AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
USA Independence Day
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Mark Lichterman, iDebby Rosenberg, iJoe tofuri@swbell.net, iJ. Allen Wilson, iAudrey Coatesworth, iErnest Paquin, iHenry Miranda, i
 
Home > Ian Thal
 

Recent Reviews for Ian Thal


Review of Marc Widershien's The Life of All Worlds (Article) - 7/30/2003 5:08:46 PM
The author is obviously a terrorist. Bring 'im on!

Review of Thurston Moore's Alabama Wildman (Article) - 8/5/2002 8:49:18 AM


Review of Thurston Moore's Alabama Wildman (Article) - 11/21/2001 8:32:40 PM
Man, I must have this book.

The Puppeteer’s Post-Election Resolution: (Poetry) - 7/12/2005 1:17:35 PM
Exactly Never Let Anybody One Person Pull Your Strings! TRASK

The Puppeteer’s Post-Election Resolution: (Poetry) - 7/11/2005 5:46:55 PM
Good write! Sandie Angel a.k.a. Sandie May Angel :o)

Into the Station (Poetry) - 7/14/2004 8:38:18 AM
Into the Station brings the reader onto a subway car. We feel there. We feel the rumbling, shaking, and blurred speed of the train. Ian Thal uses the senses to make a subway ride come alive.

Transcendence in Motion (Poetry) - 3/1/2004 5:10:14 AM
Shivani, Thank you for such a sensitive reading. It's true that in American society the bureaucratic and capitalistic have difficulty coexisting with the mystic and the shamanic as it does not fit neatly into their ledgers, schedules, and organizational charts. Unless one finds some way to compromise or appease the materialistic world, those with such mystic tendencies are left without the support you ascribe to Indian society. That loss of nearly all human community must drive many to madness. Ian

Into the Station (Poetry) - 3/1/2004 4:56:49 AM
Shivani, Your insight is correct in that one of the things for which I aim in my poetry is to portray "the psychedelic" in everyday life. Chemicals are not necessary: it's just a matter of discovering the correct perspective and proximity. Ian Thal

Transcendence in Motion (Poetry) - 2/24/2004 5:30:43 PM
~*~ Ian... this wonderful write is profound in its depiction of a homeless wandering mystic! This poem captures the exact feelings of the person in this situation. In India, the wandering homeless illumined hindu monks~mystics are revered as the highest and most revered saints... even the ones that are just beginning seekers are always given alms and shelter if needed and if they would accept it. Unless the weather is deadly... most choose to stay, on their unending pilgrimage, in the India forests, caves, verdant meadows, or perhaps in a hindu temple along their meditative sojourns. Here in the USA... if we did this... we would be scorned as bums and thrown into jail on vagrancy charges. Wandering Mystics are not recognized... nor do they have any rights, here in the USA society nor by the 'officials'. ~*~ ~*~*~*~ Shivani..... {Celestial Merlyn} ~*~*~*~

The Pieces Just Fell out of Him (Poetry) - 2/24/2004 5:10:46 PM
~*~ Alarming... Sad... Poignant... Descriptive. This Perfect Write Captures This Tragic Crushing Out Of A Man's Life With Poignancy. It Reveals Your Caring And Compassionate Heart Ian... You Have Honoured The Memory Of This Poor Man In Your Poem...~*~ ~*~*~*~ Shivani... {Celestial Merlyn} ~*~*~*~

Into the Station (Poetry) - 2/24/2004 5:01:59 PM
~*~ Ian...I very much enjoy your surrealistic~psychedelic writing style! ~*~ ~*~*~*~ Shivani... {Celestial Merlyn} ~*~*~*~

The Pieces Just Fell out of Him (Poetry) - 7/25/2003 3:33:17 AM
Ian. This is a fantastic poem. In response to Whitfields remark. I think the succinctness of this poem is quite apropos: A mans entire life was spent in a matter of seconds. It's about his death, not his life and who and what he was is irrelevant to the poingancy of his death and the fragility of life. Cries coda and fade, marking that I was on the train that day. So to Whitfield... It's not to late to write that book. Thank you Ian. m.

The Pieces Just Fell out of Him (Poetry) - 1/14/2003 7:19:19 PM
In reply to Evan Whitfield's comment: While I was present when a man died violently under the wheels of a train, he was not a man I knew-- I could not write about who he was and what brought him to that point. I could only write about how he impacted on my life and the lives of all those who stood on the Red Line Inbound platform at Downtown Crossing: the sound of his death. Perhaps by distilling his death into a piece that can be uttered in but a few breaths seems unjust, but I did what I could do.

The Pieces Just Fell out of Him (Poetry) - 1/12/2003 9:00:48 AM
Of course we can all say that this is a tender little poem... But no man's life is equal to 5-10 lines of something that is a spur-of-the-moment thought. I would've rather written a book.

The Pieces Just Fell out of Him (Poetry) - 3/2/2002 12:01:32 AM
A very poignant piece of work. Excellent job.

The Pieces Just Fell out of Him (Poetry) - 3/1/2002 6:44:50 PM
This is very powerful and moving...so sad. Sharon;)

The Pieces Just Fell out of Him (Poetry) - 3/1/2002 5:54:20 PM
A perceptively worded piece with graphic sounds

The Pieces Just Fell out of Him (Poetry) - 3/1/2002 5:38:38 PM
3-01-02 We Liv e In a Sad & Sick Non-Caring (Hole In The Wall ) World,i.e. Stop & Think__ ___It( This) Could Have Been(Any Of) You... TRASK

Into the Station (Poetry) - 2/17/2002 3:24:14 PM
This is a fun read and well crafted Ian. Janet :)

Into the Station (Poetry) - 2/7/2002 1:25:32 PM
Very lovely poem. Nice imagery and flow.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.