AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Darden North, iKeith Wright, iJerry Engler, iTom Hyland, iTerry Vinson, iRon Mullinax, iTiffany Turner, i
 
Home > Hanley (Doc) Harding
 

Recent Reviews for Hanley (Doc) Harding


Stars Be Our Destiny (Book) - 7/10/2008 2:29:16 PM
Bring 'em on, Doc, bring 'em on, we'z ready!

Stars Be Our Destiny (Book) - 11/10/2006 8:16:24 AM
Exterminated or worse? Could it be that Prostetnic Vogon Jelz from Hitch Hiker's Guide To The Galaxy is really going to read us bad poetry for all eternity? :-) Seriously, sounds a great read.

C/B/R/N Disaster Overview Manual (Book) - 8/20/2006 10:12:34 AM
timely work

C/B/R/N Disaster Overview Manual (Book) - 8/18/2006 7:18:00 PM
In November 2002, when the Department of Homeland Security was created, it sought to have national preparedness that resonates down to the community levels. Some communities and organizations interested in safety have developed literature to help citizens be better prepared. Hanley J. Harding, Jr., Director of Operations and Development of the Aurora Protection Specialists, located in Boca Raton, Florida, has developed an educational book to help citizens be prepared for a possible attack, C/B/R/N: Chemical/Biological/Radiological/Nuclear Disaster Familiarization and Overview Manual. During these troubled and fearful times, this manual is not only a must read, but a must have. The manual states that information presented “can also be of some help in preparing for - and coping with - naturally-occurring disasters.” At the time of hurricane Katrina, we most likely asked ourselves, “Would I have been prepared?” The manual is very user-friendly. Designed for clarity, it begins with a helpful “Glossary of Terms.” Most of us have an intellectual understanding of the term biological warfare, but few have adequate knowledge of the term bioaccumulative. Chapters 1 through 5 provide overviews for each type of threat, chemical, biological, radiological contamination and nuclear. Chapter 6, “Personal/Family Disaster Preparedness” addresses the necessity of families bearing the “major responsibility for undertaking pre-planning and preparation measures which will help ensure their survival and safety in the even of an attack.” The citizenry must understand “that it is not possible for any governmental entity to protect the safety of the general population” against an attack. Following this word of advice, Harding outlines the major factors involved in planning for survival and safety in the event of an attack. Chapter 7, turns attention to “Organizational Disaster Preparedness,” who are by their nature are “capable of responding to disasters.” But they, too, need to devise and implement plans for a possible attack whether it be chemical, biological, radiological contamination or nuclear. The manual concludes with an addendum of a list of hazardous chemicals and substances. I highly recommend that you add Hanley’s manual to your book shelf,. In these troubled times of international conflict and unpredictable natural disasters, don’t get caught unprepared. Be informed. Be ready. Purchase this manual as a part of that effort.

Stars Be Our Destiny (Book) - 2/14/2006 8:29:29 PM
After reading the excerpt, there was an uncertany if we should continue, after all, who likes to be smacked in the face with a shovel...but, we overcame the fears and it was WELL worth it! Birgit and Roger

Stars Be Our Destiny (Book) - 1/22/2006 3:33:22 PM
I love sci-fi and always wonder is it really fiction or are we getting psychic previews!! Terrific write. Sandi

Stars Be Our Destiny (Book) - 6/16/2004 6:22:56 PM
This is damn cool. Doc you got some real skills when it comes to writing Science Fiction.

Sleep Without Dreams -- A Novel of the U.S. Navy in the Vietnam War Years (Book) - 4/29/2002 11:59:30 AM
As much as we hate to admit, life's never one genre: never solely too sweet, or too bitter and too sour. Life includes all varieties of itself in itself. Just like the Tree of Discerning Good and Evil in Eden had one fruit, containing knolwedge about what good and evil are. Not that they necessarely coexist, but... one can always love in a loving environment. Yet what about loving in a living Hell? What about loving with the power of death? Is there any logic in it? Was self-sacrifice ever explained? So is this book, full of contradictions just as life is! It is urging to make you understand that one cannot love good without hating evil, as well as doing perfect evil while knowing what perfect love is. Some things just don't match together (like water and fire). But when water burns like napalm and dust turns to be your only future--when the conglomerates of life change your nature and human perspectives so much that you discover your unknown 'you'--then is the clay turning into a vessel in the Creator's hand! And that is the message of this book, set between the lines in a Viet Nam style of misty and muddy revelations about what life is (at least for those that walked through living hell for their own and somebody else's sake). In short, once eaten from the Forbidden Tree, one is destined to choose between good and evil, finding good within evil (and preseve it!) and evil within good (and eliminate it)! Is that so diffucult to understand that we, humans, are called to discern between these two every moment of our lives? Yes, it is, if we are as proud as the tallest trees in the forest, who believe that they have planted themselves and that there is no greated truth than that!

Sleep Without Dreams -- A Novel of the U.S. Navy in the Vietnam War Years (Book) - 1/5/2002 1:24:01 AM
Compelling, controversial... It makes you think about what really happens to young men and women like Jacob Hilfarber. Truly a wonderful novel.

Sleep Without Dreams -- A Novel of the U.S. Navy in the Vietnam War Years (Book) - 1/4/2002 4:51:26 PM
Much controversy surrounded the Vietnam War, and some of that controversy remains yet today. That a young man, as were many young men and women, was sacrificed and artfully written into story form -- leads me to believe that this book IS a good read.

DAWg 'n' Me... (Short Story) - 10/4/2007 1:50:49 PM
Hey Doc, Big smile reading this. We have a similar style. Good write!!! ...Michael

Mission (Short Story) - 3/26/2007 7:31:51 AM
awesome loved it....

DAWg 'n' Me... (Short Story) - 2/9/2007 8:00:04 PM
Humongous cheeseburgers are the BEST for the munchies and you guys got balls...LOL, loved this and I must thank Kate Clifford for steering me in the right direction...a fun write, Ed & Rufuz (w00f)

DAWg 'n' Me... (Short Story) - 12/29/2006 10:16:51 PM
So do you and DAWg have to be high to meet me in California?

Mission (Short Story) - 9/30/2006 6:04:43 PM
Okay, you fooled me. And I liked it. JohnB

DAWg 'n' Me... (Short Story) - 2/5/2006 6:39:20 PM
That was one great story! Birgit and Roger

Somebody Up There Likes Me (Short Story) - 2/17/2005 8:12:48 PM
well done

BAT Chronicle (Short Story) - 2/17/2005 8:11:57 PM
interesting read

DAWg 'n' Me... (Short Story) - 11/19/2004 4:51:37 PM
You Two are looking pretty damned good--for being so ugly. I should arrest the both of you, for molesting our Youth. lgl

DAWg 'n' Me... (Short Story) - 11/19/2004 10:47:50 AM
Great read, Doc! Cynthia

DAWg 'n' Me... (Short Story) - 11/19/2004 9:13:13 AM
too funny! thanks for sharing! LOL

DAWg 'n' Me... (Short Story) - 11/19/2004 6:10:22 AM
Man, have I got a headache this morning! What is this? OMG, Doc has blown our cover! I'm outta here. I hear the laundry business is booming in Columbia. Don't tell anybody. DAWg

DAWg 'n' Me... (Short Story) - 11/19/2004 5:40:43 AM
Your one funny dude Doc! I like your sense of humor, enjoyed this lots!

DAWg 'n' Me... (Short Story) - 11/19/2004 1:43:42 AM
Interesting story. I wonder how many times that really does happen? M.Rose

BAT Chronicle (Short Story) - 11/2/2004 10:20:11 PM
Great job here. Interesting and imaginative. Good voice. Story sucks you in. I'll like to read this when completed.

Somebody Up There Likes Me (Short Story) - 10/6/2004 6:11:24 AM
This was excellent. I could imagine myself at the bottom of the ocean, knowing I was going to save survivors, if any, and making a fatal mistake. The last thoughts were striking... Peace.

In the Sight of God (Short Story) - 5/5/2004 10:57:56 PM
I am a sucker for a good detective story and this is one of those that is damn good. This is great. I thought I would read this one since you reviewed one of Terry's. I am impressed by this. I second the opinion of Claywoman with this story. I am also a horror writer, if you like Terry's work -- I will also deliver the goods.

BAT Chronicle (Short Story) - 4/24/2004 1:20:05 PM
AAARK!

Somebody Up There Likes Me (Short Story) - 4/7/2004 1:42:02 AM
This is good, I can relate to the factor of the swearing in the story because I am a practioner of the vulgarity in stories as well. The hell with E.A. That dude can go suck himself off, this story kicks ass. I am going with T.L. on this one, and saying it is a damn good. You know your craft and know how to make something really realistic. I see the other Nick found his way over here as well, he's dead on about this one -- it is one that is very suspenseful. I was in the Navy and can relate to the way the company commanders had the mouths on them. One of the reasons why I sweared so much -- being that I was in Great Lakes and still cuss like a sailor.

BAT Chronicle (Short Story) - 4/6/2004 7:56:10 PM
I am beyond impressed with this story. You have a very imaginative tone going here, and one can say it is hard enough to write Science Fiction. I am extremely jealous because the influences are there for it but I tend to write more horror. I appreciate writers who can do good Science Fiction because one needs the know the good technical knowhow to pull this kind of genre off. This is a fun read, and I wonder how much fun you were having when you wrote this because it seems like you were having some fun with this one.

Somebody Up There Likes Me (Short Story) - 12/24/2003 5:34:34 PM
Doc, Great tale...loads of realism and suspense. By the way, I spent eight glorius years in the USAF...the 'salty' langauge is just part of the life. Enjoyed it. Terry V.

BAT Chronicle (Short Story) - 11/22/2003 3:53:31 PM
now this is something else right here. as a spec. fic. afficionado and ex-military man myself, i can get into work like this. the little details were what made it so strong for me, the switch between formalized language in the narrative form and the dialect of every day speech, the detailed way in which you went about describing the military world and that awesome scorpion, as well as the swift battle! i'll definitely be looking for more of this right here. excellent work! i'm impressed...

Somebody Up There Likes Me (Short Story) - 4/13/2003 9:55:32 PM
Doc, A very dark story. I enjoyed this. The best part of all is the manner in which the title affected my interpretation of the story. Good choice. By the way, I 'm still looking for "Outlet". Thanks, Nick

Mission (Short Story) - 4/9/2003 11:49:46 PM
A different take on grocery shopping. Take me to your hollandaise sauce!! Enjoyed, Nick

Mission (Short Story) - 3/5/2003 7:08:37 PM
good one

Our New War... Part 26, Lack of Logic (Article) - 10/28/2007 6:32:45 PM
Doc, This is my favorite part: ........(snip)............................ "And for those of you who are fighting every day to keep the free world free, and to free those parts which are enslaved (whether you are bearing arms or not)... "Have courage and share it with others." .......................................... There are many ways to fight for freedom, not all require bearing arms, though it's good to be armed with a sense of right and wrong, and a love of freedom. If we each do what's within our reach we can make a difference, don't you think? Jill C

Our New War... Part 26, Lack of Logic (Article) - 10/27/2007 8:05:19 AM
excellent write with well made points-

Paris Hilton (Article) - 10/22/2007 4:04:32 PM
Some girls will dance in the red light, while Paris will always prefer the green light of Infrared.

Move to Friendly Vermont (Article) - 10/18/2007 8:01:36 PM
ouch! I had no idea-

Move to Friendly Vermont (Article) - 10/17/2007 9:07:17 AM
Great news notice for all who hate child abuse. Send 'em to Vermont if they can't make up their minds what kind of state they want. Now, what about cop killers? I hate those too!

Our New War... Part 25, The Blackwater Thing (Article) - 10/3/2007 6:50:34 PM
You are so right. Our own propaganda is what makes our enemies so great. What are their ROEs? NONE. Great read

Our New War... Part 25, The Blackwater Thing (Article) - 10/3/2007 6:41:11 AM
It is a helluva quandary, but, gosh, thanks for the very clear explanation that you give. How many of us had no idea about all this? You convince when you say Blackwater shouldn't follow ROEs. Cheers

Our New War... Part 24 (Article) - 8/24/2007 3:46:23 PM
Doc, This sounds a lot like the "Borgs" of the new star trek. Am I wrong? again? Walt

Paris Hilton (Article) - 8/22/2007 6:00:30 PM
Loved that one! B&R

Our New War... Part 24 (Article) - 8/17/2007 8:39:34 PM
interesting

Our New War... Part 24 (Article) - 8/17/2007 12:11:45 PM
We don't, it's true, have enough action on the behalf of voters, participants, common citizenry, etc. It's apathy and it's sad. The price to pay is high. Later. Good write. Cheers

Our New War... Part 24 (Article) - 8/15/2007 9:24:50 PM
well made point here

Our New War... Part 24 (Article) - 8/15/2007 5:00:17 PM


Our New War... Part 23, That Used Feeling (Article) - 8/1/2007 12:58:33 AM
Because my son is over there fighting for you and everyone else in the USA, let us hope this war does not turn out to be like Vietnam, Where people were not supporting our men and women...grrr...I am a Support for all our troops through out all the wars I have seen. I can go on and on about this subject, there is not enough pages here at the Den for me to do my ranting...God Bless you for protecting our asses in the vietnam war...I salute you!!!! I have many friends die in the war and have a brother that was in contact with agent orange...whew, time for me to shut-up...hehe...thanks for writting and stating your opinions on this war and Your right about we haven't seen nothing yet. ooops, I better get out of here...Take Care and I will be reading your thoughts on this war...Hugs, Peggy (Smile)

Paris Hilton (Article) - 6/12/2007 1:59:12 PM
I had heard she was dating some guy named Cleveland Marriot, but that may have just been an acid trip from 200 Motels. No matter what, we should probably take it as seriously as the SpongeBob Suite at the Nickelodeon Family Suites in Orlando. It's all some kind of altered reality, no matter how you look at it. When is check-out time?

Paris Hilton (Article) - 6/11/2007 8:29:20 AM
Excellent sentiments. R

Paris Hilton (Article) - 6/11/2007 3:55:36 AM
No dispespect.... But Please....I'm sick of Paris Hilton, and her, spoiled, foolish ways....please find something meaningful to write about

Paris Hilton (Article) - 6/10/2007 8:14:43 PM
yes, i do agree! Love the sarcasm

Paris Hilton (Article) - 6/10/2007 5:09:39 PM
What's news worthy and important nowadays in this world--a few wars or rich girls? What woke you up? :o)

Paris Hilton (Article) - 6/10/2007 2:26:59 PM
Did you forget to say It has 'no talent'?

Our New War... Part 22, God Speed, Mr. Blair (Article) - 5/16/2007 3:02:51 PM
Nice tribute. R

Our New War... Part 23, That Used Feeling (Article) - 5/15/2007 1:30:25 PM
I think many people care, but feel helpless about being able to do anything about the world situation. So, it's good that authors like yourself who are informed present a view to help educate. R

The Business Organism (Article) - 5/15/2007 1:19:32 PM
Excellent write -- most employees have a sense of pride in their work that is sometimes stifled by uninformed management. R

Our New War... Part 23, That Used Feeling (Article) - 5/13/2007 3:56:09 AM
enjoyed the reading

Our New War... Part 23, That Used Feeling (Article) - 5/12/2007 3:28:18 PM
This is good and I agree with you, may God help us all. Something tells me He will. Rose

Crying Child (Poetry) - 7/4/2011 7:18:25 PM
who shall write for me now...now that you have left me a crying child again

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 8/21/2008 1:24:40 PM
I can hear this set to music! Wonderful! The first part speaks to me personally, for the 3 of my 4 grandparents immigrated to America and saw Lady Liberty as they came to our shores. And we must not forget 9-11!!!

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 8/6/2008 12:15:57 PM
So good to know there is light at the end of the tunnel. It may take time to get your courage back again, but in the end it will be worth it. It isn't pleasant to have unpleasant things to do with but making a new life can be obtained through courage, and patience and love. Great truthful write.

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 5/11/2008 4:46:12 PM
Deeply and profoundly written, good script and action galore.

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 3/4/2008 4:53:04 PM
Written language is unique to us humans--a gift of complex expression to be explored and stretched, as here. This is such a wonderfully written observation, Doc. Thank you for sharing this.

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 10/20/2007 4:03:10 PM
Doc thought I'd drop by and say HI, looking forward to creating mayhem in roundtable with you......if that still happens seems very tame these days ;D irish

internet (Poetry) - 10/17/2007 9:20:11 PM
Beautiful work, with images that evoke places in and beyond reality, with a touch of surrealism. I'm not sure I always feel the "lovin'vibes across the web", there's so much mean control and careless spam, but who knows... there are so many facets to reality. Kind regards, Axilea

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 9/28/2007 7:52:48 AM
That is a very lucky woman, to have someone love her like you do. very nice. Em

Astrologized (Poetry) - 9/28/2007 7:48:20 AM
this is one of the funniest poems I have read! I absolutely love it. It reminds me of a shel silvertien poem, but for adults. Em

The Touch (Poetry) - 9/28/2007 7:43:43 AM
A wonderful tribute. This is beautiful! Em

The Touch (Poetry) - 9/17/2007 3:33:17 PM
The touch is very romantic! Divine. Holly

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 9/17/2007 3:31:40 PM
Powerfully written... blessings, Holly

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 9/16/2007 8:17:30 AM
I am drawn to the water, this poem grabbed my attention to realize that the water is home to some very brave souls. Thank you for this aquatic poem! Really loved your words. Peace, Love, and Light, Amber "V" Moonstone

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 9/5/2007 7:42:34 PM
AND extracted themselves and their objective... Excellent write Doc...from one who knows Walt

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 6:03:54 PM
Just beautiful! B&R

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 6:02:20 PM
Excellent, strong to the point it vibrates in our bones while we read it (well, you know...)We really liked it! B&R

The Touch (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 5:59:19 PM
A wonderful, gentle poem, lovely! (Sorry to get here so late, but we truely enjoyed it!) B&R

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 8/7/2007 9:15:07 PM
Forceful and mission-minded. Glad to see a post. Cheers

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 8/6/2007 10:09:45 AM
Powerful, but polish it. Just as I got into the fine line rythmn and the "found such to be true" you change the whole structure. Actually, to be forward here, I'd combine the last two stanzas and make them the first. e.g. ...we, Poseidon's legions, the razor tips of his great trident we were to be feared. Then you can remark on those who "found such to be true." Just a suggestion. Peter

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 8/5/2007 8:40:53 AM
A commanding and forceful tribute to an elite group. Excellent. R

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 8/5/2007 5:39:43 AM
powerful

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 8/4/2007 8:38:45 PM
awesome tribute-well written

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 8/4/2007 3:29:13 PM
Great tribute for the Navy Seals...Hugs, Peggy

Poseidon's Legions (Poetry) - 8/4/2007 2:16:31 PM
Navy seals are are very dedicated, rare breed of man. Too often kept hidden in the background never to receive the devotional praise they so duly deserve. Your piece brings this out and I thank you..... Be safe, Karen

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 8/4/2007 7:05:00 AM
Wow! I wish I'd written this for my beautiful, wonderful wife. Great poem, Hanley! By the way, fellow Corpsman here... Danang '67-'68

The Touch (Poetry) - 7/27/2007 8:12:10 AM
Wow! Who knew the "Man of Steel" was such a softy! Nice, tender write.

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 7/2/2007 1:39:03 PM
Doc, The reason we must always remember and never forget: I hate to see the Lady crying. She did, we all did, that dark day......an excellent, poignant offering; well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Touch (Poetry) - 7/1/2007 10:46:59 PM
You ole' romantic you...good to read your inspirations fruit again.

The Touch (Poetry) - 7/1/2007 7:39:09 AM
Im a likin this one Doc... and wondering if there is a medical procedure called a semi-colonoscopy......LOL Walt

The Touch (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 12:34:43 PM
A very interesting and loving poem you have penned. The love in your heart and soul is gleaming through.... Be safe, Karen

The Touch (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 11:08:38 AM
Wonderfully romantic ... Richard

The Touch (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 9:00:50 AM
Very beautiful writing,Hugs

The Touch (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 8:42:48 AM
Doc, Whew, this is beautifully passionate. And in rhyme, yet: well done! (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

The Touch (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 8:32:10 AM
wow! heady and giddy stuff here that's so pleasant. cheers and keep going.

The Touch (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 8:26:39 AM
Tenderly passionate. R

The Touch (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 6:46:53 AM
Punctuate it however you like. The sentiments are lovely, the rhyme and rhythm flow smoothly and the entire work leaves a warm glow.

The Touch (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 5:08:08 AM
beautiful! lucky girl

The Touch (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 4:45:18 AM
well said

The Touch (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 4:40:16 AM
Who cares about the semi Colan, this is the stuff that really stirs the senses of a woman....MMMMMM ty Doc, And Kiss the Alabaster sink I dearly love to touch... Perfect! :) Ch'erie

The Touch (Poetry) - 6/30/2007 1:50:25 AM
Very romantic. The lyrics would be suitable for a pop ballard! But, I'm curious about your punctuation. Excuse my ignorance, but is it common practice to put a semicolan at the end of each sentence in a poem?

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 6/15/2007 4:46:21 PM
This is beautiful, Doc, and full of truth. :o) Jill

Astrologized (Poetry) - 6/13/2007 10:40:26 AM
Remember in the 70's-80's? when one of the come on's for us dumb guys was "What's your sign?" LOL...good one Walt

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 6/13/2007 10:34:32 AM
maybe Rocky Marciano said it best "Hey, I may be down....but im not out." he generally got up and knocked out his smirking opponents Walt

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 5/28/2007 10:51:24 PM
You are good! Wish I could say it like, Andre Bendavi ben-YEHU.:)

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 4/22/2007 10:27:55 AM
Enjoyed this wonderful and inspiring prose. Wonderful story, symbolism and tribute to your friend, Leila Rose. Thanks for sharing. My best, Gloria

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 4/20/2007 5:11:12 PM
This poem shows your excellent sage voice.

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 4/16/2007 9:35:10 AM
love this write-especially the last four lines-i, like most writers, can relate to this

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 3/28/2007 5:27:53 PM
gorgeous and provacative prose!

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 3/5/2007 12:36:30 PM
How beautiful is this, gorgeously romantic, lucky muse.... Rose

Crying Child (Poetry) - 2/19/2007 10:42:22 AM
this is a sad but also loving and beautiful write-i love the deep feeling within its words

Wanderer (Poetry) - 2/19/2007 10:40:33 AM
nicely done! interesting site too

Nosferatu Aeterna (Poetry) - 2/9/2007 6:35:13 PM
I have read many vampire writes over the years and this is one of the best I have seen in poetry form. The Hammer ending is perfect!

Nosferatu Aeterna (Poetry) - 1/6/2007 10:54:25 AM
Clever reference to the classic vampire with another clever twist at the end of an already clever poem. Good work, sir.

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 12/29/2006 3:17:51 PM
It is nice to meet you. Happy New Year!!!!

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 12/22/2006 7:32:41 PM
Oh my,how sweet...thank you..Hugssssssssss

Nosferatu Aeterna (Poetry) - 12/22/2006 8:52:19 AM
Gripping -- agony. Well done -- twist at the end. R

Nosferatu Aeterna (Poetry) - 12/22/2006 6:28:07 AM
I like the ending, Doc. Don't make a habit of slurping up modern day poetry, but I made an exception with yours. Also, the rhyming of the second and fourth lines in each verse didn't jar. Happy feasting.

Nosferatu Aeterna (Poetry) - 12/22/2006 4:43:13 AM
Wonderful

Nosferatu Aeterna (Poetry) - 12/22/2006 4:27:20 AM
Doc, this write is compelling, holding the reader with each verse of this doomed creature, who seems to seek to to bring others to his land of the living dead. You have outdone yourself. Excellent!! Peace. Joyce

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 12/16/2006 7:14:15 PM
Wonderful writing. It has such tangible facets of imagery ... Be careful Doc, I swoon easily. . . Very beautiful, emotionally intense... Linda

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 11/11/2006 7:51:28 AM
True words (I am damaged but I am not broken.) This is a wonderful write thanks. It took me tell I was 30 years old to get help to heal I found out it is a process. Thanks for this Angela

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 11/10/2006 5:24:29 PM
Very nicely done. This has an epic ballad flavor about it to my ears. There's one line that just refuses to let me read it as you wrote it. You have: On one dark day, that bell is rung But I keep wanting to read it as: On one day dark, that bell is rung It just seems to fit the flavor of the piece better with the words swapped.

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 11/10/2006 5:20:56 PM
Excellent! I absolutely love this poem. The only problem I have is that it's too short. Ah well, can't have everything I guess ;) I have dragon image you might enjoy in my portfolio on artwanted. It's at http://www.artwanted.com/imageview.cfm?id=411902

Crying Child (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 5:17:03 PM
Beautifully and lovingly expressed, Doc; truly a wonderful gift. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you, Regis

Epic of the Celts (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 5:15:29 PM
Being a descendant of the Celts, this is of great interest to me. Your poem reads like an epic poetic tale (which is no doubt what it is). Again, I appreciate the rhyme and meter that indicate discipline in poetic expression of this type. Thank you for sharing this gift, Doc. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 5:09:57 PM
"I am damaged... But I am not broken" There is much inspiration to be drawn from this poem, Doc. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you, Regis

internet (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 5:08:37 PM
Your mastery of words serves well to effectively express the desired concepts. Thank you for sharing this gift, Doc. Love and peace to you, Regis

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 5:07:11 PM
This is compelling in meaning and emotion; a lovely romantic offering. Thank you for sharing it, Doc. I do appreciate the disciplined structure of rhyme and rhythm. Love and peace to you, Regis

Sol Chromata (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 12:50:56 PM
A captivating and meaningful offering, Hanley (Doc). Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 6:18:10 AM
I am glad I read this. Bravo! Amen! and keep trodding onward. God Bless, Holly

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 10/16/2006 10:45:58 PM
Well thought out piece. Imaginative and original. Thank you, DL

Sol Chromata (Poetry) - 10/12/2006 2:12:37 PM
The color of the sun reflecting experiences -- well done, my friend. R

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 8/30/2006 7:40:55 AM
Excellent poem - I have an idea for a book set in the Viking Period and I think you've just made me really want to write it. Your poetry is superb and most important memorable!

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 8/30/2006 7:31:48 AM
This is truly excellent - you were quite right I love it. The lyricism and cadence of the language melds together superbly. One question though, why have you not posted "Nosferatu Aeterna" on AD? It was mesmerising in its emotional aspect.

Sol Chromata (Poetry) - 8/25/2006 3:26:44 PM
A deeply enthralling composition, Hanley, with a lilting meter which belies the intensity of the subject of war-torn birth. Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

Sol Chromata (Poetry) - 8/23/2006 9:58:05 PM
My Goodness, I was enthralled from the first stanza. Wonderfully done and so poignant. Bobbi

Sol Chromata (Poetry) - 8/23/2006 3:03:10 PM
poignant read

Sol Chromata (Poetry) - 8/22/2006 7:26:00 PM
Couldn't resist the title. Loved the poem. Thank you for posting it. Aberjhani

Sol Chromata (Poetry) - 8/22/2006 6:48:18 PM
The sequence of colors in this write is intriguing. A peculiar tribute to the Roman mythological sun god. From summer to fall to winter to blue, or a feeling of gloominess or melancholy, to black, the color of death. OUCH! The construct conjurs a feeling of life in motion leading all who read, and live on planet earth, to the inevitable conclusion. Read your Bio Page. Best "secret weapons" is a bit of a stretch I would imagine. Too many writers think that about themselves, and I can assure you that most are wrong! Working on more than one novel, I can assure you too Doc, is too convoluted, and also too confusing. I enjoyed this write!

Crying Child (Poetry) - 6/3/2006 9:23:14 PM
The conclusion statement is quite beautiful and meaningful. It holds all the truth. Stephanie Sawyer

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 5/30/2006 8:23:29 PM
My pen is my steed...my imagination my palate of paints and the page my canvas. The mix of rich desert sage and soft jasmine enrich my mood as a story falls from the heavens and splashes like soft rain from the tip of my quill. Riders of the purple page, indeed we are. Excellent work! Take care, Sherry

Epic of the Celts (Poetry) - 4/15/2006 5:34:57 PM
What a beautiful, touching poem! Reminds me that I have long-promised my family in Ireland that I will sit down and write my Keltic Epic. Well, sometime within my lifetime... Poet Hanley Harding sure does rekindles that fire in my heart. Slainte, always!

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 9:45:43 AM
This beautiful poem reminds me of a song by the Moody Blues, "My Lady", which is also of a ship that grabs the soul. I enjoyed this poem from a very talented poet. Thank you.

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 2/18/2006 9:37:11 AM
This aptly named poem describes a real/ethereal love that seems past and present at once. Well done.

internet (Poetry) - 2/17/2006 9:43:36 AM
You are truely gifted! Birgit and Roger

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 2/17/2006 9:42:01 AM
This is a very nice piece! Excellent work, Birgit and Roger

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 2/4/2006 5:32:24 AM
Doc, this write makes me mourn for romance and gentleness, passion and dreams... It is uniquely beautiful. Well done. Joyce

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 1/19/2006 9:12:56 PM
This is most excellent! It will have a safe place in our library! Birgit and Roger

Crying Child (Poetry) - 1/19/2006 6:54:24 AM
Beautiful words...

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 1/7/2006 4:55:12 PM
Two thumbs up! Romantically captivating. To be read over again and again not only because it is beautifully done, but to let its depth, profoundness seep in. Absolutely loved it. Donna Lynch

internet (Poetry) - 12/31/2005 11:07:07 PM
This is absolutely brillant!

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 12/3/2005 11:56:35 AM
Ahhhhhh, romance. L o v e l y. 'Pea' <3

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 10/16/2005 5:12:27 PM
Very very romantic! Wonderful images sweet and sensual! Sandi

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 9/23/2005 3:59:07 PM
What a beautiful peom...the kind you want to read again and again because there is such sincerity in the words. Micke Thanks again for you help.

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 6/7/2005 9:59:58 AM
Yes i have to agree totally...great write.

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 6/3/2005 1:51:53 PM
..again..I'm stunned! Vesna*

internet (Poetry) - 6/3/2005 1:50:50 PM
..by jove..you're a genious!...oooo..love this! ..what a brilliant mind! Vesna*

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 6/3/2005 1:49:46 PM
OMG..THIS is exceptional..I haven't read poetry like this in a loooong time..Love it! ( saved it)Ty Hanley..:) Cleave sweet to me, and journey nigh, We'll soar fierce waves and sail wild sky; To seed the fire of passion's pyre, Across star fields we'll fly... Profound stanza...wow! Vesna*

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 3/23/2005 6:28:38 AM
BLESSED ARE THOSE THAT CAN SING THEIR LOVE and let the world know their gratitude and light of completion. "Crystal Dreams" depicts its story with letters of diamond sparkling love and gratitude throughout its lines of poetic romantic excellence. Healthy Springtime, sublime Poet! Andre Emmanuel Bendavi ben-YEHU

Epic of the Celts (Poetry) - 2/25/2005 5:27:36 AM
My Grandfather was Irish....my Mothers Family....My Fathers family is from Milan...so I'm half Celt. You're really very good.......a wonderful read......truly.....ty, Dani

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 2/25/2005 5:25:07 AM
This is divine.....the sort of poetry I love to read....At night, just me alone....when I can savour the thought.....beautiful work.....ty, Dani

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 12/20/2004 8:33:07 AM
Now this is a romantic piece, and it's always refreshing to see a man writing to the woman beside him instead of the one across the street. ;-) Lovely writing, Doc, and a fortunate woman.

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 11/13/2004 2:45:17 PM
It is obvious that you have many admirers of your work and for good reason. You are all that I strive to be. I know that I cannot imitate because I can only be me but I hope that someday I will be able to express as effectively as you do. This poem is awe inspiring and one I will keep. Thank you! Chanti

internet (Poetry) - 11/13/2004 2:41:44 PM
Few have this kind of skill. You haven't only used words effectively to express an idea, you've set this mind alight. Thanks for great inspiration! Chanti

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 11/13/2004 2:38:41 PM
I haven't read much of your poetry and it has been my loss. You have both the technical skill and the feel for it. I found this poem to be sensual and romantic. I long to be loved like this. Your lady is a lucky woman. With admiration...Chanti

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 10/19/2004 10:28:13 PM
CONGRATULATIONS Hanley! Terre you are superb, and fantastic for your age, if not a much younger woman's age! You must start writing soon! I would love to see how much we have in common! I think there might be quite a bit! Perhaps you can write me care of your hubby, through my author email? Donni-Jay

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 9/25/2004 8:59:47 AM
>>And hist'ry changes, year to year; The kingdom is no more, Save memories of battle, sung In celebrated lore.>> Ah Doc, exceptional tale, well-told in rhyme and rhythm, and quite the saga. Very very good! I enjoyed it very much! Now you must read my Guardia and Trepida, and Dream of Time, for not totally similar, but sort of star-crossed lovers theme and Viking theme. <grin> I like this!

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 9/22/2004 4:43:15 AM
Through years, brave souls do venture near; Some come to fight, some come to hear Of wisdom, learn'd from ages past, And many fools have breathed their last; It's here you'll find them, fearful, grand; This magically enchanted land Above which dragons fill the skies, The mages know as Dragonrise. Hanley Harding >> I LOVE it, Doc!!!! The imagery, the rhythm, and the thoughts conjured up by the words. Peace.

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 7/28/2004 9:07:15 AM
This is so tender, touching and simply beautiful. I enjoyed this very much, thank you. Tami

internet (Poetry) - 7/10/2004 8:56:39 AM
Yeah, you rock, Doc!! "Where hungry hearts and minds await..." This line almost blasted away the others in its intense imagined imagery. :)

internet (Poetry) - 7/10/2004 8:56:12 AM
Cool LGL....I know you were talking in 'computerese' and it took me a while to decipher...but it is great!

internet (Poetry) - 7/10/2004 7:06:31 AM
Never looked at it from that angle Doc, now thats quite a description, a keeper. Thanks **Ch'erie**

internet (Poetry) - 7/10/2004 5:27:44 AM
It's become an addiction for many, and an outlet and/or inlet to many more. Interesting theory...Lisa

internet (Poetry) - 7/10/2004 4:46:03 AM
This is so descript...so true to life in it's descriptions. Nice little write here!

Wanderer (Poetry) - 7/9/2004 4:16:54 PM
: ) Please write some more.

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 7/9/2004 4:16:07 PM
Passionate write, this is wonderful...just wonderful!

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 7/9/2004 4:15:18 PM
Oh wow---this speaks volumes. Wonderfully written piece.

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 7/9/2004 4:14:26 PM
Hi Doc! Thought I would stop by and read some of your work. I am glad I did! Seems to me you need to get busy and write some more! Thank you!

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 6/29/2004 11:45:39 AM
I'm hungry to read your work and everything I read is so marvellous. Your feel for rhyme and meter is amazing. I know that it is said that rhyme is outdated but I still think that it is a skill and an art and it appeals to me. This was superbly crafted. I am going to be tracking your work from now on. Chanti

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 6/29/2004 11:43:38 AM
You have a wonderful command of the English language. This was so wonderfully descriptive and expressive. I am suitably impressed. WOW how did you even notice me? Chanti

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 6/29/2004 11:32:23 AM
Hi Doc, I thought that since you so kindly visited my den and made comments and suggestions, I would slip into your den and check your work out ;-) Wow, after reading some of it, I find myself being even more humbled that you would take the time to comment on my work. This 'poem' reminds me a bit of a shanty (song. What fantastic rhythm and rhyme. I loved it!!! Chanti

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 6/8/2004 8:28:58 PM
Whoa-ho, look at that smile! The slight quirk of the corners of the mouth add to the mischievious, loving look she is giving the world, but especially, to you, Doc. :) Your piece is, of course, classical in construct with great cadence that rings with quiet power, a joy to read and savor for its flares of luxurious imagery, and for the smile I see on your face as you composed your tribute of love to Terre. How did the romantic soul of such a creative artist and lover of poetics also become a ravener of hard facts? ... Have you written your memoirs, Doc?

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 6/4/2004 9:29:14 PM
Ahoy Mate! Well done my friend, nice dedication. JC xoxoxo

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 5/29/2004 10:26:44 AM
This is fantastic and I loved it. Keep writing this form because you are so good at it.

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 5/29/2004 10:21:40 AM
Hi Doc, I really enjoyed this work not only because it's about dragons but because the cadance, rhyme and visual aspects are some of the best I've seen. I too favor the classic forms of poetry, especially the epic style. I feel that dragons or some form of them really existed because they are present in almost every culture from ancient times.

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 5/20/2004 8:30:01 PM
Very interesting write. I have written a couple of these ballad type poems too. Perhaps I will post one sometime here on Authors' Den.

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 5/19/2004 7:22:12 PM
Thank you for the passionate journey of poets...embracing and quite regal....

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 5/17/2004 8:23:12 AM
This is very clever and crafty, Hanley!

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 5/14/2004 5:24:13 AM
well done

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 5/4/2004 12:34:29 AM
EXCELLENT write, Doc...I like the rhyme and the lyrical beats...AWESOME dedication...

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 4/22/2004 8:00:18 AM
Incredible poem, wonderful rhyme and flow and compelling tale as well!

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 4/8/2004 3:45:11 PM
Amen! Damaged but not broken. There is a hope that is available to all of us and I for one am grateful for that light. Love, Janet xoxoxo

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 3/20/2004 11:04:24 PM
Well written by you. Well appreciated by me. Love and peace. Regis

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 3/16/2004 5:41:24 AM
Havent read you for a while Doc, buy by gum I liked this.. What is that below about some kids amd their rhyme? :) Rhyme is good, easy to write, comes natrual to some Keep checking in on you. Ch'erie

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 2/12/2004 9:48:24 AM
"my bones are growing cold"...i like this poem very much...you are very talented.

Epic of the Celts (Poetry) - 1/29/2004 7:52:06 PM
Almost a Burns. I can think of no better phrase

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 11/29/2003 8:34:55 PM
This was a joy to read, Doc. Exceptionally well written. Visit my den sometime. ~~Bonnie Q Bonita M Quesinberry,R.C. Associate Editor Waltsan Publishing, Texas

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 11/7/2003 10:44:31 PM
Excellent job on this one. Too bad more people don't feel this way, since everybody is "damaged" in one way or another.

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 10/4/2003 8:48:30 PM
A haunting quality that befits the seafaring man...beautiful. Gina

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 9/21/2003 7:43:42 PM
What a beautiful poem. I just finished reading a novel rather like that. I had a little trouble with the meter in a couple of places but I don't always scan the same as others. That's why I don't usually try to write metered and rhymed verses. Thanks for the good read. Diana L.

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 9/6/2003 1:13:28 PM
Excellent write. From the heart.....

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 9/6/2003 1:09:49 PM
I am humbled.

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 9/5/2003 2:00:52 AM
A poetry memorial on the site of the Twin Towers would be an idea, and this one should be on it for all to see. Jackie <> <

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 8/26/2003 3:31:46 AM
Exquisite Doc, I feel i can fit right into this emotion. Regards Ch'erie

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 8/18/2003 7:22:37 AM
A nice poem. Greetings from Atlanta.

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 8/8/2003 12:40:29 AM
Very strongly written and bold in imagery... Well done...

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 7/26/2003 4:51:16 PM
I certainly envy you the ability to create well constructed formal poetry. I simply do not hear the drum the same way others do. That is why I write free verse. I am a big fan of dragons and this poem reminds me of Anne McCaffrey's PERN novels. The lines move smoothly from one to the next. The rhyme scheme is not choppy or forced. The third verse is a bit odd. The rythym is just different neough to throw one for a brief time. It gives pause. Otherwise this is an excellent example of metering and rhyming. Thank you for sharing it.

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 7/21/2003 3:55:30 PM
A grand write this is! Excellent in form and subject.

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 7/11/2003 5:02:48 AM
Hellow Doc, What a beautiful woman your Terre is! It took me a while to get here, but am glad nevertheless to see the impressive range of style and the precision of expression, united for this tribute on Terre's inner and outer beauty. Wonderful. Congratulations to you both! love and sweet remembrance, Minerva Bloom~

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 6/28/2003 8:08:03 AM
Love your poem! Glad we can ride that purple page and learn from each other!

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 6/27/2003 4:45:06 AM
This makes an excellent intro for a book. Not bad, not bad Doc! none s none

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 6/22/2003 9:13:06 PM
Not to many DOC! And for each snippet of this we experience, we must treasure the moment. Beautiful write. ((((Hugs)))) Ch'erie The shocking romantic :)

Epic of the Celts (Poetry) - 6/22/2003 8:50:30 PM
Tis Indeed an interesting account. However what we are looking at today, is exactly what Rome did to the Celts, as did the Celts to Rome. I think its called inbreeding LOL. Both Cultures live on and collaborate!!! BTW, your quite the Balladeer. (((Hugs))) Ch'erie

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 6/22/2003 8:28:16 PM
I love the Title! Excellent Poem.Such ancient balladry, cuss those barbarian's, but alas there will always be a Lord and Lady Shade. Somewhere! ((((Hugs))) Ch'erie

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 6/22/2003 7:52:19 PM
Arent we DOC! But yet it is how we choose to deal with the damage,as to whether or not we eventually see the light at the End of the Tunnel! And that's the plain Unvarnished B.... truth of it all :):) Thanks for your encouragement to me at a time, when i struggled to see a speck of light. ((((HUGS)))) Ch'erie

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 6/8/2003 4:31:09 AM
Wonderful! Loved every stanza. ~Kerry

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 5/13/2003 11:35:11 AM
wow.. *_* So pretty..

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 5/13/2003 11:32:20 AM
Beautiful. I loves this poem. I feel like you were writing for me.. ^_^ It's good when you can do something like that.

Crying Child (Poetry) - 5/6/2003 7:26:04 PM
I know this poem, I have lived this poem. This touched me deeply. ~Kerry

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 4/29/2003 7:21:46 PM
Inner strength is part of the light .....nice write

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 4/17/2003 3:38:17 PM
I love the way you keep a positive note all the way through the poem. Your ending was perfect. Great write!

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 4/8/2003 6:41:36 PM
Doc! What a wonderful poem It's here you'll find them, fearful, grand; This magically enchanted land Above which dragons fill the skies, The mages know as Dragonrise. As much as I love the whole poem, I think these lines are the best Take care Doc hugs Lisa

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 4/3/2003 9:25:21 PM
that's right! that last line was worth 100 words. we all resonate to the truth of this piece. thank you for the repost, and the gentle reminder.

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 4/2/2003 3:16:18 PM
anne mccaffery came immediately to mind, but then other works, most particularly ursula k. leguin's wizard of earthsea are the types of work that meld most comfortably with the vision that you have codified here...i likes, i likes..this is my kinda stuff, right here. excellent work!

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 3/27/2003 9:03:16 AM
I think many people can relate to this sincere poem.

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 3/18/2003 4:16:37 AM
A true classic of a poem... Well written...

Crying Child (Poetry) - 3/12/2003 12:12:29 PM
One can feel the love you have for your daughter. Well done. ~Joseph

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 3/12/2003 12:08:00 PM
Enjoyed the rhythm and the rhyme scheme of this piece. ~Joseph

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 3/10/2003 4:15:07 PM
well done, good graphic

The Light at the End of the Tunnel... (Poetry) - 3/3/2003 9:05:37 AM
I, too, am damaged. It seems all mankind is 'less than perfect' but there are some who see themselves otherwise. This is a beautiful, well written poem. Love, Sandy

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 3/2/2003 8:02:54 AM
Wow this is excellent! Wonderful Imagery Huggs Lady G.

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 2/15/2003 12:55:27 AM
Ohhh...so glad I found this. Love it !!! Absolutely riviting. ~E

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 2/9/2003 7:21:27 PM
Astonishing each word captured my spirit thank you for sharing

Riders of the Purple Page (Poetry) - 2/5/2003 5:23:00 PM
Yes, I love the ride and I hope it lasts long aftern I'm gone.

Crying Child (Poetry) - 1/29/2003 4:50:16 PM
I am still sighing.....this was one lovely piece of writing I am touched !

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 1/11/2003 8:30:11 AM
This is Wonderful Veary Nice Wright.... Keep Up The Nice Work.

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 12/26/2002 8:25:50 AM
beautifully executed verse Doc! May you enjoy a creative and fulfilling New Year, best regards, Minerva~

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 12/17/2002 1:43:41 PM
Excellent. Well done!

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 12/15/2002 9:11:15 AM
i wrote a poem about her,too...it was from a different point of view though.

Crying Child (Poetry) - 12/15/2002 9:06:50 AM
the child has grown up, perhaps you could write more...

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 12/9/2002 2:26:04 PM
Doc, this is excellent. I missed reading your works. I will be back for more.

Astrologized (Poetry) - 11/29/2002 6:17:17 PM
Never been astrologized, don't even want to be but i do like your version.

Crying Child (Poetry) - 11/29/2002 4:29:28 PM
Beautiful!

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 11/29/2002 4:26:53 PM
Oh the joy of reading good poetry that has perfect rhyme! I have never written a poem that didn't rhyme in fact I wouldn't even try. I have never really been able to understand poetry that don't rhyme but I guess that's just me. I really do love everything you write!

Dragonrise (Poetry) - 11/29/2002 4:16:18 PM
You sure have a gift to write excellent poetry.

Epic of the Celts (Poetry) - 11/29/2002 3:50:59 PM
There is no end to the stories of history and it always makes me wonder about the millions of stories that were never told or recorded. This ia just unbelievably good poetry.

Crystal Dreams (Poetry) - 11/29/2002 9:39:55 AM
Your poetry is the best!

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 11/29/2002 9:33:10 AM
Beautifully written and intelligently said. Poetry does not get any better than this!

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 11/29/2002 9:25:51 AM
Over the past year that I have been associated with Author's Den I have read hundreds of poems by different authors. some I liked and some just left me shaking my head. A few authors are just super good but I can honestly say I have never read any poetry as good as this one. In my opinion it's too good for this site alone. This beautiful poem\story should definately be published and put in a national library.

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 11/1/2002 4:00:09 PM
:) Yes, you were right, it does sing, and dance, in my mind! "Leila Rose", how lovely, where did you get the name, Hanley? :)

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 10/31/2002 9:14:39 PM
Hanley (what a lovely name!), or Doc, the simple short/long tune of this piece is eternal! The sing-songing way (and, unlike many "educated" poetry "critics", I love the way a poem "sings" in my mind, with my mind-voice) you posed this with the metered rhyme, thrills me! Makes me yearn to dance in the night, to the past, to now, to...Adam. :) Perhaps I will, which is neither here nor there....um, think I see a bit of rythym disruption here; War-wearied faces search in vain About the blood-soaked keep; The common folk and soldiers slain, Are piled in a heap. It reads 8/6/8/5-which equals a flattened tone in the read, how about "Are piled into a heap"? :) This was the only jar in my lyrically, lilting mind read of your fantastic work! Erin :)

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 10/31/2002 3:13:05 AM
Now not being a fan of long poetry, as I have the attention span of a 2 year old, I thought, shall I read this.I am so glad I did. It totally hooked me in and I even read it again.Over here, England, we are always having programmes about how the Vikings invaded and where in the country has been most influenced by them, I love it. Of course them vikings were rather handsome too by all accounts, I might even have shouted....."over here mate" to them myself.......lol. Wonderful write is what I am trying to say if your getting bored.

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 10/23/2002 8:07:36 PM
Wonderful - I enjoyed every word!

Lord and Lady Shade (Poetry) - 10/19/2002 4:44:51 AM
Excellent piece, obviously you are learned man of history. In response to "Carol" haven't you ever heard of an epic poem? such as the works of Longfellow or BEOWULF

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 10/9/2002 1:56:07 AM
It's a lovely story; well told. It reminds me of something you will read in literary class as a classic. Good work!

Epic of the Celts (Poetry) - 10/5/2002 5:54:02 AM
I enjoyed this poem. as a man of Ulster origins I know the Romans didn't dare infringe upon our culture until St. Patrick came along

Wanderer (Poetry) - 9/30/2002 6:11:17 AM
wonderful poem!

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 9/27/2002 5:59:31 AM
Dear Gentleman: Your words and thoughts are like treasures bold explorers try to claim for their queens with undying faith through strange, uncharted earth and sky. Keep up the great work. E Culo, the MaD cLiCkEr

He Spoke of Leila Rose (Poetry) - 9/19/2002 3:03:21 PM
Perhaps you've read it, or heard it from one I've offended... but I regularly and strenuously cry out against those who feel the need to rhyme and do nothing but. The reason for this being that it ruins so many good authors who could truly improve immeasurably if they would simply step outside of the boundaries of what they feel is expected in poetry. It's disappointing to see so much good writing ruined by forced rhyme. Some people know how to write rhyming poetry and some don't. You most certainly do. It is not often I find myself enjoying a metered or rhyming poem but I truly appreciate your work and you are one of the few I've read who could actually pull this off as smoothly as you have done. THIS kind of rhyming... I can definately appreciate. You could teach some of these kids around here who insist on following your example a thing or two on how to do it properly. April

The Day the Lady Cried (Poetry) - 9/13/2002 7:53:26 AM
This is remarkable Doc, I hope it has been published, if not it should be. Great poem that emotes so much feeling. Floria

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.