AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: JoAnna Drelleshak, iRon Mullinax, iLonnie Hicks, iRosemarie Skaine, iW. Craig Reed, iPatricia Hilliard, iShelley Costello, i
 
Home > R David Fulcher
 

Recent Reviews for R David Fulcher


Trains to Nowhere (Book) - 8/26/2012 11:20:07 AM
The small book, Trains to Nowhere, looms large in historical fiction as three forgotten stories of World War II that will delight and amaze you with their authenticity and irony. I have provided a vignette of each below: Trains to Nowhere is a novella by R. David Fulcher of a deeply troubled man, Chris Burton, who is losing everything…his marriage, his job, and, his son. Burton is sinking into a drunken depression, when he is assaulted by savage dreams of another life—a soldier in the Third Reich---triggered by a war movie that played in the background of the poker game where he got blind drunk the night before. Chris confides in George Kushner, his best friend, and a Jew, trying to get to the bottom of his dreams, and comes up with a mysterious scroll, in German that neither of them can read. The scroll, somehow, is a link to that soldier, Chris as Hans, sentenced to a hell called Stenbruch Concentration Camp as a guard to sanction SS atrocities. You don’t have to be a believer in reincarnation to love the way that David Fulcher weaves this revelation from the past into current day life using flashbacks that slowly but surely tell the whole story. You don’t want to miss the end. There was no stopping the trains, but a few leaked out. The Nazis were rumored to have secret weapons like an atomic bomb, a jet plane, and the power of the Ark of the Covenant—some of which were true. In Haarth the Hunter, R. David Fulcher conjures up the supernatural, hidden in the ancient history of the Black Forest, to release a killing machine of mythic proportions. Sergeant Drake is ordered to take his 5th Recon Squadron across enemy lines into a forward position and relieve the 7th Recon. What he finds isn’t pretty, but it will give nightmares to the reader long after the tale is read. Fulcher’s short story, Barbarossa Diary, is set in Russia, the Soviet Union, a few years after World War II. Waiting for the spring thaw has given Fredrich, a former German foot soldier, the opportunity to reveal to his son the truth. Like any child Michael’s age at that time, stories were a way to pass the time and learn. Michael always loved his father’s stories, and begged for more. David Fulcher has revealed a little-known result of the killing machine Blitzkrieg war that tore Europe apart and killed most of the men. Especially on the Eastern Front, where Hitler drafted many who questioned his sanity to certain death in the winter of 1943-44. On the Russian side, even more died. With more young women left alive than men, finding a husband in the wreckage knew no ideological or national boundaries. Hence, Fulcher weaves a fascinating tale of revelation through a bedtime story. You will be as enchanted—and horrified—as I was. Ronald W. Hull, author of The Kaleidoscope Effect, Alone?, two other novels, and It's in the Water and Other Stories 8/25/12

The Extra-Terrestrial Toilet (Excerpt) (Short Story) - 8/15/2012 4:47:16 AM
This vignette shows great creativity and pure fantasy. As fantasy, it defies physics by leaving the two bodies intact after a cataclysmic event that would rip bodies apart--unless only the souls, or mental essences, are conversing. As with all stories like this, it is set in human terms for human readers. Even Nittix, from another world, acts like a human. Maybe this is so--that evolution of life results in the same drama we have here on Earth while hurtling through space in a toilet. We humans understand drama. We are immersed in it. Makes for good reading. Looking forward to the "rest" of the story. Ron

An Unlikely Hero (full version) (Short Story) - 7/29/2012 9:54:57 AM
Now that's an interesting, thoroughly modern, fairy tale. I'm not sure young kids would get it, but this old one did. Could use a good editing and some additional writing, but an interesting fantasy that you've written. Ron

Secrets in Sulsut - Episode I (full version) (Short Story) - 7/3/2012 3:36:43 PM
In spite of the misuse of their and there, this episode is well-written and gives enough information for one to use one's imagination to fill in the scene. Unlike fantasy movies that pay great attention to the visual impact of the fantasy world displayed, leaving the reader's imagination untouched except trying to anticipate the next twist of plot. Along with unsightly characters that have their origins in the insect world, we have humanoids of different persuasions that are locked in continual conflict for supremacy, or at least in this case, the ability to steal as much as possible from the unsuspecting temple. While I find the first episode intriguingly like a Indiana Jones scenario, I am not inclined to go on to episode to see what happens. On the other hand, fantasy followers would probably jump at the chance to follow this story thread to its final conclusion of hero takes all. Ron

An Encounter with Conan (Short Story) - 6/5/2012 2:42:50 PM
While I am not fond of fantasy, I enjoyed the tale of Conan the Barbarian as depicted in the movie. I'm not sure where this story is going, but I find that stories written based on original stories pale when compared to the original. Ron

Electric (Short Story) - 5/25/2012 1:19:06 PM
The opening almost got me to press the Delete Key until I began to get electrified by the smooth way the tale of an innocent boy morphed into the monster of his dreams. Electricity replaces the old equalizer, giving a loser the power to win. Ron

The Boogeyman (Short Story) - 5/6/2012 7:04:00 AM
This one is so horrifying it makes time stand still. Interesting concept to an old idea. Ron

The Shamblers - FULL VERSION (Short Story) - 3/31/2012 6:46:24 AM
This would make an excellent Alfred Hitchcock movie. Well penned. I was spell-bound from beginning to end. Donna

The Shamblers (Excerpt) (Short Story) - 1/28/2012 10:52:31 AM
i love your descriptive text-toothless smile, human net or heart of the forest. nice...spooky, tantalizing...scare..

Spectra's Masterpiece (Excerpt) (Short Story) - 1/15/2012 10:59:46 AM
Excellent excerpt. Your descriptive words brought the beautiful piece of to life for me. Well written. Donna

The History of the Vampire (Vampyre) (Article) - 4/7/2014 6:37:34 AM
You know how I dislike the countless rewrites and sequels of classic ideas like Bram Stoker's Dracula. Unless they are written well like Anne Rice seems to be able to do, they lack originality and pale when compared to the original. That said, you have done a fine job of describing the mystique and long legacy of vampires. You forgot to mention the Masai who regularly bleed their cattle and mix the blood with milk to provide a nutritious portion of their regular diet. Throughout history, I believe that most hunters and gatherers drank the blood of their kills (including human) both in a ritualistic way of gaining power over prey and providing nourishment. Still, if I ever sleep in the open in Central America, I will be on the watch for the sneaky little vampire bat that can suck my blog (intentionally misspelled) without me even knowing it. ;-) Ron

Take Time Out to Write Every Day (Article) - 4/7/2014 3:49:12 AM
Dear Ron, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Yes, this advice is not new, but it bears repeating again and again. Like you, my writing time these days is split between my own writing, editing Samsara, posting on writing sites like this one, writing emails to fellow authors and editors, etc. I feel that this is all part of our literary activity, and should "count" towards our daily writing output. Best, -David

Take Time Out to Write Every Day (Article) - 4/5/2014 9:36:38 AM
I've seen this advice many times… Just recently in a video lecture by Ray Bradbury. I haven't been writing as much lately because I'm so busy trying to help all struggling authors here and editing some very bad stuff (unlike yours). But I guess writing to all you folks is also writing every day. Unfortunately, I don't have to be at my computer in a quiet environment so that I can dictate my work because one finger typing is too error-prone and tedious. No writing while commuting, sitting on a park bench, in bed, or while driving into my next accident for me. Ron

Local Author Scares Readers! (Article) - 2/1/2014 9:21:46 AM
Great publicity, David! You are right about pressure points. I don't particularly like horror movies or books, but I understand their appeal like the, "Here's Johnny!" scene in The Shining, when Christine comes to life, or when Carrie's hand comes up from her grave at the end of the movie. I particularly don't like unrealistic, stupid, fake zombies, but find myself watching The Walking Dead, spellbound, waiting for the next atrocity to happen. The survival instinct in all of us from the time we were frightened by bears, lions, lightning, and wolves, is still very strong. Ron

The Meaning of Life (Article) - 1/15/2013 10:12:56 AM
Your take on the, “Meaning of Life,” is a perspective shared going back thousands of years to the Greeks and other poets and dreamers. As such your perspective is very human centric and right brained. This approach appeals very much to humans who are naturally egocentric and think primarily based on religion, societal mores, and myth. On the other hand, I have always taken a different view, perhaps because I'm rather left brained and find that much of human ills (tragic blunders, wars, misconceptions about almost everything) can be attributed to our egocentric right brains. I remember writing an essay in the eighth grade about the origin of life and receiving a good grade for it and praises from my English teacher. To me the meaning of life is very simple. First, it is to survive. In order to survive, one must have food and water. All living creatures, including viruses and bacteria, need food and water to survive. They then must survive to reproduction. The second meaning to life is to procreate. That is simply to have offspring. Without offspring life dies because all living things have a finite life span. This simple truth of surviving until one can have offspring is the meaning of life. Unfortunately, that is what most humans do. Nothing more. However, scientists, philosophers, poets and dreamers, give more meaning to life than that. And that is the essence of your article here, not the one that I subscribe to. Ron

The Meaning of Life (Article) - 1/14/2013 7:03:48 PM
1-14-2013 Pure Fate,i.e. Follow Path You Are On Or Perish- There Is No Meaning... TRASK...

Full Circle (Poetry) - 3/11/2013 10:53:01 AM
Short but sweet. The circle continues. Thanks for the rave review of my review. ;-) Ron

Full Circle (Poetry) - 3/11/2013 4:42:44 AM
oh yes the natural way of things budd

Melinda (Poetry) - 9/12/2012 6:35:38 AM
A touching poem that defines the belief that true love never dies. I admire your expression of your private, lonely bereavement at the remembrance of Melinda. It reaches out to impact the reader and leaves one wondering and sighing. Connie

Creation Poem (Poetry) - 9/12/2012 6:30:36 AM
Interesting, and ambitious (at least those who built continents). One thing is evident....you and I have creation concepts that are literally worlds apart! Connie

Creation Poem (Poetry) - 4/29/2012 7:26:23 AM
Words filled with a lot of energy, passion. A very unique look at creation, indeed. Ron

The Faerie Lights (Poetry) - 4/24/2012 9:08:59 AM
I need a roadmap to that wine! Ron

A Phoenix Rising (Poetry) - 1/26/2012 4:08:38 PM
With your encouragement, she will keep soaring! I'm sure she was pleased as could be when she read this loving tribute. Connie

Skylight: New Mexico (Poetry) - 1/20/2012 1:06:03 PM
You spin out many visions that are difficult for me to comprehend. Ron

Skylight: New Mexico (Poetry) - 1/19/2012 8:39:36 PM
"I bled like a virgin in the desert scrub grass," ... man what an image!

Perception (Poetry) - 1/18/2012 7:19:25 PM
interesting perspective ...

Perception (Poetry) - 1/18/2012 8:20:17 AM
Very fanciful verse. Mine tends to the realistic. Ron

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.