AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Darden North, iHarry and Elizabeth Lawrence, iDave Cole, iMiller Caldwell, iWilliam Pusey, iElizabeth Weeks-Rowe, iKen Coleman, i
 
Home > April Pittman
 

Recent Reviews for April Pittman


Soap Suds (Short Story) - 5/18/2002 9:58:08 PM
Don't worry ...it still good ...thank you

Soap Suds (Short Story) - 1/30/2002 1:08:28 AM
This is a review of the Postal journal entries. VERY good. Here's your spelling tip of the day: "used to" instead of "use to." (I think that was the second paragraph in...maybe third.) You certainly have your own voice and it is authentic. Thank fucking Christ! You know how hard it is to be dark and NOT be pretentious? (For more on that see Marilyn Manson--or "Merl" as his close friends refer to him. I don't read a lot of fiction. Or poetry for that matter. So it's no stretch to say you're now one of my favorite authors. I don't know a damn thing about photography but ME LIKE PICTURES TOO. PICTURES GOOD. Fire bad.

Akogare (Short Story) - 12/29/2001 1:24:31 PM
You write very well. At this point this reads more like an essay than a story, but it's very good and an excellent story could be fleshed out of the details here. // Fine writing!

A Warning to the Wise (Article) - 8/30/2005 12:52:37 AM
Good article. One cannot indeed be happy if one does ont chart one's ownn course. At the same time one has to survive as well and material things are important in that context. I feel that a healthy balance between the two extremens is better. Some people lead double lives-one for money and other for passion and job satifaction.

A Warning to the Wise (Article) - 1/16/2005 10:38:45 PM
Excellent article, well written and full of wisdom. I've had the near death experience also, and believe I have lived other lives before this one. still, your advice is sound because although I believe our energy and wisdom remain in the universal pool after this life is over, I don't believe we necessarily connect to it in the next or that anyone else recognizes it as the person we once were.

A Warning to the Wise (Article) - 1/4/2004 12:00:02 AM
I had a bunch of "smart" stuff to say and then read that review by the near-death experiencer and...um...don't feel like spouting anymore. This is really wiser than anything I've read below it, April. Good stuff.

A Warning to the Wise (Article) - 5/10/2002 5:08:01 PM
How can you be so sure about what happens after death? As one who skirted the skies a while and got sent back here, I now believe one could actually live twice. Modern medicine is truly miraculous. That's my weird experience anyway. I used to think like you until spending some time like a ghost hovering over my own body. You know that movie, "Ghost?" It's exactly like that. And, I didn't see the movie until 2 years ago. Seriously! Anyway, I liked the article a lot cause you are committed to yourself as a free thinker. I think that is real integrity of soul.

Isochronal (Poetry) - 7/25/2011 8:05:31 PM
Things Will Happen For Reason Most Not Known To Us... Might Be Just Better Walk Away Never Look Back--Or It Will Only Destroy You... Its Greatest Reason I Live Alone... Glad You're Back Writing Painful But Romantic... TRASK...

Isochronal (Poetry) - 7/22/2011 6:52:40 PM
Powerful in evoking emotions and expressing meaning, April. Your verses are soul-reaching. Thank you for sharing them. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Isochronal (Poetry) - 7/22/2011 5:37:52 PM
It's been quite a while, April, but you are back strong and passionate. It's good to read you again. Stay well. John

My Last Mistake (Poetry) - 12/13/2010 6:56:51 PM
A difficult life lesson, but now is the time to grow stronger and move forward, never to look back... Be always safe, Karen

My Last Mistake (Poetry) - 12/13/2010 5:07:54 PM
Whole Idea Now Is To Walk Away Never Look Back,i.e.It Will Only Destroy You... Nice To Read You Again... TRASK

My Last Mistake (Poetry) - 12/13/2010 4:08:35 PM
April, This wasn't easy to say and I admire your courage to be able to deliver; yes, it's hard, hard and painful, but you must go on and know that you have the love and support of so many. John

My Last Mistake (Poetry) - 12/13/2010 9:21:40 AM
A mystic description of pain. You did an awesome job here- awesome. The heart that can feel this deeply must see it's own reflection- and your love will be the fire that gives off only light...no smoke. John

My Last Mistake (Poetry) - 12/13/2010 7:44:06 AM
pain-wracked words...too raw to bleed even,...and i too am sorry that you're experiencing the pain to be able to write these wrenching words.

My Last Mistake (Poetry) - 12/13/2010 5:51:48 AM
Hard, harsh and unflinching. It is a cry and a roar. Very proud of you that you can express so well what I am sad that you are feeling.

Dear Father, (Poetry) - 12/13/2010 2:34:26 AM
My friend, this is heart-wrenching and dark, even despairing. I hope it is a point of catharsis rather than a true mood that has settled upon you. You know where to find me if you need to talk.

All Gone (Poetry) - 12/13/2010 1:07:45 AM
Death is an ending as we are taught. You stop breathing there for you are empty of life. Yes, this is if I am correct, an ending, death of a love or relationship. But the good news is, where there is fire and distruction there will soon be new seeds in search of the sun. Life will go on because that is how we live. You will be able to fester a stronger seed from the nourishment of the reckage from the past and you will again live strong. Love and Light, Karen

Dear Father, (Poetry) - 12/13/2010 12:57:25 AM
Hello April, Though I am new here I saw this two ways, one way: Very sorry for you loss. He must have been your rock. Embrase the sadness and know this, when someone we love leaves there body, they become more apart of you. They are the air that you breath and can still give you love and know you love as well. second way: Even though we struggle in life with addictions to mask the pain of scars on our childs blueprint, we need to remember that an addiction is just the bandaid over an old wound that from time to time bleeds. Pick yourself up, dust yourself off, drive to a friends house, which I believe this sight is for you, and seek love. I value you. You are worth saving. If either one of these things are right, I offer a loving hand up from your knees. Love and Light. Karen

The Captain and I (Poetry) - 12/13/2010 12:45:23 AM
Bow to no one April. This write is a true poets heart to me. You have a true gift. Thank you so much for sharing. Love and Light, Karen

Dear Father, (Poetry) - 12/12/2010 11:13:08 PM
April, This is worrying..please share the pain and loss in a way we can come to terms with. Your friends at AD care. John

All Gone (Poetry) - 12/12/2010 10:08:53 PM
These are deeply compelling emotions and meanings, April; and many can relate to what you express. You are right; it often truly does feel like "death" but the fact remains that it is not death. Thank you for sharing of your soul. Love, peace, and best wishes to you, Regis

Dear Father, (Poetry) - 12/12/2010 10:06:29 PM
Why or how or at what did you fail? Who are "the others?" What was "all for nothing." I do not believe that anything is ever "for nothing." What is there to forgive. Explain, April. People care. I hope you are okay. Sending you love, peace, and best wishes, Regis

All Gone (Poetry) - 11/19/2010 9:57:46 AM
"Tell me how this isn't like death." Adopt a child in need. Find songs you will enjoy. See movies you didn't think you would. Smile a smile though it hurts your face. Take the moment and spend it. Find a hand. Hold it. Kiss enough times and you will feel it. Live your life in spite of it all. You are not decayed, that;s why it isn't like death.

All Gone (Poetry) - 11/19/2010 9:11:55 AM
very dark, but an earnest musing.

May We? (Poetry) - 11/18/2010 1:46:38 AM
A great feeling to this poem, April

May We? (Poetry) - 11/14/2010 5:22:55 AM
this poems captures the moment with such sensitivity, hidden emotion, and vivid feeling, i found myself continuing its conversation in my dreams ...

May We? (Poetry) - 11/13/2010 5:43:59 PM
This has the warm, wrap-around feel of a blanket or a good winter coat...sensual, comforting but probing, too, asking deep questions. Love the unbroken run of thought - complete absence of punctuation - the interior monologue. This is very fine, April, very fine. John

May We? (Poetry) - 11/13/2010 1:37:37 AM
Lovely, erotic and well written. Very nice.

May We? (Poetry) - 11/12/2010 8:49:21 PM
So powerfully sensually and thoroughly compelling, April. Well done. Love and best wishes, Regis

May We? (Poetry) - 11/12/2010 7:39:38 PM
Passionate metaphors yes you may! It's sensuous and I'd say the fall season brings out the color, April. I love the thought of "continuing our conversation in our dreams"...it's like a cliffhangar dangles and we, your readers get to draw our own conclusion...did they or did they not? Be well. Warmly, Sage

May We? (Poetry) - 11/12/2010 7:35:49 PM
I am not sure of the answers to all of these questions, April, but I like the interesting way that you asked them.

In Lieu of Flowers, Reticence (Poetry) - 11/12/2010 4:43:32 PM
So many silences exist between two (or many) in relationships: the passion that needs no words, the comfortable at ease, the temporarily strained, the permanently damaged and impossible to revive... you set me off here, April, with a voice crying in the wilderness...and as Erin says the ending is outstanding. John

A Dull Blade (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 11:57:52 PM
pain is real, you can touch it, you feel, your alive, your strong. It may seem like you are not, but the fact that you can share what runs deep is a power not everyone has. One day you will turn this power over and the creative vision will be even better. Loved it. Thank you, April. Karen

The Morning After Effect (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 11:45:24 PM
Wow! your writing technique is book worthy. Very nice. Thank you. Karen

Locked Out (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 8:20:23 PM
You do know how to express yourself. I like it.

II: Left Unspoken (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 8:10:08 PM
Sensually alluring and thoroughly compelling, April. I love this and to me, it is perfect poetry. There is a tiny typo in this verse: "...moonlight pushes for it's (its) place " I hope you would point mine out for me as well as I know that typos are easily made and missed. Thank you for sharing your gifts. Love, peace, and best wishes, Regis

Shock and Awe (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 8:05:56 PM
Honestly, starkly, and powerfully expressed, April. I truly appreciate your style and what you share via your verses. Love and best wishes to you, Regis

Reservoir Down (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 8:04:14 PM
Symbolically and metaphorically very sound and powerfully effective, April. Well done! Love and best wishes, Regis

In Lieu of Flowers, Reticence (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 8:03:11 PM
I do very much love and appreciate your style of poetry, April; and I can relate to what you have expressed via your verses in this fine poem. Love, peace, and best wishes, Regis

Anchor My Anchor, We Sink (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 8:01:31 PM
Truly fine poetry that can be "felt" deeply as I read, April. Thank you for sharing this gift. Love and best wishes, Regis

In Lieu of Flowers, Reticence (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 7:48:37 PM
Exquisite, April! I couldn't agree more... with the message, the rhythm, the words and the fillagrees of syllabic sound. Sighs included. Outstanding ending.. Erin Elizabeth Kelly-Moen

Reservoir Down (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 12:34:17 PM
Excellent thoughts and flow. You have really matured in your expression over the last few years.

Locked Out (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 7:57:56 AM
April, Great metaphoric love poem. Mary

Locked Out (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 4:58:36 AM
intense and so true. excellent work, as always.

Anchor My Anchor, We Sink (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 4:17:51 AM
A very fine composition.

Anchor My Anchor, We Sink (Poetry) - 11/11/2010 12:01:23 AM
This is subtle writing, April, subtly passionate intertwine of external and internal, environment and self...and for me there is wonderful impact in 'leaves titter bashfully at the repeated loss of my innocence' and the Humbert and Lolita image is a gem. This is fine work. John

Where Are You Now? (Poetry) - 10/22/2010 9:45:28 PM
A fabulous poem on existential agonies. The images meld and recreate a story, which seems familiar and disturbingly so.

Where Are You Now? (Poetry) - 10/7/2010 8:00:33 PM
As we journey through we sometimes wonder "IF" and you bring this out so well... Be always safe, Karen

Where Are You Now? (Poetry) - 10/7/2010 4:01:05 PM
April, You deliver this regret in straightforward lines full of tenderness, poignancy and understanding. The kitchen divider takes on real significance and the third stanza image of "Running down a dirt road in the dust from my tires" is marvellous and very sad. And the title, a question those who miss someone can't help asking... John

The Laughter After (Poetry) - 10/3/2010 6:33:10 AM
Oh my ...lovely indeed sweet lady..Hugsss

The Laughter After (Poetry) - 9/29/2010 4:00:28 AM
Very good poem, April

The Laughter After (Poetry) - 9/28/2010 4:21:59 PM
Sensual for sure, April, but there's a strong sense of dark as William says and of 'other'... excellently conveyed in tight phrasing and the right word choices. John

The Laughter After (Poetry) - 9/28/2010 4:38:16 AM
Powerful and evocative. Sensual and dark.

It Was Me (Poetry) - 9/27/2010 8:39:09 AM
You can't express letting go any better than this. Marvelous poetry.

It Was Me (Poetry) - 9/27/2010 1:34:46 AM
If this is personal, April, it's very moving, and if it isn't personal it's still very moving; it has caring and a sense of helplessness and that 'unusual desperation' smacks me in the teeth. A fine delivery. John

Task Number Two, the Link (Poetry) - 9/25/2010 2:40:19 PM
HE ALWAYS KEEPS HIS PROMISES DOESN'T HE? "I WILL NOT LEAVE YOU COMFORTLESS...I WILL SEND (HIM) WHICH WILL GUIDE YOU INTO ALL TRUTHS..." A FINE WORK ABOUT A MOST IMPORTANT...'LINK'. THANKS FOR SHARING. LOVE, BLESSINGS * FAITH....JOYCE * HIS INSPIRATIONS

Task Number Two, the Link (Poetry) - 9/25/2010 2:27:16 AM
'Love is in the will' I feel is appropriate here, April; this gentle yet forceful compulsion toward completeness...out of the empty and dark comes love because it is willed to come. Taut, strong writing. John

Promise of a New Life in Another Life (Poetry) - 9/14/2010 8:35:52 PM
A soul shedding the past to welcome the new... Be always safe, Karen

Promise of a New Life in Another Life (Poetry) - 9/14/2010 5:04:54 PM
Minimal punctuation ensures the poem flows as it should, a fluent observation of the world experienced though sensitive, aware eyes. You see well and deep, April, and the work is thoroughly satisfying. John

Mysterious Palpitations (Poetry) - 9/14/2010 2:30:16 PM
Your work is certainly worthy of more serious consideration, April, than the following, but you will see why I'm reminded of: I was put here to do a certain number of things; right now, I'm so far behind, I'll never die. John

The Morning After Effect (Poetry) - 9/14/2010 7:06:45 AM
Lovely, truly.

9-9-10 (Poetry) - 9/12/2010 1:53:35 PM
Healing at a distance or healing at a distance to remain distant? This is good thought food: What's the point of healing and helping if one's reality is virtual? (And here, I'm talking to myself too.)

Mysterious Palpitations (Poetry) - 9/12/2010 1:47:32 PM
"The one thing I didn't expect to feel In this final moment of my life Is grief for everyone else." She's back. :)

Mysterious Palpitations (Poetry) - 9/9/2010 4:02:36 PM
Very intense and earnest. Always been a fan of your work.

To My Little Girl (Poetry) - 9/3/2010 6:56:24 AM
Beautiful writing sweet lady..enjoyed very much stay safe and well..Hugss

Epiphany (Poetry) - 1/21/2009 12:12:53 PM
Deeply moving and filled with emotion! John Michael Domino

Portland Jehuty (Poetry) - 12/31/2006 9:36:09 PM
April, you are the mistress of beautiful sadness. You make people realize there are tears that many ignore, but still beg to be wiped away.

One of You Will Betray Me (Poetry) - 12/29/2006 9:12:59 AM
Glad the genius is back, weaving through Authors Den well-put words that act as a virus to the bad and the boring.

Portland Jehuty (Poetry) - 12/29/2006 9:07:17 AM
What have we learned about rhyming, April, hmmm?

Portland Jehuty (Poetry) - 12/12/2006 11:56:15 AM
An interesting blend of narcissim and lamentable choices.

Portland Jehuty (Poetry) - 12/9/2006 6:11:09 PM
Sad! TRASK

One of You Will Betray Me (Poetry) - 10/4/2006 5:35:44 PM
when we are pushed to the limits of our endurance it's time to reevaluate ... powerful poem ...

One of You Will Betray Me (Poetry) - 10/3/2006 3:27:54 PM
April, Life can leave us very vulnerable. We never know what lies behind closed doors. Glad I popped in I missed reading many of the wonderful poetry on this site.

One of You Will Betray Me (Poetry) - 10/2/2006 6:24:14 PM
Hey You'll Just Have To Come Back And Do It All Over Again,i.e. So Do Live To That (Your) End... TRASK

One of You Will Betray Me (Poetry) - 10/2/2006 1:52:30 PM
last stanza touched me deeply beautiful work.

One of You Will Betray Me (Poetry) - 10/1/2006 8:32:51 PM
So easy to do. So hard to take back. Nothing would feel better at first. Nothing would hurt more later. Many a time, I've been tempted to tell the world to go f itself, April. But something made me stay in it even though it hurt to do so. I was confused because it hurt to go either way. But I asked myself, which way would be worse? I'm sure you've come to your own realization about this. I just wanted to share a little of what it was like for me at my lowest moment.

Self-Help Assistance Please (Poetry) - 7/7/2006 8:12:44 PM
I was hoping you'd rhyme dysthymia with something. M&M would have. I'm just sayin'. In all seriousness, this is pretty fookin' great.

Self-Help Assistance Please (Poetry) - 6/1/2006 11:48:07 AM
april, the rare times you reappear on the den, I'm always inspired.

Self-Help Assistance Please (Poetry) - 5/30/2006 9:15:14 AM
April The answer to all our problems and complexities in life lie within our very own soul... Peter

My Eyes & You (Poetry) - 5/16/2006 7:22:58 AM
Cute April

My Eyes & You (Poetry) - 5/8/2006 6:33:45 AM
Hi, April. I like your positive attitude.

I Won't Raise You to be an Echo (Poetry) - 9/2/2005 6:41:58 AM
You're so f-ing rock star and you don't even know it. You always get to the bottom of feelings without whining or relying on self-pity. You're a genuine reflector of the soul, a blues saxophone on the poverty-stricken streets of AD. Play on, sista, play on.

My Eyes & You (Poetry) - 8/30/2005 1:09:56 PM
Uh... Jer.... this isn't about you. My apologies. lol.

My Eyes & You (Poetry) - 8/30/2005 12:34:36 PM
I will treasure this poem about me always. Thank you.

To My Little Girl (Poetry) - 7/6/2005 7:08:52 PM
beautiful poem of a mother's love ...

To My Little Girl (Poetry) - 7/1/2005 3:06:15 PM
April, You squeeze the heart with this one--powerful and beautiful expression of a mother's devotion. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :(

To My Little Girl (Poetry) - 7/1/2005 2:59:32 PM
Never Know What You Can Learn From A (Your) Child-Huh! TRASK

To My Little Girl (Poetry) - 7/1/2005 10:31:39 AM
>tears <

Fibber Why (Poetry) - 6/30/2005 2:32:02 PM
You don't pull any punches, April. That's why I love your stuff. You say things that most or all of us wish we could say.

Fibber Why (Poetry) - 6/28/2005 4:01:05 PM
April, WOW!! I feel like I've been knocked over by a ton of bricks. Very powerful write.

Fibber Why (Poetry) - 6/28/2005 11:38:16 AM
great imagery here...i enjoyed this april

Song for Sue (Poetry) - 6/15/2005 2:14:46 PM
If TRASK finds something strange, that's saying something. I likey too. You need a banjo on your knee.

Song for Sue (Poetry) - 5/30/2005 3:24:00 PM
Strange! TRASK

Song for Sue (Poetry) - 5/28/2005 11:34:16 PM
Exceptionally Powerful April...nice work Paul;-]

Song for Sue (Poetry) - 5/28/2005 7:34:54 AM
an interesting side of Sue and you ...

Song for Sue (Poetry) - 5/27/2005 6:05:49 PM
So much said, in so few lines...

Song for Sue (Poetry) - 5/27/2005 3:03:44 PM
Heartbreaking--not what I was thinking of, clicking on the title. But so powerfully shattering--I, too, am sorry. (((HUGS))) and love, Karla. :(

I Won't Raise You to be an Echo (Poetry) - 5/27/2005 10:13:55 AM
this is really good. it reminds me of a prayer i read once, asking forgiveness of past and future sins. it's been too long, your high dorkness. welcome back.

Song for Sue (Poetry) - 5/27/2005 9:31:44 AM
so sad and powerful; says much in so few words! well done!

Song for Sue (Poetry) - 5/27/2005 9:12:18 AM
Powerful and thought provoking.I felt sorrow within your words. I just want to say I feel your pain and share your grief. Thank you for sharing. Antoinette

I Won't Raise You to be an Echo (Poetry) - 5/27/2005 9:06:03 AM
april your poetry has always touched me but this one is exceptional

Japanese Noodles (Poetry) - 4/24/2005 10:49:40 PM
i don't get it either...

Japanese Noodles (Poetry) - 4/19/2005 8:37:21 AM
close but japanese noodles did apply to the poem. figure that one out Vaeni.

Japanese Noodles (Poetry) - 4/19/2005 8:17:22 AM
Well...you know...gorillas maybe shouldn't ever walk upright. I mean monkey's tried it and look how that ended up. I like that this is one of those coded "only the author knows for sure" pieces that opens the door to the reader just enough to make us wanna figure it out. Then I look at the title and realize it has nothing to do with the poem. You got bored and silly and said "Screw it. Japanese Noodles." It's just what came to mind. How far off?

I Lose. (Poetry) - 2/28/2005 10:48:24 AM
No matter how hard it may seem You must break free from this...You truly do deserve the best...Don't ever doubt that...Just believe it and its yours... EDL

I Lose. (Poetry) - 2/27/2005 5:18:42 PM
No, You Do Deserve Better Than You Think Or You Do Lose.... TRASK

I Lose. (Poetry) - 2/27/2005 8:53:02 AM
never surrender ... look for a way to change your situation ...

I Lose. (Poetry) - 2/26/2005 7:40:18 AM
NO! He can't win. I was waiting for a twist at the end and it wasn't there. EEEK. Very good write, and I guess I have to appreciate the honesty because it is only in recognizing the truth that we can make it better. Many people are letting 'them' win ;-(

I Lose. (Poetry) - 2/25/2005 6:17:53 PM
A well-written poem; but I can't say I like the message though. Sandie May Angel a.k.a. Sandie Angel :o)

Forgotten Memories From a Past Life (Poetry) - 2/15/2005 6:37:28 PM
well penned! seems to have a sense of complacency ...

Forgotten Memories From a Past Life (Poetry) - 2/15/2005 7:52:04 AM
Outstanding!!!! this brought up and out memories from beyond putting them on display in the raw yet appreciating all it's beauty really very very well done!!!!

Forgotten Memories From a Past Life (Poetry) - 2/14/2005 11:27:35 AM
once again, you give an ugly world something beautiful, squeezing just bit of honey from from the bitter. thank you...

Forgotten Memories From a Past Life (Poetry) - 2/13/2005 3:17:31 PM
I found this one so fascinating and in the you came to a conclusion.

Forgotten Memories From a Past Life (Poetry) - 2/13/2005 3:08:05 PM
Yep, It's Same Ole Song Same Ole Dance!! TRASK

Forgotten Memories From a Past Life (Poetry) - 2/13/2005 7:42:06 AM
Very nice writing, April. :)

Mr. Indignity (Poetry) - 2/9/2005 1:23:43 AM
..?

The Captain and I (Poetry) - 2/8/2005 5:29:30 PM
wow captivating!!! this story/poem is someones' hellish reality you have it coined here thinking and loving someone to find they were only that person to you enjoyed this reality...........

The Captain and I (Poetry) - 2/5/2005 6:08:32 PM
This is so sad and scarey and true. The feelings you've written here ~ remarkable. Loved all of this loved the crying of the raindrops tired of crying for myself. Remarkable poem Deep and dark. Thank You Love Tracey xoox Hope you aren't crying and only smiling.

The Captain and I (Poetry) - 2/5/2005 5:59:02 PM
This is fascinating write here. Compelling and tragic.

To Waste (Poetry) - 1/23/2005 9:01:05 AM
Long time since I read you April and its reassuring to see you are as dark and brooding as ever and your writing is as thoughtful and well crafted. Interesting rhymes and a nice mix of defiance and vulnerability. I will not leave it so long next time, best Ian

To Waste (Poetry) - 1/21/2005 4:52:49 AM
Interesting write. Very thoughtful. M.Rose

To Waste (Poetry) - 1/19/2005 11:15:26 PM
don't sound like a bad thing here (or is it just me?)sounds good very very good!!

To Waste (Poetry) - 1/19/2005 6:50:08 AM
Really deep, and ducks love deep waters

To Waste (Poetry) - 1/18/2005 12:54:59 PM
Interesting how everyone says you're deep. But then, it's obvious these words come from such a place. A place, perhaps, where reality hasn't cooked through to the center and the feelings are still raw. I think this accounts for the effect you have on us, April. For that, I tip my poetic hat to you.

To Waste (Poetry) - 1/17/2005 12:28:13 PM
i agree with sandy, your poetry has depth that is not often found, but luckily, i have been reading you for a long time

To Waste (Poetry) - 1/16/2005 10:42:47 PM
April, I believe you are one of the most talented, deep writers I have ever read anywhere. I only discovered you tonight, and what a treat it has been. In my opinion (which may not be worth much, but it's from the heart ALOL) this is outstanding work.

To Waste (Poetry) - 1/16/2005 10:32:51 PM
This is an interesting mind altering write..that I must read again. Excellent Allen

To Waste (Poetry) - 1/16/2005 3:38:12 PM
Very clear and to the point, nice work, enjoyed your work.~jd

To Waste (Poetry) - 1/16/2005 2:23:52 PM
This is very clever indeed and I liked the flow.

They Lied, Time Doesn't Make it Fade (Poetry) - 12/30/2004 8:54:34 PM
Things like that never fade with time. But, hopefully, the passage of it will soothe some of the sting.

They Lied, Time Doesn't Make it Fade (Poetry) - 12/30/2004 2:28:35 PM
Sad - You're Back! Now Do Not Look Back It Will Only Destroy You! TRASK

They Lied, Time Doesn't Make it Fade (Poetry) - 12/30/2004 11:11:19 AM
Wow....I am speechless what can one say to help ease that kind of pain.....touching very very touching

Mr. Indignity (Poetry) - 12/30/2004 9:24:01 AM
Fantastic, elegant, and vivid. All the goodness of great poetry.

They Lied, Time Doesn't Make it Fade (Poetry) - 12/30/2004 3:39:35 AM
April, I can picture all the love in those eyes. Very beautiful and heartfelt write.

They Lied, Time Doesn't Make it Fade (Poetry) - 12/30/2004 2:15:30 AM
We do finally reach a point where, the sharpness dulls, and we began to only want to remember when and what we want to. It's those memories that carry us through. Sad but very well penned capture of grief. Lisa

They Lied, Time Doesn't Make it Fade (Poetry) - 12/30/2004 1:54:49 AM
Sad lines from a from a heart that cares

They Lied, Time Doesn't Make it Fade (Poetry) - 12/29/2004 9:34:27 PM
No it doesnt April, just bearable! Heartfelt write Happy NY Ch'erie

They Lied, Time Doesn't Make it Fade (Poetry) - 12/29/2004 8:14:52 PM
That is a good description of grief. I remember both of my brothers that died. Very poignant.

Mr. Indignity (Poetry) - 12/29/2004 6:53:22 PM
This one has a lot to say and I got it. Written extremely well.

What You Want (Poetry) - 11/23/2004 11:42:23 AM
wow...you're like a poetic tommy gun rattling off killer lines like this one (hehe).

A Great & Mighty Fall (Poetry) - 11/23/2004 11:24:55 AM
When did you stop writing for Pearl Jam?

Sanity (Poetry) - 11/23/2004 10:58:50 AM
Waaaah...even in high school you were a better writer than I am. I hate you.

Untitled (Poetry) - 11/23/2004 10:23:08 AM
Gosh, Ape, what happens to all the LOVE poems when the poets have a brief flash of honesty and all at once realize this IS "love"? Yeah. You're always ahead of the pack.

Untitled (Poetry) - 11/18/2004 2:39:55 PM
"If" is a very big word at times, isn't it? Little poem with a big thought. T C - D a n a

Untitled (Poetry) - 11/18/2004 12:12:36 PM
That's probably something many women in that situation never take the time to consider. But those who do may already find themselves healthier and happier. Once the "spasms" stop, they can make their own way to happiness.

The Betraying Trio (Poetry) - 10/12/2004 7:21:51 AM
Cracka, please. "Mental vomit" alone is great. In fact if you ever start a chic-metal band, please call yourselves "Mental Vomit."

Before You... (Poetry) - 10/12/2004 7:16:26 AM
The poem is top notch, as always, but I'm not sure the streamlined style does anything for it. (Unless I'm just not "getting" it).

Breakfast and My Ghost (Poetry) - 10/12/2004 7:04:07 AM
"find some other child to mold into your ugly version of womanhood." Genius. Loved the form following function, too: the words dripped and slipped away.

Breakfast and My Ghost (Poetry) - 10/4/2004 4:23:30 AM
this exhales on the page, girl... exceptional scribe...hell of a release... so much love, **Mari**

Before You... (Poetry) - 10/4/2004 4:20:35 AM
oh sh--... that is just lovely....thank goodness you didn't trash it....damn, that's niiice... love&light, **Mari**

Breakfast and My Ghost (Poetry) - 10/1/2004 10:59:06 AM
Great write. Though I enjoyed every line, in my opinion, the final two stanzas speak volumes. Nicely done.

Breakfast and My Ghost (Poetry) - 10/1/2004 10:47:51 AM
I agree with Sue. You seem to have come to a resolution and gained an inner peace you may not have had before. Ghosts are scary, but the good thing about them is you can leave them in the past.

Breakfast and My Ghost (Poetry) - 10/1/2004 10:20:26 AM
wonderfully written and heartfelt. it has a flow that made reading both interesting and easy

The Betraying Trio (Poetry) - 9/29/2004 7:02:30 AM
"But no matter how much I try to bend my body to fit into your contours I never resemble you." girl, you have your own radiant voice...you don't have to resemble anyone at all...you bring to the table your own elements, your own beauty, your own pain...you translate in your own unique way...and blow people the f--- away (even if you don't realize it, love)...don't you ever, ever stop writing what you write...for people like us (you & me)...it would be like cutting off all supplies of air...we need it to breathe...Your work is distinguished by a consummate assault on the senses with its dazzling originality and passion...and touches your readers with the most unforgettable emotion.... **feeling you, always on your side...*** so much love, **Mari**

People Who Are Always Right Really Tick Me Off. (Poetry) - 9/28/2004 6:04:07 PM
I think we all have a go at sabotage of self everyday of our lives, some of us are lucky enough to have someone to haul us up, not the case here lol, hardly... Terrific write April. Ch'erie

The Betraying Trio (Poetry) - 9/28/2004 7:08:01 AM
i can relate sometimes than i write and i read and i write and i get comments and it makes everything better......everybody can't be wrong and everybody sure as hell ain't going to lie poetry is about meeting your own peek that is the beauty of it it is all a part of your own and "you" have a wonderful voice!!!!

The Betraying Trio (Poetry) - 9/27/2004 9:33:12 AM
i know exactly what you mean, but your writing has always been exceptional, as are thiers

Forget the Pain (Poetry) - 9/24/2004 10:31:26 AM
wow....it can be so hard to seperate wonderful sentiment and advice!!!

Forget the Pain (Poetry) - 9/21/2004 3:22:51 AM
April, Some are so into the pain that they forget the crime and probably don't even remember what the crime was. Nice write.

Forget the Pain (Poetry) - 9/20/2004 9:49:54 AM
(((april))) strong emotion in this one, you bared your soul with your words. you might be able to forgive, the pain may fade, but the scar is always there. well written-- (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :(

People Who Are Always Right Really Tick Me Off. (Poetry) - 9/19/2004 2:04:33 PM
April, WOW!!!! I love this.

People Who Are Always Right Really Tick Me Off. (Poetry) - 9/18/2004 8:07:37 AM
Now I'm the one who's not worthy. You should go back to this guy and smack him upside da head.

People Who Are Always Right Really Tick Me Off. (Poetry) - 9/18/2004 3:04:59 AM
This is one fantastic piece of work. I am giving this to my daughter to read. Thank you.

People Who Are Always Right Really Tick Me Off. (Poetry) - 9/17/2004 5:25:50 PM
Whoa, I wasn't expecting the ending. Feels like home to me. ;) I am glad to read you again. I have been off-line for awhile now and I rarely read like I used to. In any event, I do relate and the F-word didn't bother at all. Love, JC xoxoxo

People Who Are Always Right Really Tick Me Off. (Poetry) - 9/17/2004 4:19:33 PM
Nice write. You captured reality.

People Who Are Always Right Really Tick Me Off. (Poetry) - 9/17/2004 3:15:27 PM
Oh my April, while our two poems are not the least bit related, check out the names, they almost seem to be so, don't they? LOL! And of course they are right near each other too, LOL! This was quite cute, although I find the use of a certain word to be beneath that of a really good poet...but it is very descriptive, no one can say it isn't...Peace thru Words, Ed & Rufuz

If You Have a Gambling Problem, Please Get Help (Poetry) - 9/16/2004 12:25:25 PM
I have an uncle with that problem. I wish I could help him, but he won't accept any until he helps himself first.

If You Have a Gambling Problem, Please Get Help (Poetry) - 9/15/2004 4:15:27 PM
Love can be that way. Nice write.

If You Have a Gambling Problem, Please Get Help (Poetry) - 9/15/2004 2:00:52 PM
Good advice. To me it's just a waste; this is why I don't play!

If You Have a Gambling Problem, Please Get Help (Poetry) - 9/15/2004 10:53:25 AM
April, Very well done. Life is surely a gamble.

With the Coming of Another Fall... I Fall (Poetry) - 9/13/2004 3:21:26 PM
Can't find a single line in this poem that's better than the other. I think you've just penned a new favorite of mine. Autumn has always been my favorite time of year. If only those colors could last forever.

Pink Wings (Poetry) - 9/13/2004 4:48:47 AM
April, Very heart touching write.

Pink Wings (Poetry) - 9/12/2004 4:37:11 PM
Wow. This grabbed me by the soul. Love and peace to you, April. Regis

Pink Wings (Poetry) - 9/12/2004 3:35:47 PM
Oh April. The art of subtlety is brought up only by those who master it. Your warm comments for me only reflect what I've known about you. Really great to hear from you again.

Pink Wings (Poetry) - 9/12/2004 1:15:13 AM
Very nice

Pink Wings (Poetry) - 9/11/2004 7:11:07 AM
girl, you are my hero... sorrow in broken pink wings...left in a little girl's hands.... so much love to you, April... **Mari**

Glass Balls (Poetry) - 9/10/2004 8:48:59 AM
I'm always a big fan of the poem that lives up to both halves of its double entendre title.

Kindness Is (Poetry) - 9/10/2004 8:39:45 AM
Your words are inspiring, April. Excellent write! (Kidding...you're a sexy genius. We both know this.)

Kindness Is (Poetry) - 9/10/2004 5:38:09 AM
April, I admire your poignacy and strength. Very well written poem.

Kindness Is (Poetry) - 9/10/2004 5:17:45 AM
"And if I should falter Kindness would be a loaded gun." April...girl...you make poetry out of mental risk...the doubts, the sudden psychological ambushes...you take so much further than hallmark words on paper...fables of an endangered soul that secures a visible means of support in psalms to calm the nerves... damn do I love reading you... love&light, **Mari**

Kindness Is (Poetry) - 9/10/2004 4:20:52 AM
"Happiness is a warm gun" Number nine...number nine." Sounds like life support to me. Very nicely done.

Kindness Is (Poetry) - 9/9/2004 3:54:45 PM
Hmmm...a bit dark, but not unexpected from you. Nice to see you still have the power to make people think!

Kindness Is (Poetry) - 9/9/2004 2:40:39 PM
Strikingly true...

Kindness Is (Poetry) - 9/9/2004 2:00:15 PM
Kindness Is Everything,i.e. I Have Known Few Relationships When She Or He They Break Up Ever End Kindly In Kindness_ Romantically You! TRASK

Glass Balls (Poetry) - 9/9/2004 5:20:21 AM
April, Excellent writing. " Beauty is in the eye of the beholder."

Glass Balls (Poetry) - 9/8/2004 11:40:04 AM
Sad Weird Romantic Write! TRAS

Glass Balls (Poetry) - 9/8/2004 9:15:12 AM
if i could see what you see, maybe i could love me too...what a great line. i like this alot

A Dull Blade (Poetry) - 9/7/2004 9:42:33 AM
"I try to remove it but dull blade or sharp knives can't change the past and they've never changed my future. Still I try"... **feeling you, and this...in every heartbeat** damn love&light, **Mari** (back on the block)

Happy Birthday, April (Poetry) - 8/24/2004 12:02:27 PM
Do they still do poetry contests here? Can you still never win because genius goes unrecognized?

Happy Birthday, April (Poetry) - 7/28/2004 12:24:43 PM
wow, this poem is good, but that last line says it all! BRAVA on one fine poem, april! (((HUGS))) and much love, your tx. friend, karen lynn. :D

Happy Birthday, April (Poetry) - 7/28/2004 12:11:28 PM
the elusive final destination...what a great line (or lines) good to read your writing again, i haven't seen it for awhile

A Dull Blade (Poetry) - 7/28/2004 8:38:04 AM
A blade doesn't need to be sharp to cut, April. And it doesn't need to be metal either. With every word you utter, he is that much farther away and you are that much better of a person.

A Dull Blade (Poetry) - 7/27/2004 6:58:55 AM
powerful write april

A Dull Blade (Poetry) - 7/25/2004 11:24:32 PM
This is an interesting write with fantastic inner expressions. Well done piece. Allen

A Dull Blade (Poetry) - 7/25/2004 6:00:45 PM
You are already a good person. Always believe in yourself. Good write, April. Sandie May Angel

Sydney of Northgate High School Reports... (Poetry) - 6/18/2004 9:29:24 AM
Well-composed verses make the reader think in this finely-penned prose!

Sydney of Northgate High School Reports... (Poetry) - 6/16/2004 8:56:12 PM
Gripping verses that won't let the reader's mind wander. Well done, April. Thank you for sharing this offering. Love and peace to you. Regis

Sydney of Northgate High School Reports... (Poetry) - 5/6/2004 2:51:22 PM
Top to bottom you're the most complete poet I've ever not-met. I mean you just capture the reader all the way through and always, ALWAYS know how to close. It is tough commenting on something so recent and autobiographical, but damn, Ape--you have this gift of not just running down a chain of emotional responses but really sculpting them into legitimate art. You put your ass on the line in every line and for that I thank you.

Rebecca Lee (5/5/04) (Poetry) - 5/6/2004 2:47:50 PM
Right on! "you've saved my life at least once every single day." You're such a friggen genius.

Sydney of Northgate High School Reports... (Poetry) - 5/5/2004 7:16:39 PM
this poem expresses the necessity for communication ...

Rebecca Lee (5/5/04) (Poetry) - 5/5/2004 3:21:18 PM
this is what I am talking about...the sentiments you can convey...the depth...and when you look into her eyes...We can see her staring right back...and in that moment...a ghost of what your emotion stirs, rises off the page. damn. This strikes so deeply into the heart, April...so damn close to home. love & light, **Mari**

Sydney of Northgate High School Reports... (Poetry) - 5/5/2004 12:41:29 PM
Very eerie for me. The last line makes me think! Dave (old AD poster)

Rebecca Lee (5/5/04) (Poetry) - 5/5/2004 11:45:47 AM
(((april))) this is precious and o, so beautiful--a keeper (thank you) "...and i'll always be indebted to you my little girl, my little heroine because in a time when i find it hardest to go on living you've saved my life at least once every single day" BRAVA! happy mother's day to you (((HUGS))) and love, karla. :)

Switching Polars (Poetry) - 4/29/2004 5:41:25 PM
April, **sigh** You have been (are) one of my fav poets on this site. I have followed your evolution as a writer for a long while. Your content, your pain...your absolute inner coherence and natural ability to convey the written word into moving photographs of time is pretty much unmatched in the circles I've travelled. I would like at some point to set up a paper magazine (not ezine)...to feature up&coming poetry and would love to have you represent ... however in the meanwhile, I may have some information about getting your work published...If you are interested, drop me a line at Pantha699.aol.com Just looking out. **Mari**

Brotherless (corrected) (Poetry) - 4/17/2004 12:10:09 PM
A painful write. I'm so sorry for your loss.

West Jackson Street (Poetry) - 4/14/2004 8:50:35 AM
Oh, this has to be one of my favorite poems of all time! Perfectly written and timed. Sometimes sweet revenge comes in small doses, but we take it where we can get it. You certainly took your fair share here. I wanted to pick out a favorite line or two to quote, but it all runs together so wonderfully I would have just quoted the entire poem. So if you want to pick out my favorite parts, just read the whole thing.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.