AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Patricia Hilliard, iB. B. Riefner, iSusan Rempel, iKaren Epp, iGwendolyn Thomas Gath, iRoxanne Howe-Murphy, iDeborah Frontiera, i
 
Home > Donald C Meadows
 

Recent Reviews for Donald C Meadows


Of Ice and Steel (Book) - 8/15/2006 5:00:01 PM
Steve Neill, Visual Effects Artist, Model maker, August 15, 2006, Of Ice and Steel...Fantastic! I have to say this is one of the best stories I've read in a long time. The blend of WW2 and the present day is outstanding! The science fiction twist. Incredible and realistic. It does not feel like science fiction in any way. When I did the book cover for Don I knew very little about the book as it wasn't finished. When I finally read it I was spell bound with every page. The characters are strong and endearing. This story keeps you on the edge of your seat right to the very end. In my opinion there has never been a navel story as original and effective as Of Ice and Steel. Don's 18 years of service on board submarines shows his vast knowledge of these boats and the military that a writer who was not involved could have never written in such an accurate fashion. This book will make you feel good about being a human being. It will give you hope for the future and raise you up. Not down as so many stories do today. And the ending? Well I can't tell you about that but it will move you very deeply. In the spirit of the movie the Enemy Below this is a story about opposing sides of a conflict can pull together to work together as human beings. Every page is pure magic. I couldn't put it down if I tried. This is destine to be on of the greatest books of it's kind. Don hits all the marks just perfectly with his first book and I can't wait to read the 3 other books in this series. Buy it! Read it! This book would appeal to anyone regardless if you have an interest and navel battles, hardware and world conflict. It's about people arising to an occasion in compassion and heroism. And it's a great story. Period. Steve Neill Cover Artist

Of Ice and Steel (Book) - 7/20/2006 8:07:44 PM
great cover, looks an excellent book.

Of Ice and Steel (Book) - 7/7/2006 9:11:27 AM
Title is captivating and inviting. Book promises to be insightful as well as interesting and full of suspense. R

Okay, I was Drunk!  (Short Story) - 12/10/2007 12:37:45 PM
This was great. Been there done that. I was a surface sailor for 24 years. This brings back many memories (some I wish I could forget).

Lessons in French (Short Story) - 9/11/2007 6:55:49 AM
Truth really is stranger than fiction. I enjoyed this story. Larry H

The Haunted Submarine (Short Story) - 10/14/2006 9:52:31 PM
The unexplainable is always a fasinating subject to me. It is not surprising you have something to share with the traveling you have done. Perhaps for Halloween I will post the tree spirit again. This exprience taught me to believe. Thanks for the sharing.

The Haunted Submarine (Short Story) - 10/11/2006 5:20:55 AM
Very interesting - and to think it's based on a real life incident. My only suggestion would be to explain some of the military terms/ I used to be Army myself, but I was not familiar with a lot of the Navy acroymns. Technically, the story is well presented. I did not spot any spelling/puncutation mistakes. Plot and pacing are fine for the length of the story.

Okay, I was Drunk!  (Short Story) - 8/16/2006 8:23:28 PM
Funny story. Thanks. :) Tami

Submarine Memories (Short Story) - 8/16/2006 3:35:17 PM
well done

Okay, I was Drunk!  (Short Story) - 8/16/2006 1:46:08 PM
Great story, very entertaining...any story that ends with a statement "Jagermiester is Evil" is a winner in my book. David S. Grant is the author of Corporate Porn, an alcohol and sandwich fueled romp through the darker side of corporate America and the lighter side of the adult film industry. Corporate Porn can be purchased at http://www.silverthought.com/davidgrant/ Check out his website: http://www.davidsgrant.homestead.com

Lessons in French (Short Story) - 7/7/2006 2:30:58 PM
Too funny! But at least you had guts! LOL April

Lessons in French (Short Story) - 7/6/2006 7:29:32 PM
Funny story, thanks for sharing. Merci, Tami

On Writing Well (Article) - 6/14/2007 1:23:35 PM
Dear Donald You wise ol' one you are! Great advice. Savy and to the point. But take the brakes off. Is it not time for your second book? Miller

Submarine Terms (Article) - 5/13/2007 11:58:46 AM
enjoyed the read

The Most Important Warship Ever (Article) - 5/13/2007 3:53:05 AM
enjoyed this informative article

Submarines and People (Article) - 5/13/2007 3:52:00 AM
1 A 2 B 3 A 4 B 5 B 6 A 7 B 8 A 9 A 10 B (HUSBAND SAYS C) how did we do?

Strange Submarine Facts (Article) - 4/26/2007 11:25:39 PM
Neat factoids! Submarines fascinate me. There are a couple of old buildings in Monterey CA where you can see damage from hits they took when Jap subs used their deck guns to shell the town. You are right; some of these would make grist for great stories. Nice work! Ted

Sailors (Part Of Us All) (Article) - 3/6/2007 5:48:27 PM
as always; enjoyed the read

So You Want to Know What Living On a Submarine is Like? (Article) - 3/6/2007 5:47:40 PM
enjoyed the read

Writing Road Map (Article) - 2/24/2007 6:25:31 AM
well said

The Good Thing About Bad Reviews (Article) - 2/17/2007 4:13:37 AM
and reviews, good or bad put your name forward to the public who may or may not remember they were good or bad enjoyed the read

Pictures of USS Ray SSN 653 Leaving Port (Article) - 2/17/2007 4:12:29 AM
well done I always enjoy your work

Strange Submarine Facts (Article) - 2/17/2007 4:10:40 AM
enjoyed the read

Strange Submarine Facts (Article) - 2/14/2007 7:27:48 PM
How absolutely fascinating! I am going to spend some time reading your stories. Elizabeth

The Good Thing About Bad Reviews (Article) - 2/12/2007 3:00:45 AM
Excellent article, Donald -- you've given some good advice here to those of us who get book reviews! Love and respect, CJ

The Good Thing About Bad Reviews (Article) - 2/11/2007 8:39:32 PM
True that.

Halloween on a Submarine (Article) - 10/15/2006 12:01:04 PM
i always wondered! enjoyed the pic

Halloween on a Submarine (Article) - 10/14/2006 9:43:20 PM
Halloween is soooo fun. I actually ask to work on that night so I can dress up :-) Watch out for the Zombie near by :-) Right now I am trying to decide whether to be Alice Cooper again this year....welcome to my nightmare for all my customers or go really flippy and become a rainbow Goddess for a night LOL. Thanks for sharing your fun :-)

The Truth About Torpedoes (Article) - 10/3/2006 12:37:26 AM
Fascinating stuff. Have wandered about your site and enjoyed it. You mentioned how we are, as kids in the movie theatres, fascinated by torpedos...yes, I loved submarine movies. You forgot to mention that ping ping noise of the sonar! Is THAT for real or a moviemaker's invention? Did the movie see the light of day - if so, under what title? Cheers, Jim from Oz

On Writing Well (Article) - 8/30/2006 7:34:59 AM
I really enjoyed that. The part about it being like a sport was great. I actually just picked up a book called, Writing from Within, it promises to help me get in the habit of more authentic writing. I am looking to create a small group of 3-5 writers for a critique group. Thanks again. Rebecca

On Writing Well (Article) - 8/30/2006 2:43:43 AM
good one

Fiction Help (Article) - 8/20/2006 10:47:31 AM
Very cool model. I've had similar ideas. Where do you get your figures from? Your picture looks like Stalingrad.

Book Signing (Lessons Learned) (Article) - 8/20/2006 10:44:31 AM
If you sold 11 books in one day that is a great result. I sold that many at my book launch but usually am happy to sell 5-7 at an event. I would add one important point to your list - that is to forget the chair. You need to be on front of the table, book in hand, making eye contact and then your pitch. If you can get the book into their hands - you are half way there. All the best, Malcolm Watts.

Book Signing (Lessons Learned) (Article) - 8/20/2006 9:30:44 AM
enjoyed the read

Book Signing (Lessons Learned) (Article) - 8/19/2006 9:02:59 AM
good advice...I haven't written, let alone published, a book yet, but I'm keeping this for future reference! Congratulations and continued good fortune to you! Susan

Book Signing (Lessons Learned) (Article) - 8/19/2006 8:54:59 AM
Thanks for the advice!

Book Signing (Lessons Learned) (Article) - 8/19/2006 7:55:56 AM
You did very well. Booksignings are not to necessarily sell books, though I do very well at them myself. They are really designed to let the public meet you and make a connection between author and the title. Sad truth is, they take up a lot of time. I find workshops work best, but the author has to find out on their own how to best use their time. Congratulations on your new book. Elizabeth

Sailor's Heart (Poetry) - 9/18/2007 4:52:32 AM
I like this poem!!!!!! Liana Margiva.

Sailor's Heart (Poetry) - 10/14/2006 9:45:49 PM
Excellent reflection! It is not easy watching your children taking steps that can place them in dangers way. Thank you for this incredible sharing.

Sailor's Heart (Poetry) - 8/21/2006 11:51:06 PM
Reflective indeed. And an enjoyable read too.

Sailor's Heart (Poetry) - 7/29/2006 6:26:03 AM
enjoyed the read

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.