AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Alan Greenhalgh, iGwendolyn Thomas Gath, iGracie McKeever, iLinda Alexander, iT. Cline, iShelley Costello, iAl Moe, i
 
Home > Guy Hogan
 

Recent Reviews for Guy Hogan


Compressionism: The Pittsburgh Stories (Book) - 11/23/2007 4:37:41 PM
Who was the band - Smiling - do I have to read this again!? Sounded intriguing! Your soldier story, kept me wanting to know more, but felt sad the more I read... YOu have so much details of imageries in your writing! WICKED! I love your style of writing Guy (Greg) right or is it... Warm hugs and Warmer Blessings, Warrior Lady Sheeeoox STay Positive!

The Matriarch (Short Story) - 9/8/2007 6:49:56 AM
Mine was a formidable too, not in appearance but in spirit. Thanks Georg

The Matriarch (Short Story) - 9/7/2007 7:06:05 PM
Although she seems quite formidable, she obviously has love in her heart. Good write. Cheers

La Dolce Vita (Short Story) - 6/5/2007 8:14:38 PM
I really like the way that you ended this! He is allowing himself to be vulnerable and she is speaking her heart. I got a kick out of the way he was kicking himself in the butt there at the end~

La Dolce Vita (Short Story) - 6/5/2007 4:58:00 PM
Good read. Brad lacks confidence in himself, though. He should analyze that some to find a reason or reasons. Maybe he's not so experienced although he's a sophomore now. At least Kristin finds him pleasant and attractive. I like the story. The background prep is great.

La Dolce Vita (Short Story) - 6/5/2007 4:32:17 PM
Kristin is way ahead of Brad. There was great tension in the build up. I thought the ending was very clever. Brett

Meeting Rachel's Family (Short Story) - 5/29/2007 5:11:29 PM
I love how descriptive your work is, it truly brings the story to life in one's imagination. I'm envious of your creative ability.

The Big 5-0 (Short Story) - 5/13/2007 12:53:39 PM
Guy, Outstanding story! I will definitely be reading more of you. Many blessings, ~Linda

The Big 5-0 (Short Story) - 5/11/2007 1:21:46 AM
love the way you write.

In The Shadow Of The Cathedral Of Learning (Short Story) - 5/9/2007 4:28:18 PM
Delightful!

The Big 5-0 (Short Story) - 5/9/2007 4:25:33 PM
That really touches me. Thank you.

The Big 5-0 (Short Story) - 4/30/2007 2:33:00 AM
Nice, letting the reader find his own path around the words not said and the meanings not disclosed. At the end, it is understood, no more words needed. A great piece. Georg

The Big 5-0 (Short Story) - 4/29/2007 4:07:39 PM
Great story in my book. I like the ending very much. This story seems 'well-balanced' and reflects that 'slice of life'/Americana. Thanks for posting it here.

The Big 5-0 (Short Story) - 4/29/2007 2:52:13 PM
Her comment "there's only one alternative to growing old" seemed lighthearted, but her reaction to his answer was anything but. I had to go back and read this again after reading that ending. Whatever Nate's mental state in the past, throughout the story he seems content, even kind of proud. It seems he is at peace in the end. Good story. Brett

The Big 5-0 (Short Story) - 4/29/2007 2:08:58 PM
You've left me wondering about many things such as what happened to his military buddies? Did they survive? Were any of those friends at the party? What kinds of friends does he have now? Is he suffering from flashbacks? Why did his wife choose to keep her maiden name? Is she fiercely independent and he's man enough to accept and appreciate that? And so many more questions! I love a story that leaves me thinking!!

The Big 5-0 (Short Story) - 4/29/2007 9:21:48 AM
I like it this tale about a baby boomer made good! I found the ending ambiguous, which made me re-read it! Also, excuse my ignorance - but today's fifty year old would have been too young for Vietnam?

Pittsburgh (1983) (Short Story) - 3/30/2007 12:45:22 PM
Another good story enjoyed. Rose

When I Was A Young Man (Short Story) - 3/30/2007 12:40:20 PM
I get lost reading most short stories as I count on the rhythm of a poem to get me through, but I didn't get lost here. Liked this very much and I like the way you write it. Rose

Pittsburgh (1983) (Short Story) - 3/25/2007 4:38:11 PM
Wonderful story. It held my attention to the end. I will definitely be checking out more of your work~

In The Shadow Of The Cathedral Of Learning (Short Story) - 3/12/2007 3:00:40 PM
I like this. You're right, it's even better.

In The Shadow Of The Cathedral Of Learning (Short Story) - 3/12/2007 1:01:21 PM
Dear Gus, watch out!, don't secondguess your self, follow your heart when you write those wonderful Tidbits. The first version sounded genuine, from the hip, with a certain candor of sincerity. This version is better grammatically, good and educated for any publisher, but remember it is not the publishers who decides, it ia always the readers. If your guts say edit, by all means edit. Sorry if I am a little blunt, but you can't embellish the first kiss you gave you mother after your tour of duty, no mather how many kisses where there after the first one. But that is only my opinion. Always there. Georg

In The Shadow Of The Cathedral Of Learning (Short Story) - 3/12/2007 11:36:25 AM
a better version, in my opinion. seems completer. luck with this one.

The Cathedral Of Learning Revisited (Short Story) - 3/10/2007 5:34:28 AM
Excellent.

When I Was A Young Man (Short Story) - 3/10/2007 5:27:48 AM
Enjoyed!

Pittsburgh (1983) (Short Story) - 3/10/2007 5:15:45 AM
Outstanding!

The Sanctuary (Near The Cathedral Of Learning) (Short Story) - 3/9/2007 3:28:18 PM
A matter of fact presentation which is appropriate for the story. I like the pace of it. It builds up at the end and falls quickly with the closing of the bar. The ending hits you hard, but it does not seem forced at all. It is as it should be. Good work. Brett

Drama (Article) - 11/23/2007 4:33:09 PM
I think it's the ACTion, and Drama that is felt in the storyline! I write stories too, and I feel I try to keep the reader at the edge of their seat! You're heading in a great direction, follow that journey forward! Warm hugs and Warmer Blessings, Warrior Lady Sheeeoox STay Positive!

An Observation (Article) - 11/23/2007 4:30:51 PM
I just met you, but your words sure are inspiring! STay around we need to hear your heartfelt songs/writings! Warm hugs, Bright light, and Wisdom! Warmly, Warrior Lady Sheeeooxoo STay Positive!Write On!

An Observation (Article) - 10/7/2007 7:59:19 PM
I, also, am glad that you did not die young. :) And I am glad that your foot is healing. I have a lot of catching up to do with you and I plan on enjoying every word of it, Guy~

An Observation (Article) - 10/3/2007 6:43:39 AM
It's good that you are glad and Georg is funny. I know that feeling when you were walking among them. Keep writing and cheers.

An Observation (Article) - 10/2/2007 1:37:23 PM
When you reach eighty-two, tell me how you felt being sixty...if I am still around... Georg

9/11 Revisited (Article) - 9/22/2007 1:17:28 PM
effective message. Cheers

9/11 Revisited (Article) - 9/9/2007 3:07:46 AM
It is time to march unto them and bestow God's rage to all their men. And the Lord said "...let not a stone upon a stone be left..." Georg

Drama (Article) - 9/3/2007 3:42:08 AM
Drama, many write fiction drama without having first hand knowledge of what real drama is, then...we get a literary porridge. Nice advice. Georg

Drama (Article) - 9/2/2007 6:38:12 PM
More experienced and good advice that, unfortunately, we can easily forget! Cheers

Dateline Pittsburgh (Article) - 9/2/2007 8:13:21 AM
Things are looking better. That's good.

Dateline Pittsburgh (Article) - 9/2/2007 5:08:11 AM
I agree,you have a story here, don't be a wet blanket and write it!!! Georg

Dateline Pittsburgh (Article) - 9/1/2007 3:07:33 PM
You've got a story right here...but you already know that!

Welcome To My World (Article) - 8/27/2007 2:55:37 AM
Good for you my friend! that proves that you are getting old and wise like we old geezers think we are. Get on churning new ideas! Georg

Welcome To My World (Article) - 8/26/2007 3:22:40 PM
Guy, I checked out your diary and I really like it. I have also set up a blog to keep a journal, but I'm waiting for the approval. I think I will feel the need to turn entries into stories, but for right now, I'm just going to try it and see what happens. Brett

Welcome To My World (Article) - 8/26/2007 1:07:23 PM
sounds great! kudos!

Dreams & Writing (Article) - 8/25/2007 6:29:03 AM
Weird as I am Kafka, Tolstoy and Camus became my literary and mental mentors, until there comes Orwell with his 1984 telling the world about what was, once, going on in the world of my childhood house. Georg

Should You Keep A Journal? (Article) - 8/25/2007 1:04:34 AM
I have a gray large note book where I put down my thoughts and literary ideas in a kind of sneaking way, if you read some of it you wouldn't get a clue even if the note book hits you on the head. It works for me. Posting it? you most be kidding brother!!!!!!! Always cheering for you Georg

Blogging (Article) - 8/23/2007 8:32:32 AM
Sorry if no blogs from me are coming, just a lot to do and so little time to do it. 80% of the time in front of the computer are reading and reviewing. Georg

Blogging (Article) - 8/23/2007 1:23:38 AM
Good blog ..... Blogging is a useful prelude to writing one's own creative stuf. It's good to write 'whatever pops into one's head', but the internet is full of atrociously written blogs. So, good blogging is to make the writing look effortless and natural, which Guy Hogan's Diary does.

Blogging (Article) - 8/22/2007 4:16:12 PM
I'll be there...I've missed you!

Random Thoughts Of A Writer #2 (Article) - 8/6/2007 6:59:45 PM
I love your book! Will write more later...

Random Thoughts Of A Writer #2 (Article) - 8/6/2007 2:16:09 AM
I am glad that the pseudo-literary-critic trying to impress us with names dropping didn't affect you or your literary focus. I am sure that excellence always prevail. When a story is rejected one tries it again, and again, and... An insistent drop of water will drill a hole through the hardest rock. Georg

Review Of Compressionism: The Pittsburgh Stories (Article) - 7/25/2007 2:11:48 AM
Congratulations! But then again, why the critics have the need to drop names like Hemingway, Carver et all, are they afraid we will think less of them if they haven't read one of their books? Criticizing a book should be on the merits of it content, phraseology, tema and resolution, not about what we think the author was thinking when he decided to write the piece. Then, there's the Compressionism, that the critics really haven't a clue of what it is, and instead of ask the author about it, he dissect ita merits like a slauther-man trying to perform brain surgery. The problem with some books reviews is that many critics miss the point and scare readers away from a "boring" book when the only bores are themselves. My first rejection named the book tittle half wrong and the wrong content "after exhautively read it from perm to perm" God bless the illiterates. Georg

The Sweet Life (Article) - 7/7/2007 4:16:46 AM
well' there's many angles, but the main thing I think is' your choice is yours. Let it roll.

The Sweet Life (Article) - 7/5/2007 7:49:41 AM
great advice as usual. thanks for sharing and luck.

The World (Poetry) - 7/7/2008 8:27:50 PM
Powerful and heartfelt in few words~`*

My Lover's Vagina (Poetry) - 12/7/2007 3:20:46 PM
If it were that simple - that is, for men, it would mean that : 1 - we'd really have a lot in common 2 - that I have never found the right man, never even been close to finding him... A painful smile for insightful simplicity. Axilea

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 12/7/2007 3:14:41 PM
What can one say about those who never seem to learn anything from History? Thought provoking. Axilea

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 11/23/2007 4:27:32 PM
Wow! This was powerfully said, felt and written! Nothing like that should ever be forgotten! YOu shared so much! Thank YOU! Warm hugs and Warmer Blessings, Warrior Purple Lady Sheeeoox STay Positive! I read all of you! hmmm... now what.... Come and read my heart, ( when you can) I want to be inspired by your kind expressive words!

The Writer (Poetry) - 11/23/2007 4:23:57 PM
Dark before the Light.... GREAT short poem, with much said and felt! Good luck! And.. REmember! Think P*O*S*T*I*V*E! Warm hugs and Warmer Blessings, Warrior Lady Sheeeoox STay Positive!

Pittsburgh Snow (Poetry) - 11/23/2007 4:22:13 PM
And.. then what....... Shit, I'm being too nosy LOL Another eaves dropping feel to this! Darn your good! Write On! But, don't leave your lovely in the dusttttttttttt.... She sounds like a winner! to your heart! Warm hugs and Warmer Blessing filled in Warm light, Warrior Lady Sheeeoox STay Positive! BE Happy! BE Happy! Be Happy!

My Lover's Vagina (Poetry) - 11/23/2007 4:18:16 PM
WOW! That's going in DEEP! YOur words hit home Guy! Greg it is huh... Warm hugs and Warmer Blessings of Light and Love, Warrior Lady Sheeoox STay Positive!

An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 11/23/2007 4:15:50 PM
WOW! ILoveYourHeartfeltStyleGuy! You have me intrigued! In this poem, I felt I was eaves dropping! I use to write like this, then stopped - thought I was writing a letter to myself and sharing it with Others! boy, was I wrong! I love this style, it felt personal and yet easy to relate too! Your talents are many- Enjoy life and love plenty! I love Kareoke too! I sing Tina Turner, Pat Benetar, and Gloria Gaynor! Warm hugs and Warmer Blessings, Warrior Lady Sheeeoox STay Positive! Write On! I'm waitinggggggggg.... Patiently! :) This is just AWESOME! Keep your journey Strong and intriguing!

The World (Poetry) - 11/23/2007 4:09:46 PM
I find you interesting, think I will FOLLOW/Track you! Your poem hit a spot! and your words... Welcome To My World in MY Space page! Love that feeling... Sit a spell, take your shoes off and read me awhile if you can and have the time to get to know my style awhile~ An offer - Take me or Leave me! Warm hugs and Warmer Blessings, Warrior Lady Sheeeooxoo I write all genre's - Romance, Erotica, Humor, Inspirational, and Dark...etc. Whatever my muse whispers, I can't resist! or where I'm inspired, like on your page! STay Positive!

My Lover's Vagina (Poetry) - 10/17/2007 12:02:22 PM
forever is such a long time

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 10/17/2007 12:01:41 PM
i agree with what virginia said and i couldn't have said it better...betrayed...if we who stayed at home feel that way...how must you feel

The World (Poetry) - 10/17/2007 12:00:24 PM
to forget...guy we know we have lived when we have lots to forget..or be forgiven

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 10/4/2007 2:24:33 PM
Our generation will feel the effects of this war for the rest of our lives. We feel hurt; we feel angry. Most of all, I suppose, we feel betrayed, not only by our leaders' failure to tell us the truth, but by how our servicemen and servicewomen were treated when they returned home. Thank you for remembering.

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 10/3/2007 3:40:13 PM
All for naught . . . Shame, much shame . . .

The Writer (Poetry) - 9/29/2007 6:48:51 AM
A few words that say so much truth, blessings, holly

The World (Poetry) - 9/29/2007 6:47:38 AM
A beautiful write, blessings Holly

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 9/22/2007 1:19:17 PM
This couldn't be done better by anyone. Thanks for posting.

The World (Poetry) - 9/19/2007 7:14:23 AM
love it the Lions ain't doing so bad neither

The World (Poetry) - 9/17/2007 3:42:30 PM
Autumn colors are slowly blanketing the whole world in all its glory and beauty, enjoy it all while it lasts.... Be safe, Karen

The World (Poetry) - 9/17/2007 2:43:44 AM
Remember the yellow colors of Nam jungle? who can forget? who can forget? Georg

The World (Poetry) - 9/16/2007 10:43:06 PM
This fall is looking beautiful.Enjoyed

The World (Poetry) - 9/16/2007 2:55:46 PM
Ahhh not a footbal fan but know this poems message as I watched my NASCAR race this afternoon...run Jimmy run. fee

The World (Poetry) - 9/16/2007 11:42:17 AM
Live in the moment and enjoy all its wonderousness [whatever, your moment is]. Kathy

The World (Poetry) - 9/16/2007 10:32:39 AM
This is good. We get the real flavor. Cheers

The World (Poetry) - 9/16/2007 7:03:33 AM
Sounds like a good place to be!

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 9/6/2007 3:10:57 AM
56.387 names, multiply them by one thousand tears and you will have enought deep water to drown good sense. Georg

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 9/6/2007 12:21:55 AM
This was a wonderful offering of expression

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 9/5/2007 8:03:54 PM
Thank you for this poem. I am a Viet Nam vet and have been to the wall. You have stirred that ember in my core that never seems to go out. With respect and gratitude. Chris

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 9/5/2007 5:46:34 PM
You have shown how history can so quickly be forgotten, along with the heroes of that age. Each war must be weighed carefully, before we commit to its insanity and the cost of commerce.

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 9/5/2007 5:38:03 PM
I wonder if it means anything to the tourists... ...really. Thank you, Guy. Love and peace to you, Regis

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 9/5/2007 5:05:33 PM
Guy, very effective placement of the last line with the rest of the poem. It packs a punch. Brett

Vietnam Revisited (Poetry) - 9/5/2007 4:34:37 PM
Painful to remember...I think, actually, it's over 58,000 names. :( (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

My Lover's Vagina (Poetry) - 9/4/2007 2:43:18 AM
Will the woman hear your whisper when the child's crying? You want to be her man...forever, but, my friend, you have made her a tigress with a cub, what you wish she let you be...well, good luck! Great write, open to so many interpretations that it could reveal something from each reviewer. Georg

My Lover's Vagina (Poetry) - 9/3/2007 12:44:26 PM
You have closed the circle with your powerful words.Enjoyed

My Lover's Vagina (Poetry) - 9/3/2007 10:36:42 AM
A gentlemanly way to put it, Guy...thanks for this vaginal approach...lover/vagina/birth states this is more than a receptacle to deposit lust...be well always...Blessed Be. Warmly, Sage

The Writer (Poetry) - 8/26/2007 8:39:58 AM
So true - but we must keep positive and keep writing. Take care Sue

The Writer (Poetry) - 8/5/2007 2:54:59 PM
There will be acceptance, for during that day and night creativity shall be born. Rhoda Galgiani

The Writer (Poetry) - 6/9/2007 7:56:40 AM
True..this world of duality kinda pushes events that way.. grat write..indeed.. Vesna..

The Writer (Poetry) - 6/6/2007 7:49:21 AM
true - but it still sucks :)

The Writer (Poetry) - 6/1/2007 6:45:57 AM
ain't that the truth!! cool

The Writer (Poetry) - 5/29/2007 2:14:36 PM
Good poem, Guy. It should be something the writer keeps on the wall. Brett

The Writer (Poetry) - 5/29/2007 6:45:34 AM
Guy, Interesting write! Many blessings, ~Linda

The Writer (Poetry) - 5/29/2007 6:41:06 AM
good job. honey and vinegar.

The Writer (Poetry) - 5/29/2007 2:59:38 AM
To reject is to write a rejection, so, who came first, the writing or the rejection? Can a square be round? Nice going my friend. Georg

The Writer (Poetry) - 5/28/2007 8:04:17 PM
A very gifted and giving man once told me the very same thing.... :) You're the best! Love, Susan

The Writer (Poetry) - 5/28/2007 7:09:59 PM
So true unfortunately. First to endure many rejections before finally the sweet smell of success...... Be safe, Karen

The Writer (Poetry) - 5/28/2007 7:07:43 PM
Nights are great for writing ;)

Pittsburgh Snow (Poetry) - 5/15/2007 2:17:10 PM
Your great with just a few words.Enjoyed

Pittsburgh Snow (Poetry) - 5/14/2007 1:56:40 AM
The delicious secret of knowing about the rock burning a hole in your pocket and the expectancy about seeing the look of surprise on her face. An emotional foreplay ending in an embrace climax of I-love-you! Georg

Pittsburgh Snow (Poetry) - 5/13/2007 8:27:29 PM
So cute, so very sweet, enjoyed. Be safe, Karen

Pittsburgh Snow (Poetry) - 5/13/2007 5:04:21 PM
this one is different, isn't it? from the one where he asks to go to her apartment to watch a movie? still, it's really nice. there are no quotation marks. luck

Pittsburgh Snow (Poetry) - 5/13/2007 4:59:07 PM
I remember reading this awhile back. I still like it!!

An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 5/11/2007 1:17:43 AM
for some reason the style reminds me of alanis morisette's lyrics. btw this is a compliment. i like it.

An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 4/13/2007 7:54:09 AM
Interesting and very realistic. . . hope you have opportunities to read these poem/stories at various readings. Very different! blessin's cynth'ya lewis reed

An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 3/29/2007 9:52:02 AM


An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 2/19/2007 10:08:26 AM
You surely have a wonderful way of sharing your inner thoughts with the words you sellect to write your poem . This is a powerful gift . Thanks for sharing your poem.

An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 2/11/2007 8:05:23 PM
A full circle, melancholy yarn, Guy. Love the happy ending! Happy Val's to you and yours, Carolyn

An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 2/9/2007 11:41:10 AM
Nicely done, Guy. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 1/29/2007 1:59:51 PM
Do you know the name Zoe has many meanings among them are Love, life, Eve, Freedom I named my daughter Zoe its a special name for me. Is your Zoe a free spirit? Good luck :) pax A

An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 1/29/2007 6:36:52 AM
Loved this, Guy. I enjoyed your style. Keep writing! ~Linda~

An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 1/26/2007 2:07:01 PM
Once again your style is really refined. You have that Hemingway look, but also you have managed to capture the uderlying emotion as well. That is where being brave enouph to spill your guts comes in, something I have yet to do.

An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 12/30/2006 8:09:46 PM
Enjoyed

An E-Mail To Zoe (Poetry) - 12/30/2006 9:15:34 AM
okay...thanks for the glimpse of your life, your expression is excellent, i think you would make a great free lance writer. good luck

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.