AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Tobias Roote, iFumiko Takahashi, iKim Glassman, iB. B. Riefner, iMarie Wadsworth, iBettye Johnson, iGisele Vincent-Page, i
 
Home > Dan Shaurette
 

Recent Reviews for Dan Shaurette


Lilith's Love (Book) - 7/10/2002 12:53:33 PM
Though classified as a novel, this is actually a very quick reading novella. This work of fiction fits both in the Science Fiction and Romance genre, as the plot is thick with both definitions. Individuals seeking a getaway from their day-to-day routines will benefit from this read, which is filled with innocent romance and the challenges of being a vampire. For those who are not familiar with or have ever read vampire romance, you needn’t shy away from this work. Not only does author, Dan Shaurette, cater to those who aren’t accustomed to the ways and “lifestyles” of these individuals, he does it in an unobvious fashion. His descriptions answered all the questions this newbie reader had and prompted me to want to learn more. I admit, when I learned this book made vampires its focal point I was a bit leery about the read. I was worried I would find gruesome and gore, but I found quite the contrary. While it was necessary to the plot to add feeding and fight scenes, it was done so with tact and an air of eroticism in most situations. While in the midst of this story, it is difficult not to feel personally connected to the characters and what their various struggles. I found myself unable to put the book down, as I was eager to learn more about what would happen next and how events would eventually turn out. Shaurette’s ability to take you “into the heads” of each character is evident right from the beginning of the book, when one of the main characters, Don, is introduced. What caught my attention the most, however, was the use of history to add meat to the plot. Shaurette describes what happened to turn Lilith into a vampire, for example, in great detail, right down to specific phases of the moon. While I am uncertain if this is actual research, it sparked my interest and acted as a probe for me to want to learn more. Another very useful feature was the use of a computerized journal, the McJournal as they referred to it. Being able to read Don’s thoughts of what was happening in his life from time to time gave a greater appreciation to what the reader later learns about him and, ultimately, his relationship with Lilith. There were a couple of instances where the author caught me off-guard with twists in the plot. I found myself proclaiming, “What?” at several points of the plot and wondered if anyone heard me. Though some would look upon this as a frustrating aspect, I thoroughly enjoyed seeing everything unfold and come to understanding. I won’t lie; I wish this book were longer. I was able to devour it in three short sittings and now I find myself hungry for more. What will happen to each character? How does everything turn out? Will the new “destinies” the characters found be just that, their true destiny? Only the author knows the answers to these questions and will hopefully answer them with a sequel someday.

Hunter's Moon (Short Story) - 11/27/2004 7:40:08 PM
Nice twist at the end. It was easy to follow and I found myself wanting more! Thanks.

What Do You Mean You Don't Have A Blog? (Article) - 5/29/2006 6:37:15 AM
thank you Susan

An Interview with Sara Webb Quest (Article) - 3/23/2004 12:37:53 PM
Janet and Dan, having the kudos come from such talented people means a great deal. Dan, thanks for a wonderful interview. Sara

An Interview with Sara Webb Quest (Article) - 1/24/2004 1:43:43 PM
Hi Dan, I am familiar with Sara WQ but this is really nice to get a broader view of this talented writer. She is one busy lady and deserves all of the kudos that she can get. Regards, Janet

9-11-Year One (Article) - 9/11/2003 6:43:52 PM
A very accurate timeline. My brother Jim's Company Ladder-105 out of Brooklyn was wiped out (seven guys killed)...Jim was on vacation. I work in ladder-44 in the South Bronx. I'd taught Ladder Company procedures at the Fire Academy from May 4th to September 8th...my first tours back in the firehouse were Monday the the 10th & Tuesday the 11th. My Company didn’t go down to Ground Zero until Wednesday morning and stayed until Thursday at around 8 AM...from then on it was 24 hours on...24 hours off for the next week or so and then a weird rotating schedule of 7 AM – 4 PM one day, 11 AM – 8 PM the next, 3 PM – Midnight the next, etc...the first month after the attacks were a blur. Seven of the Probies that passed through the Fire Academy while I was there were killed, so were a lot of guys I knew who got promoted out of the Bronx. Lots of sad and terrible stories, such as Tim Stackpole who’d barely survived a fire in East New York Brooklyn about a year and a half before when he and about eight other guys were plunged through the floor of a second floor store and into a flaming apartment below. Tim Stackpole was advised to take a disability retirement, but worked hard to rehab himself and get back to full duty only weeks before the 11th. In L-105, Frank Palumbo left behind ten kids, John Chipura had survived the Marine Corps barracks bombing in Lebanon in 1983 and Dennis Oberg was killed just weeks after graduating the Fire Academy. In the aftermath, radio transcripts were found that placed Chief Orio Palmer on the 85th floor of the North Tower (the first hit and the second to come down) with a former Rescue firefighter, then Fire Marshall John Bucca who was hoping to return to Rescue 1 after a long recovery after a terrible fall from a building. Both Palmer and Bucca were marathoners and were heard calling for hand-lines and giving reports of “numerous 10-45s” (victims) at their location. Since that day I think of how lucky my family was – Jim and I were unscathed by the disasters while few sets of brothers and one father and son were among the 343 FDNY firefighters killed that day. Anyone who saw the aftermath of that day...streets turned into rivers, every building within a quarter mile scarred and covered with a thick coating of dust. Thanks for posting this...it felt good to respond to it.

9-11 Review of ~Ground Zero and Beyond~ by J.P. McCarthy (Article) - 9/11/2003 6:17:09 PM
An excellent review. Sounds like a fascinating book.

9-11-Year One (Article) - 11/7/2002 5:47:13 PM
powerful

9-11-Year One (Article) - 9/11/2002 8:32:36 PM
A knot comes to my throat as I relive what happened through your words. My day went differently . . . my husband was in NY at the time of the attack serving for the Army National Guard. They had called him a week earlier to serve, usually he's in Vermont. Strange coincidence, don't you think?

The Dawn of Lilith (Article) - 6/4/2002 2:02:07 PM
To Chevy and all visitors: The underlined links in the article that I wrote above link directly Joseph Linsner's site featuring artwork of Dawn. Each link will display for you a piece of artwork. As I have much respect for JML and his artwork, I will not provide copies of the atrwork here. Again, the links take you directly to his own website and refer to the picture I described. Forgive me if that was not obvious. Dan Shaurette Dan.ShauretteNet.com

Black & White (04/16/2002) (Poetry) - 8/27/2003 5:56:36 PM
Excellant style, rhyme and flow Dan! I really enjoyed this piece! ~Nikki~

Bittersweet (02/14/03) (Poetry) - 3/21/2003 7:44:17 PM
So sweet. Thanks for sharing.

Bittersweet (02/14/03) (Poetry) - 2/27/2003 1:25:59 PM
Nice poem and resolution. ~E

The Christmas Tree (12/16/2002) (Poetry) - 12/16/2002 11:34:17 AM
COOL BEANS!! loved this write! so neatly laid out! hope you have a merry christmas! love, your friend, karen lynn. (((HUGS))) :)

Tuesday Mourning (09/11/2001) (Poetry) - 9/13/2002 1:24:24 PM
Very well written Love Mom

Immortality Suite (07/29/2002) (Poetry) - 9/11/2002 3:26:11 PM
Very nice, I give you a 10 for it!!!

Immortality Suite (07/29/2002) (Poetry) - 7/30/2002 7:35:45 PM
7-30-02 Memories Are What Dreams Are Made Of! TRASK

Immortality Suite (07/29/2002) (Poetry) - 7/30/2002 11:12:36 AM
this brought home wonderful memories! thank you for my trip...

Immortality Suite (07/29/2002) (Poetry) - 7/30/2002 10:07:57 AM
Nice collection of memories and thoughts. GC

Broken (6/25/2002) (Poetry) - 6/26/2002 2:46:16 AM
true strength...

Broken (6/25/2002) (Poetry) - 6/25/2002 3:40:42 PM
Beautiful, for sure--message and poetry!

Man on the Moon (05/15/2002) (Poetry) - 5/16/2002 7:03:05 PM
outstanding write...God gives us the right to do all things for He made us His co-creators and only those who dare to dream can accomplish what He puts within us.

Man on the Moon (05/15/2002) (Poetry) - 5/16/2002 5:48:15 PM
I like the way you question. Gina

The Weakest Link (05/09/2002) (Poetry) - 5/9/2002 2:58:42 PM
I enjoyed this--well-written!

Tuesday Mourning (09/11/2001) (Poetry) - 11/27/2001 6:34:53 PM
Hi Dan, This is so heartfelt... A day none of us will ever forget... Great write. Thanks, Trixie Love

Blue Moon (Poetry) - 11/27/2001 10:26:57 AM
Excellent write... Thanks, Trixie Love

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.