AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Darryl Jenkins, iArthur Jackson, iAlfred Garrotto, iShirley Houston, iNicholas Coe, iDiana Perkins, iG. Rynk, i
 
Home > Allison Pollack Alexander
 

Recent Reviews for Allison Pollack Alexander


The Snakeman Cometh (Book) - 6/27/2003 6:11:41 PM
Got my copy in the mail today and read it in one sitting. This is the second of three of Alexanders books that I've read. Obviously hard to put down, this one was fantastic.

Return to Suicide (Book) - 6/27/2003 6:09:16 PM
Great book! easy to read, but, wow, what a strong story.

The Snakeman Cometh (Book) - 6/23/2003 10:25:18 PM
I've read many excerpts since I first joined Authors Den, but yours is the only one I read with my eyes flying over the words in a race to find out more, more, more. Every sentence flowed into the next like water in a stream, and your descriptions were so vivid I found myself perspiring from the heat of the church. I'm broke right now--a starving writer--but I will give myself the gift of your book as a reminder of why I love to read.

The Snakeman Cometh (Book) - 6/14/2003 7:50:50 PM
Midwest Book Review L. A. Johnson Nebraska USA (6/14/2003) Once in awhile I read a book of such eloquence, so beautiful in its simplicity, that emotion overwhelms me. The Snakeman Cometh is such a book. Set in the rugged Cumberland Mountains, with the Daniel Boone National Forest as its backdrop, the author's tale is both poignant and disturbing. Jolene Mosley is a "coltish ten year-old" when the snake handling Reverend Browning makes his first appearaance in her Appalachian mining town. It's the 1940's. Mining is mostly all the menfolk know, while their women stay home to cook, clean, and raise a passle of kids. Life is simple but hard. It doesn't take the charismatic Reverend long to bring his flock around to his way of thinking. Religious dogma, harsh rules, and even harsher judgments become the accepted way of life with Browning and his version of God presiding. All enthusiasm, every individual behavior is drummed out of Browning's followers, including Jolene. She lives the life of all True Believers. No books, except the Bible, and no fun allowed in their colorless existence. Her curious mind and outspoken personality have been blunted as she reaches a joyless adolescence. And then the good Reverend's nephew Russell Nash comes to town. Recently released from prison, Russell is a past victim of Browning's voracious quest for power. The young stranger has a good heart, a quiet way about him, but rejects his uncle's harsh ways. When Nash's budding friendship with Jolene blossoms into tender concern, and then desire, life among the True Believers is turned upside down. Throughout, I worried for Jolene, wondering who would cause her downfall first - the snake handling Reverend or her sex crazed brother. The plans Browning has for her are chilling, moreso because her parents go along with it. With Russell Nash as the one kindly presence in her drab life, she devises a desperate way to escape cruel fate. Despite the simple telling of this story, The Snakeman Cometh was a devastating read. The author's character development and the purity of her prose took my breath. Ms. Alexander has two previously published books: Return to Suicide and Dance of the Misbegotten. I look forward to reading them both with the greatest anticipation. This book has harsh themes, but is appropriate for adults and mature adolescents. I recommend it with enthusiasm

The Snakeman Cometh (Book) - 1/1/2003 9:05:12 PM
This has the makings of a great story. I'm anxious to read the entire book. Good Luck!

The Snakeman Cometh (Book) - 1/1/2003 7:34:42 PM
When is your book coming out? It looks good. I've always liked your style; nice short reads full of emotion

The Snakeman Cometh (Book) - 1/1/2003 3:03:51 PM
I'm hooked...you amaze me...can't wait to read it all!!!!

Return to Suicide (Book) - 11/14/2002 6:42:51 PM
Allison: So troubling, & thought-provoking. You have figured out how to make the reader feel what that child feels. And I know this story. Found it in an antique document, 1846, in the hills of northern Connecticut. I'm serious. . . .

Dance of the Misbegotten (Book) - 6/18/2002 6:20:36 PM
I loved Return To Suicide! can't wait to read the new one

Dance of the Misbegotten (Book) - 6/18/2002 5:07:53 PM
You got me again. Return to Suicide is one of my alltime favorite books and I am looking forward to reading your new one.

Dance of the Misbegotten (Book) - 6/17/2002 11:27:24 PM
Loved the first chapter! Interesting writing style. Who is the girl on the cover??

Dance of the Misbegotten (Book) - 6/17/2002 4:38:03 AM
Ally, I spent the last 2 weks with my mom and dad. As I got older I realized just how back woods my dad really is. Wish you could meet him. He is about 3 degrees shy of "Sam". But a real good man who absolutely loves his daughter and would do anything for her. Can't wait to read the rest. Kay

Return to Suicide (Book) - 3/18/2002 3:16:34 PM
Sounds interesting. I like the cover.

Return to Suicide (Book) - 10/24/2001 10:12:31 PM
I just happened onto this sight and saw the cover of this book, and HAD to read the first chapter! I like the style of the writing- very simple and forthcoming. I can really picture this girl on a windblown front porch!

Return to Suicide (Book) - 9/8/2001 8:00:01 AM
I was taken in immediately. I appreciate the simple style. I want to read more. I love the little girl already. I adopted a girl at age five and she asked me if I wanted her. This sadness is already communicated in this story after a few pages. Great job!

Return to Suicide (Book) - 9/1/2001 1:58:33 PM
If the rest of the book is anything like the first chapter, we've got a winner. Who would't feel sorry for ten-year old Addie?

Return to Suicide (Book) - 8/30/2001 4:24:47 PM
I see a lot of depth in the character Addie and potential for the Uncle too. I want to know how the story develops. You paint a rich picture.

Return to Suicide (Book) - 8/30/2001 12:39:31 PM
When I began reading, it seemed to flow, like a river, deep and powerful. I could see the child hiding behind the woman's skirt, then it ended. How do I get more? Steve

Return to Suicide (Book) - 8/29/2001 6:08:58 PM
I've read the sample chapter! Can't wait to find out what happens to this innocent young child!

Return to Suicide (Book) - 8/29/2001 5:35:16 PM
Return to Suicide is troubling and sad. I loved the characters, especially Addie.

Little Bird (Short Story) - 3/7/2004 4:51:52 PM
Wow, eight or nine, that is quite a little bird.

Return To Suicide is a dream come true (Article) - 8/28/2002 8:52:47 AM
Thank you. I enjoyed reading this preview.

Death to Valentines Day (Poetry) - 2/12/2009 3:38:12 PM
How sad, disillusioned and yet there is so much in life to love and be loved in return.... Be always safe, Karen

Death to Valentines Day (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 8:23:25 PM
We've All Been Betrayed --Whole Idea Is To Walk Away From It And Not Never Look Back... Romantic Write... TRASK

Death to Valentines Day (Poetry) - 2/11/2009 6:33:16 PM
Deep and emotional poem,very well written,take care Edwin

This is When I Miss You Most (Poetry) - 1/29/2009 6:47:40 PM
This one is also a great write, and says lots and shows us you are a caring person and the person who let you down is missing lots out of the past years. Be strong, you will be loved by someone. Meanwhile don't give up and keep thinking positivie and it is alright to write lonlye poems and express feelings you have like that too. Keep writing.

The Lonely Lane (Poetry) - 1/29/2009 6:45:49 PM
Know you are lonely and maybe someone is a soulmate out there for you. Keep the hopes up and just realize you re not reall alone, God is with you all the time. I am lonely from being a widow and feel so alone at times, but don't want another man in my life. Too much trouble to watch them get ill on you. Toom much caring and loss.

The Lonely Lane (Poetry) - 1/28/2009 4:08:38 AM
VERY NICE!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

The Lonely Lane (Poetry) - 1/28/2009 4:02:08 AM
Don't feelbad about yourself.love will come your way again before you even know it.Don't give up :-),I enjoy reading this poem and expressing your feelings,take care Edwin

The Lonely Lane (Poetry) - 1/27/2009 6:50:08 PM
Hi Allison Remember that time heals all pain and it would be sad not to give love another go. Be well, Liz

The Lonely Lane (Poetry) - 1/27/2009 6:01:14 PM
Sad poem with great longings! Sandie Angel :(

Autumn (Poetry) - 10/23/2008 5:17:52 AM
BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE EVERY WORD HERE!!!!!!!!!!! Liana Margiva

This is When I Miss You Most (Poetry) - 10/23/2008 12:47:16 AM
I love reading this poem,take care Edwin

Autumn (Poetry) - 10/23/2008 12:45:59 AM
Hi Allison,fall is such a remarkable time of the year with the leaves falling and changing colors with a cool breeze.This is a beautiful.You capture the true essence of fall,take care Edwin

Autumn (Poetry) - 10/22/2008 6:34:06 PM
Beautiful, as is the season. Here's my contribution: http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewpoetry.asp?id=239170 Best regards, Leland

Like Yesterday (Poetry) - 9/23/2008 11:05:21 AM
3rd line - I think you meant "And where we stood." Very nice, song-like quality - I could see this being put to music. -- Jeff

Like Yesterday (Poetry) - 9/22/2008 12:22:02 PM
I love this. Love love it.

Like Yesterday (Poetry) - 9/18/2008 8:37:07 PM
Sad, haunting lament of what once was expressed well... Be always safe, Karen

Like Yesterday (Poetry) - 9/18/2008 6:17:32 AM
A very good poem,I enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

This is When I Miss You Most (Poetry) - 9/22/2007 6:40:06 PM
A beautiful, yet, melancholic rememberance of love. Kathy

This is When I Miss You Most (Poetry) - 9/21/2007 3:21:00 AM
Allison, Very beautiful in thought and context. Love the rhyme and flow.

This is When I Miss You Most (Poetry) - 9/20/2007 6:57:49 PM
Lovingly bittersweet of a time that is no more, beautifully written... Be safe, Karen

My Dusty Country Road (Poetry) - 8/14/2007 10:32:02 PM
Thanks for the journey down your dusty country road..... Be safe, Karen

My Dusty Country Road (Poetry) - 8/14/2007 8:16:33 AM
I love this wonderfully expressed poem! I felt as if I were there too! Thank you!

My Dusty Country Road (Poetry) - 6/18/2007 8:41:24 AM
The smoothness this pen delivers is over whelming. Enjoyed

My Dusty Country Road (Poetry) - 6/18/2007 3:40:20 AM
Allison, Very beautiful poetry. Loved the imagery, flow and rhyme.

My Dusty Country Road (Poetry) - 6/17/2007 8:26:08 PM
What a lovely journey you have taken us on. Nothing like a stroll on an old fashioned country road.... Be safe, Karen

Letting Go (Poetry) - 6/17/2007 7:57:03 PM
it's the hardest thing to do.

My Dusty Country Road (Poetry) - 6/17/2007 5:29:18 PM
i'm from alabama, if you had only mentioned the red grit between your toes, i would have been right at home

Just in Case (Poetry) - 6/17/2007 11:57:07 AM
I'm on my way

Forever Mine (Poetry) - 5/8/2007 3:20:54 PM
Wonderful write. Chrissy

Forever Mine (Poetry) - 4/24/2007 5:56:33 AM
Thought provoking pen

Forever Mine (Poetry) - 4/24/2007 5:09:02 AM
Allison, Your imagery is outstanding. How quickly the beauty fades in a world of unquenchable progress. We need only blink and the future will devour the past. Always hold on to your beautiful memories. Bless You Always, Paul.

Forever Mine (Poetry) - 4/23/2007 11:13:11 PM
More of nature being pushed aside for "progress". Where we live, the back of our house faced a large, open field that I grew to love. Would pour my coffee in the morning and sit outside in the back and just quietly admire the scenic view. All gone now, roads, houses have taken up the space. I miss it so... Thank you! Be safe, Karen

Too Long (Poetry) - 2/11/2007 3:57:41 PM
Love lost... Good write. Chrissy

The Woods Where We Lay (Poetry) - 10/2/2006 6:32:55 AM
Wonderful prose, Allison. Chrissy

Two Souls In The Wild (Poetry) - 10/1/2006 8:46:08 AM
A pen of honest emotions. Well done

Two Souls In The Wild (Poetry) - 9/29/2006 6:06:56 PM
Alison A very poignant and palpable write.. Can feel the raw emotion in this super poem.. Peter

A Sad Lesson (Poetry) - 3/21/2006 7:57:31 AM
excellent write!

Seasons of False Hope (Poetry) - 3/21/2006 7:56:33 AM
excellent write!

A Sad Lesson (Poetry) - 3/19/2006 6:24:47 AM
This truly is sad. Perhaps one can find comfort elsewhere?

Seasons of False Hope (Poetry) - 3/16/2006 4:33:53 PM
Keep hoping and praying....:) Peter

Winter, Linger On (Poetry) - 3/3/2006 7:40:41 AM
Nice lines. I too hope winter lingers.

Winter, Linger On (Poetry) - 3/2/2006 4:40:48 PM
Forgive me if I don't share your wish for winter to 'linger on', still a nice poem.

Winter, Linger On (Poetry) - 3/2/2006 12:38:21 AM
enjoyed the images of snowflakes falling like carnival and putting tulips back to bed. lovely, ty

He'll Never be Mine (Poetry) - 2/27/2006 2:58:51 PM
Oh goodness...hang in there!

Wrap me In Winter (Poetry) - 1/25/2006 8:37:57 AM
Very appropriate poem for the current cold weather. I read your bio. You sound like an adventurer. Our family is full of explorers...

Wrap me In Winter (Poetry) - 12/8/2005 4:46:27 AM
Beautiful. Grey dispair without drifting too far away. Well written.

What I've Become (Poetry) - 12/7/2005 5:32:02 AM
Succinct and poignant...

Summer Linger On (Poetry) - 11/4/2005 10:41:33 AM
Allison, This flows perfectly. I love the rhyme also.

Letting Go (Poetry) - 10/12/2005 3:01:47 AM
Allison, Very poignant writing. Lost in an essence of sadness.

Still I wait (Poetry) - 10/11/2005 3:46:14 PM
Perseverance teaches wisdom and takes the doers to the winner road... "Still I wait" is a romantic nostalgic poetic excellence. Healthy Long Creative Life, Poet! Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Letting Go (Poetry) - 10/11/2005 3:38:07 PM
"Letting Go" flows from the womb of the heart... A poetic grand scented with the aroma of loss. I salute You, Poet! Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

I Cannot Tell A Lie (Poetry) - 8/9/2005 7:26:26 AM
Simply charming! I have a kinship with you, when it comes to warm, rainy days! Glad to meet you!

Still I wait (Poetry) - 8/9/2005 7:25:04 AM
DEEP! I feel the longing and pain of lost love. Superbly done!

Still I wait (Poetry) - 8/2/2005 1:55:12 PM
ALL good things who've the patience to wait. it will come. peace'', Rich Criso Suarez

Still I wait (Poetry) - 8/2/2005 12:28:38 PM
Your waiting will produce good result. Keep waiting he will come.

Still I wait (Poetry) - 8/2/2005 8:08:05 AM
very sweet words... love the way you denote the passage of time.

Still I wait (Poetry) - 8/2/2005 6:16:25 AM
He's probably dead already if the autumn leaves have fallen. And Peter down there wants to keep you waiting while he Peter's after our daughters? I'm ready to exterminate the house.

Still I wait (Poetry) - 8/2/2005 4:47:45 AM
Great longings in this one. Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Still I wait (Poetry) - 8/2/2005 4:22:38 AM
Everything comes to her who is prepared to wait diligently Alison Life has a way of pleasantly surprising us when we least expect it ! "" Peter

It Must be June (Poetry) - 6/17/2005 7:22:04 AM
This is great! I'm glad it's June.

Someday (Poetry) - 6/11/2005 5:27:40 PM
Sad but often true, Allison. Love and peace to you. Regis

Miss Me (Poetry) - 6/11/2005 5:26:49 PM
Yes. I know how to miss someone just the way you say and I do. Thank you. Love and peace. Regis

It Must be June (Poetry) - 6/11/2005 5:25:55 PM
You elicit well the June feelings, Allison. Thank you for sharing this offering. Love and peace. Regis

It Must be June (Poetry) - 6/11/2005 11:52:47 AM
Allison, Yep. June's busting out all over LOL A great poem...brings back memories (especially of the tar LOL). :) Well done! (((HUGS))) and if no one's welcomed you to AD, WELCOME! you're among friends. :) love, Karla. :)

It Must be June (Poetry) - 6/11/2005 8:33:48 AM
yup! it's june (and my birthday is coming up on the 26th!). one of my favorite months out of the year! very well done! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D

It Must be June (Poetry) - 6/11/2005 6:36:49 AM
June it is, and a very nice poetic ode to it, Allison.

I Went There (Poetry) - 5/4/2005 4:30:32 PM
a well written plea for love's return ...

I Went There (Poetry) - 4/29/2005 11:07:54 AM
good write

I Went There (Poetry) - 4/28/2005 6:30:00 PM
Strong poem of loss. Well done. Henry

Miss Me (Poetry) - 5/3/2004 6:47:05 PM
Miss ya Glad we met It's true Miss ya And love Your work It's so YOU Love ya Ally...

Miss Me (Poetry) - 5/3/2004 10:07:20 AM
I love repititon in poetry and you have done a beautiful job with it. Very nice.

Miss Me (Poetry) - 5/3/2004 7:02:31 AM
Wonderful poem, Allison. Glad I didn't Miss it!

Miss Me (Poetry) - 5/3/2004 5:31:38 AM
Wonderful work...and yes I love that ending! ~ Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu ~

Assorted Poems of The Wretched Heart (Poetry) - 9/3/2003 7:50:10 AM
Once I wished, is very haunting and touching. Your writes are heart touching.

Assorted Poems of The Wretched Heart (Poetry) - 2/21/2003 7:05:21 PM
Hi Allison, Your use of line breaks and metaphors are great. I am glad that you got back to your first love, writing. Very nice. BTW, any kin to Jackson Pollack? A most interesting man.

Assorted Poems of The Wretched Heart (Poetry) - 12/10/2002 9:46:03 PM
Hi Allison, You evoke memories so well.

Assorted Poems of The Wretched Heart (Poetry) - 9/12/2002 12:25:26 PM
Beautifully crafted poetry. Wonderful rhythm and internal rhyme. I loved them all.

Assorted Poems of The Wretched Heart (Poetry) - 8/28/2002 8:54:36 AM
I especially liked Remember.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.