AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Amy Sellers, iPeggy Schmuldt, iJoan Huffman, iNeeta Blair, iDavid Seaburn, iJoe tofuri@swbell.net, iMs Beeds, i
 
Home > Dennis N. Griffin
 

Recent Reviews for Dennis N. Griffin


Vegas Vixen (Book) - 9/8/2010 9:19:39 AM
I haven't read "Vegas Vixen" yet as I do not have it ,but I am very interested in obtainting it. When will you be in Verona so I can stop to see both of you and buy the book. Dorothy

The Morgue (Book) - 1/7/2010 3:47:11 PM
This is the best book I have ever read. I love it

Red Gold (Book) - 11/2/2007 4:46:03 AM
Having read several of Mr. Griffin’s previous novels, I was eager to read this stunning expose of the world of Medicaid fraud. Ho-hum, right? Wrong! The investigation is as intriguing as it is exciting. Once again, the author shows his absolute expert knowledge in weaving a story that is a real page turner. This is not a “who done it”… it is a “how are they going to catch them?” As the story moves into the final phase, the violence and thrills build to a crescendo of utter suspense and the surprise ending will have you shaking your head in amazement. This is another fine example of Mr. Griffin’s bid to be one of the best mystery writers of our time.

The Morgue (Book) - 4/30/2007 7:28:13 PM
Mesmerizing and Mortifying Tale of Misconduct at the Morgue Dennis Griffin’s story of boiled bodies, shady staff, and ghastly government drags you in kicking and screaming and spits you out with a toe tag. His writing keeps the pages turning into the night when you least want to be lost in the creepy realm of the county morgue—especially Dr. Robert Franz’s. But, you can’t put it down. The story keeps unfolding leading you deeper into a tunnel of repulsion and unbelievable corruption. Griffin carries the tale all the way to the very last word which leaves you gasping for breath and begging for more.

Killer In Pair-A-Dice (Book) - 1/30/2007 10:12:20 AM
The first thing that attracted me to this book was the play on words in the title (paradise/pair-a-dice). After the first few pages, it is obvious that the title is very appropriate. A serial rapist/killer stalks the environs of Las Vegas, terrorizing the city to ever increasing levels. There are several sub-plots to this mystery, and the reader can’t help but anxiously turn the page to see how each of them plays out. In the end, the intricately woven story comes together in a flash of brutality as disturbing, as compelling, as the rest of the book. Mr. Griffin’s knowledge of police work and crime investigation is readily apparent. No amateurish guesswork here. It’s as if you are reading from his own journal of experiences. This makes it all the more pleasurable to read. In my opinion, Dennis Griffin is one of the very best mystery writers of our time. For anyone who enjoys this genre, his books are an absolute must!

The Battle for Las Vegas - The Law vs the Mob (Book) - 12/3/2006 10:49:38 PM
The Battle for Las Vegas is a fantastic, no holds barred book. It is a must read for anyone who wants to know what the movie "CASINO" was based on. Great characters and a great flow to the story.

The Battle for Las Vegas - The Law vs the Mob (Book) - 7/23/2006 4:33:00 PM
Review appearing in the Rome Sentinel on July 22, 2006 The Mob fought the Law and the Law won In “The Battle For Las Vegas: The Law vs The Mob’’ Dennis N. Griffin writes about an astonishing time in the history of the West, when casinos bloomed in the desert and the population of Las Vegas boomed from 800 to 1.6 million people in a mere 100 years. Add to that 35 million visitors each year and you have a mecca for fun-loving marks that are ripe for the plucking by folks with criminal intent. Griffin writes ‘’Four Midwest organized-crime families were involved in the hidden ownership and skimming of several Las Vegas casinos: Chicago, Kansas City, Milwaukee and Cleveland. For the mobsters, it began as a marriage made in heaven. For gaming authorities and law enforcement, it was a nightmare. The lawmen realized that like a malignant tumor, the influence of organized crime in Las Vegas casinos had to be cut out and destroyed.’’ To ensure the smooth flow of cash, the gangsters installed a front man with no criminal background, Allen R. Glick, as the casino owner of record, Frank ‘’Lefty’’ Rosenthal as the real boss of casino operations, and Tony Spilotro as the ultimate enforcer, who’d do whatever it took to protect their interests. It wasn’t long before Spilotro, also in charge of Vegas street crime, was known as the “King of the Strip.’’ His crew was known as ‘’The Hole in the Wall Gang’’ due to their method of entering places they intended to rob. Federal and local law enforcement, recognizing the need to rid the casinos of the mob and shut down Spilotro’s rackets, declared war on organized crime. This took some doing, because some mob ‘’moles’’ in the Las Vegas Police Department put the Federal Bureau of Investigation agents on wary alert in their interaction with the locals. Dennis N. Griffin uses all of his investigative and interviewing skills to bring this fascinating story of tough guys on both sides to his eighth book. Griffin, as most of his local fans already know, is a wonderful writer. In his fiction his deft use of dialogue adds spice to the narration, but his narrative style in his non-fiction works is just as riveting.

Killer In Pair-A-Dice (Book) - 5/11/2005 7:39:20 AM
Las Vegas Cop Reviews Killer In Pair-A-Dice 3/7/2002 9:13:00 AM by Dennis N. Griffin -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Reviews LVMPD Undersheriff Richard Winget Reviews Killer In Pair-A-Dice on Amazon.com Review by Richard Winget: The story is riveting!! Dennis Griffin's book intertwines the real Las Vegas with his fictional story of a sociopathic, serial rapist and murderer. You can read the thinly veiled political figures, police and geography of the city while following his clues to the identity of the suspect. Once you begin reading, the story stays in your mind until you reach the surprising climax. Read this book, and you'll go hunting for another Dennis Griffin masterpiece. Amazon

Policing Las Vegas - A History of Law Enforcement in Southern Nevada (Book) - 5/4/2005 1:03:04 PM
Policing Las Vegas Book Review By Keith Bettinger There’s a great book that just hit the market – Policing Las Vegas, by Dennis Griffin. As Las Vegas, NV reaches its Centennial in May 2005, the book, that is a complete and unvarnished history of law enforcement in this wild and unique city, is there to introduce the reader to the crime fighters that made Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department what it is today. Take the time to visit with Hiram Powell, the rough and tough street cop, who tangled in the 1940s with Benjamin “Bugsy” Siegel on numerous occasions. Hi always came out the winner, even with Bugsy having friends in the business, if you know what I mean. If you think Hi’s story in the book is fascinating, you should take the time to meet him in person. Yes, he still lives here in town. Meet Herman Moody, one of the first African-American police officers in the city of Las Vegas. Find out what it was like to work the rough west side of the small but growing city. Herman gave the city of Las Vegas more than thirty years of service. He too is still in town and shares his experiences with his friends. Meet the modern age of law enforcement as a very busy department serves the ever-expanding community of Las Vegas and Clark County. Come and meet today’s heroes of the department like Enrique Hernandez, who after an anything but routine traffic stop, was shot numerous times by the criminal he pursued. Although severely wounded, Enrique has fought hard to recover and has returned to limited duty. Also meet Dennis Devitte, who while off duty was confronted by armed robbers, and even though he faced superior firepower, took the robbers on, was shot eight times, but was still able to return fire and kill one of the robbers. Mr. Griffin was able to write Policing Las Vegas with the cooperation of the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department. This fantastic book was three years in the making. When the project was undertaken, Mr. Griffin told the department he would cover the history of the department, not just the good stories, but all the stories. He has covered both the good and the bad, and how it has affected this well respected police department. In fact, at a recent book signing and reception, Sheriff Bill Young, honored Mr. Griffin by attending the event and praised Mr. Griffin for his outstanding book, Policing Las Vegas.

The Morgue (Book) - 4/12/2005 2:25:27 PM
This is another fine example of a detective mystery story written by a true expert from first hand experience. I became a fan of Mr. Griffin after reading some of his other works, and am glad to recommend this compelling book to anyone who likes a good mystery. The fact that this is based on a true story makes it even more fascinating.

Pension (Book) - 10/11/2004 4:08:07 PM
Pension by Dennis Griffin Private investigator Ted Bronson and his wife Michelle stumble onto a series of murders that point to criminal activity at the upper echelon of the corporate world. When Ted and Michelle agree to assist the Dallas police department and FBI in a joint investigation, their marriage suddenly begins to disintegrate. Battling post traumatic stress from the Viet Nam conflict, Ted struggles to determine if his marital problems are a result of his mental illness, or if handsome FBI agent David Gorman is to blame. Pension is a psychological thriller packed with richly defined characters caught in a web of deceit and treachery. Author Dennis Griffin captures the reader’s imagination with an all too believable story given current events surrounding real-world corporate scandals. Dennis Royer Author of Stranger

One-Armed Bandit (Book) - 6/25/2003 3:09:11 AM
I've found all of Griffin's books to be fascinating and this one was certainly no exception. Once I began reading, I just wasn't able to put "One-Armed Bandit" down until I had read the entire book. If you're reading these reviews trying to decide which book to buy, get ALL FOUR...if you don't you'll just be kicking yourself when you have to WAIT for the others to arrive.

One-Armed Bandit (Book) - 4/19/2003 9:00:44 AM
An excellently written murder mystery about a one-armed killer who stalks Las Vegas. Realistic and brutal, this page turner has the makings of a true thriller. It is obvious that the author knows what he is talking about in the language and procedures of police investigative work. His style is fresh, compelling and alive. In the ranks of numerous stories of this tried and true genre, this book is right up there as one of the best.

Blood Money (Book) - 11/9/2002 2:23:22 PM
excellent book - keep up the good work - keep us reading!!!!!!

The Morgue (Book) - 10/6/2002 1:05:45 PM
I'd like to see this author interviewed by New York 1, or Sixty Minutes, or any one of a dozen news shows. That's how incredible a story this is - and fascinating in all of its twists and turns.

Killer In Pair-A-Dice (Book) - 6/12/2002 7:25:58 AM
Cool! I will definitely buy a copy. This sounds like a good read. I love the horror/crime combination.

Killer In Pair-A-Dice (Book) - 3/23/2002 8:21:06 AM
I have enjoyed all dennis's books!!!This was the best so far... Can't wait for his next book.

The Morgue (Book) - 3/18/2002 2:03:32 PM
This is the first book I read by the author and found it hard to put down.

Red Gold (Book) - 3/18/2002 1:58:13 PM
Well written, easy reading and a good story.

Red Gold (Book) - 3/10/2002 10:51:21 AM
Keeping up with local happenings, I remember reading about this. This seemed so impacted with truth and actual information, and it ran from papagraph to paragraph as if it was being told to me face to face. You did not want to put the book down as if someone might forget to tell you something.

The Morgue (Book) - 3/10/2002 10:47:47 AM
This book was so convincing, that it could have come from the front pages of any newspaper, as what if now occuring in Georgia.

Killer In Pair-A-Dice (Book) - 3/10/2002 10:44:42 AM
This book was written in a way that I had to remind myselt that it was ficional. It gave me a sense that it was so realistic that it could have happened in anyones neighborhood.

Killer In Pair-A-Dice (Book) - 3/9/2002 4:37:10 PM
Killer In Pair-A-Dice was exciting, frightning. and very suspenseful. I recommend it for all thrill lovers.

Red Gold (Book) - 3/9/2002 11:18:57 AM
One thing that makes Dennis Griffin's books so interesting is that they are based on fact. He does not drag on the story but leaps from page to page. I was totally engrossed in this book and can't wait for a sequel.

Killer In Pair-A-Dice (Book) - 3/9/2002 11:14:19 AM
There is no way I could put this book down until I finished it. I was mesmerized by the way Dennis Griffin told the story and was anxious to see how it ended. Please, Dennis, write more books!

Legendary Las Vegas Casino Figure Frank “Lefty” Rosenthal Dead at Age 79 (Article) - 4/25/2009 8:08:07 AM
Very interesting and expertly relayed facts that reads like the "Mafia Chronicles". Enjoyed it very much. Cynthia

The Most Dangerous Man in Las Vegas? (Article) - 11/21/2007 2:56:30 PM
"As incredible as it sounds, Neumann was released on parole after serving only about 11 years." As incredible as it sounds, it seems to happen quite alot. Very well written piece and it is nice to know this man has passed on!

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.