nice capture ...

Man With Guitar (Poetry) - 1/18/2005 3:20:55 PM
You know I have alway been fascinated with those hieroglypics and your connecting it to the man with guitar is extremely interesting.

Man With Guitar (Poetry) - 1/18/2005 1:36:47 PM
there is nothing like watching a good blues player touching those strings

Yiddish With Dick and Jane (Poetry) - 1/16/2005 9:50:54 AM
Very unique and different but I like different it adds spice.

You Can Always be Rescued By The Love of A Good Woman? (Poetry) - 1/10/2005 6:59:06 AM
Exploding a myth! Sometimes the depths are just too deep for the most accomplished swimmer.

You Can Always be Rescued By The Love of A Good Woman? (Poetry) - 1/6/2005 10:07:44 AM
excellent...and yes the title is a little long but it caught my attention

You Can Always be Rescued By The Love of A Good Woman? (Poetry) - 1/6/2005 8:03:29 AM
i like this, but i wouldn't make the title a question. no need. may even wish to cut it down even further. make it real lean. kind of like william's "Locust tree in flower" just a thought.

You Can Always be Rescued By The Love of A Good Woman? (Poetry) - 1/6/2005 7:42:59 AM
Well a point made very simply and well done.

In The Twin Towers: A Love Story? (Poetry) - 1/4/2005 8:03:44 PM
Well this is sort of like Twilight Zone in that it is different.

An Old Black Man Laughing At Me (Poetry) - 12/21/2004 10:57:39 AM
I enjoyed this poem, it was real and something I can relate to. Keep up the great job.-JD

An Old Black Man Laughing At Me (Poetry) - 12/21/2004 9:46:34 AM
this is wonderful...i love it

Ladies and Gentlemen Take My Advice: Pull Down Yor Pants And Slide On The Ice. (Poetry) - 12/18/2004 4:31:57 AM
It's the little things that leave the biggest impression of loved ones that have passed. M.Rose

Ladies and Gentlemen Take My Advice: Pull Down Yor Pants And Slide On The Ice. (Poetry) - 12/15/2004 11:29:54 AM
nice tribute to your dad

Mother and Son (Poetry) - 12/14/2004 9:55:17 AM
this is tragic but unfortunately, having a child doesn't make one a mother

Mother and Son (Poetry) - 12/13/2004 8:23:13 PM
due to circumstance, some people just cannot help themselves ...

A Sweet Bitch Slap Into Consciousness (Poetry) - 11/30/2004 11:44:00 PM
Really quite a beautifully written romance. Love the way you word things through this.. Happiest and Warmest of holidays and all days. God Bless you and your family, Tracey

A Sweet Bitch Slap Into Consciousness (Poetry) - 11/29/2004 7:56:38 PM
as long as the dream is long-lost, there's no harm to it ... vividly penned ...

A Sweet Bitch Slap Into Consciousness (Poetry) - 11/29/2004 10:48:21 AM
Great metaphors here, Doug. I especially liked "you sang my name through an open window" I like this piece very much, thank you.

A Sweet Bitch Slap Into Consciousness (Poetry) - 11/29/2004 9:17:37 AM
sounds like a woman to remember

An Old Bag (Poetry) - 11/17/2004 3:38:42 PM
good to see it didn't prevent you from writing ...

Beautiful Blue Eyes (Poetry) - 10/11/2004 10:37:07 PM
And I didn't expect it! (the ending, I mean :)

Beautiful Blue Eyes (Poetry) - 10/11/2004 9:34:29 AM
darn, i hate when that happens

Beautiful Blue Eyes (Poetry) - 10/11/2004 7:38:13 AM
Hhhhhmmmm....Some words to ponder.... Sandie May Angel :o)

Oh My God! (Poetry) - 10/3/2004 9:44:11 AM
Oh My God. I laughed SO hard! Thanks.

Oh My God! (Poetry) - 9/21/2004 3:23:08 PM
life can be so subjective at times ...

Oh My God! (Poetry) - 9/21/2004 9:24:40 AM
:-)

Oh My God! (Poetry) - 9/21/2004 12:07:21 AM
Creative lines. I love the ending.

Oh My God! (Poetry) - 9/20/2004 9:08:51 PM
life go figure excellent verse thanks, d.

A Smile (Poetry) - 8/7/2004 7:27:03 PM
Ah, well said. (she smiles)

Father Knows best, mother does the rest (Poetry) - 8/7/2004 7:24:29 PM
Laughing... (hard!)

A Smile (Poetry) - 8/2/2004 8:03:13 AM
Wonderful piece. Great insight.

A Smile (Poetry) - 8/2/2004 7:21:23 AM
Good thought-provoking piece. Sandie May Angel

Before I Go... (Poetry) - 7/18/2004 3:33:21 PM
a good question ... do you really have a choice?

Before I Go... (Poetry) - 7/17/2004 11:25:37 AM
Dear Doug, An intriguing write!! Beautifully written. Warm hugs Elga

Before I Go... (Poetry) - 7/17/2004 7:52:55 AM
Great write...... I enjoyed reading this very much.

Father Knows best, mother does the rest (Poetry) - 7/14/2004 7:09:46 AM
You just brought back some vivid memories of that TV show for me, Doug. I always watched it as a child, wondering why in the world he always wore that Cardigan, even in the summer time; inwardly yearning that he would show up one day, unshaven, hair unkempt, in his tee shirt and boxer shorts, scratching his butt and yawning, as he retrieved the paper from the driveway, yelling, "Bud, get out here and clean up this dog crap."

Losing A Stream of Consciouness On The Dudley Bus (Poetry) - 7/4/2004 8:59:42 PM
I enjoyed the imagery in this, Doug. Cute finish.

Losing A Stream of Consciouness On The Dudley Bus (Poetry) - 7/4/2004 12:53:33 PM
Felt like I was riding with you. I was there, one bitter cold day, eons ago. I'll never forget the incredible, backlit skyline in the last red of the dying cold sun as my plane taxied to take me down the light scattered Eastern Seaboard to the warmth of Atlanta.

Rotisserie Chicken (Poetry) - 7/1/2004 6:32:32 PM
(laughing) Love the visual. Good work.

Rotisserie Chicken (Poetry) - 7/1/2004 9:28:30 AM
Ha! I have thought likewise, everytime I am at a Deli counter. A fresh idea here...brought out very well.

Periodical Room: Boston Public Library (Poetry) - 6/30/2004 7:39:29 AM
Neat write, but what has it to do with the action/thriller category...AL

They Are Playing Our Song (Poetry) - 6/27/2004 10:47:17 PM
It's a wonder we haven't fallen flat on our faces ...ummm, or have we? A prolific write, Doug, but so much truth in your words. Thank you.

They Are Playing Our Song (Poetry) - 6/27/2004 5:23:31 PM
There's a ring of truth in every line. We crave danger.

They Are Playing Our Song (Poetry) - 6/27/2004 3:39:26 PM
Life is a constant rehearsal of a dance that is yet to happen. When the music stops abruptly the player skip a step. Play it again Sam and the player dances on. ~ May Lu a.k.a. Sandie May Angel ~

Old Woman Outside The Family Dollar Store (Poetry) - 6/24/2004 10:35:52 AM
Spare and precise, clean and on target.

Isn't Paradise Always Lost? (Poetry) - 6/14/2004 8:45:28 AM
Ah, the ever-illusive Paradise. I'm nodding at your expression of the truth. Bravo.

Looking At A Lone Woman In a Bar (Poetry) - 6/14/2004 8:39:10 AM
THIS is excellent! Wonderful expression. Thank you.

Old Woman Outside The Family Dollar Store (Poetry) - 6/14/2004 8:36:17 AM
I like the feel of this one. Thank you.

The Shower (Poetry) - 6/14/2004 8:30:22 AM
Loved this.

Dick's Apartment (Poetry) - 6/14/2004 8:19:19 AM
Enjoyed the imagery in this and the story it tells. Thank you.

Dick's Apartment (Poetry) - 6/8/2004 2:36:34 PM
wonderful write

The Shower (Poetry) - 6/2/2004 9:55:11 AM
Blind trust can be dangerous. Nice write.

The Shower (Poetry) - 6/2/2004 9:07:51 AM
(((doug))) LOL--this is a well written, hysterical write. hee hee sounds like fun :) (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

On The Ward: An Old Harvard Man. (Poetry) - 5/25/2004 5:30:29 AM
great poem.

On The Ward: An Old Harvard Man. (Poetry) - 5/23/2004 7:50:56 AM
Brilliant write. ~ Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu ~

LaGrange Street Boston (Poetry) - 5/17/2004 6:39:11 PM
A very intresting write! I love your descriptions and that ending...great!!!! ~Nikki~

LaGrange Street Boston (Poetry) - 5/16/2004 1:11:03 PM
Interesting description of an interesting place. It would be more powerful if you had written it from the point of view of one of the people frequenting the place. Might make a good short story.

LaGrange Street Boston (Poetry) - 5/16/2004 12:39:19 PM
You took me there.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.