AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Mark Sutton, iR.E.E.S Blogs Linda Smith, Publisher, iMel Hathorn, iGisele Vincent-Page, iMaryanne Raphael, iCatriona King, iBilly Allmon, i
 
Home > Frances Lynn
 

Recent Reviews for Frances Lynn


Crushed (Book) - 4/15/2007 8:17:16 PM
'Crushed' is one of the funniest books, if not the funniest, I have ever read. I thoroughly enjoyed the wit, which was razor sharp with the most hilarious unforgiving character descriptions ever penned. I don't consider myself a fast reader, especially novel size books, but it took me only a few hours to finish it because I was so hooked. I didn't even eat dinner because I didn't want to interrupt my reading. I just had to keep going to find out what was to become of Door and her odd but endearing family. There's not a wasted moment in the story. I never felt like I was being carried off on a tangent that had nothing to do with anything. Every disastrous event builds something in the development of the story and the characters. After I finished reading it, I felt like I would miss the Brevingtons. Exceptional work, Frances. I'm impressed. Brett

Crushed (Book) - 6/17/2006 4:03:49 PM
"Crushed" is a pre-teen fiction book aimed at11-12 year olds. But, grown-ups love it as well. After Curt Eiworth offered to publish it, I illustrated it too.

My First Snog (Short Story) - 5/13/2011 9:41:06 PM
never heard this expression. funny how words work. loved it. thanks for sharing- jch

Shoplifting  (Short Story) - 7/17/2010 3:57:12 PM
I like that, accidently and on purpose at the same time. Great write. Kudos to you! Linda

My Old School Friends (Short Story) - 7/26/2008 4:03:28 PM
Lost some of my old school friends too. My best high school friend did not send me a christmas card or note this year. Cannot seem to find out where she is? Bothers me to no end. I like to keep up with old friends.

Midnight Curfew (Short Story) - 7/7/2008 8:27:03 PM
Fabulous write ~`*

Shoplifting  (Short Story) - 5/16/2008 7:49:03 PM
Great!!!! You started successfully!!!!! Don't be bashful -- continue!!!!!!!!

Fancy Dress Party (Short Story) - 3/22/2008 11:05:14 AM
well said

My Old School Friends (Short Story) - 9/26/2007 7:37:06 AM
A great write, wonderful dialog reads smooth and is very realistic...enjoyed this my friend. Glad to see you posting! Blessings, Joyce B.

My Old School Friends (Short Story) - 9/25/2007 7:24:18 PM
Wow, brutal. There was no sugar coating at all with the narration. It was matter of fact, but still had humorous moments, like when Stacey says so bluntly "I had a nosejob for my birthday". I totally enjoyed this. Brett

My Pet Dogs (Short Story) - 8/22/2007 5:52:46 PM
Paul McCartney! Now that was cool! As was your story, loved it! B&R

Fancy Dress Party (Short Story) - 8/22/2007 5:47:42 PM
Oh Frances, that was a wonderful story. We really love your stories and the way they remind us of our youth back then. I'm glad to say that my parents were rather normal as well...I think... B&R

Fancy Dress Party (Short Story) - 7/9/2007 12:20:02 PM
Hi Frances How are you?? I enjoyed reading this story. It's packed with some pleasant imagery as you can imagine the teenage girl in her silly outfit. It forced a giggle out of me if I'm to be honest. Also I could feel Tina's embarassment as the parents came bursting in. Lol. Overall, it was a nice read that brought a smile to my face. Well done Frances.

Never Go On Holiday With An Acquaintance (Short Story) - 5/7/2007 2:49:08 AM
Pity... Really.

Never Go On Holiday With An Acquaintance (Short Story) - 5/7/2007 2:18:06 AM
Wow! What a guy! What story! This was so funny...love to read your stories, as always glad I stopped by! What a shocking ending! Enjoyed! Blessings, Joyce Bowling

Never Go On Holiday With An Acquaintance (Short Story) - 5/6/2007 2:06:11 PM
Oh you poor dear, next time take the trip to France! Loved the story, even though we do feel for you! Love, B&R

Never Go On Holiday With An Acquaintance (Short Story) - 5/5/2007 3:30:42 PM
A very nice twist at the end: he drops her. Very nice.

Never Go On Holiday With An Acquaintance (Short Story) - 5/5/2007 2:43:31 PM
Hilarious true-to-life piece. Frances, your work is always filled with spot on observations, so keen and eloquently stated that I can't help but laugh. Brett

My First Teenage party (Short Story) - 3/3/2007 8:04:55 PM
A wonderful write my friend! Enjoyed this much...love your humor! Great story! Blessings, Joyce Bowling

My First Teenage party (Short Story) - 2/28/2007 7:41:27 PM
the narrator's an only child or the first child because parents learn quickly not to leave kids partying again without adult supervision! the story proves it--butts, vomit, costly rug, etc. good read/write holds one's interest all through

Midnight Curfew (Short Story) - 2/28/2007 5:55:27 PM
Another delight to read, Frances. It is good that you can recall these events and share them via your storytelling. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Shoplifting  (Short Story) - 2/28/2007 5:53:07 PM
A learning opportunity from which you learned it seems, Frances. Nicely done. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

My First Teenage party (Short Story) - 2/28/2007 2:03:29 PM
A delightful story, Frances. Thank you for sharing the humor. Love and peace to you, Regis

My First Teenage party (Short Story) - 2/27/2007 1:06:32 PM
Another hilarious story, Frances. The disasters you bestow upon your helpless young narrators are so true to life. It's funny how obnoxious Nathalie appears in the story. "I was surprised she didn't stick tassels on them and swirl them around like bejeweled girls in the circus do." That is so funny, I cried in laughter. Brett Brett

My Pet Dogs (Short Story) - 2/19/2007 7:16:59 PM
Enjoyed this so much...down to the final word! Blessings, Joyce Bowling

My Pet Dogs (Short Story) - 2/12/2007 8:24:13 AM
Great story, Frances; well done! BRAVA! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

My Pet Dogs (Short Story) - 2/11/2007 7:07:36 PM
delightful tale of dog and English life in London. thanks a lot for enlightening me as to lurchers, etc. enjoyable. i will be reading more stuff of yours

FRISKY RADIO STAR GOES GLOBAL (Article) - 11/18/2012 1:22:24 PM
Ending sentences with a preposition - Frances!!! Xx

Jeff Dexter to Write His Memoirs (Article) - 12/10/2009 4:24:11 AM
And it's about time as well! Not many of us survived the Sixties with memories intact but somehow Jeff seemed to escape this phenomenon. But for how long??? So one and all are delighted that Jeff has begun at last to upload his treasure trunk of memories for the benefit of us all. I'm fed up with people who were not really a part of it trying to write about the Sixties on the basis of their interviews with people who were. To use an apt analogy, it's kind of like the pathetic attempts of "experts" to talk about the effect of drugs they have never themselves taken.

Parties in the Seventies (Article) - 7/26/2008 4:04:37 PM
In the seventies I was raising my 4 daughters. I did have some fun going to bingo and carnivals and all. But parties, only family birthdays and that is all.

Sat Raimondo - The Healer Who Unblocks You (Article) - 5/24/2008 6:41:12 PM
Hey Frances, maybe I should try something like this. I'm glad it worked for you as I know how hard it is to get unblocked. I look forward to reading your next book as your writing brings me a lot of joy. Brett

Tales Of Brother Goose (Article) - 8/22/2007 5:54:31 PM
Thanks for this push into the 'right' direction, Brett sounds like tons of entertainment! Great article, B&R

CRUSHED. Illustrated Young Adult Novel.  (Article) - 4/28/2007 2:27:37 PM
Congratulations on the book and that wonderful review! Elizabeth

CRUSHED. Illustrated Young Adult Novel.  (Article) - 4/28/2007 1:29:02 PM
Wow! A five star review, I can't put this off any longer I am going to have to buy this book and read it...I think it will be first on my list of summer reading. Blessings, Joyce Bowling

The Frugal Editor  (Article) - 4/28/2007 10:54:14 AM
excellent review and very good advice. makes any of us think twice and want to have a look at this book. cheers

CRUSHED. Illustrated Young Adult Novel.  (Article) - 4/27/2007 5:33:20 AM
I will have to check this book out; sounds like it would be a good one to read! Congrats!

The Frugal Editor  (Article) - 4/18/2007 5:01:05 PM
Dear Frances: Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am excited about this book, as I was about The Frugal Book Promoter. It is a way to reach and help many authors! Glad you liked the section on hyphens. They haunt most of us and there is much disagreement on them, but my book advises on the zero tolerance approach so as not to turn off an editor or agent who has the power to say "Yea" or "Nay" to your book (or short story or freelance query or...well, you get the idea. (-: Best, Carolyn www.howtodoitfrugally.com

The Frugal Editor  (Article) - 4/18/2007 4:46:54 PM
I could definitely use this book. I'm no expert on grammar, as I'm sure you will see in my book. I basically hurried the process of publishing it and should have had it professionally edited. The Frugal Editor looks like a good handbook to have. Brett

Soho Post Mortem (Article) - 3/1/2007 8:16:57 AM
Even though this piece is about London in the seventies it has echos of the counter culture in Pittsburgh in the seventies. So much of what's in the article seems familiar to me. And I did my fair share of drinking. Luckily I kept notes. Thank you, Frances. Guy--

Soho Post Mortem (Article) - 2/28/2007 5:02:01 PM
It seems that in the Seventies there was so much more "living" going on. I really enjoy reading your articles about your life. I'm impressed by it and pretty envious. That being said, there was a somberness to this one that was quite touching. Brett

Playboy  (Article) - 2/26/2007 1:39:39 PM
This article alone would make a great book. Elizabeth

Playboy  (Article) - 1/25/2007 5:15:53 PM
What a party! What a write...really enjoyed this one my friend, enjoyed sharing this aadventure with you! Anxious for the next one. Blessings, Joyce Bowling

Playboy  (Article) - 1/25/2007 9:48:01 AM
Great Stuff Frances - a novel or memoir is here for sure. Malcolm Watts

Playboy  (Article) - 1/25/2007 8:47:34 AM
Wow, this is cool, Frances. I'd love to hear more about your adventures. As usual, your writing is so witty. I imagine that you could write about staring at the wall and make it interesting. Anyway, great piece. Brett

Playboy  (Article) - 1/25/2007 4:34:49 AM
really fun read. thanks a lot for posting it. i like your tone, etc. in your writing. found you cause you made a comment place. now i have some of your "older" postings to read. luck

Playboy  (Article) - 1/25/2007 4:05:01 AM
I love it! Gotta love the line, ’No wonder they’re eligible. Nobody wants them,’ LOL Would really like to know the history of that grandfather clock (painted by Leary). I basically grew up in the hippy days of Monterey/Big Sur, and Timothy Leary was a central figure. Fun days and fun ways! Great writing! Ted

Writing About Who You Know (Article) - 12/28/2006 9:04:11 PM
I will have to look this book up, I have always wanted to write for Young Adults, and in fact one of my Novella's Four Words to Freedom, came to me through working with severaly handicap children when I was a teen, thank you for sharing this God Bless Michelle~

Parties in the Seventies (Article) - 12/8/2006 4:11:15 PM
A really great article. Oh, those seventies, sigh. Love, B&R

Journalists need to be on good terms with publicists (Article) - 12/8/2006 4:08:58 PM
A great and enjoyable article! yes, if you are not constantly practising that short hand, it's gone in no time! But, you've got a great head on those shoulders, you're good to go, no doubt! Love, B&R

Showbiz Journalism (Article) - 12/7/2006 6:48:27 AM
What an exciting life you've had. Tell more, more, more. Elizabeth

Seventies Retro (Article) - 11/7/2006 10:51:37 AM
I loved the seventies...it was a great time then one that now I can look back on and laugh, and be grateful that we survived many of the outragious stunts that we pulled. I can also say that I am glad that I experienced this slice of my life then and not now. For now people have lost many of their morals and humor, a walk on the wild side is nothing like our walks, now much more dangerous than then. Glad I had the opportunity to live it during the seventies. Great article. Blessings, Joyce Bowling

Trying to get published (Article) - 10/21/2006 1:39:54 PM
We love the way you express your adventures and wisdom in your articles. Often we do wonder how some people did get their manuscript published, after we attempt to read it. S&S as well ans RH have some books published that would really need to be written first... while other manuscripts would just be so much fun to read, if someone would just look at them! It is a strange business, but somehow it is so much fun too! Love, R&B

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.