AuthorsDen.com  Join (free) | Login 

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Donna Lynch, iRobin Leigh Miller, iLloydene Hill, iSara Russell, iRichard Mason, iKendra Berni, iDavid Hamilton, i
 
Home > Stacy Mantle
 

Recent Reviews for Stacy Mantle


So, You Have A New Kitten! (Book) - 12/2/2006 4:40:42 AM
With the Holidays fast approaching, and with many a young child wishing for an adorable cuddly kitten under the tree, this makes for the perfect Christmas gift! Well Done, Stacy and Jill!

So, You Have A New Puppy! (Book) - 1/26/2006 3:05:27 AM
Sounds wonderful, Stacy - and a Huge Congrats on winning that Certificate of Excellence from CWA for the Kitty book!

So, You Have A New Puppy! (Book) - 1/25/2006 8:25:18 PM
Hey! This looks great Stacy! I've read this book several times and never get tired of it. I've also worked all the puzzles, and my dogs have colored the pictures (they always fight over the blue crayola though, so I had to separate them)...good thing I have TWO books :o). Hey, write another one, so I can draw some more pictures! I think we should do a book teaching pets how to train their people. We're such a great team, don'tcha think? :o)

So, You Have A New Puppy! (Book) - 1/25/2006 6:44:35 AM
Congratulations on your new book! Looks like a great one for animal lovers.

Ancestral Voices (Book) - 10/8/2003 8:52:01 PM
This is outstanding and leaves me hungry for more. I am glad to have found you. I followed CW's link to you. JC xoxoxo

Conquering the Food Chain: Living Amongst Animals (Without Becoming One) (Book) - 9/26/2003 7:57:26 AM
Read this book in one sitting! Had me laughing and crying. Through her humorous, sad, tragic, and poignant experiences with the numerous animals in her own life, Stacy Mantle has provided us with an excellent glimpse into the hearts, minds, and souls of dedicated 'animal people' all over the world. Thoroughly recommended.

Conquering the Food Chain: Living Amongst Animals (Without Becoming One) (Book) - 7/17/2003 7:58:42 AM
This story was touching in so many ways, including laugh-out-loud fun and the nods from another pet owner. Thanks for reminding us that pets are an adventure.

Puppy Fostering 101 (Short Story) - 11/24/2008 5:05:58 AM
We hope that this week’s posts will provide you with some insight into caring for a new foster, and we dearly hope that it inspires you to contact your local shelters and learn how you can provide a temporary home for puppies or kittens who have been abandoned or orphaned. You do a wonderful thing, Stacy, and provide marvelous inspiration. And please help us also spread the word about adopting a new puppy for Christmas, not buying one from a pet store, breeder, or Internet Ad. Please see my poem: Calamity Jane.

Puppy Fostering 101 (Short Story) - 11/24/2008 3:22:37 AM
Probably the season where it is most needed common sense contemplating to take home a pet, which, like a child, will get attached to the family and get traumatized when thrown away, we don't do it to children so why it is OK to do it to pets? Georg

Puppy Fostering 101 (Short Story) - 11/23/2008 11:18:28 PM
Stacy, I celebrated my fifth year as a foster this season. The shelters are overwhelmed and a little kitten or puppy love is just what we need. Cynthia

Whats it worth to you? (Short Story) - 10/22/2008 3:11:18 PM
timely post. people are hard to understand

Whats it worth to you? (Short Story) - 10/22/2008 6:43:20 AM
If we don't start stepping up to take care for our wildlife and our environment, the results will be deadly. People need to start getting over their ridiculous superstitious beliefs about the "inherent danger" of wolves, and this false feeling of entitlement to the earth's resources that we all share needs to stop - we are merely guests in this world. I truly feel sadness for future generations, who won't get to see many of the wondrous creatures we share this wondrous world with - unless we all start advocating on their behalf. And I truly hope that they catch this wolf pup killer, and that he or she is prosecuted.

Whats it worth to you? (Short Story) - 10/22/2008 6:36:27 AM
"we are merely guests." Exactly. Unfortunately, people do take control, albeit, demented control and decide they are above all other living on our planet. As a wildlife rehabilitator, I deal with this type of situation continually and it sickens me every time. Fox and kits, bear cubs, doe with fawn--the list goes on and on. I'd turn the deranged freak in for free, but if someone helps capture the "serial killer" in training and takes the money, I'm sure they'll do good works with it. It's hard to get step down from this soap box, it's so high. Thanks for caring so much, Stacy.

Saving Lives, Saving Nations (Short Story) - 10/16/2008 6:03:28 PM
we have both feral and those recently abandoned come to our porch to eat, i'm not sure which make me more sad. those who are distrustful because they have never had human bonding, or those who are distrustful because they had human bonding and the humans they trusted were not trustworthy, good article

Saving Lives, Saving Nations (Short Story) - 10/16/2008 5:17:02 AM
The day starts out like any other as you approach the trap you’ve been watching for the last hour. The neighborhood cats are weary of you, but they shouldn’t be – you come to offer help, not harm. Cat People truly are Noble People - and I met many dedicated ones down on the Gulf Coast after Katrina. Some of them worked non-stop, for weeks. I only wish we as a nation could find thousands and thousands more; if we could, we might finally be able to make a dent in this horrendous and never-ending American pet overpopulation problem. But thank God that there are folks like you out there, Stacy.

Wolves and Coyotes (Short Story) - 10/16/2008 4:19:01 AM
Fair warning - if your "point" is that a coyote recently killed your cat, you're going to hear me tell you to keep your cats indoors (this is coming from someone who loves cats, so I know what I'm talking about! I know you do, Stacy. One of my neighbors recently lost her cat to a coyote, and she just would not listen, and would not keep that cat indoors.

Things to Remember on Our 232nd Birthday (Short Story) - 7/5/2008 11:10:20 PM
I really like this, Stacy. You always put so much passion and energy in your writing. I agree that helping other people whenever possible, and appreciating the good things we have is very important. Flexing our "entrepreneurial muscle" is also a great idea, it can make us mighty! I'm not so sure that we have a great health care system here. But I think it could be, with a little work. Hope you had a great 4th of July. JCC

Things to Remember on Our 232nd Birthday (Short Story) - 7/5/2008 6:53:05 AM
We are so fortunate to have these things you mentioned and must live according to these truths. Nothing is ever so bad as it seems, many people want more or just like to complain and put the blame on someone else. If we'd all pick up our trash and others do not throw it by the wayside, a cleaner world it would be and nicer to see too. People make it what is is exept for weather conditions and what God wants us to go through we cannot change that. But changes can be made in our living, our sacrifices are to be many but necessary sometimes too.

You Can't Save Them All... (Short Story) - 6/25/2008 3:39:53 AM
What is more disturbing, Ms. Mantle, is that for every animal suffering, there are ten people somewhere in the world facing similar fates. None of us is capable of saving the entire planet. However, each of us has the power to help at least one other person or animal in need. Collectively, we can save them all. Keep the faith ... Reginald V. Johnson

You Can't Save Them All... (Short Story) - 6/24/2008 12:07:47 PM
A valuable message which projects such kind human thoughts and feelings onto another creature. Such degrees of intelligence are found throughout the animal kingdom. I, being a staunch Darwinist am a follower of Charles Darwin's survival of the fittest, I see that people have cast aside love for animals in this century. It's the compassionate people like you, Stacy, who share with us, your "field observations"...the human population needs to comprehend that these cats and dogs are in a human pack and we need to learn their language. These animals do know our language quite well, terms such as abuse, abandonment, and on a wilder note, coyotes in the crosshairs on the airport runway just because some corporate jet can't land and sport aerial wolf hunting just because...it all is a sad shame. I've often wondered if animals had been given the name "colleague" instead of "pet" if perhaps they would receive better top respect and treatment from their human counterparts. You Can't Save Them All is a love between humans and animals with social similarities about how we treat each other. Establishing relationships with animals is a key alliance to living a meaningful life and understanding animals do have cognitive skills. Be well always, Stacy. Warmly, Sage

You Can't Save Them All... (Short Story) - 6/23/2008 11:56:31 AM
So sad a write, an not all love animals and wish them to survive. Some out there are heartless when it comes to animals. This one led a sorry end to his life, and I sympathyze with you for writing this piece and expressing your thoughts on care and the people who don't and how they are. It is sad to read this write, but people still will abandon their unwanted pets, the heartless ones, anyway.

Urban Coyotes (Short Story) - 5/23/2008 9:41:57 AM
well said

Feline Navidad (Short Story) - 12/27/2007 6:50:11 AM
Adorable write, but full of good tips, as always! Well penned! Feliz Navidad, indeed! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D *purring*

Feline Navidad (Short Story) - 12/23/2007 8:34:49 PM
Stacy, I know the feeling! Ornaments keep getting rearranged. Branches sway and crack under their weight. Right now, the thrill seems diminshed so I'm having a peaceful night. Happy Holidays! Cynthia

I Ran... (Short Story) - 10/28/2007 6:04:31 PM
Riveting. (Chupa cabra--check it out!) This is a great preface to a novel--absolutely spell-binding. If the rest is like this, you've got a winner of a novel. --Charlie

I Ran... (Short Story) - 10/26/2007 8:30:26 AM
I really enjoyed this story, Stacy! Very well penned; brava! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :D

I Ran... (Short Story) - 10/26/2007 6:38:09 AM
I like it, Stacy! It even gave me some chilling memories of times in the deep wood when I thought I was being watched - by something. And how appropriate to read this today - The day of The Hunter's Moon, or as I call it, The Blood Moon. Write On!

Oct 16 is Feral Cat Day (Short Story) - 10/16/2007 1:08:01 PM
Stacy and Ed, Thanks for your continued voice. You are making a difference. Cynthia

Oct 16 is Feral Cat Day (Short Story) - 10/16/2007 8:12:39 AM
Well-written Stacy - a story that needs to be told so that the general public can be educated about what life is truly like for the feral cat. TNR is the only decent thing for these special felines and if one person in each town, village, city or wherever were to start a programme then so many more cats would be saved - and who knows, maybe become a loving family member at some point.

Oct 16 is Feral Cat Day (Short Story) - 10/16/2007 7:18:30 AM
It is a day to recognize the growing problems of feral cats, and their place in our lives whether we are aware of it or not. And with the recent hurricane, tsunami, earthquake, and God only knows what else, National Feral Cat Day has become an International event. For not only are people effected by these crisis, animals are as well. It's important to remember this. When we, as a nation, raise over $450 billion for hurricane relief, isn't it possible that we could allow a small portion of those funds to go towards the animals of our nations? I hope many read this, Stacy. I posted my Feral Cat poem today, and we need many more people - who care.

Urban Coyotes (Short Story) - 10/3/2007 7:31:22 AM
I have tried to contact Darin several times over the past few weeks about some coyotes we have in our neighborhood that are becoming increasingly not scared of us in this apartment complex. I find it sad that the agency that is supposed to protect wildlife from people and people from wildlife laughs it off. We have coyotes approx. 6 of them living in a little patch of undeveloped property that is just north of the 101 and approx 100 ft from my apartment. Now I'm sure we all know apartments are full of kids, and there are many animals that live around here, such as cats that people have abandon and that the residence of the apartments have more or less taken under their wing to make sure they are safe and at least have food and water. The Arizona Department of Fish and Game still refuses to come out and move them. Now I know that they will more then likely come back, but I don't want to have to harm the animal that has more right to be here than I do, however I'm also not going to sit idly by and watch this animal hurt a kid or one of these cats that didn't have a fair deal because someone was an idiot, and left them here. What I want to know is why is the agency that is supposed to care for these animals so lazy that they won't come out with a tranquilizer gun and just move them to a more rural location where they would be more fit, if I had a tranquilizer and not an SKS I would do it myself. I guess like most of the law enforcement in Arizona they are going to wait until something really bad happens or one of the public officials is attacked by a coyote or their little dog is before they will do something.

Urban Coyotes (Short Story) - 10/2/2007 10:07:50 AM
Insightful. We have coyotes out here in Illinois, too. I have seen a lot of them since my once-rural area has become a McSuburb. You make many good points in a passionate way.

Did You Know... (Article) - 10/14/2008 3:41:52 AM
Wolves have played an integral role in the development of North America and it's important to preserve this noble animal. And it's a damned shame that politicians like Alaska's Governor are once again attempting to wipe them off the face of the Earth. Wake Up, America - and learn why we need to protect them.

Did You Know... (Article) - 10/14/2008 2:48:31 AM
timely, well said

Kittens, Kittens, Everywhere... (Article) - 10/13/2008 9:42:31 PM
Stacey, Great job! I have two foster kittens at the moment - about four weeks old. So what was the final outcome? Is there a follow-up article? Cynthia

Did You Know... (Article) - 10/13/2008 9:39:16 PM
Thanks Stacey, Sounds like a wonderful way to enhance my knowledge and I love wolves. Cynthia

Kittens, Kittens, Everywhere... (Article) - 7/10/2008 7:17:40 PM
Sounds like you are doing some amzing work for cats. We have a new kitten coming to live with the family this weekend. Poor thing is only 9 months old and this will be it's forth and last home. Sad how may unwanted cats and dogs are out there... take care, William

Author Earns 5th Place in IdeaFetch (Article) - 4/8/2006 11:31:08 PM
Hey!!! congratulations Arizona author..,. Best, Elizabeth

Author Earns 5th Place in IdeaFetch (Article) - 4/5/2006 6:32:40 PM
Congratulations...wonderful idea!

Author Earns 5th Place in IdeaFetch (Article) - 4/4/2006 5:07:32 PM
I am SOOO proud of you, Stacy! Making the top five finalists out of so many is excellent. What a nice company they are too! Great job, as usual! :o) Jillster

Author Earns 5th Place in IdeaFetch (Article) - 4/4/2006 11:34:00 AM
That sounds like a great idea Ms.Mantle, but I can't get my dogs to leave the house!! My girlfriend on the other hand tends to wander off once in a while. Ya think I could borrow one of those for her?? Congradulations. . . .Smokey

The 7 Learning Styles (Article) - 3/18/2006 3:42:54 AM
interesting article

Stolen Horses: It could happen to you (Article) - 12/19/2005 8:00:15 AM
I am a volunteer with Stolen Horse International, and this article was just brought to our attention. As an editor for a national publication, I can honestly say that this was a well written article with valuable information, and it is written to capture and hold the reader's attention. Unfortunately, I'm a little concerned about the facts. As far as the particular case mentioned, this happens all the time ... more than any horse owner realizes. However, I have to question several pieces of information. I'm not sure they are accurate. First, registration papers are never “required” to sell a horse (transfer papers meeting certain states’ brand law requirements or a negative Coggins may be). Therefore, if a person steals a horse then sells it for $500 that is almost 100% profit. They just sell it as grade. A registered Arabian worth several thousand may easily be sold and resold for only a few hundred … no papers. Not to mention that the horse may travel through several states and a number of auctions within only a week or two. Next, a survey completed several years ago by another organization estimated that over 55,000 horses are STOLEN every year. I wonder if that was misinterpreted in the statement “over 55,000 of these stories end at slaughterhouses” … as far as we know, there is no data on this number, although we are aware of stolen horses that have been found at slaughter plants or killed there. Another statement that jumped out at me was that there are "many" slaughterhouses in the US and Canada. I'm not sure how many are in Canada, but at the time this was written, there were only two open in the US. It's a sad to say, but the third, Cavel, has now reopened in Illinois. Also, having worked with rescue organizations from wild horses to PMUs, and then with SHI, I’ve personally never heard of “Bunchers”. I’m not disputing this at all, but I would really like to find out more information about this. It may give us valuable resources for locating stolen and missing horses. The one thing that surprised me though, is that the author didn't think to contact Stolen Horse International for any information. If you type "stolen horse" or "horse theft" or "civil horse theft" in a search engine, SHI immediately comes up in the first position. It is the only resource of its kind. SHI is a nonprofit theft education, awareness and recovery organization that has been around since 1998, and has never charged victims for its services. At SHI, we deal with civil theft everyday, just like the case discussed in this story, and then there are the criminal thefts. Again, this article is now over two years old, but I am hoping that anyone reviewing it will go to www.netposse.com and learn more about civil and criminal theft. The author is welcome to contact Debi Metcalfe, founder, about writing another article. I think she would do a great job!

Helping Feral Cats - October 16 (Article) - 10/16/2005 11:50:50 PM
Good article. It is amazing how many people abuse animals.I have a friend that is part of a rescue team and see the poor critters she brings home to take care of. It is appalling the condition some of these dear sweet things are in and they respond to the simplist kindnesses. It breaks your heart. Makes you wonder just how evolved the human condition is when an animal behaves better than a human.

Stolen Horses: It could happen to you (Article) - 10/15/2005 1:09:47 PM
good info.

Helping Feral Cats - October 16 (Article) - 10/15/2005 1:06:17 PM
enjoyed the read. don't see many feral cats out here in rural okie, altho, i am sure they are here. I do find worried little house cats approaching my front porch on a regular basis.

National Feral Cat Day - Oct. 16 (Article) - 9/13/2003 7:41:44 AM
I adopted a feral kitten-- a Lynx point Siamese male, VERY vicious-- four years ago. After a year of biting and scratching me, he started to calm down (simultaneously breaking many ceramic and glass things in my apartment!). Mars is now a loveable, people-loving cat who takes walks daily on a leash. I'm pretty sure he was abandoned because of his bad behavior, but I managed to change it because I spent a lot of time with him and didn't try to force him to be affectionate-- it was a year before he jumped in my lap, and a little over a year before he learned how to purr. I consider his change in attitude to be one of the sucesses in my life. Even the nastiest cat can become friendly if you just spend enough time with him and let him respond on his own timetable... it takes a long time for a feral cat to forget the abuse suffered at the hands of a human. Thanks for the work you're doing! I hope your cats find the humans they need.

Stolen Horses: It could happen to you (Article) - 7/17/2003 6:48:45 AM
This is a concise, well written article. The opening scence kept my attention. A very informative piece describing a terrible crime.

People Pounding On My Door (Poetry) - 5/8/2013 2:23:53 PM
A light-hearted,humourous poem with a message about unwanted visitors calling.Very appropriate as many can relate to unwanted callers pounding on doors at inconvenient times. How about a 'Do not disturb' sign on door or note saying 'Dangerous dogs inside'?

People Pounding On My Door (Poetry) - 10/19/2010 9:27:42 AM
YES! YOU GO GIRL! Realtors, politicians, Jehovah's Witnesses, the lady down the street collecting for the goodwill, etc, etc, etc. People pounding on my door, go away for heaven's sake, or on your behind you will feel my rake. And what about all those people calling you trying to sell you something you abosutely don't need? Thank you for sharing, Stacy. May the Lord Bless you, and those whom you love, and be with you always, and walk by your side. With love in my heart, joy to the world, peace on earth, & ((((((((((MANY WONDERFUL SISTERLY HUGGGGSSSS)))))))))), your little sister Barbie.

People Pounding On My Door (Poetry) - 12/26/2008 8:48:17 PM
Well said, Stacy.

People Pounding On My Door (Poetry) - 11/12/2008 6:19:34 AM
The smartest thing i ever did was to have and electronic lock which needs a code to open the front door, no intercom, no chimes, not knockers, just a wonderful silence. Now, when one of those telemarkers phone I said politely if he/she can hold just a moment and connect my phone to a 3 gigabites of horrible Muzak which will get anybody a headache. They black listed me and it has been a long time since one of those. Georg

People Pounding On My Door (Poetry) - 10/7/2008 7:58:09 AM
Ignore the door and the phone as well and continue to write gems like this one! Well done, take care, William

People Pounding On My Door (Poetry) - 10/5/2008 4:56:58 AM
I never answer the door anymore - I just let my four growling dogs sit in front of it, and most of these irritating people quickly leave!

People Pounding On My Door (Poetry) - 10/4/2008 6:20:12 PM
Wonderful writing..enjoyed...Hugssss

People Pounding On My Door (Poetry) - 10/4/2008 5:43:15 PM
Not only you, but also your Kitty look like you mean business. Very funny read, great sense of humor. Thank's for a good laugh. Ingeborg

People Pounding On My Door (Poetry) - 10/4/2008 12:51:43 PM
lol =) love it!

Puppy for Adoption (Poetry) - 6/16/2008 4:28:02 AM
Enjoyed very much

Puppy for Adoption (Poetry) - 6/8/2008 12:45:34 PM
This is cute.I like it very much Edwin

Puppy for Adoption (Poetry) - 6/1/2008 2:08:40 PM
I love the friendly pet flowwwwww... and I hope Marley soon has a friendly home to call his own! Write On! Warmest Blessings and Inner Joy and Peace, Warrior Purple PaSSion Lady -She-xoooo STay Positive!

Sailing (Poetry) - 5/17/2008 4:05:06 PM
Fantasy it sound like and fantastic it is. THis poem caught my eye cause I am a lover of the ocean and am a water sign. I love traveling too. The history parts you relate too are magnificent also. Thanks for this awesome write.

The Cat (Poetry) - 5/17/2008 4:01:59 PM
The photo is just like my gray cat Seashore her name is. She is 12 years old and follows me all around. Gets lonely when I go away and greets me with a loud MEOW WHEN I return home. I love to watch her when she crouches and eats her meals. She is a darling.

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 5/17/2008 3:58:49 PM
It is so nice a write and to be able to entertain your niece with it is grand. Super write and I am an animal lover too. Thanks.

Puppy for Adoption (Poetry) - 2/22/2008 6:29:29 AM
Would he like a very loving home in Wisconsin? He is SO cute!!!

Puppy for Adoption (Poetry) - 2/15/2008 9:19:24 AM
Cute piece.... well written with a nice flow... wishing you well.. Sam

Sailing (Poetry) - 12/27/2007 6:07:55 PM
Simply exquisite. Perfect form, easy flow, nicely formated text and rhyme. I enjoyed this poem from start to finish. Thank you for sharing this piece that actually spoke my life.

An Ode to Poe (Poetry) - 11/5/2007 7:19:43 PM
I truly enjoyed this! Chrissy

Puppy for Adoption (Poetry) - 11/5/2007 7:08:35 PM
We're from AZ, Staci - so give us a holler! You can reach me by emailing me through Authors Den!

Puppy for Adoption (Poetry) - 11/5/2007 8:50:00 AM
awww we may want another dog near the Dec holidays we have 2 cats and one dog, our other dog was put to sleep in April he was very old. Where are you from?

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 11/5/2007 6:48:58 AM
*purring* Now that's cute. :) (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. I love kitties

Puppy for Adoption (Poetry) - 11/5/2007 6:47:20 AM
Pretty eyes, pretty puppy! Okay, BIIIG puppy! I'd love to adopt, but like Karen Lynn said below, we can't have anything but birds and fish. If I could, he'd have a Mama! make that TWO Mamas! *twins* He wouldn't lack for love, that's for sure. Beautiful, compassionate write, well penned. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

Puppy for Adoption (Poetry) - 11/5/2007 5:22:10 AM
If I could, I'd take him in a heartbeat; however, I live in an apartment complex where no cats or dogs are allowed, only birds or fish, which, to me, are nasty! Beautiful puppy, beautiful write! Very well penned! (((HUGS))) and much love, your friend in Tx., Karen Lynn. :(

Sailing (Poetry) - 10/31/2007 8:27:50 AM
I love poems about sailing AND dreams. I've written many. Thank you for sharing your talent with us. I've enjoyed finding your page.

An Ode to Poe (Poetry) - 10/31/2007 8:26:06 AM
Just wonderful! I wrote a little parody of Elizabeth Barrett Browning's "How Do I Love Thee?" called "How Do I Loathe Thee?" They're fun to write. I enjoyed your effort very much and I agree with Karla, no apology necessary. It's terrific.

An Ode to Poe (Poetry) - 10/31/2007 7:36:59 AM
Marvelous, and I will enjoy reading this - Evermore! And Happy Howloween, Stacy!

An Ode to Poe (Poetry) - 10/31/2007 5:21:19 AM
I love this! No apologies needed. Well done! Happy BOO!!!!! Day to you and yours, *StormSpinner*

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 7/11/2007 8:18:31 AM
I thoroughly enjoyed this ... E.A. Poe would be proud Walt

Sailing With You (Poetry) - 5/29/2007 6:11:33 AM
Comforted spirit . work{beautiful} - God bless -

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 2/28/2007 4:44:59 AM
This is cute captivating!!!!! Sandie May Angel :o)

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 12/26/2006 5:36:35 AM
Oh, Stacy, this is darling! Another kid's book from this, perhaps? I can envisage the colorful illustrations as I read your poem. Bet your niece loved it!

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 11/20/2006 6:00:00 AM
A m a z i n g is the word, all right! Love it!! <3 Distantdistant Cuzzinto Poe {add a few distants & s'true -- explains a lot;)}.

A Parody for Poe,  (Poetry) - 11/16/2006 9:29:02 PM
Love Poe. Love parodies. Wildly entertaining! Thank you, DL Mullan

Sailing (Poetry) - 11/13/2006 8:40:00 AM
I love the style of this poem. It takes the reader to far off places. I have a strong passion for adventure, and this was right down my alley. Very well done, Stacy! Keep sailin' C.S.H.

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 10/27/2006 6:30:57 PM
i enjoyed reading this lovely poem, Stacy ...

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 10/25/2006 3:20:52 AM
I really liked this the first time I read it, Stacy, and I still do! And amazingly, I'm also posting a Poe Raven Parody this morning - although it's a tad different than yours.

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 10/24/2006 2:54:54 PM
Great takeoff on the classic!!!!!

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 10/24/2006 12:59:30 PM
I love this cute twist on 'Poe' type poetry... Chrissy

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 10/24/2006 8:17:07 AM


Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 10/24/2006 7:34:32 AM
Brilliant take. I saw the Simpsons take on it the other day, I thought it was brilliant too..

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 10/20/2006 1:56:41 PM
This is so real true and honest. God bless and thanks for sharing

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 10/1/2006 3:18:13 PM
Just love your poem ... Easy to read aloud ... Nice work ..Peter Addo

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 7/13/2006 10:46:09 AM
Love it!!! Sounds like my cat. Thanks so much for sharing such a lovely poem. Karen

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 7/2/2006 1:02:59 PM
My kitten used to do that same think when she was young but now it takes a bit of catnip to get her to move at 14 years. Homeschool

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 5/4/2006 6:36:25 PM
Stacy, As always, you shine brightest when you write about your experiences with animals. I doubt there's any need to apologize to Mr. Poe, he'd probably like it! Who knows? Maybe that mysterious black cat WAS Mr. Poe. Coming back to give you inspiration after tap-tap-tapping on your cat door. Very spooky! Good job Stacy!! Jillster

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 5/4/2006 9:43:22 AM
Stacy this is so precious. I smiled through the entire poem; something I don't get to do enough of these days. I agree with Sandie and Pea, this is a very clever take on Poe's original...Thnx Stacy for sharing this with us. May the Lord Jesus bless you, and those whom you love, and be with you always, and at your side constantly. With much love in my heart, joy to the world, peace on earth, & ((((((((((MANY WONDERFUL SISTERLY HUGGGGSSSS)))))))))), your little sister in poetry and prose, Barbie "If I have to be this girl in me, Then I have the right to be."

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 1/25/2006 5:01:59 PM
V e r y c l e v e r. Rhyme is impeccable. . . l o v e i t. Sounds like you have a houseful of pets. . .who like our dogs, Nicky and Sugar, own you, lock, stock, and kibble? Worth it 'cuz they spell H o m e. Right? Tell your dogs and cats that I said they are beautiful. Sure they know -- hear it often enough --, but I just have to say it. As for whether they can spell, I swear Nick and Shoog can. Thanks for posting --or re-posting -- this. 'Pea' <3

Once Upon A Midnight Dreary... (Poetry) - 11/1/2005 4:43:23 AM
Yup, they do that to terrorize. Do you know that they pick their leaders also? Once in a while I see a few sitting around in groups as if they're holding a meeting. Tom cats always make leaders. If you observe them long enough, you will know who is the strongest leader in the neighbourhood, and who is the biggest bully. The weaker ones always hide when the bully comes around. A good entertaining write, Stacy! I enjoyed the suspense! Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Sailing (Poetry) - 10/30/2005 10:26:05 AM
Thank you for sharing this poetic journey, Stacy. Love and peace to you. Regis

Sailing (Poetry) - 10/23/2005 12:20:56 AM
Stacy, I always enjoy your writing, but this one is special. I'm glad you posted it. It is lovely. Well done, friend, very well done. Do more! :o) Jill

Sailing (Poetry) - 10/20/2005 5:09:46 AM
I believe that I've read this before, Stacy - but it wa definitely worth reading again - wonderful!

Sailing (Poetry) - 10/19/2005 9:32:50 PM
It don't need refreshing. Just diving to such a utopian dream. Dream on..

Sailing (Poetry) - 10/19/2005 6:17:45 PM
What a wonderful journey! I can envision all this in my mind. Wonderful write indeed! Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Sailing (Poetry) - 10/19/2005 6:04:52 PM
What a wonderful trip...enjoyed reading and the sound of the words spoken. Well done.

A Parody for Poe,  (Poetry) - 10/16/2005 1:12:28 AM
Brilliant!

A Parody for Poe,  (Poetry) - 10/15/2005 1:12:08 PM
enjoyed the read

A Parody for Poe,  (Poetry) - 10/15/2005 12:21:58 PM
Stacy, More, more, more! This is outstandingly penned, this take on a classic...BRAVA! *purring contentedly* (((HUGS))) and love, Karla.

A Parody for Poe,  (Poetry) - 10/14/2005 5:09:35 PM
Stacy, Applause, applause! This is a wonderful take off of The Raven. I know it's based on a true story because I remember when you told me about the incident with the scarey cat that invaded your house one night through the pet door. I'm curious though, where were the beagle and the coyote through all of this??? Did you ever see that cat again? Makes me think of that old song "The Cat Came Back". By the way, I think this one needs a fun illustration, don't you? :o)

A Parody for Poe,  (Poetry) - 10/14/2005 4:10:54 PM
Fun read. Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Poe's,  (Poetry) - 10/26/2004 7:33:37 AM
fun write

Poe's,  (Poetry) - 10/25/2004 5:37:32 PM
loved it! i'm actually going to a performance on thurs. a one man show on edgar allan poe starring john astin, who played gomez on addams family looking forward to it :)

Poe's,  (Poetry) - 10/25/2004 4:39:09 PM
Glad you brought it back, Stacy. Well Done, Indeed!

Baby Animal Names (Poetry) - 10/25/2004 10:43:11 AM
nice write! (((HUGS)))

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 10/25/2004 10:42:42 AM
adorable!

Poe's,  (Poetry) - 10/25/2004 10:42:09 AM
excellent write! well done! (((HUGS)))

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 11/19/2003 6:05:46 AM
Stacy: Ed Kostro directed me to you, and I'm extremely glad he has. I am an animal-lover, but can't have pets because my husband and I rent and pets are not allowed. I love reading cute little things about other people's pets Thank you for sharing such a nice little kitty.

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 10/25/2003 9:53:35 AM
Very cure piece!

The Cat (Poetry) - 10/25/2003 8:53:16 AM
Well done write in POEtic form!

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 10/25/2003 8:45:18 AM
Makes me want to dance, too! Kittens are Fabulous!

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 10/25/2003 8:44:56 AM
This is a cute poem.

The Dancing Kitten (Poetry) - 10/25/2003 7:49:25 AM
Wonderful and happy poem.

Baby Animal Names (Poetry) - 10/25/2003 6:48:41 AM
Nicely done, Stacy! Enjoyed this very much.

The Cat (Poetry) - 10/22/2003 11:47:14 PM
..Well I must say I enjoyed this write very much..you are talented indeed! Thankyou! vesna

The Cat (Poetry) - 10/22/2003 5:46:44 AM
Oh, Stacy, did I ever enjoy this frolicking over Poe's grave! The Raven has always been one of my favorites, and now I will consider your stray cat poem a favorite as well. A lovely piece of work!

The Cat (Poetry) - 10/15/2003 8:18:26 PM
Ha, enjoyed this so much, Stacy, marvelous story, flow and word choices! I have five cats, they stare at me, evermore... :D

The Cat (Poetry) - 10/14/2003 11:48:28 AM
*purring contentedly* delightful write; that kitty reminds me of "savannah", a kitty that lives up the street from me! :) (((HUGS)))

The Cat (Poetry) - 10/14/2003 9:28:27 AM
Wonderful write nice looking cat.

The Cat (Poetry) - 10/14/2003 8:51:09 AM
Hey! We both posted cat stories at about the same time!! Don't apologize to Edgar; this is great stuff! Loved it!! Beautiful cat picture, too.

The Cat (Poetry) - 10/14/2003 8:32:08 AM
Wonderful, thank you for writing this

Sailing With You (Poetry) - 10/8/2003 8:53:03 PM
I am truly impressed. This is great. JC xoxoxo

Sailing With You (Poetry) - 10/1/2003 1:45:24 AM
I love the feelings of this write. Great write!

Sailing With You (Poetry) - 9/27/2003 7:49:12 AM
A wonderful poem full of such flavorful words! You are a true story teller! I loved this poem!

Sailing With You (Poetry) - 9/16/2003 9:19:43 AM
wonderful poem

Sailing With You (Poetry) - 9/16/2003 6:51:40 AM
Stacy, excellent in delivery. Romance true and pure. Well penned and loved it's flow. By the way... Welcome to the Den! Will look forward to reading alot more of your work. Lisa

Sailing With You (Poetry) - 9/16/2003 6:09:53 AM
what a wonderful write, the flow was great.. the story well told...

Sailing with you (Poetry) - 9/6/2003 9:55:43 AM
This has such a lovely flow, a truely wonderful piece to read! ~Nikki~

Sailing with you (Poetry) - 9/6/2003 2:01:58 AM
To the point...great ending to a grand poem Amor

Sailing with you (Poetry) - 9/5/2003 7:38:52 AM
I really enjoyed reading this one. Well done. Lady peg

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.