AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Frances Seymour, iRosemarie Skaine, iHank Nuwer, iBurton Pines, iBettye Johnson, iJansen Estrup, iDr. Stanley Crawford, i
 
Home > Mary E Martin
 

Recent Reviews for Mary E Martin


A Trial of One the third in The Osgoode Trilogy (Book) - 10/19/2008 4:51:50 PM
Writer Martin, no relative to this reviewer, is a skilled writer who has on the pages of A Trial of One fashioned a medley of stimulating players overflowing with more persona and angst than most. Locales are well detailed serving to draw the reader into the sequence of events and grasp reader concentration fast. Discourse is at times coarse, unrefined and astringent. The plot is a gripping, reader captivating set of circumstances. Villains are properly iniquitous, Harry is dense and clever by turns as he tries to disentangle the vagueness and treachery found in his client, the deaths of his late partner along with the scoundrels determined to latch onto all that money to be had from the shares of stock, moreover the conclusion of the trilogy is gratifying. Not for everyone, A Trial of One does have some profanity and reference to sex will put off readers easily shocked. Others will enjoy the work, and if they have not yet read the first two of the trilogy will be determined to track them down for reading. Enjoyed the read, happy to recommend. MOLLY'S REVIEWS

Conduct in Question (Book) - 8/17/2006 6:24:41 AM
Book Review originally posted at Eclectic Closet Litblog (http://antheras.blogspot.com): Harry Jenkins has worked under his senior partner’s thumb for years in a Toronto small estates practice. When his partner drops dead from a stroke in their office, suddenly Harry is on his own and free to run their law-firm his own way. Almost immediately, he is swept into the conflict surrounding the estate of his wealthy client, Marjorie Deighton, and the massive money-laundering scheme engineered by the enigmatic Mr. Chin. Harry is convinced Marjorie was murdered but Sergeant Welkom gives little credence to his theories until Marjorie’s will is stolen and her maid found murdered. At the root of Conduct in Question is the sadistic murderer dubbed by the media as “The Florist.” The Florist haunts Toronto, a serial killer who marks his victims with his “art,” floral designs he carves into their skin. The Florist hides behind the rigidly controlled mask he presents the world. Is The Florist somehow involved in the money-laundering scheme in which Harry is mired? Will Harry, despite his naïveté and personal troubles, find the answers before The Florist kills again? Mary E. Martin has crafted a solid beginning to her trilogy of legal thrillers. A bit slow at the start, readers will soon be drawn into the drama created by the bickering members of Marjorie’s family, and the slowly blossoming relationship between Harry and realtor Natasha Boretsky. Harry is a very human character who is torn between his desire to uphold the ethics of the law and to keep his practice afloat. The manner in which Harry faces these dilemmas provides heart to this thriller. Mary E. Martin, a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada, practiced law in Toronto for twenty-eight years. Conduct in Question is her first novel.

Chapter 3 of A Trial of One, the third in The Osgoode Trilogy (Short Story) - 3/27/2010 10:57:12 PM
holds reader interest, have i reviewed all of the trilogy? best, m

Chapter 4 & 5 of Conduct in Question, the first in The Osgoode Trilogy (Short Story) - 3/27/2010 10:56:02 PM
thought provoking read

Chapter 4 & 5 of Conduct in Question, the first in The Osgoode Trilogy (Short Story) - 11/8/2009 6:22:20 PM
writers are born they are not created never believed that you are a born writer ...thanks for all your great works

Chapter 9 Conduct in Question, the first in The Osgoode Trilogy (Short Story) - 3/11/2008 6:28:05 AM
Now I want to read more!!!

A Riddle for Mr. Davenport (Short Story) - 4/7/2007 7:08:52 AM
Mary, this is an excellent story. It is well written and you are in control through out. And it has a well thought out message. Peter Davenport is a wonderfully conflicted protagonist. He easily carries the story and carries the reader along with him to the very end. Bravo!

The Beautiful Story (Short Story) - 4/1/2007 6:48:05 PM
Mary, I enjoyed this very much. I thought it was extremely well written, and I was completely drawn into your setting and the minds of your characters. Terrific portrayal of Archie. He lived and breathed! Jean

The Ice House by Mary E. Martin (Short Story) - 3/25/2007 6:00:16 PM
A well written story filled with concrete details and emotions. It moves nicely. The viewpoint was consistent throughout. Well done.

The Ice House by Mary E. Martin (Short Story) - 3/25/2007 3:39:23 PM
Mary, this is such a moving story; written from a child's viewpoint, but so filled with truth and turbulence. I found myself drawn in, feeling every one of Francie's emotions. Truly an excellent story. Jean

The Life She Wanted by Mary E. Martin (Short Story) - 3/21/2007 4:19:35 PM
interesting

Final Paradox by Mary E, Martin (Short Story) - 2/3/2007 7:56:22 PM
A fine installment. As a short story writer I want to know everything right now.

Conduct in Question Mary E. Martin (Short Story) - 1/31/2007 3:12:46 PM
Powerful use of the outter landscape to illustrate his inner landscape. Powerful, powerful.

Final Paradox, a fraud upon a fraud Mary E. Martin (Short Story) - 1/30/2007 8:28:52 AM
What a turn of events. Poor Norma needs that pill right now. Or am I missing something. Anyway, a bang up job.

The Thief by Mary E. Martin (Short Story) - 1/18/2007 3:21:34 PM
An excellent story. I loved all the characters. It was great how you wove the theme of art throughout the story. The pacing was great. One question (of course.) Why is there a change in print size in a couple of places. You seem to be a very careful writer so it's difficult for me to believe this was a mistake. Assuming it was done on purpose I couldn't figure out what that purpose was. Anyway, a very enjoyable, well written story.

An Act of Kindness (Short Story) - 11/4/2006 8:40:09 PM
Hi Mary, I read your short story, "An Act of Kindness" Euthanasia has been in the news over the last twenty years . It is a touchy topic. You are a brave writer. You made it work in this story. Well done. Feel free to visit my site here in the author's den or at freewebs.com/kendoo/ or freewebs.com/kendoo2

No Mans Meat by Morley Callaghan (Article) - 12/17/2008 5:23:49 AM
Great piece. I love Callaghan but was not aware of this novella. Thaks for sharing. Malcolm Watts

Civil Unions vs. Marriage (Article) - 5/21/2008 1:31:30 AM
Marriage is a special life relationship between a man and women. Parenting is what a mother and father do. Didn't they learn you people nothin in school.

The First Draft and How to Get There (Article) - 12/18/2007 10:46:25 AM
well said

The Writer's voice (Article) - 12/10/2007 3:46:08 AM
How right you are read your stories or poetry louder ..thanks for shring

Final Paradox, Peter and his wife Bronwyn (Article) - 3/19/2007 3:13:55 PM
well done

Can a city be a character in a novel? (Article) - 3/5/2007 12:33:32 PM
I strongly believe in setting as character. I'm a native of Pittsburgh where I live now and I mainly write flash fiction; but Pittsburgh is my Paris.

The Love of Travel and Art (Article) - 2/8/2007 8:55:07 AM
Yes, yes, and again yes. I absolutely agreed. A very useful article.

Mary E. Martin The Hero's Journey and writing (Article) - 1/23/2007 7:49:04 PM
Intersting write here, thank you for sharing, great insight and great points you bring up write on and be blessed God BLess Michelle~

Mary E. Martin The Hero's Journey and writing (Article) - 1/23/2007 1:51:33 PM
This is exactly the way I see it. Myths are a projection from the deepest part of our humanness. And every story we tell (write) comes from this pre-history, pre-written language place in our minds that we call being human. Before written language we told stories in pictures drawn on cave walls; but these pictures were part of the same basic story we tell now in all our stories, in all our human myths, of every culture: the journey of the hero. Good stuff. Wonderful insight on your part.

Can creative writing be taught? (Article) - 1/18/2007 7:52:39 PM
I could not agree more with "everything" you write here. I certainly try to live by the creative parameters you point to. It's not easy. I know you know this. Thank you for expressing so well artistic values that I believe so strongly in.

Synchronicity (Article) - 1/6/2007 7:03:29 AM
An interesting article that many can relate to, something I have been familiar with for quite some time. nice work, Art Sun...

Synchronicity (Article) - 1/5/2007 5:16:34 PM
Hello Mary, I enjoyed your article very much. In a slightly different sense, we seem to be in synch. I experienced many incidents of Jungian synchronicity on a trip to my parents' vanished homeland. Prior to that I would merely have termed them all coincidences. I was gratified to discover that Jung had provided a label for them. What they are, in fact, remains a mystery. I have no clue. Better minds than mine have wrestled with the phenomenon. I preserved all my actual occurences in my own book entitled "The Missing Peace of a Heritage Puzzle". Please take a look...... Good luck with Final Paradox. Regards, Frank Koerner

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.