AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Myles Saulibio, iT. Cline, iReverend Dr. Linda De Coff, iM Cates, iAmy Sellers, iM. R. Mathias, iP. G. Shriver, i
 
Home > James J. Marry
 

Recent Reviews for James J. Marry


Shut Up- mystery tinged with scifi (Book) - 1/26/2002 3:51:21 PM
I agree with Vicki Sullivan completely in her wonderful assessment of this 'Must Read' book by clever storyteller James Marry. 'SHUT UP' is a book not to be missed!

Shut Up- mystery tinged with scifi (Book) - 8/16/2001 12:35:06 PM
I had the good luck to find out a bit about "Shut Up" by James J. Marry at an author's convention at the University of South Florida last year. I have to admit that I was curious, for one since I met James in a completely different venue before that, and two- because of the interesting theme of the novel. I don't read as much as I would like, so I wanted to be sure that I would get something that was interesting and not too far above my head. To be honest, I would have gotten bored. "Shut Up" filled that order high above my expectations. Though there is a constant hum of science fiction in the background, I found that the two main characters- Casey Kowalski, a bar owner in Florida circa 2000, and Marie Cherillo, a historian circa 2248 were gripping and highly endearing. I read the novel in four days!!! I hope that James will give us a sequel and I hope it is soon. By the way- I love the site though I'm surprised you gave up the first three chapters of the book!!!

Shut Up- mystery tinged with scifi (Book) - 8/13/2001 9:07:29 AM
I have reviewed and rated this excerpt of Mr. Marry's book, Shut Up, with a 10 because I am impressed with it as a sci-fi fantasy thriller. Anyone who appreciates sci-fi will know how difficult it is to write it much less do it right, as has Mr. Marry in his book. I would love to write sci-fi as it is one of my favorite reading past-times but as yet I find it much too difficult and demanding a task to begin much less imagine the year 2248. I say, WOW! What a book! I can't wait to buy it and read it. It reminds me of the novel, Safe House, set in NY City. This book is going to be a block-busting movie! Cheers and Chow, Vicki

Shut Up- mystery tinged with scifi (Book) - 8/2/2001 11:07:01 PM
Shut Up is a clever blending of two genres, futuristic sci/fi and contemporary thriller. Two stories are happening simultaneously, one about Casey Kowalski, a present day business man who can take care of himself in most situations, and the other about a woman 250 years in the future who must read Casey's auto-biography and make sense of it in terms of the history of his day. James Marry's style is straight forward and flows easily, and he makes the reader comfortable in both present and future settings. One chapter spent with Marie and her friend, Stanley, and I felt acclimatized to their time, and the oppressive expectations of their government, called the Culture. Casey Kowalski has a sort of charm that made me smile, even laugh aloud. I recommend Shut Up to anyone who loves a great story. Good Job Mr. Marry!

Shut Up- mystery tinged with scifi (Book) - 7/31/2001 5:00:24 PM
Marry has made an excellent sci-fi fantasy with the real emotions that humans of any age experience. One with the capability to imagine,let alone, write such an 'accurate' description of what it might be like in the year 2248 takes the talent that only this author can provide. The characters are made real by the current day problems that would still most likely exist endless through time. I would recommend this book to other with interest in the world beyond our own.

The Brownstone Staircase (Short Story) - 12/28/2007 4:26:08 PM
I love this story....edge of tears here, just not sure it's really horror??

Feather in a Tornado (Short Story) - 4/11/2006 1:01:54 PM
Wonderful write, James; very well done! BRAVO! (((HUGS))) and love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Feather in a Tornado (Short Story) - 4/11/2006 8:40:12 AM
The title drew me in, and I wasn't disappointed. You capture a rich history with this family, their thoughts, their emotions, their lives. I was captured, and didn't think it was "slow." Vividly told, I felt like I was sitting at an elder's person's knee, listening to them tell old stories. Well done! I enjoyed this one, very much. "Angela's Ashes" is one of my favorite books, too. :) (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Blond Bullets (Short Story) - 12/23/2005 9:48:22 PM
With a bit of editing, this is a good story. I like your style. Tami

Eastward Bound (Short Story) - 7/20/2004 4:45:49 PM
This is cute. But, I think, its doesnt catch you like the first draft or the origional story does. To much detail I think. The first one was short and had more punch to it....XXXOOO Terisia

Transition Play (Short Story) - 9/7/2003 11:22:26 PM
Beautiful story, only I wouldn't be caught dead driving in a Mercury Cougar...Heh, heh.

Blond Bullets (Short Story) - 5/29/2003 5:35:36 PM
read shut up. pretty good. read blond bullets not bad. Is Kathleen a real chick? If so, can I have her number? My kind of girl.

A Waitress' Tale (Short Story) - 4/11/2003 7:00:55 PM
cute, real cute,.?'/...so there was some temptation there?...hummm.now your scaren me.nah... I dont have the time or the energy to be scard...I do love how you love me :)...all men loved their ego stroked.. stay away from the strokers...I'll do the stroking... geeeessssa...oxoxoxox.....

Blond Bullets (Short Story) - 4/8/2003 11:18:28 AM
Needs polish.

Eastward Bound (Short Story) - 11/20/2002 3:46:40 PM
enjoyed the read

Eastward Bound (Short Story) - 11/2/2002 7:54:35 PM
Hi James! I truly enjoyed traveling along with you and your wife in your words.. Wonderful!!!!

SCREENPLAY- Shut Up (Short Story) - 1/26/2002 3:44:18 PM
Very nicely done! Victoria

Fidelity (Short Story) - 10/20/2001 12:05:17 PM
Great story! Should be fleshed out as a novel. Don't know about the very, very end of the story (a tad Hollywood, maybe?).

Transition Play (Short Story) - 9/9/2001 12:37:53 PM
I was glued! This is great stuff. Simple flowing structure. Easy read.

Fidelity (Short Story) - 9/4/2001 5:26:47 AM
I would have rated this a 12 or a 15 if there had been that option. This is a first rate story and I can only hope that it is a book in the works. Pretty awesome stuff along the order of Grisham's first few novels. You got a winning story here, James. Go Figure?

Mooney (Short Story) - 9/1/2001 7:16:44 PM
I enjoyed reading Mooney because it was for real! One way to get readers to keep coming back is to "tell it like it is". Mr. Marry has captured the art of truth telling! vls

A Two Headed Dragon Has to Eat (Article) - 4/12/2003 2:19:37 AM
I find Mr. Marry's comments to be the Gospel (no pun intended). James has a complex intellect (read him slowly) and over the last three years I can say that his observations about most any subject are carefully thought-out and 'write on!'. I am currently helping an old friend with his writing, and I feel the old friend may ask to colloborate on a novel. Forewarned by mr. Marry, I shall give that second thought. Steve Beres

The Music of God (Article) - 1/18/2003 11:28:03 AM
James, A wondrous writing indeed. It moved my spirit. God is working a mighty work thru your writings. I too am embarking on a journey for the Lord. May His name be praised...Valerie M. Boggess

Our Father Who Art (Article) - 1/18/2003 11:24:25 AM
James, I visited your website today. It it beautiful. I too love the Lord with my whole heart, soul, and mind. That's what comes to mind when I read your excerpts. I too talk to God. He is as real as the air that we breathe, He whispers in my ear...Valerie M. Boggess

The Music of God (Article) - 11/13/2002 11:54:42 AM
a good write!

Shuriken: The Art Of Writing (Article) - 11/2/2002 7:58:07 PM
"The black and white for the Art of Writing must come from the most important tool that any writer has to work with- your heart." I so agree with this statement! Also THANK YOU for reading a few of my meager pieces truly appreciated!

Following the Our Father (Article) - 11/1/2002 8:36:21 AM
This was such an outstanding article~Enjoyed reading`*

Our Father Who Art (Article) - 9/16/2002 8:26:46 AM
I am proud to call you my son! You have revealed, to me, something. I can take no credit for.Your devotion, and love of god. Bless you. Dad

Creational Pre-ejaculation: The Quest for Mainstream P.O.D.s (Article) - 1/26/2002 3:54:08 PM
Thanks for your thoughts and insights. Enjoyed reading your Article! Victoria

Creational Pre-ejaculation: The Quest for Mainstream P.O.D.s (Article) - 10/21/2001 8:37:53 PM
Thanks for a first-hand experience. I appreciate the information.

Creational Pre-ejaculation: The Quest for Mainstream P.O.D.s (Article) - 9/9/2001 5:54:25 PM
"What kind of cave...?" I would not mind having a rent-free cave right now! The original Apollo got his start in a cave and wound up enlightening the world when he went on tour. The original Hercules (B.C. 40,000) also lived in a cave when he was not clearing the land of dangerous beasts. Hang in there.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.