AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Elisabeth Barstowe, iM. Pritchard, iDave Brooks, iLisa Loucks Christenson, iFrank Whyte, iNicholas Coe, iKeith Wright, i
 
Home > Linda Bergman-Althouse
 

Recent Reviews for Linda Bergman-Althouse


Save Them All (Book) - 4/2/2008 7:51:55 AM
This looks like it may be a good read for my summer vacation this year in Vermont (I live in Florida) I moved inland a year ago from the beach and I'm getting to hate it. Do you live near the outer banks? I particularly fond of doing anything to help animals especially shore related (they are under even greater stress.) I've rescued many a sea-bird and taken them to rehabilitators in Daytona Beach. (I used to be a fisherman) I miss the world you are probably a part of daily... I'll check Amazon unless you can rec. where I can get it cheaper (almost broke writer/musician) Best of luck, michael guy

Hangin' Out! (Short Story) - 10/28/2008 2:03:33 AM
Cute story. I agree - book fairs, conventions, expos and workshops are the best way to connect with writers and book lovers. Hope to see you as a "Big Head/Big Shoes" some day. All the best, Donelle

LOOKING BACK (Short Story) - 10/22/2008 6:49:04 AM
I had a similar experience as a child with a wolf I saw in an enclosure. And again, with a killer whale in Sea World that was the initiative for me to quit a job I hated and take up writing fulltime. It's amazing the impact that animals can have on our lives if we just let them... Thanks for your recent comment and I hope you'll visit us at PetsWeekly.com and at our forum at http://petsweekly.ning.com/ to share your wildlife rescue experiences with everyone. Meanwhile, I look forward to reading more of your work! Best, Stacy

Hangin' Out! (Short Story) - 10/19/2008 7:51:04 AM
What a wonderful experience you describe in this adorable write Linda. Love, Bonnie

Words With the Tiniest (Short Story) - 9/27/2008 9:32:30 AM
Absolutely beautiful Linda as I do love to watch the Hummingbirds ever so dainty in their ways. Thank you for sharing. Newfie Hugs, Rose

LOOKING BACK (Short Story) - 8/31/2008 2:26:05 PM
I guess given what's going on in the "natural habits" of such animals, I have to agree with your view on zoos now. It's a lesser of two evils, as long as the animals are cared for well. Still, the few times I've visited, I've had mixed emotions on them. Still planning on buying your incredible book, but October looks like the first oppurtunity. I know you (and fulltime workers) find that hard to believe, but it is actually expensive for me; (though I'm sure worth every penny) In the meantime, I'd like to read your articles with such interesting 2-word titles! And, this writing is excellent by the way! With so few words you delivered a complete story with imagery, emotions, reflections - If that's what is delivered in your book(s) it is well done indeed. I'll try the articles soon... best regards, michael

Feathered Time (Short Story) - 8/24/2007 5:55:48 PM
Yes I do Walt

Feathered Time (Short Story) - 8/22/2007 11:22:16 AM
Yes. I do love happy endings. Nicely done, Linda. Your kinship with nature is evidenced by this write. Thank you. Love and blessings to you, Regis

Feathered Time (Short Story) - 8/22/2007 10:28:17 AM
Happy endings like this one are always truly marvelous to behold!

Feathered Time (Short Story) - 8/22/2007 10:07:59 AM
Fantastic story, Linda. I have a bank of windows in my kitchen that overlook the woods and creek behind my house. One of my greatest pleasures is watching the various birds that come to my feeders. Sparkly snowflake clings adorn my windows summer and winter to prevent just this very thing, but sometimes it happens anyway. It is always such a relief when they gather their wits and fly away. I truly enjoyed this story.

Dances With Wrens (Short Story) - 8/7/2007 5:54:23 AM
Simply Marvelous, Linda. I love both chickadees and wrens, and Dance On!

Coming Together (Short Story) - 7/21/2007 8:11:50 AM
Nice story; very well done, Linda! :)

Tree Rustling (Article) - 7/28/2008 7:12:59 AM
Well make sure they pay for the crime and stick to the law. There is always going to be a crook out there. Homes will be built and I have always said if they are going to continue to cut down the trees, then they should have to plant two for everyone removed. Thank you for sharing. Newfie Hugs, Rose

Ceiling Walker (Article) - 6/29/2008 2:47:31 PM
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Linda; and best wishes with your writing project. Love and peace, Regis

Love, What's With That? (Article) - 10/19/2007 7:43:35 PM
I seem to only be able to write when I'm at one end or the other of the emotional spectrum. ecstacy or misery. what I wouldn't give to live the rest of my days in that wonderful in-between and never write again.

Pubfishing (Article) - 8/22/2007 11:20:18 PM
I really enjoyed reading your good advice.I'm Currently finishing my first Novel "A Baser Kingdom". With this in mind, my first thought is for it to be read by as many as possible. I have two other books published, none of them with any popular publishers. However, there still is the joy of knowing someone still gets to read my work.

Moment On The Beach (Poetry) - 5/13/2010 9:18:04 PM
I enjoyed your poem and I was there. Tony

To Kiss The Sun (Poetry) - 4/19/2010 2:26:51 PM
Only one sun could kiss another sun. A moment to treasure no doubt. Tony

Tippin'em Off (Poetry) - 4/12/2010 4:59:08 AM
Not all landings are soft. Nothing like being welcomed back to the next, when needed. Take care Tony

The Only Woman In The World (Poetry) - 4/3/2010 2:50:07 PM
Very nice. Well written, nice flow, Dreams are real, If you so choose ! Take care Tony

The Day (Poetry) - 8/19/2009 12:02:35 PM
Thanks Fee. I've been consumed this past year with helping Mom live as she wished, independently. She just couldn't realize how much care she really needs. It's a wonderful facility (they call it "A Village," with a gracious, caring and sensitive staff. It's a beautiful environment with lots of amenities that register with me, but I don't think she takes all that in. Sometimes she understands why she's there and other times, not so much, but she's already quite taken with the activity room and doesn't want to be bothered when she's painting. : ) Visits will happen often. Thanks again for your insight and support.

The Day (Poetry) - 8/18/2009 12:36:11 PM
The decision to place a loved one in a home or special facility is often the most difficult one we may make in our lifetime. It is never taken lightly and in most cases it is in the best interest of the ones we vow to cherish. The placement in such a facility is though not the issue so much as will we find or make the time to go there every opportunity we have to visit them and let them know they have not been deserted. I often complained of the time my wife spent visiting each night and weekend with her mother in such a place, but the truth is the woman passed away this summer and was never forgotten even for one day. fee

The Only Woman In The World (Poetry) - 3/24/2009 8:31:04 AM
Honest, soul baring write...beautiful work.

Backyard Fatality . . . . . . (Poetry) - 11/14/2008 6:56:01 PM
Your kinship with and knowledge and love of nature are most evident in your verses, Linda. Sadly, this world/life is full of "backyard fatalities." Thank you for sharing your experiences. Love and best wishes, Regis

I Want (Poetry) - 10/17/2008 1:31:28 AM
What a great find ! Such maturity. I hope you want for nothing ! Tony

Backyard Fatality . . . . . . (Poetry) - 10/17/2008 1:28:40 AM
Like children, you can't be there all the time for them. Sometimes caring is the best you can do ! Tony

Moment On The Beach (Poetry) - 10/14/2008 11:04:53 PM
A Moment on the Beach...filled with wonder and passing thoughts. The imagery perfect, as you made me feel I was there.

Backyard Fatality . . . . . . (Poetry) - 10/14/2008 11:02:25 PM
Life is a cycle, whether in nature or humanity. Beautiful writing.

Backyard Fatality . . . . . . (Poetry) - 10/13/2008 11:56:00 PM
Beautiful Morning To you Linda, I have a coopers hawk who claims my yard as part of his territory too. One year I attracted over 200 sparrows to my morning glories (which also took claim of my entire front porch & awning/roof) this coopers hawk would swoop in & fly right past my face...aurgh!! He & his mate also perched on my banisters, mostly the female. It was quite startling to be so close to talons that year. I was screaming all the time till I took down the morning glories the sparrows roosted in.... Much Love & Blessings of Mother Earth Embraced ~ Embrassť Peace, Love & Poetry Vickie

Backyard Fatality . . . . . . (Poetry) - 10/13/2008 6:18:31 AM
Wonderful writing sweet lady..enjoyed...Hugsssssss

Backyard Fatality . . . . . . (Poetry) - 10/13/2008 4:24:19 AM
As much as I love nature and nature loves me, I canít seem to escape the occasional backyard fatality. I can't either, but Nature has her own ways, and we are usually powerless to stop her.

Backyard Fatality . . . . . . (Poetry) - 10/12/2008 8:36:52 PM
All a part of the cycle of life and you have captured the moment well.... Be always safe, Karen

Backyard Fatality . . . . . . (Poetry) - 10/12/2008 7:44:14 PM
I used to live at a place where our neighbouring cat kept coming over to our yard to tease our cat that sits at the window, got our cat all upset and excited. We tried to shoot water at the neighbor's cat with a water gun. It worked for a while, then it got used to it. The apples were always half eaten by the squirrels and the raccoons and laid on the ground and we had to pick them up; but it was fun though. I love the backyard and the nature! Wonderful write and a thought-provoking piece! Sandie Angel :o)

Blue Collar Thumbs (Poetry) - 10/8/2008 1:16:36 AM
This is wonderfully creative. Enjoyed! Sheila

I Want (Poetry) - 4/1/2008 5:39:28 AM
Good Morning Linda, What A Lovely Treasure Your Have From Your Days Of Being A Little Girl! This Write Is So Precious. Your Beautiful Words From So Long Ago Are Penned Like A Princess! Embraced ~ Embrassť Vickie

The Playground (Poetry) - 10/19/2007 7:38:45 PM
yes

The Only Woman In The World (Poetry) - 10/12/2007 9:40:39 AM
Yes We All Think These Things For Our Love ~Embraced~Vickie

To Kiss The Sun (Poetry) - 10/12/2007 9:37:28 AM
Love does often unfold a destiny unlike what our expectaions seen. Love's Slender is worth all "Depleted from battle I had not won, the wholeness became two ćagain, and I cannot face the sun." Then perhaps in time to face a new sunrise ~Embraced~Vickie

Blue Collar Thumbs (Poetry) - 9/25/2007 5:00:56 PM
Interesting write! Blessings, Holly

To Kiss The Sun (Poetry) - 9/20/2007 6:36:14 PM
Very romantic, love this work! blessings, Holly

I Want (Poetry) - 9/16/2007 11:25:28 AM
Very nicely done Linda, blessings, holly

Blue Collar Thumbs (Poetry) - 8/27/2007 7:11:57 AM
Love the ending, Tap On!

Blue Collar Thumbs (Poetry) - 8/26/2007 9:18:22 AM
Linda, With the guidance of such fantastic digits, I give you a two thumbs up for this one. Blessings Always, paul.

To Kiss The Sun (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 11:31:40 PM
You have captured the pulsating feeling of trying to reach for a love that was of a different color.Enjoyed

Tippin'em Off (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 11:29:22 PM
This poem reaches right into my heart. Three of my kids have left the nest.

The Playground (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 11:27:53 PM
What a wonderful playground of contrast you have created here. Moments of the past that thread together to make your soul. Enjoyed

The Only Woman In The World (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 11:25:37 PM
This poem soars to the dazzling heights of love.

The Nose (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 11:23:56 PM
Wow, this is a great poem. My nose really enjoyed this.

Moment On The Beach (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 11:22:35 PM
Loved this poem of Okinawa. A friend of mine (Mike Henry) was born here. Sure wish I could hear from him. He is a great martial artist,and friend.

I Want (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 6:22:53 AM
I want to live nestled in the woods and befriend all the deer. I still do! And I wouldn't worry about that very nasty critic below. Write On!

I Want (Poetry) - 8/22/2007 4:01:54 AM
Linda, I thought it was a believable poem for a ten year old. I'm not a critic and never will be but if I were a teacher in an English Literature Class you would definitely not get an F. Blessings Always, Paul.

I Want (Poetry) - 8/21/2007 9:09:31 PM
You have shown all the aspirations of what dreams are made of. Simply a beautiful poem.

I Want (Poetry) - 8/21/2007 7:40:55 PM
Thanks for your opinion David. Obviously you didn't know me at 10 or the environment I was raised in. Only then would you understand why I very clearly knew the concept of wanting and dreaming. You are right with most of your other accusations--probably written quickly (maybe when I was hiding in the chicken coup), no idea about construction, it is repetitive and some of the other things you said. Although at 10, I wasn't very demanding -- too intimidated for that. So if you were my teacher and I was 10 would I get an F in poetry? Linda

To Kiss The Sun (Poetry) - 8/21/2007 4:07:01 PM
Many will relate to these sentiments, Linda. I know I do. Thank you. Love and peace, Regis

The Nose (Poetry) - 8/21/2007 4:05:28 PM
Cleverly done, Linda; I appreciate your wit and humor. Love and peace to you, Regis

Moment On The Beach (Poetry) - 8/13/2007 10:19:04 AM
Thank you for sharing this perspective and sentiments, Linda. Love and peace, Regis

The Only Woman In The World (Poetry) - 8/13/2007 10:17:47 AM
You allude to a universal (and painful) theme, Linda. Well done. Thank you for sharing this offering. Love and peace to you, Regis

To Kiss The Sun (Poetry) - 8/11/2007 4:19:37 PM
"As destiny foretold, love, like the seasons, changed it's color without my permission and out of my order." Boy, does this hit home. Cuts to the bone.

The Only Woman In The World (Poetry) - 8/11/2007 4:16:55 PM
it's a wonderful dream, one I once had as well.

Tippin'em Off (Poetry) - 8/7/2007 1:49:47 PM
Amen, thanks for sharing and keep the faith. God Bless You and Your Loved Ones The Christian Cop

Moment On The Beach (Poetry) - 8/6/2007 7:40:31 PM
Linda, THIS IS Poetry, Born in Saint Louis were you? Sounds Like a fine town. "Donny"

The Playground (Poetry) - 7/24/2007 5:13:05 PM
Great visuals throughout. Love that tree you're sitting on.

To Kiss The Sun (Poetry) - 7/17/2007 6:26:59 AM
Enjoyed these lines. Thanks for sharing

To Kiss The Sun (Poetry) - 7/17/2007 4:58:47 AM
Great writing,Hugsssssss

To Kiss The Sun (Poetry) - 7/16/2007 11:13:09 PM
Romantic writes are my favorite. This is well done.

To Kiss The Sun (Poetry) - 7/16/2007 4:39:57 PM
This was an exceptional piece of poetry!!!!

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.