AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Scott Boyd, iSandy Lender, iDietmar Rothe, iPatricia Sanders, iJ.J. Snow, iM. R. Mathias, iMargaret Hardisty, i
 
Home > C. J. Stevens
 

Recent Reviews for C. J. Stevens


The Miracle of Bryan Pearce (Book) - 12/11/2007 1:39:58 PM
It is with a kinred spirit that I can relate to his beautiful told tale of PKU family. No one may never feel the pain or know the answer to " Why my child ? " Phenylketorunia has little information about the personal side of tis disorder. You speak to medical professionals that say " We don't know enought about PKU." However, when you leave and go home to he heart break---it's books like this that get you pass another day. Yes, this book is worth more than the asking price. We are lucky to have such a talented author apply his skills to pass on the message of hope to the worlds PKU community. Bless you Mr. Stevens for your good deed and this lovely special book. Carole Anne Murphy ( A study Into PKU ) Canada

Poems from Holland and Belgium (Book) - 11/16/2007 7:05:13 AM
What a delight to pick up this superb book of poetry at my local library. I commend Mr. Stevens on his excellent work and for bring to light this often unknown to contemperary readers of English. I commend him for this true poetic delight.

Collected Poems (1962-2002) (Book) - 5/22/2005 8:40:50 AM
I discovered CJ Stevens' work through the poetry he posted on his website. I found myself hungry to read more and more. This is a volume that doesn't disappoint the reader for a moment. It's a beautiful, sensitive collection that takes note of the simplest details often overlooked by the human eye, and brings them to a place of importance. It was a privilege to read. Michelle Close Mills

Poems from Holland and Belgium (Book) - 5/22/2005 8:37:51 AM
Being bi-lingual myself, I know what a difficult task it can be to translate mere conversation,let alone poetry written by talented poets in their native tongue. I was delighted and amazed by their work, as well as the amazing translation ability shown by Cj Stevens. I'll be reading this volume again and again. Michelle Close Mills

The Miracle of Bryan Pearce (Book) - 5/22/2005 8:35:10 AM
This is one of the best books I've ever read, bar none. It reveals the very private side of one of the world's most amazing primitive artists, but gives us a great appreciation for his life, the tragedy his family has known, his mother's sacrifices for him, and reveals his tremendous talent to the world. I only wish I could obtain one of his works for my home. Michelle Close Mills

The Supernatural Side of Maine (Book) - 5/22/2005 8:31:33 AM
This is one of the most all encompassing books I've ever read on the supernatural. It combines history with fact, folklore, and stretches the reader from UFO's to hauntings. All takes place within a fascinating backdrop that the writer knows a great deal about...Maine. I enjoyed every page. Michelle Close Mills

The Next Bend in the River - Gold Mining in Maine (Book) - 10/24/2004 9:30:43 AM
R. Leland Waldrip Book Review The Next Bend In The River, Gold Mining In Maine — by C. J. Stevens John Wade, Publisher, Phillips, Maine ISBN 0-9623934-1-X Paperback 181 pages 5.5” X 8.5” Gold Fever! All the characters in this riveting and remarkably detailed outing of the gold mining scene in Maine have it — including author C. J. and wife Stella. It even comes through the printed page right into the mind of the reader, like some live thing that gets into the blood. One gets the urge to grab a frying pan and hip waders and head for the East branch of the Swift River without stopping for lunch. Who thought there was gold at the bottom of those fast-flowing rivers and streams that meander out of the cold hills of our second most northern state? Apparently a sizeable chunk of the population in the northeast quadrant of the U.S., at least that’s how it seems when you read this fascinating history and commentary. The author’s penchant for exhaustively researching his subject is flawlessly exemplified by the full-flavored golden nuggets of unearthed characters he’s dug from Maine’s hidden past. They tumble across the graveled pages of the book like precious metal from his beloved streams. There are the gentle souls whose vision extends only as far as the bottom of a gold pan, and the sophisticated, talented, inventive miners who think of little other than finding the “Mother Lode,” ferreting through every pocket in the river. Then there are those who would rather invent schemes to find gold already in the pockets of their fellow man. The stories of their efforts to separate successful miners and investors from their booty provide a truly fascinating study of the gullibility that a gold haze induces in so many people. It reminds one of Mark Twain’s definition — Gold mine: a hole in the ground ringed with liars. Read “The Next Bend In The River.” If you don’t get gold fever, at least you will get the flavor of those hardy Maine folk who have been hell-bent to find the yellow metal for a century and a half. And if you do get the fever, author Stevens gives you a blueprint for how to scratch that itch. A highly recommended read. (This review is also posted as an article.)

Collected Poems (1962-2002) (Book) - 7/22/2004 6:29:50 AM
C. J. Stevens Collected Poems Book Review Library Journal, Booklist, Canadian Forum, Mississippi Review, and numerous noteworthy individuals on the literary scene have praised C. J. Stevens Collected Poems in elegant words and phrases that reflect their deep admiration of his work. I won’t attempt to compete with these exemplary wordsmiths. I will just say that when this book arrived at my home, I sat down with it, and except for a few very necessary and very short breaks, I didn’t leave it until I had read every one of its 222 pages. I found his style to be very different from my own poetic endeavors, yet completely absorbing. Rhyme isn’t a characteristic of his poetry, just exquisite word choices that silkily spin a unique animated blend of anthropomorphism and its inverse. When he turns his pen to interesting characters of his childhood, we get pictures painted with objects: “And there was Hattie Farrington — a feather drifting with the breeze; drifting through the ironwork of another battered day, Now when a songbird huddles on an bough, and the immigrant wind with its alien tongue coaxes the bird to drop a feather, we think of Hattie Farrington and say: the softness of a feather on the new snow was truly Hattie’s way. Bless the shape of this morning.” When he turns his eye towards objects of the earth — barns, cups, fingers, cornstalks, hills, parsnips — a parade of people go marching by. Not just any people, but those with compellingly arresting features and character. Consider his take on cabbages: “These are the hard- headed sentries of Gurney’s militia—a squad of ruffians in bivouac all summer. Though they meet the reveille of the sun with their britches rumpled and with the smell of sauerkraut upon their breath, they are more soldierly than radish or cauliflower. They won’t be softened by the first white thrust of bayoneting frost. But they are vulnerable In the war of hunger. Too easily outflanked and gnawed by marauders, they still carry on. Heroes every one. And versatile as Swiss chard.” C. J. has an incisively sensitive eye for the details that would never be cataloged by most of us. He has a deft way of bringing them to our attention that is pleasing and intriguing, reflecting a delightful mix of the New England provincial and European erudition. I am happy to recommend this work to anyone who would like to enjoy an evening — or years — of very remarkable poetic accomplishment. © 2004 R. Leland Waldrip

Some Kind of Record (Short Story) - 7/30/2008 4:29:53 PM
Ouch! Poor kid, it seems his family was half nuts and my teeth hurt so you have really painted this picture well my friend. ;) Janet xoxoxo

Cunningham (Short Story) - 2/15/2006 8:09:47 AM
What a refreshing but sad story. An excellent piece of writing. I could vividly see everything :)

Some Kind of Record (Short Story) - 2/10/2006 10:23:47 AM
I again with Michelle. Excellent writing. Enjoy it.

Some Kind of Record (Short Story) - 2/6/2006 12:16:19 PM
Mercy! I'll bet that poor little boy was spooked away from dentists forever after Dr Gould pulled his tooth! I was clenching my teeth in sympathy for Clyde with every twinge and jolt of pain! Wow, what a story...you have done it again CJ. You are a true master of the written word. Blessings, Michelle

Cunningham (Short Story) - 7/21/2005 9:27:20 AM
This was so sad to read. I could never live on a farm becuz of my intense love for animals, even realizing that WITHOUT these animals I would not be eating! You've captured the emotion so perfectly. Thanks for sharing! April

Cunningham (Short Story) - 7/21/2005 8:36:39 AM
excellent story, c.j.; very well done! bravo! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in tx., karen lynn. :D

Cunningham (Short Story) - 7/21/2005 7:35:34 AM
Well you know I have a soft spot in my heart for pigs CJ. This is a fine piece of work, with extra attention to the everyday details surrounding farm life. I found it fascinating...great work, and a treat to read. You have such a gift. Blessings, Michelle

A Shot in the Dark (Short Story) - 6/1/2005 7:47:34 AM
This story kept me riveted to the screen! I'm dying to know what comes next! :-) April

A Shot in the Dark (Short Story) - 5/30/2005 11:59:08 AM
I'm waiting for the next installment CJ! WOW! Such tremendous detail, and I could feel the nervous anxiety in this man's heart. Great job! Blessings, Michelle

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 6/9/2011 6:06:47 PM
Hello CJ, it's nice to read your work. This is a beautiful poem, a fitting and lovely tribute. Isn't it amazing how something as simple as a piece of warm bread can evoke the touching love you've written about here. Hugs to you, CJ

Old Song (Poetry) - 3/7/2011 8:30:41 AM
Very interesting words. It is often that I try to recall old songs. Sometimes I can remember the melody, but not the words. rege

The Cats in the Colosseum (Poetry) - 1/9/2011 12:59:07 PM
What can I say? You ARE the man, poet extraordinaire. x

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 1/9/2011 5:31:10 AM
Excellent.

House of Hang-ups (Poetry) - 10/6/2010 3:47:14 PM
The rhythms and form chosens for this piece suggest an intricate thread of interconnecting experiences - all layered in memory of course and unfolding tentatively at the behest of a shy child showing someone his world. The domestic details wound/woven into the poem give it much of its power. A haunting poem since it reminds us that there is of course such a child in every adult.

A New Blue Bike (Poetry) - 8/3/2010 5:08:15 AM
I am walking right beside you down this lane. x

World of the Wasted Years (Poetry) - 4/14/2010 11:28:24 AM
This is a gripping poem my friend. x

House of Hang-ups (Poetry) - 3/23/2010 7:15:36 AM
C.J., you are a brilliant poet. Thank you so much for gracing us with your words. :) x

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 8/6/2009 6:54:50 PM
Much is said in the simplicity of the words. Well done

Thinking of my father (Poetry) - 8/21/2008 8:48:00 AM
As I read this poem, I found myself thinking 'I've wrestled with emotions like this before'. The inner life is often hidden and suffered in silence by so many, and you have well put into words what so many either cannot or will not. Thankyou for taking the time to clarify an area many struggle with- Zach

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 8/21/2008 8:38:15 AM
Wow! ... profound depth to the most common things for those with eyes see! Mr. Stevens I felt this poem in my soul . Thanks for helping me to see. -Zach

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 7/28/2008 10:17:37 AM
This touches the heart and senses

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 6/19/2008 10:17:22 AM
I love the nostalgic feel to this write. It reminds me of my grandmother, known for her homemade bread - dough needed with aged, tiring, rheumatic hands.

Thinking of my father (Poetry) - 6/8/2008 11:21:14 AM
Wow, the gut wrenching pain and honesty is to be applauded. I've had my own guilt over my 'parents' and things written. I have finally forgiven them and myself. At the time, I needed to write it and I don't feel guilty anymore. This had me with a knot in my throat. Really good C.J., thank you for this. Janet xoxoxo

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 5/25/2008 11:40:55 AM
Beautiful eulogy and remembering your Mother's warm bread should comfort you. I know many of the things my mother baked and cooked cannot be duplicated and taste as well as hers did. So she is with God in heaven and eating of the leaven.

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 6/10/2007 3:39:23 PM
Oh Sweetie, I do love this and I know that your Mom knows how much you love her. Very nice. Janet xoxoxo

Old Song (Poetry) - 11/3/2006 1:02:35 AM
Respected Poet, An wonder of words. So soft to read your words... I love to read your poems, again and again... God Bless you, Thanking you, Yours truly, N.K.OSHO

Cornstalks (Poetry) - 9/30/2006 8:24:35 PM
Being an Indiana boy, transplanted to Virginia, this touched a deep chord inside of me. Sorry for the plagiarism, Michelle, I felt the same. Nice, Americana imagery. JohnB

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 8/28/2006 5:03:03 AM
Indeed mothers are etched into our very souls..never forgotten but sorely missed.. vesna:)

Thinking of my father (Poetry) - 5/12/2006 8:45:56 PM
I watched my father die for over five years and your sentiments hit the depth of my soul. Thank you for sharing this honest and moving offering. Love and peace to you, Regis

The Long-Ago People (Poetry) - 2/7/2006 12:07:51 PM
The remembrances are there alright. Thanks. Leland

You don't go to Nature (Poetry) - 2/7/2006 12:04:09 PM
And we are only a ripple, soon smoothed into the great mother. Best regards, Leland

House of Hang-ups (Poetry) - 2/7/2006 11:59:34 AM
Superb empathy of vanished happiness. Best regards, Leland

Skin (Poetry) - 2/7/2006 11:46:20 AM
Well, here we are, all sacked up and ready to go. Super perspective, C.J.. Best regards, Leland

Thinking of my father (Poetry) - 2/7/2006 11:42:03 AM
An emotional juggernaut, C.J. I envy no one for having to write this, but I know whereof you speak. Best, Leland

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 2/7/2006 11:37:23 AM
Warm words, C.J. Thanks. Leland

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 12/31/2005 11:01:26 PM
This says so much to me. Thanks. Happy New Year!

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 8/31/2005 10:47:05 AM
Wow, you've really got a handle on the power of sparse imagery.

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 6/6/2005 2:33:07 PM
YES John, I relate well to this great poem. I long to say things to one so wonderful but is no longer physically here. Her spirit, my sister Sylvia's, is never far though and at times she's very near! Thank you for a great write!! ALL THE BEST TO YOU'', Rich CRISO Suarez

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 4/26/2005 3:12:57 PM
This left me conforted- just like warm bread on a Cold day. Beautiful piece writting with ease. Thank you 4 sharing... She knows your feelings, you spoke them into the universe. Lady,Sheee

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 3/10/2005 7:01:43 AM
wow...very very good write...simple but excellent!!!!

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 2/18/2005 3:55:22 AM
This is warm and nice and full of the realization that so often we allow the good in our life to go unnoticed and unappreciated. Of course, there is also the other side to this coin, some aren't able to look back all that fondly. Good, very good poem.

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 2/5/2005 1:07:46 PM
It is incredible how something so simple can elicit so much and you express that most effecitively in this poem. Thank you. Love and peace. Regis

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 2/4/2005 5:14:15 PM
*sigh* so unexpected!!! so sorry to hear but she knows now for sure

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 2/4/2005 10:24:12 AM
This is splendid! I love the title also.

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 2/4/2005 9:56:43 AM
this is so poignant...i need to quit writing and call my mother and say i love you

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 2/4/2005 9:21:24 AM
Oh this hurts. Yes, *Warm Bread* just reached in and squeezed my heart into a bloody pulp. I'm not sure I will be able to recover to finish this revie

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 2/4/2005 7:53:00 AM
Wow...very moving in such a short piece. I thought it was very touching.

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 2/4/2005 6:44:38 AM
You just reminded me to go and bake a loaf of bread.

Warm Bread (Poetry) - 2/4/2005 5:28:48 AM
I've never read anything more simplistic that is so packed full of meaning. Beautiful words, beautiful sentiment. (Isn't this one in your book?) :-) Blessings to you CJ...Michelle

Thinking of my father (Poetry) - 1/26/2005 3:16:58 AM
This is powerfully written, a fist in the gut write. I know a father and son just like this you have captured so much reality in your words.

Thinking of my father (Poetry) - 1/22/2005 3:47:05 PM
i'm amazed at the clarity you've achieved here. a worthy poem.

Thinking of my father (Poetry) - 1/21/2005 8:50:16 PM
No don't you have to let it out sometimes we feel things and we don't really know why, or are embaressed that we do it is for a reason, you don't seem the kind of person who is hateful or spiteful.....love him as best you can....one~day it will be revealed and the key is to love in peace do take care the best of wishes and prayers to you and yours

Thinking of my father (Poetry) - 1/21/2005 5:41:06 PM
Steven: This is one great write. I can feel the emotions from your words. Sandie Angel a.k.a. Sandie May Angel :o)

Thinking of my father (Poetry) - 1/21/2005 1:33:26 PM
I agree with Michelle but it was healing to you to write it. God bless.

Thinking of my father (Poetry) - 1/21/2005 11:56:48 AM
Yes CJ, one day you will be sorry you wrote this. But for now it's meant to be a catharis isn't it? Parenting is such a complicated business. I've learned that first hand. This is a fine piece of work. Check your email please. I sent you a couple this week! Thanks so much, Michelle

Old Song (Poetry) - 1/18/2005 9:48:07 PM
I know the feeling! Good one

Chairs (Poetry) - 1/18/2005 9:44:55 PM
What an unusally good imagination to bring these old chairs back to life once again. Les

A New Blue Bike (Poetry) - 1/18/2005 9:40:21 PM
Nice nostalgic poem, and good bike riding memories.

Chairs (Poetry) - 1/10/2005 10:09:13 AM
hahahaha this is such a feel good piece everything have a story...you did well conveying it!!!

Chairs (Poetry) - 1/9/2005 11:54:25 AM
I see you are up to your old tricks, C.J. And thanks for doing so. You bring animation to the inanimate, soul to the soulless, spirit to the dispirited. All the best, Leland

Nellie Ida (Poetry) - 1/9/2005 7:14:07 AM
Just when I thought I had read your best work, I find another one that I love!

Cornstalks (Poetry) - 1/9/2005 7:12:20 AM
Being an Indiana girl transplanted to Florida, this touched a deep chord inside of me. Michelle

Hometown (Poetry) - 1/9/2005 7:10:51 AM
Isn't THAT the truth? I just took a trip down memory lane when I visited my old home in Indiana. What I carried away from that visit felt much like what you describe. Especially after going thru the checkpoints at the airports to and from. Probed, poked, and abused! Terrific job CJ. Michelle

Snapshot of Uncles and Aunts (Poetry) - 1/9/2005 7:08:50 AM
"Here is a snapshot of uncles and aunts under a rusting sky." Imagery is delightful. "Arms crossed in fat knots". Ha ha! I have lots of old photos like those. Describes some of my kin perfectly! Michelle

The Long-Ago People (Poetry) - 1/9/2005 7:05:47 AM
This was like balm to my soul. You are a kindred spirit CJ.

Great-uncle Crowell (Poetry) - 1/9/2005 7:04:29 AM
I'm speechless..."When one is five, one is surprised to find that grownups are capable of storms". Superb. Michelle

House of Hang-ups (Poetry) - 1/9/2005 7:02:04 AM
I'm with Jeremy. This is amazing work, written from a child's perspective. Not an easy thing to do as an adult. Michelle

Skin (Poetry) - 1/9/2005 7:00:38 AM
You have such a way of discovering the mystery in the every day things we take for granted. Excellent. Michelle

Chairs (Poetry) - 1/9/2005 6:58:58 AM
This is a piece written by an 'old soul' as my grandmother was fond of calling me. Someone who can see past the obvious, and into the heart of everything they see. I can't remember reading anything recently that I've enjoyed more. Michelle

Chairs (Poetry) - 1/8/2005 2:23:22 PM
This one is so sentimental and how I feel when people have moved on and into the nursing home.

Skin (Poetry) - 12/14/2004 6:54:33 PM
A unique perspective. Thank you for sharing this offering. Love and peace. Regis

Skin (Poetry) - 12/12/2004 3:16:29 AM
What a cool way to look at skin. You my friend have such a way to describe what you see, you makes us see perfectly. TY. JC xoxoxo

The Cats in the Colosseum (Poetry) - 12/4/2004 1:42:30 PM
LOVE IT richly illustrated, the reader wants to read more...and is slightly disappointed when it ends...i was! a visual masterpiece! well done! (((HUGS))) and love, karla.

Skin (Poetry) - 12/4/2004 12:46:49 PM
an excellent poem

Skin (Poetry) - 12/4/2004 11:05:57 AM
Bravo! Just damn grand!

Skin (Poetry) - 12/4/2004 9:06:19 AM
Interesting. R

Skin (Poetry) - 12/4/2004 7:24:08 AM
what a very unique and clever write, great descriptives.

Snake Study (Poetry) - 11/22/2004 2:55:26 PM
Amazingly vivid. A packed two stanzas--Yeah: this is great stuff.

House of Hang-ups (Poetry) - 11/22/2004 2:52:52 PM
Wow. I think I've found my new AD favorite.

House of Hang-ups (Poetry) - 11/20/2004 7:00:09 PM
this is a fabulous poem about the truths and lessons we must learn from the child that resides within. your writing here is taut and images very effective, particularly those last lines. excellent!

Time and the Winter (Poetry) - 11/19/2004 6:27:05 AM
You are a find, C.J. Your poetry gives me what I seek in word art--that moment of yes, yes, exactly.

House of Hang-ups (Poetry) - 11/19/2004 6:24:11 AM
The child alongside just as the child within, leads us to what we will not see but must and finally can. A very worthy poem.

Snake Study (Poetry) - 11/11/2004 5:28:57 PM
Exellent metaphor. Highly imaginative how you did this. A fresh perspective, very poetically expressed!

Snake Study (Poetry) - 11/11/2004 11:26:05 AM
wow. a poem that makes me have a little sympathy for the snakes - that's a new one! great description. Dawn

World of the Wasted Years (Poetry) - 11/6/2004 10:51:32 AM
Wonderful expression. I enjoyed this, thank you.

World of the Wasted Years (Poetry) - 11/6/2004 10:38:32 AM
This is presented exceptionally well, great read! ~Z~

World of the Wasted Years (Poetry) - 11/6/2004 8:41:01 AM
You are Deborah Russell's pick of the day. I can see why. Exceptional piece!

World of the Wasted Years (Poetry) - 11/6/2004 8:26:00 AM
Great capture of the tragic loss of life.

The Cats in the Colosseum (Poetry) - 10/27/2004 2:19:07 AM
A visually entrancing poem! I particularly liked this line: 'The wind rose from the throats of a hundred entrances and became one cry.' Excellent imagery.

The Cats in the Colosseum (Poetry) - 10/26/2004 7:31:41 AM
cool. i love the metaphore

The Cats in the Colosseum (Poetry) - 10/25/2004 6:33:24 PM
I identified with this poem..I am in Rome at least once per year, to visit family, and am always amazed at the huge population of feral cats living among the ruins...You presented a great take through a unique perspective...Enjoyed

The Cats in the Colosseum (Poetry) - 10/25/2004 9:29:30 AM
this is an exceptionally well written poem

The Cats in the Colosseum (Poetry) - 10/25/2004 7:18:30 AM
fabulous write. i was back in the Colosseum, and i haven't been there for nearly 30 years. could see the tourists spilling popcorn and the circus outside... "a half-bowl splash of sunlight leaked from the Colosseum and drenched the hills of Rome." this image is just spectacular. now, i think i'll go rent "Gladiator" again. :)

The Professional (Poetry) - 10/11/2004 8:01:05 AM
as well he should. i love your poems. Dawn

Cornstalks (Poetry) - 9/24/2004 11:27:06 AM
I have had this re-acurring dream where I am lured out of my window by a mysterious man (handsome I am sure) his shadow anyway, and we embrace in the darkness surrounded by cornstalks that block the majority of the sunlite.... not really but for some reason this is what I thought as I read this thank you for sharing I did enjoy your poem and the thoughts that lingered from *BigSmiles

Cornstalks (Poetry) - 9/22/2004 6:03:00 PM
great descriptive write

Cornstalks (Poetry) - 9/22/2004 3:25:57 PM
(((cj))) growing up in ohio as i did, this brought back the sights, sounds and smells of cornfields. and i shucked plenty of ears :) love this descriptive delight--thank you (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Cornstalks (Poetry) - 9/22/2004 3:24:37 PM
what a wonderfully descriptive poem, i could almost see the corn field by my aunt's house

Great-uncle Crowell (Poetry) - 9/12/2004 4:49:30 PM
powerful, love the child's perspective ... what an ending.

Great-uncle Crowell (Poetry) - 9/12/2004 5:44:45 AM
This is an amazing write, capturing the feelings of the child, the sensory experience, and the idiosyncrasis of the elders.

You don't go to Nature (Poetry) - 9/1/2004 7:16:24 PM
I like this. Great first stanza.

You don't go to Nature (Poetry) - 9/1/2004 7:02:41 AM
great insights about the natural world and our ties to it. enjoyed much,

The Long-Ago People (Poetry) - 8/22/2004 3:26:32 AM
What an endearing and poignant poem. This one really touched me. You captured it so perfectly in this excellent work of art. With admiration Chanti

The Long-Ago People (Poetry) - 8/21/2004 8:18:24 PM
never gone, but gone deeper ... well put.

The Long-Ago People (Poetry) - 8/21/2004 3:20:23 PM
Wonderful write!

Had I Been (Poetry) - 8/15/2004 11:15:50 AM
This is a poetic vegetable patch with a difference. I loved the imagery here and there are a few gems that I just wish I had written first, lines like "hands massaging the soft back of the wind" The absurdity of some of the comparisons such as "the slender wrists of a tomato" only serve to make this poem fascinating and it is one that is sure to linger on in my mind. What an imagination you have! Chanti

Had I Been (Poetry) - 8/15/2004 10:56:25 AM
Dear C J What a wonderfully creative delight. Beautifully penned. warm hugs Elga

Had I Been (Poetry) - 8/15/2004 8:49:41 AM
Love this. It reflects on so many things we should have done. May Lu a.k.a. Sandie May Angel

Had I Been (Poetry) - 8/15/2004 6:55:23 AM
Ripe with imagination, abounding in creativity. Love the tone and cadence as well. Good and crispy stuff here.

Had I Been (Poetry) - 8/15/2004 5:52:55 AM
I absolutely love this poem, it is so intune with the Earth and life.

Hometown (Poetry) - 8/6/2004 9:00:01 PM
It's amazing how drastically things change. Great write.

Hometown (Poetry) - 8/6/2004 4:09:51 PM
I still live in my hometown. And I've taken note of how it has changed over the years. Places which held some of my fondest memories are now the parking lots and shopping centers you speak of. There is now a bank, a Hardee's, a Wings Ole, and an Office Depot where my elementary school used to be. Sometimes I can't bear to look at those places when I drive past.

Hometown (Poetry) - 8/5/2004 7:12:40 PM
loved this.

Hometown (Poetry) - 8/5/2004 6:17:09 PM
Poetic truth. So much of this is a sad commentary on cotemporary life. Enjoyed.

Sugar and Spice (Poetry) - 8/2/2004 7:25:59 PM
I remember this tale from Collected Poems. Perhaps like you, I've wondered why the fair sex can make such a fuss about a bit of reflected light piercing something so obscure as a keyhole. LOL Best regards, Leland

Sugar and Spice (Poetry) - 8/1/2004 10:46:07 PM
sometimes the sweetest things in life retain a bad aftertaste ...

Sugar and Spice (Poetry) - 8/1/2004 2:29:25 PM
You certainly tell a good tale. I was just reading some of your other works and decided to track you. I have a poem called Sugar & Spice as well but it's a bit different. ;) You seem to keep your reader involved in a casual and comforting way. Very good. JC

Noon (Poetry) - 7/15/2004 1:06:03 PM
this is packed with so many great images!

Noon (Poetry) - 7/15/2004 9:09:29 AM
wonderful prose. i just came back from the southwest and i could see the area we crossed in arizona in your words

Snapshot of Uncles and Aunts (Poetry) - 7/9/2004 11:21:08 AM
Wonderful expression... much is said here.

Snapshot of Uncles and Aunts (Poetry) - 7/8/2004 5:06:39 PM
nice prose piece.....line breaks are random...intentional or AD format?

A New Blue Bike (Poetry) - 6/27/2004 11:37:39 PM
This is a wonderful read. Thanks for the smile.

A New Blue Bike (Poetry) - 6/27/2004 9:18:24 PM
excellent ride down memory lane ...

A New Blue Bike (Poetry) - 6/27/2004 12:09:20 PM
I loved this! Mine was a burgundy Free Spirit boys 10-speed (I wanted to race with the boys). There's something about a bike that represents freedom and individuality. Thanks for this today. Dawn

A New Blue Bike (Poetry) - 6/27/2004 11:08:14 AM
I got a green Schwinn with a unused horn in the tank and a much used buddy seat over the rear fender. My twin brother's was maroon and an older model, part of a two bike deal my Dad struck. Never pitched papers but put 50,000 school and fishing miles on it before selling it for half what my Dad paid.

A New Blue Bike (Poetry) - 6/27/2004 10:44:51 AM
Some fond memories are always good to revisit. Great write, Steve! ~ May Lu a.k.a. Sandie May Angel ~

The Clothesline (Poetry) - 6/23/2004 9:21:01 PM
Excellent- bet you would write great stories with unique descriptions. That line about the lungs is fab.

The Clothesline (Poetry) - 6/20/2004 5:23:34 PM
this is exceptional. i love the approach of subject.

The Clothesline (Poetry) - 6/20/2004 8:06:39 AM
I like the parade of thooughts that comes with the clothesline. Very creative indeed. ~ Sandie May Angel ~

The Clothesline (Poetry) - 6/20/2004 7:15:32 AM
I like the flow of this poem, great job.

Nellie Ida (Poetry) - 6/17/2004 3:14:20 AM
C.J. I enjoyed your descriptive fascination with Nellie Ida

Nellie Ida (Poetry) - 6/16/2004 1:43:41 PM
great write... love the description of summer at the close.

Nobody (Poetry) - 6/10/2004 7:44:50 AM
wow....sad expressed to the point of wondering....enjoyed it

Nobody (Poetry) - 6/9/2004 5:17:53 AM
Deep sensitive write

Nobody (Poetry) - 6/9/2004 2:07:12 AM
excellent description and powerful poem, C.J. I could feel the train and hear her voice here. Love how you end this. Subtle perfection that underscores the emotional tone...

Nobody (Poetry) - 6/8/2004 6:45:42 PM
THIS is poetry! Excellent expression and incredible finish. Thank you.

Nobody (Poetry) - 6/8/2004 11:05:18 AM
Absolutely outstanding poetry, powerful, Reindeer

Annual Visit (Poetry) - 6/5/2004 12:53:52 PM
Ironic how life's circumstances are able to shape and mold us. And those same life events can circumvent as well, changing who we become. This is a wonderful example. Thanks for sharing.

Annual Visit (Poetry) - 6/2/2004 1:16:20 PM
nice write! :D (((HUGS)))

Annual Visit (Poetry) - 6/2/2004 9:53:38 AM
Wonderful description. The last line is a gem.

Time and the Winter (Poetry) - 5/28/2004 4:13:31 AM
Incredible imagery in a very unique poem.

Time and the Winter (Poetry) - 5/25/2004 4:50:22 PM
wow..I loved the imagery in this poem! Reindeer

Time and the Winter (Poetry) - 5/25/2004 4:34:42 PM
Very nice. This is extremely well done.

Time and the Winter (Poetry) - 5/25/2004 4:27:50 PM
hmm...lots going on here what a winter image thanks, d.

Time and the Winter (Poetry) - 5/25/2004 3:18:38 PM
Most active winter scene I've ever seen. Nice to meet your poetry. And you. Smiles, cynth'ya lewis reed

The Familiar (Poetry) - 5/19/2004 4:23:32 PM
wonderful write

Somersaults (Poetry) - 5/18/2004 8:33:04 PM
This is terrific.

Somersaults (Poetry) - 5/13/2004 10:09:42 AM
ENJOYED ENJOYED ENJOYED

Somersaults (Poetry) - 5/12/2004 10:01:34 AM
WOnderful composition!!!

Elegy for a Merchant (Poetry) - 4/30/2004 5:29:30 PM
a very unique perspective of suicide ... i like the imagery and attitude of this poem ...

Elegy for a Merchant (Poetry) - 4/27/2004 3:53:51 PM
great poem. i like this one a lot.

Elegy for a Merchant (Poetry) - 4/27/2004 1:07:51 PM
Oh my...incredible, powerful and so haunting, outstanding poetry! Reindeer

This is just to say (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 6:07:08 PM
a lesson in life to trust our own instincts rather than relying on the "capabilities" of others ... well penned ...

This is just to say (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 2:40:00 PM
A most powerful piece, C.J. (Smiling and nodding, I am...) Thank you.

This is just to say (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 11:17:17 AM
love your reserve in this good way to look at it .... nice

This is just to say (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 10:42:09 AM
I'll just bet at the time you weren't so grateful...isn't it funny how time and thought makes us mellow? Enjoyable write. Lisa

Peddlers (Poetry) - 4/25/2004 8:27:34 AM
you give us such a sight feels like i know the place

Peddlers (Poetry) - 4/22/2004 3:10:56 PM
Must have been a well traveled road.......:)

Ages Ago (Poetry) - 4/8/2004 11:53:39 PM
C.J., Indeed very well done ... loved the images ... they reflected your emotional state very well. Happy Easter. Bill Murray

Ages Ago (Poetry) - 4/6/2004 10:25:04 AM
a well done piece on the winter blues...good job, C.J.

Ages Ago (Poetry) - 4/6/2004 9:33:25 AM
has a nice flow to it ...

Ages Ago (Poetry) - 4/6/2004 9:11:30 AM
This is in a word: Wonderful!

Ages Ago (Poetry) - 4/6/2004 7:16:51 AM
great write.

The Hill (Poetry) - 4/2/2004 3:59:57 PM
wonderful tale........... its just like life!!!

Beginnings (Poetry) - 3/26/2004 10:21:20 AM
Images our outstanding!

Forecast (Poetry) - 3/20/2004 8:22:55 PM
i like the structure and movement of imagery in this poem ...

Forecast (Poetry) - 3/20/2004 3:39:44 PM
Thought provoking. Summer comes, and with it wishes for fall. Excellent imagery. Best regards, Leland

Forecast (Poetry) - 3/20/2004 9:24:27 AM
Wonderful visuals and yes summer comes.

Landfill (Poetry) - 3/10/2004 3:36:25 PM
Wow! Great job! Loved the glass "like pins."

Landfill (Poetry) - 3/10/2004 2:50:29 PM
full of metaphors, full of figurative and illustrative language a truly masterpiece of earthly disposal in epic proportions. Good writing Cheers Alain

Landfill (Poetry) - 3/10/2004 1:28:18 PM
dynamite write, C.J....should be used as a poster for why we should recycle

Landfill (Poetry) - 3/10/2004 12:23:59 PM
Beautiful imagery, poignant observation turned into dramatic prose. I enjoyed it. Franz

Upstairs (Poetry) - 3/10/2004 6:16:53 AM
The mood of the poem is dark and I could understand the need to be downstairs where it was warm. Very good job. ;) Silver

Upstairs (Poetry) - 3/3/2004 1:11:33 PM
small child ? or visions of one who has kept a keepsake that is no more? or could it be a box or memories of an adult? tell me please good write

The Barn (Poetry) - 11/22/2003 9:11:24 AM
Excellent imagery and write.

The Barn (Poetry) - 11/22/2003 8:12:32 AM
Excellent write !

The Barn (Poetry) - 11/22/2003 6:43:21 AM
This leaves one with an astounding vision. Good write. Lisa

Jimmy's Father (Poetry) - 11/22/2003 5:20:39 AM
??? Sandie Angel a.k.a. May Lu :o)

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.