AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: R.E.E.S Blogs Linda Smith, Publisher, iMr. Ed, iCarol Fowler, iNordette Adams, iFlorence Weinberg, iOwen Thomas, iDenise Richardson, i
 
Home > Evelyn Horan
 

Recent Reviews for Evelyn Horan


Inspirational Fun Stories and Articles (Book) - 5/9/2009 9:52:24 AM
It is excellent.

Inspirational Readings and Poetic Rhymes (Book) - 2/6/2007 10:15:27 AM
The quality of the writing is excellent but a good proof read of the material on line is well advised. There is no space between paragraphs. Paragraphs run together. This is probably a computer malfunction but a bit of editing would have caught this crystal clear oversight. It distracts from what is otherwise "top quality" writing.

Inspirational Fun Stories and Articles (Book) - 3/10/2006 4:04:33 PM


Rain on My Wings (Book) - 4/22/2005 11:00:33 AM
Avg. Customer Review: Write an online review and share your thoughts with other customers. "Fabulous Coming Of Age Story", April 20, 2005 Reviewer: V. T. Murray "Victoria Taylor Murray" (Kentucky, Author,) - See all my reviews You know, I have been an avid fan of this writer since her first book, "Jeannie a Texas Frontier Girl," and as a writer, I have watched her grow. No one can relate to children of all ages like this woman. She has a rare talent to communicate her thoughts and feelings via the pen. Kids love her! So do I. In Evelyn Horan's newest novel, "Rain on My Wings," Evelyn tells the story of a young girl coming of age. The good times, the bad times, the happy times, and the sad times. And it doesn't stop there. The story will bring both a smile to your face and a few tears along the way but make no mistake about it this story will touch your heart. You will think about this story for a long, long time after the read! Do yourself a favor a read it with your child, especially if that child happens to be a young girl coming of age! (Higly Recommended!)

Jeannie, a Texas Frontier Girl, Book One (Book) - 2/16/2004 12:12:20 PM
From my daughter, Kelsey, who's 9: I loved the adventure parts of this book. Jeanni was sort of like me, in a way. She and I both like horses. I enjoyed how the characters spoke, with an old-fashioned language. It was cool when Lady and Suzy had babies. I chose this book for a school project and really liked it a lot! From me: We ordered this book and communicated with the author directly via email. Ms. Horan was very helpful in getting the book to us as soon as possible so my daughter could have it in time to read it for her historical fiction book report. She can't wait to read the rest of the series!

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Three (Book) - 2/10/2004 5:17:07 AM
My daughter and I have been following "Jeannie A Texas Frontier Girl" since the series first came out and we have become such huge fans of this delightful writer! So much in fact that my daughter made it her mission in life to have the Jeannie series put in our local libraries as well as her own school. Ms. Horan unknowingly has become quite the "CELB" in our town. If you are a person (age does not matter)who enjoys exciting adventure stories then this is the series for you! The characters are so true to the lifestyle of this time period and the plot quickly draws the reader into the story holding them captive until the last page has been read. Terrific Job, Evelyn! (Highly Recommended!)

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Three (Book) - 1/27/2004 1:13:34 PM
Book Three in the "Jeannie, a Texas Frontier Girl" series by author Evelyn Horan finds Jeannie and her best friend Helga growing up and facing changes in their lives, which happen almost too quick to breathe. Jeannie's brother, Henry, marries Linda Mae, and before long, Jeannie finds she is to become an aunt. Billy Joe begins to work for the new bank in their small town, and he and Helga agree to become engaged. Jeannie works out an arrangement with Helga's father to buy land from him for the horse ranch she has long dreamed about. She begins to make plans to build her ranch and asks Slim to be her ranch foreman, unaware of the interest Billy Joe's brother, Jack, has begun to show toward her. Along the way, Jeannie learns a poignant lesson when she is forced to deal with prejudice against the Comanche family in their community, from whom she learns how to weave baskets and to utilize plants for medicinal purposes. America's present-day Laura Ingalls Wilder, Ms. Horan is an author who possesses the unique ability to weave an entertaining, inspirational story with factual history. As with the first two books in the series, the reader is left eagerly anticipating what will happen next to Jeannie, her family, and friends. This is one series I would like to see continue on - reading each book feels like spending time with an old friend - and would love to see in classrooms across America. A delightful read for the child in all of us.

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Three (Book) - 12/7/2003 5:03:14 AM
This is a delightful, must read for young girls. Although, I must admit that even as an adult, I thoroughly enjoyed it too. This is the third book in a four part series. It follows young Jeannie and her friends and family as they face hardships during the late 1800's in west Texas. Young readers are in for a treat as they experience Jeannie's many adventures. Her courage and strong will help her face the loss of a favorite pet, deal with the prejudice of townspeople toward Indian children in her school, and train her beloved horses. Family ties and values were such an integral part of life on the plains. This story captures the heart and soul of pioneer living, as seen through a young girl's eyes. I highly recommend this book. More books like this are needed to keep young girls reading. It is exciting, yet educational, for you young readers to learn the customs and daily life of a different era. I eagerly anticipate book 4!! Excellent job Ms. Horan. (As reviewed for Denise's Pieces Book Reviews)

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Three (Book) - 11/4/2003 3:26:52 PM
In a letter to Evelyn Horan, Bev, Scott Professional Book Reviewer and author writes: Once again gifted writer Evelyn Horan has surpassed expectations with Book Three of her "Jeannie, Texas Frontier Girl" series. Often times series books lose their momentum as they move toward conclusion, not so with the "Jeannie" series, as Book Three leaves readers with a near cliffhanger that makes us eager for Book Four. Horan’s knowledge of that period of time (1880) in Texas adds interest to her plot and gives readers an inside peek at the growth of our nation and Texas as a state. Jeannie touches on the tension between the Native American Indians and the settlers, the speed with which young people had to mature, and the joyous way that neighbor helped neighbor. Jeannie and Helga spend the summer preparing the Indian children for school and training Diamond’s off- spring, Morning Star, to accept saddle and rider. It is the last year of school for both girls and though they are best friends their dreams for the future are very different. Pick up a copy of "Jeannie" Book Three to find out what the future holds for Helga and Billy Joe and for Jeannie and her dream of owning her own Horse Ranch. "Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl," masterful series by talented writer Evelyn Horan, is geared for the young reader, but I promise it will interest and entertain readers of all ages. Congratulations, Evelyn! I can’t wait to read JEANNIE, A TEXAS FRONTIER GIRL, BOOK FOUR. Beverly J Scott author of "Righteous Revenge" and "Ruth Fever." Reviewer for Intriguing Authors and Their Books at http://www.funeralassociates.com/authors.htm Many thanks, Bev Scott.

Jeannie, a Texas Frontier Girl, Book One (Book) - 7/31/2003 4:59:34 PM
  Little House in the Lone Star State, July 29, 2003 Reviewer: The Rebecca Review.com (see more about me) from the land where I wish God would talk to me too ;) Oh, I think he just did “The sun was setting in a burst of deep oranges and reds behind the purple foothills, when Pa pulled their dusty wagon to a stop before the wooden porch steps of the ranch house. Inside, they both knew they would find Ma’s comforting arms, some warm food, and plenty of love waiting for them.” Evelyn Horan is a native Texan who has spent many years as a teacher-counselor. Over 200 of her children’s articles have appeared in over 80 periodicals and publications. This is the first book in a four book series set in the Texas frontier. It is a cute innocent tale of friendship and adventure. Through the characters’experiences, Evelyn shows us that life threatening events can make us stronger and that even when life isn’t going exactly as we planned, we can still trust God. Twelve-year-old Jeannie is eager to experience the adventures in West Texas during the 1880s. She loves her horse, Diamond, and together they survive many tests out in the wild. Jeannie is a bit of a tomboy who would rather be out riding horses than doing chores at home. There is an adorable scene where Diamond is a bit naughty: “Mister, if you ain’t the most ungrateful horse!” she shouted angrily, rubbing her sore nose. “I come all the way out here, bring you sugar, feed you , and … and ….” She ran out of breath. “Oh! You just wait. I’ll ride you yet!” She prefers the outdoor life and is an impulsive, lively child. When Diamond is stolen, she is not about to stay home. She helps her father raid the Indian camp to find her horse. Her mother is not impressed and thinks she should try to be a bit more of a lady. Jeannie’s mom is a great cook. I was getting rather hungry reading about the Christmas festivities with pecan pie and blackberry cobbler, not to mention a two layer chocolate cake. This is not an easy life. The family members have to pick cotton, tend the livestock and do chores in the Texas heat. However, they seem happy. Everyone has a place in their little world and they are appreciated for their contributions. Jeannie’s friend Helga has recently arrived from Germany and when they promise one another to remain best friends, they really mean it. In this book you will find out: 1 What it feels like to meet a rattlesnake and a mountain lion. 2. How you survive a cyclone. This is a book for children and adults who enjoy reading about the Texas Frontier and seeing the courageous pioneer spirit in action. Evelyn makes a note at the start of the book about The Comanche Indians at the time. During the early frontier days, they roamed the grassy plains in Texas. She explains how they were encouraged to steal horses and raid settlers for food and horses. She also talks about how the Indians were given land and how the government now regrets how they treated the Indians during the early years of expansion. At the time of this story, settlers still feared the Comanche tribes and the author explains this fully before the story begins. There is a West Texas Map from the 1800s and this shows where Jeannie and Helga live. The locations of the Church, school, creek and Trading post are all on the map. In book 2 Jeannie wants her own horse ranch. She and Helga become teenagers and follow their dreams for a wonderful future. Their lives are filled with puppies and a new colt to train. Helga and Jeannie learn to cook, sew and are on their way to becoming young ladies.

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Three (Book) - 7/15/2003 8:16:49 AM
by JC Pinkerton (author and editor) at Hi Evelyn, I found an hour to myself today and looked at some of the authors at AuthorsDen. Hope you are having a good summer and guess what I'm up to again - re-reading my two Jeannie books. I enjoy reading them again in the summer. Looking forward to Jeannie Bk. 3 J.C. Pinkerton - Editor Kidzlit.bravepages.com

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two (Book) - 6/27/2003 6:52:11 PM
Dear Ms. Horan, How are you? I am fine. I am 11 years old. I am in 5th grade going into 6th. I love reading your books and Janette Okes. From, Danielle

Jeannie, a Texas Frontier Girl, Book One (Book) - 6/27/2003 6:50:32 PM
Dear Ms. Horan, How are you? I am fine. I am 11 years old. I am in 5th grade going into 6th. I love reading your books and Janette Okes. From Danielle

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two (Book) - 6/21/2003 2:54:39 PM
Just wanted to let you know that my daughter read both of your books and loved them. She gave them a 10! That doesn't happen too often. She wants to know when book 3 is coming out! Mary Library Director Peck Memorial Library

Jeannie, a Texas Frontier Girl, Book One (Book) - 6/21/2003 2:50:48 PM
Just wanted to let you know that my daughter read both of your books and loved them. She gave them a 10! That doesn't happen too often. She wants to know when Book Three is coming out! Mary F. Library Director Peck Memorial Library New York

Jeannie, a Texas Frontier Girl, Book One (Book) - 6/8/2003 7:29:12 PM
In a conversation with author Evelyn Horan, Verta, Manager of the Finances Department in a resort hotel in Las Vegas, made the following comments: "I was going to give Book One to my grandchildren, but I got so interested in the book that I couldn't put it down, and read it all one afternoon. I loved it, and I can't wait to read the rest of the series myself! When when the other books be available? I want to get them all for my grandchildren."

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two (Book) - 5/24/2003 11:28:24 AM
I am creeping up on 89 years of age soon, and I have just finished reading both Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl Book One and Jeannie A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two.I am looking forward to the publishing of the next two books in the series. (I was an only child with an ailing father, so I was out in the field working with him more than playing with dolls ----as 'water boy' and then graduating to more important tasks as my strength matched the tasks. So I do understand Jeannie very much.) I am looking forward to the next two books about Jeannie and her family. Grandma Dolly

Jeannie, a Texas Frontier Girl, Book One (Book) - 5/24/2003 11:22:33 AM
I am creeping up on 89 years of age soon, and I have just finished reading both Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl Book One and Jeannie A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two.I am looking forward to the publishing of the next two books in the series. (I was an only child with an ailing father, so I was out in the field working with him more than playing with dolls ----as 'water boy' and then graduating to more important tasks as my strength matched the tasks. So I do understand Jeannie very much.) I am looking forward to the next two books about Jeannie and her family. Grandma Dolly

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Three (Book) - 5/24/2003 11:19:14 AM
I am creeping up on 89 years of age soon, and I have just finished reading both Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl Book One and Jeannie A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two.I am looking forward to the publishing of the next two books in the series. (I was an only child with an ailing father, so I was out in the field working with him more than playing with dolls ----as 'water boy' and then graduating to more important tasks as my strength matched the tasks. So I do understand Jeannie very much.) . I am looking forward to the next two books about Jeannie and her family. Grandma Dolly

Jeannie, a Texas Frontier Girl, Book One (Book) - 5/10/2003 3:07:01 PM
I'M A NEW FAN OF EVELYN HORAN ! I loved Book One and am now enjoying Book Two. Evelyn Horan has the gift of making characters come alive and feel as if they are part of your very own family. I like the way she weaves Christian values into the story without having it overwhelm the overall theme of Frontier life in the 1880's. Kids of today will enjoy reading about these kids of yesteryear - as will us kids at heart! I am looking forward to Book Three of this series, which is due out soon. If you love Janette Oke - you'll love Evelyn Horan too! Jeanne Glidewell, author and RV Park Owner, Wyoming

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two (Book) - 3/13/2003 8:24:14 AM
The exciting adventures of little Jeannie continue in Book Two with Jeannie growing into a frontier teen. The fun continues with Jeannie and her friend Helga learning to do women's work. Jeannie still longs for her own horse ranch and there is a good chance that her dream may come true, but you'll have to read the book to find out how. Horan is a former teacher and counselor who has spun a good story, including some "factions" about frontier life from her family history. She has managed to create characters that jump off the page and demand that you remember them. You simply cannot get Jeannie out of your head. Now that's writing! J.C. Pinkerton - Editor KidZLit.com

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two (Book) - 3/9/2003 5:00:30 PM
In Book Two of a planned four-book series, Evelyn Horan paints a wonderful word-picture of a young girl's life in early Texas. Jeannie and Helga are fourteen and busy with new puppies, a baby brother for Helga, and a colt to train. The girls discover that a neighbor is ill and pitch-in to help the family until the mother is able to resume her duties. The young people befriend a Comanche family, and find that Indians are just people, after all, and not the savages they had pictured. There are many skills to be learned by young girls in the 1880's, and Jeannie's plans are also centered on having a horse ranch of her own someday. Helga and Billy Joe are attracted to each other, and Slim is very interested in Jeannie. There is suspense and adventure aplenty to keep young readers interested. This series would be a wonderful read-aloud family project. Award-winning author, Evelyn Horan, manages to painlessly insert moral values and history into this exciting series. Beverly J. Rowe - Reviewer MyShelf.com

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two (Book) - 2/21/2003 9:19:28 PM
Children and their parents will surely enjoy Jeannie, A Texas FRontier Girl, Book Two, in what is a four book series by Evelyn Horan. The setting of 1880's Texas frontier unfolds as vividly as a movie throughout the 147 pages of heart-warming adventures shared by Jeannie as she lights the pages with her enthusiasm and kindness. Book Two follows the bright heroine, her family, her ever loyal friend, Helga, and some wonderful new friends. The girls share new adventures and reminisce about old ones as well. The book speaks of friendship true and loyal, girlhood pure and simple and the love of family and country. Evelyn Horan's descriptive narrative style of writing lends itself so well to historical fiction that the reader almost sees the characters before their very own eyes. Jeanie is a bit older and wiser, and we follow her change from girl into a young lady. One of my favorite chapters is "Helping Ma." In it we find Jeannie helping her ma in the kitchen. While reading I almost smelled the cooking! Girls will enjoy sharing Jeannie's hopes and joys as they follow her through the months of training both her horse and herself through new accomplishments and goals. My only disappointment was that I did not have Book Three in my hand to read right away as Evelyn Horan cleverly leaves us on the edge of our seat, anxiously awaiting what happens next. The book also lends itself wonderfully to teachers and parents alike. They find in it great reference points to start discussions about many subjects. A kaleidoscope of what growing from girlhood to young womanhood is all about, Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two, is sure to become a favorite for years to come. Angie Rose - Editor http://www.echristianbooks.com

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two (Book) - 1/22/2003 7:26:07 AM
In a letter to Evelyn Horan, concerning the Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl,series, author, Christy French writes: When will books Three and Four be published? I can't wait to read them! What's really neat is my daughter who is in college, picked up Book Two and began reading it. The next thing I know, it's at college, and she and her dorm mates are passing it around, reading it. My daughter says it's better than "Little House". You go girl! Just proves your books are for all ages. Christy T. French - author Chasing Horses Wayne's Dead

Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two (Book) - 1/22/2003 6:34:28 AM
Jeannie, A Texas Frontier Girl, Book Two is wonderful! Our young girls need good books to read, and I am so thankful for an author like you who can provide them! Faye N. - Director Gatesville Public Library Gatesville, Texas

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.