AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Francis Eaden, iBlak Rayne, iMary Adair, iWilliam Pusey, iMaryAngela Nangini, iDanae Wilkin, iChynna Laird, i
 
Home > John M. Prophet
 

Recent Reviews for John M. Prophet


A Jaded Affair (Book) - 12/17/2006 11:24:55 AM
Cape Cod has always been a synonym for charm, mystery and adventure. Therefore any novel that takes places in this setting is sure to be spirited and filled with physical and spiritual challenges for its characters.

Body in the Salt Marsh (Book) - 11/19/2002 8:48:10 AM
Looks like a book that will appeal to both teens and adults. Wishing you the best with it!

Body in the Salt Marsh (Book) - 3/21/2002 9:03:05 AM
Dear John, Congratulations on your book. It sure looks like it will sell! I also had a book published by iUniverse last fall, but my cover is not nearly as nice as yours. I went through the "Writers Club Press" package for $99. Did you choose a better package? Jim Schicatano

Mystery at Salt Marsh Bridge (Book) - 1/15/2002 1:26:46 PM
John doesn't "mess around" with superfluous prose. His book is straightforward storytelling... enjoyable storytelling! Hanley

Mystery at Salt Marsh Bridge (Book) - 1/15/2002 10:08:25 AM
Downloaded the preview and am ready to read it all start to finish! :o)

Mystery at Salt Marsh Bridge (Book) - 1/15/2002 12:58:39 AM
Exciting and fast paced. Brings you right into the action. I can't wait to read more! John Prophet has a very present style. I felt as though I were right there with his characters. And that, from just the excerpt! Christopher Treagus is an author of horror, and a reviewer at Feoamante.com

Mystery at Salt Marsh Bridge (Book) - 1/13/2002 5:52:14 AM
From the excerpt I've read, you have a powerful and clear writer's voice and a strong command of your story. The story itself is quick to grab one's interest. Nice work

Mystery at Salt Marsh Bridge (Book) - 11/18/2001 12:44:15 PM
I read the excerpt of "Mystery at Salt Marsh Bridge," by John Prophet. The dialog between the characters was exciting and the story left me wanting for more. I ordered the book today and will order one for my teenage niece. It's about time there is quality work again for young adults.

Mystery at Salt Marsh Bridge (Book) - 9/23/2001 10:44:10 AM
Refreshing to see this great mystery by John Prophet. Our teen youth are in desperate need of new, clean, and intriguing material to read. Mr. Prophet I believe has the insight to capture the imagination of our growing youngsters, as well as a few adults! The author is descriptive and holds the element of suspence while the two youngsters Casey and Lexie stumble upon a frightening mystery that leads them to a world of the past and the present. I can picture my teenage children enthralled in this great adventure!

Death at Walden Pond (Short Story) - 1/16/2007 7:20:51 PM
Great introduction i couldn't stop readin it, once i had started and perfect ending. Great work

Death at Walden Pond (Short Story) - 1/2/2007 1:24:22 PM
really good job-i enjoyed it very much

Death at Walden Pond (Short Story) - 9/25/2006 4:18:58 AM
This was GREAT! An engrossing and well written tale.

Death at Walden Pond (Short Story) - 9/24/2006 3:02:32 PM
(Clapping!) This is extraordinary, John. It has all the elements needed for a book or a movie. Again, great job -- I enjoyed this from the first word to the last. Hugs & respect, CJ

The Case of the Poisoned Cat (Short Story) - 12/15/2005 6:25:25 PM
Congratulations on your Writer's Digest placement with this story. I know the competition in their annual contest is fierce!

How I Write My Books (Article) - 7/4/2007 12:19:36 PM
An excellent source of ideas ... for the novice to the expert. Reginald V. Johnson

Brooks Free Library Writers Groups (Article) - 3/31/2006 3:34:38 AM
enjoyed the read

Goals for 2006 (Article) - 1/1/2006 12:20:11 PM
Well, John, I find this inspirational. I had an idea this very morning that was better than most. But I hardly know what to do after I get my ideas. Your article is a clear drive in action for this writer waiting to launch. Many thanks for the concise direction. I know that there are many who will benefit. Stephanie

The Yin and Yang of Craft Fairs (Article) - 10/14/2005 2:25:01 PM
Great tips, John! - and great article. We all need to be attentive to what you have to say here. It's great to have an outline spelled out for us to refer to in the hustle and bustle of excitement. Thanks for publishing this. Stephanie

Foreword to Body in the Salt Marsh (Article) - 10/8/2005 5:10:47 PM
Donations can be sent to : Kim Simonich 9 Deerfield Dr. Pepperell, MA 01463 Thank you!!!

The Elusive Legacy (Article) - 9/24/2005 11:03:33 PM
A profound article. Spiritual books are full of "Know Thyself" precisely because finding your calling is very difficult for some people. Some people may find it at one shot and some people maynot find it within their lifetime. Thomas Carlyle," The person who has found his vocation in life is a blessed human being. Let him ask for no other blessedness" I feel that there is no need to link calling with legacy. Is it so important to leave a legacy. Calling is like breathing according to some artists who get orgasmic pleasure out of thier work. My article at this site "Posthumously famous poets/writers" talks about artists who did not revieve any recognition in their lifetime but were famous after their death. Isn't being able to respond to your calling a pleasure in itself. Is it necessarily important to have a commercial success or legacy. There are many people who give up lucrative professions for self expression and fulfullment because:- When you want to be happy for a day, go on a picnic When you want to be happy for a week, go on a vacation When you want to be happy for a month, get married When you want to be happy for a year, inherit wealth When you want to be happy for a lifetime, get the job that you like. Though commercial success and legacy are important, being able to do the thing that you like to do is a blessing in itself. One writer at authorsden called the wrong occupation as spiritual suicide. Another in India called it lifetime imprisonment. Why then be obsessed about leaving a legacy especially to those whose calling maybe drastically different from yours. The article, John would be a good guide to youngsters.

How I Write My Books (Article) - 6/6/2005 9:01:57 PM
interesting article

Serendipity in Mysteries (Article) - 6/1/2005 5:05:07 AM
interesting read

Serendipity in Mysteries (Article) - 5/27/2005 5:25:20 AM
Your article was very interesting, John! I love mysteries, both long and short, but I don't care for one that goes on and on without reason. I enjoyed reading it. Peace.

Foreword to Body in the Salt Marsh (Article) - 7/30/2003 7:32:35 PM
I concur - Kudos to you, John! Tami

Foreword to Body in the Salt Marsh (Article) - 1/22/2002 4:03:05 PM
BRAVO!

Foreword to Body in the Salt Marsh (Article) - 1/19/2002 1:10:00 AM
My two girls suprised the heck out of me. They had a lot more brains then I did when I was a kid. They managed to stay out of trouble even while growing up in Brooklyn. Today they have their own business together. Yeah, kids can be heros okay. Oh, and by way,John, I was Wild Bill.

Foreword to Body in the Salt Marsh (Article) - 1/15/2002 1:10:12 PM
Dear John; Even though I havne't read your book... I shall Rate & review the commentary you have written, here. I was an abused child. To a large measure, as a consequence, I shepherded Brownies, Cubs, Boy Scouts, Civil Air Patrol, and JROTC and attended alla them PITA P.T.A. (now P.T.O.) meetings all through my own kids' school years. Too many parents (and other adults) FAIL GROSSLY to realize that our children ARE our most precious natural national resource. And I KNOW that you are SO right... MOST kids (teenagers) ARE quality material, who, with proper parenting and guidance, will, for better or worse BE our nation in a few short years. If we TREAT them and NURTURE them as the quality persons they are, then they WILL do our country proud. They certainly are, in distant lands and over distant seas, right now. Hanley

Foreword to Body in the Salt Marsh (Article) - 1/15/2002 10:02:24 AM
I have to applaud you, I think more positive writing needs to be focused on our teens. There are some bright minds out there, and to know that one author is creating a world where their power can be seen is wonderful! I will definitely check out your work. As to the question of a teen being heroes and really being able to do certain things, well, children are unpredictable, at best, and with your experience and work with children, you would have a great perspective and insight to write about them. Children are heroes, in every day life, for they survive, they teach, they give ( and take so much, love them that we do). Wish you the best on your future writings, and I am looking forward to delving into what you have already created. Joann

Life (Poetry) - 6/29/2008 7:13:00 PM
Hello John, The human life has greater value than lilies and birds, and Jesus said it so. If God takes care of the lilies, much more so will He take care of the human life. Sadly, we blame God for most things He has nothing to do with, like wars and drugs, abortions, drunk drivers, and all things under the sun, even climate change. But if we look inside ourselves, "the future can be told" and we can make or break our LIFE, by the choices that we hold. To live life aimlessly is EXISTENCE, but to live life with a purpose is LIVING. Cynthia

A Muse Is There Somewhere In Me (Poetry) - 3/11/2008 5:25:00 PM
I think you expressed the inner search for your own special muse with eloquence, John. A muse must inspire, while leaving the writer to his own truths.

Persistence: The Gift of Seasons (Poetry) - 3/7/2008 4:48:06 PM
I love this John.

Persistence: The Gift of Seasons (Poetry) - 1/27/2008 3:31:52 AM
Expertly crafted piece of brilliant writing, consistency in theme, beautifully rendered imagery, and an easily accessible style. The questions appealed to me as a reader and the imagery was evocative, enlivening the imagination. The poem ends on a note of hope and inspiration. Wonderful writing.

A Muse Is There Somewhere In Me (Poetry) - 12/8/2007 5:38:05 AM
Not a bad effort but the subject material is somewhat cliched. Could be improved through the use of figurative language. Are there any ways you could talk about your subject differently?

A Muse Is There Somewhere In Me (Poetry) - 6/26/2007 2:07:25 AM
Outstanding write John, loved the flow in words...hugs, Peggy

Life (Poetry) - 11/7/2006 9:59:30 PM
So true about life. Good work! Thank you, DL Mullan

Life (Poetry) - 8/5/2006 10:48:18 PM
Nice Poem. You are welcome to comment on my page. SG

Persistence: The Gift of Seasons (Poetry) - 9/17/2005 7:21:15 PM
You are a refreshing addition to authors den. I have enjoyed all your poetry, and find it superior to most of what I read here on ad. I enjoy your contemplative nature, your rhythmic interludes, and the thematic interlocking of phrases. Congratulations. W will continue to look further for your work...... and, by the way, I keep wondering if you may be the one "John Prophet" who was once known on KUHF here in Houston. Couldn't be..... Stephanie Sawyer

Persistence: The Gift of Seasons (Poetry) - 6/6/2005 2:24:45 PM
Life is Eternal. as I once wrote ...''it gose around and comes again''. Excellent poem....great lesson!! Rich Criso Suarez

A Muse Is There Somewhere In Me (Poetry) - 3/21/2005 3:58:20 AM
I really enjoyed your poem.Nice rhymes and writing that really flows. Inspiration is hard to define and it can take the form of a muse such as in your poem. I hope your muse never fails you.anne Pawlak.

A Toast to the Coddling of Grapes (Poetry) - 7/30/2004 10:16:13 AM
Nicely written!

Persistence: The Gift of Seasons (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 1:03:43 AM
Like a weed growing thru a rock. Persistence always finds a way. Wonderful message John. . . cynth'ya lewis reed

Persistence: The Gift of Seasons (Poetry) - 3/25/2004 10:41:24 AM
uplifting and educational as well...not only children can learn from the wonders God gives us every season.

Persistence: The Gift of Seasons (Poetry) - 1/27/2004 9:40:44 AM
..beautifull*smile* Vesna

Persistence: The Gift of Seasons (Poetry) - 11/30/2003 9:00:40 PM
Beautiful one John :0)

Persistence: The Gift of Seasons (Poetry) - 11/2/2003 9:41:42 AM
Excellent and fantastic imagery. If we allow ourselves, we do learn so much from the changing seasons. As you say, the persistence to keep moving forward, despite any and all adversity. Visit me sometime. Love in Christ~~ Bonnie Q Unicorn Haven

Life (Poetry) - 9/9/2003 3:05:36 AM
..indeed who are we..why the life ..why the existence...why anything..hmmm Vesna

A Muse Is There Somewhere In Me (Poetry) - 8/30/2003 6:28:00 PM
Excellent muse of this one. lady peg

Life (Poetry) - 8/27/2003 6:14:58 AM
Yes, tomorrow has never been promised in anyone's life. Nice write. ~SH~

Life (Poetry) - 8/27/2003 6:08:26 AM
One well-said poem... There are so many paths in life, and so many purposes... Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.