AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: CULLEN DORN, iOdin Roark, iconrad larson, iAntoine Raphael, iEdmond Humm, iAmy Sellers, iSara Coslett, i
 
Home > Eugene A Stovall
 

Recent Reviews for Eugene A Stovall


Frank Yerby: A Victim's Guilt (Book) - 7/18/2008 11:01:47 AM
Frank Yerby has so often been maligned as a pusher of pulp fiction or other inappropriate misnomers that it is both refreshing and inspiring to see such an ambitious literary treatment of his legacy. This "transformative novel" seems to be as rich in literary imagination and metaphysical substance as Yerby's own works. I look forward to the day when I can sit down, read it in full, and write a more proper and complete review. For the time being, I'm happy enough simply to know that a book such as this exists. Thank you for striving to produce it. Aberjhani

Blood And Brotherhood: A Novel Of Love In A Time of Hate (Book) - 12/3/2007 8:00:05 AM
Sounds like a great story. I commend you on your work and hope you continue in greatness. Have a blessed day!

Frank Yerby: A Victim's Guilt (Book) - 3/13/2007 5:50:34 AM
Excellent premise and one, I suspect, all we writers might face on our death beds when we atone for having pushed others aside while we wrote. All that for a paltry royalty check that wasn't even enough to pay the gas bill. Will we all be left singing, "Is that all there is?"

Why Cleopatra Definitely Not Black (Short Story) - 1/20/2010 7:22:02 AM
Question? Are all blacks dark-skinned?

Why Cleopatra Definitely Not Black (Short Story) - 8/28/2009 4:18:28 PM
Of course, Cleopatra was not black. Her linage was Greek. The Nubians came from Upper Egypt and only one of the known pharaohs was black and that was hundreds if not thousands of years before Alexander the Great. After Alexander the Great died, Ptolemy, one of Alexander's generals and a close friend from his childhood became the pharaoh of Egypt and ruled Egypt for decades. After Alexander, his generals divided the empire. Ptolemy took Egypt to rule and he was more successful than Alexander's others generals. The Ptolemaic Dynasty lasted hundreds of years until the famous Cleopatra of Caesar fame died. She was the last of Ptolemy's line to rule Egypt. Ptolemy was a Greek and there is archeological evidence that many Greeks came to live in Alexandria around this time and stayed on. Since the Ptolemys were known to intermarry within their family (brothers to sisters and cousins to cousins), it makes sense that they were more Greek than African. In fact, the Greeks had been colonizing the shores of the Eastern Mediterranean for centuries. I saw one comment that mentioned how much the Jews suffered in Egypt. The Jews did not arrive in Egypt as slaves. They arrived and were given sanctuary as free men with a promise from the Pharaoh at that time that they could leave whenever they wanted. Again, archeological evidence shows that the Jews were welcomed to Egypt and stayed for hundreds of years as craftsmen. Some evidence points to the fact that the Jews may have been the builders of the pyramids. It was later, nearer Moses time, that they became more like indentured servants and the freedom to leave that had been there for centuries was taken away by another pharaoh who had forgotten or did not care what the first pharaoh promised when the Jews first arrived in Egypt hundreds of years earlier (at God's directions by the way) to live under the safety of the Pharaohs. Then of course, when Moses asked the pharaoh (during his time) to let his people go, the pharaoh agreed. Then God visited that pharaoh while the pharaoh was sleeping and hardened his heart so he would go back on his word. Read the Old Testament to learn the rest.

Why Cleopatra Definitely Not Black (Short Story) - 7/23/2009 11:41:04 PM
i am not the smartest person nor do i claim to be. but i can tell you this. you can not claime relation to one of the most engaging and talked about people as cleo. if as they say cleo was black than they have to take the good with the bad, what am i talking about? the slavery of the jewish people. for thousands of years the jewish people were slaves to the egyptian people. they were starved, beaten, tourtured, killed. i think it is safe to say that the millions of jews that were born into slavery by the egyptions were not treated well. well that would mean that the black people held slaves for thousands of years, and should open there pocket books and give restatutuion to all of the jewish people. because if you want to lay claim to the heritage than you have to take the bitter with the sweet. and from my understanding cleo was not a trust worthy.thaat she was a cheep tramp by today standards and she ran her land by spreading her legs and sleeping around.there is your heritage.

Why Cleopatra Definitely Not Black (Short Story) - 7/23/2009 10:14:05 PM
Sorry Eugene I disagree with your theory of Cleopatra being European. Her father was first married to Cleopatra V, he either repudiated her or she died since she is not mentioned after 69 BC. He then married an Egyptian-Persian noblewoman. He himself was Greco-Macedonian and Egyptian. Cleopatra's mother and paternal grandmother both disappeared from history which gives some suspicion to them black. You are right when you speak of Alexandria being a city that Egyptian subjects were not allowed to go and to the library and the temples. However, the Egyptians did not want to go to their temples where the Ptolemies worshipped Pharonic gods. It was like a slap in the face to the Egyptians to learn from racist Greeks about their own religion. The Ptolemies were definitely like Europeans in a sense that they took black peoples customs and turned them into their own, since they are the masters of plagiarism. However, it fair to say that the Ptolemies were not as perfect as you may think. Cleopatra herself did not have children by Ptolemy men and as you know Julius Caesar and Marcus Antoinius were no Ptolemies. Cleopatra also learned Egyptian language which accounts for her mother being Egyptian. Furthermore, Aleutiteces if I'm spelling his name correctly established a close friendship with the high priest of Pasharaptah a black man. It is said that this friendship was sealed through a political marriage to the high priest's daughter. So the Ptolemies were not as perfect as you think. And please do not make these comments about Cleopatra definitely not Black to please white people who need to believe she was white as they do with everyone from history as being white regardless of nationality and continent. Lastly, trying to determine Cleopatra's race by looking at her coin is like looking at her silouette. You cannot determine her race because any light skinned black woman could have those features or any other woman of color. Oh, yes, and for the person who said Hannibal was white, you need help. Hannibal was no white man and had intentions of breeding out Europeans which he almost succeeded. Have you looked at some of the Italians, Greeks, Spaniards, Portugeuse and other Europeans lately? Some of them look pretty dark to me to be so racist towards black people. LOL

Egyptian Apologia (Short Story) - 7/23/2009 9:48:06 PM
Well Eugene I think you know what you're talking about, it sounds convincing. The ancient Egyptians were very manipulating. You had to be since kingdoms were established and the hunters and gatherers disappeared in order to control the people you ruled. You know every kingdom has their own karma. And the Egyptians were no exceptions. However, I do disagree with your theory of Cleopatra's race. Her mother was Egyptian and Persian and her father was Egyptian and Greco-Macedonian. Her father had Cleopatra V either repudiated or she died since she is not mentioned after 69 BC and he married an Egyptian-Persian noble woman, that does not make her European.

Egyptian Apologia (Short Story) - 8/17/2008 8:54:36 AM
Hi Eugene, I have always been fascinated with ancient history particularly Egyptian. Thank you for your insights. I’m in my 50’s and given the way I have seen history created and reworked in my short time on earth one can only imagine what has transpired over thousands of years. Though human beings seem to have exhibited beauty in thought and action sporadically through the ages, collectively we must realize the whole of history defines who we are without regard to location, race or time. I’m not feeling proud. Dave

Why Cleopatra Definitely Not Black (Short Story) - 7/10/2008 11:23:31 AM
A wonderful write

Why Cleopatra Definitely Not Black (Short Story) - 12/11/2007 1:37:14 AM
Not that it makes a difference, she is dead after all, but you are certainly correct. She was descended from Ptolemy, Alexander’s general, a Greek. She was in the Royal Blood Line, and even were there a bastard in there somewhere, bastards were never accepted as Royalty and placed in line to the throne. It would be a foolish head of state indeed, that would try to force upon the people a bastard in line to inherit the Realm. It would have opened many claims, resulting in many devastating civil wars, it just wasn’t done. You have done an excellent job of documenting the facts accurately. Unfortunately, these day, thanks to the “Improbable History Channel?” and the current “Experts”, there is more historical truth in Mr. Peabody and Sherman’s accounts, then there are in the newly written historical record. Say, for those of you who are re-writing history, while you are making George Washington a former African Slave, could you put me in there as the Heir to The Irish Throne. I'd feel really good about the improvement to my image.

Why Cleopatra Definitely Not Black (Short Story) - 11/12/2007 5:58:18 PM
None of that "proof" is proof enough. Egypt is in Africa, the "dark" continent. They didn't call it "dark" for no reason. Its inhabitants were all dark-skinned people, mostly dark and black. Included in those black-colored inhabitants of Africa was also Egypt, where it's original inhabitants at one time were ALL black. Egypt was later conquered by some European countries, as were nearly all the nations in the continent of Africa, but it's ancestral inhabitants back in Cleo's time were most definitely and without a doubt all dark-skinned people. Those who have been treated as the Indians in this nation were still ARE dark-skinned (black) people. Your argument is thoroughly flawed and incorrect.

Why Cleopatra Definitely Not Black (Short Story) - 10/13/2007 11:24:06 AM
I find your argument to be flawed from an American perspective at best. You mentioned Mr. Lee's perceived political correctness however, you fail to acknowledge your own. The fact remains that many Americans as evidenced in your politically correct movies believe that every ancient civilization was inhabited by Northern Europeans. When ever this false default ideology is challenged you cry PC. I recently saw 300 and was simply dismayed by the depiction of the Spartans as Northern europeans. As someone who has actually spent time studying Acient Eygpt in Luxor, Aswan, Cairo, and Alexandria, I am constantly amused by the American attempts to rewrite history and whiten the ancient Eygptians. The Ptolemaic dynasty itself which was in actuality a marriage between the Nubian/cush capitals in Luxor and Greeks in Alexandria to counter Persian incursion, consisted of but a mere fraction of the Egyptian history and an even smaller portion of its greatness as Egypt was well in decline when the Alexander stepped foot in the land. The truth is a serious thing and can not be covered up and the truth is that Europeans since the colonial era have tried mask the face of black Egypt however the hieroglyphs,Statues inside the Pyramids in Cairo and the tombs in the valley of the kings in Luxor and the temples in Aswan in Sudan don't lie. So Mr. American the political correctness that you speak of is on that is alive and well in American Media who turned King Tut into a monster in the 30's, depicted all 30 Cleopatra's as blond haired blue eyed, and recently in 300 depicted the Persians of Iran as Black Africans. And Sir your article only furthers the percerption of American ignorance. And before you posters start talking about arabs in Cairo get your history correct, Arabs invaded in 600 ad much the same way the English invaded North America and no one assumes Dick Chenney is a good representation of a Navajo Chief. Thank you, Jason- Professor American University -Eypgt

Why Cleopatra Definitely Not Black (Short Story) - 10/2/2007 10:55:11 PM
I was born in Rome, and grew up over there, and on our history books show Hannibal's statue around Italy, and you can see defitely is a caucasian, besides racism was not factor in antiquity, because the law of the strongest was counting; if you were black, oriental, or white but you lost a war, you are automatic a slave. Get you history from someone whose is not biased or influenced by political correctness. Thank you

Why Cleopatra Definitely Not Black (Short Story) - 8/12/2007 8:47:13 AM
Very interesting essay,Eugene. I would agree with your evidence that as a descendant of the ptolemies, Cleopatra wasn't black. Unfortunately, I think such assertions enter our American culture in efforts to correct the abuses due to ethnic background. Because we wish it was so does not make it so, and you are to be commended for your thinking. I would disagree with your assertion of Islam as a liberating force for Egypt, and, in fact, would myself list it as another oppressive force that took over that country. I would guess that Egyptians today probably have the most liberty ever in their history, even though it isn't perfect.That is partly the opinion of my in-laws who spent time living in Egypt. I would hope that our primary aim in investigating history becomes the truth rather than our agendas...Jerry

REMINISCES OF A RECOVERING PIN COLLECTOR (Article) - 12/22/2007 7:10:46 PM
I Am Sure Sum Millionaire Will Buy $$ Your Pin Collection,i.e. When You Have Idiot' Got So Much MONEY$ TO BURN Spends $3 Million For 1952 Pontiac 2 Door Sedan With Straight 8 Motor At Auction... And,I Can't Pay My Gas Credit Card On Time! Hey Man--You Are Rich$$$ TRASK

Why Yerby Costumed His Novels (Article) - 1/7/2007 11:10:34 AM
Very interesting and something to think about, thank you for sharing....Blessings, Loretta

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.