AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Gwendolyn Moore, iBarbara Henry, iScott Knutson, iPaul Ulasien, iAudrey Coatesworth, iBryon Smith, iLem Yedowicz, i
 
Home > D L Johnson
 

Recent Reviews for D L Johnson


The Air In Me (Book) - 9/13/2013 1:11:09 PM
Congrats Dan! with blessings!! Lady Vivian

The Air In Me (Book) - 9/12/2013 6:42:30 AM
Congratulations, Dan! Here's wishing you all success with readers.

Give Me 60- A Writing Exercise (Short Story) - 12/23/2011 6:49:19 AM
Whew, that was a close one, hope you can write more about these provocative subjects. Yes, more is sometimes... :)

Stay or Go-Micro Fiction (Short Story) - 6/8/2011 2:11:38 PM
Hello Dan, nice to 'meet' you. You are certainly good at the micro fiction. I love writing it, too, but tend more towards the flash fiction. I commend you -- you have a real knack! Hugs to you, CJ

This Just In (Short Story) - 12/14/2010 6:28:45 PM
We do live in an insane world, Dan. Well stated. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

This Just In (Short Story) - 12/14/2010 11:34:45 AM
So much truth in this work of humor Dan. We have been unrepresented and misrepresented by the career politicos we elected to office in government. However, we shall overcome this nightmare and our nation will once again shine as the beacon of freedom and democracy. There are too many Americans aware and now outraged to not see massive changes taking place in Washington and state governments across our land. Never again must we permit our own complacency to bring us to the verge of financial ruin and looking on as our freedoms are dashed with politico's greedy pens. I bid you love and peace my dear friend. Jon Michael

This Just In (Short Story) - 12/11/2010 8:00:37 AM
Funny but true. Your crystal ball speaks sooth except China isn't going to wait that long. Patrick

Sticking My Neck Out (Short Story) - 12/1/2010 12:27:16 PM
Poor turkey. Patrick

Things Change (Short Story) - 11/29/2010 5:49:16 PM
Dan, a clever twist here my friend. Ab is now norm and norm is now ab. "Things" do indeed change my dear friend. I bid you love and peace. Jon Michael

Things Change (Short Story) - 11/27/2010 2:10:02 PM
How cleverly clumsy of you. Patrick

Sticking My Neck Out (Short Story) - 11/27/2010 12:24:58 PM
LOL. Well done poet.

Sticking My Neck Out (Short Story) - 11/24/2010 5:55:11 PM
Poor Thom, they have played him for a turkey again! When will he ever learn? He always seems to lose his head this time of year. It must be a man made phenomena! Six pounds Dan? That's it? Just six pounds? I lost nine and gained ten in six weeks. I have it back to normal again thank goodness. I have been rock solid with my weight control for all of my adult life until this little episode. Hope it is not an omen. At my age weight control is not a problem I relish the thought of. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family my dear friend. I bid you love and peace. Jon Michael

Sticking My Neck Out (Short Story) - 11/24/2010 4:48:59 PM
From one who celebrates Happy Thanks Living...one more Turkey shall be spared from this vegetarian. Adorable and clever write! Happy Day to you!

Sticking My Neck Out (Short Story) - 11/24/2010 12:51:31 PM
Glad I'm not a turkey. Thanks, Dan. Happy Thanksgiving to you. Ours is in October. Love and peace, Regis

Sticking My Neck Out (Short Story) - 11/24/2010 9:55:44 AM
Maybe Hussein will pardon him.

Things Change (Short Story) - 11/19/2010 11:47:55 PM
Such is life and how events lead to others; cleverly expressed, Dan. Love, peace, and best wishes, Regis

Things Change (Short Story) - 11/18/2010 5:09:09 AM
Very interesting twist,Dan....clever write. Anna

Stay or Go-Micro Fiction (Short Story) - 11/17/2010 9:31:26 PM
I guess your staying. Sneaky dealer. Patrick

Things Change (Short Story) - 11/17/2010 12:49:40 PM
Interesting writing, Mr.Johnson. I think it would get more exposure had you placed it into the poetry section and declared it a prose. Very nicely written. Namaste Tony

Give Me 60- A Writing Exercise (Short Story) - 11/16/2010 11:32:03 AM
Ultra flash fict......er, non-fiction? I don't think you are overly verbose but this is slam dunk excellent. Patrick

Being open to diversity (Short Story) - 11/9/2010 10:18:44 AM
This is an excellent piece by a true human being. I wish more people of today's world read this and learn what life is all about- after all.

Give Me 60- A Writing Exercise (Short Story) - 11/8/2010 4:40:53 AM
Well penned story! Isn't it amazing how carefully chosen words can deliver such a powerful impact? Anna

Give Me 60- A Writing Exercise (Short Story) - 11/7/2010 10:58:30 PM
So powerful in so few words, Dan.

Give Me 60- A Writing Exercise (Short Story) - 11/7/2010 10:52:53 AM
wOW! Well sparing of words, but says a lot. I was in high school when it happened.....it's one of the seminal events for everyone of that era. Chip Bergeron

Give Me 60- A Writing Exercise (Short Story) - 11/7/2010 10:13:49 AM
Excellent. I started my "100 words" in similar vein after getting angry with an editor who wanted my culture stories to be limited to 800 words! Best of luck.

Professor Moriarty Is Caught (Short Story) - 9/12/2010 7:32:02 AM
Cleverly concocted, Dan. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace, Regis

Professor Moriarty Is Caught (Short Story) - 7/3/2010 8:31:07 AM
DAN - ELEMENTARY INDEED! You have woven a unique tale into a fine tapestry, melded together with excellent Haiku. Both Holmes and Sir Arthur have been done Proud! "The Game is Afoot ..." Tom.

Giving notice to a few people (Article) - 12/26/2012 10:08:02 AM
And look where the deficit is now, Dan. Well expressed. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Art of Being Preoccupied and how it could lead the ruining of America (Article) - 12/23/2012 10:16:35 AM
Over a year later, I do hope so good came of that. It's difficult to fathom considering the chaotic state of things. Thank you, Dan. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Art of Being Preoccupied and how it could lead the ruining of America (Article) - 10/9/2011 5:06:52 PM
Dan, while I will defend your right to express your opinion on this issue to the death, we are miles apart philosophically as to the root cause of our nation's malaise my dear friend -- the politicos are pulling the strings at every level and their propaganda machine just keeps repeating the same factually challenged rhetoric and spin to divide us as a nation and as a people -- we, you and I can resolve our differences as long as the politicos can be kept out of the fray -- they seek to overthrow our democracy by dividing us with their lies to concur us and turn our nation into a European Socialist style state -- overthrow of the middle-class was their initial goal and they have almost succeeded -- next it is the wealthy who are their targets -- we must resist by uniting in peaceful accord, not unruly union thug led protests which they want to become violent -- the media is the worst source in America for truth -- I bid you love and peace my dear friend -- Jon Michael

The Art of Being Preoccupied and how it could lead the ruining of America (Article) - 10/8/2011 3:07:24 AM
Your last paragraph is most powerful. So many seem deaf, dumb, and blind these days to the plight of so many others.

Old Age (Article) - 7/13/2011 6:41:05 PM
Great reflections, Dan... ...and thought-inciting. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Being open to diversity (Article) - 7/13/2011 6:25:29 PM
This is wonderfully expressive and meaningful, Dan. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

On Being Hypnotized-An Essay (Article) - 9/20/2010 5:32:59 AM
Good writing, Dan, and very thought provoking. George

On Being Hypnotized-An Essay (Article) - 9/17/2010 8:05:19 PM
I think often hypnosis happens without being openly open. Fritos corn chips would agree. Well done. Patrick

On Being Hypnotized-An Essay (Article) - 9/16/2010 5:57:13 PM
Dan. Snap! I think your article is thought provoking as Regis eludes to. I am however convinced that everyone would have to be a most willing participant. Yet even more important, of a special personality type to be hypnotized. My experience indicates that it is the person being hypnotized that performs the actual transformation. I have always remained an obstinate and unwilling participant for those events. I like your story and respect your views my dear friend. May peace and love be always with you. You are becoming very sleepy. No, nix that. Jon Michael

On Being Hypnotized-An Essay (Article) - 9/16/2010 9:49:28 AM
Well-written and thought-provoking, Dan. What do we REALLY know after all? Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

How are we to know the truth? Essay (Article) - 8/9/2010 3:13:05 AM
My first visit to S. Calif. was back in 1954. You described it well. It was a simpler time. But do not search for truth among politicans, Dan. You will develop a sour face. Sort of like Charles Coburn. Thanks, Ed.

Being open to diversity (Article) - 6/8/2010 4:16:15 PM
I find your essay very beautifull, succint, and extremely endearing and sincere....It is true we must struggle to transcend the bigotries and negative biases either inherited from our folks, the media, or some other social entity....in my book I have a similiar chapter (smile) A Tale of Two Cities: Distinct but Similiar where I compare my life and that of the late Allen Ginsberg and ultimately make the case for building upon our similarities rather than passively allowing our differenes to divide us....goood job for Johnson

Being open to diversity (Article) - 6/7/2010 3:50:25 PM
thought provoking read

Being open to diversity (Article) - 5/29/2010 3:08:12 PM
"who you are is where you were when" -- those are the words and thoughts on how our personalities develop as taught by a university professor from I believe, Utah,(this is testing my memory a bit) Morris Massey -- professor Massey said that we are all made people, value programmed, by the age of eight unless we subsequently experience a significant emotional event, death of a loved one, win a great prize of notoriety, etc. -- either a positive or negative event, after the age of eight -- so all of our exposure, our environment in the first eight years of our life determine our fears, prejudices, religious beliefs, our values -- these are our value programming years -- a powerful thought when you analyze, "who you are, is where you were when" -- good article D.L. -- thanks for sharing -- diversity is often confused when there are conflicting principles or beliefs, cognitive dissonance -- may peace and love be always with you my friend -- Jon Michael

Being open to diversity (Article) - 5/29/2010 12:37:24 PM
People, simply, is people. Patrick

Being open to diversity (Article) - 5/28/2010 1:20:03 PM
OUTstanding! On this day if history is to be celebrated, Celebrate as coming out, Dan. It's a public roster and you're on it as speaking out. The importance of this article Being open to diversity is so significant in contemporary society. Here evolves a coherence toward the betterment of society. Out of struggle emerges a strong opinion geared toward opening minds through diversity that reach beyond the narrow confines of time and place. This article is highly elemental and moves off the page in so that it may go into collective memory in ideal movement toward the community. It's a stigmata of the void, the fruitful interaction between man and man, woman and woman, man and woman, man and nature, woman and nature. A save, a salvage never to block the agenda and agency of diversity's agencies...well-written. You sum up the essence implied, Dan...good work. Love, Sage

Old Age (Article) - 4/27/2010 8:17:14 PM
Until I reach the point that I continually drool all over myself, and can not control my bodily functions, or think, or speak, or write clearly, I am ready for the challenges of old age, and look forward to all of its possibilities. I like your attitude and you pretty much defined where I draw the line. Gotta admit I'm way into the sloppy stage. Most notably my typing. Patrick

Old Age (Article) - 4/25/2010 8:09:54 AM
DAN - I LIKE YOUR SUMMARY! As I rapidly approach August 25th, this year I'll be 70. WOW! My problem has been that there is a 'Teenager' - TRAPPED inside this ole bod. "The Spirit is willing, but the Flesh is weak!" My Dad made it to 84 - Mom to 83 - both elder (by 14 & 13 years) sisters, Adele and Rose - made it to mid-seventies - one aunt, Aunt Honey, reached 88 (she was on Dad's side). In accordance with many published studies, I have another slight advantage - Love Crossword Puzzles - especially NYT - the harder the better. Been doing them almost 50 years now. Chess, Trivial Pursuit, Scrabble, Cribbage, Pinochle, and even Bridge, have always been enjoyable challenges to me. Retired in March of 2006, been working 3 days a week, Part-Time for 4 years now, and - Love it! YEP - being your own Boss is NICE! Lady Friend I 'dated' (snicker, snicker) for 3 years just DUMPED ME! Not to worry though, I expected it, and already have 3 'Profiles' running again on the Net. Only now, they are on 'Senior' sites - but - I'm looking for a 'Newer Model' - Wish me LUCK! Tom.

Old Age (Article) - 4/23/2010 4:13:44 AM
One of the things I have learned is that old age, definitely is not for the faint of heart. Definitely Not! My poor spouse still has a very hard time accepting the fact that we will both soon be drooling as much as our mutts. (She claims I've always drooled, but I'm gonna show her this - it's just part of the aging process!)

Old Age (Article) - 4/22/2010 10:50:32 AM
I read something yesterday that true joy in living occurs when we learn to accept and live a simple life, which to me seems to happen as we age, suddenly we have relinquished the "have to" of middle age responsibilities of home, career, and family...when all that disolved for me, I finally realized the beauty of stress free and life began an amazing new experience...live long my friend.

Old Age (Article) - 4/22/2010 8:31:41 AM
Encouraging words! I love growing older. Although, it took me a year and a half to accept having entered my 40s. At 46, though, I am relishing it!

Giving notice to a few people (Article) - 11/19/2008 7:14:28 PM
Dan, you just wrote a letter to the president, but...but can the president read?

Giving notice to a few people (Article) - 11/6/2008 7:48:45 PM
Dan altho this is to say this article is in the past a few days you surely called the situation right. No offence meant but with words like these if you had run for the Presidency you might have won. Why do you think it is that only you and I can see the facts so clearly and everyone else thinks we are crazy???? Mildred Kisor

Giving notice to a few people (Article) - 4/29/2008 1:01:35 PM
Boy, do I agree with you on these "stimulus" checks! Ridiculous. How about American jobs on American soil and something for the working stiffs? Good job, Dan.

Giving notice to a few people (Article) - 2/1/2008 8:44:55 PM
And today, Exxon reported record 4th quarter earnings. Are THEY going to give a rebate to us for overpaying for fuel? As far as Tiger goes, can I get one of those hats too??

A Small and Wonderful Thing (Poetry) - 4/29/2015 8:04:39 PM
Good to hear of a positive outcome through your verses, Dan. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

All in the Key of C (Poetry) - 3/31/2015 1:04:26 PM
beautiful...nice to read you again...Hugss

All in the Key of C (Poetry) - 2/27/2015 5:53:11 AM
May he go to those places with thoughts in his heart of this poem given with love from the start. Ron

All in the Key of C (Poetry) - 2/26/2015 10:50:52 AM
Delightful gift for your grandson; nicely done, Dan. Love and peace, Regis

All in the Key of C (Poetry) - 2/26/2015 9:09:19 AM
very nice sentiment Dan ... hope he reads it when he can ...

A Solstice Affair (Poetry) - 1/13/2015 11:42:40 AM
...yet the long nights aren't so bright and chipper.

A Solstice Affair (Poetry) - 1/11/2015 6:40:48 AM
I love the sweet simplicity of this hakiu Dan.

A Solstice Affair (Poetry) - 12/27/2014 5:08:48 PM
What a wonderfully crafted haiku, TD! It is so good to be back and reading your poetry when I can. Love SPP

A Solstice Affair (Poetry) - 12/22/2014 2:07:07 PM
Beautiful sonic elements! Blessings, Christine

A Solstice Affair (Poetry) - 12/19/2014 10:32:56 AM
On my birthday I will be longing for longer and warmer days, soon to come. Ron

A Solstice Affair (Poetry) - 12/18/2014 12:19:07 PM
Have spackling. Will travel. :)

A Solstice Affair (Poetry) - 12/17/2014 3:50:17 PM
Funny thoughts when I think of horizontal cracks. LOL

A Solstice Affair (Poetry) - 12/17/2014 1:02:05 PM
And I can't wait for those longer days and warm sunshine. Michael D.

A Solstice Affair (Poetry) - 12/17/2014 12:34:28 PM
May it be a good one!

A Solstice Affair (Poetry) - 12/17/2014 10:46:54 AM
Yes, we love the winter Solstice!!!!! Nicely done! Peace, love and light, Amber

After The Charleston (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 2:09:05 PM
It falls like a bomb doesn't it? Always love reading where your thoughts are going. Love, SPP

Entanglement (Poetry) - 11/3/2014 2:04:42 PM
It is so good to read your words again. I have been away too long. As others have said there is much said in so few words. Well done TD!! Love, SPP

Entanglement (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 6:58:45 AM
We were all made naughty. We just don't want to acknowledge it. Jealousy is fueled by the need for power and control, not love. Once one realizes that allowing a loved one to be free is much more enlightening than being jealously possessive, entanglement releases and love breathes free again. Ron

Entanglement (Poetry) - 11/2/2014 3:53:32 AM
Loves tangled roots - how so sadly true.

Entanglement (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 6:24:01 PM
way to go Dan short and to the point Peace be with you William

Entanglement (Poetry) - 11/1/2014 3:12:47 PM
Sometimes youndon't need many words to say a whole lot. Truly and succinctly written. Chip B.

After The Charleston (Poetry) - 10/28/2014 11:29:29 AM
Interesting and quirky poem...sad story... Chip Bergeron

Connections (Poetry) - 7/3/2014 9:29:36 AM
A fine welcoming of spring, Dan. Thank you for sharing it. Love and peace to you, Regis

5 (Poetry) - 5/27/2014 10:22:20 AM
No more wars! Perfect. Thank you, Dan. Love and peace to you, Regis

5 (Poetry) - 4/16/2014 6:50:38 AM
It would be lovely to hope and believe there will be no more wars ever Dan... Love and Light Lily

5 (Poetry) - 3/27/2014 4:56:31 AM
'No war this time' if only we could accomplish that all the time.

5 (Poetry) - 3/25/2014 12:10:21 AM
Perfect...No wars...NIRVANA... Great piece.... Diana.....

5 (Poetry) - 3/24/2014 6:26:16 AM
This is perfect.. and I do hope you write more.. they have all been great, TD love ya SPP

5 (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 6:13:24 PM
Quiet a profound write and I feel even more so because of the simplicity and brevity of the poem. Totally enjoyed and appreciated its message ... ~jeanne

5 (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 4:33:05 PM
...a hypnotic effect of your 5 liner's poem, Dan brings the tuneful rhythm of a marching soldiers and strikes an inspiring melody of hope...a happy experience of both...the verse and sound of a new World without...a war. Thank you for sharing.

5 (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 3:15:54 PM
no war any time bring our boys home out of Iraq and afgan Peace be with you William

5 (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 12:44:00 PM
What are marching soldiers to do when there is no war? March. Ron

Connections (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 12:29:37 PM
Bluebirds. Saw One yesterday!

Dress (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 12:27:15 PM
Book'em Danno!

5 (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 12:17:32 PM
Very nice Peaceful poetic promises... I hope we can keep them!

5 (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 11:37:23 AM
Love it when there's no wars. They don't need that. Ssndie

5 (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 11:18:20 AM
Well Done Dan ! Short n sweet n to the point !

5 (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 8:44:40 AM
Fine ending - hope you're right. Best, Jan

Connections (Poetry) - 3/23/2014 3:04:01 AM
I will now join you to Shout and Sing, It finally feels a little like Spring!

Connections (Poetry) - 3/22/2014 9:05:22 PM
and love in the air enjoyed reading your posting peace be with you William

Connections (Poetry) - 3/22/2014 8:10:31 AM
Our garden seeds have sprouted. But they are protected inside just in case one of those freezing fronts come through and destroys their delicate nature like our poor geraniums so vibrant until way after Christmas, no freezer burned and having a hard time enjoying spring. Ron

Solitaire (Poetry) - 3/22/2014 6:34:47 AM
I totally get what you're saying, my friend... I play bingo..)) love ya TD, SPP

Dress (Poetry) - 3/22/2014 6:30:36 AM
'love is under arrest'.. I love that line!! great piece of writing, TD ... loved it! SPP

Connections (Poetry) - 3/22/2014 6:28:04 AM
Amen to that.. and even in the south we are rejoicing and hoping Mother Nature can keep on the right track now..)) Love this, TD! love ya, SPP

Connections (Poetry) - 3/22/2014 4:29:10 AM
Had 3 bees so far this year, 2 more than all of last. Maybe they are coming back. Hopefully the buds won't get tired of waiting for them. Bee well.

Connections (Poetry) - 3/21/2014 6:53:32 PM
Great poetic words...of seasonal change and feeling of readiness to capture the connecting moment...before the fields rapture with flowers...bringing renewed beauty to life.

Connections (Poetry) - 3/21/2014 5:05:09 PM
Wonderful write! Spring, and autumn are the two seasons ib the world that l love most. Sandie

Connections (Poetry) - 3/21/2014 3:40:32 PM
yes they all do budd

Dress (Poetry) - 3/21/2014 1:16:44 PM
~DL~ Sizzles sweetly... Lady Mary Ann

Dress (Poetry) - 3/21/2014 12:10:24 PM
.Sandie, just to let you know, American Mah Jongg can be played with no fewer than three players. As for the dress; i'll leave that to your imagination. Cheers, Dan

Dress (Poetry) - 3/21/2014 10:02:52 AM
LOL!! What kind of dress is that, Dan? Anyway... I like the poem! Sandie :o)

Dress (Poetry) - 3/21/2014 9:52:41 AM
I didn't know you wore a dress! Nice words nicely expressed. Ron

Dress (Poetry) - 3/21/2014 9:07:38 AM
you are nabbed budd

Dress (Poetry) - 3/21/2014 8:00:08 AM
And ...

Dress (Poetry) - 3/21/2014 7:47:05 AM
Huh. Okay. You're either taking the female's part in this poem or you are a cross dresser. Heh.Heh Either way the poem was sensuously perfect.

Solitaire (Poetry) - 3/20/2014 11:03:39 AM
This audience fills your dusty place, write another when you care or share a time to play your ace ...

Solitaire (Poetry) - 3/20/2014 9:43:54 AM
there needs to be a partner so its anything but solitare budd

Solitaire (Poetry) - 3/20/2014 9:36:36 AM
Nooo! Not solitaire!! I'd. rather play poker or blackjacks, or go watch some TV's if I were alone. Sandie :o) Hi Budd: It takes 4 players to play the real mahjong game, but I have played that alone by myself on many occasions. I would just throw the tiles on the table and pick up the tiles one by one; and with each tiled picked my finger would hold it really tight, pressing the tile surface to my finger, felt the shape of the words on the tile and I would guess what the tile was without looking at it. Sometimes my guess was dead on, and sometimes I was wrong; but it was fun to play like that too by myself. :o)

Solitaire (Poetry) - 3/20/2014 9:16:07 AM
Not me. Solitaire was my mental state of mind for so long that playing it with a deck of cards somehow doesn't sit right with me. I'm still a physically solitary person, but my mind has moved on and left it behind. I am alone, but I'm never lonely.

Bumping (Poetry) - 1/13/2014 11:22:30 AM
I love "bumping" into the right people (usually one particularly special one). Love and peace to you, Dan, Regis

A November one line Haiku (Poetry) - 1/13/2014 11:20:14 AM
Great question, Dan; sadly, I would not hold my breath. Love and peace to you, Regis

A November one line Haiku (Poetry) - 11/23/2013 3:08:59 PM
POWER in short! Lady Vivian

A November one line Haiku (Poetry) - 11/15/2013 8:23:27 PM
we can only hope... and take a stand against war.

A November one line Haiku (Poetry) - 11/15/2013 5:50:16 AM
Much said in those few words, TD...I love the one-liners.)) Haven't done any in a while...will have to attempt a few soon..) hugs and cheers, SPP

A November one line Haiku (Poetry) - 11/12/2013 8:41:46 AM
I wish! Your one-liner packs an awesome punch, Dan!! Anna

A November one line Haiku (Poetry) - 11/11/2013 2:56:35 AM
A powerful question, but I sadly believe that the answer is No since we have been doing it since we first walked this planet, and no end is in sight. We are a Warring Species, forever wanting what someone else has, or not wanting them to have what we have.

A November one line Haiku (Poetry) - 11/10/2013 10:42:41 AM
Never heard of a one line haiku. In fact I thought haiku's were only concerned with nature. In fact I'm pretty sure that it a fact. I think this is a senryu. Never heard of a one-line senryu either, but there are a great many things I've not heard of.

Bumping (Poetry) - 11/7/2013 8:57:53 PM
I loved reading your lovely poem today.

Bumping (Poetry) - 11/3/2013 8:40:48 PM
And Yet so Real.. Lady Vivian

Bumping (Poetry) - 11/2/2013 4:08:23 PM
...admirable amble with an ambiance of ambivalence... but it reminds me of that old rhyme: I met a man upon a stair, but when I turned he wasn't there... he wasn't there again today, oh how I wish he'd go away... got that same kind of casual chill... like Patsy Cline's "Walkin' After Midnight"... well, D.L. you got a fine touch of temerity about you in this one... I'm mighty glad I stopped by. Roger

Bumping (Poetry) - 10/31/2013 12:22:21 PM
Reminds me of that old Ray Price tune "my shoes keep walking back to you." Substitute "shoes" with another body part, and "walking" with "Bumping" and you may have a hit! Great write.

Bumping (Poetry) - 10/31/2013 12:10:40 PM
Maybe we could remove all your appendages so they wouldn't protrude? ;-) It does have a bouncy, bluesy lilt to it. Also a great little story line. Ron

Bumping (Poetry) - 10/31/2013 7:28:52 AM
Wonderful writing...enjoyed. Anna

Bumping (Poetry) - 10/31/2013 2:33:48 AM
great write budd

Bumping (Poetry) - 10/30/2013 2:37:19 PM
an awesome write dan thanks for sharing enjoyed reading Peace be with you William

Bumping (Poetry) - 10/30/2013 1:39:11 PM
DAN... LOST LOVES TEND TO DO THAT TO US. TOMORROW NITE INSTED OF 'THE BUMP' ... TRY ... "THE MONSTER MASH" !!!

Bumping (Poetry) - 10/30/2013 10:52:17 AM
Oh my dear friend.. I cannot begin to tell you how much this touched me... I feel this way so often but I think you know that. And as much I sometimes wish I could stop 'bumping' I know I would be lost without it..) Truly moving and so real... wonderful wonderful work! hugs and cheers TD SPP

Bumping (Poetry) - 10/30/2013 9:09:05 AM
Excellent song! I like it!

Feckless (Poetry) - 10/26/2013 7:02:20 AM
an enjoyable piece Dan great reading Peace be with you William

101313-Haiku (Poetry) - 10/22/2013 1:31:09 PM
This is most apt and timely as we have been experiencing a lot of fog over the past several days. Thank you for sharing, Dan. Love and peace, Regis

Feckless (Poetry) - 10/15/2013 4:14:05 PM
Sad, as the truth Always Vivian

Feckless (Poetry) - 10/15/2013 12:16:22 PM
Shoeless and clueless. Ron

Feckless (Poetry) - 10/15/2013 9:01:17 AM
A most apt and timely sharing, Dan. Love and peace to you, Regis

101313-Haiku (Poetry) - 10/15/2013 7:51:49 AM
Write on! Dan Lady Vivian

Feckless (Poetry) - 10/15/2013 2:17:43 AM
How so sadly true, especially these horrendous days.

101313-Haiku (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 7:47:33 PM
Nice hiking haiku! Safe journey! JMD

Feckless (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 11:13:11 AM
Amen!

Feckless (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 10:07:37 AM
Don't even get me started..LOL Well said!

Feckless (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 9:27:08 AM
Well, we are the very culprits who voted for change. Be careful what you wish for. ~W~

Feckless (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 8:48:55 AM
Insightful, Dan - sometimes I wonder whether Bin Laden knew us so much better than we know ourselves. Did we slip right into his trap? Or is it some other wealthy triad pulling our strung up puppet Congress?

Feckless (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 8:16:05 AM
They must know something we don't know.

Feckless (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 8:13:56 AM
Ab-so-lutely! The whole damn bunch. It is what Hussein wanted.

101313-Haiku (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 7:21:05 AM
We get those days in winter... what an image this is.. nicely crafted TD..) cheers and hugs SPP

101313-Haiku (Poetry) - 10/14/2013 5:50:19 AM
passing testicles involves studying your notes: a foggy notion

101313-Haiku (Poetry) - 10/13/2013 7:49:06 AM
Walk that road slowly Be careful of fog bunnies They like testicles

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 10/9/2013 6:47:03 PM
Cracks just beget cracks....a pantina , a timelessness short of completely crumbling. Like dignified wrinkles on a face, ah yes, cracks we can only hope we don't fall through. Enjoyed this!

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 10/8/2013 6:50:23 AM
Symbolically meaningful; I am sure many can relate, Dan. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 10/7/2013 5:42:16 AM
the lovely thing that this poem says to me is that all these cracks and jagged edges are displays of, courage to 'live' and weather the experience with such strength as to not crumble...simply showing a few cracks that indicate character and persevereance.

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 10/3/2013 11:15:04 AM
I see them in myself too Dan, well penned.

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 10/1/2013 7:55:20 PM
Part of Life..enjoyed your poem! Lady Vivian

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 9/27/2013 5:07:53 PM
can't hide a crack I have them allover my pation but have to be alert for the cracks in life Peace be with you William

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 9/27/2013 6:23:11 AM
Aren't cracks simply signs that things move, breath, live? Yes, mayhem reigns, but there is in a cosmic sense, order in that. You seem to have a panoramic, insightful view of it ... well put.

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 9/27/2013 3:18:54 AM
Better to see the cracks and mend them then to ignore that they exist.

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 9/26/2013 12:20:12 PM
Even though they seem random, even the cracks have a chaotic order to them. A destined path, if you will. Mayhem is created by the perceived randomness and our attitude towards it. Good job Dan, and remember....crack kills Walt

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 9/26/2013 12:14:52 PM
I see all the warts, pimples and freckles, too. But I don't see the farts. ;-) Ron

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 9/26/2013 9:59:05 AM
Hah! They are your cracks, you a able to use the mayhem word if you sp choose. I enjoyed reading about you dealing with your cracks.

I See The Cracks (Poetry) - 9/26/2013 7:27:37 AM
Well stated, DL. But I think you forgive most of them.

5 Sentences (Poetry) - 9/25/2013 1:28:23 PM
Laughter Good for a serious subject, Dan Lady Vivian

5 Sentences (Poetry) - 9/24/2013 7:19:37 AM
The first line is a keeper… Dan (I won't call you DL) “My imagination left the building.” And I might add… And has left my insight entirely. Ron

5 Sentences (Poetry) - 9/23/2013 4:55:02 AM
Silly is often Good - and much better than a three-day hangover! (I've had those myself.)

5 Sentences (Poetry) - 9/23/2013 2:17:10 AM
it happens i am afraid budd

5 Sentences (Poetry) - 9/21/2013 9:57:48 AM
One sentence or five... oh have I been there..) Love it! hugs and cheers SPP

What? (Poetry) - 8/15/2013 4:36:15 PM
Points well made, Dan... ...and a sad commentary on our world. Love and peace to you, Regis

What? (Poetry) - 6/28/2013 10:53:34 AM
Beautifully penned Dan and truly thought provoking, let's hope it provokes mercy as well.

What? (Poetry) - 6/23/2013 4:46:40 PM
Not much to add to Sage's sage words, but to say this is a bit of a darkened verse. Like Jerry suggests, these people are not angels at all, despite what your verse implies. Nevertheless, I have to agree with Kate that avoidance is inexcusable. The measure of love is the extent to which it is shown to the least of those among us. Yet we must not coddle or enable self-defeating actions, nor ought we perpetuate false hopes by falsely portraying hard-luck cases as angelic beings. Ought we not avoid dignifying those who fall outside our realms of respectability just as much as we embrace them for their humanity? It is equally inhuman of us to exaggerate their purity or (as Sage suggests) their anti-purity. They are subject to the same temptations as we all face, but they may lack the willpower and the physical security to overcome them. Here we can help. I know in your heart, you mean well, D.L., but the road to personal destructions of all types is paved with the best of intentions. So lets let angels be angels and maybe the humans can try a little harder to be a lot less inhumane. We'll all wing our way towards a better life for all concerned. Roger

What? (Poetry) - 6/23/2013 4:30:11 AM
An excellent write DAN MOST ENJOYABLE READING PEACE BE WITH YOU WILLIAM

What? (Poetry) - 6/22/2013 11:40:15 AM
Avoidance is the worst thing; it's hard when people pretend they don't see when you know they do. Meaningful engagement and interaction is always the challenge - knowing the right response to a given situation. But respond we surely must in the knowledge that we will be humbled by so doing into a right realisation of not only their situation but our own. Heartbreaking and agonising always. xx

What? (Poetry) - 6/21/2013 9:01:49 PM
The good and bad of us! "What" a great poem, Dan Lady Vivian

What? (Poetry) - 6/21/2013 7:35:27 AM
There but for fate, where angels tread, go you or I. One of those poems that gives us a lot to think about. Ron

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 6/21/2013 1:24:41 AM
and still a lover...

What? (Poetry) - 6/21/2013 1:23:22 AM
yes they are everywhere even in the dark gutters of societies seeming misfits every life path is of value Overcoming Poverty of the Soul Love & Blessings'Vickie

What? (Poetry) - 6/20/2013 8:01:46 PM
Good stuff here Dan! These are the angels that teach us about ourselves. I need to hear this often, so that one day it might sink in! Peace, Dayvid

What? (Poetry) - 6/20/2013 4:48:38 PM
Delusion of the masses. They only see what they want to see, that all angels are light...it's the dark angels that save us from ourselves. Just looking at the circumstances of these angels you speak of in this poetry would cause one to pay heed. The Dark Angels Tarot is a gothic tarot focusing on heaven's outcast angels. It's a good deck. They have a lot to teach us about our shadow selves just like this poetry. Enlightening, Dan... Sage

What? (Poetry) - 6/20/2013 11:53:35 AM
There but for the grace of God go I many might say, but he or she is a living person which God created and if you have nothing else to give, say a prayer for the person. George

What? (Poetry) - 6/20/2013 9:57:38 AM
So very true...if we don't look at them are they really there??? Very nicely done, Dan... Anna

What? (Poetry) - 6/20/2013 8:40:46 AM
I have a story to share with you along these lines... I absolutely loved this and wish it were bronzed somewhere.. your final two lines? well they say it all!! Stunning work, TD.. simply stunning! cheers and hugs, SPP

What? (Poetry) - 6/20/2013 8:34:58 AM
Powerful question to ponder. I have met a few angels’ at most critical times in my life. But you will make me forever look different at the angels’ you described. Thank you for sharing… Ingeborg

What? (Poetry) - 6/20/2013 7:59:29 AM
Aww, I've been there my friend and I was no angel.

What? (Poetry) - 6/20/2013 7:35:56 AM
Reminds me of the philosophical question, "Who is closer to God, the man in the pulpit or the drunk in the gutter?" Well said, D.L. ...

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 6/18/2013 3:00:31 AM
a sad but excellent write Dan thanks for sharing peace be with you William

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 6/10/2013 4:43:20 PM
Would that it be so, Dan. Love and peace to you, Regis

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 6/1/2013 9:22:18 AM
Points poignantly made, Dan. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 5/28/2013 5:53:24 PM
Love be to heroes living with disabilities, or those departed that God wanted back in his Kingdom...Saluting the Brave with Pride! Thank You, Dan! Lady Vivian

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 5/28/2013 11:08:09 AM
A tearful jerker of the heart. Many hope like this. Ron

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 5/28/2013 6:57:35 AM
Beautiful and sad at the same time along with truth not only Afghanistan but every war our young men and women have suffered... Wonderful picture depicting this... Love and Light Lily

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 5/28/2013 4:06:56 AM
Aw! So sad and yet filled with hope...lovely write, Dan.. Anna

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 5/28/2013 2:44:40 AM
so true budd

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 5/27/2013 1:11:03 PM
DAN... WELL PENNED! GOD BLESS ALL OUR MILITARY !

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 5/27/2013 12:43:50 PM
This poetry is anything but limbless...a heartfelt communication of real time of so many war stories in today's world...regardless of race, religion, or sexual orientation. Nice tribute, Dan... Sage

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 5/27/2013 8:21:00 AM
This carries a great deal of power to me, Dan. Quiet, noisy power. Part of that charge was the clause: "...abandon all electronic devices." For some reason the extent of that image is huge. It goes beyond turning off a phone. It creates a marvelous 'stop.' Lovely piece of writing. ~~ Diana (djl)

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 5/27/2013 7:27:25 AM
Beautifully done, my friend. I understand where your heart is, but a memorial is for the departed. Memorial Day is to honor the one who gave their life. Please don't misunderstand me, I think the ones left at home are part of it all, as are the ones who were maimed like the "Absent Lover," and they can be in the hearts of us, but this day is specifically for the ones who gave their lives for their country.

Absent Lover (Poetry) - 5/27/2013 7:19:56 AM
I absolutely love where you went with this.. and posting on the perfect day! I love the ending senryu.. I am applauding here! cheers and hugs SPP

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/21/2013 5:13:03 AM
Very nicely done, Dan! You have the outline for a great story here... Anna

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/20/2013 12:05:01 PM
"To err is human, to really foul things up requires a computer" of sorts.. Lady Vivian

Lester Briggs Died Today (Poetry) - 5/20/2013 11:54:47 AM
~Dan~ The tribute to Lester Briggs is very well written. Enjoyed!! Lady Mary Ann

Out in Front of The IGA (Poetry) - 5/20/2013 11:41:45 AM
~Dan~ Wonderful stories at the General store that was thriving here in years past. Great writing. Lady Mary Ann

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/20/2013 11:14:17 AM
~Dan~ Sweet energy flows..life is in balance. Your energy is peace and joy. Lady Mary Ann

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/20/2013 11:08:51 AM
~Dan~ Hope that's steady and constant. Enjoyed~~ Lady Mary Ann

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/19/2013 11:48:10 AM
And where would we be without hope; I've been close to that of late... ...and it's not pretty. Thank you, Dan. Love and peace, Regis

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/19/2013 9:06:24 AM
If she missed three stops, then you did too (most likely). Stalker!:)

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/19/2013 8:49:56 AM
a she or he sits across from all of us don't they? your 3 sentences conveyed the whole sadness of what we've become in the most perfect way...thanks dan for the reminder to fight the entrapment...pat

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/19/2013 6:08:38 AM
D.L, Excellent perception of today's world. Teens especially can't seem to live withour their cellphone's. In MY day their were no cellphones to speak of, just the landline phone's. My daughter's phone travels with her where ever she goes, and so does HER daughter's. Progress? I'm not so sure. Love and blessings, +Linda

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/19/2013 6:03:24 AM
That is intently watching! But either way you painted this picture of waiting nicely... Love and Light Lily

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/19/2013 2:04:26 AM
So very sad, and I see dozens like her every day who cannot live without those devices.

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/18/2013 5:53:38 PM
Giving hope to the hopeless She too sits across from me. Enjoyed. db

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/18/2013 4:01:57 PM
The "constant hope"....and yearnings...what keeps us alive. Great short story D. L. With warm regards Isabella.

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/18/2013 12:22:28 PM
Yes, absorbed in a world of their own, the text people are in constant communication and constantly hoping for a way out. Ron

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/18/2013 9:26:16 AM
Hope is the water that quenches our thirst I think.. no matter what we are hoping for... a text, a call, or just a thought to drift upon us, a memory that waits for us to acknowledge it. Yes we may miss a few stops a long the way but what does that really matter...there will be other stops... I love this piece! Thank you for sharing it, TD..) hugs and love SPP

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/18/2013 9:05:55 AM
Technology moves on, and yearning will always happen. G

Constant Hope (Poetry) - 5/18/2013 9:01:00 AM
I see that daily . . . I don't text . . . I don't answer texts . . I use the phone as a phone . . . Out of touch with the modern world? . . . most definitely! . . . Darn good writing . . .

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/13/2013 1:19:12 PM
I too believe in the power of energy Dan. Well penned and wise.

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/13/2013 11:15:09 AM
... this kind of meditation or prayer is even more powerful than the proverbial butterfly's wings, Dan! All good on earth starts with this kind of personal centering as each of us acts out of what's in our mind and heart. We start from where we are and let the ripples spread... Good thoughts and actions here - Triple Word Score!! :) xx

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/9/2013 2:52:46 PM
Peace 0n Earth, will we ever see it Don? Peace starts with ONE heart. . . . . . db

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/8/2013 1:43:04 PM
i am breathing in the wish for the earth. Thank you for reading. Peace

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/8/2013 2:42:11 AM
The world truly needs a lot more Good Vibes.

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/7/2013 9:40:42 AM
Amen! What we send out comes back... Anna

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/7/2013 8:32:46 AM
Ronald, I agree 100% with your comment...just imagine what could happen if we all did a little...a lot would get done. Thanks for reading and commenting Cheers, Dan

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/7/2013 7:11:36 AM
I really believe in the idea of “good vibes to all nations and tribes, peace and joy.” However, we have to get out there and do some real physical work, much more than just breathe in and breathe out, to get that energy flowing. Ron

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/7/2013 3:47:53 AM
The Qi in you, D.L. and it's positive affect in so many ways, isn't myth anymore and there is a good scientific data to prove it, ...so the "peace and joy"...no longer "shall be hide". Warm regards. Isabella.

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/6/2013 8:39:39 PM
It's worth a try. Count me in.

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/6/2013 3:03:34 PM
...and how divine and enjoyable mediative breathing is. All prayer is vibrations, keep sending!!!

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/6/2013 2:12:03 PM
I'm applauding as I smile... can you see it brightening up your southereastern skyline?? I love this! Cheers and love, TD SPP

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/6/2013 11:31:12 AM
That was God's message to love each other as He has loved us. Hasn't caught on yet. G

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/6/2013 11:29:42 AM
I captured the Qi of You and will cherish! Lady Vivian

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/6/2013 10:23:44 AM
I accept and send it back to you!

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/6/2013 10:13:40 AM
wish it were that easy budd

The Qi in Me (Poetry) - 5/6/2013 9:18:37 AM
Hah! Good luck with that, my friend.

Thin-Haiku (Poetry) - 5/4/2013 4:43:34 PM
I love haiku (and senryu) and I love this one, Dan. I also love butterflies... ...but who wouldn't? Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

Thin-Haiku (Poetry) - 5/2/2013 2:37:14 PM
~DL~ Lovely the butterfly wisps freely. Lady Mary Ann

Thin-Haiku (Poetry) - 5/2/2013 1:07:24 PM
Breathing and Floating Worthy Lady Vivian

Thin-Haiku (Poetry) - 5/1/2013 3:09:48 AM
Very Good!

Thin-Haiku (Poetry) - 4/30/2013 11:48:18 AM
Perfect G

Thin-Haiku (Poetry) - 4/30/2013 10:29:14 AM
Lovely! Anna

Thin-Haiku (Poetry) - 4/30/2013 9:35:06 AM
Absolutely love this... what an image, my TD..) cheers and love, SPP

Thin-Haiku (Poetry) - 4/30/2013 9:14:45 AM
cool and yes it did budd

Thin-Haiku (Poetry) - 4/30/2013 8:11:38 AM
Very good . . . light as air . . . flights of fancy . . . beautiful, my man . . .

Lester Briggs Died Today (Poetry) - 4/19/2013 10:57:34 AM
What will be, will be. You recount a sad tale that happens to us all in the end. Our only hope of recovery is to populate your poem with gratitude. Ron

Lester Briggs Died Today (Poetry) - 4/18/2013 3:02:28 PM
this is a tragic perfect tribute budd

Lester Briggs Died Today (Poetry) - 4/18/2013 10:43:44 AM
What a masterpiece of a tribute *Dan* You being a best of best! Lady Vivian

Lester Briggs Died Today (Poetry) - 4/18/2013 5:07:31 AM
D.L. So sad, but a wonderful tribute to Lester. The end was very sad. Many blessings, +Linda

Lester Briggs Died Today (Poetry) - 4/18/2013 4:23:38 AM
Tragic! Very nicely done, Dan... Anna

Lester Briggs Died Today (Poetry) - 4/18/2013 3:13:46 AM
The first one was sad enough, but your ending here is super sad.

Lester Briggs Died Today (Poetry) - 4/17/2013 9:48:20 AM
Oh TD, when you told me you were reposting this I was overjoyed. One of my all time favorites of yours... I know a 'Lester Briggs' in my own world... I cannot say enough good things about this piece.. oh and Sinking Ships is now posted..LOL Cheers and big hugs, SPP

Lester Briggs Died Today (Poetry) - 4/17/2013 7:01:36 AM
Yes, as Carol said, this was a video taken to the nth. Just enough mystery about Lester Briggs and the Silver Snake. Then Lester Briggs died and the sweet 'ol lady appeared, then disappeared, giving us (or me) thoughts of an aged and special love affair aboard the Silver Snake. Good writing. Touching.

Lester Briggs Died Today (Poetry) - 4/17/2013 6:48:29 AM
What a wonderful picturesque prose of this man! I so enjoyed this Dan... thank you so much for the movie that played in my head while reading it and after... Love and Light Lily

Out in Front of The IGA (Poetry) - 4/15/2013 1:33:48 PM
Beautifully written although oh so tragic. You are really such a great writer, Dan. Blessings, Christine

Out in Front of The IGA (Poetry) - 4/15/2013 2:51:08 AM
An extremely sad and well told tale.

Out in Front of The IGA (Poetry) - 4/14/2013 12:23:31 PM
Engaging and moving, Dan. Your words awaken the imagination and the emotions as well. Love and peace to you, Regis

Out in Front of The IGA (Poetry) - 4/13/2013 2:46:10 PM
Never knew grocery store tales could be so fascinating...until you introduced us to Lester Briggs!! Lady Vivian

Out in Front of The IGA (Poetry) - 4/13/2013 11:19:50 AM
An American tragedy. Very well written from what I can tell right down to the vernacular. Many wait for their train to come in, but only a few will wait for her to come back. Ron

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.