AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Chidi Asika-Enahoro, iSusan Lindsley, iDelma Luben, iLisa DAnnolfo Levey, iRosemary Patterson, iBetty Jo Tucker, iP Lewis, i
 
Home > Marcus Dino
 

Recent Reviews for Marcus Dino


DIARY OF A MAD GEN YER (Book) - 7/28/2009 12:10:43 PM
Marcus Dino has an amazing ability to create characters. You will not finish this book without laughing a dozen times. This book tells the thoughts, adventures, ideas and even advice of Fifi Larouche. Fifi is such an amazing woman, book character. She is an actress working as a waitress. This book is narrated by her. I found it hard to put down. She offers advice on job searching, foreign films and religion. She is never afraid to share her views or assert herself. I love when she is transported back to a World War II day and encounters a movie star that calls her “honey” and asks her to serve doughnuts. She tells him. This may be Fifi’s story but Dino’s other characters add to the humor, especially Fifi’s boyfriend and her father. They often try to tell Fifi what to do, with hilarious, though unsuccessful results. You won’t be disappointed by this book!

DIARY OF A MAD GEN YER (Book) - 7/26/2009 3:36:11 PM
In his novel, ‘Diary of a Mad Gen Y Er,’ author Marcus Dino tells the story of an aspiring actress from Des Moines, Iowa living in Los Angeles, California. Fifi Larouche chronicles her musings, adventures, and humorous observations through unique stories, poems, and blogs, as she works as a waitress while pursuing her dream of becoming a famous Hollywood actress. Fifi has an extraordinary group of friends such as Biff, her on again off again boyfriend, Alocki and her partner Helos, aliens from another planet called Zatoris, as well as Flifi, Fifi’s fairy alter ego. Fifi has a unique gift of rubbing her shoes together before she sleeps which helps her time travel dream. Her dreams take her back to unique times in history as well as into the future where she meets a number of colorful characters. Alocki is always with her in her dreams where they encounter a variety of people and experiences. Characters in the story are unique, eccentric, and full of life, with each seeming to balance Fifi’s personality, while helping her to understand and make sense of the world around her. Through these characters, Fifi has many entertaining adventures allowing her to provide comical observations on many of society’s ‘hot button’ issues. Fifi is a free spirit who confronts life in a unique and extraordinary way. Through Fifi’s thoughts and writings, the idiosyncrasies and hypocrisies of the world are revealed in a comical and sometimes serious way. Her reactions are unconventional and provide not only an entertaining assessment of life, but also some serious and thoughtful reflections. As a Gen Y Er, Fifi shares not only comical observations, but also more serious observations such as her father’s opinion that she is wasting her life trying to become an actress, as well as society’s pressures on Gen Y Ers to conform. Through her experiences and relationships with a wide variety of characters, Fifi shares her outlook on such issues as religion, the future of the planet and its resources, and the function of the brain and how it processes information resulting in how we respond by either through emotion or logical reasoning. One fascinating and unique way of looking at the human body is when Fifi travels into the human body where a discussion with Alocki takes places regarding the affects of unhealthy foods and other contaminants on the body. ‘Diary of a Mad Gen Y Er’ is an entertaining and fun read that will engage the reader from start to end. It is highly recommend to readers of all ages who enjoy quirky characters who share a unique and comical perspective on life. Tracy Roberts, Write Field Services

DIARY OF A MAD GEN YER (Book) - 7/26/2009 6:08:17 AM
There is quite an imagination and creativity shown here by Marcus Dino creation of characters. This is a collection of short writings, adventures, random thoughts and poems. The main person he writes about is “Fifi” which can be described as a struggling actress, trying out for each and every role she can think of in her mind. You take a trip on a time machine; since the thoughts flip back and forth from year to year…you never know what you’ll read next. For example, one day she’s a wench in a London bar and the next she’s listening to Jimmy Hendrix…you figure out the leap. One of the best lines states “One of my fellow gen yers says I’m interesting because I’m weird. Another says I’m weird because I’m interesting…I guess both reasoning’s make sense.” This would be a funny book to keep around on a table for a quick laugh.

DIARY OF A MAD GEN YER (Book) - 7/25/2009 8:01:53 PM
This book is a fast paced collection of stories written in the view of Fifi Larouche. Fifi is a struggling actress who is just waiting for her big break, but don’t try to tell her that she may be waiting for a long time, she is currently a waitress, but is convinced that she will make it big in Hollywood. In the meantime, Fifi takes us on many trips through time and different situations. Eventually, she wakes up, and realizes that these are just dreams. She describes all of her adventures in such detail, that you find yourself just as surprised when she wakes up, as she is!

It was a Graveyard Smash (Short Story) - 10/30/2011 7:26:14 AM
This is a little different from what I write but hell it's halloween right? You did a good job here but I suggest try making it a 2000 word story.

New Year's resolutions (Short Story) - 1/2/2011 2:03:23 AM
interesting read

CHRISTMAS IN DES MOINES (Short Story) - 3/27/2010 10:56:22 PM
holds reader interest

GOOD TIDINGS TO YOU (Short Story) - 3/27/2010 10:51:47 PM
thought provoking read

A DAY AT THE BEACH (Short Story) - 5/27/2009 7:30:58 AM
I love this. . . good snappy dialogue! Good twist! e

CHRISTMAS IN DES MOINES (Short Story) - 2/14/2009 11:05:46 AM
Good story, Marcus; thanks for sharing! Karen Lynn The Texas Tornado. :D

Little Girls and Hot Suns (Short Story) - 2/2/2009 2:39:02 PM
Intriguing. Your story ended abruptly. Was that part of the thrill? Anyway, I liked it. You should have your friend read my two articles on Creationism vs. Evolution, as they address two of the very subjects and objections you mentioned. Also, my bio page and my articles on UFOs might be of interest as well, as I have a little knowledge on the subject. I shall track you for further reading. Regards, Starman

CHRISTMAS IN DES MOINES (Short Story) - 12/27/2008 11:14:01 AM
well done

A visit to FIFILAND (Short Story) - 10/5/2008 3:22:21 AM
enjoyed the read

SHUCKS I'M NOT IN ARIZONA TERRITORY ANYMORE? (Short Story) - 10/1/2008 11:42:34 AM
Hiya! This is good "twitch in the tale" writing; real last minute kick to the story. There are a couple of "typos" which are easily fixed - spellcheck etc. The story itself is nicely put across. Liked it lotz. Regards, Brice.

The night Chicago died (Short Story) - 9/28/2008 8:30:47 AM
Chicago or Dumfries, it does not matter. I agree not everything is an improvement but deep down I feel we will approach rock bottom and respect, decorum, polite language will return once more. The trouble then will be the rebels who will curse and start the trend over again. An enjoyable read; you have my sympathies. Miller

The night Chicago died (Short Story) - 9/27/2008 1:51:41 PM
Yes, I agree! This story is very captivating! I hope you write more like this!! Thanks!

The night Chicago died (Short Story) - 9/24/2008 8:12:50 PM
holds reader interest

What the heck is this all about? (Short Story) - 7/27/2008 5:03:23 PM
Real life is living to the best of your ability to be clean in word thought and deeds and loving your fellow man and neighbor as youself. obeying the 10 commandments as much as you can helps too. The Lord is the supreme ruler of my life, that is what it is all about. I do not know others lives, but I do know mine is this.

Ahhhhhhhhhhh Fifi in Cannes (Short Story) - 6/28/2008 12:07:57 PM
Where are you, must be near the ocean somewhere to describe it here. HOpe you find some rest there in Cannes if that is where you truly are today. Good write though, Love traveling experiences told on the den.

Interview at radio station KMX with Alocki (Short Story) - 5/5/2008 4:09:01 AM
I take it this isn't finished yet. You may want to check your spelling and grammar. Don't just use a spell checker when you do. I saw several words that could be spelled two ways and you got the wrong one.

It must be some kind of a wierd wierd (Short Story) - 4/17/2008 2:44:12 PM
God I know, cuz it is hard for perspiring actoresses like us, and people can just be mean, well you know how it is

Meet Alocki (Short Story) - 1/25/2008 10:18:33 AM
well said

Dinner at the 'Corporate Club' (Short Story) - 8/12/2007 10:19:49 AM
hahaha! Good for you, Fifi, sock it to 'em! Good one - a club I am more familiar with than I would like, myself.

It's a ying yang world (Poetry) - 12/28/2011 6:36:22 PM
it's a world of read, and a world of unread, a world of misread and a world of scantily read... there are gradations of meaning and meaningful graduations, there are polar opposites and degrees along a continuum of opposing polarities... still your poem makes one think, and it is an amusing little song.

It's a ying yang world (Poetry) - 12/22/2011 5:09:50 AM
I enjoyed your song, Marcus

FIGHT (Poetry) - 9/30/2010 8:58:15 PM
Marcus, Well said. It is very true that we have to fight for what we believe in. A person has to believe in something, just like they have to believe in something to die for. Only the strong survive. Words are like layers of skin. A person can layer themselves with sweetness to be sweet or they can choose to layer themselves with sourness. Isn't this wonderful to be able to make choices? There are some who are not able to make choices.

A couple of short and sweet poems (Poetry) - 8/1/2010 5:29:47 AM
lol short and funny!

THE TWELVE DAYS OF CHRISTMAS (Poetry) - 12/22/2009 11:13:44 AM
Reads like 12 exciting days. Very humorous writing. GOD BLESS Tony

WE WISH YOU A MERRY SOLSTICE (Poetry) - 12/15/2009 3:21:05 PM
Thanks for posting. GOD BLESS Tony Nerone

DOTH I SAY MY LOVE FOR MY RED CHIHUAHUA (Poetry) - 11/16/2009 10:18:20 AM
Great poem.A well written piece that I enjoy.take care

READ IT FAST (Poetry) - 11/6/2009 8:57:50 PM
LOVELY, CUTE AND FUN! I REALLY DID PRETTY WELL...I THINK. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

READ IT FAST (Poetry) - 11/5/2009 6:15:40 AM
Patently hilarious pucker. Jasmin Horst

READ IT FAST (Poetry) - 11/4/2009 10:48:09 PM
Wow not bad

READ IT FAST (Poetry) - 11/4/2009 8:53:29 PM
Pretty prickly piece... Be always safe, Karen

WHENCE I WAS A CELLULAR THING (Poetry) - 9/12/2009 4:10:06 PM
You have given absurdity a new twist, enjoy Cheers Alain

WHENCE I WAS A CELLULAR THING (Poetry) - 9/12/2009 11:44:05 AM
UNIQUE WRITE THAT IS DONE WELL. THANKS FOR SHARING AND BLESSINGS. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

A couple of short and sweet poems (Poetry) - 8/18/2009 12:27:48 PM
Good sense of humor indeed... Be always safe, Karen

FIGHT (Poetry) - 7/12/2009 3:39:58 PM
GOOD ADVISE...A 'COLD WAR'...IS ACCEPTABLE. BLESSINGS AND THANKS FOR SHARING THIS WELL WRITTEN WORK. JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

The yogi, yoga, and yogurt (Poetry) - 8/30/2008 2:03:32 PM
lol this is a pretty good poem and hilarious.I enjoy reading it,take care Edwin

The yogi, yoga, and yogurt (Poetry) - 8/30/2008 1:20:22 PM
Marcus, Thank you for the laugh, this was beautiful! Mary

Life and Death (Poetry) - 8/15/2008 11:36:43 PM
A very good start. Let's hear more poetry from you. You have GOD gifted talent. WRITE ON!!!

Life and Death (Poetry) - 8/5/2008 7:58:32 PM
Nice!

Life and Death (Poetry) - 6/19/2008 11:28:41 AM
You are alive and well and your senses are so good. You have energy, are young yet, love nature, and truly truly truly are very good for me in my grief. Thanks, I could cry this is such a heartfelt write for me right now.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.