AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
USA Independence Day
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: nancy rossman, iGeorge Carroll, iDanae Wilkin, iAlfred Schwab, iRobin Leigh Miller, iDave Cole, iLois Santalo, i
 
Home > Dennis Coleman
 

Recent Reviews for Dennis Coleman


Salmagundi- A Medley of Legends, Memoirs, and Myths (Book) - 6/14/2007 4:27:37 PM
I like the personal aspect that you use by first person narration.Enjoyed

Short Stuff...and other names they called me. (Book) - 4/16/2007 12:19:47 PM
Dennis: I truly enjoy your wit and humor. Reading "Short Stuff" got me to thinking that I should be doing more writing than I do. I love to read and write but find myself reading more than writing. Your work is an inspiration and hopefully will serve as an example that writing is fun. Thanks for keeping life simple and funny. Keep on writing.

Sometimes, DisneyLand is not the perfect vacation spot.. (Short Story) - 8/6/2008 10:15:25 AM
Absolutely brilliant! I lived my daughter's teenage years all over again. You obviously thought about this one! Hazel

Windows (Short Story) - 3/30/2007 5:36:01 PM
Fabulous story!! I like to think I'm not easily fooled, but you really took me by surprise with your ending. I felt completely drawn into both your setting, and the mind of your character. Well done. Jean

Is it just me, or is it just too pointless and painless to write? (Short Story) - 2/13/2007 4:53:19 PM
Hey, what a great concept! I actually went to the Canne Film festival. Observer only you understand, and wrote several things that could have appeared in National Inquirer. They take any drivel and probably don't use agents. Good luck with your new career! shawn

Sometimes, DisneyLand is not the perfect vacation spot.. (Short Story) - 1/14/2007 7:04:53 PM
I love it! We just returned from a Christams "vacation" with no computer, television or phones. DISASTER! Had to play games and talk to each other. I am currently writing about it. keep writing, you must have lots of teenagers also to have such good insight!

The Christmas Story That I Fear the Children Know (Short Story) - 1/13/2007 6:49:06 PM
I am afraid we do have the children confused by all this, thank you for sharing this write God Bless Michelle~

A Nondescript Woman (Short Story) - 1/2/2007 4:01:34 AM
interesting work, enjoyed the read

My personal collection of odd words and expressions. (Article) - 9/1/2008 7:44:59 AM
Dennis, very funny. Here’s one for your next compilation. My grandmother used it if something smelled rancid…the only person I have ever heard voice it. “That could choke a dog off a gut wagon” Dave

My personal collection of odd words and expressions. (Article) - 7/29/2008 7:57:31 PM
Where do these expressions come from?....beats the crap out of me.

My personal collection of odd words and expressions. (Article) - 4/29/2008 3:46:40 PM
I gotta assume you never googled 'shinola', but if you were old (= old as me), you'd know that Shinola = brand of shoe polish. Funny, but I don't think "doesn't know shit from Shinola" works as well as it did in the pre-1950 era. Far fewer brown shoes, and if you think of shoe polish as only black in color... :)

Springtime...the time of abundant hope (Article) - 4/11/2008 11:55:11 AM
I love this! Take the kids' stuff to the Good Will. My kids, I gave them notice, and then off their junk went. They never wanted it again or missed it or asked after it. How about kayak lessons at the local Y? Yep, spring makes us feel like a new beginning. The New Year should be April 1st, don't you think? Fun article, Dennis.

My personal collection of odd words and expressions. (Article) - 2/29/2008 11:36:23 AM
I laughed myself filly through this entire piece. Dennis, I am sure there are hundreds more to add to your list. Can't wait to read your take on those in the future, too. Julie

Things I Just Don't Understand (Article) - 2/22/2008 4:11:39 PM
GREED $ IS INDEED WHY WE ARE ALL LOST! In Mexifornia (California) It's Always Illegals Who Win MILLIONS Lottery! Public Baby's In Mexifornia They're Called TRASH BIN BABY'S,i.e. They Puke Them Out Throw Them In Trash Bins! Credit For Write! TRASK

More New Rules for 2008 (Article) - 2/3/2008 8:02:13 AM
This was hilarious. I agree with 99% of what you have said. The 1% I disagree with is the thing about cell phones at movie theatres. in order for my husband and I to get one night a month off to go to the movies, we have to hire a babysitter. If anything happens to one of my kids, to hell with the other movie patrons - I want to know about it. Other than that one, I enjoyed this read.

My personal collection of odd words and expressions. (Article) - 1/14/2008 4:11:45 PM
Funny, funny, funny. I just learned that to "turn a cold shoulder" comes from serving the worst piece of meat (the shoulder of the mutton) to someone you don't like! Who would have thought that? Gyp comes from "gypsies." Other than that, I'll have to resort to my Dictionary of Slang and Euphemism, which is hilarious to sit and read. I've been working on short stories based on a word's etymology (i.e. "Manna" on this web site) and it's challenging. Love to talk about words! Good work, Dennis.

More New Rules for 2008 (Article) - 1/3/2008 7:35:38 AM
Made me laugh. . . and want to add my own 10! Agree with most of these. Good one, Dennis. e

Gift Ideas For People You Don't Like. (Article) - 11/29/2007 10:34:23 AM
Hmmm....food for thought. I can think of some people who could use thee things, but I have one further: how about the neighborhood gossip? Or the hyperchondriac?? I know some people who fit into this vein... (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :)

Gift Ideas For People You Don't Like. (Article) - 11/29/2007 10:02:24 AM
enjoyed the read

My personal collection of odd words and expressions. (Article) - 8/28/2007 1:16:29 PM
this is a wonderful article...you write very well!!!

Is it just me, or are there others that think that dogs are animals? (Article) - 7/3/2007 2:22:34 AM
I'm dobbing on you. Telling Rufuz! Albeit that these things are true, yes, and are annoying and smelly and uncouth, and did I mention smelly.... I'd still never trade my Duchess, who knows when Im gonna take a turn, if I have forgotten me meds, than any button or bracelet on the neck or wrist!! Her high pitched howl shocks me outa my stupor long enuff to get the meds down the neck and not go further into it... SO Thumbs down for derrogatory remarks concerning our K9 friends, though I did get a larrrrrrrrrrrf I must admit. Cats on the other hand, are just oportunists, who eat, sleep, wrack off, and repeat that process without even a bye or leave. Oh now and then you get a smooch, which leaves your eyes watering if they happen to be sick of the current menu, and occasionally are good entertainment when they belt up the neighbours cat thats trying to pinch the goldfish in the pond...HAHA. Read my write called SLY hehe. Onya matey.. Did i mention I lurrrve horses!

A Sincere Apology, From a Sixties Kid. (Article) - 7/2/2007 6:36:00 AM
Good article - but don't be so hard on yourself. It was not the young people expanding their minds with mind altering drugs that has led us to the state we are in today. It was the soldiers returning from Vietnam who could no longer cope with their lives without some chemical help. During the war, returning soldiers set up supply channels and brought drugs home with them to insure a continued supply. It is our quality of life that is responsible for our substance abuse. When you are happy and satisfied with your life - you don't need drugs or alcohol. Doctors now prescribe medication as a matter of course for people who aren't happy and satisfied. We are bombarded with media and advertisements that teach us not to be satisfied. The war on drugs wasted its money on enforcement rather than treatment. The current state of affairs is very useful to a government top-heavy with corporate success. It keeps us afraid of crime so we give up more of our freedoms. It keeps us working so hard that we never have the time and energy to stop and think about what is really going on. The people we have put in charge of governing our country are responsible for the condition it is in. We are responsible for allowing ourselves to be hypnotized into thinking its our fault and our leaders are powerless. Thanks for the food for thought - Doug

My personal collection of odd words and expressions. (Article) - 7/2/2007 5:57:01 AM
I've wondered about these very same things. Good article - thanks.

Let Freedom Thud (Article) - 7/2/2007 5:50:05 AM
Good article - really puts it in perspective. Thanks - Doug

Is it just me, or are there others that think that dogs are animals? (Article) - 7/2/2007 5:38:41 AM
This is really funny! I can picture a professional comedian doing this number on stage.

Is it just me, or are there others that think that dogs are animals? (Article) - 7/1/2007 9:09:12 PM
Dennis this is hillarious and oh so true... I banned the cats from my house the first time they clawed my brand new $2,000.00 leather recliner. They never seem to mind. Wifey wasn't all that happy and lets them slip in now and then. But just for a tour..then back to the outdoors they go. And don't get me started on vet bills. I grew upon a farm. And learned from my parents that... after all it's just a dog. Cattle were another story because they made us money and fed us. Never once did I sit down to a dinner of dog, except in Viet-Nam........lmao Walt

Let Freedom Thud (Article) - 6/4/2007 7:27:27 AM
Freedoms aren't taken away all at once...the populace would never stand for that....but take em away a little at a time ..then we wake up one morning with policemen standing over our marital bed saying, "Mr and Mrs. X, we have a warrants for your arrests because you had oral sex last night" Walt

My personal collection of odd words and expressions. (Article) - 4/21/2007 11:45:00 AM
I always know when I get notified that you have posted an article or some form of writing to Authors Den, I will be entertained and just cannot wait to see what it is that you have written. Great piece of writing and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Thanks, Shorty

An Interview with Ann Coulter (Article) - 3/27/2007 6:36:16 PM
Did you smell the brimstone when you approached her? Cute. :)

An Interview with Ann Coulter (Article) - 3/7/2007 5:13:25 PM
I got from the begiinging it was ficticious...The fact that you categorized it as Humor gave that fact away, but is imaginative I will give you that God Bless Michelle~

Entitled to mind our own business. (Article) - 2/22/2007 5:42:40 PM
I am Tired Of People Who are Lazy,i.e. TYPICAL OF HUMANITY... Credit For The Write... TRASK

Is it just me, or is there a lot of yapping about the President lately? (Article) - 1/20/2007 12:28:02 PM
Great idea! Alas, I'm guessing that it will end up in the same pile as all of the other great ideas concerning our government.

How a Septa Bus Pulled Paul Moore From Frankford to Dublin (Article) - 1/14/2007 5:08:26 PM
interesting article!

Oh Spring! (Poetry) - 7/2/2008 8:22:15 PM
perhaps the terribly in romantic poetry is what made me want to read this... what a play with words... lindalaw

Softly, my love comes to me (Poetry) - 7/2/2008 8:21:14 PM
This is too cool. what a hook. lindalaw

Oh Spring! (Poetry) - 5/22/2008 7:23:11 PM
Pussy willows are my favorite spring flowering bushes. Nothing wrong with mentioning them in a good way. I know your sense of humor had to come through cause your thought were astray.

O Firefly (Poetry) - 5/22/2008 7:21:52 PM
Did you tell her you loved her when presenting her with the ring. Maybe she wanted more words from you and more trust from you than the quick fire on a summer's eve. That is my opinion, but I may be wrong. Take care.

My desperate longing....for you. (Poetry) - 4/25/2008 9:21:29 AM
You need others and others need you. We are all here for a reason, and you will find yours. The poetry is interesting and from your heart and I enjoy reading your writes.

Softly, my love comes to me (Poetry) - 4/25/2008 9:20:10 AM
Alcoholics can rebound and live a good life and be on the right track. This poem touches my soul and is a good write.

O Firefly (Poetry) - 1/30/2008 1:55:37 PM
I enjoyed reading this piece``*Wonderful great ending~*

The Snow, on quiet morning. (Poetry) - 1/5/2008 10:52:06 PM
How to exterminate a peaceful, poetic moment. hehe. Funny effect achieved. Axilea

My desperate longing....for you. (Poetry) - 8/4/2007 8:46:33 AM
This made me tingle in my naughty places...

The Snow, on quiet morning. (Poetry) - 7/6/2007 4:42:12 AM
Dennis, When it snows here in Georgia, everybody takes a day off... But at least it covers all the junk cars in the yards for a day or so..... Walt

O Firefly (Poetry) - 7/3/2007 2:26:02 AM
Do you blame her, fair go!!!! :) Ch'erie

Softly, my love comes to me (Poetry) - 7/2/2007 4:30:55 PM
Can't write anything, because I just can't stop laughing! Keep writing! Louisa

The Snow, on quiet morning. (Poetry) - 7/2/2007 4:26:33 PM
I love the romantic begiining....then ending in the truth! Keep going! Regards, Louisa

Softly, my love comes to me (Poetry) - 4/16/2007 8:03:24 AM
very very sad and filled with emotions With a alcoholic problem written from the heart Sad ending excellent imagery and flow outstanding job!! Love And Peace to You Always....Morning Star

Softly, my love comes to me (Poetry) - 4/1/2007 8:57:54 PM
With possibilities so great, sadly a bad ending. Very good pen Thanks Dan

Oh Spring! (Poetry) - 3/24/2007 8:57:42 PM
Laughing here as well. Clever little twit you are. I did say 'twit,' right? -- Jeff

Oh Spring! (Poetry) - 3/22/2007 9:32:00 PM
Okay, you have me laughing at this late hour, I applaud you. Cute poetry. Be safe, Karen

Oh Spring! (Poetry) - 3/22/2007 7:52:56 PM
LOL! Yeah...you wouldn't want them thinking that! :) Oh this is too funny! Love and Peace~ Kimmy~

My desperate longing....for you. (Poetry) - 3/7/2007 7:50:50 AM
Longing beautifully expressed.

My desperate longing....for you. (Poetry) - 3/5/2007 5:02:56 PM
hay hay I mean here here enjoyed :)

My desperate longing....for you. (Poetry) - 3/4/2007 6:21:20 PM
Enjoyed very much...Hugssssss

My desperate longing....for you. (Poetry) - 3/4/2007 5:23:48 PM
Jack will always do that to you ... you express your emotions well ...

My desperate longing....for you. (Poetry) - 3/4/2007 4:31:12 PM
A very soulful write! Good one!!! Sandie May Angel :o)

The Snow, on quiet morning. (Poetry) - 2/26/2007 8:06:44 PM
aha :) nice share don't you just love it!!!

The Snow, on quiet morning. (Poetry) - 2/25/2007 5:23:39 AM
:)

The Snow, on quiet morning. (Poetry) - 2/24/2007 1:05:47 PM
I didn't expect the second stanza! LOL! Blessings, Sharon

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.