AuthorsDen.com  Join Free! | Login 

 
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | eBooks | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors: Will Clark, iW. Craig Reed, iLawrance Lux, iFlorence Weinberg, iDavid Humphrey Sr, iPhyllis Jean Green, iRobert Wood, i
 
Home > Jane S Buttery
 

Recent Reviews for Jane S Buttery


An Unexpected Friendship- Amherstburg 1846 (Book) - 6/2/2012 7:02:13 AM
Do you think that bullying might have existed 150 years ago? It is 1846, and twelve-year-old Josiah (Josh) Stokes, a negro boy, lives in Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada, on the Detroit River. About ten years earlier, his parents had run away with their two-year-old son to escape slavery in Kentucky and come to Amherstburg to live in freedom. His father, mother, and two younger sisters, Angelina and Corrie, have a farm outside of town which Mr. Stokes was given as a reward for serving in the militia during the rebellion of 1838. However, Josh has been dwelling in town with his uncle and aunt, James and Corrie Alexander, so he can attend the Dougall School under Mr. Peden and also work in his uncle’s store. Seamus Maloney, a couple of years older than Josh, has just arrived in Amherstburg with his father, mother, and younger sister Mary and brother Dermot, from Cork, Ireland. An older brother and sister had died on the voyage. Seamus learns that his cousins, the Hartes, have also left Ireland for Canada, but the Maloneys have heard no word from them in a long time and wonder what has happened to them. Josh and Seamus meet and form an unexpected friendship. However, there is a good deal of prejudice among some in Amherstburg towards both blacks and Irish. Josh is being bullied by Billy Watson and his friends. Will Seamus stand up for his new friend or join in with the bullying? And will the Maloneys ever see their cousins again? An Unexpected Friendship is great historical fiction for young people, dealing accurately with such universal problems as racial prejudice and bullying. Author Jane Buttery says that while the two boys and much of the story is fictional, she did use family names which she found in Amherstburg’s census of 1841, including James Alexander, Peter Stokes, the Maloneys, the Hartes, and the preachers Alexander Mack, Francis Gore Elliot, and Robert Peden, and some actual events like the disastrous fire at Dougall School in the winter of 1847. It is a wonderful window to help youngsters understand better what life would have been like in Canada during the middle nineteenth century, especially for escaped slaves and Irish immigrants.

Mei Ling Discovers Jack Miner (Book) - 5/31/2012 6:15:41 AM
Do you know who Jack Miner was? John Rogers is a young lad who lives in Windsor, Ontario, Canada, with his father Tom, mother Judy, and older sister Kate. At school, he meets a new student, Mei Ling Lee, whose family has recently emigrated from Hong Kong, China, and lives just down the street from the Rogerses’ house. The two are assigned to work together on a class project about any Canadian animal, and they choose to do theirs on the Canada goose. John proposes that the two families visit the Jack Miner Bird Sanctuary in Kingsville, about fifty kilometers away, to gather information for their project. However, Mei Ling always seems to be very sad. Does she have some kind of secret about her earlier life in Hong Kong? Set around 1995, much of this book is fictional, but Jack Miner was a real person, one of the first Canadians to see the need for protecting the migrating ducks and geese. Over ninety years ago, in 1904, Miner set up his own bird sanctuary in southern Ontario. On her visit there, Mei Ling meets his son Jasper Miner, who lived from 1910 to 1997. Not only are there many details about the history of the Miner family and the sanctuary, but there is also plenty of information about the Canada goose. In addition to the drawings by Yolanda Lamoure, a number of old photographs are also used. Furthermore, it is a story of friendship and caring. As the plot unfolds, readers learn more about Mei Ling and the tragedy that made her parents chose a new life in Canada. By the end of the book, Mei Ling completes a good project with John and is becoming happier in her new home. Rather than being dysfunctional as is found in so much modern children’s literature, the families are portrayed in a godly way. When John comes home from school and has chores but wants to put them off to shoot some baskets, his mother says, “Jobs first, play after.” One professional reviewer sneered, “Although the author does bring in a plug for her Christian faith,” but the fact is that kids need to read about people whose faith in God has guided their lives to do good things. “…It was those tragedies that made Jack Miner turn to his Bible more. Because he firmly believed God wanted people to care for the birds, he befriended them.” Some environmentalists want to “save the planet” because they consider “Mother Earth” almost as a goddess to be worshipped. Proper conservationists seek to protect nature because we are to be good stewards of the blessings which God has given us. Mei Ling Discovers Jack Miner has much to recommend it.

A Cookie for the Christ Child (Book) - 8/23/2007 7:53:31 AM
Sunday School teachers may be interested to know that this story has made a good Christmas play. It allows children and adults to work together in ameaningful way. Jane

An Unexpected Friendship- Amherstburg 1846 (Book) - 1/31/2007 10:15:21 AM
Inspiring, and a wonderful read.

An Unexpected Friendship- Amherstburg 1846 (Book) - 3/14/2006 8:26:30 PM
Jane, This story sounds very interesting and educational and full of adventure as well. I will let you know but I'm positive I will love this story. As you see I'm a lil bit o' that Irish! Happy St. Patricks Day! Tracey and Gang 43xoox(c :)

I Know the Rules. Do You?- Safe from the Fire-Explorer Sam (Book) - 3/14/2006 8:12:08 PM
It's refreshing to see some teaching books in such a wonderful way. I will be ordering all of your books and be back to write reviews on each. Thank you so much for being such a caring lady. Bless you my dear Tracey and Gang 43xoox(c :)

Mei Ling Discovers Jack Miner (Book) - 12/5/2005 5:36:39 PM
Sounds like a wonderful book that will fascinate readers of all ages. Chrissy K. McVay

A Special Place- an old Church (Article) - 1/11/2007 3:06:31 AM
A Special Place indeed. Jane, I'm 10 years behind having celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary earlier this week. I had a problem getting married in Wigan Parish Church in 1977. You see I was in Ghana at the time, a Scottish Presbyterian. So the late Bishop of Liverpool Rev David Shepperd, the famour cricketer had to give his permission and he contacted my father, Rev James Caldwell. Then he wished my father to officiate along with the vicar and all was well in the end. We still visit Wigan to see my mother-in-law and take her to church. It always brings back those happy memories which you recall so vividly. Life in Dumfries is now where I am as an author. Best wishes in your writing. Having been a teacher, you have a head start on the rest of us! Miller

A Special Place- an old Church (Article) - 9/22/2006 8:05:57 AM
Wonderfully descriptive! You took me there -- I inhaled the musty smell and the lemon oil. I beheld the gargoyles, bronze plaque, miserere, ombre, and the rose window! I truly enjoyed this most memorable visit! Thank you, Jane!

A Special Place- an old Church (Article) - 3/14/2006 8:33:17 PM
Beautiful Story. Old memories and special feelings that always lie deep within our souls, hearts and minds and are as if they are today. I love this story. Absolutley heartwarming! Thank you Tracey and Gang 43xoox(c :)

A Special Place- an old Church (Article) - 8/16/2005 3:01:17 PM
This is an excellent piece God Bless Michelle!

An Uncle's Memory (Poetry) - 8/16/2008 10:50:30 PM
Hello Jane, I read your Poem,"An Uncles Memory". I found it very real and touching. Great imagery! Sad story but with a positive ending. Please feel free to visit my site here in the "Den".

Jim Stevens Choice ;To go (Poetry) - 5/24/2008 7:10:16 PM
So good a story about your ancestor. I journeyed with him all the way to the end. What a great ending he had. A family worth having. I am sure he was a great person and what he had to do to get there was amazing and the story is so great. I can't say enough about this one.

A Sonnet to a Gentle Soul (Poetry) - 5/22/2008 7:09:16 AM
She is at peace in Heaven now with her Lord. I know you did the very best you could to keep care of her while her life on earth was here. You did a great tribute to her now.

An Uncle's Memory (Poetry) - 9/5/2007 12:07:43 PM
This poem makes one stop and think how hard life must have been for the miners. Very well written Jane. Thank you. Take care Sue

A Sonnet to a Gentle Soul (Poetry) - 8/29/2007 6:23:54 PM
Well I have no doubt she is with our Lord. The title givews that away. I pray for your peace of heart...

A Special Lady (Poetry) - 8/28/2007 10:28:13 PM
This is a gem I will savor and treasure! You have a way with words,and sadness around you everywhere, I hope for happiness to STAY with YOU Jane B! This is heart breaking, to read all your poems on others you KNEW! but, they are needed and you clearly have a way of writing them so easily! Your imagery is beautiful of all you remembered lovingly! I am floored! and I feel for their lives/R.I.P. to those YOU knew! and that touched your heart! and Soul! Warmed in Inner Peace, LOVE, Light and Wisdom! WArrior Purple Lady Sheeoox STay Positive! STay SAFE!

An Uncle's Memory (Poetry) - 8/28/2007 10:23:31 PM
WOW! this starteled me, your imagery is amazing! Thank you Jane B! Your writing is honest and truthful and clearly written! I enjoyed your style~! even with this sad and poingnant write! that must be said and written, as you wrote it! Warmly, Warrior Lady purple Sheeeoox STay Positive! STay SAFE! I just had to start Tracking/Following your heart and soul, as of tonight! I am happy too... Write On!

A Special Lady (Poetry) - 2/1/2007 2:01:18 PM
a beautiful rememberance

An Uncle's Memory (Poetry) - 11/8/2006 6:52:17 PM
So beautiful and uplifting! Well done!

A Special Lady (Poetry) - 11/8/2006 6:50:32 PM
A very lovely tribute. Well written!

An Uncle's Memory (Poetry) - 9/28/2006 7:50:21 AM
How lucky are those who are on the receiving end of memories and remembrances of time past! A soft, stark reminder of the lives of coalminers. Well-done, Jane. Peace. Joyce Hale

A Special Lady (Poetry) - 9/28/2006 7:48:11 AM
Jane, a beautiful tribute to what sounds like a wonderful lady! How lucky you were to have a friend like her, and I'm sure - her you. It takes a special person to both be a friend and have a friend. Peace. Joyce Hale

An Uncle's Memory (Poetry) - 9/22/2006 7:54:44 AM
Powerful -- and very well written!

A Special Lady (Poetry) - 9/22/2006 7:52:05 AM
Your loving words of remembrance bless this tribute! Well done, Jane!

An Uncle's Memory (Poetry) - 3/14/2006 8:46:49 PM
Wonderful story and a respectful one at that. Bringing forth all the dangers and all the miners deal with that most often we never give a thought to . I love this and I loved that happy ending! Tracey and Gang 43xoox(c :)

Jim Stevens Choice ;To go (Poetry) - 3/14/2006 8:43:54 PM
What a wonderful story with so much in there too. I loved it and I rode right along w/ him and visioned it all as if I was there. Really nice poem and story. Thanks so much for this smile Tracey and Gang 43xoox(c :)

A Special Lady (Poetry) - 3/14/2006 8:37:57 PM
Wow! What A Beautiful Special Lady and you, a beautiful Special friend. A very loving tribute to a very loving lady. There aren't very many who touch so many lives as she did, and you did with this poem. Beautiful and brings tears slipping from my eyes. Tracey and Gang 43xoox(c :)

Jim Stevens Choice ;To go (Poetry) - 11/10/2003 7:38:17 PM
Excellent story - refreshing - so easy to view in the mind's eye.

An Uncle's Memory (Poetry) - 9/2/2003 10:02:19 AM
A most beautiful uplifting write, wonderful imagery!

An Uncle's Memory (Poetry) - 9/2/2003 5:22:28 AM
lovely write!!!

An Uncle's Memory (Poetry) - 9/1/2003 4:14:11 AM
So very interesting,I am so glad you were able to write those last two lines. Excellent!

A Special Lady (Poetry) - 8/31/2003 8:17:31 PM
A very lovely tribute. Bravo.

You can also search authors by alphabetical listing: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen

© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.