AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Frederick Brooke, iJerry Engler, iSara Coslett, iCatriona King, iMark Lichterman, iWilliam Lowenkamp, iCraig Hartpence, i
 
Home > Jansen Estrup
 

Recent Reviews for Jansen Estrup


Starlight On Stone CRUX (ebook) (Book) - 5/17/2014 11:26:41 AM
Intense Sci-fi. Enjoyable, bite-size excerpt makes you want to read more. Just Pier

Starlight On Stone CRUX (Book) - 3/31/2014 1:39:36 PM
Congratulations on your latest book. From what I can see, you use great imagination and your work. That's something that I don't think that I am capable of. Ron

Starlight On Stone WEST (Book) - 3/9/2014 10:30:16 AM
My Rate 5 Stars Starlight On Stone West is a fast moving, yet wonderfully revealing tale upheaval, displacement and relationships. Not a standard story line, West is peopled with memorable heroes, believable events and factual magic. Joanie on e-library

Starlight On Stone SOUTH (Book) - 9/30/2013 5:15:12 AM
Starlight On Stone SOUTH is now available through Amazon on Kindle and as a free library book the world over.

Starlight On Stone EAST (ebook) (Book) - 2/4/2013 9:54:43 AM
This book is an essential part of the Starlight On Stone epic which includes, WEST, SOUTH and NORTH, all currently available. The climax, CRUX, will be published in the Winter of 2014. Characters of all four books focus their journeys, intentionally or involuntarily, upon the religious and trading center at Kadesh, where antiquity's greatest battle remains unresolved. Unforgettable personalities like Shargo the Strong, Shi-shi the boy-king, Twice-born Twi and Tyrana the Shadow Queen people this saga with real men and women. No angels or faeries, vampires or daemons mar this narrative, only the superstitions and hopes of those who find themselves overwhelmed by circumsance.

Starlight On Stone NORTH (ebook) (Book) - 2/1/2013 10:03:40 AM
Congratulations, Jansen, you're very productive these days, which gives this old man hope.

Starlight On Stone WEST (ebook) (Book) - 1/30/2013 10:13:03 AM
Best of luck with your new book, Jansen. I hope it brings you great fortune.

Starlight On Stone NORTH (Book) - 1/12/2013 10:13:03 AM
My best to you, Jansen, with your new book. May you sell a million. Terry

Starlight On Stone SOUTH (ebook) (Book) - 5/9/2012 1:57:22 PM
Good luck with your new book, Jansen. I hope you make the best sellers list. Terry

Starlight On Stone SOUTH (Book) - 4/21/2012 2:18:06 PM
I wish you all the best with your new book, Jansen. May the winds bring you bookoo readers.

Midas (Short Story) - 3/30/2015 6:23:44 AM
Grandkids are the universe's way of balancing the cosmic scales. They are the delight of grandparents, the band of their own parents, and it all evens out. Your stories make wonderful reading although I doubt if your own kids would ever crack the pages. Mine won't get near anything I write. Great tale of the wagging tails.

Midas (Short Story) - 3/15/2015 4:19:34 AM
A Very Good Dog Story, indeed. And so glad you rescued Midas from the shelter - dogs never forget who rescued them - and they often end up rescuing us in return.

Midas (Short Story) - 3/10/2015 4:01:58 AM
I can't imagine feeding and taking care of three dogs, but then, where you live, it probably is commonplace. I'm surprised that you got Midas at the pound. In country like that, I thought that most people got their dogs from litters of neighbors' puppies. I loved reading about Midas's adventures. Ron

French Poets II (Short Story) - 3/1/2015 8:55:09 AM
Once again, very interesting and well written. I have not read the first installment, so Philip was a mystery to me when he first appeared in the middle of your fascinating rendition of Ethiopian history. Will have to go back and read French Poets I. Around 1960 or 61, Haile Selassie sent a student to my technical University, Stout State, in northwestern Wisconsin. His studies there were so successful, several more Ethiopian men (I don't recall any women) came during the time I was a student. One night in 1965, I was headed out to Pete's Pine Point Lodge on a lake about 10 miles from town, a place that had been boycotted in 1961 for rejecting entry to black football players from the school. I don't recall exactly how it happened, but I picked up six over 6 foot tall handsome Ethiopians in my 57 Desoto, and took them with me. It seemed they liked dancing to rock 'n roll with the university coeds. When the bar closed at 1 am, not all of them returned with me to town. Some had hooked up with girls for the ride back. That was my only experience with the Ethiopians on campus. I didn't even know any of their names. Ron

Sir You are Free to Go (Short Story) - 1/30/2015 11:04:53 AM
"Everything wooden was lost" Thank God its a renewable resource. You write well, Jan, and I delight in your imagery and detail. May I say that the legacy you leave to your grandchildren is honorable, and, in its time, will certainly bless them all. Amen. Maybe not a Truman Capote, but a fine, one-of-a-kind, Jansen Estrup. Enjoyed this. Peace to you... rlc

Sir You are Free to Go (Short Story) - 12/26/2014 10:06:54 AM
Thanks for the notes. Some chop jobs work, others do not. Experimentation does not always teach much, either. The mix of headline and intimate knowledge may work in the longer version. I'm certainly not skillful at 'creative journalism' but did enjoy dabbling in it. Hearing much of the story second hand left me some room for imagination, but the gist of the tale came out of newspaper clippings and conversations with Pete. The protagonist was very frugal, but also sold his services dearly on both (or should I say many) sides of the law as he burned his candle at both ends. The official cause of death was natural causes (heart). Thanks again for the feedback. I'll try to make it easier next time, although I'm sure I'll never be a Truman Capote.

Sir You are Free to Go (Short Story) - 12/26/2014 8:40:51 AM
Aside from a few memorable lines from time to time, this one escapes me. At first it seems to read like a news story that may or may not have been true. And then the protagonist, after escaping conviction, seems able to retire with no serious means of employment except seafaring, as though, perhaps, he had cashed in on that load of marijuana that was missing? The ending left me wondering… Did he die of natural causes, or was he poisoned. Ron

Sir You are Free to Go (Short Story) - 12/25/2014 4:49:15 PM
More! I love these stories.

Sir You are Free to Go (Short Story) - 12/25/2014 11:49:17 AM
Unfortunately, at my age my attention span for reading is two pages, for TV is 20 minutes, and for sex is two minutes max. I never get to read your postings. Sex gets in the way...

Loose Lips (Short Story) - 12/22/2014 7:50:37 AM
Try as I may, I couldn't figure out how you compromised security. All I could think of was a telephone conversation you had that was picked up. Perhaps that's what you meant by everyone compromising security in some way or another. As for the Walker ring, I had not heard of it either. As near as I could tell from your story, they sold cryptology secrets to Russia. And, as far as the Pueblo goes, by seizing the ship, the North Koreans were able to gain all the equipment and procedures from that ship. I hope I'm right on this because I was having a little trouble following because of the way you wrote it in the first person… Meaning the way that you perceived what was going on. I couldn't believe what had happened to your wife at such a young age. And you being away in service at the same time. I often wonder what my surgery would have been like had I waited to have it done much later. I might not be paralyzed now. My surgeon, Dr. Bahij (Buzz) Salibi, was a renowned teaching surgeon at the University of Wisconsin. He was born in Egypt, came from Lebanon, served in a M*A*S*H unit during the Korean War and perhaps, was the model for the part of Klinger played by Jamie Farr although he was really Hawkeye Pierce in Korea. The show could not have a Egyptian as the lead, could they? He told me that I was his only failure for all the people he saved from brain injury, meningitis, and spinal cord problems. Ron

Loose Lips (Short Story) - 12/22/2014 3:39:14 AM
enjoyed the information

Loose Lips (Short Story) - 12/21/2014 11:16:27 AM
That was very interesting, and I knew nothing about it. I will look for the film on Netflix. Thanks for that!

New Year's Eve, the prequel (Short Story) - 12/11/2014 11:11:09 AM
I like the way Ron expressed it. I think you write very well and I find your story engaging. Thank you for sharing it, Jansen. Love and peace to you, Regis

Age (Short Story) - 12/10/2014 4:49:09 AM
This is fantastic information! I've always wondered about that phrase, too, and the length of time people lived according to scripture. I knew there were past calendars, but this offers some insight into those references. Thanks!

New Year's Eve, the prequel (Short Story) - 12/6/2014 6:44:08 AM
A very eye catching, informative beginning.

New Year's Eve, the prequel (Short Story) - 11/27/2014 8:11:22 AM
Oh, how I love the way you write! And this all happened "before" New Year's Eve? You certainly have enlightened much of my ignorance. It's quite amazing all happenstance brought you upon a Brit that, in spite of his inebriation, was quite instructive for your RR & R. The history of Japan over beers and egg noodle soup! And to meet a survivor of Nagasaki… What are the chances of that? Once again, your family will cherish your stories for very long time. And many others will be enlightened by what you experienced during the Vietnam War from ship side and beyond. Ron

New Year's Eve (Short Story) - 11/23/2014 10:57:15 AM
War stories for your grandchildren, perhaps, but appreciated by those of us who partook of that war nonetheless. Few could guess that the C-47 was once loaded with guns in her back doors, and when flown in circular bank could unleash sheer hell on the ground below. From a "secret" location near the Laotian border we were cautioned to not reveal who we were or what we were doing there. GIs are quick to adjust. We became railroad workers, and a few liked to admit to "laying thais." Stories told as only a seasoned writer can recall and make them understandable. Well done, Jansen.

New Year's Eve (Short Story) - 11/23/2014 8:12:08 AM
I marvel at how well you write! And your knowledge! It far exceeds what is expected from your story. In spite of being trapped in a tin can in the Gulf of Tonkin Yacht Club, it was a memorable New Year that you remembered very well. A joy to read. I believe John Wayne immortalized "Puff the Magic Dragon" in his movie, The Green Berets. In contrast, at that time I was in touch with a recent friend who had been drafted into the Navy and was the driver for the Commandant at the Alameda Naval Air Station. Although we hit The City to celebrate one night with some buddies, not on that particular New Year. Instead, my roommate and I decided to date two Canadian nurses in our apartment building. It wasn't the new year, I don't remember what I did that night, but the Chinese New Year, and we took the girls to Chinatown where I got to see a real dragon in the streets that were explosive with firecrackers and a sit-down meal in a fabulous two-story Chinese restaurant overlooking Grant Avenue. Later, we hit one of the piers for a few drinks and the midnight movies where the memorable picture was The Flaming Creatures, a homosexual Gothic horror classic. A far cry from what you're experiencing except for the explosions and dragon. Ron

Neptune's Realm - Love Among the Long Dead Men (Short Story) - 10/12/2014 10:57:01 AM
Enjoyed reading your informative article m

Shipyards and Last Ships (Short Story) - 9/21/2014 9:15:37 AM
JANSEN ... Enjoyable read. My "naval" experiences were quite different, and quite tamer. Although a member of the U.S. Army Reserves from 1960-1966, I went to Seaman's School during Advanced Training at Ft. Eustis Va & had an MOS of 560 - Seaman. Only "action" seen was in the James River. Stationed aboard a 176 ft Freighter, we went out & anchored while a Diver went down to take his Test. As a scrappy chap of 140 lbs then, I was sent up the mast to the Crow's Nest to keep Watch. T'was my first bout of "seasickness" as the damned ship bobbed like

Childhood Recall 2.0 (Short Story) - 8/18/2014 5:13:20 AM
This was fun. I am 64 and often, lately, I have random memories of things from my childhood - people, places and events I had totally forgotten until that moment. Enjoyed your sharing -- 'thanks for the memories.'

Shipyards and Last Ships (Short Story) - 8/15/2014 10:26:19 AM
Your father was a legend and probably hard to live up to. Ships certainly gave you enough adventure for a lifetime. The only time I came in contact with the Navy was working with all the World War II Navy vets at LenKurt in San Carlos during the height of the Vietnam War. We built telephone switches for the military. Hull is derived from shipbuilders and, according to my brother's foray into genealogy, six brothers of our name built the ship in England and sailed it to New England around 1620. Landlocked in Wisconsin, only my uncle Bruce Hull, served in the Navy during the Korean war. Made a career out of his welding skills. Enjoyed… Ron

Shipyards and Last Ships (Short Story) - 8/15/2014 8:02:14 AM
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this tale of life on the seas during your naval days intertwined with Sting's laments overlaid on your own. I was in Osan, Korea when the Pueblo was captured and ironically had to endure a sudden influx of thousands of Army troops consuming every inch of "my space" wherever I looked. I bumped into Cmdr. Bucher about 2 years later in San Francisco. He was standing alone on a pier, looking very haggard and strangely staring at me as I walked by, both of us in civilian clothes. I let him know I was on his side by popping him a quick salute. He returned it with a "knowing" kind of grin.

Tarzan, Jane and Boy (Short Story) - 8/3/2014 5:34:39 PM
I think this is really good, Jansen. I truly enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

Tarzan, Jane and Boy (Short Story) - 8/1/2014 7:58:15 AM
Quite a story! Part of growing up in the wild. I'm glad you had no lasting disability from that attack. My twin brother and I were two when we pushed over the honeybee hives, so only our mother remembers the ordeal of beating bees in the house and pulling all the stingers from us and our little Rat Terrier, Rags, hit worse for fighting them. We were about six or seven when our grandfather turned over a log on the farm and unearthed a hornet's nest. when we saw the hornets flying angrily out, we both ran and out ran the hornets so that we weren't stung. The whole time our grandfather was laughing like crazy, standing right by the log and the hornet's nest. That's when I learned not to run from hornets unless I was sure I could out run them. Ron

Good Mourning, Amerika! (Article) - 5/2/2015 12:33:43 PM
Truly a soulful and poignant, expressive write, Jansen. I can relate since my seven acres of "Eden" down in the valley has been turned into a Hotel and paved lot awaiting further development. We were forced off by so-called "development" and hugely ripped off. So yes, I can relate. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace, Regis

Good Mourning, Amerika! (Article) - 4/27/2015 5:30:06 AM
Once again you have written so well from your heart, of your childhood remembrances. You have also so clearly pointed out the fallacy of the "good old days" that seems to occupy those of a conservative bent to think that old phrase that GE has abandoned, "Progress Is Our Most Important Product." Keep writing these gems so that all of the old fogies who have conveniently, mostly through brain cell destruction from a variety of sources, forgotten all of the "bad" parts of existence during those times they relish so well, will know that there is, "the rest of the story." Ron

Free Speech and The Courage to Lie (Article) - 3/18/2015 5:29:05 AM
C'mon, folks. We live in the age of Military Teflon. Speak up!

Heels and Other Clones (Article) - 1/22/2015 11:47:53 AM
Mythology is a subject that never piqued my interest mainly because I know so little of history. But you have shown me it can be interesting in the hands (and mind) of a scholar. Still, I am stuck with that image of the girl from Norway who hung by her heels from a doorway...Alas, where ignorance is bliss tis folly to be wise.

Heels and Other Clones (Article) - 1/22/2015 9:38:35 AM
I remain amazed at your knowledge and scholarship. I only thought of one story when you mentioned, "heel," that of Achilles. In my other thought was of stilettos… The image given up on woman holding someone under her heel. I love that conclusion… Brings the whole article right up to date. Ron

Bummer (Article) - 1/21/2015 7:52:37 AM
As usual, a sterling article on a very important topic with much to think about. As for the video, while listening to it, I saw another one that had the lyrics scrolling… Much better: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IF1_HZjbXos Our current corporate prison and justice system is geared to profit for lawyers and prison companies. With all the "wars" on nonviolent crimes, many are put in the system for a minor offense and come out hardened criminals with few other options. I personally know of two cases of wrongful convictions and it makes me sick what has happened to these good people because of perception, not reality. With most work requiring conviction screening, people coming out of prison have little choice these days. Minimum-wage jobs for those that were growing up with basketball stars and rap legends as heroes, finding college unaffordable, quick buck schemes are much more attractive than the drudgery of 40 hour monotony. As far as police are concerned, perhaps 95% are good and well meaning people. Unfortunately, during an adrenaline filled chase situation or the perception of a weapon about to be used, often brings out the worst and a lack of judgment that haunts the four police officer who did it for the rest of his or her life. We all have a tendency to join our buddies in mayhem, even if we regret it later. There's also the human nature of protecting a buddy even if they did something very wrong. Like you wrote… It's our gang against their gang. Which gang is better? Ron

Bummer (Article) - 1/20/2015 8:49:17 AM
This is a powerful statement about crime, violence, police brutality and how nothing ever really changes except the names, the dates, and where the dead bodies lay. Somebody must try to make sense of it all, or else the cycle never ends.

A Conversation (Article) - 1/8/2015 8:26:16 AM
A fine review that compels the reader to want to see the film; well done, Jansen. Love and peace to you, Regis

A Conversation (Article) - 12/18/2014 2:08:25 AM
enjoyed the read, good review

A Conversation (Article) - 12/17/2014 8:53:48 AM
You may find this strange but I never heard of the film, A Conversation. It was a few years after I was a student and seeing every movie that came along… Probably in the period when I was working full-time and didn't have a television. With this review, you've piqued my interest. I'll be sure to look for it to view at my first opportunity. Ron

A Conversation (Article) - 12/16/2014 8:09:40 AM
Found it on Netflix and looks good. Thanks for the review.

The Language of Disintegration (Article) - 11/2/2014 11:07:02 AM
I ran across this today and thought it might illuminate George Chesbro's quote, above: "Without language and the education to use it in defining concepts, their intellectual life is a constellation of deeply internalized corporate state-media imagery --- commercials for the American brand entertainingly presented in a theater of political and social kitsch." Joe Bageant - Rainbow Pie, a Redneck Memoir

1969 Don't Drop the Load (excerpt) (Article) - 10/6/2014 7:32:51 AM
Thank you for sharing this excerpt which awakens the attention and interest, Jansen. Love and peace, Regis

The World is My Home (Article) - 10/4/2014 3:51:40 PM
I have read quite a number of Michener's books and always enjoyed them very much. However, you have taught me "new stuff" with your informative review. Thank you, Jansen. Love and peace to you, Regis

Who Are You? (Article) - 9/19/2014 3:57:47 AM
With the rise of robo-writers and algo-language, many, if not most of the headlines and 'posts' we see these days do not come from real people after all. Only 36$ of Faux News viewers could name the 3 branches of US government, but lines blocks long are lined up for the release of the newest Apple device. Why? So they can read what robo-corporations tell them to do next? Maybe corporations are not people after all.

The Great War at 100-Honor v. Dignity (Article) - 8/2/2014 4:38:47 PM
Once again, your choice of subjects to share with your readers allows thinking to be free and with the reward of revelations. Thank you.

The Great War at 100-Honor v. Dignity (Article) - 8/2/2014 9:28:42 AM
You got me thinking again about BF Skinner's Beyond Freedom and Dignity. You also leave me with much to think about. We have our priority wrong when we honor wealth for wealth's sake. No one has ever found that wealth or privilege made anyone happy. More secure, perhaps, but happiness is relative to the individual. Some people are very happy and very insecure situations. Getting back your article, it makes a great case for breaking down barriers that separate us and creating a level playing field for all. Ron

The Great War at 100-Honor v. Dignity (Article) - 8/2/2014 2:48:40 AM
thought provoking read

The World is My Home (Article) - 7/29/2014 7:41:05 AM
enjoyed reading your interesting review

The World is My Home (Article) - 7/29/2014 5:47:06 AM
Thank you so much for this review. Back in 1967, my girlfriend, a nurse from Canada working at the University Hospital at Stanford, was reading Hawaii, and told me how much she admired Michener and his books. I had never heard of him. She said that he had written a "true" history of the islands. I thought that strange, even at the time, because the book was fiction. I was finishing my master's degree in engineering and embarking on a career in telecommunication so I had little time to read. My paralyzed hands and my neck strain (caused numbness as the tense muscles pulled on my spinal cord) made reading books very difficult except from a flat surface like a desk. I started reading Playboy as my only reading and continue to read it, cover to cover, to this day. From what you have written, I'm sure that I can learn a great deal from his memoir. I wish that I had the benefit of the editors and researchers he had, but now that I have the Internet, I can get facts that I need for almost any story. Ron

Eye and Ear (and nose, too - something stinks in the USA) Opener (Article) - 7/18/2014 6:55:44 AM
I came to the Articles section of your postings to see if I could find Honor vs. Dignity. I didn't find that article, but I found this enlightening little review. I have never heard of those newspapers. But then, I have read about the history of yellow journalism and how it has shaped public opinion. I've also read about how William Randolph Hearst controlled the newspaper business in the early 20th century. The finest article (and book) I have ever read on the subject: http://selfdefinition.org/psychology/BF-Skinner-Beyond-Freedom-&-Dignity-1971.pdf Recent alarming news has it that the 1% are buying up all media sources at a rapid rate so that they can continue their propaganda by putting out only stories that are approved by conservative authority. They have already wrapped up Fox News. I was shocked to find out that Fox Television was allowing Cosmos to air on its channel. However, the episodes stopped after the brilliant description of global warming was presented by Neil Degrasse in the last episode. I see now that Cosmos has been nominated for several Emmy awards. My sister must be getting all of her weird ideas by watching Fox 9 from Wausau Wisconsin. She turned up her nose at Cosmos after watching the first episode. She doesn't have cable and has limited air channels to watch. I have learned much from my travels, and eclectic reading like Playboy. Ron

A Remarkable Victorian Woman (Article) - 6/15/2014 4:09:09 PM
interesting read

A Remarkable Victorian Woman (Article) - 3/18/2014 1:49:03 PM
Thank you for this informative synopsis, Jansen. Love and peace to you, Regis

Who Are You? (Article) - 2/17/2014 1:42:04 PM
Huh...

A Remarkable Victorian Woman (Article) - 2/3/2014 10:35:45 AM
I love history, and especially history about those like Mary Kingsley who broke the mold about what a proper Victorian woman should behave like. It appears that she had her father's genes because she followed in his footsteps. She had to grow up fast taking care of her mother from the age of four. Thanks for the heads up about this story. Ron

A Harmless Plot (Poetry) - 4/12/2015 8:06:22 AM
Uniquely creative, Jansen. Your rhythm fits the beat of the dance. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

A Harmless Plot (Poetry) - 2/20/2015 6:37:10 AM
Original thoughts. Love that fifth verse. As a brisk campfire; your creative mind is crackling warmly here. Enjoyed. rlc

Dog (Poetry) - 2/8/2015 8:24:39 AM
Sweet and charming poem that connects man to dog. Our dogs are amazing creatures. They are great companions. You have a lucky dog to be so celebrated and cherished.

A Harmless Plot (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 2:54:51 PM
...appreciate your effort of..."Raise your arm again, make a fist, point your thumb down and continue saying, I'm a bad boy while I push down on your wrist. Ready? Resist."... and..."Come on Baby, Let's do the Twist"..... Great spin-poetry. Exquisite sense of humour...Have what she is having....

A Harmless Plot (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 2:10:38 PM
I'm fascinated with your rhythms here Jansen, and creativity :) Blessings, Christine

A Harmless Plot (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 1:24:06 PM
OK, you have quoted or written about too many different people, places, and things for me to comment about (or to search and read about) that I must limit myself to observing you have a mighty nice rhyme that resonates well around my prison yard da dit, dit dit dit, dit dah etc.

A Harmless Plot (Poetry) - 2/6/2015 4:46:07 AM
We have become a self-centered world of 'Selfies' and I think so many miss so much all around them because of this. I prefer to take pics of what I see around me.

A Harmless Plot (Poetry) - 2/5/2015 1:18:50 PM
And I didn't see those typos… I must admit I was having trouble deciphering what you are driving at except perhaps the idea that from a simple binary tapping of Morse code to convey simple messages in time of danger, we now have wide bandwidth to text massive amounts of chatter, but little warning. Extrapolating what's happening in the future is mind-boggling… Ron

A Harmless Plot (Poetry) - 2/5/2015 7:44:49 AM
"Guy Fawkes" is the correct name. Also, you may have been looking for "stricken" vs. "striken?" And, you need a space in "eachother." (end of grammar cop mode) ;-) I love the inter-weaving of the old (morse code) with the new (selfie and zettabyte) - nicely done. -- Jeff Mason

Helix or Vortex? That is the question ... (Poetry) - 11/6/2014 3:34:15 PM
Fascinating, Jensen. Thank you for sharing this. Love and peace to you, Regis

Cyber City Park (Poetry) - 10/29/2014 12:34:31 AM
you're absolutely right, we wonder the keyboards, we mesh, collate, some are dead, some are born, I like that verse says much meaningful too. A forest park teaches lots these days. Wondering in it is amaze. I thank you for this write, it's simply devine.

Helix or Vortex? That is the question ... (Poetry) - 10/29/2014 12:31:41 AM
Hoping you don't have vertigo, it's no fun I know. I know the universe is awesome and does dazzle me, but I don't get dizzy over it.

Cyber City Park (Poetry) - 9/15/2014 10:39:23 AM
I like your breadth and use of unusual diction in this piece, Jansen, and your seemingly classical treatment in rhyme of a very brassy, real-life topic. Quite a modern-day 'epic'. each one has something mute to say. - I found this quite a thought-provoking line. Thank you. Kate

Cyber City Park (Poetry) - 8/11/2014 8:22:24 AM
Thank you for sharing your "estrupian" wisdom and experience, Jansen. There is substance to think upon in your verses. Love and peace to you, Regis

Cyber City Park (Poetry) - 8/11/2014 7:06:55 AM
That pome is quite a tome! ;-) Seriously, I enjoy coming to this little Cyber Park every morning to see what serious writers like you have to say with your wisdom and experience. My only wish is that we actually could be under some beautiful virtual redwood trees dappled shade keep the sun out of our eyes as we drink a couple of java and enjoy swapping tales. Ron

Cyber City Park (Poetry) - 8/10/2014 4:25:05 PM
This is a stylish salute to age and to wisdom and it’s clear you’ve amassed enough of one and lots more of the other.

Weeds (Poetry) - 3/6/2014 7:24:38 PM
Nice!

Weeds (Poetry) - 2/25/2014 12:03:11 PM
Ah, c'est la vie! Nature always has its way and blessed are those who find blessing in that. A very perspicacious write, Carole, and I'm sure there are very real lessons for us all in it. Perhaps it all goes to show that 'friends to weeds grow friends indeed'. Original and wry. Thank you. KB x

Weeds (Poetry) - 2/20/2014 11:20:21 PM
How true! Nicely penned!! Amen!

Weeds (Poetry) - 2/20/2014 4:09:11 PM
Carole knows her "Weeds" ... well written ...

Weeds (Poetry) - 2/20/2014 10:47:39 AM
I love it! Splendid! Reminds me of a poem that I wrote, entitled "weeds." Ron

Weeds (Poetry) - 2/20/2014 8:57:25 AM
Nicely crafted... Loved the ironic ending and enjoyed reading.

Weeds (Poetry) - 2/20/2014 7:10:48 AM
Irony has a way. Well penned.

Weeds (Poetry) - 2/20/2014 6:32:12 AM
An excellent poem, Jansen. Good job.

One Of Us (Poetry) - 10/21/2013 7:45:30 PM
By its own actions the human race has been and will be shaped. We either adapt or die. M.True

Dog (Poetry) - 10/21/2013 7:41:12 PM
To the best of friends, this canine praise. A heart-felt write. M.True

Greeks and Other Baal-cains (Poetry) - 10/21/2013 7:38:15 PM
Ye Gods! I never knew as much and well told. M.True

Community (Poetry) - 10/21/2013 7:32:59 PM
Quite astute. This is the model for the suspension of belief. It is all about the audience allowing the performers to continue in their appointed roles. Such is theater. M.True

Community (Poetry) - 8/17/2013 7:39:21 AM
Sad but true; a wise commentary, Jansen. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Community (Poetry) - 7/28/2013 5:17:41 PM
I must be the worst audience ever, in this case. But I haven't watched TV in more than twenty years. Of course, there are other ways to perform and if performance heals, it's for a good cause. Somehow, I prefer the shaman to the politicians we know. Interesting stuff! Axilea

One Of Us (Poetry) - 7/28/2013 2:47:33 PM
What a beautiful find Jansen. The instrument that kills is part of the quarry. I need to look at the Gilgamesh chronicles which I haven't in several years. You have gleaned something that speaks of the impact of traitors in the process of war. A parallel that is not hard to find in this age. Well done my friend. Bob

Greeks and Other Baal-cains (Poetry) - 7/28/2013 2:41:07 PM
Ah the curse of free will and the perilous decisions we must make. While I myself am not sure that a benevolent God would promote killing in his name, nevertheless it still happens. You have couched the eternal question in well written lines my friend. The graven gods were only reflections of human nature, dark and otherwise, but still only human gods. I love a poem that makes me think and entertains me at the same time. You have done both. Bob

Community (Poetry) - 7/28/2013 2:30:18 PM
Kind of sad to think that content matters so little in any endeavor. You are probably right though Jansen. Trouble is that I myself am more heavily weighted toward the content side of the equation. That's where something like poetry has a distinct advantage over other mediums, in that the quality of the words can be judged and found wanting if the reader has a mind. In some things quality counts. Bob

Community (Poetry) - 7/28/2013 8:53:30 AM
Well said, Jansen. But once off the stage, those numbers should appear in reverse order. Unfortunately, therein lies life's problems...

Community (Poetry) - 7/28/2013 7:55:47 AM
Wise beyond your years… So far ;-) Ron

In Praise of Ishara (Poetry) - 5/3/2013 8:17:10 AM
Ishara is a variant of Ishtar, Asheroth, Astarte, Isis, etal. They are not usually associated with the invention of language, although wisdom is usually attributed to all of them. The Greek mother goddess, Hera, is a European variant, 'Asian' or 'east' added to make As-hera. Usually the name means 'star' or some aspect. Teshub is also an Anatolian/Hurrian deity, a storm and lighting bolt predecessor of Teus/Zeus, Thor and others. The Lady Algol is a mystery to me, too, possibly one who greets the dead. It is remarkable how much of what we call 'classical' literature actually originated in Turkey right along with our alphabet (Hittites were inventors of vowels) and the concept of zero (zeriff-that which is above the other numbers) and such. Hope you both will continue research in this area. Poets not so long ago were well versed in the classics. American 'exceptionalism' attitudes forced us to abandon even the knowledge of other greatness. Thanks for the interest and encouragement.

In Praise of Ishara (Poetry) - 5/3/2013 8:06:21 AM
Religion seems to be born in every society whether they have a written language or not. On the other hand, you have stated that the poem was fiction. Ron

In Praise of Ishara (Poetry) - 5/3/2013 7:25:00 AM
Like Regis, I have had my interest aroused and seek out further understanding of the subject. Thank you for posting.

In Praise of Ishara (Poetry) - 5/2/2013 12:56:35 PM
This a good lesson for me, Jansen. I am quite unfamiliar with these entities. Thank you for piquing my interest. Love and peace, Regis

Dog (Poetry) - 4/16/2013 11:11:24 AM
If that is his picture, he is a beauty, and he looks so content! I only want little dogs, but I can still admire the large breeds. I love the phrase, "joy runs with him" and the image of him running with ears flapping. Connie

Dog (Poetry) - 3/24/2013 11:20:22 AM
The words of one who sees all of life worth paying attention to. Reminiscent of Mr. Ed's dedication, this was a rewarding and lyrical glimpse at the never ending magic a dog can impact a fellow creature who sees love as universal and without necessity of object, preferring to honor the state of love. Beautifully uttered.

One Of Us (Poetry) - 12/23/2012 10:39:08 AM
A most apt and timely sharing, Jansen. Thank you. Love and peace to you, Regis

Dog (Poetry) - 12/14/2012 10:36:11 AM
A delightful ode to a special canine friend; thanks for sharing, Jansen. Love and peace to you, Regis

One Of Us (Poetry) - 12/11/2012 10:15:21 AM
Wow, that last line is a doozy (sp) Cheers, Dan

Dog (Poetry) - 12/11/2012 10:12:46 AM
Isn't it great to have someone like that...that accepts you unconditionally? Great write. Cheers, Dan

Dog (Poetry) - 12/11/2012 8:22:44 AM
He sounds like a gem, wish I could get a dog, but I am having a hard enough time keeping myself going so it wouldn't be fair to a dog to subject him to it as well, good write...e

Dog (Poetry) - 12/11/2012 6:32:57 AM
Right, Terry - father was an Irish Setter, mother an Akita-Lab mix. He was a marvelous furry thing ...

Dog (Poetry) - 12/11/2012 6:26:30 AM
Sounds like a retriever of some sort.

One Of Us (Poetry) - 11/21/2012 12:52:35 PM
What a wonderfully unexpected leap of thought, compelling and even haunting ~ Christine

One Of Us (Poetry) - 11/21/2012 8:01:19 AM
I would see the handle as the betrayer. Very creative and apropos for our time. Ron

One Of Us (Poetry) - 11/21/2012 6:04:52 AM
I like this a lot. Great poem, and lesson.

Greeks and Other Baal-cains (Poetry) - 10/27/2012 1:01:04 PM
Powerful stuff well crafted in expression, Jansen. Thank you for sharing. Love and peace to you, Regis

Greeks and Other Baal-cains (Poetry) - 10/22/2012 2:03:46 PM
EXCELLENT Shroud into the darkled myrrh of expression and too so very deep the psychological brain busting action here!! And it reins true globally to this very day about murder and cannibalism From Vaulted Darkness They Never Said If She/He Tasted Like Chicken…(I know lol That’s badddd) Candle Wax & Witches Brew

Greeks and Other Baal-cains (Poetry) - 8/28/2012 8:54:33 AM
sounds like the ancient gods were worse than men in some cases! well penned.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.