AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: John McCoy, iMary Adair, iNordette Adams, iLois Santalo, iWayne Anderson, irichard cederberg, iKaren Epp, i
 
Home > Leland Waldrip
 

Recent Reviews for Leland Waldrip


Russells In The Leaves (Book) - 3/9/2008 6:50:05 AM
A delightful book, with wonderful captions and color photos, told from a canine's perspective. Being a dog lover all my life, I, much like the author of this book, know that our furry friends can truly teach us a thing or two about how to live life to its fullest. And often, it's the smallest dogs, like these delightful Jack Russells, that are our very best instructors.

Russells In The Leaves (Book) - 9/3/2006 12:44:13 AM
wow a great book to read. i have a jack russell. he is something else. he is so smart and funny. after having a jr no other dog would ever suit me.

Vigilante Virus (Book) - 2/24/2005 4:19:28 PM
This is a book that should be promoted. I believe that, if done right, it would be a best-seller. I believe that it would at least make the top ten New York Times best-seller list. It is that good. You artfully and dynamically wove your plot and sub-plots in such a way that the reader (me!) had no difficulty in keeping each of them separate, although it all stove and succeeded, in painting the final word tapestry of this crafty novel. Toward the end, you might have relied a bit too much on the technical part of the research, but not enough to deter me from reading on. But some might began to "read-by-glance" until the dialogue began again and the story moved by "doing" instead of "showing." That is my only criticism of this damn well-written thriller. And you did it without gratuitous sex or violence. I would have had some, but that is just me and my own style of writing. The end of the novel was good. I know that you were putting your own views of how things should be, and rightly so, after all it is you baby. I tend to agree with you about the "balance" of nature and a good many other points. Lastly, Leland, I want to thank you for writing such a book as this. It took the justice system of America head-on. I did the same in my novel, God Sleeps Tonight. Vigilante justice will, I have no doubt, become more and more popular in the future to combat the lackadaisical, inept justice system of this country.

Russells In The Leaves (Book) - 2/22/2005 7:45:03 AM
I have a Jack Russell mix and he is a true delight. These little guys sure make your day and I think they are midgets in a fur coat. They definetly have their own mind.

GRIZ Nightmare (Book) - 10/22/2004 2:25:41 PM
Leland Waldrip has written a captivating wilderness tale in Griz Nightmare. The main character, Jim Wilson, is an avid hunter and outdoorsman, and sets out on an elk hunting trip in Montana’s vast wilderness with his friends. There’s only one problem, though, he suffers from post traumatic stress because of a prior grizzly bear attack several years back; and in this book’s adventure, Jim’s extremely worried they might run into another of these ferocious brown bears. At the same time this elk hunting trip starts, three desperate and vicious convicts break out of prison and kidnap a mother and daughter, on their escape route to Canada. Eventually, the path of the elk hunters converges with the path of the three criminals and their captives. That’s when all hell breaks loose. Add a marauding grizzly bear, and you have one heck of a story unfolding in the great outdoors. And it’s evident that the author has done his homework; hand drawn maps and actual hunting camp photos add to this captivating tale. I read this book on a camping trip to New Mexico, but I knew no gigantic grizzlies were lurking about there! If you like outdoor adventure yarns, this is a good one, and I highly recommend it.

100 Sensible Reflections (Book) - 9/18/2004 11:49:51 PM
Hello L, sounds good I've got to add it to my collection. I've been gone awhile and trying to catch up. I see you've been working pretty hard and getting your books out. I've got to put a little more effort in my writing. take care G

Vigilante Virus (Book) - 8/26/2004 2:42:01 PM
Here is a compelling book to stir the imagination. Two sparkling and inherent concepts are clothed in modern garb. We totally empathize with the sensitively sketched protagonists - scientists Marcus Peterson and his daughter Sharon - in their courageous efforts to sweep away ancient taboos. Yes - let us disarm the rapist! Yes - let us avoid the fate of the lemmings now that a serendipitous twist of fortune has given us that choice. The impressive knowledge that the writer brings to his subject gives the work both dimension and integrity. A riveting, excellently crafted novel. Novel? Could all this be happening right now...

Anasazi Harvest (Book) - 8/7/2004 5:30:45 AM
A journey through the portals of a mesmerizing world which the reader readily accepts while dwelling in the vividly depicted New Mexico landscape. Chaco, simultaneously guileless yet sharply perceptive, with his distinctive word rhythms and innate curiosity, is convincingly portrayed - one would recognize him on sight. His troubling dreams and their haunting shadows culminate in his emerging relationship with an enigmatic being - enigmatic in many astonishing ways. This tale is a riveting and skillfully woven tapestry of varied dimensions and intriguing concepts. It is also a moving love story and a true spellbinder.

100 Sensible Reflections (Book) - 7/27/2004 8:09:40 PM
I should tell the reader/reviewer that the book cover is 100 percent reflection and is purposely upside down. This picture is one of only a small handful I took with a new six megapixel digital camera that then died and had to be returned to the seller. I guess this picture was just more than it could absorb. lol Best regards to all, Leland

100 Sensible Reflections (Book) - 7/26/2004 1:35:42 AM
Wonderful Leland! I'm sending good thoughts for your book. Love, Bonnie

100 Sensible Reflections (Book) - 7/22/2004 5:33:12 AM
The originality of approach, power of words, humor and wisdom make this book a true delight. The cover is highly artistic and a pleasure to see. A wonderful read in every way, and almost impossible to put down.

100 Sensible Reflections (Book) - 7/10/2004 1:06:44 PM
sounds like a book i could sink my teeth into! i really love your poetry, leland! always have! (((HUGS))) and much love, your tx. friend, karen lynn. :D

100 Sensible Reflections (Book) - 7/7/2004 5:05:11 PM
Love the poem, Leland. Success with your latest book.

100 Sensible Reflections (Book) - 7/7/2004 2:33:06 AM
Awesome poem... and the book sounds like a winner Leland!! Warm love Tinka

100 Sensible Reflections (Book) - 7/6/2004 10:55:08 PM
Teriffic opening stanza in this excerpt, Leland. I wish you much success with this book - as with all of your work. Many blessings, Tami

Anasazi Harvest (Book) - 1/6/2004 7:09:43 AM
Just finished Author Leland Waldrip's novel, Anasazi Harvest, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. He has woven an intriguing, intricately detailed plot involving aliens from another world and ancient Native American culture. He's obviously done his homework concerning 'The Ancient Ones,' the Anasazi, who mysteriously disappeared from the Great Southwest centuries ago. Believable characters, exciting plot, and delightful descriptions of the enchanting arid New Mexico landscape all make this a book worth reading. Highly recommended, especially if you, too, believe - The truth is out there!

Satin Verses (Book) - 12/27/2003 8:32:14 AM
Writer Waldrip furthers his writing prowess with this 92 page book of verse. Waldrip’s versatility is well showcased in this little volume. I believe my favorite of the works is Tiny Tyrant, Waldrip must have been hiding in my yard and watching the little feathered beasties as they battle for the feeders. Satin Verses is a perfect little book for a quiet afternoon. Happy to recommend Read full review this site: article by mj hollingshead Reviewed by: molly martin http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin http://www.AuthorsDen.com/mjhollingshead

Anasazi Harvest (Book) - 12/26/2003 10:23:04 AM
This book is an excellent read for those who love good stories with mystery, suspense, and strong descriptive expression. The author is an excellent story teller and does a very good job at bringing his story to life in the mind of the reader. This book was of special interest to me because I have always been intriqued with alien influence in our lives here on earth. Leland took me there in his well written story and he'll take you there also if you read his book. GEMorrison

Russells In The Leaves (Book) - 12/14/2003 10:12:17 AM
Delightful Read … Recommended … 5 stars The Review Jack Russell Terriers Lizzie and Spunkie, along with their dad Jack and mom Jessie are the stars of this 54 page book told in words and pictures. The little dogs are full of vim, vinegar and fun. The photographs taken by the writer add another dimension to the work. Naughtiness, animation and just plain jollity is evident on the pages of ‘Russells in the Leaves’ especially in the picture series showing Lizzie, her brother and dad arguing over the throwing stick. Nice book for when you don’t have a lot of time, or when you just want a warm fuzzy moment. Enjoyed the read, happy to recommend. Reviewed by: molly martin Full review this site as article under mj hollingshead http://www.angelfire.com/ok4/mollymartin http://www.AuthorsDen.com/mjhollingshead

Vigilante Virus (Book) - 12/7/2003 12:28:44 PM
The Review Vigilante Virus is one of this story teller’s best in the opinion of this reviewer. Author Waldrip proves his versatility as an novelist with Vigilante Virus. Interest is maintained on a breathtaking rush throughout the work. Dr. Marcus Peterson and his solution to the predicaments police cannot control is fathomable, and maybe more than applauded by some as they read the stories of lives ruined, or listen to television news accounts relating how serial rapists and others continue their hurtful activities following incarceration, attempts at counseling and other methods employed today. A skillfully interwoven suspense filled plot is the basis for the work. This powerful, well written tale is one you will want to finish in one setting so choose a time when you can read from beginning to end. Keep the lights on. This is not a fluffy little tale for a dark and stormy night, or when you are home alone. Powerful read, happy to recommend. Reviewed by: molly martin full review this site: as an article on mj hollingshead site

Anasazi Harvest (Book) - 11/6/2003 9:24:28 AM
sounds very interesting! my kind of work! i see in your cover that you utilize the maldekian/greys to good advantage! you should check out my book, temple of the sky...i also employ the greys in a tale of heritage and destiny...i'm glad i dropped by! i've also been doing some research on the anasazi lately for familial reasons, so when i saw the title of your book i had to check it out! nice to meet you, leland!

Russells In The Leaves (Book) - 8/21/2003 2:46:12 AM
COngratulations My Friend....This book seems pretty interesting .....BHUWAN

Russells In The Leaves (Book) - 7/5/2003 6:36:32 PM
The lady across the street has one. He's a fiesty little dog. Your book sounds very interesting to read. I'm going to show it to her. GEM

GRIZ Nightmare (Book) - 7/5/2003 6:32:44 PM
This sounds interesting Leland. I'd like to hire that bear out to eat my mother in law. hehehe It would take a grizzly to eat her big butt. Good work. GEM

Satin Verses (Book) - 6/24/2003 12:29:37 PM
Leland - Right on! BRO! Well done! I concur 2,000% I have never really understood what exactly is so great about "free verse" ??? To me, it is simply prose, but arranged in a weird format! Tom.

Bear Tales 2, Exiled (Short Story) - 12/12/2013 7:34:46 PM
A thoroughly captivating account, Leland. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace, Regis

Bluebird Farm 1 (Short Story) - 12/11/2013 1:12:43 PM
Thank you for sharing this thoroughly enjoyable account, Leland. You have reminded me of my chilhood in northern Alberta. Love and peace to you, Regis

Guardian of Bluebird Hill (Short Story) - 1/20/2011 2:36:22 PM
As good as any story of Walton's Mountain. It was just great.

Bluebird Farm 1 (Short Story) - 6/5/2008 9:55:34 AM
This will make a great entry in your autobiography, Leland. I so appreciated reading about your pets! I think you would enjoy sitting in either my home-office, or kitchen; both mostly glass to the outside back yard where you can watch squirrels scamper up/down/aroud my big oak tree; watch the many pigeons come to feed in two small troughs not far away (some of the squirrels eat with them), along with many other species of birds; watch the many semi-feral cats I also feed/water outdoors as they play, watch birds (not harming), or take their many 'naps'. My backyard is a refuge for many 'critters', and quite an entertainment area for me and all who visit! Blessings, friend ~~ Micke

Bluebird Farm 1 (Short Story) - 6/4/2008 8:51:32 AM
An absolutely delightful story, and beautifully told.It brings back cherished moments of similar experiences with birds, and the never-to-be forgotten moment when one baby robin, we had hand-fed, and taught how to fly, soared away over tall trees, grown-up and independent.

Bluebird Farm 1 (Short Story) - 6/3/2008 7:49:18 PM
i really enjoyed this write-what a wonderful thing to have so much contact with these creatures of the wild

Bluebird Farm 1 (Short Story) - 6/3/2008 5:32:27 PM
Great story. We lived in the city and gray squirrels were plentiful and tame. We didn't think of them as pets because our grandfather and uncle were avid squirrel hunters. Still love the taste of squirrel. I enjoyed holding a nut down under my hand while a squirrel would dig my fingers apart to get at it. Or hold a nut on my hip until a squirrel got up enough nerve to climb up my leg to get it. This was fun until we told Mom we were using her Christmas nut snacks to feed squirrels. Ron

Bear Tales 5, Rainbow's End (Short Story) - 8/20/2007 6:35:58 PM
Thank you for sharing these "bear tales," Leland. Your kinship with these creatures is most evident. Love and peace to you, Regis

Three Mules and a Dog (Short Story) - 4/16/2007 11:06:33 AM
This reminds me of my childhood days on the "homestead" on the Canadian prairies. Well done, Leland. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Shelter  (Short Story) - 3/23/2007 10:52:26 AM
This leaves the reather breathless, Leland; thus it is powerfully effective. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Breathing Easy  (Short Story) - 3/22/2007 10:03:50 AM
Short but powerfully meaningful, Leland. Well done. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Joe’s Bear (Short Story) - 3/21/2007 3:00:52 PM
LELAND --- THOROUGHLY ENJOYED! Can't help but wonder what version of this "bear story" ole JOE will someday tell his kids? Tom

Joe’s Bear (Short Story) - 2/18/2007 8:31:05 PM
A fine story, Leland. Enjoyed. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace, Regis

Joe’s Bear (Short Story) - 2/11/2007 12:16:13 PM
This is great....I think I woulda done the same...and my laundry woulda been VERY messy!! Love Tinka

Joe’s Bear (Short Story) - 2/11/2007 11:43:49 AM
Just what I thought! Glad it only turned out funny. It's a keeper in the store of bear stories. Ron

Joe’s Bear (Short Story) - 2/11/2007 10:29:57 AM
Oh, I loved this, Leland, LOL! The clever old lady... what a great politician she would make, huh? Isn't this how they get poor "Joes" to hunt all those... er... bears? And then, of course... let them clean their s.... AND apologize, too! LOL! You're wonderful, my dearest friend! More bear {{{{{{{hugs}}}}}}}}} and lots of love, Alexandra*

Joe’s Bear (Short Story) - 2/11/2007 3:09:10 AM
Ho Ho! I guess some guys like doing laundry and cleaning trucks better than hunting!

Joe’s Bear (Short Story) - 2/10/2007 10:14:03 PM
Good story. Love, Bette

Guardian of Bluebird Hill (Short Story) - 1/22/2007 8:06:51 PM
Oh Leland, that was too precious. What a great story. I loved Pat and his huevos, and I was sad for Jojo. I've had dogs like that and you sometimes wonder which end is up. But, what a wonderful childhood you must have had. I loved your father; if only every boy could have an outdoorsy, happy childhood like you did. Thanks for your great story and splendid writing! Dodie

Guardian of Bluebird Hill (Short Story) - 1/8/2007 10:50:39 AM
Thank you for sharing this delightful story, Leland. It is a most enjoyable read. Love and peace, Regis

Guardian of Bluebird Hill (Short Story) - 3/11/2006 8:39:19 AM
Vivid portrait of a true "leader of the pack." You "boss of Bluebird Hill" exhibits more class, character, and courage than many of those in charge of running this world:-)

Guardian of Bluebird Hill (Short Story) - 3/8/2006 4:30:02 PM
Much enjoyed. My dogs were never as colorful. Ron

Guardian of Bluebird Hill (Short Story) - 3/8/2006 4:17:17 AM
Thank you for sharing this very delightful piece!! Love Tinka

Guardian of Bluebird Hill (Short Story) - 3/7/2006 7:19:00 AM
Never was a protagonist more succinctly, lovingly, and graphically sketched. And the setting and lifestyle are masterfully described. Is this, perhaps, a chapter in a semi-biographical novel in the making? I surely hope so! A delightful read. CJ

Guardian of Bluebird Hill (Short Story) - 3/6/2006 8:41:35 AM
Leland, a delightful story; very well done! Enjoyed; thanks for sharing this with us here at the Den! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Book Review - Deer Hunting With Jesus — by Joe Bageant (Article) - 8/14/2014 4:29:31 AM
Just bought it, looking forward to reading it, thanks for the recommendation. Well done.

Breakfast Bear  (Article) - 7/21/2011 9:44:55 AM
What a wonderful experience so well-shared through your literary skill, Leland. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

The French Connection (Article) - 5/20/2011 8:32:58 PM
You make some very valid points, Leland; particularly in view of what happened recently in Japan as a result of the tsunami's devastation. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Americans Will Believe Almost Anything (Article) - 5/19/2011 8:48:20 AM
Wow! I notice that you posted this over seven years ago. Has anything changed, "evolved" or gotten any better? Thank you for sharing this, Leland. Love and peace to you, Regis

Choking on Numbers (Article) - 1/1/2011 2:41:53 PM
"...there is that hard discipline called mathematics. It has a tendency to bring us back to reality — gently, if we embrace its implications and ease into remedy, harshly if not." Your points are very well made in this very lucid and well-written essay, Leland. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Americans Will Believe Almost Anything (Article) - 11/19/2010 12:30:58 AM
Excellent read.

Heaven (Article) - 11/15/2010 8:20:44 AM
Perhaps if more people respected Life as such a miracle, all creation would be better off. Religion takes advantage of people's fear & guilt and feeds those feelings in order to perpetuate the religion. Millions of people are controlled in this way. "Imagine there's no heaven ... it's easy if you try. No hell below us ... above us only sky." ~John Lennon Thanks for a great article, Leland! Hope everything is well with you. Your Friend, Joseph

Heaven (Article) - 11/15/2010 4:39:02 AM
Very eloquent and so deeply true. It should be required reading for every human on this planet. CJ

Heaven (Article) - 11/14/2010 3:17:21 PM
As usual, an unusual and lucid take. This life has so much to offer and a beautiful place to live it. Who would want or need more. Why are people still whining in stain-glassed caves every time a raindrop falls, as though thousands of years of history has taught them nothing. Much appreciated. Ron

Heaven (Article) - 11/14/2010 2:49:23 PM
A lucid piece of writing that shares a philosophy worthy of reflection; it makes a lot of sense to me, Leland. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Heaven (Article) - 11/14/2010 1:09:53 PM
LELAND ... hi! long time no see! fantastically brilliant and poignant analysis of Life ... a Reason for BEING! KUDOS ... Tom.

Growth Mania (Article) - 11/3/2010 9:35:01 AM
I appreciate the lucid points that you have put forward in this fine article, Leland. The past two years have already brought much credence to what you express here. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Free Listing on New Book Promotion SIte (Article) - 11/3/2010 9:31:23 AM
I don't have any books to sell but I have a friend who does and I shall share this information with her. Thank you, Leland. Love and peace to you, Regis

Katy Walsvik's Obituary (Article) - 4/17/2010 9:48:56 PM
I did not know this. I do remember Katy. My belated condolences to her family and friends. Thank you, Leland. Love and peace to you, Regis

Katy Walsvik's Obituary (Article) - 4/5/2009 6:53:48 PM
I was just about to e-mail Kathleen when I reread your post, Leland. Ah, Katy. Of any one I've ever thought has gone on, you are her. You make me smile. :) Erin

Katy Walsvik's Obituary (Article) - 4/1/2009 6:59:37 AM
I am so sorry to hear the news - 61 too young - please pass on my condolences to her family and friends. She was family, here at Author's Den and will be greatly missed - (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Katy Walsvik's Obituary (Article) - 4/1/2009 4:30:43 AM
Thanks, Leland. I posted a memorial poem to Katy this morning.

Katy Walsvik's Obituary (Article) - 3/31/2009 7:16:51 PM
She will be missed,but thankfully she did not have to suffer, thank you for sharing, my prayers are with her family In Christs Love Michelle~

Katy Walsvik's Obituary (Article) - 3/31/2009 3:05:04 PM
LELAND - Thank you for update - sad, but as you said - a peaceful way to go. Tom.

Free Listing on New Book Promotion SIte (Article) - 1/7/2009 2:21:43 PM
Thanks Leland. Great tip. I have registered my novel, Reflections from Shadow, on the site. Malcolm

The Opari (Article) - 12/31/2008 7:51:04 PM
I enjoyed this immensely, Leland. Thank you for sharing your creative imagination. Would that it were so here and now (what you describe.) Love and peace and Happy New Year, Regis

The Opari (Article) - 12/11/2008 5:07:25 PM
Much liked by all. Much better idea than Dubai's sand islands to mammon from oil. By the way, I understand that Dubai's projects are all in trouble because so many investors are pulling out. Our future depends on sound innovation like this, not cities fighting from going under water. Ron

The Opari (Article) - 12/11/2008 4:29:59 AM
My dearest friend, what a pleasure for this reader this was! A brilliant touch of Sci-Fi, with its futuristic setting, but... how true and how possible it rings, even in this "remote" present! And... you may have hit the nail right on its head, Leland: Sometimes, appealing to people's pleasures (in this case, the sport of fishing, and the other Oparis, also set for enternainment purposes) can be the way to their practical sense... and the awareness that many more and much more expansive benefits could (can) result from the use of combined sources of clean energies. "I like the Opari(s)", too... but then, I like the energy of Aeolus, and... I'm betting on it already (yes, what with the crisis and all)! :0) Bravo, bravo, bravo, and all the energy of a huge {{{{{{hug}}}}}}, with lots of love! Alexandra*

The Opari (Article) - 12/10/2008 11:23:48 AM
I enjoyed this very much...after a day of fishing myself...shoulders tanned..looking like a beetroot after a few hours in the sun!! Yip caught 12...10 edables...not sure what you call them... but in my language it is called "strepies" I guess I could call it "stipefish...lol...and two really ugly things!! Love Tinka

The Opari (Article) - 12/10/2008 7:31:55 AM
LELAND - WOW! SUPERB! ARE YOU AN ENGINEER, OR WHAT? A UTOPIAN DREAM? SENSIBLE, SOLID UTILIZATION OF NATURE & COMMON SENSE - WILL WE EVER ACHIEVE IT? TOM.

Albuquerque (song) (Poetry) - 11/9/2014 11:02:04 AM
Bravo! Even Wichita, Kansas is better than the east. Nice poem.

Stones (Poetry) - 10/4/2014 3:46:36 PM
I heard this is an awful condtion pain wise. I appreciate your humorous approach to it via your verses here, Leland. Well done and I hope you are well too. Love and peace to you, Regis

Stones (Poetry) - 9/15/2014 6:15:02 AM
Oh they are awful and I hope yours go away. Gall stones aint no joke neither. Clever pen, Leland.

Stones (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 5:40:20 PM
Amen My Friend ! had surgery thru the Pecker twice now for bladder cancer. still burning one month later. no picnic.

Stones (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 7:36:38 AM
That's a good one, real cute and one I can identify with. I'm not sure all that food and drink hocus-pocus makes a lot of difference, although my partner had a cure--baked pineapple juice spiked with alum--that made lithotripsy work like a charm in one try. Feeling very uneasy one night, I drove myself to the emergency room, only to find out that I needed emergency surgery (done neatly through my urethra instead of with a knife) to insert a stent to allow my kidney to drain. Two lithotripsies later, for a stone in each kidney, I haven't had any reoccurrence since. Just another part of medicine in the 21st century keeping us alive, happy and, hopefully, pain-free. Ron

Stones (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 6:49:49 AM
Painfully Funny. Michael D.

Stones (Poetry) - 8/31/2014 2:49:15 AM
I can feel your pain - I've have huge Kidney Stones myself, 10 years apart, which I could not pass on my own. But luckily, I've had two Lithotripsies so far, where they put you in a large tub of water and blast them away with Shock Waves. What an amazing relief from such agonizing pain.

Stones (Poetry) - 8/30/2014 4:33:46 PM
Very well expressed and painfully so. Hopefully there are new procedures that will lessen the blow.

Stones (Poetry) - 8/30/2014 1:44:21 PM
Hah! I've been there twice and have lived to tell about it, although I wasn't sure I was going to. Eh . . . I still eat whatever I want. They are pure hell, I'll give you that though.

Favorite Hippocrites (Poetry) - 8/23/2014 11:33:51 AM
Preaches purity while assuring everyone will get rich, fleeces the sheeple while bedding the right niche. Could think of many more but I will see what happens as your list grows. Ron

Gone (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 10:46:45 AM
Pogo got it right along time ago… "We have met the enemy, and he is us." We seem to have an insatiable desire to consume far beyond our needs and to think that procreation is good because everyone wants to have a legacy of children. Many today are faced with a legacy of deprived children. My mother was very upset recently when I wrote that I felt that my parents' lifestyle was a bit excessive. My father retired at 62 and spent all of his lifetime earnings and savings on himself, leaving my mother destitute and on the government dole when he died at 85. Unfortunately, my brothers and sister have followed along those conspicuous consumption lines. Still, they are better off than most. Our borders cannot hold the world seeking fame and fortune they see the United States even though it isn't true. There's a need for a sea change brought on by draconian conditions in this century. Ron

Gone (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 5:50:42 AM
When the truth is being denied, I assumed, God raises His eyebrows; and sin is the only source of distress! It’s hindering God from pouring blessings! Owing to unbelief the entire world is suffering! We must all acknowledge God and condemned sin to make the world better every thing within!

Sugaroo (Poetry) - 8/15/2014 5:05:29 AM
great entertaining piece here

Gone (Poetry) - 8/14/2014 1:20:22 PM
A very thought provoking poem. "Those things most dear to us, if enjoyed to excess, could be our downfall." I agree!

Universal God (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 8:25:26 AM
It's always great hearing from you on your infrequent posts. You pose quite a revelation with this ditty. Unfortunately, most people now live in cities and spend their whole life in nighttime bathed in the warm glow of artificial light, preventing them from really ever getting the perspective of seeing the entire universe within human eyesight (only a small portion) like so many did before the advent of artificial lighting. Just an observation that does not detract from your wonderful conclusion, but is missing for so many in cities these days. Ron

Universal God (Poetry) - 8/9/2014 4:16:39 PM
WELL SAID YOUNG MAN ! HOW U DOIN ? NO NOTICES IN SOME TIME. GLAD UR STILL AROUND !

Universal God (Poetry) - 8/9/2014 1:47:47 PM
Indeed most of us know that there's is a God and truly He liveth!

Universal God (Poetry) - 8/9/2014 1:38:45 PM
Only you would make me log in to AD after an eternity (what ever that may be...), my dearest Leland! :-) To me, IT's been (and sensed as) THE ONE, for quite another eternity! What a Happy Now to read you again! Big Hugs!

Universal God (Poetry) - 8/9/2014 1:17:02 PM
I call it Gros, and am writing a novel about it.

Antecedent Chemistry (Poetry) - 5/22/2014 9:56:02 AM
Substance to reflect upon; I appreciate and understand the philosophical perspective that you have shared through your verses here, Leland. Love and peace to you, Regis

911 Haiku (Poetry) - 5/13/2014 3:20:48 PM
I enjoy writing haiku and senryu. This one of yours is succinctly powerful in meaning and emotions expressed and stands as a reminder of that fateful day. Thank you for sharing, Leland. Love and peace to you, Regis

1st Book of Fatiman (Poetry) - 5/10/2014 3:16:55 PM
Humor with a meaningful "punch" behind it. Well done, Leland! Love and peace to you, Regis

Sugaroo (Poetry) - 5/10/2014 1:07:53 PM
Cleverly created and there is meaning behind the "lighter tone" of your poem. Nicely done, Leland. Thank you for sharing your wit. Love and peace to you, Regis

Sugaroo (Poetry) - 4/9/2014 12:03:36 PM
Sugar is sweet, and so is fruit. But I like beans, for their toot. Michael D.

Sugaroo (Poetry) - 4/9/2014 7:40:57 AM
You had me singing before I finished the second stanza. A fine jingle with a lot of good sense worked in. After a life of rather ascetic eating that I tried to teach my helpers when they first came to work for me 20 years ago is still there, only the portions have increased, there's more carbohydrates and I'm getting way more chocolate and cake and other goodies that I avoided for so long. My waistline is creeping outward and I keep telling myself that at my age I should be able to stop worrying about what I eat. But my craving still bothers me… In spite of the serious tone above, your poem had me chuckling. Ron

Sugaroo (Poetry) - 4/8/2014 1:30:36 PM
A fun and delightful read, and with a good message as well! Sandie

Spring -- NOT (Poetry) - 3/31/2014 11:06:31 AM
I can only empathize, Leland... ...we have had no winter to speak of here in southwestern British Columbia. I very much appreciate your ode to spring and I hope you experience it soon. Love and peace to you, Regis

Spring -- NOT (Poetry) - 3/31/2014 7:30:59 AM
Leland... how r u Friend? Very nicely done! Here in MerryLand have same Hopes... COLD BEGONE !!!

Spring -- NOT (Poetry) - 3/31/2014 5:30:15 AM
I can imagine that you are looking for better days. Luckily, down here in the swamp have fifty-nine degree weather and rising, blinding sunshine and a blue, blue sky

Soar (Poetry) - 3/9/2013 7:06:53 AM
Ha Ha! I'd love to soar for real, but my inspiration for the poem comes from the demo clip link. Take a look at that for the thrill of frree flight.

Soar (Poetry) - 3/8/2013 6:30:39 AM
You are a sky diver!! Amazing poem felt as if I was flying too. Where have you been Leland? Glad to see your poetry again.

Soar (Poetry) - 3/6/2013 4:24:04 AM
Thank Neland for the trip I have taken with my imagination after reading this great piece Your imagery is superb and most enjoyable reading Peace be with you William

Soar (Poetry) - 2/24/2013 9:34:35 AM
Your description sounds like a blast, but I ain't goin' now where up in the sky without an engine and propeller...;-)e

Soar (Poetry) - 2/24/2013 7:35:10 AM
It's great to see you posting again. Your poem describes the experience very well. The video is awesome. What is significant is that it doesn't require any fuel to fly. Man is now Icarus. Once, many years ago in West Virginia a colleague and faculty member in our department offered to take me up in his two-seater glider. For some reason the opportunity never came. Mark was a brilliant student and writer. Unfortunately, he thought he was better than the drugs he was taking. I worried a bit because West Virginia near Morgantown has very few fields to land in and a lot of rugged mountainsides and trees. I should've worried about his drug use. Flying with Mark would be a new kind of high. I believe he was forced to quit teaching and ended up being a househusband to his equally brilliant wife. Ron

Soar (Poetry) - 2/23/2013 2:10:44 PM
You have effectively brought to life and shared the experience vividly with this reader via your verses here, Leland. Thank you for this gift. Love and peace to you, Regis

Foxes of Hazard (Poetry) - 12/12/2012 8:54:36 PM
What a wonderful writer you are! And of course the topic is blessed. This is a big problem and I admire you for showcasing it, and your effort to open the human heart to the very real feelings of animals. Superb! With respect, Carol

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 10/11/2011 7:34:46 PM
Well written Leland and I love Albuquerque too! The people there are so darn friendly and I grown quite fund of turquiose jewelry, so nice, beautiful and blue! :) Thanks for sharing this great poem...took me back! Debbie

HUMUHUMUNUKUNUKUAPUA’A (Poetry) - 9/28/2011 7:44:41 AM
This is very clever, Leland. Thank you for the smiles. Love and peace to you, Regis

HUMUHUMUNUKUNUKUAPUA’A (Poetry) - 9/17/2011 10:29:51 AM
And I thought that Thai names were long! A very delightful piece about the challenge of language and the humor that can be found. On the personal side, you appear to be enjoying a very wonderful vacation fishing in one of the most beautiful parts of the world. Aloha, Ron

HUMUHUMUNUKUNUKUAPUA’A (Poetry) - 9/9/2011 6:00:38 AM
Wonderful charmer!!! Blessings, Christine

HUMUHUMUNUKUNUKUAPUA’A (Poetry) - 9/8/2011 10:43:16 PM
Hahahaha...not to worry...me struggled toooo...lol...thought it was some meditation rhyme at when i saw the title...hummmmmm!! Love Tinka

HUMUHUMUNUKUNUKUAPUA’A (Poetry) - 9/8/2011 10:15:45 PM
There must be some magic to the HUMUHUMUNUKUNUKUAPUA’A... How did "it" know I dreamed of you last night and woke up thinking... "I need to write to Leland"? Hahaha!!! This was great fun to read, my dearest Leland... but it'll be a looooooong while before I can actually read HUMUHUMUNUKUNUKUAPUA’A... aloud!!! LOL!!! A big ((((((((((PULIKI))))))))))) - It's Hawaiian for Hug... - with lots of love!!!

F5's (Poetry) - 9/4/2011 6:05:13 PM
Informative and vivid in expressing the intense power of such storms. Thank you for sharing, my friend. Love and peace to you, Regis

A Navajo Prayer Song  (Poetry) - 5/20/2011 7:00:02 AM
The bulk of this is a paraphrase of "St. Patrick's Breastplate"

Tornado Outbreak (Poetry) - 5/4/2011 9:23:03 AM
well written and full of history

Tornado Outbreak (Poetry) - 5/2/2011 12:56:10 AM
LELAND ... WELL DONE, FRIEND! WE HAVE BEEN PRETTY FORTUNATE HERE IN MARYLAND, ESPECIALLY UP IN BALTIMORE ... COULDN'T PAY ME TO LIVE ANYWHERE NEAR 'TORNADO ALLEY' ! PEACE ... TK...

Tornado Outbreak (Poetry) - 5/1/2011 8:42:12 AM
One of nature's restorers, tornados clear primordial forests, opening the way for the sun to shine through and promote new growth, as well as debris piles for homes for creatures large and small, from insects to rabbits, foxes to bears. As you so aptly pointed out, god or gods had nothing to do with the atmosphere's need to release low-lying heat by storms that provide rain and nutrients to parched land. Ron

Tornado Outbreak (Poetry) - 4/30/2011 4:07:21 AM
I pray everyone will recover what they lost. His grace is sufficient for us.

Tornado Outbreak (Poetry) - 4/30/2011 2:59:37 AM
A highly original, very fine poem!

Tornado Outbreak (Poetry) - 4/29/2011 7:46:30 PM
I cannot imagine what it would be like to face such impact of nature's fury, Leland. My sympathetic thoughts are sent to you. Love and peace, Regis

Peaceful Nuclear Interlude (Poetry) - 3/29/2011 7:08:55 AM
well done with much to think about

Peaceful Nuclear Interlude (Poetry) - 3/29/2011 1:25:10 AM
My dearest friend, it's great to "read from you" again! This poem is a timely timeless reminder of a few realities - and not, at least in my feeling, a "harbinger of doom". Our planet is a living being, and as such it grows and evolves and expands and convulses, in spite of... ourselves and other living beings on it. And, as a living being, it suffers, as we do, as do all other living beings, from the effects of polution, of deforestation, of bad management of its resources and dilapidation of its natural defenses... or "immune system". We do not control or own anything, no matter how much we believe we do - and we are ONE with the planet and all the other living beings in it, so what affects "one" affects all. It is a responsibility and an awareness we need to live with - but a responsibility and awareness that do not need to keep us "covering our heads with ashes" and yell that "the end is near", as much as they should not keep us "burying our heads in the sand" to pretend it's not there and it will go away if we don't look. To be aware of the reality and be responsible for what each one of us can do to make it better, while enjoying the stay which, btw, is not permanent and is made of change, is, in my humble feeling, a good approach. Lots and lots of love and (((((hugs)))))... and I'm going to watch the documentary "Home" yet again! :0)

Peaceful Nuclear Interlude (Poetry) - 3/28/2011 8:01:44 PM
Are we seeing the end of days fast approaching? At least though we got very good poetry to read right up to the end from you...e

Peaceful Nuclear Interlude (Poetry) - 3/28/2011 12:46:58 PM
Not a lot of hope here in these provocative lines, and I might add, beautifully executed. But this old planet has been kicked around for several billion years, and I have a hunch it will survive the storms and wars for another billion or so, despite the damage we do in this nuclear age. -gene.

Peaceful Nuclear Interlude (Poetry) - 3/28/2011 7:49:48 AM
Hi Leland: Another great poem. You ahve definitely turned my opinion around on poetry! Excellent my friend!

Peaceful Nuclear Interlude (Poetry) - 3/28/2011 5:52:24 AM
Leland - Hi! How You doin'? I can only 'echo' the sentiments of the three before me ... Very Well Done! Precision abounds in each line, verse, stanza - a true story, exquisitely woven like a fine tapestry. We are but mere grains of sand to the likes of God, and Mother Nature. Peaceful Interlude indeed! "Ye know not what hour the thief may strike ..." Boy Scout Motto: "BE PREPARED!" Peace, my Friend - Tom.

Peaceful Nuclear Interlude (Poetry) - 3/28/2011 4:18:42 AM
So overwhelmingly true in its eloquence. A somber but magical poem. CJ

Peaceful Nuclear Interlude (Poetry) - 3/28/2011 3:09:08 AM
Your insight is millennial. Ron

Peaceful Nuclear Interlude (Poetry) - 3/27/2011 7:59:15 PM
This is a most apt, timely, and very wise outlook about the state of affairs on this planet; a reality check perhaps. Thank you, Leland. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/25/2011 2:11:04 PM
Wonderful! Such a beautiful and powerful kind of tribute to your "Mimi"... I'm sorry you must be hurting from the loss, though. My mom is "Mimi" too! I am hoping not to lose her soon also. Blessings, Christine

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/24/2011 6:55:50 PM
My condolences go out to you for your loss and you have shared an excellent tribute to your "Mimi". It is evident that you keep nothing but the beauty of your memories of her just as you have given us a fraction of how great she was.

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/23/2011 9:51:24 PM
LELAND ... Sorry for your loss of your Mom. Your tribute defines her well. Obviously a Great Lady was she. Requiescat in Pace! Tom.

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/22/2011 8:48:43 AM
Very well composed.

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/22/2011 7:02:57 AM
Yes a truly wonderful woman. So reminds me of my mother, now 86, who worked so hard to put her children through college and sent me a funny email yesterday and several times a week. That's why your daughters are so strong--good stock. I know she's resting in peace, Leland. Her light will carry you through the rest of your years. Ron

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/21/2011 9:45:07 AM
She sounds like an amazing woman-condolances for your loos but congrats to you for having had her as a part of your story

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/21/2011 5:40:48 AM
My deepest sympathy on your great loss, my friend. I lost my own mother almost a year ago now, and life truly is not the same for me. May your Edith Light continue to guide you and your family.

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/21/2011 5:22:09 AM
A nice tribute, not only to a loved one, but to one of "the greatest generation" for they endured and persisted through a life of global struggles unknown by their prodigy.

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/21/2011 12:44:48 AM
Admiration, or better still, reverence, is what this very rare kind of women always fill my heart with, my dearest Leland. Some of them I had the privilege to meet in my lifetime or even share my life with, others I feel equally privileged for having shared or sharing my time on this planet with, even if I never met or am not likely to ever come to meet them in person. This awareness that fills me, also, with gratitude, was, once again, what shone, like a bright light, when I read this magnificent tribute, by a rightfully proud and loving son. A Path well walked, and luminous footprints left behind, to pave the Path ahead of you and all of her loved ones, indeed! A very warm (((((((((hug)))))))))))) with much love, my dearest friend.

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/20/2011 9:52:52 PM
Heartfelt sorry for the loss of your mother, but her light and warmth will continue to shine bright in your heart. Your mom is a woman to be forever proud, who accomplished so much with dignity and pride... Be always safe, Karen

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/20/2011 2:27:46 PM
Leland, you do great honor to your magnificent mother. -gene.

A Thanksgiving Proclamation (Poetry) - 1/20/2011 2:19:29 PM
Okay, I'm definitely hooked now. I knew you were a great writer I just never knew that you could make poetry come alive for me.

Albuquerque (song) (Poetry) - 1/20/2011 2:17:38 PM
Oh this was great! I played this for my hubby and he got misty eyed. He is originally from Cerrillos NM about halfway between Alburquerque and Santa Fe off Route 14. You want to talk about a quirky town that is it. You couldn't have described the east coast any better. I'm a native Marylander and I get frustrated with it.

Death of a Scraper (Poetry) - 1/20/2011 2:10:11 PM
Reminds me of the back-to-back blizzards we got in February of 2010. Is that considered the winter of 2009? Y'all didn't get it as bad as we did in MD I don't think. Montgomery County alone got over 300 inches. Then everything bloomed at once and darned near killed us all with the pollen in the air LOL! Another great poem. You might be converting me from a poetry disliker to a poetry reader!

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/20/2011 2:06:45 PM
What a remarkable person your Mum was. My Mum was similar as well she grew up on what would now be called a farmette. We lost her too young at 46 yup the Big C got her. What a nice way to memorialize her. I enjoyed reading this and I'm not real big on poetry.

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/20/2011 1:37:22 PM
My deepest sympathy, Leland. What a wonderful woman! And that is a beautiful, moving poem you honor her with. CJ

The Edith Light (Poetry) - 1/20/2011 12:12:01 PM
I extend to you my deepest sympathy, Leland; and I thank you for sharing this most meaningful and loving tribute to your mother. Love and peace to you, Regis

Food Chain (Poetry) - 11/27/2010 12:38:19 PM
I wish I understood this poem.

The Bigger Picture (Poetry) - 11/27/2010 12:36:37 PM
As times get more and more difficult controversy escalates. I'd hate to be one who said I didn't believe and then find out in the end I was wrong.

A Thanksgiving Proclamation (Poetry) - 11/26/2010 5:28:26 PM
I ditto apt, Regis. Ron

A Thanksgiving Proclamation (Poetry) - 11/26/2010 4:12:05 PM
Such a perfect, apt, and timely offering well-shared, Leland. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

A Thanksgiving Proclamation (Poetry) - 11/26/2010 2:21:09 PM
And those words of his, sculptured into poetry by you, apply as readily today. CJ

Food Pyramid (Poetry) - 11/3/2010 10:21:51 AM
But real message is loud and repeating, If we’d live a robust, healthy way, We’ll adopt attitude about our eating, That naturally keeps the fat away. I appreciate your sense of humor and your apt and timely message, Leland. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

1998 REVIEW: (WHAT IS, IS) (Poetry) - 10/26/2010 5:23:02 PM
A powerful statement; it is amazing how time flies and yet how, in so many ways, things really do not change in certain "areas." Thank you, Leland. Love and peace to you, Regis

Food Chain (Poetry) - 5/24/2010 4:20:03 AM
Very well written, Leland

Death of a Scraper (Poetry) - 4/7/2010 4:05:12 PM
I mispronounced the read and thought you had written about the loss of another of your bear-fighting Jack Russells. Thankfully, not. I'm reminded of '79 when Morgantown had sold its only plow and we got 21" in back to back snows. My neighbor had a new Dodge 4x4 with plow. The State--WV--plowed one lane on 73 and we drove the 8 miles to and through town without meeting another car in my brother's Austin to rescue a snnwbound student at my office. Also, my brother has informed me that my '73 Monte Carlo, in storage, has four flat tires, a bad engine and may have to be parted out after 350,000 + miles. That scraper was a good friend. Ron

Death of a Scraper (Poetry) - 4/7/2010 9:17:59 AM
Charming and imaginative! You have such a wide range - and your poems are always a delight. CJ

Death of a Scraper (Poetry) - 4/7/2010 3:32:09 AM
this is great! enjoyable and fun read

Death of a Scraper (Poetry) - 4/6/2010 8:30:27 PM
Thank you for sharing the experience via this delightful write, Leland. I love it! Love and peace to you, Regis

The Land of Sandra Dee -- Anonymous author (Poetry) - 2/5/2010 5:14:04 PM
Goodness gracious at the levity this brought to me. In those wonderful days Kotex boxes came in purple boxes as huge as Pamper boxes do today. Goodness comes with memories! Susan

The Bigger Picture (Poetry) - 1/26/2010 7:05:09 PM
A god is, or isn’t, installed, But our behavior is our own. We only, glorified or appalled By what’s reaped, what’s sown. I appreciate the philosophical point of view that you have shared in your verses here, Leland. I also appreciate the degree of difficulty such attention to form must present. Thank you, my friend. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Bigger Picture (Poetry) - 1/19/2010 7:48:31 AM
Karma is real but to me God is too. An excellant thought provoking pen Leland.

The Bigger Picture (Poetry) - 1/18/2010 9:00:11 AM
I'm with you 100%. Ethical behavior does not need religious fervor. In the case of my grandmother and uncle, dementia and religious attraction grew hand-in-hand. I would think that when people are losing their ability to think clearly, they fall back on dogma for comfort. Many of your loyal followers on AD are... Ron

The Bigger Picture (Poetry) - 1/16/2010 5:41:58 AM
Very well done- and spot on I would say. I would rather be among those developing solar energy than those who sacrifice their first born (If it is a daughter) to the sun God in hopes of ending a disease. John

The Bigger Picture (Poetry) - 1/15/2010 5:20:30 PM
very well said! interesting and inspires some deep thought

The Bigger Picture (Poetry) - 1/15/2010 4:59:55 PM
Hah! You pretty much nailed it, Leland. Still, I think I had rather live as close to the teachings of the Bible as possible. I mean the Ten Commandments are nor bad templates to steer your life toward. It is when the "stars" of the pulpits get a little rambunctious is when I have a falling out. Besides, you can be spiritual and not have one religious bone in your body. Good to see you posting again. I disagree on a few of your thoughts, but so what? I still like to read your "stuff."

Foxes of Hazard (Poetry) - 1/12/2010 1:59:42 PM
:( :( :( I love foxes. :( :( :( How sad. How well-written that I feel like crying. You are very talented. How sad :(

Foxes of Hazard (Poetry) - 1/11/2010 3:18:37 AM
A well written piece.take care

Foxes of Hazard (Poetry) - 1/10/2010 6:49:52 PM
this is so sad but so well written and expresed-i wrote about the same as i see it every day as i drive to and from work

Foxes of Hazard (Poetry) - 1/10/2010 6:08:04 PM
Not a common topic, Leland; but you have certainly given me pause for thought. Your kinship and empathy with nature's creatures comes through clearly. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Foxes of Hazard (Poetry) - 1/10/2010 2:56:49 PM
Two friday nights in a row, as I returned home from a night of drinking with fellow faculty members about 11 pm, i rounded a bend with my heavy Tornado at 50 mph or so on gravel right next to my country home when from a dip and culvert sprung a mother fox and three young ones. As I braked and went into a mighty slide they all made it past my headlights to the other side and I regained control of my car. Deja vu. Animals and drunks are creatures of habit. And then in 1966, in my DeSoto with my grandmother aboard, I hit three squirrels individually while climbing the Cascade range. They seemed to be scrambling to get under my wheels. Haven't hit any critters since. Armadillos rival tire strips alongside Texas roads. Never heard one squeal. Ron

Foxes of Hazard (Poetry) - 1/10/2010 1:17:06 PM
Roadkill as Americans say to describe this. In texas I heard a loud screaming, it was a creature I never knew existed. Armadillo, it had been hit by a lorry and was yelling in agony. Thankfully an American pick up came up, a bloke had a rifle and shot this unusual creature. That was in July 87 and it is still as fresh as if it has just happened.

Foxes of Hazard (Poetry) - 1/10/2010 1:11:27 PM
You say the things that others only think briefly, and you say them so well, so eloquently. One always says, Ah yes! in recognition. CJ

Foxes of Hazard (Poetry) - 1/10/2010 11:54:00 AM
Well constructed piece of work, Leland. I will never forget seeing a few years ago on a much traveled street in the town where I live a squirrel had been hit as it tried to cross the road. What was different about it was that somehow the car just ran over its hind feet and it was soldered-like to the pavement watching the cars rush by him but unable to escape because his feet were gone, mashed into the asphalt. I have never gotten that picture out of my mind. Never will. I wanted to stop, but it was impossible, too much traffic. The best thing to happen was that it was hit fairly quick and put out of its misery.

Pierced in the Heart (Poetry) - 1/8/2010 5:25:02 PM
What a lovely child, Leland! Photo and verses complement one another exceptionally well. Love and peace to you, Regis

Crime Scene Investigation (Poetry) - 1/6/2010 1:19:50 PM
Cleverly done, Leland; I appreciate your "reviews" of some of my favorite shows. Yes. I am guilty. (LOL) Love and peace to you, Regis

Crime Scene Investigation (Poetry) - 12/14/2009 10:57:09 AM
love law and order-SVU-good write and good to read your work again

Crime Scene Investigation (Poetry) - 12/13/2009 2:15:40 PM
LELAND - WELL DONE! I like BONES best. And yes, they are all 'phoney' as far as real life investigations take much longer to solve. Peace - Tom.

Crime Scene Investigation (Poetry) - 12/12/2009 3:42:49 PM
Very catchy and unique. I don't watch them because these TV murders have far surpassed real murders in number. The science is interesting, though/ Ron

Crime Scene Investigation (Poetry) - 12/12/2009 2:38:19 PM
So very original, and wonderfully well written. The sort of poem only Leland Waldrip could create! CJ

Crime Scene Investigation (Poetry) - 12/12/2009 2:20:16 PM
You have all of the TV shows that feature labs in this excellent written piece. I always wonder if it really that easy and that quick to solve a crime. I enjoyed this writing very much. GOD BLESS Tony Nerone

Whispers Of Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 11/1/2009 9:19:05 AM
Flowers in the spring, leaves in the fall. What wonders nature brings us for your pen to extoll. Ron

Blue Ridge Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/31/2009 6:09:14 AM
LELAND - MAGNIFIQUE - MON CAPITAN! HAUNTING HUES ... APROPOS! MAGNILOQUENT TOO! PEACE ... TOM.

Whispers Of Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 12:04:08 PM
Written by a true nature lover - eloquent and compassionate. A concept that remains with the reader, as does the poem. Thank you, Leland. CJ

Whispers Of Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 10:24:48 AM
It is as though you have seen what has happened here on the mountain over the past couple of days, Leland. Your poem is a lovely portrait of my favorite season. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Whispers Of Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/30/2009 6:47:26 AM
One of the best 'Autumn' poems I have ever read. Cheers, Dan

Whispers Of Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 9:10:08 PM
unbelievable imagry this is a painting of words very very good indeed

Whispers Of Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 7:03:08 PM
wonderful and picturesque

Whispers Of Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 6:28:29 PM
This is a beaurtiful and stunning word picture. IT brings forth all the emotiuons and tweaks the senses....especially mine. Oh! I've missed the seasons that change there. Here in Florida we have Hibicus all year and swaying palms. I do appreciate them but I'm a nature woman who needs her senses nudged now and then. It's sooooo good to be back. Miss ya! Susan

Blue Ridge Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/29/2009 1:30:45 AM
Magnificent and brillant poem.I love reading it,take care

Blue Ridge Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/28/2009 3:47:50 AM
I'm glad you posted it again, my favorite place, my favorite season. A stunning poem Leland.

Blue Ridge Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/27/2009 5:09:29 AM
A magnificent poem - the very soul of this autumn! CJ

Blue Ridge Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/26/2009 8:15:51 PM
A beauty.

Blue Ridge Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/26/2009 6:25:34 PM
With your usual scientific perfection. Ron

Blue Ridge Autumn 2009 (Poetry) - 10/26/2009 6:06:22 PM
beautiful-and such a visual masterpeice!

Food Chain (Poetry) - 10/7/2009 2:22:16 PM
Once again you provide substance for reflection, Leland. Love and peace, Regis

Albuquerque (song) (Poetry) - 9/29/2009 4:39:16 AM
What a great song, cuz! Makes me want to head out west again. Eddie Trimm

Albuquerque (song) (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 1:48:31 PM
Wow, what a special treat, this is just fantastic!!! Be always safe, Karen

Noah’s Ark, Again (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 10:49:15 AM
I believe that I have read this before, Leland; but what is expressed via your verses here is more apt, timely, and of great importance than ever. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Albuquerque (song) (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 10:47:28 AM
Giddy-up, Leland. Great song. I am a little (but pleasantly) surprised at having this side of your creative spirit revealed. Love and peace, Regis

Albuquerque (song) (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 9:35:19 AM
YeeeeeHawwwww! Ya' done a Hawt Diggidy Dawg good writtin' on this, Pard! Is that you'n on the geeetar, too? Dang good song...dang good crooner :o) How many more of your talents are you hiding from us, Leland? Enjoyed this much... Blessings and Love - Micke

Albuquerque (song) (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 8:51:29 AM
With your usual precision, you pulled this one off. A nice, catchy tune with a message. The singing and playing are first rate. Did you do either? Ron

Albuquerque (song) (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 8:39:10 AM
YAAAAAAHOOOOOOO!!! Move over, Tim McGraw, Leland Waldrip is here to stay! LOL! Wow, my dearest friend, this is really good... you're a man of endless talents, now I'm more certain than ever! Lots of warm country {{{{{{{{{{Hugs}}}}}}}}}} and love from the Portuguese country girl Alexandra (Btw... Albuquerque is a Portuguese name, so this song may have had some Portuguese "blessings" from afar!)

Albuquerque (song) (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 4:28:11 AM
LOVELY!!!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

Albuquerque (song) (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 3:49:58 AM
Hey! Future hall of fame song writer, nice work. I've been tempted to try something like that, may look around one of these days for some local talent to put my words to music. Oh, loved the song, but it is the words that do it for me.

Albuquerque (song) (Poetry) - 9/27/2009 3:17:53 AM
Take me with you, Leland! A beautiful, whimsical song. :) Well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Noah’s Ark, Again (Poetry) - 9/25/2009 7:06:37 PM
a call to wake up-become aware etc-well written

Noah’s Ark, Again (Poetry) - 9/21/2009 5:16:51 PM
LELAND - SUPER JOB! I understand that MONSANTO has raised some kind of fuss about ANYONE using its various hybrid seeds and corn ... without them getting paid - so much for 'helping to row the boat!' peace ... Tom.

Noah’s Ark, Again (Poetry) - 9/19/2009 2:25:53 PM
WE HAVE BEEN DULY WARNED...THANK GOD AT LEAST 'SOME' ARE HEEDING BUT BIBLE PROPHECY TELLS US THAT ALL OUR CONSERVING WON'T MAKE ANY DIFFEENCE...IT'S HEEDING TO HIS WORD THAT WILL MAKE A DIFFERENCE AND SAVE US. GOOOD WRITE AND THANKS FOR SHARING. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Noah’s Ark, Again (Poetry) - 9/18/2009 4:22:48 PM
Thanks. Hadn't seen this. Ron

Noah’s Ark, Again (Poetry) - 9/18/2009 12:02:27 PM
You always teach me something when I read you or at the least make me want to check further into something. That is what I'll be doing this time. Lisa

Noah’s Ark, Again (Poetry) - 9/18/2009 9:37:54 AM
Ah Leland ... your wit and intellect remain intact. i'm sure though that in a final judgement of fire that a seed vault may be rendered a moot point. Blessings ....

Noah’s Ark, Again (Poetry) - 9/17/2009 6:34:22 PM
Oh, yes, Leland. I read about the Seed Vault, and had seen a documentary on P.B.S. Still, I'll get some heirloom vegetable seeds and/or plants next spring to plant in container garden, then save my own seeds! I'd missed this well-rhymed and informative poem back in '08, so I'm pleased you re-posted, my friend!! Blessings and Love - Micke

Noah’s Ark, Again (Poetry) - 9/17/2009 2:21:24 PM
Outstanding rhyme and meter; just perfect, Leland! Very well written; bravo! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

Food Chain (Poetry) - 9/16/2009 6:06:45 PM
Oh, dear Leland! You are surely testing our gray-matter with this deep-thinking poetic "chain". Could it be we are fooling ourselves into believing we ARE "A"? We are what we eat, and that could reduce us to the bottom rung, could it not? Scientists would genetically reduce us quicker than we think...but I'll not think about that just now :o) Quite original and provoking, you are, friend!! Blessings and Love - Micke (who may become a vegetarian...who grows her own vegetables...and saves the pure seeds! LOL)

Food Chain (Poetry) - 9/16/2009 9:38:23 AM
Highly original and deeply true. You make poetry with your philosophy and vice versa. CJ

Food Chain (Poetry) - 9/16/2009 8:30:13 AM
LELAND - QUITE INTELLECTUAL, INDEED! THE 'BALANCE OF NATURE' TAKES CARE OF THE ORDERING ... SUVIVAL OF THE FITTEST ... TOM.

Food Chain (Poetry) - 9/15/2009 12:30:24 PM
As a self-professed "nature girl", I enjoyed this poem and the unique perspective from which you wrote it. I particularly like the wit gleaming from your last stanza.

Food Chain (Poetry) - 9/14/2009 2:30:49 PM
Interesting observation and concept and yes things are always subject to change... Be always safe, Karen

Food Chain (Poetry) - 9/14/2009 2:01:25 PM
That covers it... with great wit for a very troubling conclusion. Ron

Food Chain (Poetry) - 9/14/2009 9:53:23 AM
Ah, you have completely befuddled me, my friend, and all I can say is I want my steak medium rare, my pork chop crispy, and my oysters raw, see, I am versatile . . .

Pierced in the Heart (Poetry) - 9/1/2009 7:07:33 PM
Do I detect a bit of mischief in those enchanting eyes? Oh, and yes...definitely a Mona Lisa smile, Leland. Is it any wonder grandpa is easy prey to this li'l darling's whims? :o) I could feel your melting heart in these descriptive verses...but that's what happens to grandparents...even great-aunts like me... Blessings and Love - Micke

From The Sea Around Us by Rachel Carson (Poetry) - 9/1/2009 8:12:17 AM
Delight to read this as you have formed, Leland. You've enhanced R. Carson's message into lovely verse! Blessings and Love - Micke

From The Sea Around Us by Rachel Carson (Poetry) - 9/1/2009 3:53:31 AM
yes the sea around us, will certainly end up drowning us L, especially with the way man pollutes, give a hoot, don't pollute. great throb, cheers

From The Sea Around Us by Rachel Carson (Poetry) - 8/31/2009 12:25:29 PM
And you have scuptured it into poetry at its best. CJ

From The Sea Around Us by Rachel Carson (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 3:48:53 PM
I remember the first time that I read "Silent Spring." It was the first time that I started to become truly pessimistic about what man was/is doing to this planet. Thank you for sharing this meaningful, apt, and timely offering, Leland. Love and peace to you, Regis

From The Sea Around Us by Rachel Carson (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 2:31:43 PM
Silent Spring was a dividing point in the understanding of our harm to nature. In this work Rachel Carson helps explain what Jacques Cousteau tried to show with his many forays into the troubled deep. Thanks for bringing the magic of Carson's words to us.. Ron

From The Sea Around Us by Rachel Carson (Poetry) - 8/30/2009 12:42:06 PM
Surely the intellect of a scientist and the heart of a poet combined to make Carson the exceptional soul she was. Your reconstruction of her prose as poetry does her more than a little justice: "Most of all, perhaps, there is assurance in the fine dust of life that remains in the surface waters, the invisible spores of the diatoms, needing only the touch of warming sun and fertilizing chemicals to repeat the magic of spring. " True music and magic in those lines. I call reconstructions like this one found literary art. Thank you for sharing this unearthed treasure. Aberjhani

2050 — Same Old, Same Old (Poetry) - 8/7/2009 6:11:54 PM
good one L, but I think it'll be enough good earth left for you and I, if we're lucky we might have 20 more good years, cheers

2050 — Same Old, Same Old (Poetry) - 7/23/2009 4:25:23 PM
I PREDICT THAT 'BIG BROTHER' WILL TAKE CARE OF THE POPULATION CONTROL - PEACE - TOM ...

2050 — Same Old, Same Old (Poetry) - 7/20/2009 2:48:49 AM
Everything you said is the truth,Excellent poem,take care EDWIN

2050 — Same Old, Same Old (Poetry) - 7/19/2009 4:04:31 PM
ARE WE STILL IN AMERICA LAND OF THE 'FREE' OR CHINA THE LAND OF FORCED ABORTIONS? THANKS FOR SHARING AND GOD BLESS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

2050 — Same Old, Same Old (Poetry) - 7/17/2009 7:31:59 AM
absolutely right on!

2050 — Same Old, Same Old (Poetry) - 7/17/2009 4:50:33 AM
Eloquent and Right-on!!! CJ

2050 — Same Old, Same Old (Poetry) - 7/16/2009 7:48:37 PM
Time will tell, won't it... Be always safe, Karen

2050 — Same Old, Same Old (Poetry) - 7/16/2009 5:05:51 PM
I have to agree, Leland. And if we are not smart enough to deal with this, nature will win in the end and I'm afraid it won't be a happy time for mankind. When I "look" around, I cannot believe how primitive is mankind's thinking still. Love and peace, Regis

2050 — Same Old, Same Old (Poetry) - 7/16/2009 2:34:24 PM
Not my kids! The right to bear children is as sacred as the right to bear arms. Each generation understands simple mathematics less and want more of 'the good life' they think they are entitled to. Lets hope you are wrong, or war, disease and famine will do the job anyway. Ron

Pierced in the Heart (Poetry) - 7/1/2009 5:59:05 PM
She is adorable! Isn't it wonderful to have grandchildren? Spoiling ain' allowed, it's required. Name of the game!! Methinks that there will be many another cool poem by a certain grandpa. Let's hope! xOx 'Pea,' aka 'Fifi' or 'Glamma' xOx

Pierced in the Heart (Poetry) - 6/24/2009 1:36:22 PM
aren't they just fabulous?!

Pierced in the Heart (Poetry) - 6/24/2009 12:06:15 PM
A truly charming and delightful poem. And so beautifully illustrated! CJ

Pierced in the Heart (Poetry) - 6/24/2009 7:13:18 AM
Your poetic sensibilities still flow nicely Leland. And those eyes of hers are just mesmerizing. Enjoyed. richard

Pierced in the Heart (Poetry) - 6/24/2009 6:03:28 AM
Hi Leland, You are so right! The eyes have it! And I think proud grandpa has been captured in her sight... great write..... In Spirit, Bear

Pierced in the Heart (Poetry) - 6/23/2009 7:46:53 PM
why not - Pop-Pop?

Pierced in the Heart (Poetry) - 6/23/2009 4:55:27 PM
Super sweet... a heart piercer, for sure! Ron

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 6/11/2009 5:55:46 PM
good one L, I have a brother in new mexico, hope you have a great time

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 6/1/2009 3:58:35 AM
Leland if you think Virginia is wet and buggy spend some time in South Carolina!! Wonderful poem, the flow is perfect. Glad you enjoyed your trip so much.

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 5/31/2009 11:50:12 PM
Great song,fantastic work,I enjoy reading it,take care EDWIN

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 5/31/2009 4:06:02 PM
Great song! You can't help but sing it when you read it. And your rhythym is just right which is good so as not distracting to the reader or the ear if it was a listener. Excellent work.

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 5/29/2009 6:16:55 AM
LELAND - WELL DONE ! Maryland, like OLE VIRGINNY - has similar critters, but it's still my preference. Western Mountains for hiking and skiing - Eastern Shore for ocean and beaches - Rivers, Lakes, Streams, Ponds for fishing - Big City for cultural events - Little Towns for rural excursions - Farms, Historic sites to visit - And More, more, more ... YEP - Plant me down in Ole Baltimore! But - you enjoy your "GIDDY-YUP" on some ole mule! Peace - Tom.

Ghost Ship Mary Celeste (Poetry) - 5/28/2009 7:45:29 PM
Great story poem. You leave us with our imaginations, making this an eerie tale indeed! Sheila

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 5/28/2009 8:32:33 AM
Hope you got to grab one of those airbags and float west to Phoenix. Ron

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 5/28/2009 5:08:01 AM
Hi Leland, Thank you for sharing your zest for Alb! That's where I'll be heading, for sure, since that's where both of my sons live! I like your style.... :] In Spirit, Bear

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 5/28/2009 5:05:40 AM
Originality, thy name is Leland Waldrip. Incredible how many voices and moods you can be eloquent in! CJ

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 5/28/2009 3:10:51 AM
Been to Albuquerque many times, and I, too, have always been intrigued with the Southwest.

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 5/27/2009 8:32:15 PM
home is home-my heart will always be in new england, my earliest home

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 5/27/2009 5:03:42 PM
Someone (?) once said, "Go west, young man!" and so you did...Ed

Albuquerque (Poetry) - 5/27/2009 2:52:41 PM
Leland, I like the way you "talked". Just like an old pioneer. I live out west and yes, it's quirky but it's the best! Mary

A Navajo Prayer Song  (Poetry) - 5/21/2009 3:50:12 AM
That is a simple powerful prayer and here is another one for you (by the Navajo): O you who dwell In the house made of the dawn, In the house made of the evening twilight . . . Where the dark mist curtains the doorway, The path to which is on the rainbow . . . I have made your sacrifice. I have prepared a smoke for you. My feet restore for me. My limbs restore for me. My body restore for me. My mind restore for me. My voice restore for me. Today, take away your spell from me. Away from me you have taken it. Far Off from me you have taken it. Happily I recover. Happily my interior becomes cool. Happily my eyes regain their power. Happily my head becomes cool. Happily my limbs regain their power. Happily I hear again. Happily for me the spell is taken Off. Happily I walk. Impervious to pain, I walk. Feeling light within, I walk . . . In beauty I walk. With beauty before me, I walk. With beauty behind me, I walk. With beauty below me, I walk. With beauty all around me, I walk. It is finished in beauty. It is finished in beauty. It is finished in beauty

Universal Prayer (Poetry) - 4/15/2009 11:35:59 AM
Amen to such a sermon like prayer, so full of everlasting reverence.... Be always safe, Karen

Universal Prayer (Poetry) - 4/15/2009 5:48:02 AM
If only everyone would know this prayer... Ron

Universal Prayer (Poetry) - 4/15/2009 4:33:17 AM
How eloquently you weave together threads of thought that seem like total opposites and create a tapestry of truth. And what a fine tapestry it is! CJ

Universal Prayer (Poetry) - 4/14/2009 6:30:02 PM
...and so it is! Beautiful perspective, we are One! Warmth and Love, Carin'

Universal Prayer (Poetry) - 4/14/2009 6:00:05 PM
another wonderful write--full of food for thought

Universal Prayer (Poetry) - 4/14/2009 5:02:02 PM
We ask in the name of the Universe, That impudence be of the past, That in Your laws we immerse, And with Your Oneness, hold fast. Once again, you express much thought-provoking wisdom, Leland. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Universal Prayer (Poetry) - 4/14/2009 4:09:20 PM
Hi Leland, And it is spoken, my friend. You have probably read the Native American 10 commandments... We are all related.... In Spirit, Bear

Universal Prayer (Poetry) - 4/14/2009 3:52:05 PM
Mr Waldrip, you've written another profound piece. I have included the Navajo Morning Prayer that you included in the book Anasazi Harvest as my salutation to the God/Goddess every day. It has a pride of place in my book of shadows. This prayer will be right behind that one. You are truly blessed with talent. Keep the posts coming I enjoy them all.

Paperless Society (Poetry) - 4/13/2009 2:45:13 AM
A well written piece,take care Edwin

Paperless Society (Poetry) - 4/12/2009 10:27:02 AM
I've been warning, ever since Paul Erhlich's studies in 1968, that we live in a population time bomb. Irrational behavior rules and pontiffs like the Pope continue the farce. Paul and Anne warned again about Mexico about 1975 with The Golden Door, republished in 2008. Ron

Paperless Society (Poetry) - 4/11/2009 8:52:22 PM
interesting perspective here; well written

Paperless Society (Poetry) - 4/10/2009 5:39:33 AM
I totally agree with every word you said so eloquently, both in poetry and prose. The overpopulation of the world is a sure way to disaster. The lemmings had the right idea. A very fine poem. CJ

Paperless Society (Poetry) - 4/10/2009 4:49:48 AM
Hi Leland, A hard truth written very well. What more can one say after reading this.... In Spirit, Bear

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.